Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Edwardian Hotel 2 stars

1668 Market Street, San Francisco, CA 94102 , USA

#107 of 230 hotels in San Francisco

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1547 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    7.4

  • Location

    8.1

  • Facilities

    7.1

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    7.5
    The staff were very friendly and pleasant, they even gave us...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very old fashioned and definitely needs more up-keep, repair, and modernisation. The room was alot smaller than expected and needed better storage for clothing. Also, water from the shower constantly leaked, so far that it made its way into the bedroom, where it caused a pretty large damp patch.

    The staff were very friendly and pleasant, they even gave us tips on how to navigate around San Francisco. The hotel is in a great location with easy access to all public transport.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    6.7
    Staff were so helpful couldn’t do enough for us.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although a close enough location to the central points there was a lot of homeless nearby this area and walking at night felt intimidating, although never directly bothered by anyone.

    Staff were so helpful couldn’t do enough for us.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    9.2
    Amazing service.. Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bit noisy if your in a room close to the road. A lot of homeless. But other then that Amazing clean and tidy place.

    Newly renovated, Cute rooms, great loction, close to trains, buses and trams. The staff where friendly, knowledgeable, welcoming and went above and beyond for us. We would like to say thanks to the staff for making our stay enjoyable.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    3.3
    Staff was friendly at both arrival and at leaving as well.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    - according to the staff, we needed to wait 3-4 minutes for the warm water, in reality it took 15 minutes, but water still was only hotish - the bathtub went full by the time the hot water arrived, and it didn't flush until sometime in the morning. - by the time it flushed, you can imagine how it looked after 3 people had shower after a lond day of excursion. - the toilet was leaking a bit (an ever growing puddle formed on the bathroom floor). - we booked the room for three, and they said its going to be fine. Well, 3 people couldn't fit in the room with bags. There was no wardrobe at all, nor a single table, or anything. Just a bed and a chair. I think this is way less than you would expect at a hotel room. - The sorrounding is not really ok, there are numerous homeless people, and also a lot of dirt in the neighbourhood. - We left on the first morning, because this was not acceptable at all for this price. - At the checkout they said "oh yes, the plumber is coming to fix the problem, we now already the problem for a while" - if you know this, why do you put up the room on booking? Please make it work, and after start booking it.

    Staff was friendly at both arrival and at leaving as well.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    7.1
    Great location for what I wanted to do, if not such a great...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For a 10dy stay I was allocated a front room. Not only did this come with considerable noise from Market Street below (double glazing would be a definite improvement), but the window coverings are installed so as to let in a lot of light. Being Summertime, daylight was flooding the room very early, and a streetlight was shining directly in my face at night. I asked if some additional window covering could be installed and was told “we’ll get the maintenance guy to take a look”. It sounded like it was a known problem and nothing was done - I implemented a workaround.

    Great location for what I wanted to do, if not such a great neighbourhood. Staff were friendly & helpful, room was clean & comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    7.9
    Super friendly staff, the hotel seems very tidy and well...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was quite small however bathroom very big, however this is expected for San Fransisco especially at this price point

    Super friendly staff, the hotel seems very tidy and well maintained

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    5.4
    Not value for money for the facilities hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small rooms, uncomfortable mattress, for hot water you need to run the water for 10 minutes.

    The location is very good and the staff is friendly and accommodating.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    10
    Only one problem but it didnt matter
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was ONLY cold it never got hot. But the overall stay was fabulous

    The front desk was super nice and made the stay even better! We will be back!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    9.6
    Had such a wonderful, comfortable stay and a great experience overall.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The area isn't the most happening place, but it is so close to everything which totally makes up for that!

    The staff were so friendly and helpful the entire time. The room was cosy and comfy. They offer coffee and tea all day/night long and they even kindly locked away our bags on our check out day so we could continue to explore on our last day before heading to the airport. It's also easy to get around from there.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    7.1
    Room was very clean and comfortable, bed was comfortable,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Third floor room, so water pressure was poor - good and hot, just not very powerful. Sink taps very poor. Would have been so much nicer to have tea and coffee facilities in the bedrooms, instead of a drinks trolley at the front door.

    Room was very clean and comfortable, bed was comfortable, staff were great - very attentive and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    8.8
    Location is great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to be honest. The elevator is such a pain but is an old piece, so it’s attractive at the same time.

    Location is great. Not far away at all from Union Square. There is a cable car stop right at the hotel’s door. The staff is extremely friendly, specially Rocky cause he can speak spanish (in case you need it). Day n’ night they offer complementary infusion such as coffee, tea and water. Also chocolate snack bu the front desk. You dont get a surprise for what you pay, is a great value. The cleaning is perfect.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    10
    We loved staying at the Edwardian Hotel. The staff were lovely!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Lovely staff, comfortable beds and brilliant location. Staff gave us fantastic advice about local attractions. We also loved the free tea coffee facilities in the reception.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    8.8
    Excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Due to the great central location, it can be noisy at night from the streetcars.

    Excellent location. Public transport stop right at the door and in walking distance (20 mins) to Union Square, Hayes street... Staff was super nice, rooms are on the small size but who wants to spend much time in the room when in San Fran.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    8.3
    Great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very creaky bed frame, but the mattress was super soft and comfy. No fan in bathroom so we had to open a window to get the steam out of the room and ended up letting some bugs in. Ultimately not a serious issue just unexpected.

    Great location! We walked to pretty much everything, but the transit system is right out front on Market street. Super easy to get around. We were informed at check in about the water heater and ran the water for about 2 minutes and then it was too hot so we had to turn it down. Staff was great for giving us the heads up on the shower.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    10
    The guy who works there, Rocky, was awesome, really went...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The guy who works there, Rocky, was awesome, really went above and beyond to help out Hotel is located very close to transportation hubs and is very safe + clean

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    6.7
    Bare essentials with zero frills, but in a great, central location that felt safe.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The carpet was old and in need of replacement. The bed felt a bit lopsided and could do with some new bedding. The shower water pressure was non-existent. We got the smallest room because it's what we could afford, but it was even smaller than we we realized, especially for the cost.

    Location was great and felt safe. Staff was friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    9.2
    A friendly and convenient base from which to explore the city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The only minus was the noise level. We had a room overlooking Market Street (No 21) but without double glazing. Once the streetcars start running in the early morning it is impossible to sleep. Soundproofing would be a good investment.

    Very friendly and helpful staff who clearly enjoy the job and are always ready with advice about eating-out, visitor attractions, etc. Good quality coffee on tap in the foyer. Very convenient location at a bus and streetcar stop.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    7.9
    I would only stay here because it was close to the venue I...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very old building. They've done the best they can to make it nice.

    I would only stay here because it was close to the venue I was going to. And because it's pretty reasonably priced. It's a'ight.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    7.5
    Great location with a comfy bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The water pressure in our shower was pretty bad. More like a trickle than a shower. We let the front desk know and I feel confident they will fix it.

    The room was great. We had a small issue with moisture and some mold, but they were accommodating and offered to switch our room. Aside from that, super clean and a fun place to stay. Staff was so great.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    7.0
    Needs improvements
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    First room offered was very noisy due to a restaurant kitchen fan just in front of our window. They offered a second room which was a step back (twin room, external bathroom). Also it is impossible to park nearby. Had to park 1.5 km away and pay 26 dollars.

    Staff is nice, room is a decent at that price.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    7.9
    Nice stay in a cool part of SF!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are not too sound proof - going both ways. You will hear people in the hallway very easily.

    Great location! Excellent value for money! Super friendly staff as well.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    9.2
    Small hotel with a lot to give! Affordable, great location & fantastic staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely hotel, looking a bit tired though compared to the photos.

    The staff were wonderful, very helpful and attentive, giving advice on places to visit & recommended restaurants. They also helped us contact a hotel we will be staying at in LA. Rocky is a legend!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    8.3
    Good accomodation for the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The rooms are quite small.

    The rooms were clean, beds were comfortable and service was good. You are close to transport to get around the town. Very good value for money

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    9.2
    It was an enjoyable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were wonderful. It is an older hotel with small rooms but clean, nice bathroom, and staff that went out of their way to help with everything we needed.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    9.2
    Great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s a shame wasting so much water till it’s hot Little bit noisy street side

    Location Friendly staff Nice room Good bed Coffee & tea at reception Price compared to other hotels

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    7.1
    I would not recommend this hotel until they fire a few friend and hire people to actually fix things
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above location horrible! Not close to anything, took a ta i to evrywhere because cost of parking is unreasonable! San Francisco really is a waste of money! They have so many homeless, too many cars, lots of vandalism, and very little REAL things for tourism just very expensive t shirts and junk in shops that were supposed to be handmade! Same things all over so knew it was manufactured! Even the golden gate bridge is a money maker, waiting for the bill for taking too many photos of it. Trolleys only run on streets where there is no real interest for just and expensive ride to nowhere! Don’t even know why wnyone would want to live in this disgusting place!

    Front staff were so nice but ineffective just like a nice employee that should be fired ! no real lobby, but had coffee when they felt like it! Elevator was old with pull gate that hit you as it sprang back had to have two people to get into elevator that stopped above the floor so could trip on entering, unfortunately, our room had just been remodeled and the construction was very poor. Sink faucet fell off and never fixed properly, tt paper holder fell off wall, room phone fell apart never fixed, light switches didnt work, 2 nd story very large windows with no bars opened easily & could fall out if not careful, no screens on windows bugs all over from street garbage, lots of homeless laying in doorways. No nearby parking lot, had to taxi from car to hotel. No onstreet parking, no loading zone infromt of hotel, even for taxi!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    10
    Fantastic stay at a beautiful hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Brilliant location on market Street, very close to bus/tram stops for easy access to everything. Room was lovely- plenty space for a family of 3. Very helpful staff. Coffee/tea available downstairs all day.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    7.5
    Other than the said mentions, the stay was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I found the heating next to the bed, very noisy - and the water took almost 15 minutes to run hot. At one point I gave up before it got hot because I thought the hot water was finished and I also hate wasting that much water, but the next morning it still took 10/15 minutes to finally reach a warm temperature.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    7.9
    Really helpful staff, free wifi, big room that was nicely...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No ac/fan and room got very hot at night. Only way to cook it down was to open windows but street was very noisy all night so we didn't get much sleep. Shower took a long time to heat up and there was very little water pressure.

    Really helpful staff, free wifi, big room that was nicely decorated, excellent public transport links

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    8.3
    All good. Nice staff and inexpensive for the area :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Two Twin Beds with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A lot of hobos in the area (creepy but seemed harmless). Room smelled a little, thick air.

    Very nice and helpful staff, short walking distances to train stops if needed.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    4.2
    There is no facility parking.
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no facility parking. You have to find your own parking 2-3 blocks away. Not only that when we checked in, our room was not ready. There was a half eaten pizza on the floor and the bed was not made. Further there was dirty towels on the floor. We are disappointed, because we told them we needed a clean room due to medical reasons and they sent us an email confirming they will take care of us. Unfortunately, it was not the case. They eventually found us another room but it was troublesome. We checked in at 8 and didn’t get a new room until 10. Such a hassle- on top of we were charged fill price!! No discount, DISAPPOINTED!!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    3.8
    Worst ever had
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room with Two Twin Beds with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s the worst hotel I ever had experienced. For nearly 200 usd, I got a small room, with pet on floor, dirty sheet, noisy street, unfriendly booking experience , bad living neighbourhood that you felt sleeping on the street .... the only good thing is the receptionnist has a smile face.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    7.5
    The friendly helpful staff made our stay better than it would have been.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    the bathroom needs more shelving,some where to put suitcase on like a fold up bench like other good hotels have.flow of water was very poor.the window needs darker curtains especially the ones near a street light.

    the bed was ok,room to small,

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    8.8
    Nice people, great starting point for discovering the city!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It's not perfectly quiet, the windows aren't that isolating, but we weren't disturbed by it.

    Unbelievable friendly and helpful employee with good advices about where to go and what to do/eat. Everything needed is in the vicinity and the subway/metro starts right in front of the hotel. But actually everything is in walking distance.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    7.1
    Tiny Rooms - OK Price - Great Staff - Minutes Away From Everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location is not in the best area. There is no guest parking; you park on the street, if you can find any. There are lots to park in, but they're not close to the property and not in great areas, either. The staff warned us about a rise in car break ins - we had to take everything, including change, out of the car. Lots of homeless all around the streets. I booked a Queen room for two - and that's all that was in there! The bed took up the entire room - it had a headboard with cubbies built in to hold stuff - no closet, just a hook on the wall to hang your clothes! You had to slide between the foot of the bed and the wall to get to the window/clothes hook. The bed was not comfortable and I'm certain it was a Full, not a Queen. We could barely lay on the bed together. The bathroom was big and newer, but we couldn't get the water to turn on - we had to call the staff to do it for us! It was not very expensive, but the accommodations were not worth what we paid. It felt more like a hostel than a hotel.

    The building is old and cool looking. The location is in the middle of the city, so you're basically near everything and you can get an Uber/Lyft or take the train right outside the front door. The rooms are eclectically decorated and there's a cool, New York vibe about the hotel. Views from most rooms, not spectacular, but very cool, city views.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    9.2
    Great time in San Francisco!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Two Twin Beds with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The rooms are really small but the beds are comfortable and the rooms have a cute theme.

    The staff is extremely friendly and helpful. Also, i like how clean the hotel was throughout and they offer complimentary beverages in the lobby throughout the day. Great location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    8.8
    Pleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room was nice but quite small not much space to put suitcases or much else.

    The hot drinks in reception were a nice touch Staff were extremely friendly and helpful

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    10
    Warm
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Two Twin Beds with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mr.Rocky , the assistant is the friendliest and most helpful staff. He offered us the upgrade with bathroom inside our bedroom.. he also gave us map and advised us about food and how to get around.. he also offered to lend us the hair dryer.. made all the effort to keep us very happy This is a very pleasent and enjoyable stay

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    5.4
    Place was clean, most of the staff were friendly and helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we first arrived the receptionist was very short with us and seemed annoyed that we didn't know how to get around on public transport on our first day in the city. She was just rude. Location is in a somewhat dodgy area with loads of homeless and high/drunk people wandering around at all hours.

    Place was clean, most of the staff were friendly and helpful

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    8.3
    Convenient location with good public transport links.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    I found that my room was very simple and basic, no shelves to put anything on and wasn't like the rooms I had seen in the photos. Took a long time to get hot water in the shower, had to leave it to run for 10 minutes before I needed it.

    Staff were very helpful, particularly when trying to book shuttle back to the airport and the transport links were fantastic, tram stops literally outside the door of the hotel which was very convenient.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful SF, fantastic stay at Edwardian Hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Transportation is very convenient here. The neighborhood is safe. The hotel building and the staff are awesome. Enjoyed my stay and if I ever be back will try to get a room there again. The blanket could have been better cleaned and the water at the shower takes time to warm up. That’s it. But still I really liked the staff they were very helpful and friendly!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    7.1
    Clean, affordable, convenient location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room with Two Twin Beds with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Old, recently cleaned up building. Improvements were cosmetic, so still very noisy, can hear street noise through old windows, noise from neighbors through thin walls, doors to room and bathroom don't fit so there is always a gap letting in noise (and light from hall at night). If you are a light sleeper, bring eye mask & ear plugs!

    Clean, affordable, convenient location. Very friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    5.8
    Was quite an annoying stay overall.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room with Two Twin Beds with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We received a room with a bathroom and shower outside . So every time we had to use them, we would have to go threw the hallway. Also the only sink was actually in the room with us. Other then that, the water pressure was horrible! Like a light drizzle. We asked to move for these reasons and were put in the same kind of room on a different floor. In the room there were no shelves, no mini fridge and outlets were either behind and under the bed or near the sink.

    The locations was good. A lot of nice restaurants , bars and shopping areas. The design oof the hotel was cool. Each floor with different theme.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    9.2
    The location and value were unbeatable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location and value were unbeatable. Tons of restaurants, bars and clubs within walking distance. My boyfriend and I walked to the Fillmore and saw a show. In the morning we walked downtown for breakfast. There was a great sushi restaurant nearby where we had dinner. The staff were fabulous and so was the Edwardian!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    8.3
    Really good value for money in what seems to have become a...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Twin Room with Two Twin Beds with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only small issue was the length of time it took to get hot water in the shower.

    Really good value for money in what seems to have become a very expensive city to stay. Very friendly welcome from the staff. Clean and tidy. Although a little way out of the centre of the city, there are both bus and streetcar stops right outside.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    8.5
    If you are looking for a comfortable stay in a great...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    If you are looking for a comfortable stay in a great location, without all the frills of a hotel this is a great option. Just remember that it is a shared bathroom situation. You do get exactly what is advertised!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    7.5
    the bed is comfy the location is ok but the homeless people...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    the bed is comfy the location is ok but the homeless people that walking along the area is scary at night. the building is old its ok but the smell of the carpet is not nice they should put air freshner in every room just like what I did. but overall it's Ok I'm only there for sleeping and my luggage security.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    9.2
    I liked the area the hotel was located, it was in the center...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower head barely gave out any water which was really disappointing.

    I liked the area the hotel was located, it was in the center of everything I wanted to visit.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    5.4
    mediocre
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 14 nights

    room was very small. there was no table, hair dryer etc. internet connection was very slow. I stayed for 14 days. These were big problems for me.

    One of the staff (rocky) was very good and helpful. thank you again rocky.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    5.4
    This was a quick stay and did the job. I didn’t love it but it was fine for one night and clean.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room with Two Twin Beds with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I really just didn’t know what to expect but it seems like there may be long term residents that live here as the hallway smelled of incense. I also will not book a room without an attached restroom. Both the toilet and shower were in two separate rooms across the hallway as opposed to one room. Booking.com also charged me twice for the room. the front desk was nice and refunded one of the charges.

    The staff was very nice and friendly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    10
    The person who was at the check in in the afternoons was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were happy with accomdation.

    The person who was at the check in in the afternoons was extremely helpful and we appreciated all the information and help he gave us.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    9.6
    Great place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I don’t think there is much that could be done to improve things, the hotel was excellent value compared to other hotels in SF and a great base for exploring the city. Other reviews have mentioned lack of hot water and I did find it took a while to heat up but it was very hot after it had been given time to heat up.

    Great location- the street car stop is right outside the hotel which is very convenient, especially when returning to the hotel in the evening. Rocky was so helpful and really went out of his way to make our stay comfortable. Some reviews have mentioned that the area isn’t great but I personally didn’t find this to be the case. We certainly drove past very run down areas on the way back to the hotel at night, but the immediate vicinity to the hotel seemed fine. Homelessness is a problem throughout And I don’t think it would be easy to avoid this wherever you stay.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    8.8
    Nice, clean, great staff. Apart from the shower, everything was to satisfaction.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The shower really could have been better, especially the water pressure; having to wait 15 minutes for hot water with a less-than-stellar stream isn't much to look forward to after work.

    Bed was wide, soft and clean - perfect after a long day.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    7.9
    Basic room in convenient location for a reasonable price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was very loud and creaky, and woke me up every time my husband moved. Very tiny night stands and no other table or luggage rack, so our stuff was all over the floor.

    The staff was friendly and the price was very low for San Francisco. Decent location near public transportation and lots of restaurants. Candy and coffee by the front desk.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    8.8
    Location is very close a major metro station and there is a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The elevator is tiny and the door opening/closing for someone carrying luggage is not easy.

    Location is very close a major metro station and there is a supermarket is not far from the hotel. Staff are helpful . The facilities are generally very basic but adequate for simple accommodation needs.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    5.0
    Never again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Place smelled very strongly of incense There was a quarter inch gap in the front door that you could see to the corridor. Bed was small maybe full but not queen. Bathroom a bit dingy with plastic shower curtain that was there for a last 5 years. I was happy that we where there only for one night. 140 dollars was way too much for this hotel.

    When asked for another room they where quite accommodating but the new room wasn’t much better.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    7.5
    location is great, we walked to mission part of SFO, room is...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    with this price I cannot expect more than this in SFO.

    location is great, we walked to mission part of SFO, room is tiny but enough, clean, staff is helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    10
    I would stay again due to the great staff and cleanliness.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is LITERALLY nowhere to park. So along with paying for our room, we payed to leave our car in a safe overnight car garage which cost us an extra $85 for the 3 nights we stayed there. The parking garage was about 3 blocks away.

    The staff was so helpful and very welcoming.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    8.3
    A very old facility, thoughtfully refurbished and very well presented. Clean and tidy, great staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room with Two Twin Beds with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Whilst this is nothing that the Hotel can control, I was told by a police officer that SF gets a winter influx of homeless who seem to find Market Street attractive. Finding half a dozen immediately adjacent to the hotel was initially concerning, but no trouble was encountered.

    The staff were exceptional! All of the office staff we met; Rocky, Clare and a lady whose name we did not get were very friendly and so helpful. Its service like this that will leave a long impression.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    8.8
    Cheap and cheerful in SF.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The water pressure in the shower was intolerable. The wifi was flaky at best.

    Staff were fabulous. Bed was very comfortable and warm. Location was good. Price for San Francisco was reasonable.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    8.3
    We had a great experience with the staff and service. The rooms were small but cozy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom water temp was hard to control either scalding hot or freezing cold

    The staff was super helpful and friendly. The rooms were cozy but a tad small. The location was the best part.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    5.4
    Very very basic hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was a bit cold (no AC), lacks basic things, hair dryer, very very basic hotel, my suitcase barely fit in. No cupboard. Bed, shower, that is it.

    Location was great, Heyes street, Octavia, Valencia - all in walkable distance

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    8.8
    If the desk staff were any more helpful, they'd be...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Some street noise, but hey, it's SF!

    If the desk staff were any more helpful, they'd be working at the Fairmont. Wow, so helpful and ready to go above and beyond (even up to doing some laundry). The room was fun and clean and I had no idea the place was booked as I never heard anyone except when I ran into them in the hall. Very charming coffee and bistros nearby. I definitely recommend it.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    8.3
    It was an amazing experience I will definitely come back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No AC unit. Room was a little too small. The water would take over 10 mins to get warm. There was a lot of hobos in front of the entrance. But all San Francisco had a lot of hobos everywhere we went.

    The convenience.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    10
    awesome place to stay!!! a+
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    no fridge or microwave

    awesome location. pretty rooms & very clean. theres Coffee & tea station at reception was a huge plus also. All the staff are very friendly & helpful!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    10
    A delightful experience, and we would return and recommend to others.
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Two Twin Beds with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 12 nights

    Internet was unstable but management are working on it.

    Friendly and helpful staff, especially Rocky. We especially enjoyed the hot jug set up and variety of teabags! Loved the colourful decor. Great recommendations for breakfast places especially Sam's Diner. Excellent location close to all public transport and the SF Symphony and Opera House.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    7.9
    Trolley stop right outside, helpful staff and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very small, barely enough room for two suitcases. Reception did bring us a luggage rack which was helpful!

    Trolley stop right outside, helpful staff and tea/coffee/hot chocolate in the lobby. Housekeeping was great.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    7.5
    Great location, comfy room, awful shower.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower had awful pressure and couldn’t maintain a consistent temperature - it was either scolding hot or freezing cold.

    The location is great, and there are heaps of trendy bars, restaurants and shops on Hayes Street, a two minute walk from the hotel. It was also easy to use the close-by public transport.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    7.1
    - Nice staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room with Two Twin Beds with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - Wifi wasn't working (was disconnected every 5 minutes) - Hot water cames after 10 minutes - No more hot water from 5 pm to 9 pm - No heating or very bad one, the staff offers portable heating.

    - Nice staff - Very good location - Clean

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    5.0
    Very disappointed in our stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very disappointed in our stay!!! Originally we booked 2 nights but after the 1st night we decided to leave. The room is very small. I felt very bed inside of the room as the atmosphere is very unfriendly. Not even a table to put your staff on. No wardrobe for clothes only a few hangers so you have to stay with an open luggage which makes impossible to turn around in the room. The bed is very small and uncomfortable. The water in the bathroom is running very slow and ice cold!!! I understand that the hotels are very expensive in SF area but I wound spend 50$ just to have my comfort and I would avoid this hotel in the future.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    8.8
    Had a fantastic time and would definitely stay again!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great hotel, good location. Room was small but, cozy and clean with a comfortable bed, so no complaints!!! Loved the staff!!! Felt very safe. Lots of great eateries and bars in the area!! Expect to Lyft or take public transit when venturing outside of the Castro District or Haight Ashbury area.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    9.6
    Excellent!! Definitely the place to stay on short trips!
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That the bed squeaks a lot on room 15. My friend snores a little, and she keeps waking me, so when i’ve turned around to escape from her snoring, the squeaking of the bed, keeps waking us both (that’s funny if you don’t have a jet lag) Maybe to make the staying a perfect 10, it would be a great idea to change the matresses or the bases -or whatever makes the squeaking noise- for new ones or bring ear plugs or bought them nearby as i did.

    The service, the price, the cleanliness, no street noise, the location. Like a plus there is a really nice restaurant, just beside.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    5.8
    Basic accommodation in San Fran
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower - took 10mins to heat up Wifi - didn’t work in rooms No fridge in room Our room was street facing and was very loud

    In comparison to how expensive accomodation was in San Fran this place is worth booking in you plan to spend majority of your time out of the room. If you like to relax a little it really is just a room with a TV. Staff are very friendly and helpful too. I would recommend reading the reviews first and deciding if saving on cost is worth the lack of ammenities.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    10
    CLEAN, comfortable, and safe
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I arrived a couple hours earlier than intended and the staff went above and beyond to accommodate me, and get me into my room as soon as possible. The room is basic, but very clean and comfortable, with toiletries provided. It was a quick walk from great restaurants and bars. It's a great option for anyone looking for a safe and clean place to sleep at night.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    9.2
    Perfect location and all you need in a hotel with friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We appeared to have consistent Wifi problems. One of the guys at reception mentioned the guests in the rooms where they are power them off or unplug them sometimes. Seems like they could do with upgrading their system as seemed to be a regular occurrence.

    I loved the cleanliness of the hotel and the staff were super friendly. Great location beside The Mission, Castro etc.

    Stayed in January 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Edwardian Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: