Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Gaslamp Plaza Suites 4 stars

520 E Street, Downtown San Diego, San Diego, CA 92101, USA

#61 of 226 hotels in San Diego

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 989 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    6.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    9.2
    It was a nice romantic get away for us to site see downtown San Diego.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The parking was a bit pricey and did not feel as safe walking after dark.

    The hotel had a nice historic feel to it and good location in the downtown area of San Diego.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    10
    Everything was wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast may be better by adding different options such as egg, different kinds of milk, and cereals.

    Big suite room with small kitchen and large bathroom was excellent. Employees were very helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    3.3
    Horrendous. I just wanted to cry.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything else. The rooms were tiny, initially we were given a room that could inly be described as avtiny corridor. Not even big nough for one person. Asked to be moved. Given a tiny box room, no room for luggage and we had to take it in turns to move around. Window ipened on to a wall. Breakfast was a joke. Either cornflakes or toast. Ridiculous. Wifi worked spradicaly.

    Location. Could walk to pretty much everything

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    10
    The Gaslamp Plaza
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The included breakfast, provided on the rooftop terrace was disappointing. What you would expect at a budget motel.

    The hotel staff, especially Mari, were gracious and helpful. They provided good advice on nearby places to eat and on the excellent San Diego Bus and Trolley system. The hotel is historic and the room I had was large and comfortable. The bathroom had nice marble finishes and a lovely tub. I especially liked the rooftop terrace as a great place to lounge and look out at the San Diego skyline and the coast beyond.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    9.2
    I would stay here again if I could have the same room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was just one kind of cereal and bread. Even a continental has fruit, pastries, etc. Outside noise was very loud all night.

    Clean and comfortable room! Loved the decor and that they maintained a sense of the history of the building. Elevators were very quick! The bellmen/valets were very friendly and helpful with directions.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    7.1
    First I got a room without a window .
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    First I got a room without a window .... for a 8 night stay - not acceptable, especially when you are told this is the standard room, although it had nothing to do with the pic on the website Could be changed after 3 days, and was ok after that

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    7.1
    Decent stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Mini Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The tile floors had a sticky feel to them in the bathroom.

    The hotel was walking distance to a lot of San Diego. The suite had two bathrooms which was a huge plus.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    7.9
    It's a decent hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Mini Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights

    There was a lot of street noise. The cold breakfast could do to extend some simple warm options like a waffle maker.

    It's a decent hotel. The woman at the front desk, Merry, was extraordinary and really made the stay

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    10
    Padres and Gaslamp plaza Suites for the win!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Love Gaslamp Plaza Suites! We visit at least once a year and are always impressed with the staff, special thanks Merry 😉 and the way they accommodate special requests. Thanks again!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    9.6
    Great location, sadly some homeless people around but we...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Only downside was v basic breakfast, but we don't eat breakfast often so OK for us.

    Great location, sadly some homeless people around but we walked everywhere and had no hassle. Room was good - lots of space in the suite.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    10
    Very clean wonderfully restored room-old office building...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couple of more offerings on the breakfast it seems that all the hotel chains now have make your own waffles that would have been nice eggs also would have been nice

    Very clean wonderfully restored room-old office building built in 1915 lots of marble wood beautiful. exceptionally comfortable bed and pillows. Ok breakfast, cereal, oats, bagels, yogurt cream cheese coffee and apples

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    6.7
    Historical hotel near bars and restaurants.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Very weak soundproofing which may be a problem if noise and music from nearby bars is considered disturbing.

    Spacious rooms, nice rooftop terrace, location in the Gaslamp Quarter and historical atmosphere.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    10
    Gaslamp Plaza Suites is definitely worth considering when staying in San Diego.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Mini Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing to complain about.

    The location in relate to the Convention Center was great. And it was in the middle of the Gaslamp district. The rooftop where the complimentary breakfast is served has a great view of the city. The sleeping room is was amazing.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    8.8
    Small boutique hotel in great location in historic Gaslamp district. Close to sightseeing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Mini Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing we didn’t like

    Hotel was in a great location in the Gaslamp District. Lots of good restaurants and nightlife to choose from. The accommodation suites were spacious and comfortable and included a small kitchenette with fridge and microwave which was useful. The complimentary breakfast was excellent and the rooftop garden area was a great place to relax with an afternoon drink. The staff at the hotel were very welcoming, warm and friendly and were very helpful with local information. Would recommend to others and would stay there again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    9.6
    Comfotable spacious rooms in convenient location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was ok. Bagels, toast, and cereal served on paper plates with plastic cutlery. However the roof terrace gives a great view whilst you eat your breakfast so that makes up for the less than stellar food options.

    The room was spacious and clean and the bed was very comfortable. There are lots of restaurants and bars close to the hotel and the harbour is a walk away. The staff were also incredibly friendly and whilst I was there I witnessed the front desk sing 'Happy Birthday' (with gusto) for another guest who was checking in. That's not something you see everyday!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    6.7
    Disappointing for a well located but overpriced hotel in San Diego.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Mini Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small, crowded room to be called a suite, uncomfortable and small double bed for two, shower/tub slippery and dangerous - no bathtub safety mat and only one small wall grab bar - poorly designed from a safety standpoint. Overpriced.

    Reception, staff, interesting old renovated building, rooftop continental breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    10
    Lovely place
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Coffee at breakfast was horrible I walked to Starbucks to get one

    Big spacious room, nice rooftop terrace Very friendly staff Great location downtown

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    6.7
    Avoid
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Mini Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is dingy, the room was a little better than the hallways and lobby but the whole place feels like a relic on which money has not been spent for decades. The breakfast (which I decided not to eat) was the worst I have ever seen: basically just a few mangy bagels etc. and awful coffee. Clearly just there so that they can tick the box "breakfast included". The "free WiFi" is slow and frequently disconnects. You must pay for decent WiFi. The windows are single-glazed and despite being on the 9th floor, the noise from the street was a problem when trying to sleep. The bathroom did not vent sufficiently and the shower had a persistent drip when off.

    The location was fairly good though still sketchier than I expected. The staff were pleasant. The sheets were crisp and clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    7.0
    We only stayed there because of location but we would not stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was extremely uncomfortable and unfortunately our room was facing an alleyway where we could just hear birds make noises all through the night.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    6.7
    Poor Value, definitely not 4 star
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No way is this a 4 star property. It is 2 at best. The room was the most expensive of all the hotels we stayed in in California - and by far the worst. We had no window, the room was small and unpleasant - although clean, the decor was extremely tired. The noise from the club area within the accommodation was unbearable. It felt more like a back packer accommodation than a 4 star establishment. Breakfast was extremely basic. On the plus side, the staff were pleasant and it is well situated for the gas lamp area.

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    9.2
    Charming hotel with friendly staff. Area best for folks that like nightlife.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The noise level from the street was quite loud, especially over the weekend. There were lots of homeless on the street, and some of them were aggressive. I was glad that using the elevator required a room key!

    Hotel was charming and very clean. Staff was helpful and friendly. Breakfast was traditional continental, and the rooftop area had great views. Lots of nearby restaurants. Several transportation options if you don't want to park a car. Wifi worked well except for one morning when it was out for a couple of hours.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    4.2
    Ok hotel if you don't want to sleep - loud inside and out.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extremely loud, inside and out. Music and revelry outside very loud from 10 pm to 1 am or later. Inside, neighbor talked loudly on phone from 2 to 330 am, could hear every word. Tried unsuccessfully to sleep with head beneath a pillow.

    Ok location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    6.3
    Not such a pleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The size of the room, the window view was of the inner building and we kept hearing weird noises. Pigeons making noises all night and construction in the early morning. A maid slowly turned our knob and slowly cracked opened the door then closed it when we saw her. When I opened the door she did say sorry but still weird.

    The lobby was pretty and the roof top had beautiful view.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    10
    Loved it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking charge - I get parking is limited but to charge the same as any other parking lot nearby after already dropping a lot of money on the suite itself is too much.

    THe facilities in general were amazing, it’s experiencing a bit of the San Diego history

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    9.6
    Lovely hotel with lots of character
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise from local bars and traffic can be quite loud. The hum from the aircon covered most of it, and I just put my audio book on and slept fine. Might be an issue for others.

    Got a free upgrade and had a beautiful room. The view from the rooftop is stunning.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very loud, couldn’t sleep until 3am due to near by nightclubs. Wasn’t informed that we would also be charged 100 dollars for a deposit that has now taken over a week to be put back in my account

    Excellent location, very clean and large rooms, staff were friendly

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    6.3
    Will not return
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Expensive, value to$ poor, breakfast minimal, no protein Suite was very noisy from street activity late into the nigh (past 1 am) Second room, postage stamp size, difficult for 2 people to navigate

    Upgraded suite was very nice Hotel quaint as advertised

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    10
    It was a delightful experience and would love to return some day.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The continental breakfast could have offered just a wee bit more choices-nothing elaborate, but maybe some muffins or donuts so a person didn’t have to wait to toast something.

    We loved the age of the hotel, admired all the old handcraftsmanship. Especially liked the terrace and wonderful views of the city, etc. The staff was super, very helpful and accommodating. It was a wonderful start to our week in San Diego.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    7.5
    Not going back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Mini Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise!!! Even with earplugs in my ears couldn’t sleep! What your site did NOT tell us is that there is a bar directly UNDER the hotel and the music starts cranking at 10:00 and doesn’t even come close to stopping until 2:00 am!! Don’t come planning to get any sleep! Miserable night! Then the free breakfast is pretty much a joke. It is on the roof with a view which helps you forget you are eating store day old bagels and packaged oatmeal or cold cereal. No hot breakfast here. So no sleep, bad breakfast, $32.00 to park car overnight with hotel, went home exhausted.

    Location to walk to everything in Gaslamp! Do not have to get in your car! Room was nice size and comfortable; couch, chair, comfy bed & bedding, small fridge and microwave.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    10
    We both loved and disliked the location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We both loved and disliked the location. Very close to restaurants and bars, so a little noisy at night, but very easy to get places. The staff was outstanding!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    10
    Gorgeous rooftop terrace with lovely views and the staff...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing I can think of is that the decor is slightly dated but that is the only thing.

    Gorgeous rooftop terrace with lovely views and the staff were nice & friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    7.5
    Fun to be right in the middle of downtown Gas Lamp district. Comfortable but cozy room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast area really small and basic. Room very small.

    Beautifully restored historic building. Great downtown location. Comfortable clean room, and convenient kitchen area included.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    9.2
    I'd reccommend this place to any travellers passing through San Diego
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, surrounded by great bars and restaurants so no need to walk far in any direction to find your preferred choice. $16 Taxi ride from the Airport.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    7.9
    Great hotel, prime location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel advertised free continental breakfast. But it was only toast and juice. There should have been more food items available. Also, I wish there was a gym on site.

    This hotel was super adorable. Has a unique, antique feel to it. Room was great with a very nice view of the city. In walking distance to everything in Gaslamp district.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    9.2
    An atmospheric hotel in a central location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Mini Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast was quite minimal; the plates, spoons etc. were disposable.

    My room (3rd floor) was spacious and silent despite the central location. Most importantly, the hotel has character and historical atmosphere even though it has modern facilities.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    10
    I am so thrilled I chose to stay here!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little more variety in the continental breakfast.

    The hotel has so much personality!!! Love the character and charm. Everything was impeccably clean, especially for how historic the building is. The staff was friendly and accomodating.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    10
    Really were comfortable and felt welcomed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Mini Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was continental with no eggs or meat. Mainly cereal, yogurt, bread, coffee. Most disappointing was the mold on the bagel.

    Loved how roomy our suite was, extra couch to relax on and watch tv. good views from room. Quaint decor but fresh and clean. Restaurant called "Melting Pot', a fondue based menu, is part of the facility. Amazing achitecture in the restaurant and very efficient staff. Fun new foods.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    7.1
    The city is so nice and our stay was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is in the Gaslamp area of the city and we found it too loud for us... Saturday night we needed earplugs as the noise from the street was unreal and a club is under the hotel so the sound travelled up! Ask for high room if you stay there. If you are younger then you will probably be at the club!

    The hotel is an older style property and in my opinion in need of a refresh. However, our room was clean and the staff were friendly. The continental breakfast was fine, bagel, toast, yogurt and coffee/tea etc nothing special but exceptable and clean dining area.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    9.2
    The location and property were amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking at $32 a night was a little bit of a bummer, but valet was great and very quick.

    The location and property were amazing. Accessible to all parts of downtown, walk and enjoy the city. The room was beautiful, the views amazing--especially on the rooftop.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    6.3
    Everything was okay until we tried to go to sleep.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was located in the heart of party central. The bars, and incredibly loud music, continued until 2 in the morning. There was no indication when we booked the hotel that we should expect so much noise until so late at night.

    Room was clean but we had to ask for coffee for second person.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    5.0
    View and rooms were nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We could have been notified that there was construction going on. We woke up sooner due to construction NOISE & could not go back to sleep. They also did not notify on $100 hold for room.

    View and rooms were nice. Small but nice

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    6.7
    The breakfast spread was very sad although advertised as...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast spread was very sad although advertised as great “Continental Breakfast”. I was there right at opening and there were only bagels, cheap juices out of the machine and some packaged yoghurts. Would have at least expected some scrambled egg for the fact that it has to be paid for with the room, i.e. no similar room available without breakfast at time of booking No gym and I did not feel comfortable running in the area due to safety concerns

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    9.6
    Staff were very helpful and friendly. Hotel location was perfect for sightseeing needs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 3 nights

    no gym on the premises. However, there are gyms, a very short walk away, that offered deals to hotel guests.

    breakfast on the rooftop was excellent. Food was basic, but the view, atmosphere and friendly conversation (and sightseeing tips) with other guests made each morning a great start to the day. We got lucky and received a room upgrade.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    10
    Location was great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Mini Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Continental breakfast wasn’t the best.

    Location was great! Had a concert that was just a block away at the House of Blues, made it easy to just walk to. Enjoyed the view of the city at the rooftop!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    9.6
    We love our stay and would stay here again but ask for a room on the other side or higher up.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Better sound barrier on the Windows we could hear the traffic, talking and music on E street until 3 am. HBO had clarity and degrading issues when we tried to watch a movie.

    Room was very nice and comfortable. Better than expected. Staff was very friendly and gave great suggestions location was close to public transportation and within walking distance of multiple restaurant and bars

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    7.5
    A vintage hotel in an historic building
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had booked a standard room that proved to be so tiny we could barely get our cases through the door. An upgrade was soon sorted out at reception. Can be very noisy from time to time.The towels are tiny and the shower a dribble. Sadly many homeless people hang around in the area. Constant smell of pizzas cooking in the corridors.

    The staff make this hotel what it is, lovely people, helpful and informative. Stunning views from the roof terrace, here a very basic breakfast can be had daily. Our room on the tenth floor also had good views and was very quiet. Comfortable bed and very efficient air conditioning. It’s very central for restaurants and night clubs and handy for transport links. Fabulous vintage lifts.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    9.6
    An excellent and central hotelstay in Gaslamp Quarter.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Mini Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was not that interesting, a little more to choose from would have been better. But you could get someting to eat though.

    Very good location in Gaslamp quarter. Close to all the restaurants and bars and within walking distance to the USS Midway in the harbour. The breakfast was served from the rooftop. That was stunning, with an excellent view from there.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    8.3
    Would have been excellent, if not the parking situation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Mini Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Modern hotel without a complimentary parking is absolutely ridiculous thing. The valet parking kills all the affordability. Note absolutely no street parking around -all meters are permanently occupied.

    Excellent location, decent prize.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    8.3
    Noisy but friendly front desk staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The facility is a little bit old and you can tell that once you walk in your room. The major problem is that this hotel has a nightclub on its ground floor, which I totally wasn't aware of. Furthermore, the whole area seems to be a nightclub area, since I was surrounded by music and noise from different directions outside the window. We stayed there on Friday and the noise kept going up to my room even after 3 am. It was great that the front desk provided free earplugs when I called to complain tho.

    The lobby was the main reason why I booked this hotel: marble wall and floor, large mirror along the steps, brass elevator, etc. I expected it to be a classy hotel and I did take a lot of amazing pictures during my stay.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    8.3
    Good
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Valet parking fee too much!!! Roof top bar was closed on Friday evening. Wine bar in basement way overcrowded and seats missing for bar.

    Unique style, upgrade to junior suite. In heart of Gaslamp.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    9.6
    We had a good time being a tourist in a different city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The breakfast was limited.

    The location in the Gaslamp District was great.. close to bus/trolley line and restaurants. The breakfast wasn't the best, but adequate. The room was small, but very, very clean.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    6.3
    It ws ok. I am not 100% sure I would stay there again
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    no restaurant, complimentary breakfast did not offer much. Location is one block away from being dangerous

    Good location and the hotel has a nice 1930's charm

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    10
    I enjoyed my stay and would consider it for my next travel to San Diego
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    while the valet service (Justin and the others) was excellent, the daily cost was a bit surprising

    Location was excellent, rooftop was bonus. front desk Merry was indeed merry!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    10
    It was a good place to stay in downtown
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Mini Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was poor. Even cheep hotels have much better options, with the rooftop view wanted to enjoy my food i didn’t have

    Thanks for upgrading me to a bigger suite. Beautiful design

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    10
    Very relaxing, convenient location, friendly and helpful staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 1 night

    Really can't complain about anything!!

    Sean and other staff members were great! Suite 1009 was beautiful - and very spacious! Walking distance to our event at Balboa Theatre and many restaurants.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    10
    The staff especially Merry were amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved everything except the room that was given was very stuffy at first. Had trouble running the air besides that it was wonderful an absolute dream

    The staff especially Merry were amazing

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    9.6
    Loved it. Great location. It is loud at nigjt, but I was so tired, I barely realized it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Mini Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hated that we were asked if we were checking out everytime we asked for our car by front desk. It was irritating thinking about checking out everyday lol.

    Staff was awesome. Valet attendants were fast .

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    9.6
    Excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Street noise. To be fair it was Suoer Bowl Sunday but the windows provide very little sound barrier.

    Excellent location. Comfortable room in a historic building. Very clean. Staff friendly and helpful. Love the rooftop patio.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    10
    Great visit to San Diego and awesome accommodations at Gaslsmp plaza
    • Couple
    • Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wish they had more options on the breakfast. Maybe a waffle maker and more than one choice of cereal (they only had Raisin Bran)

    Room (we had a mini suite) was great, staff was always helpful and happy, and the location was great

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    10
    the weather and the local people were amazing, i will be returning
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the WI-FI was very weak, for the most part eveything was good incl the coffee, i didnt like that i had to go home

    i love the morning breakfast on the patio,the view is amazing , the walking distant to restaurants from hotel location very close and lots of good choices , staff very friendly ,they made some recommendation of things to see downtown and where to eat. overall it was a positive experience for us.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    8.8
    It was fine.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We tried checking in early. We were told tnwould be ready by 2. We left and came back at 3 and we were told to come back at 4. It was a little annoying. The room was a lot smaller than we expected it to be.

    The staff is very friendly. The hotel is clean.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    9.2
    Suite was spacious and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Mini Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Disappointed In the “free breakfast included.” More like free toast and juice. For the price I paid, I expected an actual quality sit down breakfast. They also don’t tell you there is no onsite parking. You MUST use valet or pay at the meters. Both a ridiculous and pricy.

    Suite was spacious and comfortable

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    9.6
    One night in San Diego
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We just had and issue with the privacy, because they opened our door suddenly and we were there, so... it was uncomfortable.

    A definitely good location and we loved the views while you’re taking breakfast. The staff was cool... Merry was nice ;)

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    7.1
    Ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Mini Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisier than I anticipated, appreciating that this location is in centre of nightlife area. Walls really thin and anyone in corridor outside of room could be easily heard. Not a hotel for peace and quiet I would suggest. Breakfast was poor with very little choice or variety.

    Good central location with easy reach of public transport and many places with walking distance. Lots of restaurants and bars in immediate vicinity. Room very comfortable and clean.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    6.3
    It is a historical building and they keep it maintained
    • Couple
    • Mini Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    You could feel the springs in the bed, too much noise because the walls are thin and bathroom could be updated

    It is a historical building and they keep it maintained

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    9.6
    The location room and staff were wonderful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Mini Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only downside was the continental breakfast, very sparse.

    The location room and staff were wonderful. Large beautifully decorated room in wonderful location.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    10
    I’d like to credit the hotel staff for enhancing our trip. We will stay again in the future.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The terrific team you employ made our trip memorable from the minute we pulled up to the hotel. Allen at Valet was friendly and personable. Adriana took great care of us at check in with an upgrade to our room and recommendations for the hotel’s in-house restaurants and bar. We loved how intimate and unique the hotel itself is. We even looked up its history dating back to 1913. Not surprised it’s in the Registry of Historic Places. Don’t stay here if you are looking for a hotel that’s cookie cutter and Uber modern. It’s the early 20th century details that lends itself to the charm of this hotel. Our upgraded room was clean, spacious and very comfortable. The hotel was within walking distance of the event we attended at the Civic Theater. When we returned to the hotel later in the evening about 11pm, Adriana cheerfully acknowledged us and provided additional local recommendations.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    7.1
    Other than the bar/club downstairs everything else was great!!
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The club/bar down stairs had lame music the atmosphere wasn’t that great too dark and small a lot of people just standing. Not enjoyable

    I love the roof top and the design of the rooms

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    7.9
    Old hotel in Downtown
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower starts very hot and then slowly colder and finally you are unable to get even warm temperature. Looks like problems with boiler or mixer.

    very nice view from the roof

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    9.6
    Great location, layout of the Jr.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Mini Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, layout of the Jr.suite was very comfortable. Just the right amount of food choices for light & healthy breakfast to start the day. Staff was friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    4.6
    It was an experience, but I would never stay at the Gaslamp Plaza Suites again.
    • Couple
    • Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It is extremely noisy outside the hotel. Sirens go all night due to the area surrounding the building. The windows are original, so no sound proofing. The bathroom is cramped and the door opens into the bed so the "bedroom" is extremely cramped. The complimentary "breakfast" is VERY minimal. Wheaties, juice, maybe yogurt, wheat bread or English muffin/Bagel (not both). It is not at all close to what I've experienced in more recent years with complimentary breakfasts. Only Valet parking is available and is $32/night which I didn't know at the time of booking.

    The location was close to the Zoo, and walking distance to Maritime Museum, shopping.dining, and nightlife (if that is your intent). If you're into partying and locations for night-life and don't mind not being able to sleep, it is a great location for that.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    10
    Fine on all fronts.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 5 nights

    A good position if, like me, you go for a conference as you are only about 15 minutes away (straight down the avenue) from the main conference centre, yet at the same time away from the modernity at the waterfront. So more character and an interesting area to prowl around. The rooftop breakfast area gives a great view of the city too.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    5.8
    view from breakfast terrace.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Mini Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    wi-fi not available for more more than one device and with download and time limit!poor breakfast.the toilette was not clean.smell of food in the corridors.

    view from breakfast terrace.architecture of the building.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    9.6
    awesome place
    • Group
    • Mini Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing was we had to walk up the stairs to roof top because the elevator would not take the room key. And we also needed to be asking for more towels. Other than that, it was awesome !

    awesome place

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    9.2
    Best rooftop. Easy access. Very nice and kind front desk!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    If you have limit budget, you might get a corner room without windows to outside. Personally, I would like to switch to other room if there's no outside windows. But you will have to pay for much more...

    This hotel has the best rooftop I ever lived in. You can have a free breakfast on morning at this rooftop. Or you can buy wines and chat with friends at night. No need to switch line if you take a bus from airport. Easy access. and the valet is also great. I would like to thanks for the front desk for their kindness and warm hospitality.

    Stayed in October 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Gaslamp Plaza Suites traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: