Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of DoubleTree by Hilton Madison 3 stars

525 West Johnson Street, Madison, WI 53703, USA

#4 of 55 hotels in Madison

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 71 hotel reviews

9.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.6

  • Comfort

    9.6

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    9

  • Staff

    9.6

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    9.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 49

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    9.6
    Excellent & convenient
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Your free shuttle was spot on as it took us to a local dining establishment and then picked us up promptly. Our daughter is going to attend UW Madison this fall & we'll use your hotel again

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    7.1
    Convenient and comfortable location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some loud construction nearby. Homecoming weekend so nearby houses full of drunken revelers. Restaurant does not make cafe lattes.

    Excellent location if you are visiting a kid at UW, free parking a big plus. Near Basset Street Brunch Club which is good for breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2017

    8.3
    Location was great and complimentary warm chocolate cookies...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Thought breakfast buffet was average for price charged

    Location was great and complimentary warm chocolate cookies daily was lovely. Staff in reception were very helpful and a free shuttle within 2 miles was very helpful.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2017

    10
    Staff at the front desk was very courteous beginning with...
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The dinner menu at the restaurant was lacking. The room service menu was more appealing but we didn'the want to eat in our room.

    Staff at the front desk was very courteous beginning with our call from the airport for shuttle service through to our departure. The shuttle driver provided tips of activities and things to do around town as well as letting us know where the shuttle could get us to while we were visiting. Wait staff (Petra) was friendly and provided extra student insight regarding the Univ from a personal perspective which we greatly appreciated. The breakfast buffet was by far the nicest breakfast buffet at a hotel I have come across. Overall, I could not have been happier with the service and accommodations.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2017

    6.3
    I'm so disappointed about service of Hilton.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Disability Access
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I'm so disappointed about service of Hilton. I'm 100% sure house keeper stole or through it way my beloning (cosmetics) but I didn't get any compensation. And my sister's belongings are broken. I feel so bad about it.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    9.2
    Great location in the heart of the UW-Madison campus.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was very small.

    Great location in the heart of the UW-Madison campus. Close to State Street, Kohl Center and Camp Randall. Very Friendly staff! Extremely clean. Bar and Restaurant on-site which was convenient for a late night snack and beverage upon returning to the hotel.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    8.8
    Nice complimentary snacks and bar drink.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Musty smell when entering the room. Room was smaller then most standard rooms.

    Nice complimentary snacks and bar drink. Nice clean room and bathroom.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    9.2
    Very nice.
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room had an odor.....sort of like musty, but it wasn't musty.

    Very clean. Staff happy people.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    7.9
    Friendly staff comfortable bef
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needs brighter light in bathroom

    Friendly staff comfortable bef

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    9.2
    Convient and friendly place to stay in Madison.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The restaurant and breakfast were not great.

    The bed was comfortable. The room was nice for the price. The location was excellent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    9.6
    Very comfortable, quiet room.
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very comfortable, quiet room. Exceptional service from staff. Perfect location for visiting university or statehouse.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    10
    I really appreciate the location to State Street, ease of parking and the value of the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very clean, comfortable, accommodating and great location.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    10
    the text messages were a nice touch.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    the text messages were a nice touch.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    9.2
    Sell Coke Products
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Sell Coke Products

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    8.8
    A good stay in the heart of Madison
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very clean and comfortable room ... walking distance to university, as well as several entertainment and dining options. A happy place to stay.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    7.9
    Ok.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No view of capital when I specifically asked for it and was told I would have a view. Loud garbage truck very early in the morning.

    Good location.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    9.2
    A free breakfast, and a shower that was easier to turn off...
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A free breakfast, and a shower that was easier to turn off so it wouldn't drip at night would have been nice.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    9.6
    Great place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect one of the best properties

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    9.6
    I'll stay with you anytime
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The location was excellent and the view was great.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2017

    9.6
    I liked the shower and the water pressure.
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked the shower and the water pressure. Liked the modern feel to it.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2016

    8.8
    The only bad thing was that they forgot a food item I ordered
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    I ordered breakfast and they forgot an item I ordered

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2016

    10
    Excellent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed very comfortable.

    Staff was great allowed us to check in early.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2016

    7.5
    Wonderful except for compromised bath facility
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds Mobility/Hearing Accesible with Roll-in Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower was clearly for disabled person would have preferred full bath.

    Nice size room, staff very helpful.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    9.6
    Great place and central location to UW.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very nice and comfortable room.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    9.6
    Great Location!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All was good! I will stay there again.

    The location was great! Modern & comfortable!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    9.6
    Great place to stay in Madison
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    On site parking

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2016

    9.2
    Great location, comfortable bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    No tub, just shower

    Great location, comfortable bed

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2016

    10
    The staff was extremely friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    I honestly can't think of anything. It was a great hotel. I really appreciate the USB charger in the night stand and on the lamps. That was extremely helpful!

    The staff was extremely friendly. It was a cold rain day so we used their hotel shuttle to get to places around the capital. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. Overall very nice stay!

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2016

    9.2
    We really enjoyed the remodeling that has been done in this...
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    I am a member of the H Honors and I have never really found out what benefit that really is and the staff at this facility and any double tree really were quite vague.

    We really enjoyed the remodeling that has been done in this facility. years ago we stayed here and it was adequate. Now it is very updated and comfortable. I would stay here again.

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2016

    9.2
    Breakfast food items in the restaurant were excellent.
    • Family with older children

    Breakfast food items in the restaurant were excellent. And the fact that I could leave my car in the ramp for the whole day of my check out day was fantastic!

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2016

    10
    Super friendly staff and clean quiet room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Super friendly staff and clean quiet room. Warm cookies at check in were a nice touch. Great location within walking distance of many restaurants and attractions.

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2015

    9.2
    Great staff.
    • Business trip
    • Family with older children

    Nice bathroom, but as we were there for a week, I would have appreciated a bathtub.

    Great staff. The free shuttle is incredibly convenient. My daughter took advantage of the free cookies, and found them to be delicious. Good, comfortable beds.

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    9.2
    nice sized rooms, close to UW campus and could park for free...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Shower was walk in but too narrow in length. Water came out into the bathroom and made floor slippery.

    nice sized rooms, close to UW campus and could park for free and walk to Camp Randall. Badgerville grill as good for lunch.

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2015

    6.3
    I liked the friendly staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    I think the hotel is overpriced for being a 3 star hotel - I didn't like the pop-corn ceilings, the couch in my room smelled like puke. The food in the restaurant is low quality for a high price. My husband delivers food to restaurant so I know the difference.

    I liked the friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2015

    10
    We liked the welcoming atmosphere at the Doubletree.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We liked the welcoming atmosphere at the Doubletree. The staff at the reception desk always greeted us coming and going. We were in walking distance of several nice restaurants and the Overture Center,

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2015

    8.3
    Nice clean hotel in a good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This is a nice property but not sure I would consider it the #2 hotel in downtown Madison. Getting from the on-grade parking into the building is a pain. Had a 6th floor room and maids supply room was directly across the hall- can't even count how many times I heard the door slam starting at around 8am. This hotel needs closers on the doors, thresholds and jamb silencers- so much daylight around and under the doors, they may as well have not even hung the doors.

    Nice clean hotel in a good location. Room was very nice and the bed was awesome.

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2015

    10
    Beautifully updated and spacious rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Substantial cold draft coming from under heating unit in bedroom. It would not deter me from booking hotel in future. Overall, the hotel was lovely.

    Beautifully updated and spacious rooms. Excellent staff.Everyone was friendly and welcoming.

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2016

    9.6
    location, comfort of room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    ordinary breakfast not worth the extra cost

    location, comfort of room

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2016

    10
    Great beds, bathroom and fabulous bartenders and breakfast...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Great beds, bathroom and fabulous bartenders and breakfast staff. Also cleaning staff friendly and thorough even when breaking a bottle by elevator.

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2016

    10
    The facilities were very clean and the staff was very...
    • Family with older children

    Signage at the street, I missed the hotel the first time driving by.

    The facilities were very clean and the staff was very cordial and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2016

    10
    Location was great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Location was great!

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2016

    9.6
    Bartender was great.
    • Couple

    Bartender was great. Had a couple appetizers and the cheese curds were fantastic here!

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2016

    9.6
    room was clean and spacious
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    liked everything!

    room was clean and spacious

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2016

    10
    Parking/access/rooms/ very nicely maintained and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Parking/access/rooms/ very nicely maintained and a superb system!!! We'll be back for sure!!! :)

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2016

    8.3
    A homeless man that came in and "bathed" in the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A homeless man that came in and "bathed" in the pool when we were in the hot tub at 10:30 p.m.; and left thru the doors to go outside!

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2016

    7.5
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The price

    Location

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    7.9
    Location and clean, quiet room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    No coffee in room or in front lobby.

    Location and clean, quiet room.

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2015

    10
    Everything!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Everything!

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2015

    8.3
    the bus shuttle is very good
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    the room has bad smell it should open the window

    the bus shuttle is very good

There are also 35 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 49

Guests also reviewed these properties: