Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Fitzgerald Hotel Union Square 3 stars

620 Post Street, Union Square, San Francisco, CA 94109, USA

#160 of 230 hotels in San Francisco

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1473 hotel reviews

7.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.2

  • Comfort

    6.4

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    6.4

  • Staff

    7.8

  • Value for money

    6.7

  • Free WiFi

    7.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    9.0
    The Fitzgerald suited our short stay in San Francisco
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely room. Quaint decor. Comfy king size bed. Bathroom a bit dated but functional. Great continental breakfast. Plenty of choices to start your day. Front desk very helpful with advice on public transport Lots great affordable of eating options nearby

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    3.8
    What a dump
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Petite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room had window right above the hotel laundry. Felt like I was staying in a laundromat. TV did not have any real channels. Run off attenna. Elevator broke and had to go up three flights of stairs. Staff was not accommodating

    Leaving the hotel was the only thing likesble

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    7.9
    My room was nice, clean and quiet.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Petite Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    My room was nice, clean and quiet. The breakfast surprised me positively. Simple yet delicious with fresh fruits, juice and a big variety of bread for the toaster.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    7.5
    Great location, but a bit expensive for how old it is
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The room was very small and the furniture very old. The bathroom was tiny and the shower a bit difficult to use. The bed was not very comfortable and quite short.

    The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful. The location is great, safe, and very close to Union Square. The rooms and facilities were tidy and clean.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    4.2
    Breakfast was very good, varied and plentiful
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dated decoration, everything old and decrepit. Tv was not working, drawers crooked, beds small, bedside table chipped, everything was in a state of disrepair. Curtain pole fell on our heads, windows were not closing properly, the area is very noisy, almost impossible to sleep at night. It was incredibly expensive, but still the cheapest option in the area.

    Breakfast was very good, varied and plentiful

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    3.8
    Nothing
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Petite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything. Not clean, lackluster service, overpriced, better priced hotels in the same area, no parking, the room smelled like spray air freshner. I felt like i was in a 3 rd world country.

    Nothing

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    4.2
    Too expensive for what you get
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Petite Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very small and the bed was tiny for two people. It was very hot in the room and very noisy. We could hear people washing their teeth. We checked in on a Saturday night and the receptionist seemed to have some friends over and she didn't mention breakfast at all.

    The location is great being very close to Union Square.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    7.9
    Hop-on-hop-off buses stop on the same street as the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lots of noise from adjacent rooms. Could hear every foot step of other guests. House keeping staff were also very noisy

    Hop-on-hop-off buses stop on the same street as the hotel. Very handy to main shopping district

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    6.3
    It was like a camping experience.
    • Solo traveller
    • Petite Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The room was too small; the bed basically occupied the entire room. There was not even one chair in the room --at least the hotel could provide a folding chair if there is not enough space for a real chair. There was no place to sit to work on a computer in the room. The mattress on the bed was rock hard.

    The breakfast was good and the wifi was working

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    4.2
    High price is paid for the location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Petite Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cozy building, but very much outdated inside. The room was small. Tiny. About 10 feet by 10. Just enough place to walk around the bed. Wall paint was dirty, paint was peeling off the bathroom ceiling, a small window looking to an air well - simply dark. No aircon, coffe maker is in the bathroom window (opposite the toilet) The "lounge" is a windowless room down the basement, the "good breakfast" is a very simple continental breakfast. Parking costs $25 a day for one entry/exit.

    Only the location.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    9.6
    The location is perfect if you want to live central in SF...
    • Solo traveller
    • Petite Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walls are thin so you can easily hear people in the hall and when people open/close doors.

    The location is perfect if you want to live central in SF and have easy access to the rest of the area. The breakfast is better here than most places at this price. The staff is very helpful and the rooms as well as the bathrooms are good. I would definitely come back.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    7.1
    A very enjoyable stay for our first visit to San Francisco
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Petite Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The property is described as Union Square though it is actually a couple of blocks away. This didn't matter to us but might if people are less able to walk.

    Comfortable room and very good selection of items for the continental breakfast. Convenient to hop on the city bus tour for an introduction to the city and for other transport links.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    4.2
    Guy was webcamming with a naked chick behind te front desk,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Twin Room (Ground Floor)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Guy was webcamming with a naked chick behind te front desk, we could see because we had the only room behind the front desk. No trash can In total in the room there were 4 wall outlets. Whereby 2 of them were very loose. And in total 4 of them were already used by fridge, coffee machine, tv and a lamp. For a room with 3 i think this is not enough. But if you dont think any of this is a problem, Enjoy your stay!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    7.1
    You get what you pay for
    • Family with young children
    • Petite Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room, but fair price. Frontdesk was unable to call for a cab, thankfully many transit on post st.

    Good location, you can walk to everything from there. Great breakfast, lots of alternatives to choose from.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    8.3
    Great place to stay in a budget.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Petite Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit of a musty smell but you get used to it.

    Very good location, just outside the tenderloin. Restaurants and cafes all around. Basic breakfast included.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    9.6
    You get what you pay for.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Petite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didnt know my room was so small. And the tv even smaller. At least tv could be bigger. Lap tops are bigger.

    Great location, nice clean room, great Value. I will stay again. Bigger room tho.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    6.7
    Decent hotel in an excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The elevator's door slammed all the time and the scarce attention received by the staff members.

    The breakfast was good and the location excellent!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    8.8
    Nice business hotel in the center of San Francisco - nothing fancy, but acceptable standard.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Petite Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Breakfast is a bit basic, but nothing really to complain about. The view from the room is basically non-existent (inside well as with most of hotels in the center of SF)

    Room has been small, but the bed has been really comfortable. The bathroom has been really clean and nice. Overall, the hotel is a bit dated, but everything works and given the location next to Union Square is really unbeatable.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    9.6
    Nevertheless, I liked to stay in this hotel. It is a good choice for three or four days.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Though I appreciated that European breakfast was included, I disliked that all pieces of bread are plastic packed. No heated food, like eggs or bacon or sausages, or ham. This should have been a plus.

    The location in downtown. The room was neat and comfortable. Fridge, microwave, TV, coffee machine, coffee, tea, sugar. All things to get you warm and at home. Restaurants all around, nice shops, Starline Tours nearby feet. A typical elevator that enjoyed me. Good service of the reception people who printed my boarding pass on demand.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    7.1
    Nice hotel in great location, due to narrow passages and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nice hotel in great location, due to narrow passages and small rooms I would not recommend it for families with children, rather for couples. In overall very positive experience :)

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    7.1
    fine but expensive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Petite Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    It was a bit expensive considering the size of the room. The breakfast was fine, but after three days it got a bit old.

    The hotel is fine, it is in a great location with a fine breakfast. For a city trip it is pretty much the best spot you can have in san fran.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    5.4
    Horrible tiny hot room... with good wifi.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Petite Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was a closet with the bed literally occupying 90% of the space. The furniture was old but not in a charming antique sort of way, more like I picked it up from the garbage. The bed was stiff and the sheets had a yellow hue. The towels used to be white now are yellow. The bathroom did not provide shampoo, barely some soap. The shower curtain sticks to you because the rod is not curved like in most places now. The room had no AC which is a fact you can't really see in booking.com, instead there was a tiny sized desktop fan... The only window opens to a tunnel? from roof to the lower floor and there was a light shining in there ALL night. The curtains on said window are there for decoration and are not really functional for blocking the light. I have stayed in crappy roadside motels with more comfort and amenities than this place and I would not recommend it to anyone, shop around.

    The wifi and the staff. The location is ok, a short walk from Union square, but long walk from public transportation.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    6.3
    Well-located basic hotel - good for short trip
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Petite Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bath had a few hairs in it - not mine. There was a pretty odd smell throughout the hotel.

    The staff were pleasant and the bed was VERY comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    7.1
    Loved the experience.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was not comfy, one side was fallen in a bit, need more channel options for TV

    Location, Breakfast (Though more options needed), 90's Esq style, the lift.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    7.1
    Location was good as far as city location however after...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old and tired looking and it smelt damp. Rooms were very small and no room for suitcases

    Location was good as far as city location however after visiting San Francisco would stay in the Bay Area

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    3.8
    NEVER AGAIN!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Twin Room (Ground Floor)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The front desk guy is so rude.He should be fired! No patience. Not worth the price at all. The room is too close to the street so it is noisy at night.

    The location is good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    7.9
    Pretty basic, but good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was pretty basic, with no AC. OK as a place to sleep, and not unreasonable for the price, but that's it. Breakfast was poor. Basic bread products, some weak juice, and yogurt. Couldn't find a place to sit at first.

    The staff were very friendly, and the price was excellent, especially for that location. It's not a great hotel, but it's perfectly functional.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    3.8
    One of the worst nights stay so bad we checked out early the next day and forfitted our money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Twin Room (Ground Floor)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was literally right next to the sidewalk! The main window was on the sidewalk. It was also in the lobby so between the sidewalk and street noise and lobby noise, you can't get much sleep. They do Not explain this when booking so beware now if you decide to book, make sure you ask Not to get these rooms. so bad we left next day even tho we had to still pay for that nights reservation.

    Location was good but prepare to pay for parking there is none on site and Do not get one of the two "lobby - sidewalk rooms

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    7.9
    The place is very close to union square, Powell’s station. The room was very quiet.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Petite Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed could be little harder which should be good for staying for several days. I had a minor backache, I believe, is due to the bed.

    Considering the price range for similar hotels in San Francisco, I would like to think that this has met my expectation. Breakfast was good enough, however there is no egg, sausages, etc. if one is interested in that.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    7.9
    We Would go back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Twin Room (Ground Floor)
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1st 2 nights we were on 1st floor, noisy and cramped. Move upstairs for 6 days. Only problems were electrical outlets were very loose.plugs would fall out, shower cutain rod curved in wrong direction, shower sprayer weak

    Breakfast was nice, beds good, front desk very good, location very good, housekeeping very good

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    10
    This place is in a great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This place is in a great location! The front desk people where knowledgeable and very (genuinely) friendly and seemed to be happy to be there. Their local knowledge was really helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    9.6
    I have stayed here before and would do it again because of closeness to union square and good prices
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I had a hard time find how the shower water worked. Never seen one like this but new there was one and finally found it on the spout where the water comes out. Closet was small. Not much room for 2 suitcases

    Atmosphere, price free breakfast. The room was small but beautiful We could see the street from the room Room was very clean and beds comfortable Very old San Francisco like being there in the early 1900's

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    6.3
    Disappointing but with substantial wholesome breakfasts.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Petite Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Guests allocated ground floor Room 207 should be advised on arrival that room has steel bars on only window which is a struggle to open by more than 2 inches.. Latter overlooks a private car park manned during day but from dusk occupied by [?] homeless people in sleeping bags or tent with noisy behaviour. En suite bathroom has no door and full exposure to window as above. Cleaning of stairway to breakfast room poor. Overturned plant pot with loose soil not tidied for at least 4 days.

    Helpful reception staff. Location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    6.3
    Liked the breakfast, having tea making in the room, having...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't like the tiny little lift which was difficult to manoeuvre. Room very cramped, very outdated, chipped, broken furniture. Door to room scraped on carpet so was difficult to open. As we were on the street side extremely noisy.

    Liked the breakfast, having tea making in the room, having a fridge in the room so you could buy food and keep it at a proper temperature. Liked the water jug in foyer. Staff was friendly. Air port shuttle was cheap and great.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    7.9
    great central location at reasonable price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Petite Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    better info on local theatres would have been useful. room and bathroom were tiny but adequate.

    Although not a cooked breakfast it was plentiful and varied enabling us to have just coffee and cake for lunch. The location near Union Square was great. Near to Chinatown and the cable cars to fishermans wharf

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    7.1
    Very close to Union Square.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room window was not closing properly and it caused to noise and cold. I remind to reception this issue but they couldn’t solve. So 3 nights passed like that.

    Very close to Union Square. Kind staff. Breakfast was okay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    3.8
    Nightmare!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a nightmare. The room was tiny. The elevator was old and very disused. It was very noisy and there was no security. The breakfast was awful and the whole hotel-motel wasn’t clean. Even the towels of the room were dirty. The bed wasn’t even stable and straight.

    The location was good. Some of the guys in reception were very helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    8.3
    stay in SF, June 2-6, 2018
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Petite Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking situation sucks, but that's common for most of San Francisco, apparently. Neighbors were loud and came & went at all hours of the night, but that's not the hotel's fault. Elevator shaft is old- school. Cable powered and with a 2- door entry way, so it is loud when opening and shutting. I personally liked it, but other guests may not.

    Small (we stayed in one of their petite, full bed rooms), but cozy. Old - school hotel overall, very quaint. Windows opened to let in a nice, comfortable breeze at night and keep the room fresh during the day. Very private, personal room arrangement. Continental breakfast in the basement was pleasant each morning. Staff was super nice & helpful. I can't say that I have anything negative to say about my stay :)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    8.8
    Very good if you basically need a well-located place to sleep
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Petite Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    See the previous description; some details that I described may be disadvantages for you, but they didn't bother me.

    Be aware that rooms are very small – around the bed there is barely space to open your luggage. This doesn't mean that it's bad: actually we were searching for something very simple but well-located, just to spend the nights, and this really met our expectations. The elevator is very old-fashioned – both the outer door and the inner grid are manual – but it adds some charm to the place.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    9.2
    it was a great experience.
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They don't have air conditioning only a small electric fan.

    Staff are great - very accommodating and friendly. The hotel is only a walking distance to the union square/shopping center.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    7.5
    Enjoyable
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walls are pretty thin, you could hear almost everything, and there is hardly any parking

    They were very accommodating to my service dog,and everyone was very nice

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    5.0
    Find somewhere else in the same location - not the Dakota
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were crowded with old furniture and that took up too much space. The first room we had , the mattress was so uncomfortable we had to move. The second room was marginally better. Most of the plumbing was dodgy. The free breakfast was laughable - if you could manage to get into the room you had to queue to access toasters etc. it was just easier to go out. The Olympia cafe next street down near Walgreens was great

    The location was great and the staff were very helpful

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    7.9
    Good hotel for exploring San Fran
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Petite Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast room was crowded and could have been better maintained. One lift that takes a while. No air conditioning.

    Great location close to Union Square. Reception staff very helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    7.5
    Gd location, but expensive & sparten
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room a little cramped & dated but passable. No aircon, was fairly comfortable with fans provided in spring (60degF, 15degC temp).

    Central location: just a 15min walk from Union Sq, plenty of food & shopping options nearby

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    5.4
    Front desk was nice enough and the breakfast was adequate.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Petite Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was super musty and there was no air-conditioning which meant the windows had to remain open, to let in cool air. Also, the bed was hard and uncomfortable.

    Front desk was nice enough and the breakfast was adequate.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    7.5
    Walking distance to union square and restaurants.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy room at front of hotel,heating was too high and couldn’t open window because of the noise level.

    Walking distance to union square and restaurants.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    7.9
    Very helpful after error from booking
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Petite Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small room, not even a table or desk. Very small area for breakfast. A bit noisy.

    I booked 2 rooms for 5 (2 adults and 3 kids), but booking sent a request to the hotel for 4 people assuming that one of the kids was a baby (which was wrong as the age of all 3 kids were mentioned in the booking). So we had one missing bed. The hotel as arranged everything at no extra cost. Very central hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    6.3
    Staff was excelllent!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    For the rate I paid I thought I was getting money worth . But wrong . Bed frame shakes when touch mattress to sit down or turn. Good thing it’s cool tiny fan given for use . For 2 person only one set of toiletries given. Tiny bathroom but suits to get job done . For one nighters only it’s a 3 rating not 7 stars... nice try. 3 Stars are good

    Staff was excelllent!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    5.4
    The staff was exceptional.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Petite Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are so small. Sheets were so old that it holes in it. Queen room has a very small window. It was so small that if you have Claustrophobia, you may be in trouble.

    The staff was exceptional. They were very helpful with every question you may have. Location, location, location. .

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    7.5
    Good location - close to Union Square (though be careful not...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Petite Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I wish the room had a kettle.

    Good location - close to Union Square (though be careful not to wander into Tenderloin). Great breakfast with fresh fruit. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    7.1
    It's old its small but clean and in a good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Petite Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms very small lift is antique and an experience wife got stuck in it for a while which was a bonus!

    Good location close to Union SQ. Reasonable prices for San Fran.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    6.7
    Fair staying in a centric location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Petite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had a big issue with the staff. We arrived there in the evening and one of the receptionists offered to book a shuttle bus to the airport for the early morning of the following day, reassuring us more than once on the matter. However, when we woke up we found out that he didn't book it and nobody had kept track of our request. We had to rush to the airport (for international travelling) with public transport. Unreliable!

    Very centric hotel and it offers a fair accomodation in the centre of downtown. Quite clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    6.7
    Good location, friendly helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel was scruffy, we had a room at the front which was very noisy couldn’t sleep until after 3am when it quietened down. Cleaning lady knocking on doors at 8:30 am to clean rooms.

    Great location Shower was nice. Staff friendly and welcoming.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    5.8
    Cheap
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    there was urine on the toilet when I arrived. do not stay in the rooms next to the elevator. They are just too noisy. The staff was very friendly.

    cheap location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    8.8
    Great location. Parlour room good for a families.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great union square location. Unique vintage hotel. Friendly staff. Nice basic breakfast with fresh fruit. Stayed in parlour room which was perfect for a family with a king and single in one room and a double in a separate room. Had to open windows to keep room cool and not stuffy so noisy but to be expected in a city.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    5.4
    A great price for a lot of people but you won't want to stay here more than two nights.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is not as nice as the website makes it look. Our room had old, worn furniture (dresser and desk) which were slightly broken. One of our beds was exceptionally uncomfortable. Since the hotel does not have air conditioning, the room felt stuffy. They did have a rotating fan which we plugged in and it helped a bit. The elevator is an old timey one with the gate you pull to close. It's an old hotel which we knew in advance; we just got the impression from the website the hotel was cared for a bit better.

    The guy at the front desk was nice. The location was very convenient. The price was the best we could find for staying two nights in San Francisco with a family of five. This hotel has a room that can sleep 5.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    7.1
    Friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are not similar than the pictures. Are very small , they have the Victorian style. The description of the room that I booked said “room with view of the city “ and our view was a parking lot . The bathroom was not very clean.

    Friendly staff , good breakfast the rooms are smaller than they look in the picture

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    9.2
    Definitely will come again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Petite Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was perfect, the room decor and cleanliness was nice. Homey feeling overall. Breakfast was good and the overall atmosphere. I will definitely come again. My kids and I stayed 3 nights.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    5.8
    Very basic but perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Petite Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were tiny and outdated but done the job

    The location was perfect, shower was lovely, breakfast was very basic but handy for a quick bite before an early start or tour

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    6.7
    We thought the hotel matched our expectations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Petite Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    As above.

    We liked the traditional atmosphere and the location. The hotel could do with a face lift, not a refurbishment ! We thought the bed cover and matching pillow cases had not been washed for a while.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    10
    Great stay and highly recommended.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was small but cosy and clean. The staff are so nice and gave good service. The brakefast was fine, the coffee was good and they had fresh fruites. The backyard was quite and because it is a car park there no homeless people were doing their "stuff" there. Also possible to keep the window open.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    6.3
    Front desk was very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Petite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We specifically chose this place because it was written on booking.com that they have parking and in actual fact they don’t. Please change that. The room was small but we expected that. There was an old bitten apple under the bed.

    Front desk was very friendly. Breakfast was decent. The area is hit and miss. It’s close to everything but this specific part of town is pretty full of homeless people.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    7.5
    Budget hotel near Union Sq
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Petite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    But not so good soundproofing to the interior. Very small room, but sufficient for a night

    Close to Union Square, modern interior, good soundproofing to the exterior...

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    5.0
    4 nights in San Francisco
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could do with a refurb. Noise the street could be a problem. Our stay was ok. Unfortunately lots of homeless people in the downtown area but that's par for the course.......sad but an unfortunate reality for San Francisco. As always just be aware when walking around late at night.

    Great location. Close to Union Square. Public transport and the trolley cars. Good breafast to start your day. Staff were helpful and pleasant.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    7.9
    good location, breakfast was included which was very basic,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    good location, breakfast was included which was very basic, the room is very tiny, it is an old hotel which seems had a long history. parking issue need to ask the staff, they will offer a good price parking lot for you.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    10
    If I need to go to San Francisco again, I will stay here again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Petite Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had a room at the back. Post Street is a busy road so main road rooms may be noisy, not a criticism of the hotel tho, just an observation!

    Good location, warm, well aired and clean. Fridge with icebox, microwave and coffee machine, iron all in room.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    5.8
    Could be better
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cleaners didn't clean our room for couple of days in a row. Breakfast was extremely limited and it was the same thing every day. Moreover, the breakfast hall is located in a very ungly basement floor, not appealing at all. Reception is small We had a 4 people room for 2 of us and we were still struggling due to the room size. Having said that, SF is an extremely expensive city, and everything better than that comes to a price.

    The location is very central and easy to move around.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    7.1
    good 1-2 night stay walking distance to union square. cozy room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    staff was friendly if you engaged them but were indifferent if you left them alone. parking was off-site and paid, the place they recommended was full and took a bit of searching to find another (it worked out though). breakfast area was messy.

    cozy, had everything you needed for a short stay, nothing more or less. very old-fashioned feel from the 70s comforter and headboard to the fire escape right outside the window.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    6.3
    Slightly disappointing, stayed there last year and enjoyed my stay, this time not so good.
    • Solo traveller
    • Petite Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I actually got booked into a 'petite' double and hadn't really noticed but bed size ( length ) is a bit of a problem if you are tall, certainly would be difficult to share! I was debited for the full amount at start of my stay which probably explains why receptionist was not very interested when I raised problem. Put up with it and rather shabby room during stay. They should specify length as well as width on bed.

    Location is good,self serve breakfast meets my needs

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    10
    Good value near Union Square
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our family of 4 enjoyed 2 nights at the Fitzgerald at the end of our month long trip to the USA and Canada. The Fitzgerald was comfortable, with interesting decor. It is in a great location close to Union Square. The staff were helpful and friendly. The breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    10
    Nice staff and a lovely charm for a justified price. Location is well-connected,but not for everyone
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Petite Double Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    The area around the hotel could provide clear insight into the shades of SF. The tenderloin area, a nearby area, is difficult due to high poverty, homelessness and somewhat crazy people. They tend to go towards Union Square or Market Street to beg or find food and that means they are hard to avoid. I avoided wandering around in early morning or evening hours because I felt uncomfortable.

    I stayed 10 days. Every staff member was very helpful, ready to share information or point me to what I wanted. The room was clean and calm, wifi even in the 6th floor good. I slept well. The location is good for confident city folks (see negative point). In 10min reach, Powell station/union square is ideal to reach the pier as well as golden gate park by public transport. Breakfast is nicely provided, fruits and yoghurt, loads of different kinds of bread, and cereals. Airport shuttle and other services are provided externally, but easily arranged.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    8.3
    The staff were very friendly, helped me with my luggage and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Petite Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As a solo traveller it was too scary to go out at night by myself, even just for dinner, too many crazy homeless people. Sadly this part of San Fran is hard to ignore. Be careful. You need your wits.

    The staff were very friendly, helped me with my luggage and airport shuttle. I found a great restaurant/cafe close to the hotel called The Rambler, I went early for happy hour and the food and prices were amazing. There is also a fantastic nail salon across the road. During the daylight hours I found the location great, so easy to walk to the shops or trams etc just head towards Union Square and definitely avoid the Tenderloin.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    7.5
    Ok for short stay, good location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi was pretty weak. It's an alright place but rooms would benefit from some TLC and remodeling. The location is a short walk to everything at union square / financial district. ok place for a short stay

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    7.1
    Served its purpose
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Petite Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was mold in the bathroom by the window. A pair of socks from a prior guest were under the corner of the bed. The pillows were flat and non supportive.

    The staff and location were great.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    7.9
    Great - I would do it again on a low budjet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Petite Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No view at all from my room - Just a wall.

    Location was great; Breakfast was included; staff was friendly and helpful! They accommodated me at all hours of the day. (Late at night (after 11pm) early in the morning (before 7am), they make themselves available for me. They offered suggestions of where should visit and even booked the tickets for me. Although it offers just the basic room amenities, I would recommend it without hesitation!

    Stayed in December 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: