Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Embassy Inn Hotel 3 stars

1627 16th Street Northwest, Northwest, Washington, DC 20009, USA

#132 of 138 hotels in Washington

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1083 hotel reviews

6.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.9

  • Comfort

    6.1

  • Location

    7.8

  • Facilities

    5.9

  • Staff

    6.8

  • Value for money

    6.3

  • Free WiFi

    6.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    8.8
    Nice hotel but the the room was very small.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very small. On my receipt, it said Double room but there was only one full size bed. I had a friend that came at the last minute so I called to request a roll-out couch but I was told they don't have have any. No parking available unless you luck up and find one out front.

    The room was nice and cozy. Nice TV

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    7.5
    Great for a budget!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s a little hard to find if you don’t know where to look. There were also ants in our room, so make sure to seal up any food items (we made that mistake for you).

    Very close to everything! Easy check in process and great price! The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful :)

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    4.6
    I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. It was too late for a refund and I wouldn't be able to s
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing else. We got there at 3:00, the room wasn't ready. 40 minutes later the staff stated I could look at this particular room. We were not happy, they finished our room and it wasn't any better. It was very small. Towels were very dingy (gray), hard and wrinkled.

    Walking up to the outside was pretty and very historical.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    7.9
    Good stay
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Checkout is 11am but the housekeepers arrived after 8am to clean and woke us up. Despite knowing we were still in the room, they returned and talked outside the room so we decided to leave before 11.

    Location-it was great! The rooms were clean and comfortable. Good internet and TV. Plenty of towels and toiletries.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    5.4
    Clean and good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The so call "free wifi" was so horrible, kept on turning off. So to all potential guest out there, better equip yourself with your very own wifi connection. Cos the internet connectivity is potentially non existence during ur stay. And the front desk staff were not friendly and helpful at all. All putting on a straight face that were not even inviting!

    Clean and good location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    8.8
    We had a wonderful stay in this hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some members of the staff could be more kind and helpful, specially men.

    We had a wonderful stay in this hotel! In relation to what we had to pay, everything was excellent and just what we where expecting.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    6.7
    Cheap place, you get what you pay for
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was extremely narrow, I’ve never seen this size of double bed in hotels. The airconditioning was quite loud and the walls are thin.

    It wasn’t really far from white house.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    7.5
    Great town. Fair and comfortable hotel. Found staff to be competent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked to have been better informed of city biking possibilities. Granted I didn't know it was so convenient until I tried it.

    Nice historic building 24 hr. quality food nearby.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    5.8
    nice location, not all the amenities
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    one thing i didn’t like was the strong. dog pee smell as you are walking up the stairs from the neighbor. they have a spray for that. on the website itis advertised as having free breakfast. that doesn’t exist. shuttle service doesn’t exist. free parking doesn’t exist. and some the staff, only some not very friendly!

    the location is nice. lots of choices for food just one block over. walkable neighborhood. the bus stop to get to the museums is literally across the street and several blocks down is another bus route

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    2.5
    Horrible
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff members. It was only one staff member that was great. I don’t know his name but he works the morning shift.

    My credit card was locked because the front desk put in the wrong information while trying to collect the payment. Then had nerves to say it’s my card.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    6.7
    Under the same circumstances I would stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Elevator was broken for most of our stay, but they did get it fixed before our stay was up. Air conditioner didn't work well.

    Room ok, but a little difficult to maneuver around the first bed. Location was great, within easy walking distance to Thomas Circle where the rest of our party was staying.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    5.0
    Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was in a basement next to the staff room, so we heard voices since 8 am. It was like they were talking and standing next to your bed. Television screen also in a bad quality, no breakfast. The price does not meet with the quality. We were there only for 1 night, but I would not stay in this hotel for the next time.

    Good location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    4.2
    Location is great, that’s all
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small staff unable he help or attend you. There was no elevator and they never helped me with my suitcases and I never saw an intention to fix the elevator in 3 days. It’s an old building therefore expect ants and bugs, there is no room refrigerator so my blueberries ended up filled with ants after a few hours. The cleaning staff is agreeable and amiable, but the person who did my check-in at the front desk was super rude, if it weren’t for the location I would have left. If you are elderly and need help with your suitcase or anything else don’t stay here. If you are a young backpacker I have seen better hostels than this hotel.

    Location is great, that’s all

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    6.3
    The hotel was clean and convenient, but I spent as little time there as possible.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff was always on their phones or doing something else and distracted. They were friendly, but it was odd. The basement is also very creepy. Towels were very raggedy.

    IT was convenient and clean

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    5.4
    the location is very convenient
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the hotel does not offer breakfast. In order to get breakfast guests have to walk 2 blocks at least. The elevator was out of order for two days. One of the youg ladies at the lobby was extremely unfriendly ( the others were helpful). The cleaning was unsatisfactory

    the location is very convenient

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    5.4
    Not good at all.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - The leak in the ceiling of room 507 all night long Friday. And the noise of the drops kept us up. Really bad. - The receptionist not friendly. - No elevator. - No parking.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    10
    Nice location, friendly staff, fabulous ambience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would rather not have self-serve coffee, oh and the orange juice wasn’t freshly squeezed. But honestly, these were not disappointments.

    The staff follow through immediately with questions or concerns and solved them. We thought the windows weren’t locking, and they were fixed within minutes. We needed more clothes hangers and within minutes we had more! Loved the decor.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    2.5
    Terrible, avoid staying here if you can help it.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms were old, dirty and smelled quite badly. I only stayed here because I had no choice on short notice. The hotel sheets were dirty and I kept feeling like there were bugs on the bed all through the night. It was terrible. At one point the water was shut off, the wifi was intermittent and not functional.

    Nothing. The rooms were old, dirty and smelled quite badly. I only stayed here because I had no choice on short notice. The hotel sheets were dirty and I kept feeling like there were bugs on the bed all through the night. It was terrible.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    5.8
    It was alright walking distance to white house park and Washington monument.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    The mattress was expecting at least breakfast light.

    It has two double bed one bed the mattress is soggy. Carpet still has white powder in the corner and has stain.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    5.8
    Overall we enjoyed the stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is tired and in need of redecorating. Bed clothes and towels are worn and washed out. We would have preferred tea and coffee in the room.

    Staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    10
    Parking in front of the hotel is a bit of a problem you...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was perfect.Restaurants few minutes away.

    Parking in front of the hotel is a bit of a problem you have to be lucky to find a good space .But We found a parking close by ,$17 for 24hr witch wasn't too bad.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    5.8
    It would be a charming place if the property were better maintained.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Immediately upon arriving, I noticed the carpeting looked worn. While it was kept clean, it was obvious this carpet had not been replaced in many years. The same was noticed about the upholstered furniture throughout the property. There where other details that were overlooked.

    Convenience within the city area; quaint, private atmosphere.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    5.4
    disappointed, but maybe that's all $200 gets you in DC
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    perhaps my expectations were too high. I thought $200 would get me a nicer room. Instead it was small, with a lousy TV connected to a cable box and most channels were encrypted. The bed was too small for me (I'm 5'10") so I had to lie diagonally. There was no hand soap in the bathroom.

    It was clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    8.8
    This was our third stay and we'll be back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Basement room was small with no windows that would open. But it was quiet! In seven days we encountered only one staff member who was not helpful and friendly .

    Good location with access to bus, metro, restaurants and grocery store. Not the “Ritz,” but a good value for the money. Coffee, tea, ice and a shared frig. and microwave are available in the cozy little lobby. Older building that has been updated. Very clean, good bed and shower.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    4.2
    Never going back
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything. The room size was too small. The room stunk. The towels were dirty. The bed was ancient and uncomfortable. The rug smelled. The room needed renovation. Overall will never go back.

    The employee only.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    7.9
    The coffe is some of the worst I have ever had but I stayed...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The coffe is some of the worst I have ever had but I stayed there for location and because I know the staff is kind and helpful. I would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    9.6
    Will come again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise coming from the backyard/ side of the building

    Free coffe and tea throughout the day, convinience of a little fridge in the lobby, nice music and atmosfere.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    9.2
    Everything you need, nothing you don't.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Honestly IDK, for the price it is great, maybe some pastries in the morning and better coffee.

    The staff was nice, they let me check in early and held on to my bag the last day after I checked out. The location and price are not to be beat, if you can stand a small place that is a little rough around the edges then this is your spot. Great place to call home base while you explore the city.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    6.7
    Good location, but you get what you pay for.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The shower was luke warm for two days, and the walls were so thin that I lay in bed overhearing my neighbour's TV until 2:30am. That along with super-slow WiFi made me rather cranky. Also beware that check-in is not until 3pm.

    The location is excellent; just a short walk to some great cafes, and 10-15 minutes walk to Dupont Circle where you can catch the Metro.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    6.3
    Disappointing because I thought I booked bed and breakfast
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel website advertises free continental breakfast. Turns out to be a lie - they don't provide breakfast!

    The bed was comfy and the shower was clean

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    7.9
    I would use the Inn on another occasion.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    carpet a little dirt and brighter signage.

    hard to locate due to size and it appears to be in a residential area. Parking is hard but staff help solve a bit of this issue.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    8.3
    The area was really good, within 10 min walking you reach...
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very small, but for one night totally fine!

    The area was really good, within 10 min walking you reach Dupont Circle which is really cool to go out there.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    5.4
    Overpriced, employees not very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The first night in the hotel was awful. They put us in a basement room, with a crack on the window because of which the room was really cold. After calling the employee, they put duck tape on the window. Thankfully, after insisting in changing the room, on the second night they put us in a good room. The employee at the front desk was neither helpful or nice. There was some problems with the amount charged for the reservation and we only got it solved after a few calls.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    4.2
    Never again
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights

    noisy - not clean - expensive for what you get - very basic I had to change room after the first night as my "neighbors" were arguing so loud and making so much noise, probably high on something. Not pleasant!

    the location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    4.2
    Would not come back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was very small. We had to wait a few times to be buzzed in because no one was at the desk. We asked for clean towels and they were not even folded. Looked like they were taken out of the basket and handed to us.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    4.5
    not bad
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the bed is bad and the there is no safe box , signing many papers if there is a stealing within the hotel the hotel is not responsible it means other issues here, safety. the reception was not helpful except one.

    nothing.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    4.2
    Embassy Inn, except from the location which is good, was total rip-off. Check-in experience was bad.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything except the location. The worst hotel I have ever been. Embassy Inn, except from the location which is good, was total rip-off. Check-in experience was bad.

    Good location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    4.6
    The outside looks much better as the inside tell you
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The Room was very small,we hat hardly space for our luggage. The Hotel is very oldfashion,but ok for 2-3day stay.

    the Hotel was not so far away from the the With House(20-30 min walking) there was hot water beside the Rezeption(for coffe or tea)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    3.3
    Never staying here again.
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    THE ANTS IN MY BED.

    There were ants in my bed and the windows would not open at all. The room so was small and the microwave was not in the room. You have to walk all the way to check in to heat up food.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    7.9
    The hotel is in a quite neighborhood less than one half mile...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel needs to be updated. Old carpets, etc

    The hotel is in a quite neighborhood less than one half mile to DuPont Circle. It is a good value for the money in that area.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    6.7
    Bookings let me down. Paid much more than needed.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Advertised airport shuttle. Called and they advised no shuttle take taxi. Added 70 to my trip. Expensive hotel for not much.

    Friendly and great location for restaurants.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    5.8
    I said enough
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything else. Tv didn’t work. Staff was rude and standoffish. Nobody said hello or good morning. When I checked in the guy at front desk didn’t even look up. Then it was super thin walls. Some kids were screaming the whole entire time. I asked for change for the one vending machine and the front desk couldn’t even give me it. It was just a gross little place. I was excited bc I thought It would be a cute little bed and breakfast type place and it was more like a boarding house.

    It was close to everywhere I needed to go. It was also in a safe neighborhood

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    10
    Safe place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toilet was clogged and no continental breakfast, only tea. I had to park far away to unload my belongings to do check in.

    Staff was friendly and professional. It was a safe area. I parked on the street and save money. They responded to my service call very fast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    3.3
    I would not stay at embassy again.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Deeply unsatisfactory - eg toilet paper was like cotton fluff! Very poor. Lack of cleanliness, noise paper thin wall, lack of coffee in room lack of fresh milk etc. Etc.

    I am disappointed by the whole experience.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    7.5
    OK for a short stay. For price expected a little more.
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking was a nightmare! Had to move from front of hotel each night at 4-6:30 PM for rush traffic. Limited 2 hour parking on side streets. Took 2 hrs Tuesday night to find a parking space. Most streets are one way and it was raining so hard to see markings on pavement. Unmarked parking spaces so harder to park a middle size car. Parked one time only to find out it was only residential parking..had to start all over driving around. Low water pressure and noisy heater in room. Microwave in hotel lobby.

    Good location. Staff was very helpful. Walking distance to restaurants.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    6.3
    Could be cleaner in side the rooms.
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could be cleaner in side the rooms. It needs a darker carpet so u dont see March of the stains. Walls need to be cleaner. Just needs to be really cleaned really good. and kept up.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    7.9
    I liked the location of the hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The main entrance, have to ring the bell to enter , sometimes no one is there to open for you and you have to stand outside .

    I liked the location of the hotel

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    3.3
    Poor upkeep. The hot water issue is unncceptable
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having hot water was an issue. Walls had holes, bed sheets and skirts were stained. I switched rooms twice. Drinking Water was served in jugs standing in kitchinett area.

    Location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    7.1
    Very basic. If you just need somewhere to lay your head at night and go in and out then it’s fine.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small tv, no comforter on bed, no extras such as breakfast evening snacks vending machines bar resteraunt, coffee section didn’t have liquid creamers only a powdered one and microwave was dirty, Elevator didn’t always work etc.

    Location, staff and parking and it felt very home like.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    2.9
    Unpleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was unbelievably small. Not to mentioned the shower!!! It’s almost impossible to shower without flooding the bathroom. And don’t get me started with the super hard rock bed. My mom and I got back pain from sleeping on them😕. Also the staff wasn’t friendly with us at all. When I checked out the staff at the lobby made me feel stupid for checking out at 4am (our flight was at 7am so we have to rush back to the airport).

    Perhas only the location since it’s pretty close to a lot of tourism spot.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    8.8
    Great price, staff, location.
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hated the cold shower early in morning ~ one was way too much! Why not tell guests at front desk "warmer" water after 6:15 am EVERY morning, we apologize for the inconvenience. A small refrigerator would be great in the small rooms also with the small ironing board the iron was way to big!

    Loved the location but not as a lovers get away in my opinion! For romance more room, a reg size ironing board (to go with the regular size iron) Why not have a Embassy Inn hotel listing of close eateries by country, how many blocks away, turn left / right when leaving the property along that line of thinking.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    8.8
    Nice place for a quick stop. Great value. Not so friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was not friendly at all. No way to access the hotel unless they buzz you in. We waited outside over 5 minutes after returning from dinner because he wasn't at the desk to buzz is in.

    This was a nice cozy place. Walking distance to a lot of restaurants

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    9.2
    A nice hotel in a nice location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really. Except that towels can be a little "whiter". But they were truky clean.

    Deloris, Sam and Femy. Also the music that they play in the lobby.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    6.3
    smelly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    strong and annoying smell of cigarets in our room, which was also really dark.

    comfortable bed, clean sheets and comforters. also, we had access to the coffee machine and microwave in the reception.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    4.6
    Very disappointed with the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The first room I was given was too small for two beds. My 4 year old could barely squeeze through the door and between the end of the bed and the wall was very tight. We couldn't roll our luggage through the door. The dresser in the room was missing handles. The second room I was given, The shower drain was clogged and filled up with water while showering and took a long time to drain when I was finished.The website said there was a continental breakfast but they didn't have one and stopped offering it in June 2017. My stay was December 2017.

    The White House is a mile from the hotel and we were able to walk to it.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    5.8
    disappointing
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The lack of hot water at least 90% of the time. I told the desk clerk about this two times and he said he would look into it. But nothing seems to have been done to correct the problem. I had friends staying in the hotel and they said they also did not have hot water. Some of the desk clerks seemed more concerned with staring at their phones than with the comfort of the guests.

    The hotel is attractive, in a great location in walking distance to many shops, cafes, and public transport. The rooms are comfortable, albeit small and cramped.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    4.2
    Terrible
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was size of a closet. Bathroom was worst, when using toilet, had to flush 5 Times for it to work. So many other things too leangthy to write. When sitting on toilet, my knees were hitting the sink. Shower was a terrible experience.

    Location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    7.9
    Good place to stay, will come again.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Size of the room was just nice for two adults but was manageable.

    Their service, lobby facilities to sit and of course free flow coffee and tea at the lobby was convenient.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    9.6
    Make WI-FI work in the rooms.
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    WI-FI connection should work in the rooms. Get Internet access from the rooms. No need to go the lobby.

    Wi-Fi in the hotel rooms not working. You need to go to the lobby to use your laptop or other devices.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    4.2
    Terrible.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    This building had a terrible noise inside coming out from water pumps. It was like a throbbing sound and made it nearly impossible to sleep in nights. I changed my room also but the noise was coming in the new room too.

    Location.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    4.2
    Dirty, run down, terrible!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Honestly, one if the worst places I‘ve ever seen. The room was so small that it was problematic to put the bag somewhere. It was super cold and taking a closer look at the heater, it was all covered in mold (see pictures)!! Turning that machine on would have spread that fungi throughout the whole room, which is definitely a health risk. The bathroom was dusty and one of the lamps didn‘t work. The water in the shower was warm but not hot enough. The towels were gray as well as the sheets that were wrinkly and stained. Generally a disgusting impression. It was extremely loud because of a machine working on the outside. The windows were so dirty, honestly, I‘ve never seen that before. Are you guys cleaning at all?? The furniture was damaged, 80% of the TV channels didn‘t work and the freely provided Wifi didn‘t work either. I was glad to only stay there for one night!

    Location was good. A walk away from the white house. Some shops and restaurants were quite close, which was useful as there‘s no breakfast in the hotel.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    2.5
    My worst stay ever
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    everything, the worst front desk personnel I've ever seen, charging me a whole night in spite me informing them Ill leave 7 o'clock in the morning of that day , the dark small room , nonironed bed sheets , uncomfortable bed , shower not like picture

    Absolutely nothing

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    6.7
    A room and the hotel's services are fair enough as it is reasonable price in a perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Heater made bizarre noise during the second night. I'd asked the staff to fix in the next morning, but it still occured in the third night. Wifi is unpredictable. Though I could connect sometimes, it is so slow.

    Excellent neighborhood. Price is reasonable. Though the room is a bit old, the facilities are well prepared.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    8.8
    I enjoyed my stay and if I return to DC would stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing stood out that I did not likeaA

    Facility was clean maids helpful towels and bedding clean and room made up with bed turned down. Staff mostly helpful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    6.3
    Parking was a disaster.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking was a disaster. The recommended parking, which had a running time from 8.00, was closed on the day of departure at 9.00. Receptionist did not help us absolutely.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    2.9
    Absolutely stay away from this place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Terrible rooms, poorly maintained, indifferent staff and lousy value. We were booked for three nights. We left and went to another hotel after one night.

    Nothing.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    8.3
    Great location, great price, and good for people looking for simple accommodations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds/mattresses were not very comfortable. Also, we asked for a queen and we got 2 full beds, but we made it work!

    The location was awesome and close to everything. For the price, it was all we could ask for.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    5.4
    It was a basic room in a good location.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms were very basic and there was gum stuck to the wall when I arrived, which was a complete turnoff. Also there were stains on the bed sheets and the mattresses were very hard and uncomfortable. The Wifi never worked for me the whole time I was there. It's just very dated and I had to pay an extra $35 to get two double beds instead of one double bed, which at other hotels they would just change you to another room if it was comparable.

    I will say that a positive of the hotel is that it is in a good location.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    9.2
    Great price for a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I don't drink coffee but my husband said it was really bad.

    No parking at this hotel, it is a few blocks away. Room was very clean, staff was very nice, bed was only a full but I knew this when I booked, price was great for the location.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    6.7
    The place is small but clean. It does the trick if you need a cheaper place to stay.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking situation was ridiculous. I called the hotel desk ahead of time to find out where to park, and she told us the parking garage location. We had to pay $80 to park for 2 nights, we couldn’t take our car out after we checked in, and it was still a 15 minute walk back to the hotel...with all our luggage.

    The location was great and the employees were very nice.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    9.2
    Overall, I had a great experience. It was good value for money and I would recommend it to others.
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The hotel is a little far from Metro stations. WiFi in the room was very weak, so I had to access internet in the lobby.

    The room was clean and they provided all the basic amenities that I needed. The staff and guests were pleasant!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    6.3
    Good deal
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not much of a natural light in the room. Also very tiny. Water was not hot. Plumbing issue. No food at all Poor WiFi

    Good price Excellent location Staff is friendly Lobby looks very nice and vintage

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    7.1
    I would say it’s an ok value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Inn is obviously in need of updates. Housekeeping was adequate, bathroom was clean, shower did not drain.

    The location near DuPont Circle is great.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    4.6
    little stink in the shower area.
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    other than that, it is good except a.c.. it seems not working good. hot room.

    little stink in the shower area.... check the tile between the floor and the wall by the right corner. little open, that's why water go inside in there.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    4.6
    Although the staff was nice the hotel accommodations were...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Although the staff was nice the hotel accommodations were terrible. The beds were very uncomfortable. The cleanliness was questionable (stained sheets, wall paper ripping and stained). FYI the picture of the lobby on the website is not the actual lobby!

    Stayed in October 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: