Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Exeter Inn 3 stars

90 Front Street, Exeter, NH 03833, USA

#2 of 3 hotels in Exeter

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 107 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    9.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 57

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    8.8
    We had a great time with my son, his wife and my two grandchildren only spoiled by two rainy days.
    • Couple
    • Traditional Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast could be a little better and more varied. Breakfast has been the same menu as long as we've been coming here. Also, I love corn beef hash in the morning and you could improve on them.

    Short walking distance to my sons family on School St. My wife and I come up from Florida every year to visit my Son Family and two young grand children.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    8.8
    I was there to be near my son who goes to school down the street, so the hotel served its purpose.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No refrigerator or anything in the room. Terrible tv choices. Shower would go extremely hot without warning.

    My room was tiny—like a closet. It was more like a New York City hotel room. Window was small making the room dark Very small for the money.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    10
    Every day they had a turn down service around 4 to 5pm where...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • European Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Every day they had a turn down service around 4 to 5pm where they asked if you needed anything and offered gave cookies and had the best coffee and tea available all day for free. Staff were great. Defy stay there again

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    9.6
    VERY NICE STAFF, FRONT DESK AND BAR ALL GREAT, FLEXIBLE AND INFORMATIVE.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    BATHROOM WAS TIRED: CRACKED TILE BY SHOWER. WEIRD SHOWER GLASS DESIGN PROMOTES SPRAY AND PROBABLE TILE DAMAGE. OTHERWISE FINE.

    BED WAS FIRM AND THE PILLOWS OK. WOULD LIKE MORE PILLOW VARIETY TO CHOOSE FROM. ALL OTHER FURNISHINGS VERY NICE

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    9.6
    Lovely comfortable stay with bar and restaurant on site - all you need for an excellent one night st
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Traditional King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant food mix of really nice dishes and some odd things. Menu could do with improving/reviewing.

    Comfortable beds, very helpful and friendly staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    9.6
    Really nice comfortable Inn. Enjoyed the one night stay,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Barman could have been a little bit more friendly, but no real complaints. Would definitely stay again.

    Lovely old type Inn which seemed to attract locals for the really comfortable bar and restaurant. Food was excellent and loved the ambiance of the property. Very nice.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    3.8
    I would not recommend this hotel to friends.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We went to Exeter Inn to attend a nearby wedding. We were very disappointed. First, my husband found a towel in the bathroom with a brown stain on it and brought it down to the front desk. I don't know how the cleaning staff could possibly miss that! Then I discovered the window air conditioner was covered in dust! Overall, I do not think the room was clean. There were several mosquitoes flying around our room. We also found a stink bug on the curtain and on the chair. Big disappointment.

    Breakfast at the restaurant was good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    8.3
    Overall: Great, some room for improvement
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • European Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room we booked (European Queen) was very tiny, we could barely even open our suitcases. View from the room was to the roof.

    The staff was very nice. There's a lot of parking in front of the hotel and along the side of the building. Walking distance to the center of town. Very beautiful building. Very nice restaurant with nice food which can be ordered to the room.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    10
    Check at Staff were so lovely and helpful.
    • Family with young children
    • Traditional King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check at Staff were so lovely and helpful. Gave lots of information regarding the area. Cookies at check in a very nice touch ..... and home made! Food was fantastic at hotel restaurant.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    10
    The whole experience was something I'd expect from a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • European Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The whole experience was something I'd expect from a 5-star hotel. Julie went above and beyond to make our stay great, and our server, Karen, was excellent as well. The room was very welcoming and the shower was amazing. We will definitely be back!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    10
    I do not like this survey.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Traditional Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I do not like this survey. Its ungrammatical "Who did you travel with?" nettles me, as does the ugly, politically-correct term "Partner."

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    9.2
    Great stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed sloped. No door on shower so water gets on the floor.

    Great boutique hotel with helpful staff in a good location. Delicious meal and beer tasting at the restaurant on site.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2017

    8.8
    Great for old-style New England atmosphere, great breakfast, check room sizes
    • Couple
    • European Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Small rooms are "cozy," but would get a bigger room next time.

    Love the style of the hotel. Excellent restaurant and food at very good prices for breakfast. Very helpful staff.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2017

    9.6
    Cookies and coffee were terrific!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no heat in the bathroom which was a little chilly but with all the other positives this was easily overlooked

    Cookies and coffee were terrific! The bed was fabulously comfortable and the room was nice and clean. The staff was fabulous attentive and friendly

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2016

    7.9
    warm welcoming hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • European Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    the menu - struggled to find a complete dish at dinner - maybe a little too elaborate with taste ? that's a personal opinion. also felt it was over priced. quality was good though as was the service.

    stylish - with an old world charm. warm and welcoming and the staff gave top service. rooms were comfortable and cindy on reception was amazing dealing with our booking requests before arrival and her welcome and service was 5 star during our stay. good location a short stroll into town where there are lovely shops and eateries.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2016

    8.8
    Convenient and pleasant
    • Solo traveller
    • European Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    For some reason the bedcovers seemed not to breathe. I woke up in the night clammy and damp. Things improved when I removed the comforter.

    Nice shower and bathroom. Comfortable mattress.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2018

    10
    Great staff and nice ambience
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • European Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Great staff and nice ambience

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    8.8
    Near to Phillips Exeter Academy, friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Traditional King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slow wi-fi

    Near to Phillips Exeter Academy, friendly staff

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    9.2
    the service is wonderful and the rooms are clean and well...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Traditional King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    it's a little pricey... but worth it!

    the service is wonderful and the rooms are clean and well appointed.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    7.9
    Very nice staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • European Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It could've been a little cleaner.

    Very nice staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    9.6
    I have relatives in the area and always enjoy staying at the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • European Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have relatives in the area and always enjoy staying at the Inn. This trip it included a yummy chocolate bunny.😃

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    7.5
    the room was small but very clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • European Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the pillows where to soft no structure

    the room was small but very clean

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    6.3
    Proximity to Exeter Academy was key.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Traditional King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed and the pillows were quite lumpy. There were little flying bus in my bathroom.

    Proximity to Exeter Academy was key. The food was very good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    8.3
    Old World charm
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • European Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were a bit small

    Old World charm

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    7.5
    It was very nice but the room was smaller than I expected
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • European Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The layout of the bathroom was not very comfortable and the room was extremely small

    Good was good

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    10
    I shall return
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Traditional King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Television system

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    9.2
    Comfortable, good food, friendly staff and good location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • European Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was really good!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    9.6
    nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Queen Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    all

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    7.5
    Old, Ivy League feel with cramped bathroom and lack of in-room amenities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Traditional Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No fridge or microwave in room. Very cramped bathroom with mediocre lighting.

    Clean

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    9.6
    overall very satisfied and will return in the future
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Traditional Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Getting someone to take an order for breakfast was a little troublesome but once noticed the service was good.

    All meals were fantastic!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    10
    Beautiful weekend !
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • European Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fine Old New England Inn. Beautiful area and grounds.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    10
    We found the Inn to be awesome, from the big fluffy bed to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We found the Inn to be awesome, from the big fluffy bed to the quaint bar. Urge folks to experience the splendor!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    9.6
    Great stay in Exeter
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • European Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely New England historic neighborhood with gorgeous well preserved mansions around.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    10
    The hotel its self its beautiful and feels homely
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • European Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We thought the carpets were outdated

    The hotel its self its beautiful and feels homely

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    10
    Enjoyable stay at Exeter Inn
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Finding blinds closed, robe on bed, and cookies laid out before turning in. Very nice and thoughtful!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2017

    10
    Great front desk staff!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • European Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The snow we got!!lol

    Great front desk staff!!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    9.2
    Coffee earlier would be great
    • Solo traveller
    • European Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Coffee earlier would be great

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2017

    10
    Upgrade mattress
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Upgrade mattress

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2017

    10
    Beautiful and comfortable inn with great restaurant and bar. Location could not be better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • European Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All staff are very friendly, personable and professional. This is a truly lovely place to stay in beautiful Exeter! We will definitely be back.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2016

    10
    Cleanliness, bar prices
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • European Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thin walls

    Cleanliness, bar prices

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2016

    10
    Food great and service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food great and service. Especially the supper service.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    10
    Terrific customer service;
    • Solo traveller
    • European Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Terrific customer service; very comfortable room (European Queen); great food; very quiet; and walking distance to downtown.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2016

    8.8
    Small
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • European Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slow service for breakfast and the pricy cocktails.s

    The location and atmosphere and the antiquity of the building although a fee re-do are needed.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    10
    Loved the room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Loved the room

    Stayed in November 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2016

    7.1
    The staff were all friendly and helpful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I love the Exeter Inn for its historical charm, but the rooms are in desperate need of some TLC. For example, there were chipped tiles in the bathroom and stains on the bedspread. When I walked into the room, I noticed that a curtain was off its rod, so I just fixed it. Also, we had trouble with setting the heat, leaving the room cold. I didn't notice until the next day that there was a note to call the front desk for help with the heat.

    The staff were all friendly and helpful! The bar and restaurant were lovely and the menu is diverse.

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2016

    10
    The customer service is always great.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The customer service is always great. The bartender was very busy but kept a smile upon his face the evening I arrived. Good was fabulous. Great wine selection. Breakfast was wonderful the next morning with the one woman show serving everyone.

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2016

    10
    The staff was outstanding.
    • Couple

    The staff was outstanding. Very helpful since we were in a severe snowstorm. Dinner was excellent, presentation as well as taste. Had breakfast too. Coffee in large mugs. Great.

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2015

    10
    Cindy at the desk, Laurie in the dining room--they made my...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Gilbert and Soames amenities are nothing to boast. My European queen room had no chair, nor desk--so I had to put on my makeup while sitting cross-legged on the floor. Can't stand on hard floors too long, so I have to sit.

    Cindy at the desk, Laurie in the dining room--they made my stay delightful! Loved the building! Loved the way the bath was done!

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2016

    10
    New England feel!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Bar closes at 10pm...

    New England feel!

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2015

    10
    Friendly staff.
    • Couple

    Friendly staff. it was a short stay, mostly looking for a good night's sleep while traveling. The quiet room was appreciated.

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2015

    8.8
    Warm and friendly, it was raining, they let us check in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Small room and bath.

    Warm and friendly, it was raining, they let us check in early.

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    10
    The restaurant food was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The restaurant food was excellent. The wait staff, restaurant and bar were extremely friendly and professional. Check-in and out was very easy.

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2015

    7.5
    Well situated,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Could be cleaner, very expensive and noisy because of the bar

    Well situated,

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2015

    5.0
    The waitress
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Place was stinky,old and rindown

    The waitress

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2015

    9.6
    The staff is really wonderful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The staff is really wonderful. They are friendly and looking to help in any way they can. Thank you for the wonderful stay!

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2015

    9.6
    everything.
    • Solo traveller

    everything....... if I could afford it, I would live-in! quiet. peaceful. good environment.

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2015

    9.2
    This charming inn is comfortable with an upbeat helpful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    This charming inn is comfortable with an upbeat helpful staff. I enjoyed my little getaway.

There are also 53 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 57

Browse Exeter Inn traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: