Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Cova Hotel 3 stars

655 Ellis Street, Tenderloin, San Francisco, CA 94109, USA

#141 of 230 hotels in San Francisco

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 479 hotel reviews

7.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    6

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast ok nothing hot, great feeling. Shuttle terrific a couple of times per day to popular spots. Happy hour 5 to 7 on the roof top terrific time to chat with other tourists

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was central but a bit on the low rent side. Parking was very expensive and shuttle service was limited

    Staff was great and friendly. Great reccomendations for our stay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel needs updating, look so old and smelly (although it doesn’t smell bad but it looks like it is!). The hotel looks like a motel from the outside. We had our 2-yr old toddler and they didn’t provide a fridge for the milk. The neighborhood is rough and a lot of homeless people hanging around. Scary to go out to buy milk but we had to everyday because of no fridge the milk didn’t last long in our room (the ice bucket was useless). Dirty and smelly outside surroundings, the hotel itself isn’t bad.

    The Shuttle service and the bed is comfy

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location isn’t in a great part of San Francisco. Well it’s good for being central, but there is a huge homeless community that frequent the area, when one swings a punch at you as you’re walking it takes the gloss off the experience

    Staff were helpful and friendly

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was above and beyond my expectations. This hotel is one of the nicest places I’ve stayed ever. The breakfast is absolutely great, the rooms, hallways, elevators, lobby and entrance are very clean. It’s very quiet too. The shuttle that they provide to drive guests to touristy points in the city is also very clean and new vehicle. The staff is also gentle and knowledgeable of the city. I deeply recommend this hotel! I will not say that the area where the hotel locates is not good because the entire city is about the same. Homelessness is a issue in the whole city I see. So, I give a 10 for every aspect of this survey. To be honest, I found this city dirtier then I ever imagined.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was not very comfortable and happy hour is a bit expensive for guest. Restaurants are less expensive for a cocktail . The hotel overall was great!

    The chocolate muffins are wonderful

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Homeless people outside , but you see it everywhere in San Francisco

    Everything was great. Clean spacious rooms, nice shower . Comfortable beds. Easy to walk to everything .

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We discovered that San Francisco has a significant homeless problem. The Cova is a short walk from Market Street and the Civic Centre and these are areas where homeless congregate. We had no problems walking streets with homeless but it is confronting and makes you uneasy walking back after dark.On the other side Union Square and all its finery, is only next door to this area.

    We did not have a fridge in our room, but an upgrade was cheerfully, and not a problem done.The breakfast was exactly to our liking, fruit, cerial toast etc, but many other styles to choose from.The complimentary shuttle bus was the icing on the stay.We were even dropped off at the transit centre to to catch the train to Seattle.Friendly staff and very helpfull, without exception.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn't sleep well.. we got two rooms and it's located at the side of the road.. we can here vehicles passing and woke up in the middle of the night by an ambulance passing.. You don't have toothbruand toothpaste ..

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We requested connecting rooms because that was part of the girl scout rule and we were told there were none. Staff could have told us at check in that in order to catch the shuttle you needed to make a reservation. We didn't find out till we were planning on taking it. If we would have known we have made reservations. Yes it is listed on the sign but in small print.

    Room was clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Homeless near the hotel, although SF has a lot of homeless. Also, I think that I lost a pair boot there and they didn’t called me if they have it ....

    It’s near to everything

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    No negatives about the hotel. Only negative is those blocks between the hotel and downtown are where all the homeless hang out. Not a pleasant sight, even though they do leave you alone. Not a hotel negative but a challenge for the city.

    Staff super friendly and helpful at all times. Hotel was good and location would fantastic as its only about 6 blocks from the inner city and close to all forms of transport.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Parking quite difficult to figure out. It's Valet only which is fine but the guy running it wasn't too helpful (not affiliated with the hotel so not their fault) we managed to sort it but it's quite pricey especially if you have a large car like we do (GMC Yukon XL) so was $40 per day. Location wise the hotel is just a short walk from Union Square, we found the area quite dicey at night with lots of homeless and didn't feel safe walking in the evening so used Uber to get anywhere we were going (and back). This seemed typical for all of the City Centre in the evenings and I wouldn't recommend going out wandering at night. In general can't fault the hotel, very nice and comfortable, helpful staff and good amenities. Would definitely return.

    Staff were extremely friendly, clean and comfortable rooms, good value for what you pay. Much less than the majority of Hotels in San Fran. Good breakfast and not noisy.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location is quite an eye-opener in terms of seeing the huge disparity between the affluence of Union Square and the abject poverty just a few blocks away in lower Ellis Street. However one can avoid this area by taking the hotel shuttle or walking along Geary Street.

    A good hotel, the room was comfortable with an excellent coffee maker. Provided a good European-style breakfast at their roof-top restaurant. Shuttle available to take you to Union Square etc., but a walk along Ellis Street to the Cable Car is very educational if you can stomach it!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Booking.com interface was somewhat misleading about the type of room we were booking.

    Friendly staff, elegant and comfortable room, good position and a delicious breakfast in the hotel terrace. We would definitely come back.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is situated in Tenderloin, not the best district in San Francisco.

    Big room with two double beds, big bathroom and large choice for breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The surrounding neighborhood.

    This hotel is a gem in a tough neighborhood. Best hotel in the area. We stayed here to be close to relatives. We loved the waffles in both the breakfast and the restaurant. The rooms are well appointed. We got lucky with room placement also. We were relieved with the parking although it's a separate company. We also utilized the free shuttle services!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The neighbor hood is known as a bad spot but the hotel did felel safe and we did not get harassed by homeless people

    Loved The shuttle they provided to different tourist places

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Location, the noise at night. All of this is outwith the hotels control but the area outside can be dodgy and I would not have felt safe walking by myself.

    Breakfast was really good, lots of choice and everything you need. Bed was great

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s a nice hotel however it’s located in the worst spot in San Francisco. So many homeless and drug users in all the blocks around the hotel. People openly using drugs in the street. Don’t stay here if you have a family. I caught an Uber to and from the hotel so I didn’t have to walk the streets around the hotel. Very bad neighborhood.

    Hotel was great. Free red and white wine 5pm - 7pm on the roof top decking. Great breakfast and the room was clean and big enough.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location.

    Hotel excelled in all areas. Most helpful and friendly staff. Free wine happy hours. Excellent breakfast. Clean and comfortable rooms. Shuttle to areas around the city.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is in a slightly "rough" area, but they offer complimentary shuttles to most places.

    Excellent hotel, short walk from Union Square. Very comfortable, with a good gym and bar/breakfast facilities.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 6 nights

    not enough shelves / cupboards to store luggage in the bedroom. poor bedroom insonorisation.

    great location, helpfull staff, good variety at breakfast, nice happy hour at the bar for a glass of wine

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Rooms were a bit cold. Was told by a local the hotel is located in the Tenderloin which I guess isn't the safest neighborhood. I was there for an intensive and so just lyft-ed places but would have felt unsafe walking at night alone.

    The breakfast wasn't anything special but it was good for a continental breakfast. The room was always clean albeit a bit cold. There were space heaters to make up for it though. When I return to San Fran I plan to stay again.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The restaurant recommended next door was very variable in its presentation of food, and attentiveness of the staff compared to the hotel. Our first morning Friday 8th they were very good but the weekend staff needed prompting for filling up both food and cups etc.

    This was a very comfortable hotel with very friendly and helpful staff, We enjoyed our stay, We especially enjoyed the free drinks time, a lovely touch.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    NO AIR-CONDITIONING!

    Helpful staff, especially the door gentleman. The lobby was very inviting, especially the decor and fireplace. Rooftop was great.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly & professional staff. Very clean and comfortable rooms. Safe and secure with secured parking. Would stay again if we were in the area. Thank you for the hospitality.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Only issue was the surrounding streets homeless problem other than that everything was fine.

    Great value, great property not the best area but still worth it!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you're looking for someplace with free breakfast I would look elsewhere. It's probably one of the worst I've ever encountered.The fruit was tasteless and nothing is kept at the appropriate temperature. The hotel might as well not even offer it as I heard others complaining about it as well and we didn't go back the second day.

    Front desk and shuttle driver were friendly and ever so helpful! The maid that we encountered was very sweet and polite. Beds were super comfy and the rooms are well appointed with nice toiletries. The neighborhood is pretty sketchy and full of homeless people but no one ever bothered us. Although I definitely would not have ventured out for a walk after dark. ;)

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast same menu served 😔 everyday. Room light so few 😕

    Loved the extra comfort of my bed, staff are so accommodating and friendly too. Location was very good near all our tourist attractions and shopping malls.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast is from 6:30-10. If you want breakfast, I suggest you go downstairs early. We didn't go downstairs for breakfast until 9:30am because we were tired. Low and behold when we got downstairs there was only a cheese platter, bread and a little bit of cereal left. Most places that serve breakfast keep restocking the items until the time is up for breakfast. This is the only thing that I was a little disappointed with, was the breakfast.

    I liked the location minus the homeless at night but they have to sleep somewhere. Our room was nice, staff was awesome and very nice. It would be nice if they could put mini fridges in the Superior king rooms for the price you pay for the night.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The location is terrible. It is in the homeless people area and all buildings were barred up and it was not safe at all to go out of the property. The rooms were not air conditioned and advertised balconies which were about 6 inches wide - false advertising. The valet attendant was totally rude and arrogant. The included breakfast was extremely basic and when we asked for more bread for toast we were rudely spoken to as if it was too much effort to go and get a new loaf. I had booked 3 rooms for a total of 7 nights. Under sufferance we stayed there one night and found new accommodation for the remaining 6 nights. I would never ever recommend this hotel to anybody and Booking.com should review this hotel and possibly take it off their list. For what is offered it is in the $70 per night range not $200 per night. This is for backpackers and not families. Very disgusted.

    The reception staff were very friendly.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is located in a part of town where there were many homeless people on the street - yelling, screaming, leaving garbage everywhere. It was frightening. Sirens and police activity was constant. Room did not have central heat/air, only an electric heater and fan. They could not put a small fridge in the room. Parking was crazy expensive, $40 a day for an SUV, $45 if you want in/out priviledge.

    Room was clean and the beds comfortable.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is located in the tenderloin District of San Francisco, just a few blocks from homeless shelters.However, the staff was able to tell us how to walk down to the Moscone West Center with absolutely no problems.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was not happy with the shuttle service to and from the airport. It was Lorrie's Shuttle Service, who I had made reservations with and paid for long before the trip. When I got to the airport and called they said it would be around 45 mins for pick up but I could get a cab and they would reimburse me so get a receipt. But then dealing with that whole issue was kind of a drag. I used the service to get to the airport at the end of our stay but the ride was very bumpy and rickety and the radio got left on some talk radio station that was annoying.

    Great beds and pillows. Good T.V's. Really helpful staff. Restaurant is basically attached but breakfast was just so so. The upstairs bar and patio area was very cool. The hotel is close to everything, we never really walked around in the area because we used the shuttle service and Uber, but I was fine with the area. We really enjoyed our time there and would stay there again.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The area - lots of homeless/drug addicts in the area.

    Staff were very friendly and helpful. Room was comfortable. Courtesy shuttle bus to drop guests off at, and pick up from, various locations was a bonus.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room on other side of hotel, where noise wasn’t just outside the window.

    The room was comfortable except that it was located near a loud construction site and the workers began early in the morning. Very loud metal upon metal sounds at 7:00 am! We arrived on Thursday; Friday we asked the reception desk if construction workers worked on the weekend, and were told they didn’t. But they did on Sat, and Sunday we checked out (scheduled).

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is in a very deprived area. So be prepared that the money you save in comparison to other hotels will be spent on Ubers. There is a free hotel shuttle but it wasn’t running in the early morning or evenings during our stay so we couldn’t make use of it.

    The staff and facilities were great. Breakfast was a standard continental breakfast so was ok.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was hard and uncomfortable. Noise from sirens and other rooms throughout the night. Unexpected charges for car parking

    Good location to the city. Large bathroom. Breakfast food range was ok but standards of crockery was poor. Complimentary shuttle into city centre.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing that jumps out. We got more than I expected at a very reasonable price. Thank you Cova!!

    I liked the free snacks and free buffet. Very convenient. The building was well maintained and clean. The patio was a nice addition.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reaching out to the hotel to amend the reservation I found them unhelpful. Booking.com advised I could amend the dates/person so I offered it to a colleague who stayed here terrified of the prostitutes and smell of weed.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed small and uncomfortable. No jug to boil water. Brick wall view. Breakfast ran out of things. 1st day was good and went downhill after that.

    Free wine up on roof top bar. Impressive views, breakfast and shuttle to good locations was very useful. Helpful friendly staff in hotel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 7 nights

    - Continental breakfast which I thought was a bit lacking - not enough on offer for the amt of guests. - No area for sitting down and relaxing - we went to the bar one night and the music was too loud so we went back to our room! Other people might like this though. - High concentration of homeless in this area, not the hotels fault though!

    - The hotel was clean, comfortable, quiet, and the staff were lovely. - Its a walkable distance to Union square. - The hotel offered a free shuttle bus to different areas which was great. - Nice hotel and very reasonably priced for San Fran.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location is catastrophic, there are homeless people around the hotel everywhere. A rough area by night, not recommended with kids. Beds were shaking in the morning as there was a fitness room below our room. The parking prices are crazy. Breakfast was very poor, low variety.

    Nice reception area, room good size, bathroom huge and nice shower lights

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Surrounding area a bit run down

    Location; general condition of hotel/room and facilities provided; upstairs lounge and complimentary "happy hour" drinks

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking was expensive at $35 a day But looking round SF this was the going rate There are a number of homeless people hanging round which could be disconcerting for people not used to them The staff advise where not to go in the City to avoid feeling at risk

    Great place and good value for downtown San Francisco The breakfast was good value and had nice fresh fruit everyday

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The area was awful. There are hostels around the hotel and this provided a number of dropouts , crazy people and homeless. It didn't feel safe at all. The hotel had to keep locking their doors to keep them out and one morning a lady came by and licked the window of the diner. Not a nice place surrounding the hotel.

    The hotel was nice. Beds comfy and clean.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very expensive parking which we did not know about before booking. Also the male member of staff who checked us in was extremely rude - our first impressions of the Cova Hotel were not good at all! Breakfast in the morning was extremely busy - for instance we noticed croissants and pain au chocolats being brought out but by the time we got to the front of the queue (on both mornings), they were all gone. Just the small things that could have been improved to make our stay more enjoyable!!

    Modern hotel in a good central location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only negative would have been the breakfast, which was pretty shambolic, with food not being replaced until it had run out. The quality of food was poor and quantity sparse..

    staff were helpful, when airport shuttle needed altering. The complimentary wine, and the room which was clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The neighbourhood a little scary, specially if you walk at night (many homeless people). The weak point is breakfast, which looks complettely different than in the hotel photos. Restaurant very crowded, not enough Staff, no tables to sit, no plates, cups, no food to eat. We could hardly find anything to eat. Very long line to make waffles ( one machine for 90 people)

    Nice room, nice hotel, friendly Staff. Very nice roof deck.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There's no refrigerator in our room. I called and specifically asked if my room would come with one, I was told yes. When we got settled in. I didn't have one. They said only the better rooms come with a fridge. So we filled up a trash can with ice. So my son could have his milk. And other things.

    I enjoyed being greeted all the time. I like that security was is place after dark. I also like that no one could get into the cova unless they had a keycard after 10 pm. The free breakfast was pretty good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    horrible hotel, staff very rude, simple breakfast, very small room with rubish furniture. street very dangerous, crackhead street and smells like pee.

    the free van to union square and freshman

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Located on Ellis Street which is known for the large number homeless persons, but no issues encountered during stay

    Fantastic Hotel, Very Clean up to date rooms. Free shuttle service to a number of tourist locations. Lovely friendly staff!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's unfortunate that this lovely Hotel is not in a very nice Location

    Reception Staff very friendly and full of good advice. Pam from Breakfast was very attentive to everyone's needs and always had a smile on her face

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was concern with staying here after reading the reviews that yhe staff was undeiendly. We did not experience, the staff were all so friendly. We stayed here for my husband and I anniversary. We just needed the hotel for a place to lay our heads down. We stayed in a superior room, it was beautiful. The room was more of a suite, so it had a small kitchen, minus a stove. It also had a living room area with a TV. The bedroom had a TV as well. The bathroom was also spacious. My husband and I were impressed. They also have a complimentary wine service every evening. I would definitely stay again if we are ever in san Francisco. The only thing we did not care for was the breakfast but it was free.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Continental breakfast - just not up to international standard for a continental. Over 4 days glass /mug availability. Little or no choice in fruit, bread or cereals. One day watered down orange juice. Milk jugs usually empty.

    Great rooms very helpful staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The continental breakfast was 'very average'. The orange juice was very diluted, bread selection poor, little fruit or cereal selection. With A LITTLE care and thought it could be so much better.

    Thank you for the complementory 8th floor pre dinner drinks

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The neighbourhood full of homeless people 5 taxi drivers told us it wasn't a pleasant neighbourhood

    Excellent room great staff great restaurant Only issue is the neighbourhood lots of homeless people and we had 5 cab drivers tell us the neighbourhood is dangerous

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We liked everything at the hotel. When we walked various places we were saddened by all the homeless people. It really opened our eyes to the needs of such a huge number of people living on the streets. It's heartbreaking to see how many throw away people there are in our country. This has nothing to do with the hotel.

    The bed was comfortable, the room was large, and the people were friendly and professional. The breakfast was good and the black lady that works there is wonderful. She's always making sure you have everything you need and makes you feel right at home. She works very hard too! You are blessed to have her work for you!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the furniture in the room appeared to be damaged. The area around the hotel, felt incredibly unsafe on the streets walking to our hotel with our bags. But that's just because we weren't used to the high volume of homeless and we were tired, later that evening we caught an uber easily to the AT&T park. I didn't feel it was exactly worth what we paid

    The close proximity by public transport to tourist spots. The breakfast was make your own waffles which was cool. The bed was comfortable and there was free wifi (which is always helpful) Also walking distance to Union Square and pretty close to AT&T ballpark

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff was wonderful at the hotel. Location is marginal due to the number of homeless people in the area. If you walk one way from the hotel you walk into a large number of homeless people and the other way you end up going into a very nice area. The lady who takes your breakfast coupon needs to be replaced--she is not the type of person you should have greeting people--

    The staff was wonderful at the hotel. The lady bussing the tables in the restaurant for the breakfast is the one who should be greeting the people. She has a great personality and was always happy no matter what.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy pipes and outside (street? hallway?) noise. Breakfast was an odd selection. No decaf or teas, and cold cuts with white bread instead of bagels or cereals. Parking was $44 (4:00 arrival to 11:00 checkout).

    Spacious room with new faucets/fixtures. Great "lounge" upstairs with Foosball and a rooftop deck with city views. We loved the shuttle to Japantown.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location could have been better. It was suggested we take hotel's guidance on which way to get to Union Square obviously avoiding some surrounding areas.

    Had no problems at all with the hotel, even if location was a bit off. Room was fine, breakfast was ok and staff were helpful and friendly. Certainly takes time for the hotel to take the "hold" funds off my credit card.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shuttle service to pier . Driver said he had to drop at specified point so there we are with all our luggage and we had a walk about a half mile down to our cruise ship

    Clean room

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location of hotel. Was advised by many people not to walk at night. If you want a refrigerator in your room book deluxe room.

    Very clean comfortable room, large TV, large clean bathroom with lovely amenities. Hotel also offered free wine with a view on the 8th floor, fantastic.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Homeless people everywhere along the St., detour is required during the night.

    People and facilities are nice. Shuttle is available for city and some famous place.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was horrible, both sides of the king bed were worn down and made it extremely hard to get sleep, the location is horrible, the street in front of the hotel has transients around at all times, most are drug addicts some with loaded needles of drugs, homeless that camp out outside the hotel enterance. The breakfast was terrible, the food is left out with nothing keeping it cool or hot, the oatmeal had the consistency of snot, and sandwich stuff GROSS Bteakfast.... the staff was not friendly when seen and you would think with the location and what your guests have to walk through to get the the hotel they should be happy to see you again.

    Wine hour.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Laps in security I kept money in a safe and it got stolen not a good end to your vacation

    Room was comfortable housekeeping not up to the mark still very cosy and comfortable

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I was missing refrigerator and AC. At night it was a lot of homeless people just outside the property.

    The rooms were very clean and modern. Friendly staff. Nice with the hotel shuttle.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little tired..needs a bit of sprucing up on the top floor..Those airline seats have to go !! :-) Area is a bit dodgy, but not threatening. Hotel give you a map showing a route that avoids the homeless crowd.

    Very friendly and helpful staff, great free shuttle service. Decent breakfast

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    While it was within walking distance of the downtown area, you would only want to walk in the daylight hours.

    Clean, well-maintained moderate-size hotel with decent breakfast. Staff friendly and accommodating.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Tenderloin is terrible neighborhood, lots of agressive homeless people in the streets. Hotel gave safety road instructions but still you cannot go out at evening/night time.

    Clean hotel even it is old one. Breakfast was good, especially Waffel device was plus.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel is located in a really sketchy part of town. We did not feel comfortable or safe walking around the area after dark. Public transportation was relatively close to the hotel though.

    Staff was very helpful. Beautiful view from the roof. Happy hour everyday Wednesday-Sunday with free wine.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Neighborhood had too many homeless and mentally challenged. I would not advise walking alone on some of those streets at night.

    Very friendly Staff, free breakfast and shuttle to popular places, restaurant on premises , lounge and open recreation area on the top of building-- the 8th floor. Walking distance to nearest BART (subway) station to take it to/from airport.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Don't leave anything valuable at your room! After I had payed my stay I left my purse at my room and went downstairs for breakfast. My money disappeared from my purse while we were eating breakfast. I know how much money I had as I had counted it right before I payed my stay the same morning. Location was horrible. A lot of homeless people along Ellis Street. The area is classed as dangerous. I can't recommend this hotel to anyone! Especially not to families!

    Det var bra att det fanns frukost på hotellet

    Stayed in February 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Cova Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: