Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago - Arlington Heights 4 stars

75 West Algonquin Road, Arlington Heights, IL 60005, USA

#6 of 8 hotels in Arlington Heights

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 62 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 30

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    10
    Enjoyable Stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Getting temperature in room regulated. Also vending machines were out of service the entire stay even after I called front desk. Not much available on cable.

    Location and food was good. Beds were very comfortable. Made for a nice stay for business meeting.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    6.7
    Should have kept looking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a wait to check in because there was only one person at the front desk. The cookie they give you has propylene glycol in it's ingredients. There's no coffee or water anywhere in the waiting area. When I asked about the digital key I was told that I didn't have the right Hilton membership; that was incorrect my digital key worked a few minutes after check in. As we walked through the property we seen all the first-floor rooms had Hilton Honors plaques but we stayed on the third floor and there was no mention of extra benefits for first-floor rooms. There was no refrigerator in the room, our view was overlooking a roof, the heater / air conditioner was noisy, no water pressure in the shower, only two bath towels and the bathroom was cramped.

    The room was clean and the bed and pillows were comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    7.9
    There is some value to convenience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Initial keys did not work. Shower faucet broke the first time I used it. We requested a higher level room with the reservation, but were placed on ground floor. Housekeeping came to the door 3 times before 11:00am (morning of our planned check out). Needs better coordination with front desk.

    Price and location. Walking distance to Denny’s.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    8.3
    Good. Staff very nice!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Disability Access with Roll-In Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Handicap parking full with cars with out handicap tags, parking on Saturday was crazy. When in a handicap room, should be able to park close! Vending machine would only take change, had to go to the 4th floor to get a bottled water!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    6.3
    Bad experience of customer service!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were very unfriendly! Especially kept stressing the fact that I had booked via a 3rd party website. The booking.com page suggested that the hotel arranges for a airport shuttle. I called 3 days in advance to book the airport shuttle. The doubletree hotline agent asked me to drop an email to the front desk mail address. I did that. There was no confirmation from them. After landing at O’Hare, I caller the front desk. He said as I was informing them at the last minute, he could not arrange. I informed that I had sent an email 3 days in advance. After much debating he finally checked and said that my email had gone to spam! Ultimately I had to get there via a cab. Around the same time, my family in US could not reach me while I was in the immigration process, they called the front desk of this hotel to confirm if I had checked in. Again the person was rude and just said there was no one by that name registered! Not being clear if I had a booking but was yet to check in or did not have a booking at all! I guess all this was because I had not booked via their website. Even when I had called them to confirm my booking number, at first pass they could not find my name. Then the agent had asked if I used a third party website. When I confirmed, he was able to locate my booking.

    Beds were comfy

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    10
    Warmest Pool EVER!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only microwave available is at their snack bar area, near the pool. We were on the 2nd floor and had to walk downstairs and a hallway. It's fine but if you have little kids, it's a trek. Even if y'all had a microwave on each floor somewhere, that'd be helpful.

    Bed was VERY comfortable, the pool - OMG the pool - was like bath water!!! It was so warm and amazing, I've never been in a pool with water that warm. I'd go back to that hotel for that alone. :)

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2017

    10
    I will be staying here again in the near future!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Disability Access/Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    They have extremely comfortable beds! I left my favorite pair of earrings there and the staff was kind enough to leave them at the front desk for me. You can't beat the delicious chocolate chip cookies either!!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    8.3
    Great save front desk
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The dirty room on our anniversary

    The room had a watery stain on the ceiling the attendant at the front desk was awesome got us a new room with no attitude... Great job

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    8.8
    Very nice
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fid not eat there.

    Did not eat there.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    9.6
    Friendly staff, very clean, comfortable bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower head was dated and not 100%

    Friendly staff, very clean, comfortable bed

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    6.3
    unnnnn....
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Disability Access with Roll-In Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel shuttle bus from the airport was not availabe. Took Taxi and the driver looks Chinese or Korean asked me to pay $50.Is it normal price?

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    7.1
    Ok except for the attitude of the front desk manager
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The atttitude of the front desk manager , the front desk staff junior was good just because we had some doubts he was too much assertive

    Yes bed comfy

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    9.6
    Very nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mini refrigerator in the room. Breakfast to be included in the price.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2017

    6.7
    Free drink not available w/o dinner ;
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Free drink not available w/o dinner ;(

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2017

    7.1
    Beds were amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room - Disability Access/Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool was very dirty, it had so much stuff floating around.

    Beds were amazing! The staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2016

    4.6
    Okay wouldn't return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The make receptionist that booked us in was very Unfriendly, patronising and rude. Unfortunately he was on quite a bit of our stay.

    The bed was comfy

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2016

    5.8
    Inconvenient
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Disability Access with Roll-In Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shuttle to the airport cannot be depended upon. Run strictly at the hotels convenience.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2016

    7.9
    Bec
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The horrible animal heads in the eestaurant

    Bec

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    10
    This place was wonderful so pleasant I will be coming back u...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing everything was perfect keep up the good work.

    This place was wonderful so pleasant I will be coming back u guys rock keep up the good work.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2016

    7.1
    Location was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Had to try 3 different times before keys worked. They were kind and comp a free breakfast. Wifi never did work. Y fault I didn't find the coffee etc until leaving. Thought for the price breakfast would be included for regular customer

    Location was good. Room was nice.

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2015

    8.8
    Location near my sister's home
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Coffeemaker sucked no fan in ceiling for privacy in bathroom access to outside from our room on end of hallway...should have been door there...not at other end of hall ice machine too far away vending machines were a joke pop machine would take money other machine only had Gatorade should have been orange juice and other stuff like that. breakfast options were expensive

    Location near my sister's home politeness of staff

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2015

    9.6
    Very nice facilitys.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Not breakfast included.

    Very nice facilitys. Excelent services. Cookies at lobby a great detail. Good shuttle services. Would like a breakfast with the stay.

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    7.5
    Clean and cozy rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    No breakfast is included, not even a continental breakfast. The hot tub was closed/out of service for our entire stay. We needed/asked for a cot and they said that they did not provide cots, they said it was a fire hazard. The rooms also did not include a refrigerator or a microwave. And lastly, the attached restaurant/bar was very expensive, $8 for a short rail drink expensive!

    Clean and cozy rooms. Easy freeway access.

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2015

    5.4
    Nice room with plush bathrobes, bed very comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Hot tub broken! Big bummer since this is MAIN reason we chose the hotel. One little cup of coffee in a single serve coffee maker. No refills or free coffee at reception area?! Wedding party music was very loud but ended at 9pm - thankfully!

    Nice room with plush bathrobes, bed very comfortable. Free cookie was delicious.

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2016

    8.3
    For the price we should have had a good breakfast at no...
    • Family with older children

    For the price we should have had a good breakfast at no extra charge.

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2015

    7.9
    I have a bad back, the bed kept me asleep all night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I have a bad back, the bed kept me asleep all night. No tossing nor turning due to pain

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2015

    5.4
    Doubletree bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Didn't like the appearance of hall ways it has a rude smell and to me a POOR DESIGN of color walls, carpet,...etc..

    Doubletree bed. We loved it

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2015

    5.4
    They are pet friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    One of the elevator did'nt work properly and we were almost confined.

    They are pet friendly.

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    4.6
    No free breakfast.
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    No free breakfast. Denied late check out.

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2015

    7.1
    Bar restaurant Had the atmosphere of a Perkins.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Bar restaurant Had the atmosphere of a Perkins.

There are also 15 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 30

Guests also reviewed these properties: