Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of DoubleTree by Hilton Cleveland South 4 stars

6200 Quarry Lane, Independence, OH 44131, USA

#12 of 14 hotels in Independence

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 113 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 69

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great

    Food was wonderful and staff were above and beyond. We forgot clothes and they were nice enough to hold on to them until we came back to get them!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    it was good

    The staff was great at accommodating rooms, but the room I was originally in the sheets on the bed were not clean. However, the staff accommodated me with no hesitation.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The signal to watch TV wasn't great it went out every 5 mins nothing to major but couldn't watch TV and get into what was on because it kept going out

    The beds we're so comfortable their cookies n fruit water was amazing the front desk employees were so friendly.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Fitness room was a bit small, but most are.. I guess I'm just picky.

    Very nice facility with a great restaurant and bar. Staff was extremely friendly and helpful. If I come back to that area for business, I will book there again.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything very dated, plain decor, safe didn't work, mold around shower soap holder, paint coming off interior bathroom door, carpeting by bathroom poor condition, poor cable selection, overpriced restaurant--pastry not fresh, same fruit everyday, nothing special. Molding in elevator in disrepair.

    Glad there was a workout room.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Pool View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleanlines was very bad. They did not use vacuum cleaner behind furniture probably since property was opened. Wifi was very unstable. Every minute i had to reconnect.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hot tub did not not work for 5 days. Kept getting a different reason why it wasn't working. Room service delivered food and a bottle of beer was delivered with meal. It fell on the floor. House keeping was called no one came to clean it up. Room smelled moldy. Paint srops on kitchen floor. Toilet had black stains among the rim of the inside. I saved my money to enjoy my stay however everyday I went to the pool, the maintenance guy sat under the tree and drank sodas and slept. I feel as though my hard earned money I saved paid for him to sleep under a tree everyday.I have attached a pic of him under the tree. I've stayed at better Double Tree's

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    You advertise a restaurant serving breakfast and dinner. We went to your restaurant for dinner and was told it opens at 5:00pm. Since we were 40 minutes early, we decided to wait around and have a drink. At a few minutes past 5:00pm we saw there was still no activity in the restaurant. The employee who told us it opens at 5:00pm now tells us the chef will not be in until 6:00pm. We left very unhappy.

    Man at the front counter was kind and bent over backwards to get us checked in a little early.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Couple
    • King Room - Mobility/Hearing Accessible with Bath Tub - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I don't think I've ever been so disappointed in a hotel. First of all we stayed in room 100 (DONT LET THEM PUT YOU THERE) and it's right by the elevators on the first floor. All night long, people coming back from the party they created at the pool (that was supposed to be closed), took their yelling and screaming to the elevators. All night. The entire time we were there they did not come to clean our rooms. The AC in the room smelled moldy every time it came on. Everywhere else in the place just looked dirty. Staff was decent in our interactions but it just all seemed very unorganized. The only reason we stayed here was because it was substantially cheaper in price than our other usual hotel in the area but now I know why. I and all my family members will NEVER stay here again. Lesson learned.

    n/a

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast buffet is overly priced for what is provided, the pool was full of 15+ kids that were screaming and nothing was done. There was also a lack of seating and towels.

    Check in was easy, room was quiet and we were left alone.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Pool View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The restaurant Shula's 2 was a little pricey and the food was too salty (probably by design because it is a sports bar).

    The property was conveniently located to several freeways; breakfast at LA Pete's was excellent. Located close to so many good restaurants and fast food places, it was outstanding as far a food choices. The staff was friendly, helpful and gracious. My sister has many allergies so they replaced the sheets and towels with a set they had washed at a laundromat with "free and gentle soap"--an outstanding service they provided at no extra charge. Management and staff went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Roll-In Shower - Hearing Accessible
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was dirty!!! Windows had something all over them, bathroom was not clean, spider webs in the closet and spider hanging there and we slept with our clothes on, a very horrible experience. Did not expect this from a Double Tree. Stayed at many for business and leisure.

    The staff gave great customer service. Smiled and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    While my car was parked overnight in the lot outside the hotel, someone actually cut out and stole the catalytic converter from my car. The hotel might want to invest in cameras for the lot. As for us, we'll never stay here again, which is unfortunate because the hotel services were nice.

    Bed was very comfortable

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool was out of commission and would not be working for another whole month. That was one of the biggest reasons we were going to stay at this hotel because of pool

    The warm cookies

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    some areas of the hotel could have been a bit cleaner. Had to point out to the front desk that areas near pool and back corner were being neglected by housekeeping. This being unusual since it was next to the housekeeping office.

    Good hotel right off of Rockside Ln. Centrally Located to what I needed. Great area, with lots of dining options

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Have stayed here several times, each time very happy. We did have a issue with our room door but at check out the Guest Coordinator was very kind and listened, apologized -nice to know that we were treated as if we were only quests! Will continue to stay as we visit the Cleveland area.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Lighting in bathrooms was really bad. No complimentary breakfast, which seems standard for what we paid for the room.

    Beds were good. Rooms were clean.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No expected welcome drink.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was fine

    The meeting was in the same hotel. Also the chchocolate chip cookies won me over.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedbugs, dirty room, dirty linen on the bed, hair in breakfast food, night staff uncooperative.

    Lobby was clean

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff, and good location for Th e National Park.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool was fabulous

    Great Location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dark decor- lack of lights in the room.

    Rooms were dark and dingy. Overall dark decor was depressing although the staff was nice and friendly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Pool View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel was a bit noisy at night with other guests

    Location was excellent for my needs

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They tried to get out of including breakfast and only gave me 20 vouchers for 4 night stay for 8 occupants.

    Location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Trouble with tv which was my problem with my last stay and ironing board was terrible

    Location and price affordable

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Pool View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Drafty thru ac. No TV guide. Several No Signal channels.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed and pillows were awesome! Slept like a baby!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was rude

    Indoor pool

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Pool View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    everything

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Children running the halls. Man telling at 2am

    Everything close by

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower in my room was not working properly. Had a really bad leak

    Very clean and staff was very friendly

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the shower was awful. went from ice cold to scolding hot in seconds without touching the knob.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hot tub wasn't working, but pool was heated so it made up a little for hot tub.

    Staff very nice,

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The hotel was perfectly located for us. The swimming pool was great.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything, buffet was amaziiiing

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi issues.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds were ok. Love the pillows

    Food and staff were awesome.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel does not resemble a double tree. It's old and dirty.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    don't like booking .com

    loved the staff

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The pool was amazing!!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Easy access from highway. Very clean friendly staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the water pressure was great and the shower head in room 435 was awesome!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Out side pool closed😭.

    Staff very friendly and helpful,no problem with us changing rooms to be on ground floor with patio,thanks😊.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Trash bag full of linen in the hall all night.

    Inside and out areas were very clean.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    • Couple
    • King Room with Roll-In Shower - Hearing Accessible
    • Stayed 1 night

    the elegance of the property. the location is in the heart of a verity of cuisine.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was so unprofessional. They put us out on our first warning, called police and everything... DO NOT GO TO THIS PROPERTY

    The pool was nice

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2017

    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Pool View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    First time at the double tree. Very neat and clean will stay there again

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a great stay altogether!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had trouble with shower but was taken care of right away!

    Jeff at desk was wonderful! Staff very friendly.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was my daughter's wedding nights. They enjoyed the pool and the accomodations. Said the breakfast this morning was very good.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They over charged me . Front desk, night staff, had NO clue what they are doing. My parents had no hot water.

    Location

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool and exercise facility subpar. Elevator not functional.

    Generally friendly staff

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    door to room 200 very hard to open ans close. Beds TOO Soft felt worn out.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room - Mobility/Hearing Accessible with Bath Tub - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's a good short getaway place.

    I'm used to continental breakfast. The pool could've been a little cleaner.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    very slow internet. broken chair. no exhaust in bathroom.

    bed was comfortable, slept well.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I had to call on more than two occasion for items that weren't in the room and the noise levels in the adjacent rooms

    The environment was nice with a few exceptions

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The tub was not draining during the shower and there was no way to adjust the drain. Also, it doesn't mention this in the description,but the executive lounge is only open for two hours a night. And I don't advise on drinking the breakfast coffee at Schula's.

    Awesome bed & no messing around with a heater or a/c, the climate was perfect from the moment we walked in. Enjoyed the fluffy robe & cookies!

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Terrible front desk personnel.Failed with direction and parking for room. Halls littered with maids and carts at 5:30 pm,. Hot water did not work well. Kids running the halls after two calls to security at 10:00pm.

    Room was ready

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2015

    • Family with older children

    The thermostat in the room was set at 74. We didn't check it before going to bed and the room was too hot all night. The location of the room turned out to be a very long walk for my elderly parents. I probably should have reserved an accessible room.

    Convenience of Shula 2 - and the food was delicious. Access from interstate.

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Didn't get my coffee refilled for my last morning. When I called the front desk, she told me she couldn't reach housekeeping and I could come down to the lobby to get my coffee. She came off as rude.

    Liked the location, cleanliness. The lobby is very classy. The restaurant is very good.

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    My king size bed was saggy and very uncomfortable. I had to sleep on the sofa.

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2016

    • Family with older children

    to many kids in pool

    the service

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2015

    • Couple

    Needs hand held shower heads.

    Great water pressure, quiet,super comfy beds.

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The free breakfast buffet was a big plus. It was much nicer than I thought it was going to be. The location was perfect and easy to get to.

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    • Couple

    Breakfast was not included because we did not book through Hilton Honors.

    Staff was helpful for special needs.

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    suitable for all

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Staff.....

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Everything

There are also 49 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 69

Guests also reviewed these properties: