Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel & Conference Center Chicago-Downers Grove 3 stars

2111 Butterfield Road, Downers Grove, IL 60515, USA

#3 of 6 hotels in Downers Grove

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 71 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

  • Paid WiFi

    6.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 41

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    5.0
    Bad service in this this place.. Do not go there
    • Group
    • Double Suite - Hearing Accessible
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were racial profiled, I was from out of town visiting for my birthday, my sister and brothers came to visit and not sure if it was because they was young or because my brother had dreads they felt they were going to damage property.. But I turned 41 was not a kid and they hung around my room knocking and harassing my guest which was my family.. and I would never return again and I will make it known to others..

    The was Nicey and worth the value for money

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    7.1
    The room looked nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Suite - Hearing Accessible
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Checked in and put my shoes and dirty clothes in corner by the bed when I got back i noticed something looked wet, it 2:30 am I wanted to relax and watch TV BUT it went to a black screen got the no signal sign words. I ended up falling asleep. Sun morning my shoes & clothes were wet in the corner. I turned on the TV again same thing. I ended up brining the linens into the front and puting them on the sofa so I coukd relax and watch TV before my check out When I checked out and let the front desk associate know she said she would send maintenance there for the wet floor over the bathroom in the above room, I could hear it which is fine but no sorry for your inconvenience or sorry you were not able to relax in the bed and watch TV or anything. I stood there a moment for some kund if apology, I got none

    The room looked nice. The banquet food was delicious.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    5.8
    The worst I could have imagined for what should have been a nice hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Room Double Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    We did not have enough towel and wash cloths. Room service was not available. Buying food in the bar was more expensive than the room service option we did not have and I had to wait an hour, they did not give me plates or enough utensils for all four of us even after I asked. I understood breakfast was included, it was not. They had no spoons while we were there. Only 1 individual offered us help and unfortunately, I did not get her name. The outside noise in the hall prevented those using that section of the suite to get any sleep. The pool was too cold to swim and the hot tub was occupied by 18 adults and children. I requested a call back from management and have never heard from them. I was charged a 25.00 fee for an unknown reason, again, no call back from management to explain it. No in-house movie rental option.

    The room was clean.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    10
    Excellent rooms, cleanliness, breakfast and cookies!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Non-Smoking Two Room King Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool water could have been warmer and hottub jets didn't seem to be working correctly.

    The cookies were our favorite part as well as room comfort and configuration.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    10
    Over all happy
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Non-Smoking Two Room King Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Have no complaints other than vending machine not working guess its just to make you order room service or get directly from them..

    All ammenities were great..

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    7.9
    Nice place to stay in
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Double Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - No facilities or swimming pool for kids - I extend one day stay where the rate provided by hotel was better than the rate in Booking.com in addition to possibility to gain points

    Spacious room and cleanness

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    2.5
    Poor experience..never will book there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Room Double Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unclean. Carpet in room and hallways were very dirty. Food and debris in hallway was never picked up or cleaned. Unfriendly staff, never said hello. Bathroom is super small. Wasn't clean had to have staff come back with towels.

    Nothing

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    4.2
    Brought in for the guest of the hotel to the pool area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Non-Smoking Two Room King Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I originally booked three rooms I canceled two of those rooms and they canceled all three rooms I called back to the hotel to get one of the rooms back and I was told I needed to rebook the room when they transferred me to reservations they hung up on Me. When we arrived at the hotel I was checking in and Sharon acknowledge me, Started my transaction and then started talking to her trainee and asking why she put a different guest in a certain room. I had booked through booking.com our room but should have been two queen size beds and when we got to our room it had one king size bed for three people. I call down and spoke to Sharon and told her what we had booked and she said that that's merely a suggestion that they cannot guarantee that we would get the room that was asked for. She did get us into a room with two beds however the carpet was torn in our room, there was another hole in our carpet where it looks like an old cigarette burn, there was what looked like to be a dirty spot on the floor in the bathroom, the first night I gave our daughter about and I asked her to drain the water in the plug what should've been A lift and turn device totally removed out of the bottom drain. We left the top of the drain on the side of the bathtub and the next morning when housekeeping came in they would've seen the plug sitting there. We took our daughter down to the pool to play in the water there was an outlet just outside of the pool area that you can see has been pulled away from the wall and honestly a small child could put their fingers behind the electrical outlet. Twice we took our daughter down to the pool area they were no towels and we had to request towels to be Brought in for the guest of the hotel to the pool area.I honestly would not stay at this hotel in the future I would definitely go down the street to the other Doubletree in Oak Brook where we stayed before and was a very nice updated facility.

    restaurants nearby

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    9.6
    Great for large families!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Room Double Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room opened right into the breakfast area so it was a tiny bit noisy in the early morning.

    Beds were so comfortable and there was plent of space for my family of 5 to spread out and get comfortable. Love the 2 room floor plan!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2017

    4.6
    I wanted to sleep.
    • Solo traveller
    • King Suite - Disability Access/Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking lot poorly lit. I had to change rooms twice. First room was under construction (ceiling tiles removed, room Furniture had been used to access ceiling). Second room was not fully cleaned (some surfaces had not been cleaned and had what looked like pieces of food stuck to them) and bathtub faucet was leaky. The curtain on door to third room was broken. All rooms had scuff, scratches and dents on furniture, walls and other surfaces. Fire alarm on wall flashes an amber light at beds. I have injured foot which I shared with front desk but no assistance was offered to my rooms.

    For most part staff was friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2017

    10
    The Staff are Great
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Suite - Disability Access/Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing, it was a great experience.

    The beds we So comfortable! I was also very impressed with the overall cleanliness of this hotel. All of the staff were smiling and gave us a welcomed feeling.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    10
    fabulous stay at the Double Tree!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Non-Smoking Two Room King Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing needs to be improved!!

    of course the bed was comfy, the front desk was outstanding. Linda G. was extremely kind and helpful, checking out Sharon Crites wrote out perfect directions to I-65--far better than my GPS, I would recommend this hotel to everyone!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    9.6
    The hotel and stay was awesome.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Room Double Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel and stay was awesome.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    9.2
    Spacious and comfortable.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Non-Smoking Two Room King Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Common areas need some improvements.

    Room was spacious and clean. Staff was extremely friendly and addressed all my needs. Shuttle offered.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    7.5
    Everything was good except for the hot tub problem, the whole reason why I booked this hotel
    • Couple
    • Non-Smoking Two Room King Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    To actually been able to use the hot tub Saturday night without 30 screaming wild children -_-

    The breakfast bar

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    8.8
    The view and the overall setup of the room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Room Double Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view and the overall setup of the room. The entry way was nice and the desk clerks were very welcoming and accommodating.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    6.3
    Terrible
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Non-Smoking Two Room King Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Besides Construction....Room was filthy with cold breakfast..I did complain to 2 people

    The Staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    6.3
    I liked that it was a kid friendly environment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Room Double Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff at breakfast time needs more training !!!

    I liked that it was a kid friendly environment.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    9.6
    Stah was great. Best oillows ever. Too bad no free breakdast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Room Double Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didnt swin

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    7.5
    It’s ok but bed need more blankets
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Room Double Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s ok but bed need more blankets

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    9.6
    Hotel very quiet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Non-Smoking Two Room King Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would like to see some up dates in the rooms.

    Hotel very quiet.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    7.9
    Physical stay was great/ check in was horrible
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Non-Smoking Two Room King Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in and trying to get a receipt

    Rooms were clean and roomy

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    10
    Excellent hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Non-Smoking Two Room King Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Minimal parking by the main entrance.

    Spacious room. Excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    10
    VERY ENJOYABLE. WELL STAY HERE AGAIN.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Two-Room Double Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights

    N/A

    VERY ROOMY. EXCELLENT STAFF.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    6.3
    Location for business only
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Executive King Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lacks any kind of atmosphere, hotel needs a complete revamp

    Location was convenient for business

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    5.0
    Lacks personality
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Executive King Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No atmosphere

    Location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    7.5
    There should be a shuttle to & from airport every day.
    • Group
    • King Suite - Disability Access/Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There should be a shuttle to & from airport every day.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    9.2
    Great room.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive King Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great room. Great staff.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    8.3
    Felt like home away from home
    • Family with young children
    • Non-Smoking Two Room King Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It should come with breakfast

    Felt like home away from home

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2017

    10
    Great room, great service, great time!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite - Disability Access/Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/a

    Very accommodating. Everything you need at a single call.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2016

    10
    Excellent place to stay and rest in evening.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Suite - Hearing Accessible
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Delicious warm cookies on arrival. Very helpful staff. Wonderful shuttle, gym and great room.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2015

    6.7
    The fire alarms went off ,we were never called to say...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The fire alarms went off ,we were never called to say leave/evactate the building.We went there to celebrate our 19th wedding anniversary. I was not happy I booked a King size bed we were put in a Queen size bed. I will not go there again

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2015

    8.3
    while I was there ambience was peacefull, rooms very good...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    nothing really

    while I was there ambience was peacefull, rooms very good size and compfy beds. The staff were also good, when i asked for a local Starbucks I was even offered if i needed a lift - very good

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2015

    10
    The room was beautiful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Only had paid Wi-Fi at$9.95 per day. Sucks for travellers looking for local restaurants, shopping or entertainment. Parking was not ideal. Due to 2 weddings at the hotel we had too park in the farthest lot. Not cool after a day of sight seeing with a 1 year old.

    The room was beautiful. Excellent value for what we paid.Management was visible and handled problems efficiently and quickly.

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2015

    5.8
    Location was ideal.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Stayed on Sunday April 5, 2015. Requested for a 5:00 am wake up call and did not receive the wake up call. Spoke with Front Desk, she was very adamant that wake up call was programmed. Left the property at 7 am rather than 5:45 am, and missed our connecting flight. In lieu of this, Front Desk gave a free wire-less password when in reality the wire-less that should have been complimentary for staying there was not even working at night.

    Location was ideal. No obligation reservation was the best.

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2015

    6.7
    Location was good.
    • Couple

    No free wifi. No free breakfast. A lot of noise coming the the hallway. Kids running all over. Small pool and hot tub. Workout center not located in hotel.

    Location was good. Room was nice. Bed was comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2016

    4.2
    Poor accommodations and the staff failed to address
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Poor accommodations and the staff failed to address My issues in a timely matter

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    7.5
    Stop serving breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Stop serving breakfast. Even the coffee was bad. Not to mention the potatoes, eggs and pastries. So terrible!

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2015

    10
    Great location, we traveled there to drop off our daughter...
    • Business trip
    • Family with older children

    Nothing comes to mind.

    Great location, we traveled there to drop off our daughter at Midwestern.

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2015

    7.0
    Location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The heating makes a lot of noise. Had to turn it off to be able to sleep.

    Location

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2015

    7.5
    That there were no accommodations for pets, so my fiancé had...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    That there were no accommodations for pets, so my fiancé had to drive into Rockford with her dog and stay with family instead.

There are also 33 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 41

Guests also reviewed these properties: