Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Embassy Suites Portland - Downtown 4 stars

319 South West Pine Street, Portland, OR 97204, USA

#28 of 124 hotels in Portland

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 664 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Paid WiFi

    6.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite - High Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I had to end my stay a day early due to a work related issue and was charged a cancellation fee with all the taxes for the next day even though I checked out well before the standard check out time. My issue was explained to the front desk staff and was met with an attitude like I was an inconvenience. I was also surprised when I saw that it would be $49.00 a night to park my car.

    The front desk staff worked very hard on check in to make sure we were happy.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Group
    • King Suite - High Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view was in the inner corner so I didn't get the best view but all in all it was great.

    Amazing decor, beautiful rooms, amazing pool, and the staff were hilarious and super awesome. I've never felt so pampered!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite - High Floor
    • Stayed 5 nights

    the hotel is mostly for families with lots of kids. the pool that looks great on photos, is constantly full of kids and is useless. if i new the above i would have never gone there. the rooms and the interior is very dated. the bathroom in the room is very small, and lacking basic functionality like a window / proper air vent.

    the location is somewhat convenient, the staff is pretty friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only thing that could have made it better was having enough time to enjoy the pool and spa area! Everything and everyone was great.

    What does it take for a few dudes hanging out to be happy during their adventure? A GREAT breakfast after a long day and night of activities the previous day!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is the second time I've stayed at this hotel and I will stay here again when in Portland. It has a feel of an old hotel in the classic sense. The rooms are well-appointed and the beds incredibly comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast, Best breakfast experience, Amazing indoor pool and walkable from all major tourist destinations in downtown. Amazing value for money !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poorly maintained building, slow and small elevators, checkout was very crazy and poorly planned, and extremely thin walls (we could hear everything being discussed in nearby rooms).

    The staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Limited elevators, one was out of service. Took a awhile sometimes to ride in it with longer wait time. Public parking is not easily accessible. Valet parking is always convenient but pricey.

    The ambience and cleanliness Great complimentary happy hour and breakfast buffet.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I think the happy hour is good, but the kitchen is off. Everything we ordered was not as expected, so going out for food was a better option. We expected better from the kitchen here. The valet staff was great, best part of our stay. They took care of our truck, gave great advice, and were always friendly to us every single time we saw them by initiating conversation and being very respectful. We hardly got a wave from the front desk staff the entire time because they were too busy talking to each other. Summury, rooms were ok, not super comfortable but ok. Service in bar not as expected. Food in bar, not as expected but satisfactory for 1 meal. Front desk staff, nice but not as expected. Valet staff, better than most we have encountered and they are ready to help out. This saved the visit here. I give it a solid 4 stars: needs food work, comfort issues with the couches and mattress, and elevator issues stalled a 5 for this visit. I would stay here again.

    Historic building, located down by the riverfront. Easy walk to food and shopping.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    not much to eat in breakfast buffet. not enough amenities. no bath robe or slippers.

    at a walking distance to most places. quiet and spacious room. nice staff. and i really enjoyed their evening reception where drinks were good and bartender was friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is not cozy or super luxurious inside. The breakfast room is underground and dark. Breakfast was OK with choices but those choices are not super tasty. Bathroom is dark and no proper venting for steam. Counters and sink looked old. Room is very dark facing the wall of the building.

    Location is great.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The foto of the room we were were paying for showed a corner suite with fireplace. Our room was a queen suite without view or fireplce. Very misleading.

    Nice brunch.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • King Suite - High Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Houseless man followed us into lobby(at night), told us “I’m just going to come with you” and staff did not try to intervene or ask if we felt safe or comfortable. Pool was much smaller than in the picture.

    Bed was super comfy. Breakfast was great.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We loved the pool on site, ability to use tram to go everywhere, AND the free breakfast buffet as well as appetizer happy hour time! We appreciated being able to check our bags before check in and after check out.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fitness facility is pretty minimal.

    The indoor pool was great for my family. The simple breakfasts are also appreciated. We love the spacious rooms.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was very uncomfortable. My room had a window that looked only at another part of the building and some machinery. The workout room was hot and very small. The hot tubs were un inviting-old with heavy chlorine smell in the pool area. The location of the hotel is at the fringe of a very marginal part of town. Did not feel safe to walk around at night from this location.

    Went here for a conference and it was convenient to stay here. It liked being on the second floor where I could take the steps up to my room. They were good about storing my bags both before my room was ready and after AK checked put so I could finish the conference. Could walk to the river trail and other more interesting parts of downtown during the day.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed one night and returned two nights later for another two nights. We asked for a better view but received the same view of the roof on the 2nd Floor.

    The value, breakfast and complimentary cocktails were very good. Room was spacious and comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was an additional $35, and parking garage is not attached. No discount on parking for staying at their motel on their own parking garage. Public can use the garage for the same price.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I like the check out time of noon. Our room was very comfortable. I like how the living room was totally separate from the bedroom. The breakfast was wonderful, only wish it was served till 10:30 instead of 9:30 am 7 days a week.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Couldn't think of anything not to like with this hotel/trip.

    Full breakfast & happy hour (heavy appetizers) included in each day's stay. Hotel was central to Tri-met public transportation included train from airport to hotel. Hotel within walking distance to many great restaurants (Mother's, Hubers, Portland City Bar & Grill, etc). I did not miss having a car at all! The garage fee for a car was over $65/night so public transportation was perfect.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Pool could be warmer and have more towels available. Pull out bed was uncomfortable for the kids and not enough bedding for it. The blanket that was provided was wet.

    Evening reception and breakfast were great. Staff was wonderful! Size of the room was good and location was perfect! Parking was easy and outside valet were polite and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was expensive. I had to ask for extra tissue on the first day, we stay 2 nights.

    Very friendly and helpful staff, wonderful breakfast buffet, beautiful and comfortable lobby, and awesome pillows-my hair stayed exactly the same !

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Suite - High Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We asked for a city view & didn’t get it

    I thought the breakfast had a great variety & loved it was included in your stay. Unfortunately we missed the HH due to a dinner reservation but looking forward to staying here again to experience it!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Suite - High Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool area did not have enough places to sit for adults while kids swim and the pool was really cold. The pull out sofa was extremely uncomfortable.

    Wide selection of quality (and free) breakfast food. Also there is an evening reception with free alcoholic and non-alcoholic beverages and light snacks, which we did not know but really appreciated!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Looking out the window for a view and all I could see was another side of the building. Couldn’t see anything outside

    The hotel itself was beautiful. Staff were really helpful. The 2 hr complimentary drinks and light snacks was great. That was my favorite part. The room itself was big and very clean.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Don't expect a view from your room. You will either see another building, or the streets.

    The location was great for our downtown experience. Everything was within walking distance with kids. The staff was fantastic.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite - High Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in did not run smoothly, set a not great tone for the rest of the stay. Very cheap toiletries for guests, I was surprised due to the high price point for rooms. Walls were also paper thin and we could hear our neighbors talking constantly.

    The bed was extremely comfortable and the breakfast was amazing!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - High Floor
    • Stayed 1 night

    the hideabed was very uncomfortable, and blankets were so wearout.

    The hotel location was great and the building was very grant, our room for so big and roomy.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staying in downtown Portland means paying $35 to park overnight in a parking garage.

    Cassiopeia at the front desk is a rockstar! Our room was amazing and the staff was so nice about us being an hour early for check-in. Breakfast the next morning was delicious with so many good choices.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - High Floor
    • Stayed 1 night

    Loved the hotel!! The location is wonderful and so was the hotel. Very friendly staff, comfortable, clean beds and rooms. Great for adults and children. The breakfast at the Embassy Suites hasn't disappointed us yet. The concierge was very attentive and gathered our belongings quickly when coming and going.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Corner Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My only complaint is that the walls were thin so we could hear every time someone opened and closed their door. Other than that the location was perfect! Will definitely stay here again.

    Breakfast was great and our corner suite was extremely comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Suite with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No negatives at all.

    Included breakfast was excellent (especially the omelettes) and the complimentary snacks and drinks were a lovely way to end the day. Our room was very large, quiet and well maintained and staff were helpful with suggestions of where to eat and things to do. Would definitely stay here again if we’re ever in Portland.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite - High Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room did not have any trash bags. Was a bit weird, but we thankfully had plastic bags from the store that we used instead.

    Breakfast was very good the first morning of our stay, but on the second day it was much busier and the food tasted a bit off, as well as some of the food options would run out and take a while to get refilled.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Suite with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We like everything the privacy the space. Made us feel a little bit more like home, because staying in a hotel is really never fun specially for kids but they love this one they love the pool and the nice breakfast place.

    My kids were really happy, and food was really good just everything in general. The people were very friendly and willing to help you.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Noise from a noisy neighbour

    We were very happy with the room and the staff. The breakfast buffet was good and the rooms are beautiful. We would highly recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a lot of noise from a neighbouring room - including a barking dog. The staff dealt with this well and discussed it with us at checkout, explaining how they followed up with our complaint.

    We had 3 rooms and they were comfortable and of superior quality. This is a hotel in a grand old building and the condition of the rooms and facilities is of high standard in maintaining the original architecture.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/a.

    The staff was friendly and the check-in and check-out process was extremely easy. The room was comfortable and a decent size. The food/drinks offered at the hotel was great! Definitely a good value and will be staying here again on my next trip.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite - High Floor
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedside carpet was wet upon arrival. Water pressure in shower next to nothing. Impossible to get hot water out of lavatory tap.

    The hotel is generally clean, comfortable & well located but not to the degree of $285 per night. Breakfast is the best value in the place.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    We LOVED Cassiopia the gal at the front desk that assisted us each time we checked in and out. she was so courteous and made us so excited about the stay there. highly recommend promoting her, she is going to go far

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite - High Floor
    • Stayed 10 nights

    The worst thing BY A MILE was the noise. For starters, there is zero noise insulation between rooms, some of which are only separated by a locked wooden door. It was horrible having to listen to other people's fights, love making, or TV shows through the walls. On top of that, the room heating/air circulation was obnoxiously loud, so much so that we had to adjust our own TV's volume when it turned on, not to mention, the installation was dated to the point of gaps on the wall. We got one of the most expensive suites in the hotel, and were very disappointed by the quality of the sheets on the bed (think very rough cotton). Room service had to be called twice or thrice for any requests, otherwise it would take up to an hour for service. VERY disappointed.

    The room was quite spacious. The breakfast options, as well as the dinner options, were quite tasty and I loved the variation.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom King Suite with Sofa Bed - Allergy Friendly
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No fitted sheets on beds, usb ports broken, bathroom fan broken, we were stuck between 3 rooms of party animals until 4am.

    Restaurant,bar,cigar and wine shop

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Suite with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No airport shuttle. Not everyone would like to take a lyft or the train in a city they are unfamiliar with. Isn't too safe of a choice if travelling alone and female. The train station isn't far but at night it isn't a safe walk. During the day isn't a problem, just something to keep in mind if you are like me and travel alone.

    Staff was excellent and paid great attention to detail. Treated every guest with kindness and ease.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    - Staff need to SMILE more, or at least once. - OLD building, needs more cleaning, painting, and shining.

    - Good enough location. - Good, not "great", breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • King Suite
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wish there had been some cold waters in the fridge. It's the only thing I can really think of that would have improved my room.

    Free breakfast and the evening reception were nice. It was nice waking up and just grabbing breakfast in the morning before heading out. Lots of variety in the food too.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I stayed over NYE weekend. I did not know at the time of booking that the hotel was going to prohibit registered guests from bringing people to their room after 11:00 PM on the 31st. This means, that as a sober adult if I met someone on NYE, I would have to stay somewhere else with them, the front desk told me at check-in. They were incredibly concerned about protecting their "free" breakfast on New Year's Day, they told me, saying only guests registered in the system could attend. The breakfast was horrible, by the way. The NYE policy wasn't only authoritarian in the way they described it, they actually set up a checkpoint at the entrance and forced us all to reveal our identity before entering the building. I would expect this in a communist country, or other authoritarian societies when I travel, but not in Portland. So, I slept alone on NYE. Furthermore, the room itself felt like I was staying in the heart of a corporation, cold, bland, gray, uncomfortable. The lighting was a harsh fluorescent. The coffee was awful. A Stumptown was right across the street so I don't know why they don't use local coffee. The hot tub had a gross white foam in it. Children couldn't stop screaming. It didn't matter what time I visited, there were always children screaming. It was not pleasant, and not relaxing. The gym has one yoga mat, and it had holes in it and probably hasn't been cleaned in a decade. Overall, this was one of the worst hotel experiences of my life -- and I've stayed in some really terrible places. I was treated like a child in a facility incapable of getting real children to behave.

    The lobby was the best thing about this hotel. I also enjoyed the size of the room. I had plenty of room to stretch out and relax. The bathroom was pretty nice as well. If T.V. is your thing, they have two of them, and they are big and LCD.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We didn't like the wait time for the elevators. On the day we left, we had to bypass four elevators as they were too full for us and our luggage.

    The breakfast was amazing! The buffet provided many choices, and the customized omelet was so tasty!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had a planned engagement purposal that did not go as expected. In addition to that the room was not at all worth the price.

    The location was convenient and the hotel is very pretty.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beware. Because we booked through booking.com they gave us the worst room! It was tiny with a queen sized bed, views of pipes. We were told we could upgrade for 25 dollars. When I complained she offered 15 dollars. Finally since I was still upset she waived the upgrade fee. When I looked at my reservation it was for a king sized room. So “upgrading” me for free wasn’t really a favor. Also the pool is so noisy. With only 5 kids running around, it sounded like hundreds of people! We stayed about 10 minutes and left. Floors were sticky in eating area. Parts of property are old (downstairs) Didn’t feel like a 4 Star hotel.

    Breakfast was good, beds nice.Good location. Received a good recommendation for food from the valet. Pretty average otherwise.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I was disappointed the restaurant on site was closed, but they said another one will replace it soon

    This is a beautiful Hotel and well maintained. Location is great for walking around downtown, visiting Powell's Books, Voodoo donuts and local eateries. The staff was great! I forgot my book & glasses in the night stand and they mailed them to me right away.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was chilly; no matter how much I turned up heat, it didn't get warm. One out of my party arrived early, but were unable to check in due to not being listed on the reservation. If they had not been able to reach me by phone, it would have been a huge inconvenience. A little slack would be appreciated at checkin.

    The unit was spacious. The location is great. The breakfast is filling and good.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is in downtown Portland and with that there are a fair number of homeless people around. I wouldn’t necessarily have felt comfortable walking around the neighbourhood alone. Felt 100% safe in the hotel itself.

    The best accommodation of our US road trip. Super sized 2 BR suite was perfect for a family of 5 and was beautifully furnished. Staff were friendly and helpful. A beautiful property that we didn’t want to leave.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Presidential Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lobby was gorgeous all decorated for Christmas. The front desk staff were super helpful and informative, in particular Amanda. Great location too!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Housekeeping missed cleaning our room the first day but that was okay since all we needed and consequently requested was fresh towels which we promptly received.

    The hot breakfast buffet and made-to-order omelette station were delicious and a welcome surprise.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room service took over an hour, and our food arrived cold, as if it had been sitting waiting for transport for a very long time. The views were less than stellar, we were looking right into someone else suite. I thought the price was very high for what was offered.

    The entrance to the Embassy Suites is so grand it's really a breathtaking building. The room was huge, almost too big for us, as we prefer a more cozy feel. Looked like it would have been nice for a business trip - sort of had that business feel to it, not as much romance. Location was really great, loved walking around the downtown and being close to the train.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • King Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't feel safe walking out of hotel at night Valet parking was convenient & attendants were great but price was exorbitant.

    Room could have been cleaned better Bathtub wasn't draining properly & it took two days and several calls before it was fixed. The pool&spa& gym were great. Staff very friendly Breakfast options were many but none that worked for me Almond milk & soy milk available with breakfast Neighborhood is a bit sketchy

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite - High Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check-in staff at the front desk were rude. Specifically, the woman was curt, impatient and allowed another visitor to barge in and interrupt my check-in process. Valet was expensive, and some valet parkers (not all) were also rude.

    In-room dining service was outstanding, both the quality of the food itself, and the extraordinary personal attention rendered. Likewise, the breakfast was wonderful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I slept on pull out sofa bed. Pretty horrible-should have just slept on sofa intact and not open up. But your beds are always comfortable. Pillows are great!

    The staff is always so helpful and friendly. So we'll-trained. I love the area that this hotel is in and the large suites.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Wi-Fi is a nice perk but seemed spotty and disconnected a lot.

    The breakfast was great to start our day without having to leave the property. . We appreciated the staff and the location.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The place could use an update as it felt a little vintage. Outside of that we had a great time. The location was good, easy to get to everything. The staff was helpful. The room was of good size and very comfortable.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our bathroom smelled like urine! After an additional cleaning and no resolution I smelled the shower curtain, it was disgusting and cover in pee. Wish I wasn’t the one that realized where the smell was coming from. Once swapped out the smell improved.

    The breakfast and cocktail hours were great and as expected for an Embassy suites. The only disappointment is the room location. It’s in the basement with no windows.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Swimming pool is not like the photos online - it needs a refurb! Sofa bed was unbearable and could not support the weight of two people. Generally not good value for money.

    Staff friendly, great location.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The floor of the dining area was extremely sticky. Omelet maker was not friendly or engaging. Carpet of stairs leading to upper dining level in breakfast area was very dirty. Needs work in this area.

    Bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The. View could have been better. What happened to views of the Space Needle.

    The location was perfect. The made to order omelettes were delicious.What happened

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we got to our room there was a stack of about 8 dirty glasses on the floor by our door.

    We chose to pay $20 to upgrade to a king corner suite and it was totally worth it.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The accommodations were fantastic. The lobby was exquisite! The staff was very friendly and helpful. Breakfast buffet really hit the spot the next morning. I could not believe the variety of options that were offered. I will stay here every time I am in the Portland area.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Location.

    very comfortable bed, lovely bathroom, sitting area very tasteful and comfortable. The breakfast choices were beyond what expected as was the complementary cocktail hour eash evening. Loved the retro decor and historical details.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Suite - High Floor
    • Stayed 1 night

    As mentioned above, wifi access was expensive and inconvenient

    The place is anachronistic. Daily charge for wifi, difficult to access. But the breakfast was the best of my hotel experience.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom King Suite with Sofa Bed - Allergy Friendly
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Sofa bed is awful. You can feel the support metal. Not a good solution for my adult son to try to sleep on. Parking is very expensive - either self park or valet adds quite a bit to a daily stay.

    Great location - right in the middle of where you want to go in Portland. Rooms are very large and the layout works well. Comfy bed in the main bedroom. Beautifully restored historical building.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The maid service in my son's room was very good. Unfortunately, the girl cleaning my room didn't do such a great job. Used glassware was left and baskets weren't emptied. And one day it looked as if she only vacuumed half the room. Upon checking out a complaint was made with the front desk about her service.

    The staff was very friendly and the valet was extremely friendly and very helpful with advice on where to go and directions. The breakfast was fabulous and offered everything one would want from fresh fruit, pancakes, to custom omelettes. I would definitely stay here my next trip to Portland.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing bad. Did not really have time to look around.

    Room and appointments very good and tasteful. Breakfast unremarkable but fine. Staff very nice and helpful! Huge TVs excellent idea.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price has become ridiculous. The parking is $47/night!!! The room rates are so high that previously, we booked there, through the hotel and/or Hilton, every time. Now, we shop around. We never get a reasonable rate calling the hotel directly anymore.

    It's a beautiful "Grand Dame" of a hotel. We've been coming here since 1990. I'm glad it is maintained.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - High Floor
    • Stayed 1 night

    The swimming pool was cold.

    Beautiful property, very helpful staff, our suite was huge, the hotel parking is very expensive, however, there is an inexpensive public parking garage on the next block.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Corner Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The breakfast was really good, cooked to order omelettes. The hotel location is excellent, Voodoo donuts just around the corner, easy access to transportation.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hot water some mornings which is simply not acceptable in any hotel let alone a Hilton property. Why is WiFi an add-on in this day and age? $45.00 valet parking. $35.00 overnight hotel self park...if you drive, get ready to add around 20 to 25% to your bill....just sayin'.

    Very nice staff all around and Cassiopeia was especially kind and helpful. The suite was big and clean and the bed was very comfortable. Daily breakfasts included and free happy hour drinks were a great way to begin our evenings. Within walking distance to everything.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the pool was quite unclean and we couldn't see any shower facilities for the pool/hot tub so we chose not to enjoy that amenity at the hotel.

    Generous size room (we had a king-1 bedroom suite for 4 women to share), comfy bed, beautiful lobby and decor, wonderful breakfast!! Many more breakfast options than we expected and the made-to-order omlette station was fantastic. Front desk staff were very friendly and gave us lots of good suggestions, as did the valet staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Embassy Suites Portland - Downtown traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: