Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Karlan San Diego - a DoubleTree by Hilton 4 stars

14455 Penasquitos Drive, Poway, CA 92129, USA

#2 of 5 hotels in Poway

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 182 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    7.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    9.6
    We loved it! Very clean and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pay for parking every night

    Very clean room, bed, and bathroom -spacious -comfortable beds and pillow -beautiful bathroom -great location (quiet and surrounded by greenery but close enough to freeway access to go around San Diego) -

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    7.9
    Very relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool was way smaller than I expected and lots of noise early morning from the guests in the grass and the staff passing by repeatedly in gas powered utilitie/golf carts

    Very relaxing

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    5.4
    Not at all what it’s cracked up to be
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed in a ‘casita’. The idea was sold to us because we were told it was a bit more secluded, away from the main hotel. We were told he’d give us one close by, with a nice balcony so we can enjoy sitting out there with a view. Oh and there’s no elevator, but about 4 steps up, is that ok? Sure we said, 4 steps is no big deal. Now for the truth, it was a trek to our room from the check in desk, it was not 4 steps up, but 20 steps! Our balcony over looked the parking lot and the dumpster, which we could smell! We heard road noise all night long and loud birds before the crack of dawn. There were 2 other rooms in the same casita and could hear their doors slamming every time they left. The bed was awful with a huge dent in the center and the pillows were even worse. I barely slept the whole time we were there. In the closet on the upper shelf was a dirty towel with gross brown stuff all over it, I believe it was shoe polish, but who knows. And the kicker was when we checked in we were chatting with the guy about having flown in from out of town and not having a car. When I received my email receipt, (we left too early in the morning to go check out personally) there was nearly $30 of parking charges on there! I was going to keep quiet until that. But the whole experience was pretty terrible, especially for $400+ for 2 nights!!! We were disappointed and won’t stay there again. Which is unfortunate because I visit the area often and was looking for a regular place to stay.

    Bar and restaurant on site Centrally located Near stores and restaurants Nice looking pool, cabanas Seems very nice upon check in

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    5.8
    It's a nice place to stay, but it doesn't feel like there's an effort to keep things nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds with Patio
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The room smelled strange and maybe a little stale. Maybe it's the carpets? They were stained and old-looking. I had to ask twice to get an ironing board that worked. The coffee maker broke the last morning. I was upset about the man who brought his pit bull into the pool enclosure, but I was happy that the hotel staff took care of the problem. I was upset that the man had his pit bull off-leash not only then, but at other times on hotel property (perhaps staff was not aware?). I was upset to find out that we were charged for parking. I was not aware there was a parking fee. It hardly seems necessary, given the location and the ample parking. I'll certainly think twice about staying there again now that I know that. Other hotels in the area have free parking.

    Nice location, away from the freeway, lots of greenery. Very pretty grounds.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    8.3
    Great property and service
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bummed that in hot tub, two guys were there who said they snuck in the side gate to use it. This is always a difficult situation to deal with because we paid and they didn't and I'm not going to confront people like that. Once we got out we went to complain to front desk who took care of it immediately.

    I loved to hear all the birds chirping from our room and walking around the well groomed property. It makes a big difference to feel like I'm in nature and enhanced our stay. Room was nice and big and extremely well decorated in a minimalist style. Service at front desk and the bar was exceptional, really was treated like an esteemed client.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    8.8
    would recommend and stay again. Didn't disappoint and met my expectations
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    For the price include breakfast! Would have preferred a room with a view. Free parking - although ours was waved.

    The room was spacious. Bed was comfy. Furniture was nice and updated. Room was clean. Water and cookies provided were awesome and delicious.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    9.6
    Easy, nice, private, quiet.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Overall very happy. Needed to call to find non-down-feather pillows (allergic), but that's pretty standard.

    There is a main complex then a bunch of smaller groupings of rooms (almost like bungalows in sets of 4) and it's really nice to be spread out, have some space and privacy!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    6.3
    Our stayed could’ve exceeded expectations but the traffic noise was a little uncomfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The overall stay was great except the location of our room. I woke up a few times during the night because I could hear the freeway and the cars driving down the street.

    The hotel room was nice and clean. The room was spacious and up to date and we also liked that you guys followed through with our request of the balcony and microwave.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    10
    Great time! Loved the cookies!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn’t love the walk all the way to the back to the rooms. There isn’t much anyone can do about that but my only big complaint.

    The room was very clean, and updated

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    5.5
    Location was great but service was spotty...won’t be going back
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The housekeeping was spotty, bathroom sink wasn’t working (told housekeeping and it took 3 days before it was fixed), there were days no trash was picked up (had to start leaving it outside the room for them), had to hunt down housekeeping for fresh towels and coffee pods since no one came to our room or if they did it was just them making the bed. Our sheets had a pee stain the day we checked in. It was gross.

    Front desk staff was very nice and helpful. Was able to get side by side rooms with family. Plus they gave us fresh cookies when we checked in. The location was great.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    6.7
    Overall I liked the location which was good for both Sea World and The Safari Park.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wasn’t too thrilled with the prices at the Pub & Restaurant. For a family of 4 for dinner with tip came to $96, and two of the kids got kids meals. A bit pricey I think. Although the tacos were good the rice was not! Also the pool area seldom had towels stocked and I would have to ask for towels for the pool and once for my room. The pool was a little dirty and the facility looked like it could use a makeover. Then I found out that someone else used Priceline.com and got a much more reasonable rate and about %40 less than I paid. That’s ok I realize that’s my fault for not doing my homework, but I won’t be staying there again at the rate I paid. It’s just too much for what you get. Also I was to have reserved a top unit and was placed on the bottom floor and could constantly hear the people and children above me all hours of the day and night. This place definitely needs a makeover and then maybe they can charge the price they do!

    I like the pool area and the property location. Also the staff is really nice and attentive.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    10
    Comfortable and relaxing-perfect for pets.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room with Patio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything met or exceeded my expectations.

    The rooms were clean and spacious. The staff was friendly and helpful. There was lots of space to walk my dog and the patio area was perfect for pets,

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    8.8
    Despite the minor annoyances, we really liked the hotel grounds, restaurants and location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extra fee for parking, our room #521 was not well maintained. After checking in, we had to call the front desk to have the balcony screen door (would not slide) repaired, the tiny balcony was cluttered with debris (not cleaned), some moulding on a corner was hanging (required glue) off and the alarm clock could not be adjusted for correct time (only personnel could do it!). The young man cleaning the pool at 8 am yesterday was rude and requires customer service training. Also, although we were staying 2 nights, our room was not serviced and we had to call for service.

    The contemporary, clean decor, comfortable bed, two vanities, spacious room, excellent breakfast, fitness room, hot tub and easy location to great plaza and highway.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    9.6
    Very nice property, the set up makes you feel like you’re...
    • Couple
    • King Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No microwave in the room and the ax unit a little out dated, however if you’re staying for consecutive days you can request to have a microwave sent to your room!

    Very nice property, the set up makes you feel like you’re staying in apartments or condos. Very home like.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    6.7
    Parking not included!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I was surprised when my credit card was charged nearly $15 for parking. I was not informed in advance of the charge. Parking should always be included in the price of the room. The room did not have a DVD player.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    8.8
    We enjoyed are stay immensely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We enjoyed are stay immensely. The only negative was the bathroom was very cold. Didn't help that we came on the days when San Diego was having the coldest weather that they seen in years. We will be back.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    2.9
    Nice room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds with Bath Tub - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dan at the front desk was rude and accused me for defrauding for some reason. They also gave me the wrong room type twice before finally getting it right.

    Nice room. Decent breakfast

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    7.1
    Lucky to still have my passport
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Hearing Accessible
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This trip I arrived back at the hotel to find my room open. The latch mechanism failed and housekeeping failed to notice it after cleaning the room. The desk was apologetic but overall nonplussed about the issue. It is getting a bit rough at the edges.

    I have stayed here at least 7 times and I will return because it’s convenient for my needs and reasonably priced on booking.com The rooms are nice, sufficiently spacious with comfortable pillows and bedding. Staff is usually very good

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    10
    My husband and I are very pleased with the cleanliness and service we were provided by Ruaa! Thanks
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    After checking we were given the most delicious chocolate chip cookies! Once we arrived in our room I felt as if I were at home the room was very spacious and clean. Breakfast was great, I personally appreciated that Asado(the restaurant) serves fresh diced fruit. Yogurt with granola and of course eggs, juice, and coffee

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    9.2
    Great comfortable stay. I would recommend this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I don't like to sleep on fluffy pillows- I need some support on my neck. This hotel doesn't have elevators but it's not too much of a bother because there are only two stories. I think it would benefit everyone if the signs were lit up. It's very hard to see at night.

    The bed was extremely comfortable and the room was larger than most other hotel rooms. I like how each room has a balcony/patio. The neighborhood is quiet and safe.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    7.1
    Overall quite nice but nothing special, for the money I must be content, happy I’m not.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff overall is good but is weakening. I won’t mentioned Dan by name but he seems to have a chip on his shoulder about being pleasant, making eye contact and basically working this job. He is not overtly rude but puts out the vibe “I don’t really care, leave me alone, I like my job except for you.” He has been the morning front desk person for as long as I have been going to the property and the only change I can see is he now cares even less about being available, helpful let alone caring, cordial let alone courteous and professional. Example, coffee service in the lobby has be come sloppy to begin with, no napkins and no one come by to freshen up and clean up minor spills for example kinda how I think of a motel 6. Each of 7 mornings they ran out coffee, every morning of my 7 night stay. Yesterday I was frustrated as I really wanted coffee that morning. I informed Dan the urn was empty and he somehow acknowledged he heard with a grunt or a umh, no eye contact, it was unpleasant and certainly uncaring, he was nonplused by the situation with no concern that guests coming for their morning coffee are met with no coffe, no explanation no apology. After informing the front desk, Dan, about the empty urn I went to work on one of the two house computer, both on their last legs crashing and freezing, basically unusable, as I waited for a fresh urn of coffe. Over the course of the next 25 minutes I chose to inform 10 or 12 guests that the desk, Dan specifically, had been informed the coffee had run out over 20 minutes ago. It finally arrived after 20 - 25 minutes of waiting. This morning was my last morning, and there was hot coffee waiting, ahh how sweet. I checked out and as I arrived at my car in the outdoor on property parking lot I notice Dan was arriving to work and parking in one of the top spots in the entire lot.

    I have stayed here 5 or more times, it is the most convenient for my needs so when the price point is better than Rancho Bernardo Inn, a much nicer property but less convenient, I chose this property. So convenience when coupled with a great price point.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    10
    Convenient to the 15!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    What’s not to love!! Warm cookies any time!!! Beautiful, delicious and plentiful hot buffet! Breakfast!!

    Convenient to the 15! Headed home from a great vacay in San Diego

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    10
    The beds are very comfortable!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would be nice if there were breakfast buffet options included for all room packages rather than a select few.

    The beds are very comfortable! The little walkout patios/balconies are nice too.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    8.3
    Helpful staff made the difference for this stay.
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    On-site parking charges - not a welcome surprise.

    The staff really worked with us to accommodate senior handicapped close by to our room and our additional senior members to an access room close by the elevator. The business center became a family meeting spot with the board table and seating.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    6.3
    Nice hotel for a good price
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The room was very good, but there were often plates/glasses left lying around in the outside corridors.

    Breakfast didn't appeal to anyone outside the US.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    5.8
    Friendly staff but disappointing facility
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Bath Tub - Disability Access
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't get a king with bathtub even though I confirmed only days prior I got 2 queen beds so couldn't share with partner and floors are VERY thin so we were kept up all night with guest above us pacing.

    Friendly staff always smiling.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    8.0
    nice place,very quite and value the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the clean house ask for cleaning several times although we ask her to come later the cleaning after room service is not good, the thing stayed outside the room to long

    the rooms are big and the bed was comfy

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    6.7
    PLEASE see liked as disliked problems with the hotel
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We liked the private patio

    The property was not handicapped friendly Our family in California couldn't Visit our hotel Family is in their 90's the stairs were up and down and no straight line They were maze like to travel from one side to the restaurant and bar almost Four blocks and slopes wouldn't let us have family in 90's visit Also showers were large but no bench for elderly to sit down shower Needed portable chair in shower Also we couldn't find so!e of the family that also stayed at the same hotel because of the maze design... This was what we disliked not liked

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    9.6
    Excellent service and food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel did not honor the price we got thru Booking.com. We had to negotiate the room charge to get closer to the discount.

    Very courteous and accommodating staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    5.8
    Hotel Karlan San Diego - a DoubleTree by Hilton
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I did not like that, when showering, the water would not go down the drain, and would fill up with water. We also found some type of tiny bug on our bed, which looked something like a bed bug. Location was not very convenient, it is far from main attractions.

    It is located in a nice area.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    8.3
    Good enough
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We requested an early check-in (11:00am) upon booking and when we arrived at 12:00pm we were told that our room would not be available for another hour and a half due to many customers requesting a late check-out. We were offered to stay in the pool area until our room was ready but only after we asked, "Is there somewhere we can stay while we wait?". The breakfast buffet was quite limited for the price ($19). The towels at the pool area would run out and no one came to replenish. I recall hearing one of the guests calling the front desk for more towels and 2 hours later no one had come to bring any. The bathroom in the room lacked towel hooks/racks. There were 5 of us in the room and there was 1 hook. We had to hang our towels outside on the chairs of the patio to dry in order to re-use them. It would've been more convenient to just order fresh towels everyday; although, that wouldn't be environmentally friendly.

    After an hour and a half of waiting for our room, we were told that because we've been so patient we were given a few comps :). Our server from the Asado Grill was very nice and even made our boys awesome hot chocolates with tons of whipped cream and chocolate drizzle. The hotel was near many good restaurants and stores. It was walking distance to a 7 Eleven where we walked every morning to get coffee.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    6.3
    Not worth it
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The staff were unbelievably rude and unhelpful the entire time. I had booked three rooms for Comic Con for my 20th Century Fox & MGM production team. The staff were not accommodating for late arrivals, etc., and when one of the team missed the check-in, no one called and the room was given away. Understand how that happens, but when we tried to come up with solutions the staff, esp the lobby/front rep was so rude that I had two young production interns close to tears. When we called down for anything extra, staff/management were spectacularly unhelpful. Booking.com was AMAZING but I will not recommend Hotel Karlan. And here is the kicker: I live here in Penasquitos and make recommendations all the time.

    The rooms and the pool were clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    7.9
    Nice time in San Diego
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cleaning staff were not consistent. Missed our room two days in a row and only did a fair job on the third day. FYI you need to get better toilet. American standard is the best

    The warm cookies

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    9.6
    Wonderful grounds, great staff, definitely will stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Chambermaid didn't replace items (eg toilet paper!!)

    Great staff, helpful and cheery. Peaceful grounds in a great area close to shopping and a variety of restaurants. Asado Grill onsite offers great food/value. Thanks Jesus and Anthony for finding my earring!!!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    7.1
    Excellent stay just dont forget anything important they wont give it back
    • With a pet
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I left a watch that was important to me in the safe, i called back 2x to find it and was told they would call me back but they never did..really disapointing and out a watch my grandpa gave me

    That we could have our dogs there

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2017

    10
    Nice Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    First day there I asked about shuttle service. The front desk person told us they can shuttle us anywhere within 5 miles. Later around 8 pm, we asked if we could be shuttled to bowling alley. They told us no shuttle person is available.Hmmmm

    I like that all the rooms have a balcony, the super comfy beds and the shuttle service to Carmel Mountain Ridge and yummy cookie offered when we arrived

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    3.8
    I don't know why the hotel first give me a room...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I don't know why the hotel first give me a room haven't been cleaned. My wife and I was shock by this. We have booked for 2 days for new year holiday. but we still check out on 2nd day.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2016

    10
    Beautiful Friendly Resort
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mattress wasn't as supportive as ours at home and could feel every movement my spouse made.

    Rooms feel like studio apartments,spacious and beautifully renovated. Loved having a separate vanity from the toilet/shower room. Each encounter with the staff was exceptional!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    10
    Front desk was extremely accommodating and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room service forgot my juice that came with my breakfast and when I called they said they ran out but did not substitute it initially until I called. Then, they were very gracious and brought it up.

    Front desk was extremely accommodating and friendly.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2016

    3.3
    Not much.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room with Patio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really. Property is advertised as having a golf course. Golf course has been closed for two years. It is fenced off all the grass is brown. The pool was filthy could not use it. Looked like there was poop in the bottom of the pool. We had our 4 year old with us and we expected to be able to take her swimming. The food was OKAY from the restaurant, if they didn't forget half your order. I would have rather stayed at the Best western in Poway. When we talked to the manager we were supposed to get a credit for our room service charges of $93.67. We were charged instead. When I called the hotel to inquire about it I was told there weren't any notes on the system and the manager would have to call me back. Receipt that I received when we checked out showed a negative amount and I verified that this was a credit. Do not stay here!!!

    Not much.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2016

    6.7
    The kitchen staff delivered room service in good time,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The kitchen staff delivered room service in good time, problem was they just couldn't seem to stop by and pick up the tray even after I called twice. Seems the first night the housekeepers put the tray outside and raccoons got into it, I put the tray back in the room, then called again. The tray was still in the room the day I checked out.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    9.6
    very nice. I will stay here again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    the name is double tree, but couldn't see any signs for doubletree. The hotel said Kastan or Kaplain hotel. Confusing. But once I found the entrance it was fine.

    nice large room, very comfortable

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    5.8
    Not Worth Re-Visiting
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The card keys did not work. I had to drive back up to the office, then wait behind another person for about 14 minutes as my wife waited at the door to our hotel room. Very poor that the lady working that day did not ask if everything was okay! The breakfast restaurant had a dirty table where we sat. Then, after looking at $20 a person for breakfast, we got up and left. The rooms do not have ice readily available. The bathroom floor was dirty. There were not enough towels in the room. We wanted to clean up before dinner. After waking up in the morning, we had wet towels to attempt to dry with after our morning showers. The cleaning crew did not start cleaning our room until 4:25pm We got a feeling that the reason why the rooms were discounted when we made reservations is that there are not a lot of people interested in coming back

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    4.2
    Deep Disappointment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The website noted golf. The golf course was closed permanently. Golf clubs were packed for the trip and were not used. One of the pools also closed. The shower had a crack wherein ants and spiders entering. I travel a great deal for business. These accommodations very sub standard for Double Tree. The outlet in the restroom did not work. Unable to use the blow dryer etc. Very disappointing.

    Location only.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    9.2
    This hotel is great just needs an upgrade on wif.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi was terrible. Then the tech guy couldn't help us hook up the Xbox. We eventually got it but on our own, but even then we could watch Netflix or anything because the wifi was so slow.

    The staff is incredibly nice. Hotel was nice and clean. The area around is very nice also.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2016

    7.9
    OK
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Advertised golf resort but the golf course closed over a year ago. I would think that the advertisements and facility signs should be revised to reflect that it IS not a golf resort.

    The room was spacious

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2016

    7.1
    Nice
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We asked NOT for a balcony. Because of stairs. We we checked in they had a Balcony room for us! Not to good for a start. But they did give us one on the first floor. Whew! Thank you!

    The bed was comfy! Thank you!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2016

    9.6
    Great stay!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were satisfied with everything. Any issues we had were resolved perfectly with the help of the desk staff. Thank you all

    The desk staff were really great taking care of all our concerns. Especially loved the bed, the pool, and the size of the room and balcony. Location off the I 15 is perfect for going everywhere in the San Diego area.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2016

    8.8
    Awesome spacious room and overall a really nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows were uncomfortable and the staff weren't very friendly, apart from the restaurant/bar staff who really looked after us.

    The room was very large and nicely decorated and the bed was huge and comfy. Loved the pool area.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    7.5
    Interesting
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • King Room with Patio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    If patios had more light and mosquito nets for customers to sit outside night time for longer period time.

    The rooms with patio access

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    10
    Was excellent I highly recommend this place
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The daily charge on parking. First time ever been charge at any facility

    Location, room better than expected

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    2.5
    Nothing.
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty and outside was crutty

    Nothing. Dreary

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    10
    Everything was very comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was very comfortable

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    10
    Ambiance
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds with Patio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    Ambiance

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    10
    Everything was great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Farther from beach than I would like.

    Everything was great!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    2.9
    Passing by
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was quite

    To small for my family,many things were falling and I had pay less for a bigger room (parking location)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    10
    It exceeded our expectation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location

    Excellent value for the money

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    10
    Happy and friendly place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little noise on Saturday before Easter Sunday but it was comprehend

    Comfortable clean pretty room very convenient close to main desk 👌🏻

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    10
    Best stay ever
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • King Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Every thing

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    8.8
    Wild price swings.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wild price swings. For example, in one week the price jumped 50%.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    7.9
    We would return another time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was not very comfortable. There was someone else’s hair in the shower and on the bathroom counter.

    Delicious cookies!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    9.6
    Great family weekend at the Karlan
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Great hotel. Staff was outstanding. Our room was very nice and the family enjoyed the pool

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    10
    Loved it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Spacious rooms

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    9.6
    wonderful pool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 6 nights

    small elevator. no way to go from lobby to first floor without taking elevator

    wonderful pool. housekeeping missed us one day.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    7.1
    Renovations
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Night staff. No personality

    Renovations

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    10
    Staff was very accommodating especially Jonel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was very accommodating especially Jonel!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    10
    Would stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Bath Tub - Disability Access
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing everything was fantastic

    Location, cleanliness and comfortable, great staff and restaurants

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    10
    new
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    new

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    10
    Clean and the location is perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hairdryer

    Clean and the location is perfect

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    8.8
    Staff really helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Bath Tub - Disability Access
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too far from SD

    Staff really helpful

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    9.2
    Comfortable, very pleasant and efficient
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite a long walk from car park to the room.

    Staff friendly and helpful Facilities very good

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    8.8
    Nice rooms and facilities, about 25 minute drive to downtown...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice rooms and facilities, about 25 minute drive to downtown San Diego. Bar and restaurant were so-so

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    10
    Great
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    6.3
    Beautiful,facility.Hard to get around in.
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Access to rooms involved a lot of stair climbing.hotel was cut out from side of a mountian.It is hard for elderly to navigate the hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    9.2
    All around very nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All around very nice

    Stayed in August 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: