Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile 3 stars

300 East Ohio Street, Streeterville, Chicago, IL 60611, USA

#108 of 146 hotels in Chicago

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1787 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    7.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    5.4
    Worst hotel experience ever
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Disability Access/Roll-In Shower - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The swimming pool was closed in spite of the sunny weather, the rooms were not cleaned due to a strike, we could not sleep in the morning (as of 6 am) because of the noise made by the strikers

    The location, the rooms

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    5.4
    For a family saving for a mini vacation, to stay in a great hotel, this was extremely dissapointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is under construction and there is a hotel workers strike underway. The room was no better than a Economy hotel. The phone did not work, the housekeepers did not replace the bath towels designated for replacement and people were yelling and smoking in the room next to us. For $330/night, this was disgraceful.

    The only good aspect of this hotel was the 8 minute walk to Navy Pier.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    8.3
    Strikers were too noisy too early in morning
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were workers striking outside the hotel Friday morning. I was woke up at 5:30 am by the noise outside of room. It got louder around 6:30 and on...with a bullhorn being used. Rediculous that they were allowed to do this so early in the morning, disturbing the peace of the sleeping guests. They were even chanting "You can have some peace when we get a contract" Why the heck is this not disturbing the peace at that time of morning.... shouldn't have been allowed.

    Clean, comfortable room.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    5.5
    Won't stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    They were experiencing a labor dispute and they did not have the amenities advertised. We had to put up with excess noise, which made sleep almost impossible. They also had construction going on and we had to walk down the parking ramp where cars drive while carrying luggage, which was unsafe to put it mildly.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    6.3
    Good location but low Value for Money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Disability Access/Roll-In Shower - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 5 nights

    It was too expensive for an hotel currently under renovation PLUS having employees ON STRIKE, so our room wasn't cleaned for days. Wifi connection was slow and spotty unless you pay $15 per day which does not make sense for an hotel in a major city in 2018.

    The location was very good

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    4.6
    “Hilton” use to mean something
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds and City View - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1st room too close to “strikers 24/7 noise” 2nd room > motor of door lock so messed up that security had to break into room to remove our luggage. 3rd try for a “workable” room (which had been renovated) seemed promising, yet, problems still abounded: there was no exhaust for bathroom steam, tub did not drain (yuck!), pipes in wall sounded like they were bumping around....... and then there was the hotel worker STRIKE that began right as we arrived, megaphones blasting-wooden spoons pounding pots and pans.

    Staff TRIED to help.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    7.9
    The room was nice, the location was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Front staff was rude. The strike was going on so, it made us feel uncomfortable walking through the picket lines.

    The room was nice, the location was great. Within walking distance to everything.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    3.8
    Boca bob helped us out the first night we checked in then he...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The strike woke us up everymorning at 7 am. I'm on vacation and want to be able to sleep in.

    Boca bob helped us out the first night we checked in then he was out on strike the next day. He was very helpful. Non of your other staff reached out to help us.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    6.3
    I've stayed at much better hotels (for less) in Chicago and unless it's a really good deal won't be
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel cleaning staff (all over Chicago) went on strike the first night we were there and we were woken up at 5:30 am our first morning due to their "no contract. no sleep" chant and noise makers. The lobby was under construction and there was no daily service.

    The beds were very good, the bath was so so. The location was perfect and it looked like the rooms were recently renovated.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    8.8
    This hotel is a great place to stay and close to Michigan Ave & Navy Pier.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Due to the remodeling the lobby area was small and crowded. Also, the ice machine did not work on our floor.

    The rooms were very nice, clean and roomy.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    9.2
    Location is the best!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Disability Access/Roll-In Shower - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I personally think $55 per day for parking is crazy. I understand the need to charge, but that's excessive.

    The staff, location, pool, room, comfy beds.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    4.2
    Did not enjoy and will not be staying there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with City View - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Made reservation for a king with city view. When we arrived there were none of these available so we did not receive what we paid for. Room was in a corner of the building and not very enjoyable.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    9.2
    Room was spacious
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool was closed because it was sprinkling outside and the door automatically shuts off, no entry is available even by staff. No hot tub either.

    Room was spacious

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    7.9
    Pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No free wifi for non hilton members not specified no microwaves in hotel at all and enstiens is not open any longer been gone a year now

    Beds were very comfortable room was nice nice views staff was nice

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    10
    Perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn’t anything. We were done all day so literally just needed a place to sleep and head home in the morning.

    We just needed an affordable place to sleep. We arrived several hours before check in but our room was ready so we were able to drop our bags, freshen up and go. We were greeted with warm cookies too! Bonus!! The desk clerk referred us to cheaper parking across the street so that was great! Everything was perfect! Bed was amazing! So comfy!!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    7.5
    3 min away from Michigan ave.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A lot of remodeling going on . No elevator to parking . Had to be moved from chipped paint in bath tub .

    3 min away from Michigan ave. Lovely staff Good price

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    6.3
    It was nice, but I wouldnt chose this hotel again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking for 55 dollars honestly if I’m already spending a good amount of money there I wouldn’t want to pay an additional 55 dollars for parking. Especially for those who are on a budget, because of that I don’t think I would recommend this place to my peers.

    The view of the room, the beds were comfortable and the lighting of the bathroom and size of it were great.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    10
    Great experience.
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was some constructions going on but not bothersome.

    Location is perfect, there are 2 grocery stores within minutes. Stuff was very friendly. Rooms on our level /9/ updated.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    7.5
    It was fine. Wish I knew ahead that there would be construction
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Construction and the floor I was on wasn’t remodeled and would of preferred a remodeled room. Given the opportunity to choose and payed less for a non remodeled room.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    7.5
    Overall the property is very nice and clean staff (in person) was very helpful and 👍🏻 I
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I called several times to get a earlier check in and got 3 different answers when they finally answered my call but we did get in early and everything worked out good.

    We were only there to sleep and shower less then 24 hours but everyone and everything was very nice and clean! Would stay here again

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    8.8
    Decent place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I was disappointed that there wasn't an in room frig and at the lack of vending machines on each floor. One night I wanted a bottle of water, and after checking many floors which either had no vending or were our of water, I had to go down to the bar to get one.

    The location is excellent. You can walk to the Navy Pier, Millennium Park, Riverwalk, and of course Miracle Mile. Also, there are many restaurants and shops nearby.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    7.9
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Disability Access/Roll-In Shower - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Under construction, also have us a wheelchair assessable room which we didn’t need. The shower was very slippery almost fell a few times asked for a non slip Mat and never received one :( No fan in the bathrooms also didn’t help

    Great location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    3.8
    Terrible!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with City View - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The building is old. The rooms are dated. There are spiders on the windows. The facilities are poor. I would not recommend this place, it does not live up to the expectations of the DoubleTree brand.

    Location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    3.8
    Very disappointing. Did not expect this bad of an experience from a Hilton Hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with City View - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Customer service and cleanliness. There was no greeting front desk staff staff, the bath tub had a shower curtain that was way too big (tripping hazard), there was a condom rapper under the night stand, and the room was stuffy and smelled bad. I even had to ask for one if there cookies. When I got it, it wasn’t even warm. I have stayed at many other double tree hotels and this is by far the worst.

    The customer service was horrible. Our room was not ready at check in. There was no communication on when it would be ready until I went up and asked for notice. The hotel was dirty and outdated and the check in desks were very chaotic. We ended up checking out after one night and going to Loews for the duration of our stay.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    8.8
    Great location, one of the best bell services we have gotten
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The check in staff were not that friendly. Also, when we asked for later check out, the hotel staff would not say yes or no till the very last day. It doesn't help with planning despite having gold member Hilton honors status. The menu specified it had deep pan pizza but it was not available either.

    The bell boys were superb! Special thanks to big Ben and Rafael. They helped sort out our luggages and also the transfer to the airport.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    5.4
    I will not go back to this location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old and outdated property, I expected nicer and more updated room especially since I paid over $450 for two nights. Definitely was not worth the price.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    8.3
    Nice location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we arrived I don’t think our bathroom was ever cleaned properly . We had no towels, no toilet paper and still soap in bathroom from previous guest.

    The kids loved the pool on rooftop. Friendly staff. Beds were comfortable. I loved that we were right in the middle of everything.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    7.5
    Chicago Chicago
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was a lot of construction happening and the pool area was not the most attractive or accessible.

    The location is spectacular and the staff was very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    9.2
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise of the airco outside. Like sitting in an airplane, aaargh!

    Location Clean Large room (if you take king) Beautiful view Pool open till 11pm, which is great if you have kids or looking for a relaxing night Check out at noon (that’s amazing!! time to do breakfast, pack your bags....)

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    6.7
    Average stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wasn't aware of renovations taking place, although our floor was finished, starting jack hammers ect at 8am on the dot was a little annoying so no extra sleep in. Also wasn't impressed with our two visitors we had on seperate nights,possibly due to renovations, cockroaches were not welcome!!! Not having a bar fridge either to keep drinks/milk cold was a pain.

    Close to reastaurants, shops on magnificent mile. A good variety for breakfast buffet. A nice walk to Navy Pier, was very relaxing there.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    2.9
    Mold in bathrooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Murphy Bed Only - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was mold in our sink got moved to another room there was mold in the sink also the said they couldn’t get us another room because they was booked toook my whole money for room never got offered to get a special rate because of all this happening

    Nw

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful hotel excellent staff don't buy food at the restaurant other than that fantastic!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room with Sofa Bed - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They charge you for your Wi-Fi and have no microwave even behind customer service desk that was very inconvenient. Also their restaurant inside their hotel was very expensive. Also their bed was extremely hard

    Convenient location and excellent staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    7.1
    Location is great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking is overpriced!! Reception was under renovation so not the greatest ambience. The rooms are a bit old and could do with some sprucing.

    Location is great. Staff is great. Cookies at check in are a nice touch

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    6.7
    Excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no shampoo and when we asked they brought conditioner and lotion. There wasn’t enough towels. we have asked for it but was not brought. Some staff were not helpful. Problem in exiting the parking due to issue with the exit machine.

    Excellent location. Beds are comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    5.4
    Staff
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff on the first day was nice the only thing that was wrong was they did not have the room that I requested and on Monday night the person that was working the Front desk was not nice but otherwise the place is in a great location if you are doing the museums In Chicago

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    9.6
    The location was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was great. I was so exited that Whole Foods was just cross the street. Front desk staff was nice and friendly . Welcome cookie was delusions . The room was big and clean, enough lights and a very comfortable bad.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    4.6
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Disability Access/Roll-In Shower - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel under serious renovation. The lobby is tiny and has no waiting room. We arrived at 2pm and asked to get the room as soon as it’s available, but were told that the cleaners need to finish by 3pm and only than we will get the room. You also can’t unload the car to the lobby and have to roll the suitcases down the parking ramp.

    Great location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    6.3
    We went there for the amenities and it was a lad lacking the amenities
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds and City View - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The swimming pool did not work the exercise facility was out of commission the Wi-Fi was out of commission we could get no one to assist us to get is the very disappointing to me because we spent good money in this photo but don’t feel you get the value for

    The swimming pool did not work the exercise facility was out of commission the Wi-Fi was out of commission we could get no one to assist us to get is the very disappointing to me because we spent good money in this photo but don’t feel you get the value for

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    5.8
    Not impressed for the cost
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room with Sofa Bed and City View - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room wasn't ready when we arrived, the air conditioning shut off during the night, the bathroom shower & sink didn't drain well, the shower water handle almost fell off. The beds were uncomfortable.

    The location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    5.8
    They were under construction
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They were updating some of their facilities and due to this, we couldn’t use the pool for most of our stay which was annoying considering the pool was the only reason we stayed at this hotel. Manager was not nice or accommodating about it. My email had been hacked so I didn’t receive the notification about the remodel or we would not have stayed at this location and the manager was pretty smug and condescending about the situation in my opinion. Was not my first time staying here but, I won’t stay again.

    Great location for our needs and most of the staff was super friendly

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    9.6
    I was happy to have chosen Hilton for our stay, and I am likely to stay there again in the future.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Disability Access/Roll-In Shower - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    I look forward to seeing the new lobby when they are finished. But I'm sure the price per night will be higher when the construction is done. I like that they recycle, but the segmented tiny garbage cans makes it a little hard on the guests. Perhaps having two separate containers would make it easier for some people to recycle.

    I like the warm cookies at check-in. I liked that they took us up to the parking ramp on a large golf cart to get all of our luggage and to return our luggage at the end of our stay. I was glad that I was offered an upgrade on parking. It was $30 instead of the listed $55. Although the hotel is under construction for remodeling, that was not a major problem. Even though we didn't have the time to use the outdoor pool, I'm glad that it was available, and it looked very inviting.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    6.3
    It was disappointing overall except for the locatiom.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room with City View - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    1. Some floors were under construction and I was not able to use the pool. (The pool was one of the main reasons I booked this hotel.) 2. Wifi was poor 3. There was no hair conditioner or shower gel when I got in the shower. I had to ask for it for my next shower.

    The king bed was comfortable. The location was walking distance to the beach and the restaurants.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    10
    Room was nice and had plenty of space.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Murphy Bed Only - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really wish there was a mini fridge and microwave. Biggest disappointment

    Room was nice and had plenty of space. Nice cookies and fruit for in and out .

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    5.8
    Remodeling.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Remodeling. Pool was closed. Parking garage a mess. No valet. No elevator to parking garage from hotel. Had to drag bags up car ramp without sidewalk to get to elevator to get to car on 3rd level. Was not informed prior to booking.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    5.8
    The bathroom was a disgrace.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Disability Access/Roll-In Shower - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    great location great people

    The bathroom was a disgrace. No counter shower water free to go all over VERY POOR. Wallpaper falling off walls. Not what I expect from a Hilton. If you want my business you ned to figure out a way to make this right.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    6.3
    Location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Murphy Bed Only - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1-The hotel is under renovation so there was a lot of noise 2-Check in usually too busy and space limited 3- internet connection was too bad

    Location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    7.5
    Okay quality but awesome location
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maintenance was meh

    Staff was really friendly and willing to help us out! Even brought us a small fridge when we needed to store something. Response was quick!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    8.8
    Location, room was clean, parking was right close to the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking facilities are incredibly dirty, but I can survive with it.

    Location, room was clean, parking was right close to the hotel. I think is a good and not-so-expensive hotel in downtown.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    9.2
    Great location with an amazing staff!
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    While the hotel is still undergoing a bit of remodeling, the staff was AMAZING. Warm, welcoming and made my trip easy and comfortable. We requested a "high" floor to minimize traffic noise, and the beds and pillows were super comfortable!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    4.6
    the location.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    when we first checked in we asked about the parking situation and the staff did not tell us that we’d have to pay $55 overnight. l understand that this is standard in chicago’s downtown area, but it wasn’t clear from the beginning that we’d, as hotel guests, pay for parking.

    the location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    7.5
    We based staying there off the fact that there was a pool...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We based staying there off the fact that there was a pool (we’ve stayed there before). There was a warning that there was construction but it never mentioned that the pool would be closed. The staff kept telling us the pool would be open. We planned our one whole day around coming back early for the pool and they were wrong, it was still closed. Bad communication and just bad in general. Was the staff just all out lying for two days by telling us it would be open in a couple hours every time we asked? I consistently have had problems with my stays at Hilton Hotels. I won’t go back again. I’m done.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    7.9
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathrooms need fans. The ceiling got condensation on it after the first person showered... we had 4 people! Water dripped from the ceiling for over an hour.

    Location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    5.4
    Disappointing. There was no notice of renovations at booking and ALL facilities not available
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There are major renovations occurring at the hotel. This is not advertised. No Pool, No gym, no room service - as promoted on website. No room fridges or room safes - as promoted on the website.

    The double rooms are a good size and the hotel rooms were clean

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    7.5
    Comfortable rooms, great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    In making the reservation it was noted by Booking.com that construction on the property meant the lobby, some meeting rooms and certain guest rooms would not be available. Since I was choosing the hotel for their outside pool area, I was careful to note that the construction project did not appear to affect the pool. At check in, the construction was noticeable, but the elevator sign said the pool was on the fifth level. After returning from dinner we decided to check out the pool only to find that the whole area was closed off for construction -- even though NO ONE told us or any of the guests that this would be affected. As it was one of the hottest weekends of the spring, they had been hearing complaints a great deal but STILL did not feel it was necessary to warn people checking in! I would love to see this hotel when it's done but I've learned never to assume the staff will tell guests upfront about this kind of major closing of their facilities.

    Comfortable rooms, great location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    10
    Best decision I made for my trip; will keep coming back to same hotel in all locations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing, everything was good.

    The location was so good, right by the Navy Pier and Magnificent Mile. I also like how easy it was for Uber drivers to safely drop me off away from the busy street. And the free cookie was great and much needed after a long day of travel!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    5.4
    Hilton was not reasonable at all with its policy!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I booked a room for my 18 year old son and when he got there they would not let him check in. I called the manager and she claimed that it was an Illinois law but I called several other hotels and they said that they state law is 18 and that it is just a Hilton policy. They were not helpful and were going to leave my kid without a room for the night so I had to have a work colleague that lives in town come over and help check him in. It was ridiculous.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    4.6
    Pool was closed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds and City View - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool was closed. We specifically searched rooftop pools before booking. There was no mention on the website that their pool does not open until the end of June.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    7.5
    Close to Lakefront Trail, downtown area, nice room, comfy bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room with City View - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool and health club not in order. Would have stayed somewhere cheaper. Chose it for the pool

    Close to Lakefront Trail, downtown area, nice room, comfy bed

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    8.3
    Overall, our stay was comfortable, pleasant, and we were well taken care of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is a little long in the tooth, however it is undergoing a makeover and we’ll be going back to check it out.

    The Hotel is undergoing a makeover, but with that said we were treated very well, the staff was outstanding! The location perfect for quick stroll to great restaurants and shopping! We will be going back after makeover and look forward to it!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    5.4
    One of the poorest hotel experiences i've ever had.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Murphy Bed Only - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The listing said that there was a pool. The pool is under construction... along with the rest of the hotel. It would have been nice to know this prior to booking. They told me upon checkin but then it's too late. The aircon in the room sounded like a jumbo jet engine. It really was one thing after the other. I would not return and i would definitely not recommend.

    Wasn't a lot to like.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    8.3
    A fine hotel in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 5 nights

    A safe and a fridge in the room would have been welcomed.

    Great location very close to the 'Magnificent Mile" and Navy Pier. I arrived earlier than expected but was still able to check-in. The hotel room was well appointed and comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    8.3
    Happy with our stay
    • People with friends
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No refrigerator or microwave in the room

    Great location and friendly staff. Close to some really cool resturaunts and bars! Alot of things are in close walking distance or a short uber ride away. The bed was super comfortable but the room could use some updating. I think they are in the middle of a remodel though so that should change!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    5.8
    I booked on booking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    I booked on booking.com which had Swimming pool-seasonal(outdoor) and swimming pool both listed. I thought this meant there was also a indoor pool as well. There was not and I had 3 unhappy children with me since the outdoor pool was closed due to weather. I was also shocked that there was no microwave and refrigerator. We are in 2018, right? I overpaid for this room and can find rooms with these amenities for cheaper

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    5.8
    Location was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathtub was clogged so the water constantly built up as I was showering. Room extremely dusty and curtains very dirty

    Location was great. Staff was very nice

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    8.3
    Perfect location and good room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The lighting was dim, i like brighter rooms. Also there was no fridge/microwave. I would have liked it more if breakfast was included in the cost of the hotel room. Full view mirror was not that great.

    The hotel is at very good location. The Navy pier, Magnificent Mile, River Walk and other tourist places were at a walking distance. Staff was friendly. The room was spacious & cozy with comfortable bed. Unfortunately, fridge/microwave was missing in our room. Not sure, if it was just our room or in general thats the case in the hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    7.1
    Mixed emotions!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I was very disappointed when I arrived to find that my hotel did not have a separate sitting area. It was shown on Booking.com to have this; and I have stayed at a Hilton Double Tree in different states and there was always a separate sitting area. The parking was horrendous!! Construction was going on in the parking structure; the in and out access was a joke; and on the day of check out I was stuck in the parking structure for over 20 minutes calling for help. It was absolutely awful!!

    The hotel staff was very friendly and accommodating. The Concierge was extremely helpful and friendly; and had wonderful recommendations on all the best restaurants and nightlife in the area! Everyone was smiling from the front desk help to the housekeeping staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    8.3
    If you are going to partner with booking.com then you should have access to their computer software
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No communication with booking.com to fix problem. Never offered to provide me with phone number. Told me she couldn’t do anything to correct problem. The keys did not work properly. No safe offered. Have us the incorrect WiFi password. Give us winter2018... should have given us Spring 2018..

    Cleaning staff and clean rooms.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    9.6
    Awesome, near lots of things. We will stay here again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We only got 1 warm cookie at check-in, and not a bunch more! Yummy!! (Thanks, it was yummy)

    We had a great time at The Double Tree--helpful staff, clean rooms, good food and tight but very workable connected parking for our car. We will stay here again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    10
    Overall I would say the hotel is in an excellent location and it's good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Disability Access/Roll-In Shower - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We had one incident when my wife was locked out of our room. The receptionist was a bit dismissive at first, but quickly became attentive when she realised it wasn't my wife's fault. It was a fault with the lock and it took 3 members of staff to 'break' in to the room.

    We only ate breakfast once and enjoyed it. The welcome from from 'big' Ben when we arrived was excellent. In fact the concierge staff were all helpful when asked questions. Overall the staff weren't in your face as we've experienced at other US hotels.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    10
    staff, room, fitness center and room service are all...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Murphy Bed Only - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    parking is too expensive

    staff, room, fitness center and room service are all excellent! my room service cleaning lady was awesome and made sure the room was clean!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    6.3
    Expensive waste of money
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Disability Access/Roll-In Shower - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was expensive and not a good food selections the French toast was hard and no more food was coming out the kitchen fresh crumbs of Becon at 9:30a m,the room was half clean the bed comforter and sheets was dirty and only realize it before going to a hour meeting and returning back tired ,The room didn't have a great view and the t.v that should have been free only had Movie that you had to pay over 20 dollar's to view even movies that on basic cable next time I will go to a different hotels that has t.v that you can view and breakfast that worth the price

    Juan our waiter was great,the shower was nice in hot

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    5.8
    Good location but poor wifi and a dated hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Murphy Bed Only - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very poor wifi (the speed and that it kept dropping out so was almost useless). Also unable to leave luggage at the hotel while out of town for one night.

    Good location, a few minutes walk from Michigan Av and the River North area.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    9.6
    Great weekend!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Doesnt have a mini fridge, althought there was the space for it in the tv table.

    Location was great, very confy beds, friendly staff, green oriented, good happy hour.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    2.9
    Terrible never again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Disability Access/Roll-In Shower - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Customer service at front desk was terrible They are what made this experience horrible our room wasn’t ready and then we had to end up sharing a bed etc and then change rooms we were almost late to our play because of changing rooms and what not we were rushed and front desk was so rude

    Nothing terrible experience

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    7.5
    Had a great time!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking garage was under construction, terrible and frightening. Car was coated in dust/ dirt when we left. Get to pay for a nice auto detail now. No refrigerator in room. We’ve stayed at lower quality hotels and get a fridge!!

    Great location. Friendly staff ,great cookies

    Stayed in April 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: