Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Freehand Miami 3 stars

2727 Indian Creek Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33140, USA

#147 of 417 hotels in Miami Beach

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2743 hostel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.5

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2018

    7.5
    Free towels for the beach, daily room cleaning, close to the...
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 8-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really bad wifi, breakfast was okay but not much room to eat in a very small kitchen. The Pool area got not enough place for every guest.

    Free towels for the beach, daily room cleaning, close to the beach

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2018

    8.8
    - Great interior and exterior
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 8-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - The bed blanket was a little short so it wouldn’t cover my whole body (I’m 5 ft 10) - It’s not right in the middle of everything, that being said it’s only a 5/10 min bus journey to the main Miami south beach. Or a 15/20 min walk

    - Great interior and exterior - Good breakfast - Can Rent bike daily for free for 2 hours

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2018

    8.8
    Location of the property is central depending on your reason...
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Use of the top bunks can be a little cumbersome.

    Location of the property is central depending on your reason for visiting Miami (Miami Carnival, Tours, Beach.. etc)

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2018

    7.5
    Great place to live it up in Miami.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The food and drink was expensive. The kitchen was small. I don't like the added resort fees. The price of a room should be the total price. What does a resort fee even mean? i.e. here is an extra charge because we feel like it!

    It was a social hotel with lots of friendly guests. I met new people with whom I visited Miami. Miami Beach is beautiful and the region has lots of interesting things to do. The pool area was lots of fun.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2018

    6.3
    Parking nightmare
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking our car has been a nightmare. No parking pass from the hotel, no garage close to it, and you couldn’t pay for the public parking for more then three hours. So we spent more time caring of paying for parking that joining our stay

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2018

    10
    Magic place, wonderful pool, great people and location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Magic place, wonderful pool, great people and location! I recommend specially for people who travels by yourself, because this is the best place to make new friends!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2018

    10
    Beautiful hotel, had everything we needed for this price point - we loved it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast was good just a little minimal for choice - cereal, fruit and toast.

    Great hotel, pool was great and the rooms were also very nice and comfortable. Common fridges in the guest kitchen were really handy loved the free cold brew in the lobby and all the outdoor areas were lovely.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2018

    8.8
    Great Stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    you have to take the miami trolley or uber to get to the city center / ocean drive / lincoln road mall etc.

    4 beds in the room and still enough private space. Really liked the atmosphare at the pool.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2018

    6.3
    Won’t be back but liked my stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The first room we got the A/C was broken and none of the extras had been put in the room. And at night if you aren’t staying in the main building you get ID’ed because the bar turns into a club almost with how many people were there. Barely any space to walk around and just over crowded.

    It was absolutely beautiful on the inside. The employees were always a great help.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2018

    7.9
    Felt like It wasn't a hostel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 8-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing is there are not many places to eat around but I didnt really care. You just can hop on a trolley or bus and go somewhere else. There is also a market you can buy food so you can cookat the hotel.

    Is one of the nicest hostels I have ever been. It had a great atmosphere. The kitchen was big and nice. All areas were nice. I stay in 8 female dorm and the room had enough space there were 2 bathrooms inside which was nice to not go all the way outside. And the beds I was shock to find were very comfortable that I was not expecting. It easy to reach by bus from the airport also.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2018

    9.6
    Perfect Miami hostel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 8-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The building were well maintained but are quite old. Had to change rooms 2x due to broken AC or shower

    Superb location, close to the beach and the free trolley stops right in front of the hostel. Pool and bar area are nice and the perfect spot to meet other travelers and hang out.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2018

    9.6
    The place is nice, the location is very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed planket was the only thing that I didn’t like. It’s small even for me, and it’s hard. Not very cozy, not veru comfortable.

    The place is nice, the location is very good. The rooms are nice. The pool Area is super cute. I very liked my stay at freehand. Would always go back.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    10
    The freehand has a great friends staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 13 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The freehand has a great friends staff. Wonderful accommodations especially for such a low price. It was spotless upon my arrival. The bar is a great watering hole to meet people from all over and have some amazing drinks. If I could give them an 11 out of 10 I would

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2018

    10
    Really nice hostel! :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kitchen is kind of small for so many people and the equipment was poor, it was sometimes problem just to find one knife or something.

    Nice place for young people, really good location near the beach, shops, restaurants and bars. Also nice pool and garden for chilling. Staff is also very friendly.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2018

    7.5
    The decoration.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The WiFi signal is too weak on the second floor and (even in the lobby) when connected the connection is too slow. The breakfast. It is known that it is continental, but it is of the lowest quality one could find. Moreover, the available space seems tiny for the number of people who use it. The bathrooms (hostel room) need to be renovated. Also, there was no hand soap. No fresh air could be circulated in the rooms.

    The decoration. Location (including the connection by bus with the airport)

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    7.9
    A good location with nice food and cocktails.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit too hipster for my liking. Full of girls instagramming. Showers were not that clean and several sockets and bedside lights didn't work.

    A good location with nice food and cocktails. Beds were comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    6.7
    I really liked the pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No towels. And I had an allergic reaction to that little blanket. Hives and bumps all over me. I was itching all night and it was super hot!

    I really liked the pool And bae area, small pool but nice!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    8.8
    wonderful garden area and pool to relax!
    • Group
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the a/c in the room was really loud, we almost did not sleep. you had the feeling, there was a truck in the room. we told the staff, but nothing happened...

    wonderful garden area and pool to relax!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    9.6
    Beach in the morning. Pool in the Afternoon. Drinks at night!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 8-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A slight musty smell in the air. And the bathrooms need absorbent mats.

    The atmosphere was great. The pool a definite bonus and the staff super friendly. It seems like a great place to stay with friends because you have bar and restaurant on location, but still super cool when traveling alone.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    10
    Fantastic hotel in Miami Beach - with a great bar right next door.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    We loved everything ! The place in an absolute gem - the bed is extra comfy, the staff is helpful, and the Broken Shaker bar just next door is an asbolute blast to hang out in.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    9.6
    Great!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Distance probably is not the closest to OCean Drive however, you can go around easily. Omar

    Everything was great!!! Thanks everyone for such a great experience.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    5.0
    Not a good experience. I don't recommend. There are better places around.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 8-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When booking there was no information about extra charge. I was surprised with the charge of 50 dollars extra, as a "guarantee" for loss or robery! They didn't want to give me back the money. There was no towel. No soap or shampoo, they offer only water for bath!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    9.6
    Magic place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 8-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s even impossible to describe that great atmosphere around this hostel by words, you should feel it (especially the swimming pool area with the bar and a lot of lamps on the trees in the evening). Also, the staff are nice, rooms are clean and fully furnished. The location is truly perfect, you can reach the beach in 5 min only as well as close to a lot of shops, bars, etc. Really recommend!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    8.3
    I'll be back...!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The alcohol is a bit pricey. A beer cost nearly $10 with a room being $30 No hot water in the shower

    Comfy & clean bed with blanket, good AC, morning yoga, friendly staff and unbelievable nighttime atmosphere.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    9.2
    Very nice stay, quad room with private bathroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The music at bar/ pool area high till 2am... kitchen where breakfast is served should be in a bigger place.

    Very nice stay, quad room with private bathroom.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    10
    Great stay at Freehand Miami
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Private Suite (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the light in the bathroom is not that strong

    Very nice room, friendly staff, easy atmosphere, the drinks from the bar, the lobby. Freehand Miami is awesome!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    10
    Such a beautiful relaxing place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Our group of people in our 50s, 60s and 20s all loved the building, the rooms and massive comfortable beds, the beautiful garden and great music. A friendly relaxing place.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    8.8
    The Place to Stay in Miami Beach!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The outside of the building - it really doesn't match the inside. If you were to "judge by its covers" you would be missing out!

    It's very bohemian looking - which on the outside may look like a crappy place. But inside everything was clean, green and spacious. I loved our room - it was big clean and comfortable. The staff was great! And the restaurant (27)... the food was to die for. What I like the most was the scene - you had everything there... bar, rest, lounge, pool, room and the beach a few feet away. If you are not into the hip-hop overcrowded scene of Ocean Drive - this was a really good oasis to escape to.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    8.3
    Great hostel. Great location. Easy transport links and a pool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booked an early morning trip with reception to Key West and got told to wait at a nearby bus stop and to look out for a bus with Miami Tours written on the side. Waited in the rain. No bus. The minibus had gone to the hotel and went to Key West without me! Very easy to get to the airport on 150 bus and then you can take a Greyhound Bus which is what I ended up doing. Double check departure point if you book any trips!

    Great location. Spacious shared four person dorm with private bathroom. Lovely pool. Cool iguana.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    10
    Location, very clean, bar specials great, pool area great,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could be much better, kitchen facilities not the best, coffee not readily available always

    Location, very clean, bar specials great, pool area great, rooms fantastic, comfortable

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    9.6
    Very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 8-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some parts of the hostel need more maintenance, for example the chairs in the pool, the rugs in the floor hallways and inside the elevator, etc.

    Great location, very good bar, facilities were nice and staff was very friendly.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    9.2
    Please READ!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were so excited because of all the amenities that was provided on your menu upon arrival yet we were disappointed to see it was false. What I didn’t like was 1 they offer beach chairs, and coolers yet non are available at all! 2 we stayed in an actual room NOT the hostel room yet they have on the cork-board in our room a great happy hour advertisement for their happy hour, yet it’s “ONLY HOSTEL GUESTS” can go to it. I don’t know about you but I’m paying WAY more than a hostel guest yet I cannot get the happy hour perks????....that’s crazy I’m paying more than hostel guests!!!! Now on the room service cleaning i’m not sure how it’s set up but we place the “tidy up the room tag on the door knob“ and all the times I had to call the front desk to request the service. Don’t get me wrong it’s a great hotel but they NEED to iron somethings out.

    What I liked was the location, the pool and the overall people.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    5.8
    Bad experience, we leave the day after, suitable for twenty-something guys with thick wallet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Price

    Valuation for the beach is about disgusting and rotten egg-stinking red algies spread all over Florida beaches, from Tampa to Fort Lauderdale even down to the Keys. Only Daytona beach was algie free, obviously the hostel doesn't have anything to do about it. By the way the accomodation is really too expensive for what they offer, never ever again, much expensive even than a 4 stars hotel.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    7.5
    I was traveling with my nephew and we had rented an airbnb.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was traveling with my nephew and we had rented an airbnb. We arrive to the airbnb and it is condemned. We found FreeHand on a whim. I loved the property. Everyone was very nice. We enjoyed the retro/chic style. I'll definitely see them again!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    7.9
    Friendly and great value hostel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 8-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Don't bother with the breakfast though. Also- plastic cutlery that just gets thrown away after use!? Really? Come on guys!

    I really liked the vibe of this hostel and their cool bar and outside area with the pool. I liked that not only guests get to visit bar and pool but Miami locals since this meant I met some lovely locals celebrating a birthday. Just made my stay feel more authentic. The dorms were good and mine (8 bed) had 2 ensuite bathrooms which was handy.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    6.7
    Party hotel, not a real hostel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I traveled a lot and I'm used to stay in hostels. This place is more like an hotel-bar. You can barely find the gear to cook there. It's a party hostel, very noisy at night.

    My bed was comfortable and more private than many dorm's beds I've slept in. The hostel is well decorated.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    9.2
    I liked there was a bathroom inside the room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 8-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked there was a bathroom inside the room. The room was clean and comfortable. The location was great. You can take Express Bus 150 directly to this place from the airport, and it only costs a few dollars. Near beach and supermarket. I will definitely recommend this place if my friends are visiting Miami Beach:)

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    8.8
    magic with fun and comfort.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 8-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    every thing is good about it.

    Hi, Free hand Miami is perfect place to stay if going for holidays, location is great, comfort and services are great, bus drop and pic up is one minute walk, grocery and beer store is 2 minute walk, regards

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    5.8
    Great pool and comfy bed - 1 night stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No parking!!!!!!!! There is no where to park at this property unless you wanna pay US$25+!! The staff had no idea where to recommend to park for overnight and really had no idea - (seemed a little woo woo high if you know what I mean) We parked at a nearby hotel called the arc I think and was $25 a night and you can get your car at any time and whenever. The parking nearby is 3hrs max and you need to be a US citizen to be able to use the app to pay for more as we couldn’t even get past the sign up stage. Amenities were average. Was quiet loud with music as there is a quiet well known bar / pub food inside. We didn’t really mind but it would get annoying

    The property was a very hostel type.. we loved that pool and that the bed was comfy and clean! That’s about it. The pool area was amazing, such a cool set up and the bar downstairs has some good food. The room was somewhat clean but had a typical musty hostel smell which was the let down. Bed was comfy and shower was good so that was a plus - our room also had a fridge which was nice. The room is very small. Again only good thing - the outside area and pool - great for a 1 night stay ONLY! Full of cheap tourists that probably think this is up to standard for them.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    5.8
    Decent
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I did not like the organization of the hostel. They moved all my stuff without notifiying. I have booked the room from one date to another and nobody told me I was going to be moved. I do have to say that the manager was really nice and he has helped me with issues I had during the trip. If they improved those little details. It would be a stunning place.

    I liked the fact that I share the room with amazing people.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    7.5
    Great Pool and bar area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Breakfast was pretty modest, sugary cereal, orange juice, orange, toast. But that aside it was all good.

    Great Pool and bar area. Food from the hotel was good too. location excellent for beaches. Bikes available to hire worked well.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    6.7
    Location, beautiful hotel, swimming pool, great room, free...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff not friendly at all. No smiles and quite arrogant. They have an amazing patio but in the evening all tables are reserved for outside guests. So you cannot enjoy it. Drinks are quite expensive and they automatically charge a 20% tip but provide very poor service. We couldn't sit on a chair in the patio, they were not occupied but reserved for outside guests later in the evening, so we had to order at the bar, take our drinks with us and find a place to sit somewhere else, but still give them 5USD tip. That's not ok.

    Location, beautiful hotel, swimming pool, great room, free bikes

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    10
    One Night staying at Freehand Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was pretty good. Maybe the wifi could have been better in the rooms, but its just a detail.

    The atmosphere is very good. The common areas and bedrooms are great. The breakfast was also something to pinpoint.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    9.6
    Great location, excellent vibe
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Ran out of breakfast one morning O_o

    Unreal vibe for a hostel/hotel. Staff were super friendly and the outdoor poor adds some great charm to the property. Fridasy and Satrurday evenings vith the bar open to outside guests adds a really neat vibe, highly recommend.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    5.0
    Nice hotel real good vibe to it .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The drinks at the bar completely over prized . Very expensive. The reception staff can be slightly rude sometimes .

    Nice hotel real good vibe to it . Clean and a bit retro

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    7.9
    Amazing hostel - huge grounds with a lovely outdoor pool...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 8-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was pretty rubbish - choice of sugary cereal or stale scones. The rooms were a good size but would benefit from a curtain on each bed to increase privacy. Wifi was hit and miss and during my two days there the front desk was frequently unmanned for up to 25 minutes at a time with people having to loiter in the lobby for assistance.

    Amazing hostel - huge grounds with a lovely outdoor pool area, popular bar in the evening and really comfortable and large beds with private charging ports and light. Only 3 mins walk to mid beach. I loved that they offered a free morning yoga class on the beach Saturday morning - really great.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    10
    The outside/garden area is very authentic, the staff is...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • King Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast is a bit poor and the space is tiny but it is ok.

    The outside/garden area is very authentic, the staff is very friendly and it has a great vibe.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    9.6
    Nice place, kind staff, close to the beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The room was quite big, and bed was very comfortable, the cleaning lady came every day to our room. Pool was also great, and the bar on site too. Location just 3 minutes walking from the beach and boardwalk.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    8.3
    It’s not about the property itself, but the hostels it self...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s not about the property itself, but the hostels it self you may sometimes find yourself with the wrong person in the same room. Like I had for 1 night

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    5.4
    I wouldn’t recommend this hotel to anyone!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premium Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were bugs running running around the room, then the room was dirty dust and spider webs all behind the pillows like it hasn’t been clean in months. I told the staff about the bugs and they tried to justify it saying there’s no entry way for bugs to get in when we clearly had videos. The manager gave us 25% off our stay still not worth it. We all went home with bites all over our body and had to go to the laundry mat before we took our clothes back home! I wish I was able to post the videos but booking only allows photos.

    The concept of the hotel was nice.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    8.3
    very enjoyable
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    the bathroom needs to be renewed.

    I had a great time at the free hand. It is in mid-beach which is kind of far from the noisiest area, which is great if like me you are travelling for work. The hostel had a great chilled hipster vibe, the bar and the restaurant were nice as well. The hostel also had many activities going on everyday, ranging from yoga on the beach to themed dinners and happy hours. The staff was incredibly helpful and always very polite. I have not tried the pool myself but I can rate the beach in mid-Beach (closest to the hostel) very highly as it is quite quiet and clean (especially with respect to south beach ones). The rooms are really clean and the 4-bed configuration allows for the best experience and maximum respect for each of the guests.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    7.5
    Good overall but watch out for cleanliness
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room hadn’t been fully cleaned when we arrived. It appeared as though someone had checked into the room earlier, slept in one of the beds, took a shower, and then left the room (or switched rooms) before we checked in. We found hair all over the shower, nail polish flakes and wrinkled bed linens on one of the beds (as though someone had slept in the bed and the sheets hadn’t been changed). While the reception staff was apologetic and called housekeeping immediately when we told them, the housekeeper who came to the room seemed reluctant to clean the room and change the sheets. This was the first time I’ve encountered a situation like this at a hotel.

    Cool vibe, good location that’s close to things but not in the thick of it. Pool and bar were very nice places to hang out.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    10
    Loooove this place 😍🤩🦎🔝❤️
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Bed in 4-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loooove this place 😍🤩🦎🔝❤️ All your stuff were lovely to me and You make my stay amazing ! Thanx God to meet you ❤️ if I could give you milion star I wish to give ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️🌟🌟 Am missing you guys already which means just couple weeks and I must be back 😜😜😜

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    8.8
    Positive! Miami vibes, great team- cool place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    More direction of what’s available in the hotel- restaurant is attached which we didn’t realise, breakfast was available (for free) which is great but we would of only known where to find this due to our room being next door- a little more intro

    Huge bed! Super comfy and great sized room- air con was superb and a nice relief after a very hot July day! Perfect location 5 min walk from the main Miami Beach strip- beach even closer (city bikes available outside which was a great/cheaper way to explore the beach side walks) Bar is great and allows you the option to stay in the hotel all night if your prefer- bar tenders very chatty and helpful

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    8.3
    I loved that they offer extra storage space “lockers”...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn’t like that you can’t swim during the evening and night. I could understand if you were a child then sure but most places in Miami let you swim anytime you like. Their prices to stay was very reasonable but unfortunately they had a problem with cockroaches in the bedroom. It was minor but we were still concerned about our luggage. Can’t really complain though it’s like any other city, they have them pretty much everywhere.

    I loved that they offer extra storage space “lockers” outside the room. (Bring your own lock). You have a small fridge in your room but if you can’t fit everything in there, then there’s a huge fridge in the kitchen area where you can store anything you want. They offer complimentary small breakfast for free. The vibe was awesome! Lots of trees and plants inside the common areas perfect for relaxation. Nice art work in the walls. People were nice. They have options for single rooms and shared rooms. I had a king room and we had plenty of privacy. The office people were very nice and down to earth. Helped us with anything we needed.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    7.5
    Thank you FreeHand
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No replace of soap. Towels on 2nd day removed and not replaced but on 3nd day at least they put new towels.

    Accommodation is good at all... it is likely to bagpackers or young people. Good party at pool and bars. Noise will not going to your room...

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    10
    Hands down the best in Miami Beach
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was amazing !

    The staff are amazing ; the restaurant is amazing - the vibes are chill and the total opposite for the obnoxious Miami Ocean Drive vibe!! Bar Staff at the Broken Shaker - hands down best hospitality

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    10
    Loved my stay great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 8-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There could of been more of cooked breakfast , there’s not enough food left for all guests coming to breakfast , would of loved for it to be more replenished

    Very affordable for my stay in Miami , I was never really there but it’s so secluded better than any hostel

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    4.6
    Tax resort, but no resort
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Poor breakfast, rude staff, guests cannot be around the pool during the night (it's a bar, not welcoming for guests).

    Good beds, good location, nice pool area during the day.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    7.9
    We had a big quad room for our family, which was very large...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Private Suite (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    With a kitchen, there should be a sponge and soap to do dishes. We were told to go buy them, which isn’t standard when you pay the extra for a kitchen for 2 nights. The breakfast needs to be improved also. There’s too many people trying to get into a very small space to toast white bread. Our shower was also not functional and needed to be fixed.

    We had a big quad room for our family, which was very large and comfortable, with a small kitchen and living room. You can walk to the beach and restaurants. The grounds and courtyard were lovely.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    10
    Fun, sun, and affordable!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price was good, prime location. The guests and hotel staff were nice and friendly. I enjoyed my stay gsre as there were many local things to do and only a short walk to the beach.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    7.5
    Freehand Miami is housed in a beautiful old Art Deco...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was disorganized and lacking. Bedrooms should not be facing public or common areas.

    Freehand Miami is housed in a beautiful old Art Deco building. The landscaping and garden area where the Boneshaker bar is located is perfect. The staff were also excellent -- very accommodating and helpful. Beyond this though, I was underwhelmed with the pool and room. Our room was ground level facing the common area where people eat breakfast and generally hang out. That means we couldn't open our curtains at all during our stay (lest we look straight at folks smoking, eating, playing cards, etc.) and the room had poor lighting. That also meant we had trouble sleeping at night because people were hanging out right outside the bedroom window drinking and being loud. If we were placed in a room on a higher floor, this probably wouldn't have been a problem. Also, breakfast was mini muffins, toast, and yoghurt, FYI in case you're looking for something more hearty. Despite these things, we enjoyed our stay, especially spending time in the garden terrace.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    5.0
    Location was good, 3 min to the ocean
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Bed bugs - I got bites allover my body Breakfast - It usually didn't go on time, and the choice was poor Freezing cold lobby, you can't seat there without a jacket, and stuff said they have no key for it, so they can do nothing about it (good care about customers)

    Location was good, 3 min to the ocean Lobby Tropical Design - love the style, feels the atmosphere of the place

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    7.1
    Pool is actually a bar and guests are not welcome there
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The pool area is actually a bar. You are not allowed to eat or drink there and the bar is expensive. In general, all guests stay in the kitchen area which is not nice and the pool area stays with lots of non-guests people. Really strange situation. The bar staff was also very rude telling us we couldn't drink there (which still makes no sense to me).

    Comfy bed, good wifi.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    8.8
    Go-to place in Miami Beach!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was clean as I arrived, however during my stay noone has come to clean it, hence the bathroom, i.e., got pretty dirty

    It‘s great for meeting people and fellow travellers. The location is good and you don‘t actually have to walk too far to get to places. At night the poolarea turns into a bar so there‘s always something going on.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    3.3
    Freehand miami stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff not too friendly, toilet dirty and with problems to take shower. Simple breakfast with potencial to improve.

    Garden and the swiming pool are very atrractive and cosy.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    10
    Great place to stay !
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 8-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast area was close and crowded in the morning and refrigerator had very little ( no) space to store items .

    The hotels atmosphere was upbeat and friendly . The room spacious and comfortable and the staff pleasant and helpful .

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    2.9
    Terrible place
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One of the worst!!! I am experienced traveler and use hostels all over the world but this one is a crap! Very dirty!! The rooms are in terrible condition, nobody is care about all the dirt and dust. The conditioner is very noisy. The shower was leaking, I asked the management 3 times to fix it since the water was running all the time making noise. Nobody come. The receptionist offered me ear plugs for free. Such a nonsense!

    Cool bar and cafe

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    8.3
    The ambiance, the decoration, the bar, the restaurant, the...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No pressure in the shower, a little noisy at night with the bar, very basic breakfast

    The ambiance, the decoration, the bar, the restaurant, the pool and the friendly staff. 2 blocks from the beach.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    9.2
    Perfect place to stay, Don't waste your time booking anywhere else.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 4-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The halls and rooms smelled slightly like mildew. Most older buildings in the area smell the same, There should be air freshers or carpet should be cleaned.

    Loved the outside sitting area with bar and restaurant.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    5.0
    Well situated, with bus, Uber you can reach everything...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Private Suite (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The accommodation is ok for young people looking for some adventure in Miami Beach. Our room (Private Suite...) was big, but with bunk beds, not ideal with small children. Unfortunately cleaning was very poor (sand everywhere, hairs...), and breakfast took place in a tiny kitchen where 20 to 30 people at the same time tried to get something from the very small buffet. Pool quite hairy too...

    Well situated, with bus, Uber you can reach everything easily. Very nice garden!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    9.6
    Mid beach, on bus route from airport, drinks deals and nice pool
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Premium Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could have had more explanation from staff, but were perfectly friendly and helpful when approached.

    Great pool, room was fine, good location near mid beach, good price, fun place with like minded people

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    9.6
    I really like this place , it’s near the beach, near the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lock for the storage need to buy myself.

    I really like this place , it’s near the beach, near the Subway, Starbucks, market and the bus station. They have a good pool there, also can meet a lot of people, the bar there is nice. They clean every day, and the price for me is very good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    5.0
    The location is ok with a nice pool and poolbar.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no parking available at the hotel!! You can park at a public park area and go there every 3 hours to pay or in a hotel nearby for around 40$ per day! They authorized my credit card 2 times without telling me! I couldnt use my card anymore! The only thing they told me that i will get back the money in a few days or weeks! What?!?! The breakfast was more or less ok... toast, mini muffins, orange juice and coffee. The breakfast room was very croudy every day. There was a construction site next to the hotel. It was very loud all day. I know its not the hotels fault, but if you go there the next days/weeks it may not the right place for you if you want to relax. The air condition in the room is very loud! Couldnt use it at night. The 4-bedrooms are very small!

    The location is ok with a nice pool and poolbar. Close to the beach.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    3.8
    Worst place ever!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff is incompetent and can’t not help you at all when you want a simple upgrade. They don’t have an overlook over their finance and do not tell you that they authorize a certain amount of money on your credit card until you can not use it anymore. Plus on booking.com they say that there is parking, when there not. When asked they say you can do valet parking for 45 USD a day, or go to 16th street, which is 18 USD a day. Total hoax. Never again! And we were not the only guests they were messing with. Seriously don’t go there!

    Stayed in May 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Freehand Miami traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: