Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach 4 stars

1956 Ala Moana Boulevard, Waikiki, Honolulu, HI 96815, USA

#75 of 210 hotels in Honolulu

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 78 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Paid WiFi

    6.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 59

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a bit more expensive than I like to pay. We didn’t use the pool, gym, anything other than the room.

    We loved the quiet and clean room! The bed and pillows were very comfortable! And the cookies- sooo good!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    Excellent staff!! Great complimentary coffee and warm cookies!! Great location walking distance to coffee shop, all you can eat sushi and sundry stores!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 9 nights

    The hotel was very much outdated and they advertise complimentary wifi however when you arrive there is a mandatory $18 a day charge for it although you do get free DVD rentals for this but still doesn't warrant the cost. I was given the option for a mountain view when booking however when I arrived the only option was for a smaller room/ bed or a room with a view of the other hotels in the area.

    The bed was unbelievably comfy so get amazing nights sleep whilst there. The staff couldn't do enough to help you and the bar in the hotel was ran by a gentleman named Earl who was great fun to talk with and I had some great conversations with him.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There are extra costs for using: pool, gym, wifi, towels. You have no choice but to pay them when you check-in, at $18/day 'resort fee', weather you use them or not. This is NOT inlcuded in the invoice or any information shown on booking.com. I complained to the reception and was told 'well, this is a problem between YOU and booking.com, we don't have any control over what booking.com puts on their website' Please note, this is incorrect, as booking.com later confirmed (on the phone) that the hotel is fully responsible for what they put on booking.com I was eventually refunded (only partly) for the 'resort fee'. I just hope they update their information on booking.com to give a true representation of fees.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with City View - Disability Access
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Musty smelling, dingy, worn furniture, carpets not clean in hallways, elevators didn’t work parts of the week

    Free WiFi, location pretty good, room size was good, staff friendly

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didnt have the right booking with the room i ask for and the high floor level and the sewage smell in the bathroom and our TV wasnt working at first!

    The staff were friendly!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room with City View - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    it was perfect .. staff was on point ..

    staff was very helpful and never seemed bothers by my request and didn't complain i had a few guest up late..

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room with Partial Ocean View
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In fact, the food and services are not as good as many Asian countries, but you need to pay extra ''tips'' for that. Wouldn't stay here if not for business reason because it is shown to be 2nd close to the conference center. However, the hotels close to the beach are not that far. Choosing those hotels should be more worth of money.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with City View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    I did not get my Hilton Honors Points and Discounts.Food and Parking was expensive!!!!!!

    I did not know when I booked that I was not booking with Hilton. I lost my Hilton Honors points and discounts. Had to pay full price for meals and parking.Not happy about that!!!!!!!!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night

    We did on two occasions receive dirty towels after housekeeping had cleaned our rooms but that would be my only complaint. I quite enjoyed my stay.

    The hotel was very modern and classy and a great improvement from the first hotel we stayed at. Going forward, I will only stay at a Hilton hotel when I next come to Honolulu

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely bare basics in room. No tea facilities and milk consisted of 2 tiny cartons of "malk" for two people. Come on Hilton, surely you can do better than this!

    Location was central. Staff were helpful. However, upon early arrival, we were told our room wasn't ready. Yet when I mentioned that I have medications that need to be refridgerated, suddenly one was available.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Shower stall door could have been constructed better to keep water inside especially when opening the door.

    Valet Parking Fee for Local Kamaainas was discounted by 50%! Thank you. Work out room was awesome.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds and Partial Ocean View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately, saw a 3 roaches next to the phone and lamp shades. Killed one but rest got away. Toilet tank making oozing sound in the middle of the night. Can't sleep, moved to another room.

    Love the beds and soft pillow. Lots of clean Towels and blankets

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Queen Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The frame of the sliding door in our room was cracked so it sounded like a ghost was trying to get in. The towels are paper thin. The hotel is in an urgent need of an upgrade - it's very tired and is almost a depressing place to stay - the surrounds aren't very enticing either.

    The staff were very accommodating. The bed was comfortable and the room was relatively large.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price is high and not much going on like other hotels

    Nice staff, comfy bed, close to restaurants and stores

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite with Ocean View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bed was very comfortable! Perfect location for beaches and restaurants.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with City View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar closes at 10pm

    Great location The Hiking Cafe situated within the hotel is amazing.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • King Room with City View - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location.

    Closes extra facilities : too early

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stuff was very nice and very helpful!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Expensive and the other charges Luke Beach charges

    Simplicity

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • King Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extra fee for internet and movies

    Cookies

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds and Partial Ocean View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Every thing was greate

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet not very strong and stable. Very noisy if you are located by the elevator

    Location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room with City View - Disability Access
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location to walk everywhere

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Group
    • Queen Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were pricy.

    Beds were comfortable and good support for our backs. Liked the close proximity to shops and restaurants in Waikiki area.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Partial Ocean View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    overpriced parking and breakfast costs....really guys?

    Great hotel close to the beach

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Breakfast buffet and valet parking were both too expensive.

    All of the staff were very friendly and willing to help.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with City View - Disability Access
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location, view lack thereof and noise

    Awful location. Awful rooms

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room with Partial Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Friendly staff, good value for price

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Pool tiles need cleaning. Need better info on how to operate lights, tv etc.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Surrounding buildings

    Great staff

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had issues with our room air conditioning but I believe it was entire hotel Affected also

    Very friendly helpful staff

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    • Solo traveller
    • King Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A/c not working and was not informed of this and was laughed at when asked about it

    Location

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night

    N/A

    The bed was super comfy, I loved how you couldn't see the inside of the room from the outside of window

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved it! Spacious room. Very comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    small pool, not close to beach

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds and Partial Ocean View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Location Amenities Staff

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Dark, strangely laid out room. View of parking and pool. Realized before we checked out that the sliding door to the balcony was unlocked since our arrival the night before. $24 for breakfast buffet? No thanks.

    Hotel staff was professional and courteous.

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Elevators were too slow and did not work all the time. Room Cleaning crew started too early, ie 9:00 in the am. Bar closed during the day and only open at 5 pm.

    Room comfort, and food at the bar was great. Great location.

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    We thought the parking was very expensive but maybe thats the going rate for Waikiki

    Clean and tidy basic hotel, friendly staff. Met our needs as we spent very little time there, too much to do out and about!

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    it takes 10mins walk to the beach, not very good position. the basin is too small, it's almost impossible to get the floor wet when using.

    nice welcome cookies

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The housekeeping came into the room at 7 am by accident which would not have been a problem but we have 3 kids under 6 who chose to sleep in and were woken up by the lady. It would have been nice to finally sleep in a little since our kids usually wake up before 7.

    The hotel was clean and front desk and valet staff were nice and friendly.

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Wifi on level 17 very bad, especially when paying for it. It was much better when I moved to level 8.

    Having fresh sheets, comfy beds and big bathrooms! The iPod connectivity and ability to play music in the room. Good facilities, gym, pool and conference rooms.

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    the outlook from the back side of the hotel is not very nice at all. And I think it is difficult to say it was a garden view.

    Concerige staff were lovely

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Wifi was only available in the lobby for free.

    Great modern rooms with lots of space. Good amenities and helpful staff. Location wise it's a little to the side of the main huddle and hussle in Waikiki but not too far that you can't walk there. Best bit - delicious cookies on arrival.

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Wish pool area was more child friendly and more safe.

    It is great for a stop over hotel with great staff!!!

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nothing

    Everything

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Great staff. Convenient location. Value for money !

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Cost of parking

    The staff are so helpful

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not much room in bathroom for toiletries was wife's only complaint.

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Frige was too small.

    Room and bathroom was nice and clean.

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Hotel front entrance is current under renovation and reconstruction

    Central location between the Mall and Waikiki

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Over priced worn-down hotel. We were greeted by contstruction works at the entrance, and water shutdown on the day of arrival.

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Paying for wifi. It's quite a walk from the beach. Service is average at best.

    Well maintained. Good room size with all amenities.

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    AC made a rattling noise when it was running, and the batteries in the remote for tv were bad.

    The staff was excellent.

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Smoking rules, but that is the State

    Service was awesome!!

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Welcome cookies

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Pool area bland

There are also 21 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 59

Guests also reviewed these properties: