Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston-Historic District 3 stars

181 Church Street, Historic District, Charleston, SC 29401, USA

#43 of 89 hotels in Charleston

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 357 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    7.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For the amount of money we spent, the room was extremely small and the bathroom was outdated. Plus you have to pay $32/night for parking in addition to the room rate. Oh and breakfast wasn't event included...

    Very central and close to everything.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our maid Rosie was exceptional!!! She went above and beyond and our dog loved her too! We also loved our bartender- his music choice was excellent. We had a great time!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The valet parking was horribly. Had to wait 5 minutes some times for the car. Even calling ahead. Very busy hotel with only one valet person working in the evenings. Should of had at least two people at all times handling the car situation . The price of 32 dollars a day is very high considering the service was really bad. This was very frustrating to me and my family as we had to wait for the car and there was hardly any place to sit unless we wanted to go sit in the lobby where we could not see when the car was brought to us.

    The bed was very comfortable. The staff was great. Nice atomsphere. Very pleased with almost everything. Room was clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Jr Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was terrible! Lukewarm to cold on the buffet, staff not very organised , Best option was probably ordering instead of buffet!

    Beds were VERY comfortable

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My main concern was the lack of attention to detail at the hotel. The bathroom was not properly cleaned from the day we arrived. Sink was not clean, the mirror remained spotted throughout our 3 day stay. The front glass door at the hotel entrance was dirty and never cleaned. As well, the sidewalk in front of the hotel needed attention.

    Excellent location. The city market is just a few steps from the hotel. As well, stables for horse drawn carts is also very close.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom King Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking. Parking. Parking. Valet only at $31per night. The area is congested and no street parking is available. Do not bring a car.

    Location is perfect.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    excellent location in the historic area. valet service was also excellent. the in-room kitchenette was handy, would have liked to have had a microwave.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom King Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The AC/heat fan had an annoying throb. We told the front desk and they said they'd have engineering look at it. It seemed better learn we returned but still throbbed. We would have preferred to have a seating area by the window and the bed in the darker room. Would have liked to be able to open the window even if it was a little.

    Pillows and comforter were very nice as was the sheets.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The heating/air conditioning unit was too loud.

    Loved the extra room, sofa, dresser, desk, chair. Bed very comfy & was so HAPPY to see SAFE was available.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom King Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No window in living portion of King Suite. Only small “house-type” window in bedroom. Decor very dated in our room. Dark ochre walls made small rooms seem smaller. We had 3 in suite and it was just too small for us to really be together comfortably. Only small sofa and one very uncomfortable chair in living room. Also pull out bed took up entire room. Views are not very good.

    Bed was comfortable. Water pressure in shower was excellent. Flavored water in lobby very good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I think for the price you are paying free wifi should be included. It was $15 a day and for travellers from outside the US this can make the holiday more expensive and we needed it for looking up activities and uber etc

    The hotel was in a great location and staff were excellent. The place was very clean and super comfy bed!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The King room was very nice, but a little small. However, our friends joined us for a glass of wine in the comfy sofas and chairs near the elevators.

    The bed covers were just right. Often we find hotel bedding so heavy and too warm and no way to make it lighter. The location was terrific.....near to Horse Drawn Carriage Tours, great restaurants, market and walking the beautiful historical streets of Charleston! Thank you!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bed was terrible

    The hotel was in great location The Bed was terrible The furnishing in setting area was bad , not comfortable The bath room was way to small The price for the room was way over priced The loading area did not really exist , unloaded in the street

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor cleanliness, stains in suite carpets. Bathtub paint was peeling off. House keeping was horrible, looks like they didn’t clean at all. When we arrived it looks like the sheets were not changed after the prior guest.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price of parking a little steep but overall wonderful service

    Breakfast buffet Cookies and water Free coffee/tea in lobby in AM free fruit infused water in lobby in afternoon Location Very friendly helpful staff

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s an older hotel, so the facilities feel a bit 3 star but the staff completely change that and make it more like a 5 star experience.

    The service at this hotel mirrored that of a 5 star resort. The staff was so attentive, accommodating, and professional. The first night we had a terrible noise in a room and we were moved to a suit that completely addressed the problem. A hand written apology was left in our new room with chocolates and it was not an action I would have epected at a double tree. Absolutely fantastic.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Double Bed
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Room needs updating. Phones are ancient and yellowing, chair was ripped, fan in bathroom was not attached.

    Great location at heart of historic district. Beautiful lobby and friendly staff. Comfortable bed

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Jr Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The configuration was awkard; not sufficient space in the bedroom area for 2 beds and no storage on lower level. Bath was tiny and the stairs haven't been swept in a long time. Bath was not large enough and not up to standards. Worst i have stayed in in a long time.

    Location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The tardiness of breakfast room service; the limited room service options; and the very small (tiny) bathroom.

    The breakfast was good and cooked appropriately; however, room service was horrible. I had to track it down every morning and it was between 30-60 later than the time I requested it. The room service Hanks was timely and tasty, although the menu is limited.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was ok.. I did let the staff know that there was bugs in the oatmeal but the ants actually came from the cranberries that I had added to my oatmeal the staff member stated. When returning to room after all day activities it alwalys smelled as if someone had been smoking in the room. The outside noise was loud in the evening. I feel as if my wallet has been rapped do to the very mess leading pricing online. When I inquired at the front desk of the Hilton the staff member said that’s their marketing and how they get you. Then another front desk staff member proceeded to place a toy of a fast car on the counter which I assume meant that they pull a fast one and not once did they show any emphathy. I will not recommend using booking nor will I recommend the Double Tree Hilton in Charleston as a place to stay when visiting the beautiful city.

    Jordon at the front desk was awesome. The valets were very attentive.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Tired, worn out hotel. Room was not properly cleaned. For example the door to the miniscule bathroom looked like it had been used by truckdrivers for months without cleaning. Full of black fingermarks.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was charged twice for one room , peaking , and incedentals. Total around $700.00. I understand parking, but the room charge and incedentals should have been handled within 24 hours, not over a week. I am not sure if Doubletree or Booking .com are responsible. As of now, I will not be using booking .com nor Hilton Honors. Thank you

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booking.com advertised a free breakfast but that wasn’t the case. We were told we had to be a member or have some kind of voucher for it. This was a little bit frustrating.

    The location was absolutely perfect. The hotel is central to all restaurants, bars, shops/the market etc. Every single member of the staff that we encountered were so friendly and helpful especially the front desk and valet team.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hotel was dated and showed its age. Serious updating needs to be done. Housekeeping staff was slow to clean rooms, and in one of our rooms, never cleaned at all. Only surface cleaning done; corners were full of dust and drawers never cleaned out. Bathroom toilet was caulked several times to avoid leaking and looked awful. Showerhead never cleaned and wouldn't spray evenly.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was pretty run down - scratched, scuffed, and stained toilet seat and tub. For over $300a night I would expect better maintenance.

    Room was very large and quiet even though it's on a busy street. Great location.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property is in need of updating. For the cost of stay breakfast should be included.

    The location is excellent and allows for walking to everything. Once there parked the car and never used it again until we left. All staff were polite, helpful & courteous.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Double Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Two-story room was difficult for carrying luggage up to the bedroom. Bedroom/bathroom area felt cramped. Upstairs tv was to the side of the bed.

    Great location!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We had to be moved the first day because the room phone was not working. We moved again the second day because our room was over top the area where trash was being removed at 5:30 am daily. It was very noisy and woke us up plus the street cleaners were loud.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I chose to valet park my car for an additional charge. The car was not needed at all for our 3 night stay as everything we wanted to do was in easy walking distance. Even to the battery park was exactly 1 mile down shaded, historic streets. Stop halfway at The Griffon (for incredible fish 'n chips) or The Blind Tiger (for outstanding shrimp n' grits) and that makes it even easier. Still, the extra $30+ per night to park wasn't expected. Not really the hotel's fault. Parking in Charleston is pricey.

    The beds were incredible as were the pillows. This location was incredible for on foot sight-seeing of historic Charleston. It was the perfect "hub" allowing us to be out and about and then come in to the cool room to rest and relax before another outing. The nearness to restaurants, bars, shopping, historic attractions was more than we could have imagined. I can't think of another place I'd ever stay when coming to Charleston. First rate!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I liked everything at the Doubletree its Booking.com who I have the problem with.

    I'll tell you one thing I will never book with you'll again, I sent booking an email saying we had a family emergency and had to leave early so we could not stay on the last day and I did not hear back from you'll. I thought you would give us another day at the Doubletree.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was told by front desk that booking through Booking.com means I basically "give up all my rights to confirmation" of room I paid for/requested. That's a quote...."guests often have problems booking through third-party services" by discovering the room they paid for isn't what they end up getting.

    Historic Charleston location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights

    AC breaking...breakfast was good but over priced...better quality pillows...they were mush...cocktail bar REALLY needs an overhaul...you guys could make this into such a cash cow!!!

    AC kept shutting off in August due to condensation pan filling and not draining. called front desk and they responded lickedy split. unfortunately on our last night... happened again. Told the front desk guy (John) on the way out....PS JOHN IS GREAT!!! Set up our cab ride at 3am and gave us cookies!!!! John gets a raise!!! OOO bed was really nice...

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Parking was underneath property by valet only. Valet service was very fast and efficient, with small delays (5-10 minutes) during busy times. Parking by valet had minor challenges, but was not a big deal overall.

    Great bed and pillows. Incredible location! It was right in the middle of the very best Charleston has to offer.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    we had a suit as our 21 year old daughter traveled with us. So we had to call down for more towels as there was only 2 towels in the room. But they were delivered very quickly. Like in less then 3 mins.

    Location was perfect, Staf was very friendly.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 5 nights

    accidentally got lipstick on the bed sheet. Left the linen card in front of the pillows to request clean pillowcases and linen. Returned to room that evening and found the bed made but the same linen was on the bed.

    the room was out dated. They need to upgrade the furniture, rugs, curtains and bathroom. The lobby is nice and so is the courtyard. Close to everything. Not child friendly..

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was exactly as quiet as we had hoped. And yes, the bed was wonderfully soft and sheets were silky smooth. We loved that the best seafood restaurant was just next door. I ate there twice it was so good!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are run down. Bathrooms and rooms are tight. Can't open doors and closets due to design.great

    Location was great. Good access to everything that we wanted to see and do.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom King Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We like to stay at Double Tree because of its location. We can jump on the Trolley ( public free transportation) and go anywhere we want to go. We have some favorite restaurants in the area, all within walking distance to Double Tree. The staff, everyone , are so kind and polite. Bed could be less soft :)

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had a had time figuring out where to part and parking in a public lot before we found out that there is underground parking at the hotel. We paid $25 for public parking, but at the hotel I think that it would have been $32. However, you could come at go at the hotel.

    The room was very spacious and posh.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Should have said what size car can fit in your parking garage.. also rooms have cockroaches. My overall stay was a very bad experience. This was our first time in Charleston. I wouldn't recommend this hotel nor stay again. The vallet was very rude and didn't offer to help in any way. What a terrible experience.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maid service was spotty. Had to ask to have the room made up one day after being out until 4 p.m. Some of lobby amenities (coffee, water, etc.) ran out at times and had to request refills.

    Lots of usable space in room. Very comfortable beds and a nice couch and chairs in the sitting area. Fabulous location for visiting historic Charleston locales.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sheets had stains on them when we checked in, called desk and they said what do you want us to do? I said come change them, duh. Breakfast pricey and vending out of drinks for 2 days. Would consider other similar area hotels first.

    Location was nice

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower/toilet room in my suite was very small and a little hard to maneuver.

    The location was perfect. The hotel is right across from the market and a short walk from the waterfront park. Loved the space in the room and the fresh cookies at check in.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Jr Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was in need of updating. Ventilation was poor, so water built up on the floor.

    Beautiful facility, and the location could not have been better.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was 2 story which we were not aware of. A huge tent canopy was right outside our room blocking our view of the courtyard. A wedding was held under this canopy right outside our room and so we had to time our coming and going on that day. Also the drunks from the wedding were still celebrating at 2:00 AM. Had to call front desk to take care of this and they did.

    Hotel is located center of the Historic District in walking distance to everything that we wanted to see.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom King Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price for valet parking was high & there is little else available for parking.

    Location is perfect and you can walk to everything. Hotel was very clean and the staff were great.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite with Double Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothins.

    This property is in the best Charleston downtown location. The people at the hotel are very accommodating and ready to please. You can not go wrong staying here

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Jr Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    My mattress was a bit old and lumpy.I slept in a gully. The rest was so good I did not feel it distracted from my stay

    Your staff in the morning is excellent !!!! Friendly, remember you, smiles smiles smiles and very helpful BRAVO

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite - Accessible Tub
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was ridiculously small. I don't recall seeing anything about paying for the parking. Maybe I'm unfamiliar with valet parking but I thought it meant the car being brought to us and taken to park. We were surprised by the additional expense.

    The bed was very comfortable and I was glad it wasn't high which makes it difficult to get in. The living room was comfortable and nicely decorated. The lobby was very nice and the overall entrance. We were especially pleased to be located right next door to the market place.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room, closet and bath were surprisingly small considering the price. Since we stayed 5 nights, we would have been more comfortable in a larger room. Also being next to the fitness center is not the quietest location. One day the bed was made but nothing else was replenished or even cleaned. We did not register a complaint until we were leaving and the staff did try to apologize by adding to our Hilton Honor points. They have a bar but it usually wasn't open or there was no bartender. Fortunately you don't spend any time in your room while in Charleston.

    The location was perfect - right across from the City Market. Also walking distance to so many great restaurants. Parking was $30+ but the valets were so friendly and quick to retrieve your car.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We parked our car and didn't touch if once during our stay. That's just how prime of a location this hotel is. Any and everything you could want out of Charleston is within walking distance

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location to the market was perfect and the staff was extremely nice. The valet parkers were great but the extra $32 per night to park was an extra surprise. We enjoyed our time and give thanks for the opportunity to share our time with such nice people....thank you, thank you, thank you. We care Susie B & Bobby P

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite with Double Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    The parking was self park-and-pay or valet. It would be nice to at least have a voucher for those having to encounter parking cost.

    The rooms are very clean in comparison to other locations. The staff was the most friendly I have ever encountered. This location should be an example for all other location standards.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite with Double Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom way way way to small

    The bartender at night . I think his name was michael was exceptionally nice And should be be given a raise or doubletree neexs to recognize him. He was fantastic

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The breakfast buffet was awful. The first day we waited for our server for ten minutes and were never offered eggs to order. We waited for the buffet to be stocked for eggs, bacon, danish and the fruit (which never got stocked). It was 0915, not near closing. We thought must be an off day. We tried it again and it was worse. We complained to the the gentleman (Nazeer?) who offeref us a free breakfast the next day, no thanks. That is how bad it was that we would not eat there even for free! We found a cute little place 1 1/2 blocks down on Market that had amazing food & service! The name is a secret otherwise it would be too crowded the next time we go!. I was disappointed to find out the Double Tree was bought out privately by and would be refurbished at the end of the year. That means ^ prices.

    The accommodations were superb and very roomy. The housekeeping staff were friendly and very helpful obtaining supplies, extra ice bucket - filled, and extra towels. The front desk gentleman, (Nazzeer?), and Mike the bell boy were very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom King Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room that we were in was very dusty, including bedroom and bathroom, and the top of the fridge door was really dirty. For the rating of hotel and price of the room, I expected more.

    The people, including receptionist, valet, and custodial staff, were exceptionally friendly.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Front desk staff wasn't welcoming. We were there for the Copper Bridge Run, and staff couldn't give us directions about shuttle pickup for run. Very short, and almost as if we were bothering them. We were told from front desk that a microwave was located on our floor, but we called next day to ask for exact location, we were then told that we could have one delivered to our room. Communication with hotel was very lacking. Perhaps new employees or inexperienced staff. We paid $1100 for two nights stay and parking wasn't even included. We had 3 cars with us and it cost an additional $60 each for the weekend to park our cars=$180. We were told the hotel Valet was the same price by front desk. Room was nice, but customer service could have been better.

    Room was nice, and bed slept very well.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Jr Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I was in town for the Cooper River Bridge run and the hotel went beyond what was expected - with breakfast, a private shuttle provided for racers, printed race information and drink specials after the race. Also, the warm cookies you get when you check in are always a bonus!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room was never cleaned or stocked during our 6 day stay. It was hit and miss with the front desk. Some acted like you were bothering them.

    The location was great.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location is excellent just across form the Market and near superb restaurants and bars. The hotel has maintained a historical theme with comfortable rooms.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2017

    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Well for strarters I asked for early check in and that didn't happen, and I asked for something special for our bachelorette party they said they would and that never happened either. So it pretty much was a very crappy and disappointing trip. An the room size was way smaller than I imagined for a 4 star hotel.

    The valet were the only people in the whole hotel that were truly nice and concerned about our stay.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Size of room was very snug with very small bathroom. I could have done better but wanted to be on the first floor. My fault.

    Location was excellent. Services were very good. Rosie of Maid service was excellent. Perfect location to Market Place stores & venues. Good location to King & Meeting streets.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Roll-In Shower - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much of anything. They were great.

    The room we stayed in was in the courtyard. It was like a suite. The bedroom was upstairs and the living room was down. The bed was very comfortable and the staff were awesome! We went to the bar about and hour before they closed to have some cocktails. The bartender, Michael was very friendly and even stayed open and extra 2 hours for us and everyone we invited in.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Furniture near the elevator seemed out of place...not appropriate to the hotel decor.

    Beautiful lobby and rooms were modern. The staff was extremely friendly!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There wasn't an a la carte menu for breakfast. The coffee that was available for free was luke warm. It wasn't in any kind of thermos container so it immediately got cold. I wish that bikes could have been available for rental or loan from the hotel.

    The location was the best!!! You couldn't be any closer to the center of the action. The carriage rides/tours started across the street, The Market was across the street and all the great restarants surrounded the hotel. Everything was walking distance. The rooms were very nice and the cleaning staff was excellent. I would definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor mattress my room wasn't ready until 4 o'clock other people were coming in and getting their rooms. The room staff was short handed. The next day people were getting their rooms at 12:00

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That I had to leave.

    I loved the centralized location to everything I wanted to experience. The staff is incredible. I want to shout out the dining room staff...they are above and beyond nice. Oh heck, everyone was fabulous.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a little pricey and the beds weren't the most comfortable! Other than those two things it was great!

    The hotel was in the best part of town!! It was close to all the great restaurants, bars and shopping! The staff was super friendly and helpful too! Rosie was the best house keeper there!!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room wasn't cleaned properly - found pills on bathroom floor. Staff can't fry eggs very well. Had trouble with toilet flushing properly, had to have it "fixed" twice. Outside area smells like horse doo-doo all the time due to carriage ride location is less than a block away.

    Good location next to marketplace. Comfortable bed. Acceptable breakfast buffet. Good staff. Enjoyed patio area.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are not spacious, but with this location, you won't be hanging out in the hotel. Use the valet for parking.

    Location and hotel were beautiful. Everything you'd want to see downtown is within walking distance.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were disappointed with the full breakfast and although the hostess and our table server were reasonably attentive the other staff were idle, chatting amongst themselves and unhelpful.

    We liked having the single bedroom suite. It was particularly useful during the period of torrential rain. The reception staff were very helpful. They were also very helpful when we had to cut our stay short.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We had no complaints.

    The room was extremely cleaned each day. The halls were quiet throughout the day. The staff was courteous friendly and helpful. The cookies were an added bonus.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No complaints whatsoever.

    The hotel was very attractive and the location was perfect. The staff was very accommodating and we received excellent service.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • One-Bedroom Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were on vacation in Charleston and drove there from Maryland. We used the hotel's valet service to park our car. On our second day there, Reggie, the general manager, called to tell me they had noticed that a tire on the car was low (the car was in their garage) and they put air in it. When they checked the tire again later it was low again. So they inspected the tire and found a nail in it. Since we were driving back to Maryland they wanted us to know in advance that there was a problem with the tire. I asked for a recommendation to have the tire repaired. They recommended Gerald's Tire and Brakes who patched the tire for us at no-charge. I call that stellar customer service!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    If I had to find something to complain about, I guess it would be that there were no extra pillows in the closet. And the bathrooms are showing their age, but they were still clean.

    Absolutely perfect location! Staff was friendly- we got there early, and they upgraded our room at no extra charge so we didn't have to wait for 4:00 check in.

    Stayed in August 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: