Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago-Wood Dale/Itasca 3 stars

1200 North Mittel Boulevard, Wood Dale, IL 60191, USA

#1 of 2 hotels in Wood Dale

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 84 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    9.1

  • Paid WiFi

    9.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 45

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2018

    8.8
    Comfortable and convenient
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast could have been better, although I guess the selection at the buffet was acceptable.

    I arrived quite late after a transatlantic flight. The lady at reception made me feel very welcome and made check-in super easy for me. I got a warm cookie and a quite room on the executive floor. This was quite easily the best night's sleep I'd had in a long time. The bed was super comfortable, the room quiet, and warm enough, and everything was nice and clean.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    10
    Its was very pleasant......
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The eggs were horrible and the potatoes....

    The staff was great.......The one lady with long blonde hair was the best she assisted with everything I asked for....

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    7.9
    If you use Booking.com you will not receive Hilton points
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff at the front desk was not friendly

    Because I booked through Booking.com I was not allowed to use my Hotel membership and receive points for the stay

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    10
    The front desk was extremely courteous, I will mention Jojo,...
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast menu can be changed on daily basis!!

    The front desk was extremely courteous, I will mention Jojo, she helped us a lot.Very good staff, great breakfast and marvellous location make it a great place to stay.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    7.5
    Dawn was amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Heated pool was cold and not very clean. Though coffee was available in the mornings, it wasn't attended and was typically empty.

    Dawn was amazing. Made us feel like family.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    7.9
    Excellent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows were a little flat

    The front desk staff was excellent. Dawn was very friendly and extremely helpful. The server at breakfast was very prompt and accommodating. The facility was very clean.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    7.5
    Our stay was pleasant, clean room, most of the employees were nice and helpful! Transp was pricey.
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 5 nights

    No airport shuttle. No weekend shuttle to the train station (for Chicago). The maid was 'cheap' with the 'toilet paper'. We kept running out of toilet paper daily and there was no toilet paper replacement. Travelocity did not include breakfast as part of the daily charge (as it was originally requested), too many taxis and it became expensive because is the hotel is too far away from everything. Airport taxi is about $85.00 each way. One nasty front desk employee who was not very helpful (middle age brunette woman). We will not consider going back to this specific facility.

    The hotel is very nice. However, it became pricey because we did not rent a car. The shuttle was not available on the weekends for transportation to the train station or to the mall. We had to use an expensive Shuttle to the facility ($85.00 each way). Then taxi cabs to the train station $24.00 each way (about 4 times). We also had to use a taxicab to the nearest mall ($25.00 each way) about 4 times (getting in there and coming back). The hotel staff was friendly, but there was a middle age women (brunette) who was somewhat nasty and difficult to work with (she acted liked she owned the hotel, and was not very friendly). We were going to a graduation (with 3 family members) and the woman not only made us 'wait and wait' to provide an answer to a question, or played 'ignored' or did not want to speak to us and provide good information about transportation etc. Because of this woman I felt not well taken care of appropriately as a customer. However, they had another woman in there (brunette, slender that was wonderful - a greek generation type lady, she should be in-charge in there because she had a gift to treat clients and make them feel good, she also worked the extra mile to make up for the one staff member that was not very nice. All other personnel was very sweet and helpful. The restaurant is very good but expensive for dinner. My agency (travelocity) did not added breakfast (which I requested) to the booking and all the breakfasts have to be covered at $42.00 per day (for 5 days). We felt we should have booked the hotel in Chicago (at a higher rate instead). Overall, we try to tour Chicago and had fun (which we did!). The hotel should check for this nasty women and train her better. A bossy type employee (and a bully) is not good to have in the front desk. My suggestion is for the hotel to put a 7-day shuttle to the train station (back and forth) and also have a car available to take guests to the nearest mall.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    10
    My stay at the doubletree was fantastic!!
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing I would say is the the hotel is in an industrial area so there isn't much to walk or see as a view.

    The staff was very friendly and helpful my entire stay. My boyfriend and I loved how the room was nice and clean.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    10
    Home close to relative's who don't have room to accommodate us when we visit.
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Have 0 complaints.

    The bed and bedding was very comfortable and the room was perfect for my husband and I. We have stayed here about 4 or 5 times now, whenever we come to visit my son and his family, and have never been disappointed with the facility or service.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    7.9
    Would stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cable TV didn't have a guide - which is barley a problem - but I don't live in the states so I don't know the channels very well. The wifi was terrible... it worked but it was very very slow.

    Room was BIG. Had a mini-fridge. Clean (carpet was a little sticky in some spots but someone probably spilt a drink or something, I didn't really care). Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    10
    It was nice, clean and the staff was extremely friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like the fact that breakfast wasn't included, the hotel was nice but not very big.

    It was nice, clean and the staff was extremely friendly. Hotel was in an excellent location.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    7.1
    The beds are super comfy and the staff was friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The toilet did not work all the time, it would run all the time and you had to pull the chain up by taking lid off and their outdated menu in room for dining was disappointing.

    The beds are super comfy and the staff was friendly

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2017

    9.6
    My new favorite place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I do wish it wasn't so expensive, because I would love to stay here all the time. The complimentary breakfast was a little confusing- I couldn't tell if we were allowed to eat certain things or not.

    I have never received better customer service than I did with my stay here. Sandy at the front desk really was a breath of fresh air- good customer service still exists! I loved my stay. The pool was very nice. Breakfast was great. This is my new favorite place to stay.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2017

    10
    This is the best spot if you plan a trip to Chicago and don't want to be crucified financially.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was perfect. Loved it.

    My partner and I had a wonderful time. The cookies were fire! The hotel staff was very courteous and JoJo the acting manager was freaking awesome! We are totally making this our spot when we venture to Chicago. Thanks DT!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2017

    2.5
    Bad Customer Service!
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The desk lady named JoJo did not accomodate any of my request she said it was because I booked with a third party. She gave me a hard time when I was checking in. That was my first and last time at that hotel.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2017

    10
    Dawn was the front desk worker when we arrived.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wouldn't change one single thing!

    Dawn was the front desk worker when we arrived. Absolutely fabulous! On a scale of 1-10 with 10 being the best, Customer service was a 20! Morning buffet was THE BEST! All fresh and homemade. Never had such a great hotel stay in my life. Free warm cookies, heated pool, nice fitness center and business center.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    9.6
    Great business hotel with modern and relaxing facilities
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Brekkie not included but despite that , good menu

    Beautiful room & facilities with a lovely view across the lake , a very welcoming lobby area with modern stylish furnishings , bar and grill is very good with good choice of wines .

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2018

    9.2
    Super breakfast with fresh made products
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only thing that could improve is the noisy airco

    Super breakfast with fresh made products The staff in this hotel is the best!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    10
    very nice!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    the elevator was almost too far from my room

    Front staff is very kind. the room is very quiet . so i slept very well.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    9.6
    Perfect for our stay before an early morning flight.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Perfect for our stay before an early morning flight. Plenty of space in the room for the baby's travel cot. Loads of parking spaces.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    8.8
    The staff was very friendly and helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was very isolated

    The staff was very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    10
    It was clean and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was clean and comfortable

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    5.0
    The water in the swimming pool was dirty (pcs of cigarets.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The water in the swimming pool was dirty (pcs of cigarets...)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    10
    Clean modern rooms, and a very comfy bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean modern rooms, and a very comfy bed.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    10
    The get away
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast seemed cold. All on all it was a good experience.

    The pool

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    5.0
    Disabled parking was close to room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lounge was terrible. The actual bar was just a shelf. Pool was old. No hot tub.

    Disabled parking was close to room.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    10
    Great place. I will be back
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very clean

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    8.3
    Good business hotel not too far from the airport
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Room was spacious and bed soft Good breakfast with freshly made eggs Friendly reception

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    10
    Nice and quiet accommodations for our stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast not free

    Friendly personnel

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    7.9
    Good hotel but bad location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Difficult to find. Far away from everything.

    Good parking and breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    7.1
    Good but could be better
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows were terrible.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    10
    Friendly service
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior King Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly service

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    10
    No complaints from me :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior King Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Easy to find parking. Kind staff. Perfect sized rooms with a comfy bed & pillows as soft as a cloud. & Also a great breakfast!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2017

    4.2
    All around just a sad stay
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tv in the bedroom didnt work. No hot tub. Ice cold pool. To much chlorine in the pool. Holes in celiing. Breafast was poor.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2016

    7.1
    I liked the design and the cleanliness of the room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The shower needed to be re-caulked, it looked a mess. The jacuzzi was out of order , the pool was over crowded with young children.

    I liked the design and the cleanliness of the room. The bed was comfy and the hotel has a nice quiet atmosphere.

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2016

    9.2
    I enjoyed the pool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Hottub under maintenance.

    I enjoyed the pool. I enjoyed my stay very quiet and beautiful scenery.Great smell in the rooms clean sheets.Very organized humble but very nice staff will stay again in the future.

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2015

    5.8
    The place was rated as a 4 star hotel but I would only give...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Read above

    The place was rated as a 4 star hotel but I would only give it a 2. There was a lot of mildew in the bathroom and a lot of chipping paint and unfinished repair all through the hotel.

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2015

    7.5
    Convenience of being close to work.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Booked through a third party that gave receipt excluding taxes. Hotel charged with taxes but couldn't give me a receipt. Never settled! Couldn't give my company a correct receipt to get reinbursed.

    Convenience of being close to work. Room was nice.

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2015

    6.3
    We enjoyed the daily breakfast, restaurant and bar on site.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The shuttle service does not run Friday-Sunday and only certain hours through the week. On the website site it states "Shuttle service." We had to Uber to the Metra or O'hare to the Blue Line. This can add up when your there for a week. The front desk messed up on our check in and we had a hold on our spending money.

    We enjoyed the daily breakfast, restaurant and bar on site. It was nice to relax in the hot tub and swim. Our bed and pillows were very comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2015

    5.4
    The front desk attendent and manager was nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    My room had an odd smell and was a little out dated. The bathroom could also use some touch ups, the caucking around the tub was very cracked. Not too appealing to the eyes.

    The front desk attendent and manager was nice.

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2015

    10
    Just wanted to point out I work in the hotel industry and I...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Just wanted to point out I work in the hotel industry and I loved my interaction I had with Devin, the overnight girl. She is amazing! Just wanted to make sure she is noticed for her hard work.

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2016

    7.9
    Staff friendly, room clean, evening food very good
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Shower difficult to set temperature correct, bacon on breakfasts was very fatty

    Staff friendly, room clean, evening food very good

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2016

    7.9
    friendly staff always helpful,
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    a little remote,

    friendly staff always helpful,

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2015

    8.8
    The breakfast was wonderful
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The hotel was under construction

    The breakfast was wonderful

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2015

    9.6
    Ideal for an overnight stay after our flight.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Ideal for an overnight stay after our flight.

There are also 28 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 45

Guests also reviewed these properties: