Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Francisco Bay Inn 2 stars

1501 Lombard Street, Marina District, San Francisco, CA 94123, USA

#177 of 265 hotels in San Francisco

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1057 hotel reviews

7.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.3

  • Comfort

    6.8

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    6.7

  • Staff

    7.8

  • Value for money

    6.7

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2018

    9.2
    Location was brilliant and the room was nice and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Inn is on a busy road and you can hear the traffic. The only way to make that better would be to instal double glazing.

    Location was brilliant and the room was nice and clean. Never made it to breakfast as only available 7am - 9am .

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2018

    5.0
    The location was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel was quite shabby. It needs a total renovation. Breakfast very limited and no place to sit down, it was In the lobby which is very tiny.

    The location was great. TV was great.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    5.8
    It got the job done but I wouldn't go back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms were cramped and very run down, yet expensive. The breakfast was really just some croissants and donuts on a tray in the reception area with no tables or seating available. No milk, cereal, bread, fruit (or other healthy options) or cold drinks provided.

    The location was fantastic.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2018

    4.2
    Wouldn't do it again. Golden Gate Bridge and Muir Woods are nice but not worth the cost.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Lots of traffic noise at all hours of day or night. A 1-2 star hotel with 4-star nightly rates. Expect to spend 20 - 60 dollars a day on parking assuming parking is available where you are going. Lyft is available. Streets are steep and hilly may be too strenuous for some pedestrians. Be wary of booking from Klassen Tours. The tour guide collected a "mandatory" tip. I had to call and complain to get my tip money back; tour guide was not knowledgeable of San Francisco and deserved no tip.

    It was close to main attractions like Fisherman's Wharf and Lombard Street. Parking in the Hotel courtyard was free. Golden Gate bridge visible from 2nd floor terrace.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    6.7
    Just good enough
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I booked a family room for 5 people, and I got a double bed only, so, one of us had to sleep on the floor (no available rolling beds), but I have to say that I did the reservation through booking.com, so, the hotel may not be at fault on this issue. The facilities were just good enough (but clean), I think this hotel is a little old.

    I liked, mainly, the location. The hotel, as well as the room, was clean. The staff was very friendly and willing to help. The price was good for the location.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    7.9
    Great location, good value.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was free but not very good (instant coffee) and no seats/only sweets for take away, parking spots were very narrow for SUVs,

    Good Location, free parking spots!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    7.5
    Nice and very helpful staff, good location, walking distance.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is very simple and there were just sweet stuff :) but breakfast was equivalent to the price

    Nice and very helpful staff, good location, walking distance. I recommended very much

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    9.2
    Pleasant Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would have liked a luggage rack, and there’s no closet, but a hanging rack in the room. We had to put the coffee maker in the bathroom to plug it in, since the microwave and fridge were using the outlet, but none of those were major issues.

    The bathroom was the largest I’ve ever seen in a San Francisco hotel. The room was spacious and comfortable too. It’s not a fancy hotel, but it’s a nice place to sleep with free parking (Small lot) with a microwave and a fridge. We missed the free breakfast, but that’s ok. Area felt pretty safe for the city.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    5.0
    If it were not for the price-location relationship, I would not recommend it
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Very few places in the parking lot. The room was extremely small for 4 people. We were 5 and the 5 bed did not fit between the two double beds that already existed. We have no choice but to throw the mattress on the floor We had to wait a long time for the elevator since it was almost all the time busy The attention of some of the check-in girls was not very kind Breakfast was very poor

    Good location. Near to the main tourists places. Nice neighborhood.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    7.5
    It was alright
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That instant coffee that you had to make yourself for breakfast and there was only Donuts I wouldn't call that breakfast I call that the snack also the price I was quoted when I booked and the price that my confirmation said we're hundreds and hundreds of dollars off still dealing with that problem

    Nice room decor

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    5.8
    The staff was very friendly, within walking distance of...
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was extremely small, uncomfortable, noisy, and parking was difficult.

    The staff was very friendly, within walking distance of restaurants and stores.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    5.0
    Way too expensive!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We highly recommend to anyone considering this facility to Google Earth Lombard Street to the west of the hotel. Both sides of the street are LINED with similar quality hotels. Comparison shop before choosing Francisco Bay Inn! Even in San Francisco (a very expensive city) in the middle of August (summer travel season) we felt the weekday rate of about $300.00 USD per night was way too much for this facility. We were pressed for time when we booked and didn't have time to look around, to our detriment. We felt the free parking, and especially the location (close to Franklin and Van Ness, where the busses were) might encourage us to use transit. Our tourplan and age (60) made this not as desirable. Note the "free parking" feature, while true, isn't the whole story. The lot is small, and the facility had cars double parked in the lot. Surrendering the keys to the front desk allowed them to move cars around as needed to make the most use of their limited space. So don't expect a unique slot for your car.

    Location. Pictures on the website.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    6.7
    Although it wasn’t terrible, it could have been better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was trash along the stairs. The carpet in room smelled musty. Handle missing on drawer. It was difficult to get towels replaced that were missing after first day. Slight mildew in shower tile.

    The location was great and free parking made it convenient.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    7.5
    Good value for money, great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking, and our heater/air didn't work and the front desk told us that a maintenance person wouldn't be able to look at it till the next day. No offer of discount or room change or anything. And my mom was cold!

    Good location. Had an elevator.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    4.2
    Overrated! Terrible hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The swarm of flies buzzing around the front door of my room was a bad start. The room smelt of mold and mildew. I had to check out early because the conditions of the room was so bad. Of course the hotel would not refund me the 1 night lost.

    Receptionist Loni was very nice to allow me to check in early.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    5.0
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The facility is dated. The breakfast was awful. Instant coffe and powdered creamer. Screens on windows were torn and thw qindow facing the street would not close securely. Got a lot of road noise.

    Location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    4.2
    Mislead
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast consisted of doughnuts and week coffee. No juice or cereal for kids. Feel I have been mislead Ask for replacement iron as the one in room was faulty, response was that I would have to wait for housekeeping in morning for replacement - not ideal. Not worth the money i paid for this overprice hotel.

    Room was clean.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    7.1
    Great room clean and friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The big “No smoking “ Card deposit was a shock but he did yell us we could pay cash. Anyway small thing. Really nice stay otherwise

    Great room clean and friendly

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    5.8
    Good location and parking was free, although a bit...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was a little lumpy and there was a smell of some cleaning solution that was a bit overwhelming at times.

    Good location and parking was free, although a bit cumbersome.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    5.0
    The location is okay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is okay. It’s very close to the crooked street. Property is dated. Homeless people sleep in the stairwells. I would not stay here with children. It does have free parking.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    4.6
    Poor value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room very small. Poorly lit. Soft furnishings tatty and bed cover ripped and did not look clean. Stained. Headboard dirty. Drawers dirty and handle hanging off. Dusty. Very poor value for money as cost close to 400 dollars for one night for 3 adults and 1 child.

    Lovation was excellent. Shower was powerful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    7.9
    Great Location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is lacking!!! Instant make yourself coffees & cocoa and pastries (delicious) are provided. I had expected more variety. I suggest Hotel invest in coffee&cocoa machine at least, add fresh fruits (apple, bananas, oranges), & yogurts at minimal.

    Great Location!! Within walking distance to Ft Mason, Ghirardelli Square, cable car, great restaurants, a pier and bay, Aquatic beach, & more. We enjoyed it. Our one way Uber fares were under $20 each different destinations. We went to Union Square, Chinatown, Pier 39, Coit Tower.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    5.4
    Outdated hotel with outdated details.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom fan didn't work and obvious patch work in the walls. It needs updating as it is outdated. They say you get breakfast with juice and milk and all we saw was day old tasting donuts with instant coffee, tea, cocoa mix. They did have croissants and bite size muffins. The booking said it was on the wharf but it wasn't, it was a descent walk away though.

    It was a place to lay our head at night.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    5.8
    Convenient, but not comfy
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were small and stuffy. When we first arrived they did not smell great. We also requested rooms near each other, but they were on 3 different floors.

    It was pretty convent to the activities we wanted to do- 15 to 20 minutes walk to Fisherman’s Wharf.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    7.5
    SF is not cheap, but we find that hotel (motel) at a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I had no problems with parking our car, but have noticed that there might be an issue in case we would come later in the day.

    SF is not cheap, but we find that hotel (motel) at a reasonable price and also location was good, but not excellent. There was still some walk to the touristic part needed (but reasonable) . Staff was nice. We felt safe walking around.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    4.6
    Room had a musty Oder.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smell

    Room had a musty Oder. Outside door would not close properly. For the price I was disappointed. Left a couple of items in room went back and they said they didn't find them

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    7.5
    Perfect to visit pear 39 and to take Alcatraz tour, near...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect to visit pear 39 and to take Alcatraz tour, near Lombard street (very steep walk though). Free coffee all day. Free parking. Hop on hop off stop not so faraway from hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    7.5
    Relaxing, clean and convenient. Good value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Walls were a bit thin and noisy walkers above us

    The room was comfortable, the bed was huge and the bathroom even bigger. Nice proximity to the Embarcadero and close to everything

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    8.3
    Not bad but not perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was poor, just coffee and some donuts available. The parking is a mess, too many cars for that space.

    The room was indeed nice and comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    7.5
    The staff was great and the location was excellent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The "continental breakfast" is pastries and instant coffee. If they run out they have to close the office and drive to get more. Not a big deal unless you're trying to check out and have to wait for them to come back. The beds are as hard as the floor. We did notice some rooms were getting new beds that had a pillow top so hopefully this is already being remedied.

    The staff was great and the location was excellent! The rooms were clean.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    7.9
    I had a very good time there
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    needed more open channels on TV most of stations there was closed. better breakfast..

    I had amassing time at the hotel clean room, good staff great location. short walk to many main tourist places like fisherman wharf and so on

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    7.5
    everything okay the place could do with a paint job but...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the staff could have known a little more information on the area

    everything okay the place could do with a paint job but otherwise it served its purpose

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    7.9
    Clean & Comfy
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Expensive and outdated. Very thin walls allow for noise, especially plumbing from neighboring rooms.

    Clean and comfortable. Met all of my basic needs. Good water pressure in shower. Nice TV. Appreciated the coffeemaker in room. I would return.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    3.3
    lOUSY!!!!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location, 100 feet off Lombard Street St. which is 101 hwy through San Francisco,ca street noise was horrible all night long. Limited parking. The beds were box spring mattress the the springs were right against your body , WILL NOT STAY THERE AGAIN!!!

    Nothing!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    10
    Perfect sightseeing hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was huge the room was huge the breakfast was delicious and quick which was great for a sightseeing trip! The hotel was so close to fisherman’s wharf we walked everywhere!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    5.8
    Does the job for a short-stay with parking
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Overall I'd expect a little extra from the rooms at that price point; our first room smelled strongly of damp and there was a very wet patch (props to the staff who changed our room quickly), however the rooms were still quite small and not in the most appealing presentation and decor.

    The parking capability really helped and the location worked for exploring around the marina and waterfront as needed.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    8.8
    A pleasant stay, with a jaunt around town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was a bit springy. The breakfast was an assortment of bread.

    The location is wonderful. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. It was very clean and inexpensive.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    7.5
    Convenient
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It could be cleaned better. Walls need washed, and furniture. There’s was bodily fluids on the walls in the bathroom as well as on the side of the nightstand.

    Free parking, easy to find.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    9.6
    way better than anticiapted
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The parking...the Inn was packed and the parking was crazy...they had us packed in like sardines...even double parked where we had to give our keys to the desk so they could move our vehicle if someone parked behind us needed to get out...fortunately for me I had a handicap placard so I had a spot...but even getting in and out of that spot was challenging...but everything else about the Inn made it worth it.

    the room I stayed in had one king size bed...that is why i only recommended certain travelers for my room, but I would recommend other rooms for other types of travelers. I don't remember anything about food and drink on booking.com...the room was great for us...VERY reasonably priced for SF...location was great, pretty close to the wharf...

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    6.7
    Okay - helpful staff but wouldn’t stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was non-existent (tray of store bought donuts in front office but no where to eat). Door didn’t lock on our first room, but after some time they did relocate us to another room. Rooms smelt of smoke, shower head and screen were too low (if you’re over 5’8ft), decor was slightly dated, and quite a few flies hanging around our door.

    Good location and free parking.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    7.1
    Concern about the security.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The vehicle was breaken in and was stolen the personal property .

    Concern about the security. My Tesla window was breaken in on Tue 24/4/18 night in the parking lot I front of the office. But anyone can see the incident even civilians camera is there.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    7.1
    Staff is nice and very welcoming.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The floor in the room was very dirty and the room was extremely small. It was very noisy at night. Breakfast is just to add to the description but there is no facility for it. You can grab some stuff at the front desk.

    Staff is nice and very welcoming. Bathroom was big and clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    5.8
    Good location, average price (for SF)
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Well, in comparison to Europe all hotels are really expensive in SF area. So maybe you should compare hotels in SF to other hotels in SF. For me - the room shouldn't costs that price. Yes, It's clean, but all furniture is used, and dilapidated. In other hand there is bed, bathroom, what else do you need?

    It's located near the famous Lombard street, so you can walk to many touristic places (Pier 39 and many more). So location is superb. Room is clean, but a little bit dilapidated. The bed is a very big (for one person at least)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    7.9
    A good place to stay and one of only a few hotels with parking included
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Negatives; there was an external door which controlled access to both our room and another room (we had to go through this door to access our own door key pad). We were not given a keycard to this external door. This door was meant to be kept open but on two occasions we returned to find that this door had been closed (for whatever reason) and each time there was a fairly long wait to get a member of staff to open this door for us, which was very frustrating. It seems mad to have this external door but to not give visitors a keycard for it, especially when it can be so easily closed, locked and cause an inconvenience. The fridge in the room was noisy at night, we would have turned it off but there was ice in the freezer compartment that would have melted if we did that. One major negative, and it is the same in most places we stayed in California, is the use of throwaway plastic and paper tableware at breakfast. All in all I enjoyed my stay and would return but my boyfriend is (sadly) not so keen.

    Positives; the lady on reception (Patricia) was really friendly and helpful and was happy to offer us a room on the top floor when I asked. The room was fine, a little old and tired perhaps but I did appreciate being on the top floor and the view of the Golden Gate Bridge from outside the room. The glass elevator was a novelty too. Breakfast was both a positive and a negative; a doughnut/pastry/muffin breakfast for three days solid is not healthy nor particularly satisfying but I appreciated having something to eat, and having the option of hot chocolate was a novelty in comparison to the normal offer of just tea or coffee. However, I would have really enjoyed the option to have some juice at breakfast. The bed was comfy and the shower was good. To have parking included was great and that’s part of the reason why we chose to stay here whilst in San Francisco. The location of the hotel is pretty good and easily within walking distance of the waterfront.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    7.5
    Location was central to our activities and staff were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property is a little dated and get down to breakfast eary or there will only be sugary donuts left

    Location was central to our activities and staff were helpful with all our questions

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    5.0
    Visitor beware...great location, bad experience!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There is more to dislike than like...Beds uncomfortable, mattresses old, every pillows SO thin, all furniture and carpets in our room water damaged and in terrible condition. Noise from other rooms very, very loud. Windows did not seal properly which made noise from street unbearably loud. Made booking for 5 guests, upon arrival, only enough room for 4 guests, and made to pay for a rollaway bed which barely fit into room, complete with very old mattress.

    Great location within walking distance to tourist spots Good shower and large bathroom Nice staff on front desk Coffee machine in room was good

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    5.0
    Ear plugs on the night stand should have been a sufficient...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ear plugs on the night stand should have been a sufficient warning. Road noise all night long. Old building, so no real insulation from noises outside. Room was basically clean, but carpet, beds, decor are who knows how old. Funky smell as well even though all rooms are non smoking.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    3.8
    DONT BOTHER !
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We drove 450 miles from LA to stay in San Fran for a night ! Everything possible could have been better, I thought it looked nice on the photo, the place needs demolishing !!! Builders working, the site was a building site, the breakfast was three trays of cakes and coffee, and they put my family as close to the main 6 lane road as possible, and I mean CLOSE ! No common sense, no consideration for my family visiting of two adults and two children ! NEVER STAY HERE-THEY WOULD NEED TO PAY ME TO STAY !

    HORRIBLE, NOISY, OLD

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Location is great near parks, restaurants by foot. I had a great impression of the front desk attention, very professional. The property is well maintained. There is an elevator and free parking lot, which is awesome for SF. There is a small breakfast with some coffee, chocolate and tea and pastries, but everything was fresh and great. The room is super comfortable and clean with blackout curtains, great comfy bed, tv, fridge, microwave and coffee maker and a great hot shower.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    4.2
    There are many hotels on this street. I would never pick this one. Others also have a better value
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Met with several different staff members all of which were very lackluster. Not rude but unprofessional. Female representative was tired unconcerned and inattentive. Sounded awful on the phone no labeling of property when I called. Upon meeting her her appearance voice and attitude was the same. Seperate rep just as unenthused no one seemed happy to work here

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    8.3
    We really enjoy our stay and will be coming back if the price stays about the same.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The person that help us check in was either sick or on something, when she come out to the front she looks like she had been sleeping and she was not presentable at all. She was helpful I have to said that, but that was not a good first impression for us. The other thing was that there was some construction or remodel taking place so the parking area was dirty. One thing that really was a turn down was that we stayed in room 211 and when the upper floors used their shower or toilet we can hear the water coming down the walls, that was a drag late at night, I hope that not all the rooms have that issue.

    The place is in perfect central location and the room was comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    4.2
    Nightmare... worst San Fransisco Hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We booked a room for 5, got a room with 2 small double beds. They had no rollouts as they couldn't find it and they wouldn't change our room as the manager said no. So we slept with 3 kids in a small double bed. Was a complete nightmare. The breakfast is not a breakfast, is a table full of donuts. The noise from the construction was insane. Oh and the parking, sorry, not enough car spaces for the number of rooms. Was a complete nightmare. The manager was the biggest tool of all time. We asked for a refund as they sold us a 5 bedroom with 4 beds and he would not give us a refund. They even charge a $150 deposit, which they dont state on the website, and it took 8 days to be refunded. Seriously worst experience.

    Not much to like actually.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    8.3
    room is 吃了啊
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the Air Conditioner makes too much noise which is severely influence your sleep quality.

    the price is reasonable and the most important thing is they provide customers with free parking which is quite nice

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    7.5
    Location is everything and this was far enough away from the...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property was under construction and parking was very difficult due to it being Chinese New Year celebrations that weekend. The spots are meant for smaller vehicles but the staff was nice and allowed me to park my truck in a special spot.

    Location is everything and this was far enough away from the tourist trap but still within a few blocks of the major sites.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    6.3
    Not for me
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loud busy street, breakfast options terrible, uncomfortable beds and closet hangers were over mini fridge & microwave.

    Close to Ghirardelli Square and free WiFi & parking.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    9.2
    Overall it was a perfect location and we liked the accommodations
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn’t like that one staff member. She didn’t seem very helpful. We had questions regarding the map she gave us but she didn’t seem to know much about explaining it to us. We had to just figure things out. Not sure if she was rude or if it was just her personality.

    We like the location and the cleanness of the room.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    7.1
    The only problem we had was the construction maybe someone...
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only problem we had was the construction maybe someone could have worned us instead of getting woken up at 6:30 in the morning to drills in our walls .

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    5.8
    View and location was perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They told us we had cable access but didn't therefore we couldn't watch tv and then when going to the restroom there was a roach. Also needed more towels the night before but no assistance. When we checked out, we told front desk and he apologized but we were still charged the same rate.

    View and location was perfect! Walking distance to the pier.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    5.4
    Easy to find hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    New/Cleaner carpet!,,

    The breakfast consisted of a variety of pastries, doughnuts, and was better than expected. The room was large but the heavily stained carpet spoiled the appearance. Otherwise adequate.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    5.4
    Great location. Nothing more
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was a joke. Donuts and instant coffee. Really? Dated rooms Very limited parking. Had to leave car keys to front desk so they can move my car overnight

    Location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    5.0
    I wouldn't stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too small. The smoke from people smoking outside came in even with the windows closed. The people next to us were fighting and yelling all night. Couldn't sleep.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    4.6
    Never going back
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old facility with hardly any parking. Requested handicap accessible room, didn't get one. Lot of noise from street and rooms above. Flat pillows. Beds are shot. Room smelled horrible. Dust in corners, bedside table. Carpet was soaking wet. This is a great motel if you are willing to pay way too much for what you get, and if your expectations are very very low. Never going back. They did give me a 20% discount, but that still made for an expensive night to have wet feet, ruined socks, sore back, and an offended nose.... and for my dad to not be able to shower. There are other better, cheaper options close by!

    The location. Front desk staff were nice and tried to be as accommodating to the problems I encountered as their position allowed.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    7.9
    Excellent location!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too noisy. No view since our room is right next to the street. Our room was too small for 4 people + a baby. There was a fly in our room, even though we had it cleaned the next day, still there. Vending machine not working.

    Free parking. Walking distance to a lot of places. Good price. Free donuts/pastries.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    4.2
    Great location, room upgrade needed.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Should have told guests “under construction” couldn’t sleep at all. The location is good but owner needs to invest in room upgrades.

    Old and warn everything!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    4.2
    Would not go back ever. It was our 48th wedding anniversary and very disappointed!
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the bed was extremely hard. The construction should have been mentioned on their web site. the site said it was walking distance from the wharf...it was not!

    nothing really.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    10
    Great place and great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could have been better

    Everything. Staffs are friendly .very Clean and neat place. Location is great.. Walkable from fisherman wharf and crooked street. And many attractions.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    8.8
    All were good, especially the spacious, well-designed...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Just, not enough space for luggage/suitcases for 4 International,foreign travellers. Closet too small and not enough hangars for 4. If only there could be a big wall-cupboard with enough drawers to replace the round table/desk and big,bulky leather chair even tho' it was comfy. Another 2 small stools/chairs would be excellent at the round table for breakfast. Either that, or the owners could cover up the nice space behind the Reception/next to the Car-park where there was a vending-machine to transform it into a big Breakfast Room for all. Just NOT enough space for breakfast in the room even tho' the breakfast offered was good for starting the day.

    All were good, especially the spacious, well-designed bathroom with windows, enough towel-rails, 2 big hand-basins and toiletries. Everything vital and necessary was in the room, microwave to warm up the oats and water for tea; small fridge; iron and board; good cable and TV. The 24-hours Reception team were excellent and very helpful! Bravo! and thanks for the tips and answers to our "tourists" enquiries and requests! Plus the water and hot drinks on offer at the Reception was a nice and hospitable gesture.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    7.9
    Great location & a comfortable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    More fruit offered at breakfast for guests would be great, otherwise I can't think of anything that wasn't good.

    Great location. Close to lots of restaurants and a couple bars and walking distance to the top of the "crookedest street in the world" Lombard Street. Very comfortable beds and pleasant staff. Small breakfast of pastries, coffee and tea was adequate and there was fresh fruit the second morning (not enough for all guests but still a nice addition).

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    2.9
    Feel bad.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in 11. We booked 2nights. I think price incloud room clean service. I was waiting till so long to clean room. And amost 17:00 they come to room clean. (We leave some tipe for clean room. And Second day. They come to room so early in the morning 9:00.i was sleep in room. And At night room was so noisy. And contraction early in the morning. WiFi very bad. Very slow.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    10
    We had an enjoyable time and our hop on hop off bus stop was just down from the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could improve on the breakfast selection but a lot of hotels don’t even include breakfast and the continental breakfast that Francisco inn had was adequate.

    The hotel was comfortable and location was pretty good. Within walking distance of the Bay and fisherman‘s wharf! Staff was very friendly and helpful. The facility was very clean.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    7.1
    Good location & parking but rooms basic
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room decor was very basic and not in the best state of repair, walls are very thin so you could hear the people in surrounding rooms and traffic at the junction outside

    Parking was good and I was able to walk to most places easily from this location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    9.2
    Great location for sight seeing the San Francisco high lights.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived late evening and found both elevators out of service. Had to use the stairs to lug bags to the 4th floor -- not a pleasant experience. Management offered 10% discount for the first night.

    Location. Walking distance to the "crookedest" street in the world and other attractions. Many eateries in the neighborhood.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    8.8
    I loved the room! It made my first visit to San Francisco feel comfortable and complete!!!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The damn housekeeper stood at the door like 30 seconds looking at my man half naked after he yelled and told her to shut the door AT least 3 times !!! She was cackling and cheezing !! The breakfast menu could be more healthier but me and my fiancé are the crescants and oatmeal . ( I do I understand they have a small area to place breakfast)

    I loved the cleanliness I was afraid that I would end up in a dump . It's a small cozy room and I'd definitely stay next time I visit San Fran ;) !!!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    10
    This place was walking distance to restaurants and bars, it was quiet, would definately recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast, and the tv quality (but you won't be staying in the room for the tv, right?)

    The room was nice and cozy. Great location, would definately stay there again.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    7.1
    Cheap and clean but basic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nowhere to put luggage. The bathroom could be smaller to allow more space in the bedroom - the room would have been comfortable with one bed but two was very cramped. Pillows were really flat (I like a low pillow but they were too flat for me). The elevator is really old and the lights don't work on the buttons so it's hard to tell if it's coming. No transport information available and hard to find a cab though if you are used to US public transport it might be easier. Everyone we asked recommended Uber but we couldn't get USA Uber since we had Australian Uber and it didn't cross over using our US phone numbers

    It was clean. Bathroom is huge. I would recommend the hotel as a basic accommodation option and don't expect anything fancy. Partner, myself and two teeneagers walked about 4 blocks at 9pm to find dinner after arriving late and it seemed quite safe. Mostly residential neighbourhood aside from all the hotels. Basic USA doughnut breakfast provided.

    Stayed in November 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: