Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of French Quarter Inn 4 stars

166 Church Street, Historic District, Charleston, SC 29401, USA

#1 of 89 hotels in Charleston

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 250 hotel reviews

9.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.9

  • Comfort

    9.9

  • Location

    9.9

  • Facilities

    9.7

  • Staff

    9.8

  • Value for money

    9

  • Free WiFi

    9.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    8.3
    Great location, right in the heart of Charleston, we enjoyed our stay but not great value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the savoury portion of breakfast wasn't great- the boiled eggs were so overcooked they had the horrible grey rim around the yolk, the pastries were stale. The room was very nice, but a bit smaller than expected for the amount you pay for this place. Also the $32 parking is a bit steep considering how much you're paying each night, so we left our car nearby for $18/24h instead. The reception staff were helpful, but there was a bit of a snooty vibe to them.

    The location is incredible, couldn't ask for more with regards to this. The guys at the door were very nice. Champagne at check in and breakfast is a nice touch, as it the sweets by reception that changes each day. Breakfast was partly great- the fruit and granola and the tea/coffee selection were nice. Sitting out in the courtyard for breakfast was lovely. Very nice toiletries in the room! We really enjoyed our stay here, but the value for money isn't great.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    9.6
    I absolutely loved every single thing about this hotel...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was not very impressed by the ala carte breakfast items.

    I absolutely loved every single thing about this hotel except for the breakfast. The staff was amazing and the accommodations were outstanding. It was a truly wonderful weekend.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    9.6
    Excellent hotel with all the amenities centrally located
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had a little trouble finding the valet parking. The street it was located on was not marked. Although the breakfast was good, it seemed to be redundant after a few days.

    Service was great. The concierge Jessica helped us plan activities for our stay including making reservations for us. The valet service was excellent along with room service. Loved the warm cookies at night. Best of all was location. We were able to walk almost everywhere.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    9.6
    Great place to stay in Charleston
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being woken at 7.30am for an air conditioning change. Were notified that it would start at 8 am with minimal inconvenience- wasn't the case but hotel were very apologetic.

    Breakfast had variety.Evening wine and nibbles to look forward to. Port and cocoa was an extra treat. Staff very knowledgeable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    10
    Southern Comfort at the French Quarter Inn (Charleston SC)
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Corner King Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I recently decided to visit Charleston SC, and after reviewing several travel sites, I chose the French Quarter Inn as my hotel because of it’s proximity to major historical sites, photogenic opportunities, restaurants in the area, and very favorable hotel reviews. I was not disappointed. The Battery, St Patrick’s Church, Rainbow Row, the City Market, major carriage companies, and the Charleston harbor are all within a very short walk of the French Quarter Inn. In addition, the personnel were all very friendly and attentive to my travel needs. The French Quarter Inn has a daily complementary breakfast, a wine & cheese hour, and late night cookies & in-room chocolate candies. This was my first time in Charleston, but my experience at the French Quarter Inn makes me want to return.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    9.6
    An amazing and relaxing stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing.

    The hotel was a pleasure to stay in. The staff were extremely helpful. The rooms were nice and the hotel was central to all amenities in the French Quarter of Charleston. On arrival a glass of champagne is offered and indeed this is available throughout your stay from reception. Breakfast was included in the room rate and was available in your room or in reception area. It was continental but offered an excellent selection. Every evening at 5.30 a cheese and wine reception is there for guests along with a very helpful concierge. Then at 8.30 there are cookies and milk and Port available for guests. Coffee and tea were laid out on each floor from 6am until 12am.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    10
    Highly recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The GPS and Church St address is not the main entrance for valet parking.

    The included breakfast was an array of premium smoked salmon; artisan bread, gourmet cheese; organic freshly made yogurt; excellent quiche and Parisian chocolate croissants and pastries. Every service was more than expected. Genuine caring by all staff was evident. We average 12-14 different hotels/yr. Some with similar prices, but certainly the FQI surpasses all other experiences.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    10
    Lovely Easter weekend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Coffee served on each floor in the morning . Wonderful idea; however, coffee should have been better quality.

    Service wonderful. Staff extremely helpful. Room comfortable and luxurious. Location convenient to all sites. Breakfast, evening cocktail hour were well done. Thanks to Anise and Mattie for their hospitality!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    10
    We loveed this welcoming inn for its helpful staff, comfort, location, and attractiveness.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to leave such a wonderful inn!

    Staff were extremely helpful in providing restaurant and other information. We were surprised with a full bottle of champagne for my birthday and local chocolates were placed in our room with the daily turn down service. A lovely breakfast with pastries, egg soufflés, cheeses and meats, juices and coffee, and champagne were available every morning. From 5:30-6:30 PM was wine and cheese time, and 8:30-10 PM port, milk, and homemade cookies were available. Candy and almond cookies were available all day. The hotel is in the heart of the historic area and rooms were attractive, clean and comfortable. We would stay here again and highly recommend the French Quarter Inn to others.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    9.6
    Loved the breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved the breakfast! It was so nice to have such a varied selection of food and a great atmosphere. My husband was thrilled with the milk and cookies in the evening.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    9.2
    Nice, relaxing get-away but wish we had better weather!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Snow kept most shops and restaurants closed our entire stay. Same for tours and carriage rides. This, of course, was not the hotel’s fault.

    All snacks, drinks and staff were great. Snow was awesome!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    10
    A stronly recommendable hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Keep a better eye on the breakfast buffet, so that the guests do not have to ask for items, which have run out ( which I had to do every morning )

    The staff was extremely polite, kind and service minded. The entire hotel is very tastefully decorated and our junior suite was perfect. For sure a fantastic hotel.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    9.6
    Great location;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Queen Room - Disable Access
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Could have done without the storm!! No complaints for the Hotel

    Great location; very helpful staff particularly thro the recent snow storm; they were great.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    7.5
    Comfortable room, Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Valet parking is not secure. Low toilet

    Good location, complimentary breakfast, Detox and Lavender Lemon water, wine and cheese in the afternoon, Coffee and Tea on every floor for quick access in the morning. Great idea!!!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    10
    Highly recommended. Great value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Traditional Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was ample but didn’t meet our young adult daughter’s expectations. But she’s quite picky.

    Location was fabulous. We enjoyed the happy hour each night too (delicious wine and cheeses) by the fireplace. Staff was truly welcoming and so friendly and knowledgeable. Our room was s nice size S d the beds were very comfortable. Turn down service included chocolates. The coffee station outside our room each morning was wonderful.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    7.1
    Nice facility, overpriced for what you get and lacking necessary amenities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Corner King Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For the money ($750) Room should have been larger with sitting area and double vanity. Big miss was lack of room service. Will not return due to these items.

    Pillow selection, Freindly Staff, Location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    10
    We arrived early and they had our room waiting with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Traditional Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast wasn't really kid friendly,they were hoping for eggs,grits and bacon,like other hotels,but there was cereal,yogurt and fruit, so it was fine.

    We arrived early and they had our room waiting with Champagne for me! Everyone was so friendly and welcoming. It is the perfect spot in Charleston.We walked to our College of Charleston Tour,walked to all shopping and eateries. We will definetly be back. It was my older son's birthday and they sent Champagne to the room. I loved the bedtime cookies and milk for the kids and port wine for me. They even brought water,ice and chocolates to the room. The bath robes were a nice touch too.! Oh and coffee and tea outside the room,a candy dispenser and fresh fruit,even free bikes!I can't say enough great things-even a pillow of your choice.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    9.6
    Wonderful stay. Would definitely go back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only thing I can recommend is that when the night staff brings the chocolate to your room, that it be wrapped. We didn't eat it because we felt it was unsanitary.

    Everyone who worked at the hotel was wonderful and accommodating. Beds were beyond comfortable. Shower was great.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    9.6
    Friendly staff and extremely private and quiet room. I never heard another guest from my room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wish check in were earlier than 4pm.

    The attention to detail by the staff was superb. The champagne upon arrival was what I needed after a long drive.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    10
    The French Quarter Inn is a cherished memory that will not be forgotten.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only downside was valet personnel were not around when we needed service. We had to go upstairs to hotel reception to ask how we get valet.

    We travel a lot. Your hotel was suburb in every way. Cleanliness, decor, free breakfast that was fresh and satisfying, cheese and wine hour (included), cookies and milk hour and coffee right outside our room in the am. Newspapers, room amenities abound.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    8.8
    Great way to experience Charleston
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service a bit variable based on individual staff remember. Most were great. "Included breakfast" was fine but tended to run out of things a bit later in the morning.

    Really Charleston-like setting in a perfect location. Very friendly. Beautiful and well appointed rooms.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    7.5
    Wish it was longer!
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Would have liked to meet more people at the hotel. Like social hour- folks were not there due to hurricane.

    Bed was incredible. Loved the check in service and the glass of champagne. This will be a difficult decision is returning to try a different hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    10
    Highly recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints

    Place was immaculate! Great Service! Daily wine and and eatables hour! A coffee and tea table was outside your room early in morning and of coarse location was excellent. We were able to walk everywhere.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    9.6
    Complimentary breakfast reception had a variety of food and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Complimentary breakfast reception had a variety of food and champagne. The mini quiche was so creamy! And the late afternoon reception with wine, and meats and cheese plus the evening reception with desserts and port wine. All complimentary and delicious.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    6.7
    Nice, but I'll not stay there again, there are way better options down the street for the same money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Valet parking $30 a night!!!!! No pool Our bed smelled like smoke, to me... my husband said it smelled like something else...

    The staff were great, really friendly and helpful. loved a little set up for breakfast, lunch and night snack

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    9.2
    Wonderful experience!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The decor of the place feels outdated. Maybe it's for the Lowcountry theme, but it feels a bit like 1980's Granny. Though, that did not take away from our stay at all.

    The complimentary champagne at check in was delightful. The afternoon tea time was great! And it had high quality food and drinks. The staff were great! Very friendly and helpful!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    7.5
    HIGHLY RECOMMENDED
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Corner King Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Best level of service from all the hotels we stayed at through our 2-week tour of the Southern states. Comfortable room with outdoor seating area. Free use of bicycles. Excellent central location. Wonderful (and quality) champagne on arrival. Substantial cheese and wine, cookies, etc in the evening. Would definitely stay again on returning to Charleston. All staff friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    10
    The balcony is worth it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Corner King Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Every single member of the staff greeted us every time they encountered us. They made every attempt to satisfy any request we had. Our room was constantly being prepared for our next time to the room. The free delivered breakfast was outstanding and the little snacks throughout the day made each day special. We had a room with a balcony and we ate breakfast there every morning. I highly recommend this hotel. It was within walking distance of everything! Great location! Great staff and accommodations.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Corner King Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not the best hotel front view....

    Location brrakfast friendly staff but not too close for comfort... the lovely coloured lady hosting afternoon snack was such a pleasure... like she is wlecoming you to her home... the guys watching the doors outside are cool and friendly....

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    9.2
    I loved every single thing inside the French Quarter!
    • Family with young children
    • Traditional King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only complaint is the God awful stench outside of the French Quarter Inn coming from restaurant/bar trash located directly in front of the hotel! That combined with the horse urine smell on the street made it unbearable!

    I loved every single thing inside the French Quarter! Customer service was exceptional!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    7.1
    Nice, quiet, comfortable stay but no restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights

    There is no bar and no restaurant. In compensation a free continental buffet is served in the foyer and free wine and cheese, plus cold meat, nuts etc served every day 5.30 - 6.30. However the breakfast is feeble, not a lot of choice and mediocre patisserie. In the evening the cheese is awful, Americans just don't seem to get cheese, and the wine was a basic table wine. Anyhow, though the gesture is appreciated, I don't really want to eat food and drink wine not long before I go out to dinner.

    Staff very friendly. Room cleaning and turndown service excellent. Location very good and the hotel was very quiet and peaceful. The room was spacious and comfortable, a nice bathroom with separate shower and the shower gel was restocked every day, something even 5 star hotels sometimes don't manage, for reasons that escape me completely.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    10
    Beautiful hotel in heart of Charleston
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Queen Room - Disable Access
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wish there was easier access to upper floors from 1st floor. Had to wait for elevator to go 1 floor - this is minor, however.

    Wonderful, helpful staff; excellent breakfasts; perfect location.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    10
    If you are looking for perfection ,Look no further than The French Quarter Inn.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn't one single thing that wasn't absolutely perfect. Entire staff delightful. Everyone helpful. All of the extras from the champagne to the cookies. This Best place in Charleston.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    10
    The French Quarter Inn gave us the true feeling of friendly, courteous, hospitality of Charleston.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The patio has tables and chairs for the guests, because they are Iron the chairs are not very comfortable. I would suggest putting chair pads on them it would easily solve the comfort problem. A suggestion, A "sign" would be helpful on the ground floor just inside the door where the valet is. "Registration desk located on second floor" We found it a little confusing upon arrival as to where the front desk was.

    The Hotel staff were very friendly and courteous, made us feel at home & special by using our last names when speaking to us. After check-in we were each welcomed with a glass of champagne. Another amenity we enjoyed were the hors d'oeuvres served everyday at 5:00. The selection was very nice and well-rounded with fruit, nuts, assortment of cheeses and crackers. But best of all was their selection of wines. We looked forward to them every evening before going out to dinner. Kudos to the person that choose them. When we came back to the hotel in the evening there were a few "different" sweet treats every night along with always having milk and cookies available to take up to your room. Another nice touch. The room was bright, clean and beautifully decorated, very roomy. It gave you a feeling of being in a French atmosphere. The bathroom was large and modern with a wonderful tub.. The beds of course were comfy with nice Linens. Overall a lovely stay and we would come back again without a second thought. Thank you to the manager Carlo & staff for there recommendations for restaurants and entertainment they were all spot-on.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    9.6
    Classy & refined hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Corner King Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pretty pricey.

    Great location! Wonderful food offerings( wine & cheese & continental breakfast!) Warm cookies after returning to hotel from dinner were a special & tasty treat! Warm & welcoming staff!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    10
    Charlestons little gem
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything - we stay 3 days with you and two at the Charlestown belmond. French quarter was much better

    Staff was very accommodating, breakfast was great. Room was nice, bed was very comfortable.apool would have been great. Only con would be that everything felt dark.wouldbenice to lighten up the floors or furniture. If I ever visit sc again I will stay at the French Quarter ,Loved it

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    10
    Great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I loved the coffee right outside my room in morning, as well as breakfast, 5:30 wine and cheese and cookies and milk at night. Shower great and great location!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2017

    10
    Where to stay in Charleston? Try the French Quarter..
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Traditional Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I like this hotel. It's comfortable, it's kept up, the location is good and the staff is friendly and helpful. I think it's a good value because there is a very nice continental breakfast, a lovely wine and cheese hour, and if you need something sweet, there are cookies and milk in the evening. Additionally, infused water is available, and they still have a "turn down" service. One issue I have with hotels in general; I go, I like it, but when I return a year or two later, the hotel has lost it's"glow." It's been two years since my last visit to Charleston and The French Quarter, and I'm pleased to report it is as nice as I remember.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    9.6
    Charming Inn in the center of the French Quarter
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the weather? just a little chilly

    They offer a free continental breakfast, plus lavender lemonade, de tox tea, coffee, jars o jelly beans & M&M's

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2017

    10
    Great price and location, and superb service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No fault of the hotels, but city had to work on water main the morning I was there which meant no water for a few hours. I'd have known that, had I read the memo left on the desk in my room before I was leaving to check out.

    Great beds. Even better pillows.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    9.6
    No complaints all Great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Traditional Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My stay could have been longer!

    Everything was wonderful. The staff is especially polite and helpful. No need to bring your own pillow. There is a pillow menu!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2017

    10
    Ideal place in Low Country for honeymooners to start their lives together.
    • Couple
    • Traditional King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We have no negative comments. It was a memorable stay.

    The property is extremely well maintained. Quality is evident from reception by valet parking staff, the front desk staff, the room maintenance staff and the food serving staff. Value is evident in the room furniture and appointments, the bathroom, and the furniture in all the public spaces. The property has a "European Feel" which we like very much.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Queen Room - Disable Access
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower head aimed horizontally only. Perhaps there was a piece missing?

    Breakfast delivered. Nighttime cheese. Evening cookies. Turndown service with treat and music. Location is perfect for walking to market, waterfront, historic sites.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2017

    10
    Fantastic experience!
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Traditional Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing I can even complain about is something completely out of The French Quarter's control. The side road the main entrance is on faces the back of a bar and restaurant which is lined with their garbage cans. Not really a complaint at all!

    I've stayed in several hotels in downtown Charleston, The French Quarter was by far my best experience. We were greeted at our car by the valet and a 'hostess' who accompanied us up to the beautiful lobby to check in. She brought us complimentary champagne and delightful conversation during our check in, thank Anice. Chuck at the front desk was equally delightful and full of helpful information. The decor is gorgeous, the lobby even smells delightful. The room was spotless, large and wonderfully appointed. Even the smart tv and the cable choices were of higher quality. The complimentary wine and cheese in the lobby was lovely as was the complimentary night cap in the lobby later in the evening. They even offer complimentary breakfast in the lobby but will bring it to your room if you request the night before. The bed was heavenly. We were offered a pillow concierge menu and turndown service with chocolate. I will be returning!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2017

    9.2
    Had to ask for shampoo and bath supplies to be restocked ,on...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to ask for shampoo and bath supplies to be restocked ,on first cleaning day also had to wipe up table s after maid had service room ,But everything was top notch except for the one lady cleaning room that 1st day

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2017

    10
    Excellent hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel itself was beautifully decorated and the rooms were large and comfortable. We could not ask for a better location, so convenient for the attractions, shops and restaurants. The staff were friendly and helpful throughout our stay. The breakfast, afternoon cookies, cheese and wine hour and evening port were all very nice and enjoyed by all. We would highly recommend staying here when visiting Charleston.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2016

    10
    One of the best places we've ever stayed!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast, wine/cheese, turndown service with chocolates and cookies and milk were amazing services. Entire staff was outstanding. Great location! Really enjoyed the free bikes too!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    10
    10 out of 10!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only down side was $30 a day valet parking. The hotel was quiet expensive so felt they could have included as you don't have a choice there isn't anywhere else to park. This was such a small thing and it really didn't impact our enjoyment at all.

    Everything about our stay was lovely. The hotel is just beautiful. It was my birthday, they had fizz and flowers delivered to our room. It was a lovely touch, thank you Glori. They have hot and cold drinks all day. Wine and cheese in the afternoon and then cookies and milk before bed! Really comfortable bed, spotlessly clean. Great location! Wish we could have stayed longer!!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    9.2
    Presented very well and well maintained
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The lack of variety. Also, there is an option to have it delivered to your room which we opted for and never received the breakfast.

    Presented very well and well maintained

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2016

    9.6
    A taste of the luxury of the old south
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The maid ignored the do not disturb sign, knocked and was asked to come back later. She said, "in 10 minutes?" I said 2 hours, and she told me that couldn't be done. She called the room 10 minutes later and woke my husband. The staff at reception was very responsive, and called the manager to listen to my experience, after checking to be sure that talking to him would not make me uncomfortable. The manager assured me that this behavior was unacceptable and that service is available when guests need it. He planned to speak to the maid. Two hours later, a different maid serviced the room well.

    The hotel looks, inside and out, like it was taken from a page in a book about the charm of the old south. We were met at reception with champagne, while our bags were being delivered to our room. It was a celebration for my birthday, and we found a handwritten note and another bottle of champagne on ice when we returned to the room after dinner.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    10
    Awesome experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Queen Room - Disable Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a thing.

    Front desk staff was amazing. Best service we have ever received, from restaurant reservations and changing our room. Would highly recommend this hotel to anyone.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    9.6
    Wonderful receptions and breakfast, size of the room, staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very humid and the AC never seemed to cool it down. We all slept without covers. It was set on 69 but felt like 75+ degrees.

    Wonderful receptions and breakfast, size of the room, staff

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    8.3
    location wxcellent, service first class, generous add-ons...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    constant noise in room due to imminent vicinity to generators,, so request a quiet room if you are sensitive to noise.

    location wxcellent, service first class, generous add-ons such as free wine and cheese apero and port wine and cookies to close the evening.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    10
    Lovely Inn in great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely nothing, it was perfect.

    Luxury accommodations with quality staff. From the time we pulled up until the time we left we were impressed. Lovely cheese reception, nice continental breakfast and a beautiful room with a marshmallow cloud mattress. 😃 Convienient city center location.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    9.6
    Overall a great visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mattress was a little uncomfortable.

    The staff and valet were excellent. Whatever I needed (recommendations or retrieving sunglasses from the vehicle), they helped us out.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2016

    10
    Excellent experience!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Only drawback was the signage outside. It was difficult to locate at nite upon my arrival.

    Extremely helpful and friendly staff. Loved the wine and cheese hour and the port/cookies/milk hour. It was a unique idea. Also found the room to be comfortable and it had several personal touches that were appreciated.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    10
    Great location, nice room, great complimentary cocktail...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, nice room, great complimentary cocktail reception with wine and cheese, great complimentary breakfast, champagne on arrival and available complimentary all day. We felt very well taken care of :)

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2016

    8.3
    Pleasant stay in Charleston, SC, wishing some of the hotel services could have been better
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    . I cannot say the same about a few other things at the French Quarter Inn. For example, breakfast is not very plentiful. It's included in the daily rate, but basically they only offer some salami and ham, three or four different types of bread and some fruits. Two of the mugs that I grabbed to serve my coffee weren’t clean. I’m glad I inspected them before pouring. Even worse, they offer champagne at breakfast, the bottle was there, but we couldn't find any glasses around. That did not come as a huge surprise, since the night before we went to the announced Port wine serving that takes place every evening from 8:30 to 10:30. We thought it would be a nice idea to stop by after coming back from dinner to have a nice glass of Port before going to bed. Only problem was, there weren’t any clean glasses. Like the champagne, the Port was there but not the glasses. I had to go to the reception and ask the person there for some glasses. It wasn’t a big deal, but not the level of quality service that you’d expect from a hotel priced like the French Quarter Inn. So, overall, it was a nice stay, with a phenomenal shower, which made Charleston’s hot and humid summer weather a bit more bearable, but the services provided by the French Quarter Inn could have been better.

    The check in process was quick and efficient and the lady at the front desk was very nice in explaining to us many things about the hotel, special perks that they offer their guests, and she also told us that we could valet park at the hotel in case we decided to. The French Quarter Inn is a small, comfortable, boutique hotel in the very historic center of Charleston, making its location one of its main attractions. Just a few blocks away is the Charleston market, or you can walk to the waterfront, passing through historic churches and buildings. There are plenty of good restaurants in the area as well. Specifically about the accommodations at the French Quarter Inn, I have to say that the room is very comfortable, clean and nicely furnished. Probably the highlight of our stay was the bathroom shower. The water pressure is phenomenal, so it's fantastic when you get back to the hotel after a long day of sightseeing and walking under the hot summer sun and humidity, to get into that shower is like stepping into paradise.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Traditional Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Without being nit picky, there is only one suggestion that I could think of....I would have liked the wine & cheese reception to be earlier in the day...maybe 3ish rather than 5:30. Otherwise, wonderful hotel, location and thoughtful details. Staff was top-notch.

    The staff was fantastic! They were friendly and always willing to help out and offer suggestions. Given that my party were complete new-comers to Charleston, we appreciated all the help and advice.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We had a hiccup with our room, when we turned on the ac, since it was 100 degrees, it started to squeal for 30 minutes. It eventually resolved itself but still annoying. We booked a king suite with a balcony, the room was well sized but we found the balcony really small, although we had a nice view both of us couldn't be out there at the same time and get the door back open! They did not tag our rental car properly so we were given the key to the wrong car on checkout. It only took a few moments to sort out but it was a delay we didn't need before rushing to an early flight. Finally, the food served, a rather big disappointment! The breads and pastries were horrible, the only thing I ended up eating was the fruit and a marginal toasted bagel. If you are going to advertise the food as part of the draw of staying at the property it should be really good. This was more like they bought pastries from Costco and threw in some fruit, some mini quiches, cold cereal, cheese and salami and called it good. The evening cookies weren't any better. So great place to stay, just don't count on the food!

    The hotel is in the perfect location for visiting downtown Charleston. It was a quiet small hotel right across from the market and easily walkable to great restaurants and sights.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    10
    Very comfortable and staff are very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very comfortable and staff are very friendly. Makes you feel at home.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    10
    Super friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Super friendly staff. Gave excellent directions.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    10
    Comfortable bed, clean, friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfortable bed, clean, friendly staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    10
    Everything!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Traditional Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    9.6
    A lovely hotel with staff that want to make sure your stay is more than comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premium Queen Suite with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can’t think of anything.

    A lovely hotel! The room was beautiful, the bed comfortable, the location was great, and the breakfasts were delicious.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    9.6
    Excellent location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Excellent location! The service was like a resort.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    8.3
    Bed super comfortable, most of staff solicitous
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing remarkable

    Bed super comfortable, most of staff solicitous

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    10
    This is a top quality hotel. It was a complete pleasure.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing...

    Everything..... hospitality, food, cleanliness, antiquity, comfort, design...

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    10
    Great place to stay, walking distance and the lady name Anice who worked there was awesome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Terrace Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendliness of the staff, cheese and wine in the evening.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    10
    The staff was incredible, rooms lovely and breakfast delicious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Traditional Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Did not eat at the restaurant

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    10
    Lovely high end Inn that will only enhance your stay in the beautiful Charleston area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Queen Suite with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Liked it all

    Breakfast was wonderful, great wine and cheese gathering, amazing staff - definitely will be back.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    10
    Fantastic stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    All around excellence. Wine and cheese was a nice touch.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    9.6
    No pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Traditional Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No pool

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    8.3
    Nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Both the items offered at wine and cheese could have been better and also at Breakfast - have had better at smaller B &B's

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    10
    Everything was fantastic, if we ever return to Charleston...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Traditional King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was fantastic, if we ever return to Charleston this is the place to stay!

    Stayed in January 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: