Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

View vacation packages to

  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. USA hotel reviews
  3. New York State hotel reviews
  4. New York hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Gansevoort Meatpacking

Reviews of Gansevoort Meatpacking This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

18 9th Avenue, Greenwich Village, New York, NY 10014, United States of America

#235 of 432 hotels in New York

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 1635 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

Verified guest reviews from real Bookers

Real Bookers. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: June 17, 2019

    7.1
    Nice hotel right in the centre of things, which makes for a noisy weekend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Charging for coffee in your room seems bonkers considering the room was priced at £350 per night. The lobby bar also charged different prices for coffee depending on the staff it seemed. All felt very unwelcoming and utterly unnecessary.

    Great location and perfectly located for coffee, dining and drinks. 14st Station gets you everywhere you need to go and lots to see within walking distance. Comfortable rooms, a little dated, but overall good and the bathrooms too. Liked the robes, slippers etc and overall felt spacious especially for a city room.

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: June 13, 2019

    9.2
    Fun hotel, wonderful location, but beware of the party crowd.!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We chose to stay here even though other reviews had mentioned very loud music from the bar on the hotels ground level We were on the 7th floor, so the noise was more of a steady vibration, annoying, but tolerable. The main problem was a group of women who staying in the next room who came in hollering and shrieking down the hall at 2 AM. This continued in their room for over an hour. We tried contacting the front desk and no one picked up.

    Great location in a chic neighborhood, walking distance to the High Line and the Hudson River Park. Great array of restaurants and boutique shops. Loved the view from our room and the view from the Pool and roof bar is fantastic. This gives you a very different feeling about New York than staying in Midtown or Times Square. If you love a neighborhood feel, you will enjoy this hotel.

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: June 9, 2019

    9.6
    Can’t wait to come visit again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Only one issue. The air conditioning was not working properly. We couldn’t get the room cooler than 73 - which wasn’t terrible, but... we asked the front desk about it, but it was never fixed.

    Amazing value for a great size room in a lovely part of town. Beds were comfortable and water pressure in shower - wow. Staff was accommodating and friendly. I would absolutely stay here again.

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: June 6, 2019

    8.8
    A fun break in NY in a boutique-style hotel. Beautiful room with window seat/view of city/river.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There were lots of good, attractive, luxury extras available in the room to buy. We did buy a couple of things, but I think the coffee/use of coffee machine should have been complimentary.

    The room was beautiful, with window seat and view. It was very well appointed and clean with comfortable bed. We enjoyed having a drink on the roof terrace and the burger in the restaurant was great. A good location for the subway, the High Line, the Whitney art gallery and lots of choices of places to eat/drink. Staff all friendly and helpful - a fun atmosphere.

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: June 6, 2019

    10
    Fantastic, buzzy location with lovely restaurants and bars...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Some construction work outside made it a little noisy, but it didn’t really affect our stay.

    Fantastic, buzzy location with lovely restaurants and bars within walking distance. Staff were friendly and very helpful - they couldn’t do enough to assist us. This was our second stay and we will be back.

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: June 2, 2019

    10
    Great location and great staff. Felt really at home!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bars are very expensive so be careful with those extras. We would visit happy hours in the area instead.

    The staff were fantastic really friendly and helpful. The location is perfect and very up market. The pool is a bonus for those hot days.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: June 1, 2019

    10
    Excellent location with fantastic big rooms and comfy beds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was nothing I didn’t like.

    Excellent location with fantastic big rooms and comfy beds. We were there on a sunny day so made use of the rooftop pool. Just a pity it’s so small as all the beds had gone so had to lie on towels round the pool edge. Attendant did any excellent job of keeping non residents out of the pool area and that people steal beds when they had been left unattended briefly

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 30, 2019

    5.8
    not what I expected!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I had to wait until 5pm to check-in. I asked for kings size be and received a small queen. Slept very uncomfortable and AC wasn't as bad as good as I would have expected. It was warm in room.

    The bathroom and the food.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 28, 2019

    8.8
    Comfortable room, ideal location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Location is fantastic - so much to see and do in the immediate vicinity. The one slight drawback of this is that the hotel was extremely noisy one of the nights - was from a bar across the road, so not much the hotel could have done, but worth bearing in mind if you think you might be disrupted.

    Very comfortable room and the hotel is in a superb location. Stayed in a deluxe King on the 10th floor and the views were great. Staff very friendly downstairs (although staff upstairs were slightly bolshy).

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 28, 2019

    8.3
    Loved the public areas but the room was uncomfortable and run-down.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was very run down. The surfaces were peeling and scratched and you could tell there were many haphazard patches of damaged items in the rooms. Overall the room was a disappointment.

    The location was amazing as was the rooftop pool/bar area. The roof made the trip worth it.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 27, 2019

    7.1
    We got this hotel on offer, that was the only plus, and at...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The rooms are small and very basic. I am glad we didn’t book this hotel for a regular price or I would have been extremely disappointed. There isn’t room to move in the bathroom and there is a doorstop behind the door right outside the bath which both myself and my boyfriend stood right down on our of the shower, someone could easily fall into the countertop. The AC unit in the wall had a bad running water noise all night. I tried to call the front desk in the morning we were leaving twice and they did not pick up. When checking out they told me they believed they had answered all the calls they got. I ordered a bottle of wine from Room service which was not correct. The guy had explained how it took so long because the usual server had locked everything up and he had to get security to let him in etc etc. I didn’t make a big deal since he had gone out of his way but The bottle he brought was more expensive and he did not acknowledge that.

    We got this hotel on offer, that was the only plus, and at that I wouldn’t stay again. Toiletries and bathrobes were nice.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 26, 2019

    9.2
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    $13 for a small can of beer in the rooftop bar was excessive!

    Great location. Rooms were well soundproofed. Good facilities in hotel and room. Nice views from rooftop.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 24, 2019

    5.8
    The rooftop pool is pretty good and the bar as wel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The acomodation is really run down. The rooms are quite oldfashioned, showering in a bath tub and plastic shower curtain is something not to expect when you pay over 300 dollars a night in a western country. Also the people who work there should be more professional and help with luggage. Besides that don't ask money for every single thing. We've paid a certain amount of money than don't ask a freaking 9 dollars for just a bottle of water in the room?! Make certain small things complementary and don't put a price on every small thing. Also the stuffed animal is not something to put on the bed with a price tag on which people have demolished a bit. It looks very unproffesional and not really interesting to buy.

    The rooftop pool is pretty good and the bar as wel. Nice views over the city. But to pay such an amount for only the pool that's not worth for it.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 19, 2019

    5.0
    Gross.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I found a bloody napkin in the bathroom drawer. I called to have to removed and left for the evening. I got home and the bed was not Turned down and napkin was still there. The noise was until 4am and elevators and slow and hot. Parking was a bear. No instruction. Location is only thing that was good here.

    Location.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 16, 2019

    8.3
    Great place
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Grand Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Street noise and shades that don't block well the sunlight - windows could isolate better- and also noise from the corridor - doors could isolate noise better.

    Friendly staff, very clean, good facilities

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 13, 2019

    9.6
    The main thing that we enjoyed was that we could still use...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel doesn’t provide a plastic hair comb in its basic kit. In our case, The hotel also changed our reservation to queen bed (even though they had originally confirmed we would have a king’s bed). The check out policy is slightly confusing, since the late check out is at 13.00 - just an hour later than the usual one, so it doesn’t make that much of a difference. I also didn’t receive any reply when requesting a later check out from them through Booking.com. Lastly, the corridor smelled like weed.

    The main thing that we enjoyed was that we could still use the pool after checking out. The room was equipped with a hairdryer and a hair straightener. Overall, the room was well-equipped, but many things in the room which are usually provided for free (e.g., drinking water?) had to be paid for (in our case, the hotel provided no disposable razors but provided a 12$ multi-use shaving kit. I also liked the sound-system in the room - easy to use and to connect.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 12, 2019

    5.8
    Over priced hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No complimentary tea or coffee in room we had to ask for a kettle luckily we had taken teabags with us none were provided and coffee had to be paid for. Roof top bar in fact both bars very, very expensive and the seem to cater more for the general public than hotel guests. The rooms are comfy but very tired in need of an update cold water pressure none existent and plug broken in hand basin. we went out for breakfast but no one gave us any information about it at check in.

    The location was brilliant for us and the areas of New York we planned to visit also only short walk from subway. Over priced hotel because of this.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 4, 2019

    10
    Sensational
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing it was amazing.

    I absolutely loved my stay at the Gansevoort the customer relations team Paul Li was outstanding and catered to my every need of my trip. I was travelling from Scotland to celebrate my mums 50th and they went above and beyond to ensure it was extra special! Thank you again guys!

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 28, 2019

    5.0
    Would not return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Manhattan One-Bedroom King Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the food took forever to arrive and it was badly prepared. The restaurant is soulless. Breakfast was included in the rate we paid and we wished we had not done that and eaten at other restaurants in the area.

    Breakfast was awful

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 28, 2019

    8.3
    Great location to explore NYC.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very noisy at night especially over weekends due to all the clubs. A drawback of staying in this neighborhood.

    Great location to explore NYC. Close to restaurants and shops and well located for transport. Rooms are spacious.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 28, 2019

    2.5
    Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Three star hotel masquerading as a five star. Dated and worn rooms and facilities. This is not a luxury hotel. It’s ok and fun but if you are expecting high end, this is not it.

    Location.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 28, 2019

    9.2
    LOVED THE "IN-ROOM SHOPPING EXPERIENCE".
    • Family with young children
    • Gansevoort Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    no vip treatment after you pay $800 for 1 night stay, no engagement from the front desk staff to make you feel like going back.

    room amenities, decor, room view, room experience in general.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 21, 2019

    5.8
    Staff very disappointing. Hotel was clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I called ahead of time to asked about driver service I was Put on hold 4 times and left for nearly 1 hr. Check in at reception was a cold welcome as was the check out. Staff in both the roof and reception bars were appalling. Zero organization, zero client service.. they all need some serious training.

    The room was small but very clean. The housekeeping staff were actually the nicest staff.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 15, 2019

    9.6
    Fabulous location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Gansevoort Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was quite noisy from the street below at night but it’s New York! It’s noisy

    Fabulous location. Such a great spot in the middle of everything and easy to travel round on subway.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 11, 2019

    10
    Everyone was extremely helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everyone was extremely helpful. Easy check in with Julia, valet Charles was outstanding. Hotel arranged for excellent babysitting service. Was a great place for our 67/30 weekend!

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 10, 2019

    9.2
    Great loaction to visit NYC as well for business as leisure.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great accomodation in the place to be in NYC, close to the Chelsea Market and the Highline. It is a new high quality property, done with style. My room is extremly comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 8, 2019

    8.3
    The Meatpacking area is fun and lively with great food...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Pool is closed for the refurbishment for month of April - we didn't know this when we booked and one of the reasons we booked the hotel was for the rooftop pool and loungers.

    The Meatpacking area is fun and lively with great food options, easy transportation links and great location for High Line. Hotel is clean and well positioned with snooker table in lobby.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 6, 2019

    5.4
    Location
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very expensive for what it is. Good location in Meatpacking but everything else was old and disappointing. It needs to be refreshed and not be a ripoff... $10 for a bottle of water in the room!

    Location

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 4, 2019

    8.8
    Just ok
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Considering the room rate I was surprised that the coffee in the room was not complimentary and overall I am not sure i would stay there again if I would have to pay myself. You pay for location and the hip rooftop bar which gets noisy on the weekend. The shower was never really hot, so again would expect more for the price (I know it is NYC but still).

    Location is great, between Meatpacking & Chelsea, short walk to the village. Good public transport links to Brooklyn, uptown and downtown. Lots of shops and restaurants in the immediate surrounding. Rooms are quite big for NYC and you can open the windows (which is not standard in the US). Design is modern but still comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: April 4, 2019

    6.7
    the location is great and the staff was friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Manhattan One-Bedroom King Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel needs to renovate the rooms. the furniture and floors need to be replaced. I can´t recommend this hotel to friends. also the restaurant area needs to be uplifted as well. The greast location but sadly it is so worn out.

    the location is great and the staff was friendly.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: April 3, 2019

    8.8
    Lovely hotel. Price was great for Manhattan standards.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Grand Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was some construction of some sort going on either next door or above the room during the day. Was very distracting and difficult to ignore.

    Check In was a breeze. The bed was absolutely perfect.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 1, 2019

    9.6
    Excellent location and not horrible pricing for one night...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Loved it all! The room could have used a microwave but that doesn’t change how great the stay was.

    Excellent location and not horrible pricing for one night stay in NYC!

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: April 1, 2019

    9.6
    Repeat guest. Highly recommended.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Great hotel. Amazing location for nightlife especially at weekends. Lots of filming going on for movies etc... Have stayed here before and would stay again.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 31, 2019

    9.6
    Walking distance from things to do.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Our room was 80 degrees the whole time even when we adjusted the thermostat. The pool wasn't heated as was advertised.

    Walking distance from things to do. Good entertainment within hotel. Staff was friendly and professional. Beautiful decor. #travelgoose

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 28, 2019

    5.0
    The location is great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The first room they had for us reeked of cleaning supplies. It was so strong I could barely breath and had to change rooms. The front desk was so unfriendly, not helpful and were irritated that we asked them to help. The entire hotel is pet friend, there are no pet free rooms which was also a problem for someone with severe pet allergies. The heating/cooling system did not work in our second room, so we slept with the window open on both nights because it was so hot in the room and it could not be adjusted.

    The location is great. The bar on the top floor was great with good drinks and the pool looked nice, but it was too cold to swim. The lobby was also decorated nicely and the cafe had good coffee.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 27, 2019

    10
    Special overnight stay to celebrate my birthday.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Everything! The front desk staff was very accommodating, giving me a 2:00pm late check out. It was my birthday and that made it a little extra special.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 18, 2019

    2.5
    I felt humilliated and duped into spending over 500 dollars for one short nighr !
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Grand Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Desk staff smilingly changed my room to a strange living-room with a fold-out bed ( for which I had to pay nearly 400 dollars for one night — when I requested a bowl of soup & some wine from Room Service , I was brought a miserable little quiche and an entire bottle of wine , and snilingly charged $120 dollars plus tip !!! I felt so humilliated, manipulated and used !!! A terrible experience !!! They should be ashamed of themselves ! b

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 6, 2019

    6.7
    Location was great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I went downstairs for ice because I couldn’t find the ice machine, and a gentlemen in the front said he would have it sent right up to my room and I never got it.

    Location was great

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 5, 2019

    9.6
    Will be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The check in staff and porter were incredibly helpful. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting NYC. The area and hotel are excellent and staff to match. Special mention has to go to Raul who made our experience even better

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: January 30, 2019

    2.5
    Never again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Rude, inefficient staff that made me wait and wait many times and wee completely inflexible and don’t care about their customers I would never stay here again

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 27, 2019

    5.8
    Would not book again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was too hot even w/ heat on off.(78 degrees). Tub didn’t drain even after requesting an engineer. Shower curtain didnot contain the water.

    location

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 24, 2019

    9.6
    Great Location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We booked a king bed when booking but we were given a double. We were able to make do but it was still disappointing.

    The hotel location is perfect! Walking distance to Chelsea Market & other places to shop. It is even close to a Sweetgreen!

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 21, 2019

    4.2
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The cleaners never once came to the room to clean in the 4 days we stayed there. Room service food was left for days, bins overflowing, towels on the floor, beds not made utter chaos. We call several times, but yet nobody came. The hotel manager during the day was aggressive and rude when asked about it and offered $40 off our bill, even when we had paid for an upgraded room. The night time staff were extremely helpful and were great though. Very disappointing for the money we paid and we had no apology from the manager who stated ‘she had no notes on the computer to say we called to ask for our room to be cleaned, so what did we want her to do’. Will not be recommending this hotel to anyone again and will definitely not be returning again.

    Good location

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 14, 2019

    10
    We loved our stay at the Gansevoort!
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We loved our stay at the Gansevoort! Everyone was friendly, professional and extremely helpful. The room and hotel were very clean and the styling of the hotel was modern and on-trend. The rooftop bar is beautiful! Whilst in New York we also stayed at an alternate highly-rated and on-trend hotel and Gansevoort by far exceeded in all aspects. The location was also fantastic! Out of the tourist hub but close enough to the Metro to get to wherever you’re going. Super happy with our stay!

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: January 13, 2019

    7.9
    The club across the street kept us up till 4am b/c of their loud music-huge downfall for this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room was small. There is a club across the street, Catch, and the music kept us up till 4am! Even being on the 9th floor of the hotel, the noise traveled easily and there was no blocking it out. Very unfortunate to spend so much money on a room and not get a sound night sleep. Will not come back here

    It’s a beautiful facility

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 12, 2019

    10
    Excellent hotel with friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room service stopped a little early for my tastes and no free bottles of water in the room

    Friendly helpful staff and a beautiful hotel. Made us feel welcome and helped with advice on the local area

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 9, 2019

    7.9
    Location location location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Heated pool wasn’t very warm. No free coffee service in the room. Loud one night when police had to escort people out. Fitness facility is small and subterranean.

    Location location location

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 4, 2019

    10
    The staff were really friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was a big party in the room right next to where we stayed. Music was booming through the wall. The next night was fine though. Overall it was a lovely experience. We would visit the hotel again if in New York. The area was great and located close to the subway with direct access to the JFK airport.

    The staff were really friendly. They made sure we had ample information to the area.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 4, 2019

    5.8
    No access to the NYE party even for us as Hotel guests.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No access to the NYE party even for us as Hotel guests. We would have paid for the tickets. There was also no information about that the guest list will be closed soon when we checked in. So we had to celebrate into NYE at the lobby bar which was also only being partially open due to another private (also no access). So even though New York and its people are amazing the Hotel certainly spoiled our start into the new year. Will definitely choose another Hotel next time.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 3, 2019

    10
    Arnold said it best - I'll be back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff was incredibly friendly and helpful. The rooms are beautiful and maintained meticulously. Located in a vibrant area of town just north of my favorite Manhattan hangouts, the Gransvoort is a choice destination for any city excursion.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 2, 2019

    10
    Great hotel, a little pricey - but it is worth it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We booked the breakfast through Booking.com but it was only for the Continental breakfast. We weren’t aware of this until we showed up, but the man at the front desk was very nice and gave us an upgrade for free.

    Great hotel, a little pricey - but it is worth it. This is my second time here and will definitely come back. Stayed once in the summer (Rooftop is great) and once in the winter. Everyone is very nice, housekeeping is super accommodating. We even got upgraded to a King sized room, not too shabby. They are doing construction all around the area, but it’s getting there! still one of my favorite places to be in NYC.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: January 2, 2019

    9.2
    This is my second stay at the Gansevoort and it was just...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The temperature control was a little wonky in my room this stay. It was so hot in my room the entire time. Most people might love this (especially in the winter in NYC) but I run hot to start with so it was uncomfortable. The windows open a bit which definitely helped. I will say that this was probably a one-off occurrence. When I stayed previously there were no issues.

    This is my second stay at the Gansevoort and it was just perfect again. Very friendly staff, huge room by NYC standards. Lovely location with lots to do in the immediate area, but also very walkable and close to many subway statIons.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 31, 2018

    6.7
    Location and price
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Seemed a bit beat up, room amenities well used. Room was too hot and we couldn’t get to cool down unless we opened the window. No service at upstairs bar one night so we left.

    Location and price

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 31, 2018

    8.0
    The rooftop bar and pool has a fantastic view and good happy...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Grand Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Mattress was rock hard and the temp in the entire hotel was waayyyy too hot with no way to control it in our room. But beautiful place!

    The rooftop bar and pool has a fantastic view and good happy hour.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 25, 2018

    10
    Fantastic and I’ll be back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Knob on the mirror in the room was broken and could frequently hear a dog barking in the next room

    Beautiful hotel in a great location. The rooftop bar and pool are spectacular. Had fun playing pool in the lobby. Near the Whitney and convenient to many things to do in New York

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 25, 2018

    8.3
    Way too many items for sale in the room - mini bar, plush...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Way too many items for sale in the room - mini bar, plush toy, bottles of water, items in the bathroom. I would expect that at a low-end motel but not a boutique hotel.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 25, 2018

    10
    loved hotel and staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    front desk staff assisted us in getting a room though we came before check in time and provided a upgrade which was really appreciated after long trip from west coast. All staff were friendly and helpful

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: December 21, 2018

    5.0
    Won’t be going back and wouldn’t recommend it to a friend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The checking-in process was awful, our inquiry as to whether there was the possibility of changing to a twin room made us feel like we were the most difficult patrons and it resulted in a very awkward 15 minutes. While the male receptionist did his best to accommodate us,his female colleague was particularly unprofessional as she berated his every move. Then the key card for the room didn’t actually work, the porter said he would get us a new one but he forgot. Not the best first impression from a hotel.

    Location

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: December 5, 2018

    8.3
    The staff was really nice and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Gansevoort Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Extremely slow check in Lots of people clogging front desk frustrated that their rooms weren’t ready. Very loud bar downstairs until late into the night (we were there on a weekend) Kept us awake...

    The staff was really nice and friendly. Good location

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: November 29, 2018

    8.3
    Great location. Friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The rooms were too hot, hard to adjust the heat/cool. Had to keep the window open. The decor in the room was tired but clean.

    Great location, friendly staff. The good far outweighed the bad. Great value for Thanksgiving weekend visit. We would stay there again.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 27, 2018

    6.7
    Close to High line and Chelsea areas.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Grand Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Beds were hard as a rock. Apparently this is a popular place for party goers. It is not really a family oriented hotel. There is a club on top of the hotel and across the street. Room service was awful. They served me rotten cheese and some quiche that looked like it was four days old. Worst room service food I have ever had. Construction in front of hotel is loud. Difficult to hail a cab because of the construction and staff was quite rude at times when we asked them to help.

    Close to High line and Chelsea areas. Also within a mile of Washington Square Park.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 26, 2018

    10
    Had a wonderful stay and would definitely recommend to a friend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Manhattan One-Bedroom King Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Shame about the roadworks all around but realise that’s not your fault. Otherwise great

    The location was great. Room was spacious and view from 12th floor spectacular

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 26, 2018

    7.5
    The location was great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel is very noisy. You can hear people next door, in the hallways and from rooftop bar. Room was very warm and couldn’t control temps. TV reception was spotty. Pillows scratchy.

    Great location. Pool table in lobby was fun. Hotel staff were very nice. We were offered an upgrade for $25/nite and had a king bed with sitting area.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 26, 2018

    10
    Convenient and comfortable stay. We will be back. Thanks.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very comfortable bed with wonderful down pillows...much appreciated. Great location very near to our son's home on Jane Street. Did not walk around much this time because of the very cold weather, but we know and love the area.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 25, 2018

    5.8
    on checking into one of our rooms the temperature registered 83 degrees.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Attitude of desk staff. Charges for coffee and bottled water in room. Bouncers standing around in lobby but no-one tasked with opening exterior doors for guests entering and leaving. On checking into one of our rooms the temperature registered 83 degrees. It should have been around 72 degrees. We reported the issue to the front desk and were told to "crack open a window". They reluctantly sent an engineer to assess the problem but the front desk employee told us "it probably wouldn't make a difference". We were left in limbo unable to unpack and meet up with family for dinner. It was like a sauna in the room so we were standing around in the hallway waiting for a response that never materialized. It was only after we demanded a replacement room that anyone responded. Disgusting customer service.

    location

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 22, 2018

    8.8
    The heat in our room would not cool down.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The heat in our room would not cool down. We were told to turn it off and open the window for our two night stay. We did that and slept comfortably but it was noisy.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 21, 2018

    10
    Rooms are spacious , loved the rooftop bar and the outdoor...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Grand Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    At check in they could have run us through amenities and things like early coffee downstairs and such.

    Rooms are spacious , loved the rooftop bar and the outdoor pool . Quiet except for Saturday night !

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 20, 2018

    7.9
    I liked the room, the facilities and the location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I didn't like that there were party in the lobby so I couldn't talk to the staff at the reception desk bc it was too noisy.

    I liked the room, the facilities and the location. Staff was very friendly and accommodating.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 19, 2018

    10
    A beautiful hi end hotel with great staff and ambiance
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The signage by the hotel along with the construction made it extremely difficult to find, if you venture outside. We walked around had a very hard time finding the place, if going with address. Alot of people couldn't direct us, so we walked in circles for an hour, while in the proximity of the hotel.

    The room was clean, and a nice size, I liked the atmosphere of the hotel, as soon as I entered the hotel, I felt upbeat and ready to have fun.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 10, 2018

    10
    Everything!
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Construction near the entrance made it a bit problematic to reach but it's probably already solved. Other than that - perfect!!

    Everything! Great location, comfortable, great service, great bar.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: November 8, 2018

    7.5
    Comfortable spacious bright sunny suite excellent staff. Highly recommend
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Manhattan One-Bedroom King Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Hotel is great its definitely very good value maybe a refurb would improve it but then I guess it would get more expensive. You have to want to be down town though. Getting up town is a nightmare traffic congestion is a serious problem, that not the hotels issue though...

    Its good value staff super friendly. Hotel is getting a bit tired but that is reflected in value. I had a cracking suite was very happy with the generous space, (which is usually very expensive in NYC)layout and facilities. Would highly recommend it.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 5, 2018

    10
    The size of the rooms and the location were great!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Walls were a bit “thin” could hear a decent bit of external noise from the street. Cars driving by and whatnot. And the rooms could use a bit of an update. But all in all I’d definitely stay there again, neither were bad enough to be deal breakers.

    The size of the rooms and the location were great! Staff was SO nice and accommodating.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 5, 2018

    6.7
    Staff very nice and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The location used to be good. Not anymore. I got a first room: it seemed to sleep in an air plain engine (elevator and air con). I asked to changed and they moved me to a fair room. You can get better hotel for the rate paid.

    Staff very nice and helpful.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 4, 2018

    9.2
    I don’t think you could ever beat the location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I don’t think you could ever beat the location. Only a walk to Times Square and also the Financial District, right next to Soho and 1 minute walk to Chelsea Markets and the High Line. So glad we stayed in this location , the hotel was also excellent!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: November 4, 2018

    9.6
    Lovely large, bright and clean room.
    • Business trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Pity the roof top doesn’t open for breakfast

    Lovely large, bright and clean room. They even thought to add an international travel adapter (for purchase in the mini bar tray). Great roof top.

    Stayed in November 2018

Showing 1 - 75

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!
Browse Gansevoort Meatpacking Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: