Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of MOXY Phoenix Tempe/ASU Area 4 stars

1333 South Rural Road, Tempe, AZ 85281, USA

#7 of 38 hotels in Tempe

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 231 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    8.8
    Funky, fun, and functional.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Well, sometimes other guests are rowdy.

    The Moxy tries to be hip and lively but it is also functional. Rooms are simple but large. Decor is funky with a vague attempt at a hipster aesthetic. The lobby is large and inviting, with big tables or easy chairs, a games area, etc. There’s a pool though I never tried it. Location is convenient, there’s plenty of parking. Staff are upbeat and friendly. There is a small bar for happy hour or breakfast and a limited but cool menu. Try the signature breakfast naan.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    10
    We'll be back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location near ASU and Sky Harbor airport. Clean, fun design... very inviting when you walk in. The room was great size. Loved the huge beanbag chair. Lots of outlets. The bed was extremely comfortable. Plenty of restaurants nearby, and the massive Temple Towne Marketplace.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    9.2
    It was definitely interesting and rooms were clean, but I will be staying elsewhere next trip.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was not a refrigerator in the room. The elevator was hot and one was out of order part of the time. Noise travels from one room to the other. I could hear the TV in the room next to us like I had the show on my TV.

    My first experience in a hotel like this. It was unexpectedly fun. Room was clean. Bed and pillows comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    10
    We were traveling back to Arizona to visit friends and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were traveling back to Arizona to visit friends and the hotel was so great, we spent most of our time at the hotel! Everyone agrees that it was really comfortable and a great place to meet! They had board games for us to use and we had a blast! Honestly one of the best hotels I’ve ever stayed in!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    9.6
    Great value, perks and the guests were all smiles using the shared space
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room had a musty smell at first, room was hot , ac was not on when I arrived.

    Great decor, comfy lounge area and the room i had included an oversized beanbag. The bartenders were fantastic. Kayla and caleb and the british lad were AMAZING

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    10
    Chill
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Waiting for a friend but the previous engagement so nothing about hotel

    Location / spacious modern room / Kiss pinball that you adjust music/ staff / quiet chill

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    9.2
    Everything was great service & funtastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Upon registration the staff did NOT advise the initial deposit freeze on your credit card/debt card which in this case was our daughter who had planned Mothers Day stay for her mother...as Dad was the intended person to pay & did upon transferring credit cards the same day To which again now 2 freeze amounting $341.and not advised by the registering staff....NOT good experience waiting for 3days to release funds

    Everything was great service & funtastic

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    10
    Once we got used to the lack of storage, we really liked the hotel and all the amenities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Clothing storage in the room was inadequate. Would have liked to unpack the suitcase and put clothing in drawers. Also, not crazy about hanging clothes on the walls. Made the room look messy. Same in the bathroom; would have appreciated a drawer or two.

    Excellent front desk staff and housekeeping.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    7.9
    Very clean hotel, nice pool, comfy bed.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Trying a bit too hard to be cool, lots going on so it’s very noisy, was hard to find a quiet spot

    Very clean hotel, nice pool, comfy bed. Fun vibe and going-ons

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    7.5
    I loved all the unique ideas this hotel offers and was...
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I loved all the unique ideas this hotel offers and was impressed when I arrived, however by the time I checked out I felt disappointed. The decoration was awesome with pretty rooms, all very hip and fun to look at. The entertainment was great, free drinks at check in (check in is at the bar), free arcade games in lobby, pool table, cabanas by the pool. Planned events for every day of the week (Bingo Friday night and pool party Saturday). However, there was no parking available due to all the people at the pool party or from one of the rooms that had a loud party going on. A man was being helped down the hall by his friends because he was so drunk. The elevator smells like urine. I was under the impression that the rooms had record players with records available at the front desk. However, it turned out that was only for upgraded rooms. I was told that my room would have a guitar instead - nope. Free breakfast was advertised, I thought, but when my daughter went to get a piece of toast, she was told "that's not for you." No closets in the rooms, but cool pegs to hang up your clothes.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    7.1
    Convenient to university
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They need to have mini refrigerators, microwave and safes in the room All hotels around them are equal or cheaper in price and have these amenities in their rooms and free breakfast

    Staff is so nice and helpful

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    7.9
    Everything was good except,
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was good except, 1. The guy in the front desk was drunk when I was going to do the check out. Because of that I was late for a business meeting. 2. The hotel charged me twice for the reservation, I paid cash but they also charged the expenses on my credit card. One month later, I am still trying that they return my money.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    7.5
    super convenient location to ASU, we were touring the campus. Very cool vibe, would stay again.
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    water was warm in shower, never got hot. also, missed a coffee maker in the room and the lack of shampoo/ conditioner. no ice, had to go to front desk for the ice. staff could've offered when we checked in as didn't realize no icemaker available on any of the floors. back entrance on first floor was all cleaning carts, it was a little odd.

    the welcome cocktail was incredible! loved the peg wall and the beds were comfortable. Also, kind of cool checking in at the bar. also appreciated free parking.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    9.2
    The complimentary Uber from the airport was a huge bonus,...
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lock on the bathroom sliding door, no clock in the room, no microwave in the room.

    The complimentary Uber from the airport was a huge bonus, the beds were very comfortable, the pool view from the balcony was great, a refrigerator was provided upon request, the hotel was clean and fun.. We enjoyed the different festivities each night.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    4.2
    I’m sorry, I will not stay here again
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I sent a request 3 days before my arrival for a pool view and a fridge for my insulin. Nothing was sent back to me or addressed to me in my arrival until my surprise I got to my room and didn’t have either. The girl that checked me in wasn’t friendly it very informative on where to park or locate my room. Ice machines would have been nice to have Being in Arizona... asked the frint desk and they had no ice bags available. The parking was limited so basically was driving in circles to find an opening meanwhile two tow trucks were taking up two spaces on the property. The bed was very hard and my view was of a parking garage. The drinks and the food at the bar were very over priced For what I got.

    The only thing I can say unliked about this place is that you have me an extra parking pass for my guest.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    8.8
    Relaxing and fun break
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wish I could have a coffee machine and a small fridge in the room. And there was a guitar on the wall when I stayed last time but it was gone this time. I wonder why.

    There is a pool table in the lobby. I like playing pool and having drinks at the bar. I feel lonely on a solo business trip but this hotel gives me fun and makes me forget about loneliness.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    7.5
    We have stayed at this location several times and it has...
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We have stayed at this location several times and it has always been great! The only issue was the quality of our room cleaning. The area under the sink (floor & wall) was flithy as if someone had been sick. We had to leave written word that it needed to be addressed. One recommendation would be to add a cotton blanket under the grey wool coverlet- its just not comfortable.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    5.4
    Adequate
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast food available was ok. A hotel should be able to provide food on an all day bases. Not suitable for a business travelers. No evening meal option available. Only made aware of complimentary coffee as I was checking out. Room and bed were very comfortable and room cleaned regularly, fresh towels daily. Pool facilities good and pool area was very clean.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    9.6
    The staff was AMAZING!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was AMAZING!! I did request a room with a balcony, as I love to sit on the balcony and have coffee while my friend sleeps in. Unfortunately, we got a Juliet balcony without any chance of lounging. Other than that, our stay was amazing!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    3.8
    Awful and will never stay at a Moxy again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The folks working there said this hotel is meant for "people who are independent." There's no coffee pot, no microwave, no frig in the rooms and no tub. They didn't have coffee out until 6 am. We brought our own coffee (instant Starbucks) and we found hot water in the work out water machine but when we asked for cream, the guy said he couldn't put it out until 6 am. Very rude! They also had a water main break so no hot water for an entire day.

    The bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    3.8
    Every time we asked for water we were told to go to the...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Every time we asked for water we were told to go to the ironing room. Even when I went downstairs for a cup of tea- I was told to go to the ironing room for water when a full barista station was right behind the hotel employee. I had to change rooms twice. 1- because the room was on the first floor and closest to the lobby where music was blasting. 2- there was a HUGE cockroach in my room.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    7.9
    If you’re looking for a fun, unique environment to boost your spirits, the Moxy has it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was an odd smell in the lobby area...it could have been something that had been cooked. And there were some minor maintenance things I noticed around the property but nothing to keep me from returning.

    When we checked in the staff said it is a fun hotel and, indeed, fun it is! The unique style and amenities make for a fun environment.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    9.2
    Great staff, value, and location but I need a CLOSET!!! and a safe.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 12 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed not as comfy as I’d like. No closets or drawers???? What??? Not great for longer stays. Hard to stay organized which is important. No small safe?? I didn’t feel comfortable having my room cleaned and not able to lock valuables away. Not that I don’t trust the workers but so there is never an issue.

    Excellent Staff

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    10
    The staff was incredible.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing

    The staff was incredible. Very friendly and helpful. Especially Scarlett and Larrisa. They really made me feel at home. I will definitely be back again soon.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    5.0
    Resort prices for motel quality.
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Even though it's a non smoking property, people were smoking outside of my room every night. There were cigarette butts littered at the side entrance of the property. The smell permeates the room. The hallways are also dirty. The carpet looks like it hasn't been vacuumed in months. It certainly wasn't vacuumed during my whole stay of 4 nights. For 200 per night, I wish I stayed elsewhere.

    The room was spacious.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    9.6
    Creative, boutique space.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Would have like some drawers for clothes and workout room was just average.

    LOVED the space! Lobby and rooms were great. Staff was friendly and the free games were a nice touch.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    10
    The Staff was exceptionally helpful and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Staff was exceptionally helpful and friendly. The property is a very fun place with games, ping pong, and a nice outdoor/pool area! Will definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    6.7
    The rooms were set up nicely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilet was plugged and needed to call maintenance to fix it on 2 occasions. My daughter and I are flea bitten over over lower legs. Either from the bed or one of the cabanas at the pool. Food was ok

    The rooms were set up nicely. Staff was friendly. Lobby area for games was wonderful

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    10
    Had a much needed staycation in a shorts notice
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would love to have had some pen and paper in the room and things like qtips and lotion in the rooms. A bathrobe always as a classy touch! Plus they're awesome to keep you warm right out of the shower.

    I live here in the valley and stay all over in different hotels because I thoroughly enjoy getting away for the weekend and not having to leave the actual state. I will definitely be back at the Moxy. Great experience all around! I came with my small son and he hadn't have sleep last with the pinball machines in the lobby on the way to the Smore's naan as a late night snack!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    8.8
    Loved the vintage records and player in the room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lobby staff was pretty busy on computers and personal devises when we where there at night. In the middle of dinning, I asked for pepper, and instead of it being brought to me, they pointed out where it was. I thought that was a little odd.

    Loved the vintage records and player in the room. The room itself was perfect for a short visit. The space we gained by not having dressers and such worked for us. If we head that way again, we will be staying there again and no how to pack for this difference. The facility has an amazing feel to it overall feel to it and we loved it. The had the flat bread as a late night snack. Really tasty. The coffee was amazing in the morning as well.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    10
    We will be back
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    A longer stay

    Great location, great price , we were staying over for a softball tournament and needed a place to stay close by. Never heard of Moxy before our stay but we enjoyed the non-traditional, simplicity of the rooms and very much were impressed by the real friendliness of the staff. Felt very welcomed. We will return every time we are in the area.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    6.3
    I love the atmosphere the games and the people ( the ones in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have stayed here before and loved it.. this time the room was awful, it smelled of mildew, the toilet had green mold in it and the bathroom was just disgusting, we couldn't close the blind we were on the first floor, so anyone walking by could see us, just disappointed, The bar area was nice but bar tenders didn't know how to make any drinks, my daughter is a bar tender and was having to help them to make drinks. I would probably go back and give it another chance, because I love the atmosphere 😐

    I love the atmosphere the games and the people ( the ones in the morning) were wonderful

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    7.5
    Very "hip" hotel.
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Found a LARGE cockroach in our room on our last night. Hotel was very apologetic and switched our room. No refrigerators in rooms. No complimentary breakfast.

    Friendly staff and good location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    10
    We really enjoyed our time at the Moxy and would definitely recommend it and stay there again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The front desk check-in is also the bar and there wasn't enough staff to handle it all. The bartenders are checking people in and answering the phone while trying to take drink orders and charge to tabs.

    We really liked the trendy, hip atmosphere and styling and the bar staying open until 2am. We didn't have to go anywhere else!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    5.8
    Okay if you're a college kid looking to party all night
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Half the gym equipment didn't work, a few lights in my room didn't work, my tv went out repeatedly, I found hair that wasn't mine on the towels, the hallway wreaked of weed, and a super loud group of college students was there yelling inappropriate things and being super loud. The staff didn't seem to care much even though at 11:45 pm on a Monday night they were running around and yelling. I had to call the front desk.

    Great shower, nice big desk in the room.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    10
    Everything was great !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great !!! great staff very welcoming amazing drinks and the best part was the bed which wasn't overly soft perfect for my bad back and the shower omg I don't know if it was just me but I believe they have a water filter in the shower my skin was sooo smooth (I know that sounds weird) but I use the same body wash at home so I know it wasn't my soap I absolutely enjoyed my stay at the MOXY !!!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    9.6
    It's not like anywhere else.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not like anywhere else. The decor is eclectic and it doesn't take itself too seriously. It may take some time to adjust because the Moxy does things in its own unique way. The toilets in the room are square and the shower drain is labeled "Deep End". The pinball machines and classic video arcade games in the lobby are free to play. Complimentary cocktail when you register. Lobby features classic board games at various tables plus there's a turntable with headphones and a large choice of vinyl records of all music types for your private listening pleasure. Easy parking close to entrances and a good selection of restaurants within walking distance. Excellent bar with good specialty food items available but no dedicated on site restaurant. Friendly and helpful staff. Even the housekeeping staff smiles and greets you when you pass them in the corridors.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    9.6
    Very modern, fun hotel to stay in.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very modern, fun hotel to stay in. Although I did not go in the lobby besides to check in, it looked like a fun place to hangout. They had a bar and game area.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    10
    Very hip establishment!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No ice machines, but they provided ice in ziplock bags that you could get for free behind the bar.

    The room was very contemporary and hip... they had a guitar in the room, I don't play, but it was cool. Lol

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    8.3
    HOT in AZ in June, but these rooms are nice and cold!!
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Well, honestly, i'm being a little nit picky here, The rooms are well appointed, especially if you are a fan of modern or minimalist design. I do think that there should be an additional trash can in the room (the only one is in the bathroom), and speaking of bathrooms--I really like to bring my own toiletries- but, there's NO place to put them in the bathroom. The only "ledge" in the shower is occupied by the hotel shampoo and conditioner. My daughter and I had to put our shower gel on the ground- that's not nice! And not much vanity space for us to have all our "stuff"- toothpaste, toothbrush, face wash, etc. They have underbed lighting, !cool!, but it is motion activated. Soooo, if you have to use the potty in the middle of the night, and your partner or family member is a light sleeper, you may wake them. As an aside, would be nice to have a refrigerator in the room. Its Arizona, its hot....... to have a cool drink in the room would be great. My daughter was cold at night (which, i have to say is nice when nighttime temp is over 90 degrees!) We had to get up a couple of times at night to turn off the AC because it was so cold (i dont know if thats really a complaint!)

    Pretty cool that they send an Uber as the "airport shuttle"- and that it's a free ride to guests. Nice to have a welcome drink and cool, refreshing air conditioning in Arizona in June. The lobby is ultra cool, more like a clubhouse than traditional lobby. The room was really nice with some unexpected decor features- laminate wood floors, underbed lighting, subway tile in bathroom. Room was clean!!! yay!! Night before checkout, they leave a little note, looks handwritten (tho, its not, but a unexpected touch), and a coupon for a free coffee in the AM. Overall, I would stay here again.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    10
    Different is great
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just that there was no free breakfast.

    I loved the energy I got from the staff and hotel. Just positive on everything. The staff were really kind and nice, no attitude what so ever. The room was amazing! Especially the view, was beautiful. Loved it. Everything went smooth. Very different from the hotels I've been too, and it was awesome!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    10
    Loved the Moxy!
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing the room lacks is a closet or dresser but not a big deal, because there are hooks on the wall

    Such a fun, hip property with lots of fun games to play in the lobby. Staff was super friendly and rooms were very clean. Impressive 👍🏻

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    7.1
    Great location but room smelled
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room was beautiful clean and spacious but the tv was not working so they moved me to a different room which I thought was fine but it had a weird smell to it. A moldy smell and sulfur smell off and on. It was a little smaller than the ordinal room but I was fine with that. Also I would have liked to have a safe in the room and I would have liked to be able to have ice readily available with ice bucket.

    The staff was extremely nice and accommodating

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    9.2
    Whimsical Retro Hotel -
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was confusing to find the check in desk at first since it isn't set up to be obvious given the construction fence on the neighboring property and the parking lot entrance. We actually walked in and thought we were at the bar then walked around them came back to ask at the bar (really the central food and beverage area) and found out we were there all along. The building is long with not many stories (3ish?) and if you get an upper story room at the opposite end from the bar you need to take your bags up an elevator at the bar end then walk to your room then go get your car and move it. The spaces closest to the bar end are packed, so you have to hoof it to get to check in as well. Once you check in you understand optimal parking and that it's hard to get a good space, so after that it's more manageable, whether by expectation or parking karma.

    Staff was super accommodating and clearly happy to be working at the Moxy. I inadvertently booked two non refundable rooms and they electednnot to charge me for the first. The entertainment available was really fun - Retro games like Jenna and Rocke Em Sock Em Robots, Barrel of Monkeys, puzzles, cards, foosball and pool were all available - not just tv. Lots of families, groups of friends and couples were playing games bs tv, or out st the pool. The elevator was set up like an old Polaroid photo booth with props for selfies 😁. Food to go was available as well. The place was clean, fun, comfortable and well situated.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2017

    10
    Amazing space and great location! Will go back, great service too
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was so much fun it was LOUD, crazy party scene loud. Our drunk neighbors were ROWDY and I think the lack of carpets made the rooms much louder. We called the front desk for help but the sound did not go away.

    This is BY FAR the hippest, coolest hotel I have EVER stayed at. They had a selfie-vator! (which is basically a photo booth with props in the elevator!) The staff was amazing - you check in at the bar! The open floor lobby was beautiful and somewhere you wanted to hang out. The drinks were delicious...they have games and huge tvs and coaches to lounge at in the lobby. My teen daughter and I played Scrabble and Pinball and just hang out down there - for fun - with other people (which is crazy to think about when you have a grumpy, moody teenager!!!) The ppol area was small but nice with free cabanas. The room was funky and well decorated - no closets but lots of hanging space.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2017

    9.5
    Wonderful staff, the courtesy of a late checkout, stowage of...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Did not care for the "ironing room". Would've preferred an iron in my room.

    Wonderful staff, the courtesy of a late checkout, stowage of my bags and an Uber to the airport was greatly appreciated!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    6.7
    Great location and fun atmosphere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    As mentioned, I stay here frequently. This was the first time that the carpet in the hallways looked worn and dirty. The floors in our room had not been cleaned there were multiple scuff marks on them. The shower doors would not stay closed from either side and we had to wedge a wash cloth in lest we get water all over. It would also be nice to have a shelf or holder in the shower for personal items such as facial cleanser or a razor. We did not encounter much staff, and although the girl at check in was kind, she was on hold with the phone to her ear the whole time. I appreciated her checking me in rather than have me wait however, there were two bartenders who could have waited on hold so that she could properly address me. As well, when I returned to the hotel after being out until 9:30 pm, there was not 1 single parking space open. I had to go inside and inquire and was told I could park in the fire lane overnight which worried me in case I would get towed. However there is no other parking in the area and I had bags and my daughter with me and went ahead and parked there and had no problems thankfully.

    I stay here frequently as we enjoy the proximity to ASU. The fun atmosphere in the lobby is always a plus and the complimentary drinks are great too. We love the guitar in most rooms and the comfort of the beds and super clean smelling linens. We also love the bikes for use.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2017

    8.8
    Great atmosphere, the staff were very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just a couple of little things. We would have loved to have had a small fridge in the room. This property, under a former brand, had laundry facilities. It would have been great if that was still available.

    Great atmosphere, the staff were very friendly and helpful. The location was perfect, close to the ASU campus and easy to find.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2017

    6.3
    Minimalist Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If your looking for comfort, this isn't it. The rooms have no drawers, no closet, no refrigerator, no ice, no ironing board, one little trash can in the bathroom, 12 channels on the tv(all local), and the worst thing in my opinion, not a single shelf in the shower, so every time you need something(like your razor) you have to open the shower door and reach out to get it.

    Staff was friendly

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2017

    8.8
    ASU Parent Visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Can't beat the location if you're visiting kids at ASU. Not sure it's my taste a little dark and a bit noisy with partiers coming home in the wee hours

    The staff was awesome! they really went the extra mile to make sure we were happy with our stay.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2017

    7.5
    Cool place. Good coffee in the lobby.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The really bad thing is its NOISY. You can hear your neighbors blow their nose and any convo in the hall way. They offer guitars in the rooms which was charming and nice until 1030pm when your neighbor decides to play theirs. No refrig, not within walking distance to the shops/restaurants of Tempe. Wifi was temperamental.

    I loved the european hipster flair to the place. It was different from anywhere I have ever stayed in the USA. I liked that you grab your extras from their "Ironing Room" and dont have to wait for it to be brought up. The games in the lobby were cute. Free wifi and parking.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2017

    7.9
    No parking here
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Heated pool was cold and your car will get towed if you don't have a parking pass

    Cool arcade games. Reception area and overall style of hotel awesome

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2017

    7.5
    Friendly staff, easy to find
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was bummed that my room didn't have the guitar, record player or bath tub. I didn't like that I asked for a quite room and got one on the second floor next to the road. Room was too bright at night

    Friendly staff, easy to find

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2017

    7.9
    Trendy, comfortable hotel
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needed better instructions on how the room works--specifically how to close the door blind to keep out the hall light and how the lights in the room work.

    Very good hot breakfast. Fun, trendy atmosphere.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2016

    10
    New favorite motel. The Moxy rocks!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely nothing!

    The Moxy was like a Marriot on steroids. We absolutely loved it. From the super friendly and efficient staff to the fun design of the facilities. No complaints, only high praise. Thanks for a wonderful stay.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2016

    7.5
    staff was great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the bed was terrible /after the first night we had to transfer hotels . we did like the facility alot

    staff was great! liked overall facility / very cool ideas.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2016

    3.8
    The staff was friendly and helpful when I checked in.
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sadly, it was one of the worst nights of sleep in any hotel I've had ever. There were several parties happening in several room and when people would come and go they shouted from the hall. It began around 10pm and ended around 4. Considering I had a 4:45 wake up call to get to the airport it was very very discouraging. When I checked out, they asked how my stay was and when I told them the man at the counter said, was it the noise? He told me about 3 "Graduation parties" I can't believe that a hotel with this high of reviews would allow guest to throw such parties in their room and be aware of it the whole time. He had also mentioned that there was a fight in the lobby and asked if that kept me up as well. The response on my face was enough to let him know how upset I was about this stay. I have to say, this has left a very bad taste in my mouth and I wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone...reguardelsss of age. I feel like they are going for a hipster cool vibe which can be doe without have a party hotel. When I walked the hall that morning it smelled of stale beer and smoke. Clearly, they didn't take into account their other paying guests during this experience and I am very dissapointed about my experience.

    The staff was friendly and helpful when I checked in.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2016

    10
    More than a place to lie your head.
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A new hotel concept of visual stimulation: a large, playful lobby; oversized pool toys; the LOVESAC; room number designations on wall outside the elevator; eclectic art, vintage chachkies and games in lobby.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2016

    9.6
    Great stay, we will go here again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Poolside View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lighting in bathroom was a little dark and a magnified mirror would have been handy.

    The bikes were a great touch as we were visiting my son on campus. Fun atmosphere and people.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2016

    10
    Skeptical at first but really liked it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower doors allowed water to flood floor during shower. No closet makes room iffy for multiple night stays. Too minimalist for my taste but definite millenial appeal. Beds and pillows were great

    Skeptical at first but really liked it! Would prefer no smoking be allowed in Courtyard/pool/patio area. Great beds.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    10
    i love it
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    everything

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    10
    10/10 would visit again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, the bed is always comfortable and clean. The staff are always friendly and the food is good quality.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    9.6
    No fridge in bedroom
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No fridge in bedroom

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    8.8
    All the pink
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All the pink

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    8.3
    Many funny (I mean good) things everywhere in the hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No fridge

    Many funny (I mean good) things everywhere in the hotel

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    10
    great costumer service!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    great costumer service!!!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    7.1
    Modern & edgy with great staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very busy location a bit too far from Tempe’s excellent restaurant & bar strip

    Modern & edgy with great staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    9.2
    Thoroughly enjoyed my stay
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 6 nights

    No water and fridge in room.

    Friendly & helpful staff. Quirky features. Love the guitar in my room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    10
    loved it
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    nothing was nad

    The guitar.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    9.2
    Great lobby/recreation area, friendly staff, fun...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great lobby/recreation area, friendly staff, fun atmosphere

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    9.6
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing stay. Defiantly a great experience for a hotel. Will be back anytime I stay near Tempe.

    Great location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    6.3
    Pool and welcome drinks
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Pool and welcome drinks

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    6.7
    It was ok, property not for families with young kids
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Events held brought in large crowds,very loud and chaotic in lobby and pool areas

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    9.6
    The common area with food bar etc is too noisy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The common area with food bar etc is too noisy.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    8.3
    Will come back !
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    If I were to do a longer stay (7 days +) the lack of space to put my clothes (wardrobe/drawers)

    Look Look Look !!! Staff !! Free drink :)

    Stayed in April 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: