Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Fairfield Inn & Suites Detroit Metro Airport Romulus 2 stars

7800 Merriman Road, Romulus, MI 48174, USA

#6 of 26 hotels in Romulus

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 121 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That I was told I could pay with cash at the hotel. But they had to put a hold on my card for the full cost of the room and it won't be put back on my card for 3 to 10 days.

    The beds were comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was nice to have a place to stay after having two flights cancelled and having a nice staff to deal with. The location and shuttle service was great!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had to get our keys reconfigured 3 times before they would work on the room door. Upon entering the room there was a musty odor. When we asked to see another room, the smell was still there. After a while, we became accustom to it, but it was unpleasant.

    The hotel was fine for the one night stay for me and my friends. The beds were comfortable and the shower was great!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were noisy kids this time, had to get up early. Not the hotels fault, but I really loathe inconsiderate parents who don’t explain to their kids people may be trying to sleep. Try discipline people!

    Close to food, parking, airport shuttle, free to print boarding passes, always clean and friendly.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In the path of planes taking off from airport - low and right over head. Also near a train track - trains passing regularly with "horn alerts." Satellite signal on TV was lost for 1-2 minutes after plane was overhead - annoying when your trying to watch a show and relax. Walls are paper thin - we stayed 7 nights and 2 of those nights got no sleep because of loud guests next door.

    Clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant down the street was closed for the long weekend. Nothing wrong with the hotel!

    close to the airport, my boyfriend loved watching the planes come in.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very convenient to stay there, as we were dropping off our 8yr. old granddaughter at the airport.. Was able to use courtesy van to airport, stay with her until she boarded and a courtesy van brought us back to hotel where our car was...No hassle with parking at the airport...Thank You

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was only until 9:30 - we are from Minnesota, so for us that was 8:30 - would have preferred breakfast until 10 am 😕. By the time we got down there at 9:00 - most of the food was gon and the lady wouldn't bring out more - several guests were upset.

    The beds were super comfortable. The bathroom shower was HUGE.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was either too cold or too hot, no matter what the thermostat said. We set it at one temperature, and the variance seemed too great. I went to breakfast at 9:20 or 9:25, and the staff was already putting things away.

    Good location close to airport, easy to find. Room was clean and neat. Breakfast was good, with a lot of choices.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    bathroom smelled terrible. We realized when we got into the room why the door was kept shut. Front Desk clerk could have been more friendly and helpful - Sorry we inconvenienced her!

    Clean room; easy acces

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    As I was leaving my room I said good morning to a housekeeping employee. She looked up, frowned at me and did NOT respond. I thought she did not hear me so I spoke again but she ignored me. Rude! The soap provided smells awful!

    Your Front Desk staff is the main reason I will return to this property. Specifically an employee by the name of "Tiffiney". She had a genuine smile, she was very efficient and professional.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only one person on front desk and no maintenance person . Had to move room when tv wasn't working vs having someone come fix.

    Clean and quiet and loved the smart tv so you can watch Netflix, Hulu and more

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2017

    • Group
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stayed at a different Inn

    Changed booking to the Comfort Inn Romulus during this time period. Didn't have a question asking did you stay or changed your booking to answer accurately to my stay at Fairfield Inn.

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cost is very high for what you get. The planes flying over every 5 minutes was very annoying. Breakfast was just ok. I have had better at other Fairfield's

    The room was nice, the staff was very helpful when my husband called because he had left a couple of things in the room. They had them ready and waiting for him when we returned.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When I booked the room it said free parking but they charged me an additional $50 for parking while I traveled. They said the free parking was for one night only. I didn't have time to dispute with them before my flight. When I returned I spoke with the front desk. Showed her my reservation. She said she would explain it to manager & have them credit my account once they came in. A week later I called, spoke with same person who said manager had not returned from vacation but she had left voicemail. She put me through to voicemail. I left message. Still have not received credit or phone call.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The ladies at the reception were all unfriendly and pretty arrogant. They gave us wrong Information and made several mistakes with our booking but not one apology was expressed.

    The General room set up and the convenient location

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I missed breakfast both mornings, went to bed late. I was very disappointed about the shower. After 2 showers no hot water. 😡 My cousin was pissed off as she vented. I need a copy of the final bill that was paid. Thank you very much!!! All of the keys to the room didn't work for parking lot entrance side door!!!

    Comfortability, handicap access Transportation to airport, the shuttle driver she was awesome. She gave me a few extra minutes because I'm a slow traveler with a cane 😀 👍🏽👍🏽👍🏽. I loved the ginger ale pop from the inn.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The continental breakfast was less than desirable, only one slot in the toaster was working and the choices of food were weak.

    The access to and from highways was good. There were many restaurants nearby.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Card readers in room doors not working well. Took several tries every time we entered the rooms to unlock the door and the people down the hall were having the same issue

    Very clean, good hot breakfast and friendly sraff

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Road noise

    Clean. Comfortable. Close to restaurants

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff and location for Business

    Employees kind courteous and Professional good location TV problems when fly over @ Airport

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice place to stay

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn’t over charge during a difficult time. Power Outage. Thank you

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    We enjoyed having a step-in shower instead of a bathtub.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were told parking for our stay was included when we made reservations but upon arrival that deal was not available

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything, but prices could been a little lower

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't have a roll away bed.

    Close to parking for the shuttles to the airport.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Starts with a cool clean smell in the room and finishes with nice breakfast early he next morning.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Park and stay and transportation to the airport right next door to the hotel

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Haven't been disappointed by Fairfield Inn so far, this was no exception

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing bad, just a basic hotel near the airport.

    The shuttle to the airport ran regularly.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The staff was amazing! Friendly! Definitely staying again!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had such a great time to finally relax after all that's went on so thank you for your services 😃😃

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    The pillows were great!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No issues.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mold/mildew above shower (on wallpaper due to lack of ventilation in bathroom)

    Great hot tub and breakfast. Beautiful hotel- overall very clean!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like being on ground floor but it was fine and I did not ask to change rooms.

    Easy to get to. The bed was really comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shuttle to airport, clean room, nice staff

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The heater/ac in the room is always loud, and the smoke detector had a flashing light on it, similar to a camera flash.

    Staff are always friendly.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    pool was a bit small

    very close to park and fly

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was so clean and appealing staff very cheery and helpful

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool was out when we were there. No signage indicating this. Kids disappointed!!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food was awful. And many people didn't get any as oj ran out,as did eggs, muffins etc.

    The hotel was very nice and convenient to airport

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Parking, breakfast, staff, & comfy beds

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfy beds, friendly staff, & loved the early 4:00 am breakfast!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wish the price could be a little cheaper

    Bed was so comfortable and breakfast very nice. Would definitely stay there again

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small toilet area more lighting

    Spacious shower

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beds could have been more comfortable

    Location

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    clean and comfortable; easy checkin

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Coffee machine was broken so no coffee at breakfast one morning

    It's a good place to stay for a function we do at Henry Ford

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Could have had more in breakfast department

    Clean, nice sized rooms, quiet and comfy

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very convenient to the airport

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing that I can think of.

    Excellent location near the airport and a few restaurants. Very clean. Staff was very helpful.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2016

    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Uncomfortably hot at breakfast, and in the lobby.

    The bed was great

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool chlorine. No ventilation. The air was just horrible to breath

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    room was clean and beds very comfortable

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very convenient park and ride package with shuttle to pick us up early in the morning and get us to the airport. The hotel was very clean and comfortable. We wI'll stay again when flying g out of Detroit.

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not the hotels fault but not a really good part of Romulus, they had dial soap locked up at CVS. The hotel was well monitored and protected!

    Very clean place! Loved the beds so comfy! Staff was so helpful and the place had a really happy vibe! 😁

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2016

    • Couple

    Someone monkeyed with the fire extinguishers and set off the fire alarm, we stood outside at 4:00am for 1/2 hour, the staff was great and handled the situation great. Totally not the fault of the hotel.

    Location, shuttle to the airport is so handy

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Went to park the car and the shuttle passed right by. Walked back to the hotel in very inclement conditions only to have person at the gate yell at us for walking! Maybe they should have apoligized for not picking us up instead or given me the money back for parking.

    We were there when the fire alarm went off in the wee hours of the morning. Your staff at the front desk was awesome. He was very apologetic even though it wasn't his fault. We were allowed back in our room in a reasonable time. The beds were amazing. Breakfast buffet was very nice.

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2015

    • Couple

    The location was hard to find at night, sort of hidden behind other hotels.

    The handicap shower was very nice to use. Unfortunately there was no way to keep the water in the shower area

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    • Solo traveller

    The pills were so soft I got a crick in my neck

    I like everything, I truly enjoyed my stay and if I had to pick another place to stay I would choose the same place. all the guess were polite, and management was always either the help.

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2015

    • Family with older children

    When I arrived staff very friendly. However, woman I spoke to on phone for more information before booking not friendly. Actually told me to go to web page and book myself. Doesn't seem like a good way to increase business. I almost didn't book for that reason.

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Staff wasn't overly friendly so improvements could be made there.

    This hotel was very clean and the beds were the best I've slept on in a hotel setting. Breakfast was perfect. Any questions I had were answered promptly.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    I felt the girl at the front desk could of maybe been a little more friendly, not a great personality to greet guest

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Excellent breakfast loved the 24 hour pool

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2016

    • Family with young children

    the loud people next to us with no adult in the room

    The pool for the kids

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Pool too small!

    It was amazing place very clean! Great for price plus loved the shower!!!

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff was very friendly and had no hesitation when I asked to see their Pest Sighting Log.

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Everything. Convenient hotel for the area and family. Close to airport. Good breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    bed was awesome. breakfast was perfect. staff made us feel special

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    wasn,t real clean. Someone pulled fire alarm in the middle of the night and had to evacuate the building.

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Very clean, great customer service every where. Good breakfast bar had an excellent stay...

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2016

    • Family with young children

    The shower could use some updating. But not bad, necessarily.

    The front desk ladies were very friendly and professional. Easy check in and out.

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Close to airport

There are also 54 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: