Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Embassy Suites Charleston - Historic Charleston 3 stars

337 Meeting Street, Historic District, Charleston, SC 29403, USA

#65 of 89 hotels in Charleston

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 236 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    7

  • Free WiFi

    7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    5.8
    A beautiful hotel but won’t stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with No Windows - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were very basic and smelled like old mold. Although historic I feel major renovation should occur if going to charhe the rates that are currently being charged. The staff moved us to a room that smelled less like mold at no charge and were terrific though so they were more than accommodating but still feel the room rates are way to high for what you get.

    Staff extremely friendly and helpful

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    7.9
    We really enjoyed our visit and will return again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Staying on the ground floor.

    The hotel is nice, the staff friendly and the food was good. we were placed in a room on the ground floor, so, the view was of the side of the building. My husband did not want to move to a higher floor, so, we stayed in it.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    6.7
    Free cocktail hour, friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel is older and a bit run down. The bed wasn't comfy. No window in room. They could really update the décor and make it look nicer in the bar and lounge areas as well as their rooms for the price of the stay.

    Free cocktail hour, friendly staff. Cool building, free breakfast. Walking distance.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    9.2
    It was pleasant, the staff was friendly, and I slept well.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The shower head looked like it needed to be repaired, and the lever you pull on to turn the bath faucet into a shower did not work very well so the water pressure was not at full capacity. It was a nice hotel but I did not think it was worth over $400.00 a night.

    I liked the location, the breakfast and happy hour that was included. The beds were comfortable and the room was a nice size.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    6.3
    Bed was Great, loved having coffee in the room, concierge...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    my room wasn't cleaned on my second night: there were towels missing and the coffee was not replaced. In addition, the drapes in the room were broken (the pull rod didn't slide and two of the hooks were disconnected) allowing the light from the parking garage to shine in my window all night.

    Bed was Great, loved having coffee in the room, concierge was helpful, breakfast omelet chef was great, front desk staff was friendly, and the bell men were great

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    5.0
    Aggravated
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium King Suite with Whirpool - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Keys never worked properly in either room we stayed in. Mattress was worn out in the first room and the bed sqeeked in the first room whey time u moved. Had the change rooms.an

    breakfast, staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    2.9
    Horrible.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was the worst hotel I’ve ever stayed. There was no window. If I have known there was no window, I would have never booked this hotel, especially at such a high price. We called front desk and they said they could not do anything about it. The room was depressing, it was dark and the furnitures were old and ugly. The temperature of the water kept changing during our shower. There was no complimentary bottles of water and no water or anything in the fridge. Tap water had a weird taste. The breakfast was not good. The service was not good either, we came earlier and the front desk took our number to call when the room will be ready, they never called. We ordered prosecco twice and it never came. Usually Hilton hotels guarantee basic comfort, not this one. I don’t recommend this place. The following night, we stayed at a bed and breakfast for half the price and it was lovely.

    Nothing.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    9.6
    A beautiful historic facility downtown with a staff full of southern hospitality
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The sheets on the pull-out couch were full of popcorn, looked like they had not been changed from the last guest. We called the front desk and fresh (out of the dryer warm!) sheets and blankets were brought up within 5 minutes!

    Staff was SUPER friendly and accommodating. Questions and requests were answered or met right away. The surprise happy hour in the lounge was amazing! The jacuzzi and pool were a great place to hang out before dinner. The hotel location was walking distance to everything. Breakfast was delicious and 'just enough' for everyone to start our day.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    7.9
    Loved the city of Charleston.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    how dark the rooms were! rooms were old and needed up grading!

    the free breakfast and cocktail hours were perfect. The Staff was amazing- especially Lauren and Francis and the breakfast Cook😊

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    5.0
    It was fine except for the incompetence of the front desk personal.
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The front desk was not helpful and did not listen to my request to have our Charges on a card I brought to her and she did not listen and charged the wrong card.

    Breakfast was good and drinks in the evening were good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    8.3
    Very pleasant experience!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    One pillow was as hard as a rock... Two others were mushy and WAY too soft. Happy medium pillows would be nice!

    Valet service was excellent, friendly and attentive. AWESOME selection at breakfast. Manager's Cocktail reception was a nice treat, and the young lady tending bar was very helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    7.5
    Great location friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was smaller than other embassy suites. Property could use some updates yet I loved the historical feel.

    Breakfast bar and evening reception was great! Location was perfect!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    8.8
    Historical and centrally located with an exceptional staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    I did request a window when I made the reservation but didn't get one. No window is an odd sensation in a hotel.

    The staff was absolutely exemplary from Valets to Kitchen staff. Everyone was extremely friendly and helpful and went the extra mile without being asked. We had an upstairs neighbor being noisy at bedtime and I called the front desk. They immediately apologized for any inconvenience and said they would call the room in question right away. Not something you deal with often but wow! The front desk was so very nice about it and the noise stopped. Couldn't have been more pleased with the staff. They are all worth every penny!!! One block from the Visitor Center.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    7.5
    Southern Hospitality: accommodating, nice folk, good breakfast
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    bathroom dated. rust marks on tub, wallpaper coming off wall. expect better for $239

    Staff was amazingly accommodating. Upbeat, friendly, true Southern Hospitality.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    10
    Everyone from valet to clean up team .
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Vending only found at one end of the floor .long walk if you are on opposite side .

    Everyone from valet to clean up team ..was friendly .geniune people ..

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    8.3
    Staff was great, breakfast was amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Suite with Disability and Hearing Access/Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed mattresses were not good or pull out couch mattress didn't feel like it was even a mattress.

    Staff was great, breakfast was amazing. Location is good

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    8.8
    Nice hotel, out of the way, with NO free parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dated carpet. I thought there was free parking but it’s valet only for $25. Internet was spotty. Approx 20 minute walk to downtown proper.

    Comfy bed, large room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    7.5
    Great day in Charleston
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in agent was rather brisk and not helpful in securing proper room charges.

    Amenities of happy hour and great breakfast ...wonderful location and ambiance of past history and architecture

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    9.2
    It was a great place to spend a long vacation or business stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The window in our room didn't open. Even with the air conditioning on while we were out, it still felt stuffy when we got into the room. We left the door open for a few minutes and there were enough air change outs to make it comfortable.

    It was lovely that we could get back after a day of hard sightseeing, and relax with a drink and a tidbit to eat, so we didn't have to rush to dinner. The towels were "thirsty" and the toiletries like home.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    5.0
    👎🏻
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel is a dump & needs a MAJOR RENOVATION!!! Shame on the Hilton owners. Beds extremely uncomfortable and rooms are dated & bathrooms in terrible shape

    The people were the only highlight of our stay.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    6.3
    All in all, I think it was worth the money. Upgrades to the hotel would of course up the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pictures of the room were a bit misleading. I did enjoy the historic atmosphere of the hotel, but our room did not have exposed brick walls. The carpet is a bit old and musty. They could definitely do better with some basic upgrades. Our room was very drafty and dry. Granted, we did stay there at the time of a very rare snow storm, but just know if you are going in cold months the windows are not extremely insulated. Breakfast was decent but a bit below pat to other Embassy Suites I have stayed at in the past. No indoor pool.

    Our king bed was great, very comfy. We had a suite area too where we could relax and watch tv. We enjoyed the happy hour each day with free drinks from 5:30p.m. to 7:30p.m. It is a great location to get to shops and restaurants.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    6.3
    full hot breakfast included
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Corner King Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Quality of room/furniture--very dated and room only had one window in it--like a cave; not very bright/cheery...

    full hot breakfast included room upgrade at check in for no extra cost

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    6.7
    Staff were incredible.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Plumbing in tub. Could not determine how to get hot water, spigot not attached and could move in and out if the wall. Shower head would not adjust.

    Staff were incredible.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    7.5
    Over all great vacation. Loved Charleston.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paying for parking. $15 a day.

    Love the breakfast. Eggs were cooked as ordered. Good food. Also enjoyed the free Happy Hour in the evening. Good snacks and all you wanted to drink.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    9.6
    Would stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Suite with Disability and Hearing Access/Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is an old military building with great history. The staff is very, very friendly and helpful with everything. Breakfast and evening reception were wonderful. Lots of historical sites within walking and free buses located nearby for downtown areas were great. I recommend this hotel for its value and location.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    10
    Everything else was great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I reserved a room with a king bed and was given a room with 2 full size beds. My girlfriend and I had to sleep in to separate beds. We were not to happy about that

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    8.8
    A serene experience at the Old Citadel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was first class. Omelettes made to order, don’t miss the grits. Social hour at 5:30 with wine and beer and heavy hordouvres is such an advantage. Too tired to go out? A few glasses of wine and hordourves and oh well, you’re done for the night. Staff is outstanding, everyone keeps asking what they can do to help you. This place is on the National Register of Historical Places folks, 200 years old but preserved for posterity. Known as the old Citadel, the Military College of SC was formed here before moving to the new Citadel campus on the Ashley River in 1922. The history that would have transpired at this location is chilling. Don’t miss. Parking in Charleston has always been a pain, but there is a parking garage right next door, pretty convenient.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    9.2
    Recommend both Charleston and the Embassy Suites.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Historic building meant our suite had only a little daylight but it's a small price to pay.

    Ground floor suite had historic gun ports ! Nice little pool with tasteful classical music in the background. Complimentary drinks reception every evening, and the opportunity to make new friends, was the highlight of the stay. Staff were exceptionally courteous and genuinely friendly. Free bus circle routes stop nearby.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    4.6
    Disappointed. Wanted $$$ taken off bill. Manager was never there the 4 days we were there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with No Windows - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No concierge available. Understaffed. Only 1 valet on a weekend. Waited 40 minutes. They actually lost someone's car keys. Rude desk clerk. Water leak in lobby floor no one noticed. Asked for a quiet room. Room was next to back street. Woke up to vacuuming and loud construction at 6 am. One tiny trash can in the room. Bathroom was moldy

    The history and architecture. Breakfast was good

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    7.9
    Location and public areas were nice. Breakfast and breakfast room were really nice !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Suite with Disability and Hearing Access/Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room (particularly the sitting area ) was very old and dated. Certainly not what I expected for $329 per night. The beds, and other furniture were very nice, but chairs and sitting room furniture were more typical of a $120 room. And uncomfortable.

    The public portions of the hotel are beautiful.....and the staff was very attentive and friendly.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    10
    We enjoyed our stay and will definitely be coming back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We checked in just in time for complimentary happy hour and enjoyed fantastic margaritas! Our room was very comfortable and the complimentary breakfast was delicious!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    10
    This was a perfect location, and the room was spacious enough for four for a weekend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location. The rooms opened to a lovely hall overlooking the enclosed courtyard of the hotel. The breakfast was bountiful and delicious. Coffee was available in go-cups outside of the dining room. Water bottles were provided on arrival. Friendly staff. A covered entrance with valet parking was appreciated since we arrived in pouring rain. As an added bonus, there was a great farmers market just outside the door in Marion Square on Saturday morning!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    6.3
    Loved Charleston and this hotel was a perfect place to view it from, despite it's shortcomings we di
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel has really seen better days. The room smelled musty, carpet was stained. Needed maintenance. Noisy construction outside room - we should have been given another room. Sofa bed very bare and uncomfortable. Should have been less expensive for what you got.

    The staff was lovely - very friendly and eager to help. The location was ideal. Breakfast was huge and fresh and the happy hour was a lovely surprise. We were generally happy with this hotel but it should be cheaper given the state of it.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    8.8
    Great staff, food, location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The children of the farmers market held next door were allowed to roam the halls of the hotel.

    All staff was extremely friendly. Breakfast was fantastic. The location of the hotel was great too . . . Within walking distance of everything.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    2.9
    Never again. Accommodations can make or break a vacation and feeling about a location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was the only positive. The hotel honestly put a negative feeling about our time in Charleston. The hotel was extrememly dated and had a deodorizer smell throughout the whole commons area and not a good smell. The carpet on the winding stairs was worn and filthy. it was not even vacuumed. - crumbs, dirt, etc all over the steps. We were not able to use the pull out sofa. First there was hair all over the sheets. I retrieved replacement sheets from the desk. When we made the bed and tried to sleep there it had such a horrible smell that we could not use it.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    10
    Great vacation spot.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium King Suite with Whirpool - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Hotel was great, but the restaurant has a very limited menu.

    Absolutely beautiful hotel. Large comfortable room. Great staff. Morning breakfast was awesome. Evening get together was very nice also. Hotel has a great location in Historic area and with the free carta bus service you can get around everywhere easily. Great vacation.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    6.3
    Property was very dirty as far as the room conditions. The city of Charleston is magnificent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The individual rooms I stayed in and my friends room left a lot to be desired. Their room was horribly dirty and had soap scum on the bathroom floor. The floor board molding had been torn and looked as if the hotel had put a decorative trash can in front of it to hide it. All the furniture was very dusty and the carpet needs replacing or a major cleaning. My room the shower and tub hardware were very loose. Very dusty furniture. I look at the negative as a property management issue. Nothing to do with Booking.com. The property needs a lot of cosmetic work and carpet cleaning or replace it all. Carpet on first floor hallways was coming up and posed a trip hazard.

    The downstairs open area and lobby are beautiful. Convenience of historic downtown is wonderful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    7.1
    Met our expectations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hide-a-bed was terrible, so support and you can feel all the springs. Partway through the first night the person in our group who was on it put it away and just slept on it folded up as a couch when her back and hips started hurting. After that we didn't bother pulling it out and the shortest in our party slept on it in couch form for the rest of our stay. Lucky she was short enough to comfortably fit.

    Even though the we read mixed reviews before booking it due to price, location and novelty of staying in a old citadel. There was a bit of a musty smell and the walls are thinner then typical which we expected and didn't deter from the stay. Our toilet started making a racket one evening which the very funny and friendly handyman fixed quickly, something to due the water pressure. One block away from the main tourist office and tour bus depot.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    7.1
    Breakfast and happy hour were great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No wifi included. Staff wasn't extremely friendly. They advertised having cots for extra kids, but they didn't, and there was only one remote for two tvs which didn't even work correctly.

    Breakfast and happy hour were great. Pool was nice.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    5.8
    Overpriced and underwhelmed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel is an old military college.The rooms (we had two) are dark, gloomy and one smelled of damp. The layout of our suite was cramped, doors did not close properly and fittings were broken. Parking was offsite. A card inside the wardrobe door proclaims Room rate $599. In your dreams. The staff were friendly and polite but this hotel, number 2 out of 4 Embassy Suites on our holiday was a let down. This hotel could use it's past in a better way but the rooms need modernising, until then it should be priced accordingly.

    The property is well located with an impressive inner atrium and friendly staff. Even with the negatives it did not spoil our visit to Charleston.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    8.3
    For the money we pay, it's was great. Very comfortable and complete. Excellent breakfast. It was ok
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was noisy...you can hear the steps of the people in the room behind. In addition, the windows was no anti-noise and was to the street, so we can sleep very well because of the people yelling outside.

    Amazing bed. Extra big and comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    5.8
    Charleston Not so happy this time :(
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Suite with Disability and Hearing Access/Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Happy Hour was great, staff in the dinning area and bar are amazing....but the front desk staff could be less obnoxious and more kind and caring. One day I missed my room service, so we had no towels and amenities...but a simple call and a nice lady stopped by to help. My room was very stuffy and humid and the AC was not working to its full capacity....called the front desk to ask for fan or dehumidifier...all the fans were given out and no dehumidifier...needless to say after 3 night visit with $1200 room cost I'm stuck with a severe sinus infection due to sleeping amenities at the hotel. Plus my children and I have asthma. We stayed at this location last year and it was amazing....please change things up we definitely would love to come back.

    Happy Hour was great, staff in the dinning area and bar are amazing....They deserve a pay raise and high praise for their hospitality and genuine kindness. We traveled with 5 children and they were an amazingly great help.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    5.8
    Staff and location.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The rugs and furniture were dirty and the place was "run down". We had stayed there several times in the past. The hotel did apologize and made some adjustment of charges. They also mentioned that there was soon be a renovation. Maybe some time I can return and things will be better.

    Staff and location.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    3.8
    Disappointed....
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't like the gloominess of the hotel all windows dirty and smudged unkept grounds. Our tub base was spongy and tiles around it had unclean grout. Very disappointed with this hotel.

    Their breakfast and Cocktail hour is a nice amenitiy

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    10
    The hotel was everything we imagined it to be
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was within walking distance of everything we did! The breakfast was amazing. On Saturday morning there was a farmers market right next the hotel!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    7.9
    Good relaxing stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Construction going on on the side of the hotel, the whole property is a little run down, but clean. Breakfast is ok but can became boring after a few days.

    Very good location, near the visitor center, the CARTA bus coming from the airport stops there, one block away from the hotel. The area has a lot of eating places, Walgreens, shopping on King street. The free buses stop in front of the hotel, and near the Museum of Charleston. The beds are comfortable, top floor is quiet.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    5.0
    Family-friendly hotel in historic building near major attractions.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were mosquitoes in our room throughout our stay. The carpet in our room was stained and dingy. Lots of noise in our room from the construction site and A/C plant out our window, which wouldn't close properly. There were crushed pretzels and crackers on the floor of the elevator.

    Historic building, very interesting. Friendly and accommodating staff. Good location near park, aquarium, Children's Museum, free shuttle bus to downtown, and excellent dining.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    9.6
    The bed was quite comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Could hear the street noise at night possibly in alleyway .

    The bed was quite comfortable. The breakfast was wonderful and the Staff was very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    5.0
    Disappointed with accommodations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    We weren’t happy with room location. We were put at the end of a little hall way with one other guest room. Felt like we were in a closet. Electrical sockets failed, plugs falling out of the sockets. Room was not up to date. The staff we encountered were great but not enough. Couldn't get valet and couldn’t get help with our bags arriving or leaving. That’s the kind of service I would expect at Holiday Inn Express not Embassy suites at nearly $400 a night.

    Food was fantastic, friendly staff.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    7.9
    We booked a King Bed, Spa Suite but when we checked in and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Spa Bath - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We booked a King Bed, Spa Suite but when we checked in and went to the room, it was not the correct room. Went to front desk and they said they had overbooked so the Manager put us in a regular suite. No King bed nor a spa tub. They did move us to the correct suite on Saturday but we lost half the weekend in the wrong room.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2017

    6.3
    Wonderful location; upgrades needed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Incredible setting. Wonderful indoor courtyard. If they changed the cheesy carpeting, room furnishings and wall color, they'd be worth the price I paid.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    7.1
    Perfect location for the food and wine festival.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We went for the food and wine festival so we selected the hotel based on its location. But the room, bathroom and furniture were a bit run down especially for $350+taxes per night.

    Perfect location for the food and wine festival. Great breakfast. Service was wonderful. Comfy beds. Restrooms in the public area were very clean.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2017

    3.8
    Hilon Price Motel 6 Quality
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place is in a desperate need of a renovation. The maintenance is poor. The place is not clean. Paid Hilton price for motel 6 products. Does not help your brand. Also when you have major construction that starts at 5AM you should let the guest know before booking

    The location

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2017

    9.6
    My favorite hotel in hisotric charleston
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wish you had more variety of fresh fruit at breakfast; melons often not very ripe. A fruit salad would be a great, healthy addition.

    Location is excellent, right in the heart of things.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2017

    6.3
    Great location! Just bring a noise machine.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    found a bag new clothes with shopping receipt for over $100 in closet. Had me wonder if room was well cleaned though appeared to be. I returned it. Was traveling alone with my daughter and the room next to us was a group with loud noises. Very uncomfortable and embarrassing. We walked to the front desk at 12:30 AM requesting another room but they didn't have any other rooms available. They were still making noises at 5:45 AM. I reported to the manager the next AM who had not been informed suggesting they have white noise machines. She was not aware of the problem. I was very kind and not rude. She finally offered me some HH points. I declined. She told me there would be a discount on my bill. There was a $99 credit of my $400 bill.

    Great location!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2016

    7.5
    While having breakfast, staff member on the breakfast crew,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Suite with Disability and Hearing Access/Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    While having breakfast, staff member on the breakfast crew, dropped a pair of kitchen tongs on the floor while restocking muffins. The staff member proceeded to pick the tongs off the floor and back onto the counter to be used by guest. I then took it upon myself to move the dirty utensil tongs to the back so guest would not use them!! All in all, the hotel was very nice, clean and close to everything.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2016

    5.0
    Will try another hotel next time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Premises not well maintained. Carpets and furniture in room needed cleaning, looked like mold on bathroom ceiling, wallpaper peeling off of wall in bathroom. Seemed old and dingy.

    Breakfast was nice, location and staff very nice.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2016

    7.5
    The staff were friendly and helpful.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Rooms were dreary and worn. Not enough outlets for devices. The internet printing software and business center were not good at all.

    The staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2016

    7.1
    Hotel is in need of refurbishing. Overpriced for current quality.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    This hotel is in dire need of upgrades especially in the common areas. All carpets need replacing. A lot of the furniture should be replaced. (The open area in the center of the hotel has metal tables and chairs that would not be used in a decent conference room and should definitely not be on display in the main lobby.) Much of the furniture in the room needs to be updated. Some updates were done in bathroom but caulking around bath/tiles needs attention. The front lobby looks nice. Overpriced for current quality.

    The location is not a long walk to the market. There are nearby restaurants and shops on king st. The room is spacious with comfortable bed, pillows, linens. Room is clean. TV in bedroom and in separate seating area. Free drinks in afternoon and hot buffet with cook to order omelets included for breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    9.6
    Relaxing and interesting stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with No Windows - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff wonderful! History of hotel very interesting. Check out level M for historic pictures. Farmers market next door on Saturday. Included fantastic street dancers. Great location. Wonderful breakfast included.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    7.5
    great location great breakfast needs an update badly
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights

    needs an update in the rooms carpet is very tired. fixtures are broken or damaged furniture damaged. a bit of a bug problem

    great breakfast, rooms are spacious, beds are comfy great location

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2016

    7.9
    Staff friendly; room very average
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room smelled damp. Shower tile needed to be cleaned as did the tile floor surrounding the tub. Lobby though nice could stand an update for the cost of the hotel.

    Loved the evening reception and the breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    7.9
    Great location.
    • Family with older children
    • King Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our bathroom needed some form of ventilaion ....when using the shower, even with leaving the bathroom door open, everything in the bathroom was wet.

    Great location. Loved the free Happy Hour and Breakfast!!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    8.8
    Very nice. The room was a little old.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Suite with Disability and Hearing Access/Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The overall place needs to be upgraded. Our room furniture needs to be updated.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    10
    It was a great stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food was awesome.Bedding was perfect

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    6.3
    Beautiful property.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms need updating.

    Beautiful property. Located right on the square. Breakfast included.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    9.2
    Very nice hotel. Front desk not so friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Suite with Disability and Hearing Access/Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff at the front desk, especially the girl who checked us in. Stacie. Not friendly at all.

    The staff in the restaurant.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    7.1
    Loved the reception time and breakfast was great
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved the reception time and breakfast was great

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    7.1
    Staff was great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needs serious upgrade

    Staff was great

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    7.9
    Nice pool area and a nice big eolm
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A lot of noise

    Nice pool area and a nice big eolm

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    10
    Great weekend. Graduation was perfect
    • Couple
    • Queen Suite with Disability and Hearing Access/Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    What’s not to like

    Location and afternoon reception

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    8.8
    Good selection.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    N/A

    Good selection.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    7.5
    Stay was adequateI would rate it 3 stars
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Suite with Disability and Hearing Access/Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Placed in a handicapped room, TV needed replacement, and colors were depressing

    Breakfast, cleanliness, staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    5.8
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Expensive for what it is. Needs to be remodel. Room was smelly. Breakfast on weekdays very disorganized.

    Location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    10
    staff was amazing
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    staff was amazing loved the breakfast Happy hour(2 hours) was a bonus!!

    Stayed in April 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: