Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection 4 stars

60 East 54th Street, Midtown East, New York, NY 10022, USA

#16 of 415 hotels in New York

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 656 hotel reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    9.7

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    9.5

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    9.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    10
    Couldn't have been better!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Couldn't have been better! It was the first stop of our honeymoon and they treated us great! The complimentary upgraded us to a suite and gave us a bottle of champagne and chocolates. The wine and cheese hour was lovely as was the breakfast. Location great only short walk go time square and Central Park. Will definitely stay at other Library hotels and would recommend this one to anyone going to NYC!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    9.5
    Overall a great place. Will recommend to others.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Furniture and drapes in rm need updating. 2nd floor lounge area furniture looked a little worn.

    Friendly helpful staff. Lounge area for breakfast and 5-8 snacks.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    9.6
    Sometimes the old ways are best
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really wrong at all if looking for creature comforts - but it isn’t for those who have trendy, modern sensibilities. It’s like the Old Waldorf in decor terms, on a smaller scale, for a smaller price. Bathroom makes use of space well. Excellent shower. No view, but quiet on 8th floor. Having the Monkey Bar/restaurant downstairs is an asset and very much in keeping with the traditional, cozy decor.

    Old-fashioned luxury, good breakfast hours (until 10.30am), and decent enough wines at ‘free’ evening reception. Room very comfortable, but TV could do with an upgrade. Also DVD player is rather a nice touch instead of expensive on demand, pricey hotel movies. (But DVD player was on its last legs...perhaps it was just ours.)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    9.6
    French XIX Century Style
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Midtown at the moment, during weekdays very noisy due construction works, but the hotel has its own charm; it makes the noise acceptable.

    Location, bed and bathroom

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    9.6
    Great Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast buffet was plenty for us, but if you like a big cooked breakfast it is not for you.

    Great Location. Very friendly service. The afternoon tea and snack in the breakfast room was a nice and unexpected addition. You can enjoy a glass of Prosecco before venturing out. Check out at 1 pm was perfect.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    7.9
    See all above. Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    I do believe you need a bit of a revamp.

    The location was superb. I would like to be able to make my own coffee in the morning. It would also be great if you had a bar with a smoking area

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    9.2
    Great location and club room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The elevator is slow and pretty small, very busy in the mornings. The soundproofing could significantly improve as the street is very noisy.

    The club room from 5PM is perfect! Nice wine and prosseco selection and cool snacks. Breakfast was also nice. Hotel is pretty stylish and charming. Location is very good, few steps from the 5th Avenue.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    8.8
    the breakfast is good, but evening wine time is really great...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    old style air condition working like the truck engine.

    the breakfast is good, but evening wine time is really great (prosecco,white and red wine of Mondavi Family)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    10
    Would definitely go back again. This was our first stay. All of the guests we chatted with were
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location. Very courteous and friendly staff. Cozy European-like hotel. Nice touch to serve wine, cheese etc in the afternoon. Enjoyed meeting other guests there, as well as, at breakfast held in the same location with it’s adjoining library.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    3.8
    Good location, but disappointed in this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We chose to stay at this hotel over 5 star hotels in the area, which were less expensive, because we love the charm and attention to detail of a boutique hotel. Unfortunately this hotel was lacking and disappointing in so many ways. The furniture was very tired, worn, and in need of a much overdue makeover. Our bathroom was tiny and two people could not be in it together. The toilet paper was behind the door which was very annoying. The door was directly in front of the toilet, so it had to be closed when toilet paper was needed and was very awkward to retrieve. They did not provide a mirror with an enlarged view which was almost necessary as the lighting in the bathroom was quite dim. There was mold on the walls of the shower and a clumsy patch on the ceiling, from water damage, over the bed. The bed was uncomfortable and the pillows were as flat as pancakes. The hotel elevator was out of commission 85% of our 4 day stay. As we were on the 12th floor we had no choice but to use the service elevator which was slow and crowded with staff and guests. One reason we chose this hotel was the reviews of the friendly staff. Some of the staff were friendly enough, but others seemed annoyed if asked a question. For example when we asked if they could arrange a taxi for us, the reply was, “We don’t do that”. If we needed a taxi they would send someone running to the corner to flag one down and then ride back in the taxi to the hotel which was odd. We started using other modes of car transportation because it was much more convenient. There was no one available when we arrived to help with our luggage into the hotel and no one to help with our luggage when we departed. Several reviews were from people celebrating a special occasion. They went on and on how they were upgraded to the Presidential suite, or a larger room, how they were greeted with a bottle of wine and chocolates, etc.

    Good location if you are interested in museums, Rockefeller Center, high end shopping, St. Patrick’s Cathdral, Central Park, or the theater, which suited our needs for this trip, but as we ventured further out we found Soho and the West Village to be more charming. The breakfast was adequate and the wine and cheese in the afternoon was nice. The fresh flowers here and there were a nice touch. The adjoining Monkey Bar was a delight.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    9.2
    Fabulous stay in heart of midtown Manhattan.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe a little cosmetic work on public areas, but only minor.

    Wonderful room, we had a balcony with our room. Staff was very efficient and nice. Happy hour and breakfast were included and great for saving time and $$$.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    10
    Beautiful hotel with excellent service, accommodations and atmosphere.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Would have loved to have stayed longer!!

    I'm not sure where to begin! The staff was incredibly cordial and helpful. Everyone smiled and seemed glad we were there. The suite was beautifully decorated and supplied with everything we needed. We were able to have some food delivered from outside--greatly appreciated. The bed was extremely comfortable and it was a spacious, sunshine filled space. Plus the overall feeling that I was in Paris:)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    10
    Perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Perfect! Loved our stay for our first trip to New York, could not have picked a better location or hotel. Staff were very friendly and welcoming. Will definitely return one day and would recommend to anyone visiting this wonderful city!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    9.6
    We stayed a week and were so pleased we did. And wonderful to meet so many lovely other guests.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, really. Hadn’t realised the Monkey Bar wasn’t open on the Sunday night, and it was booked for a private event the following (our last) night, so we never managed to enjoy that, but that was my fault - I should have checked earlier in our stay.

    Wonderful, large Queen room, and lovely to have such a comfortable guests’ lounge with refreshments on tap to return to at any point of the day. Cheese and wine every evening was a lovely and unexpected bonus. First class location on a quiet street, with MOMA so close, and easy walk to Central Park. Very helpful and friendly team - all of them!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    9.2
    Excellent!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bath room is a bit small, but expected at this type of boutique property.

    Very friendly boutique property in a great location. Staff was extremely friendly and attentive to needs. I will be back.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    10
    Lovely hotel and location which we will stay in again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The front desk and all staff were very friendly and accommodating. Our room was charming, gorgeous marble bathroom, comfortable bed. We were upgraded to a suite which was a treat! There is a nice wine and cheese hour and good breakfast with chocolate croissants, fresh fruit, along with a variety of foods. The location of the hotel was great. Quiet yet close to 5th Avenue, MOMA, easy walk to Theater district. The Monkey Bar is fun and lively.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    7.5
    Too much money!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    AC very noisy! Too old fashioned! Wi Fi very poor! Watch out the furniture which is pretty old and with a lot of marble on it - when the personnel of the hotel came into our room to prepare the sofa for our kid they moved the coffee table and that fall apart and the marble above was broken into pieces- luckily no one was injured!

    Excellent location, clean room!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    8.8
    Great hotel, good location very much a boutique hotel not a chain hotel experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I would have liked coffee facilities in the room and a laundry although drinks were available all day long I would like to get a cup of tea or coffee without getting dressed and leaving my room. Would have liked some meat and cheese with the continental breakfast.

    Loved the cheese and wine time each evening, decor was classical and bed was super comfy. Complimentary breakfast was very much appreciated, pastries were fresh and plentiful as was the fruit!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    8.3
    We made nice NYC memories with our best friends.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was a bit chaotic. Sometimes not enough seating. Guests had to bob and weave around each other trying to get to the food and beverages. Our bathroom was soooo small. Like a closet! Quite difficult to shower and dress in there. That is most likely the reason we wouldn’t return! For the price all the bathrooms should be more comfortable.

    Staff was very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    9.6
    Service staff was excellent- very helpful, always cheerful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    On our last day, the elevator was out of order. A service elevator had to be used for all guests and staff.

    Service staff was excellent- very helpful, always cheerful and accommodating. The hotel was older, but well maintained, very clean. Housekeeping very good and efficient. We really enjoyed the included daily breakfast and the evening wine and cheese- that was a real bonus! Would highly recommend this hotel and certainly, would stay again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    9.2
    Wonderful; looking forward to visiting again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Kitchen area walls moldy. Need a bit more lighting in suite area.

    Went for our anniversary and rest & relaxation desperately needed from elder care-giving and recovering from knee surgery. Let the hotel know in advance; upgraded to beautiful suite upon arrival, champagne and chocolates waiting; ice delivered to room immediately upon request. Restaurant (especially the duck) excellent! Included breakfast, wine and cheese, and all-day tea, cookies, and, fruit were very good; much appreciated. Fell in love with the various books in suite and Club Room. As NYC residents, never left the hotel for our short stay; just relaxed in the hotel - exactly what we needed. Looking forward to our next stay.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    8.8
    Very good place for NYC visit
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Continental breakfast is acceptable but selection limited. No Fitness center available in the hotel (only free voucher for fitness center 10 min away by walk).

    Location of the hotel is perfect for main attractions in NYC. The hotel offers wine and snacks for free in the afternoon. Hotel rate is reasonable for NYC.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    10
    Eleganant snd comfort are the Elysee's value proposition.
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was incredibly helpful and friendly.

    It was elegant and supremely located near all of my favorite places in New York. Sheets were awesome, crisp and clean, and the mattress perfect, like cremebrule...just lovely. Finally, the balcony was the perfect spot to finish out the evening with a drink or start it with a cup of coffee. Cannot say enough gokd things....and then there's the Monkey Bar.😉

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    6.3
    Great location, friendly staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Incredibly loud - neighboring room’s shower, and next door demolition until 11:30pm, were really unpleasantly loud. Facility is very dated. Breakfast not nearly as nice as sister hotel Library Hotel.

    Great location, friendly staff

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    10
    We had a fantastic time at Hotel Elysee
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The staff were so polite & helpful. Rooms were spacious & comfortable. The breakfast was just enough to set you up for the day and popping down for a glass of prosecco before going out in the evening was a lovely touch.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    7.9
    Nice staff, bed was comfortable, good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The continental breakfast, Choice of cereals was of poor quality. Only offered cows milk with lactose. Need to add a hot breakfast

    Monkey bar and morning coffee

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    10
    I would never stay anywhere else in NYC.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The elevator is a bit slow,,,this is VERY MINOR complaint...everything else about the Hotel outweighs any "complaint"

    Staff, location, lounge!,,,,,books in the loung, ,,love the Hotel....Happy Hour, breakfast, newspapers, diversity of clientele. Naomi Levine 855 Wellington Crescent Winnipeg, Manitoba R3M 0A7 204-488-0205

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    8.8
    Old style luxuous hotel. Great staff and breakfast options.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    no tables available for breaksfast. We had to get a tray and have it in our room twice. One lift only. Sometimes it took some time to arrive.

    Location, comfort And breakfast options.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    3.8
    Charming hotel ina great location but notworth the in-season rates.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are small; the bathroom tiny; when you walk into the room you see yourself ina mirrored sliding closet door which was strange. The thermostat was not functional, whether you increased or decreased the temperature nothing changed which meant it was too hot at night. The hotel is a little shabby, the carpets stained etc. It needs an update.

    Charming French decor; excellent service. The lounge area is very pleasant although the food was nothing special. The location is great; the Monkey Bar is great; the restaurant is very pretty; the food good not great.the bed was very comfortable.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    9.6
    Fantastic, well done to all who made my stay with my family so welcoming
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Only one lift but never too big a deal.

    The staff were warm, helpful and went the extra mile to provide a brilliant stay. Location excellent, would recommend this highly

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    8.8
    A nice place with decorations of old days, a sense of history and taste
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toilet was clogged the first day, but the staff fixed it very soon. The bed is too soft and a little hollow in the center. The sofas mattress is too hollow to sit. No curtains.

    The heater can work very efficiently, the noise of it is ok. The lift is much quicker than imagine. Breakfast area is kinda small, can add more variety. Afternoon snack lasts till 11pm.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    9.6
    Thank you Hotel Elysee.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Extremely helpful staff. Great fresh foods for breakfast. Bonus of afternoon tea where you could mingle with others. Our Queen deluxe room was lovely and large with a French feel to it. It was our 50th birthday celebration and we had bubbles and chocs waiting for us. Would definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    10
    A feeling of a country house hotel in a buseling city that never sleeps.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. All good.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful. Location was excellent. Hotel services and comfort plus the inclusive breakfast and all day refreshments were an added bonus.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    9.6
    Excellent propety in a prime location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The wifi was very inconsistent. The amenities were a little undersized for the property. There was only one elevator which was very slow so we often took the stairs. The breakfast/happy hour room was often crowded.

    The Hotel had charm and character. The staff were very friendly and accommodating. The location was perfect and the rooms were very spacious for NYC. Happy hour every evening was an excellent addition.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    9.6
    Perfect small central hotel with a non corporate intimate atmosphere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small & intimate. Great to have the lounge to go to all day for tea coffee or biscuits. Enjoyed drinks and nibbles every evening and breakfast. Also the bonus of a good buzzy restaurant attached (The Monkey Bar). Position was perfect too and our room quiet.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    9.2
    An very enjoyable few days stay. An oasis of calm amongst the hub bub of New York.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing stood out.

    All the staff were professional, warm and friendly which added to the enjoyment of our stay. The ambience of the hotel is very relaxing, perfect for a stay in New York.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    8.8
    The room was comfortable and the staff were great.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast could definitely be better. I would suggest offering some hot food alongside the bagels and cream cheese.

    The room was comfortable and the staff were great. I liked the wine and cheese bar in the late afternoon.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    9.2
    Fabulous location. Excellent service. Comfortable beds. Quiet rooms. Definitely will stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 6 nights

    My only complaint is the elevator. One is not enough when people are trying to check out with their luggage. It's fairly small and the frustration level was pretty high. But where to put one? There doesn't seem to be any appropriate spot. Also, I like to sleep in a really cold room but it coudn't happen because there was only heat and no A/C available in December. So we used the fan. Should have asked to get the window opened but then we would have had all of the street noise.

    The bed was very comfortable and the pillows were wonderful - about 5 pillows with different densities. The room was very clean and not cramped (which is unusual for NYC). The breakfast was a cold one but they would toast the breads for you. And the wine in the evening was a great way to start the night of fun. During the day, you could go to the the common area and have coffee or tea and read or just relax.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    10
    It is my new go to place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They have the most AWESOME staff working there!!!! EVERYONE was exceptionally friendly and courteous. The hotel itself was immaculate. They offered a fantastic continental breakfast and even had wine, cheese and a wide variety of other selections for you in the late afternoon.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    9.6
    Pleasant and unobrusive
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The music in the lounge was monotonous Same every day. Boring. Could have done with a change Even at different times if the day. Far too classical. Eclectic music would be better

    Had a nice Bar but very busy

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    10
    Perfect place for a perfect holiday.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The breakfast the bagels I thought were a bit stale. The bread to an age to toast. Apart from this everything else was great.

    the staff could not have been more helpful with first timers to NY. The location was amazing close to it all. The suite was comfy quiet and clean. Fitted our taste old fashioned for some but we always take comfort over anything modern.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    10
    Always a joy to return to this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel Elysee is consistently a most gracious and comfortable hotel with spacious rooms, continental breakfast and a delightful wine and cheese reception every day. The staff are super and the location is unbeatable (close to Central Park, Fifth Avenue, MoMA, etc).

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    7.5
    We enjoyed our stay but felt the price was a bit high for what we got.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I would have liked an affordable evening dining option within the hotel. The Monkey Bar seamed to be very expensive in my opinion.

    I liked the breakfast choices that were visible however it was unclear if there were any hot breakfast options. Refreshments available throughout the day and cheese & wine was a nice addition.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    10
    fabulous
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    nothing !

    The whole ambiance of the place was exceptional. Particularly liked the guest lounge area and the afternoon happy hour which gave guests the opportunity to meet with other travellers. the staff were particularly friendly and efficient.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    10
    Excellent...we will be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bathrooms are a bit small

    We liked the extras...breakfast and wine and cheese; very nice to have coffee, tea all day and especially the newspaper in the morning. Very accommodating and pleasant staff!!!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    8.3
    Lovely boutique hotel, great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It is getting a bit worn and tired but it is still charming. Be careful, there is a lot of noise from the room ventilation and of course from outside- but you are in central Manhattan!

    The front desk staff is outstanding. Very friendly: Justin, Jaron, Jaun, Rob, Carlos... Gustave at the front door... the staff in the dining room.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    10
    Highly recommend! I plan to stay there again the next time I'm in NYC!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Loved the breakfast and variety of coffees. Also enjoyed the complementary wine and cheese happy hours! Staff members were courteous, attentive, friendly and helpful. Convenient and secure location.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    9.6
    Lovely central hotel with excellent staff and good bedrooms. Nightly inclusive wine & cheese fab!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise from air conditioning/ ventilation shafts in rooms at back of hotel.

    Bed very comfortable, staff very helpful and friendly- got us restaurant bookings in great places.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    10
    Loved it! Will stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The French decor, lamps,fresh flowers& pot plants in hallways. Fantastic location. The club room with couches to relax and tea, coffee &snacks.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    10
    My stay was more than what I could have wished for!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Liked everything!

    The beds were very comfortable. Service at breakfast was great and the food was terrific. I enjoyed the appetizers and wine after 5 pm. The entire staff was very helpful👍

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    10
    A very comfortable place to stay in mid-town Manhattan.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff was extremely helpful. I arrived at 6:00 a.m. after a 12 hour international flight. Despite the fact that I had not asked for early check-in, they were able to find me a room. The room was comfortable and clean, and the coffee was good . The location was excellent.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    10
    Absolutely loved it! Felt like an oasis in the middle of the city!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The elevator is tricky at peak times, but it's manageable.

    We loved the terrace! The beds/sheets were so comfortable. The location and staff were great!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    10
    We enjoyed our stay and when we come to New York next time we will stay there again. I have recommen
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom needs more vanity surface area.

    The daily happy hour was fun and nice. Daily breakfast very nice with good variety. The entire staff was so pleasant and couldn't do enough to make your stay great.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    10
    Excellent hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast room is quite small and some mornings we struggled to find a seat.

    The room was wonderful. Very clean and comfortable. The staff were very helpful. The breakfast was very good and the wine and cheese reception each night was a lovely touch.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    7.9
    All was just right except Booking .com
    • With a pet
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing I did not like was the lack of response from booking.com I left four or five messages and no one ever called me back at different hours of the day. Furthermore , the price that I paid for through Booking .com iwas aproximately twice what I paid when I booked directly with the hotel I will not be booking with booking.com again ever .

    location ,staff , second floor concierge breakfast , tea and happy hour all great !

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    10
    An enjoyable stay and I shall certainly be booking here again for my NY visits.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The breakfast could do with being a bit more diversified than just fruit and bagels.

    A pleasant location with very friendly staff. I can't fault the team. The free wine and cheese nights are wonderful fun.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    9.6
    Very nice hotel good location and very efficient and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A very nice touch was the all day provision of coffee,water etc in the breakfast room,daily papers also provided. At 5 pm a little buffet was provided including a glass of wine. Just the right amount to get the cylinders firing for dinner!!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    10
    Quite big room and nice location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast and club room was so nice. There was also happy hour around 4-5 pm and it was also very nice. Room was quite big and comfortable. The staff was so helpful and kind.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    9.6
    We loved it here and would certainly stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    The air con was a bit noisey.

    We loved the daily brekky, and even more so the 5pm wine and cheese. We thought this was such a great thing to do, have a wine or 2 or 3....and un wind after a hectic day in the beautiful breakfast/lounge room. All the staff we encountered were really lovely. And we loved the old style of the hotel. Large spacious room, small bathroom, but it was big enough.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    2.9
    Horrible
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above Room smelt is smoke Dirty Not modernize as advertised Aircondition kept us up all night People in office at hotel didn't care I tell friends and family

    The told is the rooms were refurnished to find Not true . Worst room hotel Air conditioning all night went on and off Room smelt is smoke Complainedat desk They didn't care Would never return Very very unhappy

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    9.6
    We arrived early after a long 17 hour flight and were immediate given s room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't think of anything specific

    The Elysee is like a home from home. I have been staying there for the past 25 years whenever I pass through New York. The staff are invariably very helpful and accommodating Love the lounge facility and offerings there!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    10
    A bit of heaven in mid Manhattan
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There was nothing I did not like!

    The location, the decor, tremendous hospitality and friendly, efficient and happy staff. If other Library Hotels are like this you have a faithful costumer where ever you are in the world.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    8.8
    There's glitzier and more luxurious, but because of the great team there, we loved it
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights

    There's only one lift, so expect to wait a bit around breakfast time. For anyone from the UK - there's a hint of Scarborough about it - but only a hint.

    The team were great. Really friendly and helpful. Buffet breakfast was included in the price and of a good standard. A three hour 'happy hour' of complimentary wine and nibbles in the late afternoon was an unexpected but very pleasant bonus.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    8.8
    Paris in the middle of NYC
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I belive that the rooms require a renewal, some parts are a bit old and "tired".

    The hotel offers an "happy hour" from 16:00-19:00 during the day, in which the hotel serves wine, cheese and some vegetebales. This offers guests of the hotel a relaxing break in the middle of the day, in the city.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    9.6
    Great place for a short stay in NYC
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Even though we were on the 13th, or 12a, floor the traffic could still be heard.

    Tea, coffee and cookies available for most of the day, with wine and cheese between 5 and 8pm, all included. The bed was super comfortable. Only a short walk from Times Square and Central Park and the subway for venturing further afield.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    9.2
    Elysee is lovely, staff shines!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Furniture is on the precipice of worn and faded. Bathrooms are remodled and lovely. Needs just a little polish and updating in common areas and bedrooms and it could be a diamond again.

    Cozy, quiet little hideaway in Midtown. Close to fabulous shopping, subway, central park. Staff is amazing and completely knowledgeable and accommodating.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    8.3
    Breakfast selection was quite good despite it being labeled...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The AC was loud even when switched off you could hear it from the other rooms. There was only one small elevator and it took forever in the morning to go down to breakfast, up to the room and back down to the city.

    Breakfast selection was quite good despite it being labeled "continental". Staff is very friendly and professional. The area is good, not too loud since it is located in a 1 lane one-way street, but also some famous locations of New York are closeby and reachable by foot. I also liked the interior design.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    9.6
    A home and a family away from home
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Half an hour's walk to Time's Square so we had to walk there every day for the shows and to catch tours - Good Exercise

    Very small boutique hotel - all the staff were very friendly and all the guests were also very friendly as we shared breakfast and evening drinks. First time there, but we will always stay there now. It was great that the area around then hotel was very very quiet compared to Times Square.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    10
    Great family holiday in New York
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning was a bit noisy but managed to cool the room in the day so didn't need it on at night.

    Hotel Elysee is a lovely hotel. The staff were extremely helpful and welcoming. The bed was very comfy especially the pillows. Good selection at breakfast and tea and coffee available all day. Cheese and wine 5-8pm everyday was a bonus. Room was clean and spacious and toiletries replenished daily. The hotel's location was very central for sightseeing and a short walk to the subway.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    10
    Best place around
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Best place around the area. This hotel is GREAT value. Not only is it beautiful, but it has lots of little nice details. Very close to subway and also walking distance from many attractions. Rooms were spacy and confortable. Breakfast was also very good (continental).

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    9.2
    Touch of old world luxury and class.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    As above. What we did like was the atmosphere, the early evening drinks and snacks and the breakfasts were very good.

    I would have preferred a lighter duvet and yes croissants could have been more flaky but apart from that we thoroughly enjoyed saying at the Elysee Hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    7.1
    Good, but expected a bit more in this price class.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wifi is terrible, I work from home so this is a big issue for a hotel in this price class. No view from any of the rooms (but it is new york) AC is loud and makes noise even when switched off breakfast is "meh". For a european themed hotel I expected more than the classic limited selection of sugary things.

    Great central location second floor lobby is great friendly helpful staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    10
    If you are coming to NYC, look no further! Hotel Elysse is the place to stay!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Hotel Elysse was nothing less than INCREDIBLE! The staff was beyond friendly, the building is absolutely beautiful, location is great, snacks, wine and cheese in the evening... I could go on and on. The best part is that they gave us an upgrade to the Presidential Suite and the rooms in the suite were amazing. Baby grand piano in the HUGE living room, 2 couches, table that seats 10, private roof top veranda. Absolutely amazing! If you are traveling to NYC, look no further... this is the place to stay!!!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    7.5
    Small friendly hotel in central location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Tired decoration of rooms and bathrooms, worn carpets and windows with inadequate soundproofing on street side.

    Convenient location. Free access to continental breakfast and nibbles at happy hour.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    10
    Cushy European-style hotel with smart, attentive and responsive staff in perfect neighborhood
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    A larger flat screen TV (49" or more) would be nicer than the older 30+" screen in the room! WiFi connection in our room was spotty until we notified staff who immediately fixed server that provided WiFi signal to upper floor rooms.

    We loved the complementary continental breakfast. Coffee, bagels, croissants, hardboiled eggs and fresh fruit bowl were exceptional, tasty and satisfying. We also loved the complementary glass of wine along with cheese and crackers during evening cocktail hours. Bed and pillows were super comfy, and bathroom was well-designed and large for NYC hotels. Hotel Elysee is now our "GO-TO" hotel for New York City !!

    Stayed in July 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: