Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of El Cordova 3 stars

1351 Orange Avenue, Coronado, San Diego, CA 92118, USA

#8 of 12 B&Bs and Inns in San Diego

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 90 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Safe on the closet floor had to be moved (by staff) to use; cleaning crew picked up bathroom but never checked kitchen/no coffee replacement

    Deluxe room #93 was exceptional; large bathroom (with separate shower and tub), full kitchen (not advertised), and comfortable bed

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    While the rooms are clean, it's rather dated, especially the bathroom. We had a one bedroom suite which was for my husband and myself and our adult son. Typically this arrangement is fine; however, in our suite the bathroom was in between the living area and the bedroom so you had to pass through the bathroom to get to the bedroom. There were no locks on the bathroom doors. The sleeper sofa was not at all comfortable. Keep in mind, there is no elevator so if you are on the second floor, be prepared for steps. Our room faced the inside courtyard which was very noisy both in the evening and early morning when staff was cleaning and talking loudly.

    The best thing about the El Cordova is the location. One block across from the Hotel Coronado and it's fabulous beaches. Great restaurants within walking distance.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were directly above the restaurant. It was very noisy with a lot of banging and commotion, but once the closed at night it settled to an acceptable noise level.

    We had a large living space in each room. There was plenty of room for the whole family

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom a bit small. So was the bedroom

    Lovely bedding, and firm, decent mattresses. No mushy mattresses here. LOVE the Spanish/Mexican style tiles all over, and the tiled murals. LOVE the Spanish style of everything.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Water pressure in bathroom shower, necessity to flush toilet several times, no refrigerator or mini bar in room.Left overs from eating out could not be saved therefore wasted food, no condiments for coffee and tea in room upon arrival had to ask for them, 30 minutes to answer a text that never got answered (had to call). The view from the window was horrendous... I was not given any choice when I booked and I didn’t see that as a possibility when booking. It was my daughter’s birthday present weekend which made every little thing unacceptable .

    The place is quite lovely. Beautiful “village like” surroundings. The staff was mostly competent and friendly.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    To get to our room you have to go up tiled steps which are a little steep, so be careful when taking suitcases to your room. Can be a little noisy; in the centre of the open air hotel is a fantastic restaurant, but customers can be heard during the evening (although doesn’t continue ALL night), and cleaning starts about 6.30am. Although the shower has really hot water, the water is just warm at best from the taps.

    The hotel is in a great location to shops, restaurants, local and tourist bus and the beach. The hotel staff were always very helpful; our room was lovely with a very comfy bed. Great pool area, handy coin laundry machines, and handy BBQ area to do some cooking. Fab WiFi connection!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We loved the location and the fact that the two bedroom had two baths such a luxury. Having the shops and Mexican restaurant right there was perfect. We took advantage of grilling in the beautifully landscaped courtyard. It was a wonderful gas grill built in to the Mexican style table perfect for making grilled vegetables and chicken for five. Loved every minute..better than THE DEL!!!!!! Jean Brown

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    El Cordova is located right across the street from the ocean. It's close to restaurants & shops . You don't need a car everything is within walking distance. If you want to go into San Diego there are plenty of Ubers

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Fantastic location near the beach, walking distance to everything you could need and the hotel has such a cute atmosphere. They must not have been too busy since we payed for a standard room and got upgraded to one with two bedrooms and a kitchen! We plan to come back next year and stay there again.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    You could hear other people come/leave their room easily. Thank goodness at night there wasn't a lot of activity.

    This place is great. I loved how they made it old/classic yet in a modern way.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No parking, they send you over a block away to a parking structure just to receive a ticket the next morning. Room was hot and noisey. Only food nearby was Mexican or seafood, which I can't eat.

    Nothing

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    all in all it was a great stay, didn't like that there was no property parking had to keep setting my clock to put coins in the meter and still got a ticket for a 2min expiration. Hospitality was the most helpful. They don't have room attendants put hospitality helped us out. Front desk Alex was not so helpful. he was rude and didn't really care, customer service not his thing.

    loved the restaurant on site, hospitality was amazing. The pool and spa was awesome. the suite was beautiful and super comfy. Management was helpful

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I would like to express my sincere gratitude to your receptionist James who was so nice and helped us to lift the luggage when we arrived pretty late that day with a lot of stuff in hand and also he provided very detailed information on parking. Thank you.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air conditioner (located in the bedroom) wasn't strong enough to cool the front room and kitchen area. This resulted in it being stuffy and slightly too warm for my liking in those rooms. If we had been staying longer and / or using the kitchen this would have become a bigger issue for me.

    I liked the courtyard with all the shops and restaurants so close by.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise from the courtyard in the early hours when they started cleaning up. Having to carry all the luggage up stairs to the room. The website needs updating as the French restaurant is closed.

    Great location has style and atmosphere, Good food in Miguels and Brigatine restaurants.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking is a little challenging. .

    The staff was so helpful. All went above and beyond. We are definitely coming back...w highly recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    While our stay was easy and convenient, these rooms are in desperate need of refurbishing and upgrades. For example: Inconvenient plug outlet locations. I had to remove the bedside table lamp cord from the wall, pull out the bed, and fish a phone charger through the headboard just to charge stuff. Even access to a long extension cord would have worked better than trying to wrangle furniture. Bathrooms are very dated, some with no windows and no working fans. I understand that this is a very old property and probably difficult to renovate, (like pulling a thread on a sweater, never ending), but very needed changes.

    Hotel location is great! We had two rooms and one of them ended up being upgraded to a suite, located on the exterior of the property. It was very convenient as we have two adult sons who each had their own room. On the flip side, the second room we had was located on the interior courtyard side of the hotel. Super noisy from the proximity to Miguel's restaurant. Impossible to sleep until it shut down at 11pm, and then noisy from the early morning cleaning crew getting ready to do it all over again. And this was in the middle of winter! I can imagine in the warmer months it would be brutal.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That I had to leave.

    Don't stay at the del! The Cordova has much larger rooms for half the price, and the atmosphere was better. You can see the history in everything but it doesn't feel old. 4 restaurants on site made meals a breeze. The staff was incredible. The walk to everything was easy.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Very noisy, construction work ongoing at the reception. No breakfasst on the premises but a restaurant next door serves good breakfast, with a $4 discount.

    Nice reception staff, upgraded me to another room to be far from the noisy restaurant.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The property shows signs of age and could do with some updating of the facilities. Like the pool desperately needs to be redone for example. It's still nice enough and livable, it's just due for some updating is all.

    The location of this place is awesome. So close to the beach and all the "downtown" Coronado shopping and restaurants on Orange Ave. So it's worth the price for the location.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The pullout bed was terrible...a replacement mattress is absolutely needed. Under the same circumstances, I would not stay there again with that bedding. The living room furnishings are adequate at best....

    Location and staff were great!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The courtyard has a very popular restaurant and we had to walk around people sitting on our steps to get to our room. The noise level was very loud.

    The style of the rooms.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    the location was perfect. We got a 1 bedroom and it was a very good size, almost like an apartment; there was a kitchen and seperate dinning and sitting area. there was also a nice desk area. We traveled with a toddler and the room was perfect for her to roam around and safe. the location was amazing right off Orange Ave, and across from the Del. It was such a sweet little hotel, there is also a mexican resturant and bar just at the end of the hotel which made for easy food options. It was a perfect choice.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is nice ! Not worth the money , stay at the hotel deal . We had mold in our bedroom closet . Health hazard !!' We were by the restaurant which was very loud if you have young children I would not recommend this room . Also we had 2 pillows that were very flat and we asked for more pillows they never got back to us . Then I asked Agian and he said he'll check but he doesn't think they had any . For the price I would not recommend this hotel .

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was tiny and the carpet was stained and dirty. There was an ice bucket but no glasses and no sign of an ice machine. The staff were passive ...listened to my requests but did not follow through including when I asked for the room to be serviced at 3pm in the afternoon....so ultimatley the room not serviced during my stay.

    Location is the only plus .

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fan in living room didn't work and when we turned it on it smelled like burning wires. The living room was 80 degrees and not all windows would open (broken crank) 5 mins after arriving stepped on a 2 inch cockroach in the bathroom . Ac in bedroom worked great. Had to use vending machines to buy water, no shop for small needs. Asked about parking and went to the parking garage they mentioned and found out I needed to go back to hotel to get pass for 30 bucks. Couldn't find street parking for a 4 block radius and meters have to be fed every 2 hours until 6pm.

    The location was great. Close to shopping food and the beach. Bed was fairly comfortable. Cute layout and roomy in deluxe room with kitchenette.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we checked in they gave us a free upgrade from a one bedroom Suite to a two bedroom suite the room was beautiful !! Even though the hotel has some rooms situated around a courtyard restaurant the room was very quiet And the restaurant was excellent

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Should have parking specifically for hotel guests

    Location and rooms are beautiful

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a little noisy in the morning with all of the furniture being moved in and out.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    loud renovations going on in unit 36 next to our 35

    The unit was clean and very comfortable

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was excellent. Only had a very shot stay. You book again if I’m in the area again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was a bit noisy due to proximity to the pool.

    Great location and exceptionally nice and helpful staff at the front desk.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very very clean and new!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    One the nicest and friendliest places we’ve ever traveled to! We didn’t want to leave!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The atmosphere was amazing.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Loved the layout of the hotel. Very much in Spanish style. Clean and comfortable. Loved it.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smell

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Older bath, kitchen unnecessary

    Loved the location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Front desk not so helpful or friendly (PM shift).

    Proximity to Orange Avenue, Hotel Del and Yacht Club

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The stairs were a little challenge!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful hotel!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise level from outside

    Liked it, friendly staff cleanliness and all

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Could have more counter space in bathroom.

    Location and area are beautiful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing location, everything was in a short walking distance. Great restaurants and safe environment.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We enjoy walking and the location allows for walking for most of the sights to see.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location/room set up

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff and great location. Right across from Del Coronado and half the price.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    King Bed did not have a good foundation and was tippy in larger bedroom.

    Nice kitchen!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was so accessible to shops, food and the besch

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Outside noise

    Vanessa upgraded us to a fantastic suite.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room floors are squeaky and carpet is dirty. as

    Location

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough light switches; none in the bathroom for hair dryers, etc

    Location.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fluffier pillows and air conditioning was not working.

    The staff was amazingle helpful and courteous.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    broken pool chairs, mold in shower, no maintenance available for luke warm shower issue

    location and character really great

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couch was old and uncomfortable

    Location is awesome, decor and ambience was nice

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Didn't restock things- e.g., coffee, soap- each day; Booking.com had higher rate than hotel did. Call hotel directly.

    Location Staff

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Can't think of anything.

    Loved how close we were to the Hotel del Coronado and the beach! Enjoyed the style of the suites! Also was pleasantly surprised to be upgraded when we arrived! Wonderful experience!

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bed was uncomfortable. Too hard. Cheap shower head fell off. We put it back on. No water pressure. Took forever for the water to get hot. Had an ice bucket but no cups. No hair dryer. Got one from housekeeping tho..

    Loved the proxy to the ocean.. the back ground floor patio flowers and fountain.

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    First of all I booked the room with booking.com and they didn't have my hotel reservation for the day I arrived. They actually had it booked like 4 weeks earlier and they said I was a no show. The room looked run down, paint chipped, nasty carpet and bathroom was really small Then in the middle of the night around 2 am I hear screaming and yelling in next door room. It was alot of commotion and security was called. Needless to say couldn't get back to sleep:/ WE stayed here before and had a pleasant stay. We won't be staying here again.

    I like that their is a nice breakfast place close and it's close to beach.

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    There's no parking, so you have to search on the streets nearby, however it was no big deal. Easy walk once you find a parking spot. Miguel's is a very popular restaurant and is located in the courtyard so it's crowded getting to your room but we were not disturbed with the noise or the people. It was a happening place.

    Beautiful ambiance, courtyard, pool and hot tub - loved the tile work and spanish decor - easy walk across the street to the beach and hotel del coronado - easy access to restaurants and shops. Room was comfortable and spacious enough for our 2 year old's blow up mattress.

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Our deluxe 2-bedroom suite was awful: located upstairs from the kitchen and right by the restaurant. It was smelly, noisy, and it lacked several things: electrical outlet in one of the bathrooms wasn't operational; toiletries were meager; water in one of the bathroom sinks wasn't flushing properly; the rooms were not made up daily; we stayed two nights, and we would not go back...too expensive for what you get.

    The location was excellent for our purposes, and the staff at the front desk was superb.

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    went there to enjoy pool, told twice to cold, was not maintained while we were there..was not told that there would be no more morning breakfast. Room was noise......

    The locations and staff, clean

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    A little musty odor in room but we bought an air freshener !

    Everything- from breakfast to breakfast in lobby and in between . Second time staying and we will be back!

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The location of my room was awful and alot of noise till 10:30pm. We are elderly and we are in bed by 8:30pm

    Location & cleanliness and your staff down to the Breakfast presenter, and especially your repair man. Very talented individual.

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not a bad experience but it would be great to have a couple of extra towels and restocking of coffee, cups, etc.

    location great although parking is of course a challenge but not awful if you are aware that it is not included in room charges.

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We were somewhat disconcerted that our room (deluxe) was quite small and had a very small bathroom. There was no microwave in the room. The room was upstairs, having to climb 18 fairly steep steps. Felt the price was a bit high for these reasons.

    El Cordova is quaint and the location is fabulous (beach!). We would book again, but request a downstairs room.

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Pool/Spa close early 9:00 but understandable with layout of hotel rooms / controls noise later evening. No parking lot but didn't need to take our car much with El Cordova's prime location!

    Charming Atmosphere & history Proximity to great beach/Hotel Del Coronado Walking distance to activities/restaurants Free shuttle to Ferry Landing area for boat to San Diego Harbor.

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    ice machine broken the entire visit (some staff helpful with getting some ice from the restaurant, others were less so), freezer in fridge not really cold, it rained hard 2 days and would have been nice to have had towels in lobby (had this at the Hotel del), value for cost not so much

    location was great, staff was mostly helpful, small fridge great, breakfast modest but sufficient except that oj was gone by 9:30,

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The only negative is that there's a Mexican rest. on the ground floor and you can hear the noise from it. Also, in our unit there is a big outside duct that probably carries the air conditioning venting and it's noisy. But it does shut down by around 10pm so it does not interfere with sleep.

    Charming, quaint hotel. Our suite was really a 1 BR apt. Very spacious.

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The hotel doesn't have its own parking so you will have to find a spot on the street. We were always able to find a spot within a block or two. There is a restaurant in the courtyard of the facility and shops on the first level. It is noisy. It didn't bother us but we are likely more tolerant of noise than the average person.

    My family enjoyed the proximity to the beautiful Coronado beach as well as many shopping and dining options. The hotel has a charming, historic feel.

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Parking on the streets was a daily challenge, we didn't have pots or pans in our room, and had to ask for them. And neither did we have paper towels or napkins. That attention to detail, or lack of by the staff, was a downer. Oh, living room chairs quite uncomfortable.

    Location was great, right across the street from Hotel del Coronado and the beach. And the kitchenette was nice to have because it helped cut down on dining costs.

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    No parking was a really big inconvenience, have never stayed at a hotel that had absolutely no parking at all. People were very friendly surrounding the hotel and gave me great advice to park in neiborhood behind hotel so worked out ok in the end.

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    We didn't love the restaurant Miguel's, but we seemed to be the only people who didn't, place was packed for lunch and dinner. Breakfast was typical continental, we choose to eat elsewhere.

    We had the best experience. Location was fantastic, staff amazing and hotel was unique and quirky, which we loved. We had a 1-bedroom suite with pullout sofa. Kitchen had everything we needed. The architecture and quirky alleyways were my favorite. We had windows on both Orange Ave side and directly above Miguel's and never felt it was too loud. Overall, we rate our trip a 10. The hotel and city were amazing!

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    I booked the hotel 2 months prior to our stay With booking.com. I paid in full in advance with hotel. 2 hours prior to check in hotel called and told us they over booked and we lost our room. They put us up at Best Western. Big bummer! Hotel did refund our night stay, which was nice. It is very inconvenient to stay in 2 different places over 2 days. We booked with El Cordova for the location to the beach. 1 block. Instead Best Western was 1 mile from beach. We arrived at El Cordova and found our room with a view through filthy windows of the dingy rooftop. I then asked for a room with a view and got a very Beautiful suite with a nice view. It all worked out in the end but put a damper on our sunny escape from the poor weather back home. Getting an upgrade without asking is great customer service and would have been appreciated.

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    I liked everything.

    Great location, walking distance to beach, bars and restaurants. Very friendly staff. Older property but very well kept. Excellent mexican restaurant on site.

There are also 26 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: