Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Americas Best Value Inn Smithtown/Long Island 2 stars

755 Smithtown Bypass, Smithtown, NY 11787, USA

#1 of 1 hotels in Smithtown

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 68 hotel reviews

6.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.9

  • Comfort

    6.6

  • Location

    6.9

  • Facilities

    6.3

  • Staff

    6.4

  • Value for money

    6.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 51

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    4.2
    It was sub-par at best
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The person at the front desk, who I believe may have been the manager, was incredibly unhelpful, impolite, and rude. I sprained my ankle right before checking in and requested a delayed check out of an hour (11am to 12). He claimed this was impossible and then agreed to a 11:30 check out. At 10:30 he then called our hotel room to remind us that we had to check out at 11. My boyfriend had to argue that he finally agreed to 11:30 and finally he agreed. I found this incredibly rude and intrusive

    Room was nice. Clean enough. Nice room if I didn't feel so uncomfortable about the management's treatment of us.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    5.0
    Location to my destination.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Overpriced for a motel, should not have smoking rooms and lost of all, mattress was as hard as a rock.....both beds. Firm is fine, but it was like sleeping on pavement.

    Location to my destination.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    2.9
    Never again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything! Rude employees that gave off an air of hostility. Stall bagels and donuts. Loud noises and people.

    I would not recommend this place to someone I did not like!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    2.9
    Terrible!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The receptionist was behind glass, my first inkling that we were in trouble. He was slow and unfriendly. When I opened the room door, I noticed restaurant take out condiments on the desk. I was then shocked to find an opened candy bag( unfinished) , and napkins. I closed the door and returned to reception. I explained that there must be someone staying in the room and that he must have been mistaken He replied, " the room is dirty?" I said yes that it was. He said he'd send the housekeeper to clean. Upon returning to the room, I proceeded to find more takeout containers on the bedside table and on the bathroom sink. There was a "TSA" paper that you receive when your baggage has been inspected on one of the beds. Clearly, someone had used the room . I returned to reception and told him that there had been someone in the room, and we wanted our money back. He told me he would give me a key to his "best" room, and if I wasn't satisfied, he would refund our money. Because of the late hour after traveling for many hours to attend a ceremony the next day at SUNY Sony Brook, I agreed. While the room was"clean", the faucet in the sink was loose and the mattresses were terrible!

    Nothing

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    2.9
    Over priced mess of a hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms smelt like curry The beds where hard The had renovation supplies in an unorganized mess in the parking area just in front of the room doors. Way to expensive for what you get

    Nothing

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    8.8
    Very good for the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the A/C smelled like smoke in the beginning, but cleared up fast

    nice location, very clean, fridge, microwave, coffee maker, complementary coffee, ironing iron and board, plenty of storage - more then I expected for the money

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    4.2
    More DNA than an episode is CSI
    • Group
    • King Room - Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed, pillows, and towels were all well beyond their useful life. Bathroom was filthy and moldy. I cannot discuss/describe all the biological stains without being inappropriate. I will say that there was a chair that we would not use, and our toilet had been used and left visibly soiled (by housekeeping we assume) while we were out. The entire stay was disgusting and if there were other lodging options available while we were there, we never would have stayed.

    The location was very close to our activities plus local shopping and restaurants.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    7.1
    a place to relax at the comfort inn hotel
    • Couple
    • King Room - Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A shower liner would have been nice. Water was going out onto the floor. The carpet was dirty, and there was, nt a table where you couldn't sit down to enjoy something to eat.

    The bed very comfortable, and the water was hot and full pressure. Enjoyed relaxing with the television, also it was nice having the refrigerator, microwave, iron and ironing board, plus hair dryer that I forgot to bring with me, and the price was reasonable.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    5.8
    Ok place to stay at but too costly
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 28 nights

    I had to pay for my safety box in the room. The so called continental breakfast was made of few slices of bread and some donuts together with a small packages of cheese and jam; and cornflakes that everybody had to share. In my view the quality of the hotel does not motivate the high rate.

    The staff were friendly and helpful

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    5.4
    Never again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Flood in bathroom and staff wouldn't change room. They spent 40 minutes in my room mopping it up with my towels. Told me they didn't have another room. Meanwhile, there were precisely three cars, including mine, in the entire lot. I paid $169 for a room with a flood. Internet connection was unreliable. Parking lot pavement was cracked up pretty bad. They didn't have staff that spoke English well enough to understand. They have no right to charge the rate they do. For the same price I cold have stayed at a Holiday Inn a bit further away. Well...live and learn.

    Good location. Quiet. Bed was comfortable. Good shower.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    3.3
    The view on the canopy was ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a lot of bugs , they were rude and the room smell and impatient

    The view on the canopy was ok

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    10
    Breakfast was awesome, especially the choices.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I couldn't work the television because there was no way to operate. No instructions

    Breakfast was awesome, especially the choices.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    7.5
    Clean room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean room. Easy to locate.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    2.5
    Absolutely nothing at all
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was dirty dark and had no towels

    Absolutely nothing at all

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    10
    It was convenient.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No eggs

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    5.0
    Nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A lot

    Nothing

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    5.0
    Never again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was horribly uncomfortable. Debris in parking lot looked very shabby.

    Location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    5.8
    good for 1 nite stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not as clean as expected

    comfortable bed

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    7.1
    good
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    rushing had tea, bed was good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    7.9
    Remodeled room
    • Family with young children
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Remodeled room

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    4.6
    Poor communication of staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor communication of staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    2.5
    Dirty, dated, rundown
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff not freindly, dirty very dated, would not recommend to anybody

    Loacation to what we went there for. Was perfect

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    7.5
    Facilities
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Facilities

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    5.4
    Shabby but convenient location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needs total refurnishings of rooms

    Price and convenient location

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    9.5
    Best rate, compare to near by hotels if your on a budget.
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Needed a little more variety of breakfast. Some type of fruit.

    Rooms were nice and clean. Updated

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    9.2
    Very nice clean and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Power went out in my room around 2am, called the front desk and he had it sorted out by 2:40

    Very nice clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    8.3
    Value stay on Long Island.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good value.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2017

    8.3
    The room is big.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price

    The room is big.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2017

    9.2
    Satisfied Customer
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    there really isnt anything i didnt like

    i liked that it was peaceful and that the staff was very nice...and the shower felt amazing

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2016

    10
    Lovely place
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All

    Everything was excellent

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2016

    5.4
    Decent for Students, Horrible Overall
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Smoking
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No decent breakfast. A/C stank. Only one bus runs near there, which comes each hour or so. Car a must.

    I could smoke here.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    5.0
    Sketchy place
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Area is not secure

    Location only

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    7.9
    Very comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very comfortable

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2016

    4.2
    Not much.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not much.... sketchy.....

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    7.1
    Not bad
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could have been better. Could have had some protein, rather than only sweets.

    Room was quiet, air conditioning worked well.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    8.8
    Best Value Inn
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not that I didn't like it, but it is dated.

    It was clean and neat and the price and location were good for the event we attended.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2016

    7.5
    Good coffee
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    More & larger towels

    Good coffee

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2016

    6.3
    Adequate
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Silly policy about paying for safe and then getting refund in am

    Breakfast good

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2015

    4.2
    Really nothing,they were the most unfriendly people we have...
    • Couple

    That they couldn't direct us to their motel from where we were located at in Oakdale,L.I.

    Really nothing,they were the most unfriendly people we have ever come acr

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2015

    7.1
    We were surprised when we got there because the reviews was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    We were surprised when we got there because the reviews was not too good but the motel was actually really nice! The room is not so big but alright with two queens beds, the bathroom is ok, it was clean. The breakfast was a little light but they still have waffles donuts, breads and coffee, not too bad! It is a good deal for the price. There is restaurants as well not to far to go have dinner etc

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2015

    3.8
    i likes that I only stayed there one night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The people at the front desk we very difficult to understand. The hotels were run down, things were broken in the hotel. It wasn't even that cheap of a rate either. Skip this place!

    i likes that I only stayed there one night.

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2016

    2.9
    Made us pay extra for being 3 adults in one 2 twin bed room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Made us pay extra for being 3 adults in one 2 twin bed room. Ridiculous!

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2015

    4.2
    cheap room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    creepy dated rooms. itchy motel comforter. hard time checking in with major language barrier.

    cheap room

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    6.7
    The room was clean, and if not beautifully furnished, at...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room was clean, and if not beautifully furnished, at least it was comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    9.6
    All around ideal for our purposes (attending a church...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    All around ideal for our purposes (attending a church ceremony nearby)

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    7.9
    Good value for location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room a little out dated but clean and comfy. Very quiet for major highway.

    Good value for location.

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2015

    7.5
    Quiet and clean, good location for our activities in the area
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Quiet and clean, good location for our activities in the area

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2015

    3.0
    smelled bad
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    smelled bad

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2015

    6.7
    Location was key.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    I asked for room service and never received it.That was a,deal breaker for me.

    Location was key. It wasn't far from activities

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2015

    9.2
    I liked that the bathroom was super clean, multiple lights...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I liked that the bathroom was super clean, multiple lights instead of one big bright light in the roon. Also every Appliance was up to date.

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2015

    5.4
    There is a weird smell in a bedroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    There is a weird smell in a bedroom.

There are also 21 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 51

Guests also reviewed these properties: