Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. USA hotel reviews
  3. Texas hotel reviews
  4. La Porte hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Garden Suites

Reviews of Garden Suites This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

107 North 8th Street, La Porte, TX 77571, United States of America

#11 of 12 hotels in La Porte

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 51 hotel reviews

6.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.2

  • Comfort

    6.4

  • Location

    7.2

  • Facilities

    6

  • Staff

    7.5

  • Value for money

    6.5

  • Free WiFi

    5.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 47

  • Reviewed: December 30, 2018

    2.5
    I want my money back.
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The whole experience. Was very disappointed from the first time we stayed in this hotel.

    Nothing. The room was not what I expected. No iron or ironing board. The WiFi was not working at all and the room had a weird smell.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 2, 2018

    4.6
    Price
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very very outdated furniture, bedding, and other decor. The frig and microwave looked at least 10-12 years old. The frig was practically rusted out. Bugs crossing the floor. Pulled the comforter off to use my own, because it was very obvious it hadn't seen a washing machine in some time, found the top sheet (not one was a fitted sheet) to have dirt and human hair riddled all over it. Place was a dump but it was the cheapest around so it's my on fault

    Price

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: November 18, 2018

    7.1
    Location is handy to La Porte, House keeping is lacking,...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The WiFi might as well be not called wiFi. Parking lot lighting is blocked very badly by the trees. They appear to be taking care of this, and trimming trees.

    Location is handy to La Porte, House keeping is lacking, but above the level I've come to expect for the price range.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: March 23, 2018

    3.8
    Staff was nice, just seems a little outdated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    The couch had a stain on it. There was no breakfast provided. The lighting was very dim, almost looked like a room from a scary movie. The windows were so dirty that you couldn't even see out of them.

    The only good thing about the room I stayed in was that it was spacious.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: December 26, 2017

    3.3
    Will never stay here again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No housekeeping

    My room was not vacuumed or bed made after my first night stay. A freshly made bed with clean linens mean a lot to how I rate a property.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: June 5, 2017

    6.7
    Strange Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The shower had a little bit of mildew. Not enough to run us away, but it was there. The carpet REALLY should go. It's just oudated. There was a big Texas bug dying a slow death down in the hall. I always check for bugs and bed bugs, but didnt find either in our room. The t.v. sucked. We didn't care because we weren't there to watch t.v., but our kiddo wanted to. I'm not sure if the girl up front was new but we booked through booking.com but told her we wanted to pay cash. She made us pay up front which I have never had to do. Then she tried to refuse giving us a receipt. We told her we would leave without one so she said she would call the owner to get permission. It was just ridiculous to not want to give one. It made my Husband mad. Also during the check in process they make you sign a disclaimer saying you won't smoke, steal, or break stuff. I have never ever signed such a thing at a hotel. Then when you get into the room there is a paper that has a break down of room items and how much they will charge you for each item from the fridge to getting their towels or sheets dirty. It even says to ask for less nice towels if you are going to stain them. It was so strange.I'm not sure we would go back because of those things.

    We were pleasantly surprised by the size of the room. It was actually very roomy for a family of three. We stayed in the King Suite. It's close to Kemah (fun fun!) and about 30 minutes ish to Galveston.So for a cheap stay semi near the beach it was nice.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: January 16, 2019

    6.0
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not so clean

    Great location

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 14, 2019

    10
    Always pleasant
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staff have always been helpful and nice

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 12, 2019

    2.9
    Terrible will never consider again
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The place looked like it was out of a apocalyptic movie. I didn't think it was even open for business.

    Nothing

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 6, 2019

    10
    I will stay each time I come to Laporte Tx
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything

    I loved my stay the room was excellent

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: November 20, 2018

    10
    This is second time staying! !
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The desk clerk was awesome and very nice

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: September 29, 2018

    10
    Everything is awesome
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very convenient for everything I needed, the guy at front desk was very nice and helpful

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 25, 2018

    7.9
    Is close to hwy .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Don't have prívate parking .

    Is close to hwy .

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: August 7, 2018

    4.2
    Hair on pillows, in tub and sink.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Hair on pillows, in tub and sink. No toilet paper and no coffee available.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: July 28, 2018

    6.3
    overall...ok
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    roaches

    found roaches in the room...

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 12, 2018

    7.5
    Great
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I don’t like that I was on the first floor

    The motel ain’t so busy with people and no smoking is perfect

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 18, 2018

    4.2
    I wish I could've said it was a nice stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was very nasty and smelled bad.still looked like it had flooding damage

    The staff were very courtious and nice I thank you for that.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 4, 2018

    8.3
    Quiet
    • Solo traveler
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room wasn't ready

    Quiet

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 1, 2018

    2.5
    Nothing
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 27, 2018

    7.1
    Nothing
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything

    Nothing

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: April 10, 2018

    5.8
    Ok...won't stay there again
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Close to my job

    Only 5 TV channels and bad dunk to the floor

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: March 19, 2018

    7.9
    It was okay and the area was good,but need better selections for food
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast and people above making alot of noise and walking hard all night

    The breakfast was not what we expected..only waffles and cereal

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 12, 2018

    5.4
    didn't meet request
    • Solo traveler
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Didn't meet request

    Didn't meet request didn't meet request

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: January 30, 2018

    10
    Room was very clean and well kept.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room was very clean and well kept. Very quiet and comfortable place to stay.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: August 16, 2017

    6.7
    satisfied with price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    smell of the building blow dry broken couldn't use it

    location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: July 28, 2017

    8.8
    Good stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Parking

    Clean

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 3, 2017

    5.0
    Waffles
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    That's all they had for breakfast

    Waffles

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: June 11, 2017

    6.3
    I've stayed better for less money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Upgrades needed, like flat screen tvs in all rooms and not just some rooms

    Property was ok

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: May 28, 2017

    10
    Everything
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    None

    Everything

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 15, 2017

    10
    Rooms location in hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Great location for the city.

    Rooms location in hotel

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: March 21, 2017

    9.2
    Good services
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bathtub rusty other than that great

    Good services

    Stayed in March 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They're no longer included in the property's overall review score, but they might still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: May 17, 2016

    6.7
    The bed was big and the room was clean and the refrigerator...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    Breakfast was over too soon - served from 5 am to 9. Who is up at 5 am on a weekend?

    The bed was big and the room was clean and the refrigerator was super cold!

  • Reviewed: May 17, 2016

    2.5
    Absolutely nothing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    If I could give this hotel negative stars I would. It won't let me give less than 2.5.The entire stay was awful from the first moment I walked in the front door. The guy that checked me in around 8 pm on Friday was the worst. After having to repeat myself 4 times he then asks me for a tip. So unacceptable! Then the other 3 people in my party arrived and after asking the name 3 times and seeing his id twice he still checked them into someone else's room! He gets the manager on the phone and he then tells us that the amount that was charged to his card wouldn't be charged because the room was prepaid(which it wasn't) and puts us into the correct room. We get into the rooms and the carpet has staples in it where the tile and carpet meet and jabs my foot. The rolling office chair in the room was broken. The fridge didn't work. The bed was awful. The blanket in this "nonsmoking" hotel has cigarette burns all in it. It was just absolutely awful!! Then I realize that my card was charged twice instead of them charging the other persons card like we told the incompetent front desk guy when we checked in. I go down to check out and ask to speak with the manager and the girl working says that she can't call the manager because he has kids and a family outside of this hotel. So I said fine I'll leave my name and number for him to call me and what do you know? He never called. I work at a hotel, I know how things are done and this hotel and the staff is a complete joke!!! If you are smart you will not stay at this hotel! I stay in a lot of hotels and this weekend stay was the worst!!! I wouldn't even recommend a homeless person to stay here. The streets are much better!!!!

    Absolutely nothing!!

  • Reviewed: April 5, 2016

    2.9
    Nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Toilets are very dirty and room smelled like smoke because the lady next door with like 4 kids would smoke in the hallway and her kids would run up and down the hall all day and night the towels feel like sandpaper and the mattress are old and you get three dingy pillows on a king size bed the front desk guy kept asking for a tip if I knew how bad it was I wouldn't have tipped at all because after asking him for a remote for our tv he said to wait until he was done eating his dinner then when we tried to gonintonour room our keys didn't work we had to go back two times we don't plan to go back

    Nothing

  • Reviewed: February 23, 2016

    7.9
    I love staying at the facility but this nights stay was not...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    There was no coffee pot in the room. There was also no rest room door. I was on the first floor. Which the 3rd is newly remodeled so I don't understand why I was put in such terrible room. Don't give me wrong they do offer a great breakfast with coffee available but the fact remains that who wants to wake up at five in the morning get dressed and go down the hall for coffee and breakfast when you could simply just enjoy your cuppa coffee from the privacy of your room that was my only complaint with the stay home and not having a restroom door.

    I love staying at the facility but this nights stay was not the greatest experience.

  • Reviewed: January 11, 2016

    7.1
    Bed was comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    When you went in the AC wasn't on (usually if they don't have it on it smells bad, but this one didn't) Fridge, phone, microwave nor tv was plugged in..... Recommend bringing your own pillows, they are very small and thin.

    Bed was comfortable. Everything worked. For the price it felt like a very nice room. And some paint chipped off and slight mold here and there, but not too noticeable. Other than that it wasn't all that bad at all. I would recommend it.

  • Reviewed: August 18, 2015

    2.9
    Clean!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    a phone call if there is an electrical fire especially with it being the room directly across from me and not having smoke detector in my room!!

    Clean!

  • Reviewed: July 20, 2015

    7.1
    Staff was friendly and the price was reasonable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Older hotel that is a bit run down, it was quite late when we arrived and checked in so I really didn't notice much on the appearance, however the next day when returning to the hotel I could see all the damage to the exterior and paint making the place look run down.

    Staff was friendly and the price was reasonable

  • Reviewed: June 2, 2015

    8.8
    The staff, especially the manager, were very friendly and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The outside of the hotel is a little less than appealing, but don't let that stop you from going inside. The inside is very nice.

    The staff, especially the manager, were very friendly and accommodating. The room was very nice as well and larger than most suites I've stayed in.

  • Reviewed: April 9, 2015

    3.3
    Waffle maker that made waffles in the shape of Texas,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Indifferent staff, weak/poor wifi, one washer dryer for the whole complex, broken fridge in our room, outdated decor, poor location not near anything as off the highway (miss the edit and it takes 15 minutes to get back), breakfast was cereal, oj, grey coffee and waffles. Expensive for what it was

    Waffle maker that made waffles in the shape of Texas, that's it.

  • Reviewed: May 10, 2016

    9.2
    The rooms are very clean.
    • Family with young children

    Looks outdated on the outside....

    The rooms are very clean... and all are non smoking...

  • Reviewed: April 2, 2016

    6.3
    Location was good!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler

    The breakfast sucks!

    Location was good!

  • Reviewed: March 26, 2016

    5.8
    the size of the room was sufficient
    • Family with older children

    1)no enough TV viewing options 2) parking area was poorly lit 3)the laundry machines need to be upgraded

    the size of the room was sufficient

  • Reviewed: December 13, 2015

    4.6
    The continental breakfast was ok.
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    The mattress was very uncomfortable we would sink in.

    The continental breakfast was ok...

  • Reviewed: July 27, 2015

    6.3
    The afternoon clerk was very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The a/c had aluminum pans because it leaked, the shower leaked, the room had a smell.

    The afternoon clerk was very friendly.

  • Reviewed: July 22, 2015

    6.7
    It was large.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Mold on bathroom walls. TV remote didn't work

    It was large. It had sitting area..

  • Reviewed: May 31, 2015

    4.6
    It was quiet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The breakfast was minimal. No fruits. Bathroom shower had a drip. Very difficult to turn off the shower.

    It was quiet. Staff was friendly.

There are also 19 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 47

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!

Guests also reviewed these properties: