Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Econo Lodge West Haven 2 stars

370 Highland Street, West Haven, CT 06516, USA

#4 of 4 hotels in West Haven

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 74 hotel reviews

5.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    5.7

  • Comfort

    6.1

  • Location

    6

  • Facilities

    5.4

  • Staff

    6.1

  • Value for money

    5.5

  • Free WiFi

    5.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 55

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    7.9
    the price was good for me for staying 4 nights
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights

    when I went to the office and no one was there, and frozen coffee and juice that I couldn't drink and not enough fruits

    location, close to family and friends

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    2.5
    Nothing at all and I would recommend this hotel to nobody
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were horrible and dirty and for the price I paid for it should of been super clean I had to clean the whole room myself in order to be comfortable and when I called the front desk to talk to a manager all of a sudden there wasn’t a manager on site and I’m still waiting for them to call me and I stayed there 3 weeks ago

    Nothing at all and I would recommend this hotel to nobody

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    7.5
    Great for a cheap place to sleep for the night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    When we checked in the keycard system was down so we had to grab the front desk clerk to let us back into our room. The front desk staff was quick and apologetic about it so it wasn't a major inconvenience. Note that nothing really walk-able from the hotel so be prepared to hop in an Uber

    Great for a cheap place to sleep for the night. Staff was friendly and helpful. I accidentally booked our room for the wrong night and they were able to transfer my reservation to the correct night without any issues. As far as the room, it's definitely bare bones but for the price not unexpected. Water pressure in the shower was really nice. It's only a $10 Uber to get into downtown New Haven which was a good price.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    5.4
    The Staff was very nice and professional.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Unfortunately I arrived late and like others who were staying who were in the line in front of me the complaint was...no heat in the room!!! Because it was late and no place to go I slept in my clothes. However, the Staff addressed the issue the next day and all is well.

    The Staff was very nice and professional. Facility was clean.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    4.2
    Good location bad hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was mildew in the mini fridge. Toilet seat was broken. No keycard to open our room we had to ask the front desk to open it every time. Bed not cimphy. Room smell like dog.

    The location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    4.2
    needs maintenance
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I don't usually leave negative reviews, but this hotel needs to take care of a few things. I don't mind no frills accommodations and many of the rooms (my party books 4 rooms) were perfectly nice. But some of the sheets had holes, all but one of the rooms smelled (mine smelled like urine), almost all of the rooms were missing smoke detectors (serious issue), one room was missing a chair, another room had no phone. I think this hotel takes a lot of abuse, but the owners should glue down wall paper that is peeling, change rugs that smell, and make sure there are fire detectors. There is nothing inherently wrong with the property, but I think maintenance has gotten away from it and I would not book it again.

    The staff was kind enough.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    2.5
    Very uncomfortable, you get what you pay for.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smelly. Uncomfortable worn out mattress. Dirty dingy looking blankets. Cigarette burns and an ashtray in a non-smoking room. Only gave one washcloth one small towel in a king room.

    Nice hot water in shower.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    2.9
    never ever again...i would rather sleep in my car
    • Group
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower head in poor condition ...had to change room...wasn't much better...on sun morning about 1:30 am someone started knocking on my room door as well as other rooms...i called the front desk. 3Xs and they acted like it was nothing...they told me they checked their cameras and no one was there...i looked out the peep hole and i saw someone ad well as heard the knocking!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    7.9
    Breakfast was adequate one room
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The second, smoking, room hadn't .been cleaned well and lacked enough Towels, There was a leak In the bathroom which was not fixed.

    Breakfast was adequate one room Was good.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    6.7
    Could have been better
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Did not following reservation request. Three people in room and only provided towels for two for the duration of stay. No iron board in room.

    Location was good right off the interstate.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    3.3
    Will not be staying here again!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room smelled like stale smoke. The shower/tub had someone else's hair in it. The tv was unplugged and when we plugged it in it was so outdated and "fuzzy" we could hardly watch it. There was someone smoking marijuana in the next room and we could smell it outside and in our room. The room was very overpriced.

    The hotel was a convenient stopping point on our travels.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    6.7
    You can rely on the Econolodge Standard
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Close to the Highway is ok, but building could be more soundproofed

    You can rely on the Econolodge Standard

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    4.5
    I was disappointed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower did not work, the shower pole was broken therefore the floor was very wet causing entering and leaving the shower a dangerous task.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    8.3
    Staff wss friendly
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was good

    Staff wss friendly

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    10
    No noise
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/a

    No noise

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    8.8
    It was comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The water could be hotter

    It was comfortable

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    4.2
    Okay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not the same pictures as in booking.com . had to pay 50 extra just for a tub

    N/a

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    6.7
    Just a little getaway.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Broken bathroom door. Crack in headboard. Not enough wash clothes. Some lights didn’t work in room.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    2.5
    Very dirty
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very dirty

    Very dirty

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    3.3
    Not clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not clean

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    3.8
    They gave my room away and only replaced certain items and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They gave my room away and only replaced certain items and tried to compensate by giving 30 dollors for items that cost more than that

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    4.2
    Not good at all
    • People with friends
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I did not have a key card to and please i had to go to main office to be letvin my room

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    10
    Excellent. I will be staying there again.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room - Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    N/A

    I leave before breakfast

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    7.1
    The next time I'm homeless , I definitely consider this property. A lifeline
    • With a pet
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Older property. Decent rate. Good location. The breakfast was a little lackluster

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    3.3
    The only thing I like was it was a bed everthing else was...
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I did like nothing I will never go again

    The only thing I like was it was a bed everthing else was not good I will never go again

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    2.9
    After traveling needed a good nights rest. I ended up sleeping in my vehicle after having paid.
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed Bugs!!! No real concern for my dilemma. Very dissatisfied.

    The location.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    4.6
    Smell of cigarette smoke in rooms.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smell of cigarette smoke in rooms. Cigarette burns in bed linens. Generally seedy impression of hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    10
    Clean, bed very comfortable and staff very friendly and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean, bed very comfortable and staff very friendly and accommodating

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    8.3
    Close distance to the beach, nice staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice staff. Complimentary breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    2.9
    It was horrible and we want a better room next time
    • Couple
    • King Room - Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The ace didn't work and it was very hot in the room

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    7.1
    Not bad
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can hear next room

    Decent for price

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2017

    5.8
    The shower cap fell off when I was bathing
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower cap fell off when I was bathing

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2017

    2.9
    The worse place to stay
    • Family with young children
    • King Room - Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No heating, bath room not clean and not enough towel

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2017

    7.5
    Reasonably priced; noisy location
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in process with Booking.com was not smooth. Took1 hr to fix problem between EconoLodge and system.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2016

    5.0
    Overpaid for room
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sink and tub didn't drain. The bedspread had a burn hole. No toilet paper holder.

    The pillows were great

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2016

    6.7
    OK room for one night
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room smelled liked stale cigarette smoke and the carpet needed cleaned

    The location was good and the price was right,

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2016

    2.5
    Horrible place don't stay there
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The have bed bugs!!

    Nothing

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2016

    7.1
    coffee
    • Couple

    waffle machine brocken...plus ran out of egg and cheese tacos............no pastries shower in tub made for someone 4 feet tall!!! no pool

    coffee

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2015

    2.5
    Big room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff was completely unprofessional and made the stay a nightmare. He was calling us up until 4am because he was having issues with our reservation via the booking agent we used and kept trying to get us to resolve it.

    Big room

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2015

    3.3
    I wasn't there long.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff was very dismissive, and the room itself was disgusting. The room was damp and musty, and the sheets had stains all over them. The shower was designed for someone who is ~4 feet tall. Overall, the place was just gross.

    I wasn't there long.

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2015

    4.6
    cleanliness
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    this hotel is tuck in a corner, the location is disconnected from all business but there are inviduals walking across the parking. In short the location do not give you a good vibe.

    cleanliness

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    7.5
    There are some very nice design choices in room and lobby,...
    • Solo traveller

    Very strong smell! The front desk gave me some Glade spray. I sprayed it on every surface, which helped enough for me to stay. It looks like a reality show told them what to do and it started out really great, but now they are forgetting some points, like detailed cleanliness: mold spots starting on bath ceiling, heavy rust on metal leg of granite sink. And, really, half bottle of shampoo?!

    There are some very nice design choices in room and lobby, and room and bed were spacious. Staff were very nice.

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2015

    5.8
    Bed was comfortable and good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    First "non-smoking" room smelled like smoke. Found another room, but air conditioning didn't work. Bathroom not very clean. Rugs felt gross.

    Bed was comfortable and good location. Staff was accomodating

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2015

    6.7
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the back part of the building where we stayed was sketchy and kinda of dirty looking... and stairs were covered with ice. horrible to walk up with all your stuff

    Location

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2015

    9.6
    I like everything
    • Couple

    I go there almost every week if not every other week . I really would like it after a certain amount of stays i would get a night free or a half off price stay

    I like everything

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    5.4
    staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    broken things in room old cig smell-loud noice front highway -no security-guy knock on my door at 330 am

    staff

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2016

    5.8
    cleanliness
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    cleanliness

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2016

    3.3
    nothing the place was disgusting
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    everything about the place

    nothing the place was disgusting

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2015

    5.4
    very cold room on checkin.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    very cold room on checkin. heating was not warm enough. adjusting water in shower almost impossible.

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2015

    3.8
    Not clean
    • Couple

    Not clean

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2015

    5.0
    Bad staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Bad staff For one night

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2015

    5.0
    There were no fridge and microwave in the room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    There were no fridge and microwave in the room.

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2015

    6.7
    only 2 small pillows i ask for more i finely was gave one...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    only 2 small pillows i ask for more i finely was gave one morer three pillows for two people when all the room have three all ready

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2015

    2.5
    Nothing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The place smelled of pot .run down rooms no hot water for showing.

    Nothing.

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2015

    8.3
    Great friendly staff who helped out as I was caught in New...
    • Solo traveller

    Great friendly staff who helped out as I was caught in New Haven due to weather.

There are also 30 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 55

Guests also reviewed these properties: