Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of DoubleTree by Hilton Tallahassee 3 stars

101 South Adams Street, Tallahassee, FL 32301-7774, USA

#15 of 47 hotels in Tallahassee

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 99 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 66

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    6.3
    For as much as we paid, we had absolutely no use of the pool...
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    For as much as we paid, we had absolutely no use of the pool due to a “private event”. Which was nothing more than young cheerleaders staying at the hotel. We paid equally as much to stay and should have had use of all of the hotels amenities. Very disappointing for our children.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    8.3
    Perfect location & room with a view!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was pricey only because of grad weekend

    We loved the view from our room? The beautiful historic area and location was perfect for FSU graduation-beautiful property!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    8.8
    The property was really nice and the location was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had an issue with my booking and tried contacting the property 3 times. I left a voicemail all 3 times and no one ever returned my call.

    The property was really nice and the location was great. Only a 5-10 minute drive from FSU but fair enough that you are not in the middle of all the students and activities.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    9.6
    Booking .
    • Couple
    • One King Access Shower Non Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cable was out all weekend and only had very few channels to watch

    Booking .com was cheaper then booking thru Hilton even with all my hiton honor points

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    7.1
    Went there for 1 night to tour Florida State for my daughter.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The lobby was recently renovated but the rooms are a bit older. Not much parking, had to valet our car but it wasn't expensive to do so.

    Went there for 1 night to tour Florida State for my daughter. Blocks from FSU and 2 blocks from the Capital building- good location for either visit. Rooms were comfortable, a basic Double Tree experience. The beds were very comfortable and good pillows.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    9.6
    Comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived at 10.00 pm the roomer were put in at first shared a wall with the elevators it was awfully noisy. I complained and we were told they wee fully booked nothing but the same room on the floor above but we would not sleep through the noise I asked for a refund to go elsewhere and they found us a room away from elevator which was great I objected to being told because my flight was late we were placed in that crummy room when it was a prepaid booking

    Very comfortable refurbished room nice location helpful girl on desk told us about parking meter outside saved us $20 parking fees

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    5.4
    We used room service delivery.
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overall, the attention to detail and professionalism was not good. The maintenance staff were the most professional, courteous, apologetic, and responsive. They had to come to my room to replace a broken lightbulb. There was also a toilet that overflowed and they were quick to respond. I guess the water overflowed into the hallway and was not discovered until later that evening. They apologized as they cleaned it. There was a lot of repair/maintenance in the hotel that made the stay very noisy and unpleasant. The front desk staff never apologized or ask what they could do to make your stay more accommodating.The location was perfect. The restaurant was convenient and decent. I've stayed in many Double Trees and this was not the best, compared to most. I specifically picked the hotel, because it was a DoubleTree, but was not impressed.

    We used room service delivery. Breakfast was good, but one milk was forgotten. Kids had some kind of ice cream and cookie dessert in evening. It wasn't explained well over the phone, but it was a large portion.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    6.3
    Won't be back to this particular hotel
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The front desk staff was short and unhelpful. My room had construction happening in it ALL day and night. The toilet ran every 12 minutes and every 30 minutes it sounded like the pipes in the wall were opening up a portal to another dimension. Preventing any possibilities of sleep. I finally got them to let me switch rooms. The front desk staff pretended like they had never heard this complaint about my room prior to me and blew off my complaint for the first two nights. The next morning another guest was complaining about the SAME issue and the front desk was also unhelpful to them and pretended to still have never heard that issue before although they were fully aware since it was the same girl I spoke to. When I switched rooms they gave me the wrong key to a room another family was staying in!!! I walked in on other guests in their room! The hot water didn't work in my second room and to get semi warm water they said I had to turn on the sink then the shower and let it run for 30-45 minutes. No offer of a discount or additional accommodation. Not a cheap hotel for the week and definitely not the service or care a traveling guest should receive. While there I booked three other vacations and was sure they were not affiliated with the Hilton hotels that's how unenjoyable the staff and thoughtfulness was at this hotel.

    I liked how close the hotel was to the Capitol making morning commute easy to walk to. Valet parking was nice and convenient. The attached restaurant Jacobs was reasonably priced and delicious and a full service Starbucks on sight was very much appreciated.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    8.8
    This hotel exceeded my expectations and was much better (in my opinion than the Aloft).
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    3 minor things: 1)the ac in room 1104 worked well but blew right on the person sleeping closest to the window; 2)the toilet was not bolted to the wall and banged against the wall when you sat on it; and, 3)Free parking would be great!

    Really liked the location, the free bottled waters and complimentary cookies. Also liked the 3 available computers plus free printing. Lastly, we stayed in room 1104 which was beautifully renovated!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    8.3
    Good, could be improved.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Someone tapping on other doors on the floor late at night (after midnight and early in the morning too) woke me up. I couldn't figure out why it happened over a dozen times, people coming and going. No white noise in the room, so you can hear everything in the hallway. Bed way too hard.

    Nice front desk and restaurant staff, beautiful lobby.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    10
    I would absolutely stay here again because of the bed and the view of the capital.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was very small when me and my spouse needed to be in there at once.

    The bed was amazing I thought I was on a cloud. The view was of the state capitol.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    5.4
    Will never book at another Hilton property again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything else. This hotel has apparently been due for a renovation for decades. It is appalling to pay Doubletree price for a Motel 6 room. Hilton should be ashamed. Pics on Internet of course make it look better, although a bit dated, but come on! Also, room was dirty..bathroom stunk, mold in grout, red food spots on ceiling. The lighting was dim and depressing. Hallway was the same. I will be contacting Hilton Rewards to get out of program. Should have been charged $75 at best.

    staff was very nice, bed was good, shower strong...but everything else was awful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    5.0
    Obnoxious
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Check-in attendant gave me a different room than what I booked on Booking.com. Never told me until I walked into the room. When I called she said it was because I booked through a third party?

    The locations

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    7.5
    very good stay
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    safety concern just outside of the hotel. I walked to the park just steps from the hotel in the evening and felt unsafe.

    Service was good and the room was very clean.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    7.1
    The cookies
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decor was hideous! Lobby was out of Alice in Wonderland. Pool surrounded by lumpy soggy artificial turf. Parking very confusing and poorly executed.

    The cookies

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2017

    9.6
    Great location when attending Florida State University events
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom is very small with the door just able to slip past the toilet. We were located next to the ice machine so maybe our bathroom was smaller than other rooms. Because of the location next to bars and restaurants, I could hear bands playing until closing time. The 2nd night we just put the AC on fan the whole night and that drowned out the bar noise.

    We chose to stay at this hotel because our son was visiting FSU for preview. The hotel is just minutes away from the FSU campus. We were able to walk to restaurants that FSU students go to. Room service was convenient for breakfast since we were in a hurry to attend FSU events. Our room had 2 queen beds and was a nice size. It also had a refrigerator. There is an attached parking garage that is paid parking, but for the location that is expected. I would highly recommend this hotel when visiting FSU. It is a nice hotel and the location can't be beat.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    10
    Being able to park free on the street.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Construction around the hotel.

    Being able to park free on the street.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    10
    Amazing stay! I would recommend this hotel to anyone.
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I didn't like that my stay was so short!

    The staff was friendly and accommodating! I had a great stay and wish I could have stayed longer.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    10
    I will come back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Really comfy beds. Very clean. Wonderful Staff.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    5.4
    Hair in the bathroom;
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hair in the bathroom; room location was very noisy, could hear staff and ice machine day and night

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    10
    .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    .

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    10
    It was comfortable, everyone was so nice
    • Family with young children
    • One King Access Shower Non Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was gorgeous

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    7.9
    Good place to stay although it was noisy early due to construction on the property.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately there's construction going on and was noisy early.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    5.4
    could have been better
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    did not get the room that we paid for. the the breakfast buffet was cold

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    7.9
    It was convenient, cost efficient & comfortable. My husband loves the warm cookies!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I asked in my online check-in for foam pillows & they weren't provided. It was

    Proximity to the capital.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    9.2
    A/C vents point directly toward the beds making it a bit...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A/C vents point directly toward the beds making it a bit uncomfortable to sleep at night. Adjustable vents would be great.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    7.5
    Great location if going to the capital. Very close and the staff is great. Noise is unbearable
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • One King Access Shower Non Smoking
    • Stayed 5 nights

    building is undergoing renovation and very noisy

    Staff was outstanding could not have been nicer A+

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    10
    The beauty of the building
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was a tight fit.

    The beauty of the building

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    10
    Staff was better than the best.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was better than the best.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    8.8
    Great Southern breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    My wife could not check in until I personally appeared to show my id.

    Great Southern breakfast!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    5.4
    Unaccomadating staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unacommadating staff. Property is old and dated. Loud room Poor experience overall. Wouldn't go back.

    Location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    7.9
    Need a gathering lounge area away from front doors
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One King Access Shower Non Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Need a gathering lounge area away from front doors

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    10
    Location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    9.2
    Room
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Construction

    Room

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    8.3
    It was a pleasant stay overall.
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air conditioner vents blow directly on to the beds. I found this uncomfortable. Also, the beds could be updated. They sink a nil.

    Location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    8.8
    Decor thruout hotel looks like nightclub
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decor thruout hotel looks like nightclub

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    10
    Great cookies in Tally
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One King Access Shower Non Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean. Well kept. Great staff. Very comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    9.2
    Very nice renovated hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One King Access Shower Non Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking fees, and the lighting in the rooms was a bit dark.

    Everyone was extremely nice, attentive, and helpful.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2016

    6.3
    Okay
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No plug in bathroom!

    Employees friendly

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    7.5
    Email statement
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    I need an email statement from you.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    7.9
    Staff is what made this hotel rate so high...period.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking costs, crazy high.

    Staff...outstanding!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2016

    7.1
    This was a stopover to split our journey to Atlanta.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    What we hadn't realised is that this is probably quite a popular hotel for folks flying early from Tallahassee airport, meaning plenty of early noise in the corridors. When combined with the dreaded ice machine close to our room, I'm afraid we slept very poorly, not what you want ahead of a long drive. That has adversely influenced our score, so ask for a room further away from the ice machine and you'll probably be fine.

    This was a stopover to split our journey to Atlanta. As such it was fine, easy to find, on site parking at reasonable cost ($8). Nice views over the city from our room on 9th floor, complimentary cookies on arrival and eating recommendations offered despite the hotel having its own restaurant. Pool looked nice, although we didn't take advantage. Situated near the capitol buildings, a smart but strangely soulless area, but a good restaurant (Andrew's) just across the road made for a pleasant evening. Staff pleasant and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2016

    8.8
    Beautiful lights at entry and cool lobby.
    • Group

    room with view of parking garage. Our drapes opened literally to the side of a car. If we had a door instead of a window I could have opened the car door and sat down. And speaking of parking garages, the parking spaces were so tight and the turns so sharp from floor to floor it seems hazardous to park in there.

    Beautiful lights at entry and cool lobby.

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2016

    5.0
    The only thing good about this hotel was the bar tender, the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Kids screaming and running down the hall way at 6am with no parental supervision. Called the front the desk they did nothing. and most what I hated about this hotel is that charged me three time form the room and I am still fighting to get my money back.

    The only thing good about this hotel was the bar tender, the restaurant manager and the location.

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    7.1
    The location is good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The check in staff was not familiar with Booking.Com's policy of pay when you stay. They charged the stay to our credit card before we arrived. I explained to the young lady we would be paying cash. She informed me it had already been charged to the cc. I ask for the manager who also seemed confused but was finally able to figure out how to credit our card and take my cash payment. A cluster!!!

    The location is good. We were in town for the fsu game.

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    9.2
    The staff was very friendly and helpful.
    • Family with older children

    The staff was very friendly and helpful. The decoration is eclectic, different and nice. The main entrance is very nice and have a nice view to an open space with a fountain and beautiful trees. Also a very good bar and restaurant next door. Nice view to downtown from the room.

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2015

    10
    Excellent location, price, convenience to FSU, comfort,...
    • Family with older children

    Would have liked a microwave in the room, access to pool (under construction), and bar/lounge for drinks/meeting people.

    Excellent location, price, convenience to FSU, comfort, cleanliness, & free coffee. Roomwas nicely decorated, furniture was also nice, mattress was outstanding, and ac worked well.

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2015

    10
    Location and ability to book online at a good price made it...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Construction in lobby without proper signage was confusing.

    Location and ability to book online at a good price made it better than other hotels that I frequently use.

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2016

    10
    Valet parking.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    There was nothing I disliked. Comfortable experience.

    Valet parking. Hotel design.

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2016

    7.1
    Location close to FSU
    • Family with older children

    Bathroom was a bit rundown

    Location close to FSU

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2016

    10
    Very friendly and helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Including breakfast in the price would have been good

    Very friendly and helpful staff Excellent value

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2016

    7.1
    no refrigerator in the room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    no refrigerator in the room.

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2016

    9.6
    Comfortable bed, very quiet, good location, good breakfast,...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Comfortable bed, very quiet, good location, good breakfast, friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2016

    10
    Loved the welcome cookies!
    • Family with older children

    No complaints

    Loved the welcome cookies! Very comfortable bed. Enough wash cloths & towels. Friendly & helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2016

    9.6
    This hotel definitely gives off an air of elegance.
    • Couple

    This hotel definitely gives off an air of elegance. Our room was immaculate and all the staff were very nice, cheerful and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2016

    10
    Location, room service, cleanliness, parking garage
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing

    Location, room service, cleanliness, parking garage

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2016

    8.8
    We liked the friendly reception with cookies and the room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There were noises coming from the elevator we guess.

    We liked the friendly reception with cookies and the room.

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2015

    10
    We got exactly what we wanted and more.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Nothing

    We got exactly what we wanted and more. The handicap room was a real handicap room with roll in shower.

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2015

    5.0
    Nothing really
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Way too overpriced! I've stayed in way nicer hotels with more friendlier stuff! Its the brand they charge you for

    Nothing really

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2015

    8.8
    Neither my nor myself like the look of the rehab that is in...
    • Couple

    Neither my nor myself like the look of the rehab that is in progress compared to the look of the hotel 2 years ago.

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2015

    6.3
    Bathroom was dated and not as clean as I wish it could have...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bathroom was dated and not as clean as I wish it could have been

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2015

    10
    Staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Parking arrangements and bed covering.

    Staff

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2015

    8.3
    Was waken up in the middle of the night with an alarm sound...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Was waken up in the middle of the night with an alarm sound that lasted for 20 minutes

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2015

    8.3
    Great beds, good size rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Extensive construction and men staring at my daughter was not pleasant

    Great beds, good size rooms

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2015

    5.0
    Did not clean room construction on floor was horrible
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Did not clean room construction on floor was horrible

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2015

    7.9
    The cookie!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The cookie!

There are also 48 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 66

Guests also reviewed these properties: