Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Gansevoort Meatpacking 4 stars

18 9th Avenue, Greenwich Village, New York, NY 10014, USA

#187 of 415 hotels in New York

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1857 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.2

  • Free WiFi

    9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We ordered a few drinks during the day and every time we ordered the woman behind the bar asked if we had a tab with her. Well, YES! At least remember faces! It wasn’t even crowded that early in the day - maybe 2-3 pm. We decided to go somewhere at night because even though the rooftop has great views, to spend $18 for a drink from a bartender who couldn’t shed ONE smile — I’d rather take my money + tip elsewhere. To be clear - it wasn’t about the money. The drinks were good.. it’s buying it from someone who doesn’t feel like they need to be nice at their job.Just wasn’t worth it for me. There’s construction going on in this whole area right now. The pool area has some cosmetic work that they are fixing. Didn’t really make a difference to us. It’s NYC - there’s always work being done

    We stayed here for my birthday weekend and it was a lot of fun. When we got there they let us drop off our luggage and head to the pool while we waited for our room to be ready. When we checked in, we got lucky and received a room with a private terrace. The rooms are chic, bathroom was clean and the stone was pretty. It was weird that there were no drawers for clothes, just a closet with a few hangers. I didn’t mind so much because we only stayed the weekend, but it could become annoying to live out of a suitcase. Everyone was super nice, except for the bartenders who had this “I’m too good for this” attitude. There was an espresso bar, pool table, and spa. Chelsea Market is a 4 minute walk away. Overall, great weekend getaway!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Drinks are very expensive and had to pay for coffee pods in room. Not really clear only knew through other reviews on here.

    Great location, great facilities in room, slippers dressing gown, daily change of bed and toiletries. Hairdryer and straighteners in drawer and iron and board in room. Really couldn’t ask for more. Even had a surprise welcome bottom of Prosecco as celebrating birthday

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The clientele were a little more party oriented, (think lots of implants and gold chains) and we noticed a few couples consisting of older guido type guys and younger surgically enhanced girls checking in on the day without luggage which lead us to think this was a place that catered to escorts . Equally the pool upstairs was adjacent to a bar which felt like a pick up joint, making the ambiance at the pool not so great for guests and families who were unaware of the hook up joint that i believe this hotel has become

    Facilities and location were great

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The facilities advertised are incorrect. The rooftop pool was the main reason for us booking, it's advertised as heated all year round but it wasn't so we couldn't use it. The roof top bar area was a construction site during the day; wires, hard hats, builders, cardboard on the floor. But guests still had to walk through it to get to the pool terrace. The hotel also advertised having hydrotherapy pools in the lower level spa, we went to use these but we're told by staff they were removed over a year ago! Wouldn't recommend overpriced for the facilities that aren't there/can't be used. The staff were quite rude on the whole- we arrived at 10.30 am and was told our room had been cleaned it just needed to be inspected so shouldn't be long, we went for early lunch came back at 12, the room still wasn't ready, we waited in the lobby until 14.30. When we asked again they gave us the key (the room seemingly having been ready whilst they kept us waiting in the lobby)

    Location, some of the staff were lovely, they gave us a bottle of champagne for our honeymoon

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No availability for tea in the morning and charged for coffee, which spat everywhere. Expected tea and coffee at least for 5* hotel

    Lovely hotel, good venue.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I guess we got what was expected for a hotel like this downtown....we We’re given two keys only one of which worked. We asked for replacements a few times and got nothing. We asked for ice buckets for the room and got none. One of our guests-THE BRIDE, stayed out later and was refused entry to the room because her name wasn’t the name on the room and we were asleep. Her name wasn’t on the room because I booked and paid for it for her bachelorette night...her name was down to stay in the room. I wrote it at reception when we were checking in, in large font with Bride beside it so that there would be no problems for the pool and coming and going from the room. The lady checking me in assured me this would be ok. She had to get a cab back to her apt in Queens by herself. We also had house keeping letting themselves into our room from 9am on the hour every hour until we checked out. That’s unacceptable. Over all I wouldn’t rush back.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I could have been warned there was construction going on at the hotel prior to my arrival.

    I enjoyed the enclosed patio in the room I stayed in. Very private.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Housekeeping could have cleaned the room earlier on one of the days we stayed.

    Well located in the Meatpacking District two blocks from Chelsea Market. Very helpful staff. Room was nice although could have been cleaned earlier on one of the days we stayed. Did not try the restaurant. Nightclub on the top floor looked like a lot of fun. Did not try the gym or pool. Hotel will benefit from the City completing the construction of the road that the hotel is located on.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Window glasses not isolated well enough to shut out noise from traffic and construction done at the hotel

    Nicely located hotel with great rooftop pool, best feature of the hotel, we also liked the pool table in the lobby!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms seemed a little tired. Wall paper starting to peel off walls. Plumbing was leaking in our room. Disappointing to be charged $2 per coffee pod - when paying $600 per night.

    Location is fantastic. Close to all that Meatpacking district has to offer. Roof top bar was also refurbished and opened during our stay. Great way to start each night. Gym and sauna also very good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel was a building site. The lower floors were completely encased in scaffold. It made for a dark lobby, very dark restastaurant (The Chester) and the Biergarten more akin to a dingy bierkeller. The pool area was a distater: it being under major renovation and extensive building works. It was only about 40% of the area available, and up until 1700+, it was noisy, dusty and dirty with the construction happening in full few just 1.0m away. At least we had the chance to go through lots of back-stage areas to be escorted to and from. Given the whole place is a building site, with the roof-top pool all but useless (a feature made much-of on their website) I suggest that this should be made clear on the website so informed decsions can be made to stay or not. A "coffee-maker" is advertised as a room amenity. What isn't so clear, is the €2 charge made for every capsule used; this only becomea apparent on the final bill. A 1st for me! Central management to blame for all the above. Local staff all fantastic

    The Meatpacking area is convenient for dining, shopping and getting around. It will be even better once the disruptive and extensive works in the area are completed.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything, the restaurant was great gotta try the bacon mac. Lauren upgraded the room and she was amazing really nice polite and knew exactly how to help when i called for any questions . 3 year anniversary and it was spent great my girl loved it and i did too.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We couldn't fault out stay.

    Our room had all the little confort add ons. Especially appreciated the hair dryer and straightener - everything was modern and top quality. Great value.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There was a problem with the mattress. The lights in the bathroom were very low, too low to see yourself properly - which in my case may have been a good thing. The same is true of the elevator & the entire hall area.

    There was a problem with the mattress.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was not very friendly or overly helpful. Didn’t like that it felt like a night club and you had to show your room key in order to enter the elevator. Tried to use the pool but it was so crowded there was no room.

    Location is fine a lot to do but a lot of construction going on.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The construction outside the hotel

    They upgraded us to a suite which wasn’t ready at the time we arrived so they gave us drink vouchers for the rooftop bar. Everyone was so nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In need of refurbishment.

    Location, location, location!Best in NYC!In the centre of NYC night life, stone throw away from the most popular bars and restaurants such as TAO Downtown, Catch, STK Downtown... I would go back just for the location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    very poor quality restaurant at reception floor, meat quality was unacceptable, yet female manager very professional. hotel should mention roof terrace, restaurant and swimming pool were closed and surrounding urban area was undergoing massive reconstruction works by may 2018

    room, view, location, very professional restaurant female manager (blond)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poolhouse area was onder construction, one of the main reasons to boom this hotel. Disappointing they didnt mention this on forehand.

    Meatpacking is the best area to stay

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was noisy. Staff weren’t that friendly. I asked for a quiet room and didn’t get one even after being moved twice. If you want a party hotel then this is the place for you. There’s a bar at ground level and a rooftop bar. Although the view from the rooftop is incredible. They don’t accommodate business travelers that need to sleep. Unless you’re happy to sleep at 4am when the club and bar close. Construction happening across the road and in the surrounding streets. I stayed in May 2018. I’d say this construction will go on for at least another 12 months. Take note. Overall really overpriced for what you get.

    Location is perfect. Chelsea market is just a short walk and is incredible for food and gifts.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above

    The hotel was expensive & not well maintained. Service was poor. The condition of the area too was in a shambles given immense construction in progress.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfriendly staff, lots of construction around the building, very noisy club across the road, complimentary tea and coffee in the morning very hit and miss ( some days it appeared, other days nonexistent)

    Very comfortable bed, soft pillows, lovely room, interesting neighborhood

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Uninterested staff with not so much as a welcoming smile. Did not get the feeling that they were very interested in helping out with questions we had. There was also a big renovation going on in the pool/bar area. One of the reasons we booked this hotel was because we spent new years eve there a number of years ago and we wanted to relive that experience a bit. It would of course have been fine if we had been told this in advance, but we didn't, and when we brought it up with the staff, they just shrugged it off... Overall its a nice hotel, but we really expected more. For the same money you can find better, and more accommodating options in NYC.

    Nice large and well equipt rooms with comfortable beds! Great location in a beautiful part of the city!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room rate was a little more than we wanted to spend. The construction on the streets around the hotel made it difficult to get in & out the passenger side of our truck.

    We didn't eat the breakfast as we wanted to try the French bakery around the corner instead. Staff was excellent. We ate a late dinner after a show and the food was excellent at the bar.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Construction outside the property is noisy but not the fault of the hotel. Would love better lighting in the bathroom and vanity mirrors.

    Location and friendly staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was not as comfortable and fridge was not cold. TV had too much static. Valet was great although they may need a larger sign due to the construction or inform guests prior to arrival where to park.

    The location was great including lobby bar and outside lounge. Glam & Glo great service, room decor and bathroom upscale and chic.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Gansevoort Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not informed re. Rooftop bar being closed for renovations, jackhammers constantly overhead for last 2 days. Some staff very off-hand, indifferent, viz some dining staff, some staff viz girls in bar being warm, friendly, helpful.

    Great location! Our suite had a lovely view and was a good size. Some warm, helpful, affable staff at reception and bar.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    uncomfortable bed, very noisy throughout the night. The party downstairs and rooftop is not how I personally like my hotel but could be exactly what someone else is looking for.

    The hotel is nice and accommodating. Staff is very friendly. Rooms are clean and spacious for NY.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The thermostats in the rooms were not controllable by the guest so the room Was on the warm side for my liking.

    Location was perfect. Amazing Shopping and restaurants within steps of the property.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Very poor wifi, everything is charged, even coffee. No room to store water on the fridge.

    Great localization, close to subway and Chelsea Market. Decent bedroom space.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Too expensive with construction going on outside and lobby bar was way too loud. Wanted to use the pool - it was closed at the time...construction going on nearby. Plunge would've been a nice spot to have a drink, but it was really loud just like downstairs. It would be nice if there were an interim place to have a comfortable and quiet drink within the hotel.

    The staff was very polite and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Roof top bar and open area was under construction. Downstairs bar was dirty and staff were rude.

    Location right beside Greenwich market and close to sub way

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Major construction happening around the hotel and the main draw, the rooftop bar, was closed. We were not notified of this prior to booking or checking in. Also, when we discussed our disappointment with the front desk, the clerk seemed disinterested and didn't offer any amenity to make up for it. Offering a free drink or discounted stay would have made happy customers.

    The location cannot be beat.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Didn't like that the pool/roof top bar was shut... if we had been told before the stay then we would of stayed elsewhere. No complimentary tea/coffee/water in the room. Everything that could have a charge on it...did!!

    Good location, rooms quiet and comfortable. We didn't eat here so cant comment on food.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    After paying a full price for the room, I found it very cheap of the management to charge $2 for each capsule of coffee. also the cup was too small for the machine, and when choosing a full cup of coffee, it spilled all over. The stopper in the sink was not connected to the plunger, and I had to pry it out and put it aside. Most of the room was modern, but the shower was in an old bathtub with a curtain. I found it difficult to get in and out (I'm not young!)

    The staff was friendly and helpful , the ambiance of the room was nice, the bed comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel was nice with very helpful stuff and a nice room. What didn't meet my expectations was the 'city view' that was so nicely portrayed at the booking listing but in fact was just a street view. I was also a little disappointed by the fact that there was bottled water in the room but you had to pay for it, there was coffee machine in the room, but you had to pay for it. And my disappointment wasn't caused by the actual cost but by the fact that an expensive hotel doesn't care much to give you free water and a capsule of coffee.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    - Pillows and mattress not at the standard of the rest of the hotel

    - Great location - Great staff - very nice hotel all around - bar, billiard and free newspapers, great lounge

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cot was not in room on arrival, they forgot to make up the sofa bed. Also roof bar was closed for refurbishment meaning you had to take the service elevator to the pool. Also when I was by the pool in the morning there was a photo shoot there so I had to leave.

    Great location, staff friendly. Provided a cot & sofa bed in room which was great given I was travelling with both kids.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The blinds (room 308) let a serious amount of light in :(

    Upgraded at check-in, Lauren was excellent. Bed was huge and super comfy. Rooms were quiet - However the blinds do let a lot of light in. Please put curtains on the windows. The amenities in the room were such high quality from the L'Occitane toiletries to the high end blow dryer and hair straightener! The mini bar was very well stocked, probably the best mini bar I've seen.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The construction around the site was a surprise, when its finished it will be amazing, but didn't spoil our fun. There was no extractor fan in the loo - ummmm! The terrace bar was closed for renovation but look forward to seeing that in full swing next time.

    Central, safe location, great for exploring NYC. Brilliant surrounding restaurants. Lorenzo the Concierge and the reception staff & team were really helpful and made us feel immediately welcome. House keeping were always on the ball, never missed a thing. Our 5th hotel in 6 years, will return to this one.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very satisfied.

    We were booked in a king or queen thinking we selected king. No kings were available and the queen felt small to share. Thankfully we were upgraded to a double! Location was great. Highline, Whitney Museum. Lots of good restaurants. Easy access to uptown and Wall st area. A nice walk to the 911 Museum.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bad timing: it was really sunny but the rooftop was closed and under maintenance Walls can be pretty thin and you can hear other rooms

    Nice hotel Very well located Friendly staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    When we arrived, we had to carry on our luggage to the room because no one appeared to do it. The reception service not good I wanted to stay on this hotel because of the location and because of the rooftop , that was unfortunately closed and out of service. This is the high point of the hotel and they might advise at the reservation.

    the location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The rooftop bar is a loud raucous dance club with loud customers all night and crowded elevators with patrons. You are carded each time you come in and want to ride the elevator and it is a wait. The Coffee in your own room was $2 for each pod and was bad. My room was loud, the hotel was surrounded by construction the whole time making it hard to get around. The lobby had perfume/scent which hurt my throat. The lighting in the room is dark, including the bathroom so hard to see your things.

    the location was nice and the staff was helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The upstairs bar is a complete mess during renovation and there's no warning on the website. Beds are really the cheapest that can be come by. They are flat and springy.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was too soft Structure looks old and would welcome a renovation Pool floor was under renovation and not easily accessible Breakfast is a disaster

    Excellent location Very professional and caring staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was clean and quiet, and I would stay there again. However I used the valet service for my car and it was returned scratched. While the hotel contacted their parking service to come over and deal with me, they themselves stepped out after that and take no responsibility. I find that disappointing.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couch in room wasn't very comfortable.

    Very quiet room: no outside noise and no noise from the hallways. Comfortable bed. Espresso machine in the room. Spacious bathroom with quality toiletries.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Charging $2 for coffee pods and supplying only 1 cup. Construction and roadworks - but it is NYC. The cooling was switched off on the ducted air -had to open window to lower temp from 24.5C

    Lovely large room. Great pillows and bed. Fantastic location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed uncomfortable Roof terrace was being refurbished this was not clear on the Booking.com website Expensive for what you get

    Tired hotel needs refurbishment hotel rooms especially. Beds seriously uncomfortable mattress not up to standard for 4 star/ high end hotel. My comparison is the Kimpton in Hells Kitchen - way better hotel - much better value for money.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The overall temperature of the room remained a little too warm and we could not get the air to work properly to cool the room.

    The location. The staff, especially Malek. The atmosphere.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Renovations were taking place outside the hotel and to the rooftop pool and bar area. Consequently we were unable to use the rooftop facilities during our stay (and were not pre advised of these renovations). Worse however was the fact that the hotel is tired and dated. So much so that on our second night, when turning off one of the light switches in the room, the switch actually exploded causing me to receive minor burns and an electric shock, rendering pins and needles in my arm for around 45 mins thereafter. When we reported the incident to the hotel, the initial response was incredibly blasé. I was offered a band aid and told that the service manager would be with us within 10 mins to fix the bulb (clearly the lady taking the call on the front desk hadn’t listened to us or understood the problem). After 25 mins the service manager arrived at the room, saw the light switch had been destroyed in the explosion and the burns on my hand and immediately went into damage control mode. Credit to him for reading between the lines as we were immediately moved to an upgraded room and within 2 mins 5 staff (including the duty manager descended on our room - concerned I’m sure about litigation). I did feel however that the primary intent of the staff was to get me to actually say I was OK, rather than to make sure I was OK. I’m relieved to say that there were no lasting after affects of the shock, however, the hotel were extremely lucky that I’m fit and in good health as an elderly guest could have been in serious trouble given the shock and explosion. 24 hours later the hotel management left us a note and a fruit platter in the room, but the matter was handled appallingly initially, and despite our upgrade, more could have been done.

    Location outstanding. The rooms were clean and spacious (for NYC), and serviced very early each day

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    They said the pool closes at 7pm but when I got there at 5:15pm on Sunday the pool attendance had already left. There's construction at the roofbar meaning we weren't allowed to sit outside (even though the construction wasn't in the outdoor section). Have to pay for coffee in the room (there are pods and they are $2 each).

    Toiletries are lovely, bed was huge and comfortable, shower was powerful, location is great.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Stylish and comfy room with a private terrace. Great outdoors (heated) swimming pool on the rooftop; great swim at sunset. Rooftop bar with spectaular views to contemplate the sunset over the Hudson; tasty cocktails. Nice sauna & gym. A special mention goes to an attentive gesture by the manager of the hotel, who kindly offered us a bottle of red wine upon arrival to compensate for a truly insigificant error (i.e., a member of staff knocked at our door by mistake); we very much enjoyed the wine on our sunny terrace... In a nutshell, fabulous hotel & fantastic service. We'll come back for sure.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Manhattan One-Bedroom King Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Front desk was a little rude from intro. The valet guy even didn't even like our greeting and said something in our defense. The construction was bad for the location. No coffee tea area in lobby for guest. Asked for a mimosa on Sunday morning and was told they didn't have them.

    Room was nice. Housekeeping was attentive and friendly. Décor trendy.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Right, when my girlfriend and I were greeted at check in the front desk clerk was super friendly, asked if it was our first stay at the property and without hesitation upgraded us to a balcony room when she found out that in fact, it was our first stay. She went through all the amenities at the hotel, gave us some recommendations on her favorite places within the Meatpacking district and made us feel overall like VIP guests. Fantastic staff would stay again in a heartbeat.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea making facilities in the room...

    Great location, cool hotel. Lots of noise staying at the front of the hotel but they moved us once we let them know. Very accommodating!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had reservations for the Chester for 6:30. It was essentially a club not a restaurant. I couldn't even sit at the table because there were people dancing all around it and standing up hovering taking pictures. We left and went across the street to catch.

    Bed was like a cloud, the roof top pool was amazing and very warm, roof top views were one of the best in the city. Complimentary room upgrade to celebrate engagement. I couldn't ask for a more perfect day & night.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was great. They gave us an upgrade room for the same price so we had 2 double beds. The location is excellent for shopping restaurants and close to everything The room had a great view of the Hudson River

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The loud rap music playing in the lobby didn't seem appropriate for a Saturday morning. Not enough light in the bathroom. Could barely shave or put on make-up with the available light.

    Great service from Matthew and Sonya at the front desk. The valets were excellent as well. Very clean hotel. The King Suite is a very nice and spacious room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The others guests, especially those who enjoyed screaming just outside the front door until 3:00 AM on weekend nights.

    The room was extremely comfortable and in perfect condition. No flaws.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very noisy, essentially a construction site. Rooms smaller than represented in photographs of the rooms. Fixtures are deteriorating. Really tasteless images in the rooms. Could hear through the walls.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This may have been a trendy hotel 10 years ago but it is now quite shabby. Torn and worn upholstery in lounge, an unusable pool and many problems in room-broken shower temp. control, loose valve on sink, discolored wallpaper under window, peeling off and inability to turn off heat. Window opens wide with low ledge-a disaster waiting to happen.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really superb staff all around. They could not have been nicer. The Meatpacking District is colorful, exciting, easy walking to West Village and Chelsea, and closely conected to subway.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I WAS WOKEN SEVERAL TIMES ON SATURDAY NIGHT BY PEOPLE WHO WERE OBVIOUSLY DRUNK (THINK BECAUSE OF ROOF TOP BAR) AND DISCOURTEOUS OTHER GUESTS THE STAFF SORTED THE PROBLEM QUICKLY AND POLITELY.

    THE HOTEL WAS IN A SUPER DISTRICT. ALL THE STAFF WERE DELIGHTFUL AND THE BED WAS SOOOOOOO COMFY. I ENJOYED THE VIEW FROM THE ROOF AND A SWIM IN THE POOL (ALTHOUGH THE WEATHER WAS FREEZING)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom was a little dim and there was no fan which made the mirrors steamy and took a long time to dissipate. But this is a little nitpick, we loved our stay.

    We loved that the check-in was at 3:00 PM and checkout was at noon. It made all the difference in the world in getting to enjoy our limited time in the room just a little bit longer without having to rush. I loved the lighting on the vanity mirror in the room, and I loved the shower temperature gauge. The bed was very comfortable and OMG the bathrobes. They were plush and lovely and I could have spent the entire day wearing one. We will be back.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows were terrible

    The hotel went above and beyond anticipating what someone might need who’s staying there. Fully stocked room, chic ambiance and great location to walk to other fun places

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The weather was warm in the city during my staff which mad the rooms too hot to be comfortable to sleep. Thermostats were not allowed to cool the room.

    Love this hotel, always stay here when in town. Excellent location.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service, noise - I lost my iPhone in a uber and the driver came to the hotel to bring it back to me. They let him wait 30 min in the lobby and go, telling him he had the wrong name, instead of calling me in my room when he DID have the right name. I guess only because he was speaking bad English they didn’t make any effort to help him out. The doorman remembered it when I left to the airport, I was furious with the reception staff behavior.

    Location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    During 2 days at 3:00 AM in the morning I have called to the front desk cause of the room neighbor. The loud music and the noise was terrible. It was a very bad experience for me. Never come back

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room smelled of mildew or some growing fungus, funky, unpleasant, perhaps even dangerous. Loud disco music till the wee hours and traffic noise, honking from all the street construction on both sides. Very dark in the lobby, bars and rooms. Everyone else was drunk or stoned on the property, I might not pass a test from all the passive smoke lingering in and around the property. I didn't realize pot was completely decriminalized in NYC, but cigarettes are punishable by the death penalty.

    Sheets and bed were just right, pillow a little soft, but two were nice for a side sleeper.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the room was very cold and even after adjusting the thermostat it still did not warm up. Valet took too long to bring car, they said 20 minutes but it was more like 50 minutes.

    Bed was great, yes like a cloud

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mattress slightly hard maybe time for a change I think it was a box spring?

    Upgrade without asking great corner room with view. Bathtub 👍 great bar and friendly folk! Rooftop pool open and warm water at 80 !

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had several issues during this stay. I have stayed at this hotel more than 20 times on business over the years... this stay however was terrible. I hope this is not a sign of where this hotel is headed. 1) The hotel balconies are un-operable since they are under renovation AND the streets outside are under construction so its aesthetically like staying in a construction zone. Makes the charm of Meatpacking District impossible to experience. The hotel should NOT BE CHARGING SAME RATES while everything is such a mess. 2) The room that I personally asked the front desk staff for earlier that week when I was there on business travel was given to another guest before my arrival. They basically completely disregarded my request - and the note that the staff had put in my reservation for the terrace room on 3rd floor with a king bed. So rude and disappointing. We ended up with a room with a terrace with a queen instead. I wanted a terrace room because the balconies in the rest of the rooms were under renovation. To make up for it, they offered to send up a bottle of red wine. Which they never sent. 3) Our room was pretty dingy. The curtains were dirty. The door to the terrace was stuck but we eventually got it open. The HVAC never cooled off the room. There was also only one coffee cup and we had 2 guests... and the hotel knew there were 2 guests. 4) At least half of the time we asked for something to be brought to the room... it did not come and we had to call again. 5) The wine selection in the lobby bar is terrible and the bartender was completely uninformed about the wine selection. Turns out they only have one kind of Pinot Noir. Thats it and the bartender could not even remember what it was called, and it was terrible. For $18/glass I expected either a better wine or a cheaper price. 6) There is ZERO morning coffee or breakfast option in the lobby area.

    the location and familiarity - I stay here alot on business but this was the first time i stayed for personal trip and on the weekend. our room was also pretty quiet which was nice for a NY hotel.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    It's really a construction area at the moment, so kind of jammed in terms of traffic. Clearly not the hotel's fault of course, and my room was quiet.

    Lovely stay! great staff, very comfortable bed, loved it.

    Stayed in February 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Gansevoort Meatpacking traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: