Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Gateway Hotel Santa Monica 3 stars

1920 Santa Monica Boulevard, Santa Monica, Los Angeles, CA 90404, USA

#130 of 352 hotels in Los Angeles

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1169 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    8

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    8.3
    Modern, very clean and convenient location. Recommend!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Modern spacious rooms, very clean and 5 min drive to 3rd street Promenade and beach. Convenient parking under hotel. Great customer service. Really appreciated the ability (for a fee and based upon availability) to extend check out to 6pm. We had a 10.30pm flight back to Australia and it was great to be able to go back to your room to shower & freshen up before a long flight.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    7.9
    Good location, beds were comfy, parking, a great policy for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Abit pricy but for location its expected, scratchy covers on bed (but you can remove, there more for decoration)

    Good location, beds were comfy, parking, a great policy for later check out if you have a late flight, allows you to enjoy your day.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    9.6
    Overall a good value for us and service was great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wish there would have been a few more dining options nearby.

    Great staff at a quiet, clean, comfortable hotel. About $7 Uber ride to the pier. A few restaurants within .5 mile walk and a Walgreens 2 blocks away. Nice to be away from all the tourist foot traffic but has its drawbacks too. Surrounded by medical buildings.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    10
    My partner and I really enjyed our stay here and would gladly stay again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Description of Hotels distance from main hub in Santa Monica was a little misleading. It was deffinetely further than it states. Still, it's not that far of a walk, and if you can get a bird it's a short ride down.

    Very Clean and spacious room. Free Wifi was great. The bathroom was very modern and clean. Staff very friendly and always willing to help with anything they can whether directions or other services we needed.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    8.8
    Comfy and easy access
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Was surprised that although advertised as a Best Western group hotel they have left the BW group

    Location was good for exploring the north Los Angles / Santa Monica area

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    10
    we will definitely come back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    we loved absolutely everything. we had the top floor and the terrace was just awe needed to relax for a glass extremely friendly staff. great location as well, internet is strong .... we just loved it

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    5.8
    Free parking, comfortable bed, lovely bathroom
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shocking breakfast in a design and atmosphere free conference room. Stick to the coffee (although that's not good either). Aircon didn't work. Location a bit random, but price reflects that.

    Free parking, comfortable bed, lovely bathroom

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    8.8
    Great option for a relaxing weekend "close" to the beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The price is a little bit high for a 3-star hotel (compared to Europe at least). The bathroom was small with the sink placed close to the room door (not inside the bathroom)

    The hotel is really well located, you are relatively close to the active core of Santa Monica, which is Santa Monica Pier (30 min on foot or 5 min by car). It is really comfortable and quiet, at least the room we booked. The breakfast is buffet style, there is not a big selection but it is still ok.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    6.7
    This hotel is right next to a hospital Emergency room and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel is right next to a hospital Emergency room and the ambulances come by blaring their sirens every 15-20 minutes throughout the day and night. The a/c is is on the wall therefore the sounds from the street come right through the vent. It’s impossible to sleep well.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    7.1
    Had enough of noise - glad only there four nights!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very very noisy both inside and outside of hotel - had to be moved to get nights sleep onto a top floor room with no one above us Had to have breakfast in a conference room as restaurant closed!

    The beds were amazing Fairly good location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    10
    Excellent and enjoyeable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There is 2 bottle complimentary water in the room for your first night that have to be every day if you stay more night comparing the room rate it does not cost to put 2 bottle water every day.

    The staff member are very friendly. The location is really close to the beach and also restaurant, burger place and Mexican food place (Chipotle) and other on 19th street and Santa Monica Blvd. That is one block away. Burger King, Pizza place and gas station to buy any drink as well as Walgreen pharmacy two block away on 20th street. It is very convenient place for family and children. Plus to that free parking and simple break fast choice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    8.8
    Good stay in Santa Monica
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    -breakfast was very limited -parking spots were very narrow -a bit overpriced

    - very good location - spacious rooms and super clean and modern bathrooms - comfortable beds - good wifi -helpful staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    7.1
    Just a good option
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    If you are looking for a quite place, this is the place. A long walk from main Santa Monica area but we like walking so it was ok for us, if you drive or take the bus you would get there in few minutes.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    6.7
    The hotel is quite far from the beach and LA.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 6 nights

    I liked only Staff and room clean.

    The hotel is quite far from the beach and LA. The breakfast is very scarce and monotonous. The cost is inadequate.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    8.8
    Great room, great location and great, easy car parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant is closed, so the put on an American interpretation of a Continental breakfast, which was very poor.

    Great room, great location and great, easy car parking.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    10
    Good value which is often hard to find.
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The exterior is not attractive and made me rethink stay until I saw the room.

    The rooms and facilities have been updated and was very well done. Also, all was very clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    7.9
    All was OK
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Noise from neighbors (our one from the upper level sounded like crazy during the entire day and until the late night))). Noise from the street transport (only if the windows were open, overwise the isolation was fine)

    The hotel is fine for the money. I would say - the usual above average hotel with standard US breakfast. That's OK to stay there for a couple of nights. Not far from Santa Monika. Good transportation. Not so many places to eat around.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    7.9
    Good
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    The TV remote was very intermittent. Probably batteries about dead. I took it to the front desk to get replacement. The replacement was worse than the original. Couldn't watch TV.

    It is close to the UCLA Medical Center where I was to have surgery next morning

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    6.7
    The location is great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast was not anything special, the restaurant was closed and the food was served in a meeting room but this was not communicated on the website. On the last day, some of our shopping bags left in the room were apparently thrown away as trash during cleaning. They contained some items though. The manager was kind enough to offer to reimburse for the loss but this only happened after a long discussion without initial trust in the client's complaint. There was a lot of noise in the room coming from the outside through the window even when it was closed.

    The location is great. Close to everything. The hotel is updated and is very clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    8.8
    No extra fluffy eggs for breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Breakfast was very disappointing and definitely substandasr for such a fine Hotel Ther where no eggs for breakfast, neither freshly and warm cooked oatmeal. grits, polenta or soem other cooked and warm cereals! Eerything was cold and packaged; Only bananas and apples fro fruits; All the breads where fluffy, like wonderbread, no wholesome full grain breads!! A very poor and disappointing breakfast experience

    No extra fluffy eggs for breakfast THe pillowa where to thick, no flat pillows

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    10
    Very comfortable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We needed to search for bottled water.

    Our stay was very nice. The room was clean and spacious. The bed was very comfortable allowing for a great night sleep while away from home, huge plus. Conveniently located to everything we needed . We will definitely be back. The price was very affordable also.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    8.8
    Overall, a great stay in a decent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast. The restaurant was closed for some reason during our entire stay so the breakfast was continental. That was disappointing.

    The property is CLEAN. Even the remote control was sealed up on our arrival! Our room was all hardwood floors which is amazing. Carpets in hotels are absolutely disgusting.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    9.6
    Good value, worth staying a few blocks away from the pier
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The in-house restaurant was closed so you only get a continental breakfast at the moment. Parking spaces were a bit small. Hallways were somewhat cramped and you could hear through to the next room a little bit. As is the case with almost every hotel, the in-room coffee is bad.

    The facilities (bed, TV, bathroom, free bottled water) were nice and the hotel is as close as you can get to the beach without paying the mega $$$$$$$ to actually stay on the beach. Also, it's quieter than at the pier. Parking at the hotel is free. You can easily take transit (it's a few blocks away on Colorado) or drive over to the pier. There's still a few restaurants within walking distance if you're not headed to the beach itself.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    7.5
    Great location at reasonable price. Expect more noise on ground floor rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was near elevator and a little noisier than expected at times.

    Located within comfortable distance if main places of interest. Complimentary breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    8.3
    A great place to end the day in Santa Monia!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Continental breakfast was pretty standard. Decent 25 minute walk to the pier.

    The room was light & airy and very clean. Beautiful bathroom. Extremely comfortable bed. Parking was very easy.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    9.6
    Great value! Free parking and breakfast, excellent location and central location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The walls were thin, I could hear my neighbor.

    Comfortable beds, beautiful bathroom, bonus breakfast was a nice addition. The location was near everything and free parking.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    9.6
    Excellent!!
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No downside at all.

    Hotel and room were very clean and updated. Bathroom looked like no one had ever used it! Staff were all very friendly and helpful. We will definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    9.6
    would stay there again after the great experince we had with staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in was great, desk attendant very nice and had room available in an hour even thou we were early. Restaurant was closed but they provided continental breakfast. Gave great ideas and directions on how to get to attractions

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    7.5
    Wanted a place around Santa Monica to visit the area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wanted a place around Santa Monica to visit the area. Seaside offer was full and expensive and this place was Ok even more expensive other hotels in our trip around LA. Situation and facilities were as expected. But next time we probably can find same quality for lower price a bit far away from seaside.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    9.2
    I would definitely stay here again-super close to all the places we went to, but not in the frenzy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The restaurant was closed so they food was in the conference room. i was hoping to have some gluten free items-there was nothing that I could eat in terms of bread like products. Also, my daughter is vegan, so if you could have Almond milk as a possibility with the cereal that would be a nice addition! Thanks

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    8.8
    Looking forward to staying here again
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Nothing

    The rooms were very clean, a good size and had everything you would need in them. The hotel is in a quiet location with restaurants and shops only a few blocks away. There are also bus stops on all corners of the hotel which take you directly to the beach, the 3rd Street Promenade shopping area, Venice Beach and many other locations.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    9.2
    Clean, safe location for visiting patients at St Johns hospital.
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant was closed and few eating places within walking distance.

    Great location for visiting husband at St. John’s hospital and 20 blocks from coast. Free underground parking. Quick check in and check out.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    8.3
    Staff are very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No pool! Better breakfast choices, muffins taste couple days old, bananas were brownish, bruise apples, no proteins and Coffee weak.

    Staff are very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    10
    It was just great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sundecks are opened at either 9 or 10 am which feels like a bit late, would be nice to enjoy 8t from 7am for meditation and fresh air and lovely sum of Santa Monica,)

    Stuff is amazing, very friendly & helpful. Front desk stuff is just wonderful!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    5.0
    Comfortable rooms, but overpriced....
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    For the money, I thought the hotel was overpriced. The restaurant was closed (construction) when we were there, and there wasn't many options for restaurants around the area. The breakfast was very basic - no eggs, bacon etc. - only cold items. The workout room was also very outdated and small.

    The rooms were clean and the beds were comfortable. The location was ok, if you have a car. The parking was convenient. The staff was very helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    9.6
    Good location clean and value for the buck.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed on the third floor , with the window open we could smell cigerrete smoke from the first floor outside from the office and peoples voices were very loud. The continental breakfast was okay. The restroom smelled a little like sulfur & the bldg. hallways were too warm.

    Beds were excellent, location & very clean

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    7.9
    Nice stay in Santa Monica
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 14 nights

    1. Basic breakfast. 2. Terraces from the side of the building are closed after 9-10pm.

    Very clean and chic hotel. Free underground parking. Double windows at the street view rooms. Very good sleep. Computer with printer free of charge in the lobby area.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    8.3
    really clean and practical room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    do not expect a super fancy hotel or view from your room of any sort, if you can pass on that, GREAT stay. We would stay here again. Super nice staff.

    really clean and practical room. really nice staff. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    5.0
    Clean room Outer Santa Monica...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was too far away from Santa Monica main hot spots, and the breakfast room ambience was really poor... breakfast was not worth eating.

    Cleanliness of the room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    8.8
    Location is exceptional.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decor is dated and dark.

    Location is exceptional. Just down the street from the strip. The Bellagio is nearby. The Miracle Mile is opposite the hotel for shopping. Excellent location. Basic hotel. Self parking is free.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    9.2
    Comfortable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No over head lights

    Got to the hotel early, soaking wet from a rare rainy day (no taxis at tram stop) staff very welcoming and let us into our room early so we could dry off.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    8.8
    Good choice for a short visit to LA
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast area needs to be improved, though it is temporary while works are being done at the restaurant

    Pleaseant and quiet room, with good amenities

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    8.8
    Met my expectations, I had an enjoyable time!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would have liked a breakfast with eggs or bacon or something more substantial. The wood floors are awesome but it can make it noisy from the rooms above.

    The beds and pillows were awesome!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    8.8
    Reasonably priced for the area, and convenient location. Staff is friendly and helpful.
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The view from my room was horrible and I had a hard time getting the temperature in my room right. With the restaurant next door closed, it changed the convenience of this hotel for me.

    This is the third time I have stayed at this property and each time, the staff is the BEST part of this hotel. Very kind. I appreciate that they have a paper available, and they listen to my preference to be on a low floor. Love the big TV and the big countertop in the bathroom.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    7.1
    Satisfied but you can do better for less money.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Definitely not value for money, the Santa Monica area is great but you are away from all the restaurants and bars. Way over priced.

    Nice comfy bed. Good staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    7.1
    Convenient standard hotel with some nice extras touches!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The gym is very small and really only has 3 cardio machines and no free weights. I tried getting a day pass to a local gym but that is very difficult to do in Santa Monica unless you are a resident. Also in the bathroom there was broken glass on the floor when I first arrived and which took a day before it was cleaned up.

    Rooms are nice and spacious and have everything you need also having breakfast included is a nice bonus that very few hotels around Santa Monica offer. Also loved the sun terrace on the 4th floor which was a lovely place to chill and relax.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    7.1
    clean modern rooms with hard floors plush bed but cheap...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    no pool, breakfast served in meeting room across the street. motel like look in lobby. not much in the area, have to drive about 10/15min to get to the beach or any life.

    clean modern rooms with hard floors plush bed but cheap sheets/duvet/cobver

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    8.8
    Just the place to stay for business or for play in LA.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel restaurant was closed for renovation and if this info was available at time of booking, I missed it. Hotel laid on a continental breakfast in a meeting room next door each day and this was fine, but missing room service was a little disappointing. Perhaps I am cranky because the coffee shop across the street was also closed for renovation. Had it not been, I probably wouldn’t have felt deprived.

    Generous size rooms, beds and amenities. Great location with parking and near bus. Pleasant friendly knowledgable staff who were helpful when needed.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    8.3
    Nice staff, clean, good location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was disappointed there was no restaurant on site, the booking information said that there was a restaurant. So getting something to eat had to be ordered and brought to the hotel

    The rooms were bright and nicely decorated in the bathroom had a fantastic lights in it

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    8.8
    Nice room, fine breakfast (basic and simple, but does the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is ok, not really walking distance from anywhere though very easy access using a car

    Nice room, fine breakfast (basic and simple, but does the trick)

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    8.3
    Good visit just some improvements the hotel could make long term. Really good staff and cleanlines
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor soundproofing had to listen to couple next door having relations for 30 mins at 3am. Room doors bang closed. They need soft closers. Bed sagging.

    Clean modern bathroom. Good complimentary breakfast. Pleasant staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    8.8
    Lovely place if you want to get lost in the magic on Santa Monica! Highly Recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There is no room service, and the breakfast service was also not in the hotel (you had to exit the main door) - however, we were not expecting there to be breakfast in the first place, so no complains here.

    Good Staff! Very well versed in local attractions - good recommendations. Big Rooms! Surprisingly larger than we could fathom in the pictures. Nice sitting area. We had 4 suitcases and were able to navigate effortlessly due to the large space in the room. Very Clean! Nicely kept rooms and bathroom - clean rugs/sheets/towels

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    8.3
    Short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too far to walk to beach, shopping. Take an uber for 6 - 7 $.

    Large room, very clean. Basic continental breakfast provided. They let us store our bags all day after checkout.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    8.3
    Room and desk staff good ... breakfast very poor
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although we went to breakfast half an hour before "last breakfasts" there were no pastries or croissants left and bananas the only fruit available. Serving staff were advised but they said there was no more. 15 to 20 other guests attended after us and could only get limited cereal and the few remaining bananas. A poor show.

    The room was fine, bed was comfortable and the location suited us well.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    9.6
    Great, clean, comfortable, inexpensive place to stay. Would 10/10 stay here again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    see above

    Pillows were a little lumpy. Bathroom was very warm and I hate the big auto-close doors. No way to regulate heat in bathroom. Recommend a night light in bathroom. Need to have a light switch that turns on more than the light above the closet. Had to use our iPhones to locate on/off on bedside lamps. HOWEVER, staff were more than accommodating, room was pristinely clean, towels were fluffy and shampoo, etc. was very nice. Stayed in 2 different 5 star hotels over Christmas, and shampoo etc. were BOLTED to wall. This was a great find!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    7.9
    Friendly, clean and comfortable but location is not great due to the noise outside.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    The noise outside.

    I was traveling with my college-age son. We thought that the beds were super comfortable. I thought the whole hotel and the room was super clean. The staff at the desk was very friendly and helpful. The only issue was the noise factor. It's no fault of the hotel- its the location. Too much traffic, sirens, garbage trucks, etc...That's life in the big city!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    5.8
    Nice but needs greener practises
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights

    . 1 bed had noisy springs. . Santa Monica Blvd is very busy (cars) and so not possible to keep windows opened at night. . Hotel is too far from the beach to walk (2-3 miles). . Main issue is environmental : - No recycling bin available in any rooms. I asked a cleaning lady and they said they don't really recycle! - The breakfast buffet has disposable cutlery and dishes; none of this is being recycled. This is unacceptable in 2018, and especially for a Californian hotel! - Staff at reception said they would talk with Direction. Hope they will adjust.

    Nicely decorated and clean rooms. Queen beds quite comfy.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    8.8
    Comfortable room, great bed and bedding. Staff were very helpful and friendly. I'd stay here again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very average breakfast with limited healthy options, however it is a continental so its fine if that's what you enjoy eating for breakfast.

    Friendly and helpful staff. Good view from the 4th floor bedrooms on a clear day. Comfy bed.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    8.3
    Big and comfortable room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pretty far away from the main attractions in Santa Monica. Also you can hear every room when walking in the corridor. We stayed here on New Year’s Eve so it’s probably cheaper on a regular day but value for money is pretty bad. Maybe it’s just like this in LA.

    Big and comfortable room. Breakfast was OK- didn’t expect to get a complimentary breakfast in a city hotel. Free parking is also a big plus in LA.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    10
    Really clean All new fixtures Great Value underground...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really clean All new fixtures Great Value underground parking nice staff very helpful Checked my bag because I was gonna be gone at the Rose bowl all day

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    8.3
    It was a very good experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Coffee & breakfast. Did not use that amenity. The beds were so comfortable & clean rooms, we didn't even care. Went elsewhere for coffee & breakfast.

    The rooms were clean, beds & pillows very comfortable, nicely decorated. Parking was included in the room price.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    7.9
    Good choice !
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is not sufficient by considering daily rates

    Very good location, easy access to all main attraction points in LA, comfortable and free parking, clean and staff very kind and helpful

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    8.8
    Very nice and clean hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little bit far from the sights in Santa Monica, but a very good value for the area.

    Very nice and clean hotel. 1.5 mile walk to the beach area from the hotel.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    8.3
    Continental Breakfast was somewhat limited -- restaurant was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Continental Breakfast was somewhat limited -- restaurant was closed. The hotel had just changed their name, two days before we arrived -- led to some confusion.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    9.2
    Good value for a clean updated and comfortable room. Will stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast quite modest - cold cereal, OJ, Coffee, English muffin and eggo-style waffles. Hotel restaurant is closed but lots of other restaurants close. Vending machine on floor I stayed on was out of order (with sign) for the whole time I was there. Didn’t seem like any effort to fix it.

    Beds very comfortable. Hotel excellent value. Room had a real window that opens. We could sleep with window open. If city noise bothers you then this would be problem but I much prefer it to sound of A/C or stuffy heater. Very clean. Free parking is awesome!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    6.7
    hassle free check-in and check-out.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the facilities and the quality of building and rooms did not justify the price. the building and rooms were old fashioned and quite basic. It was ok because I was staying for only 2 nights. But the price was too steep at approx. $280/night.

    hassle free check-in and check-out. was quite comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    8.8
    Nice clean hotel close to beach and pier.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    No breakfast provided but voucher supplied for restaurant next door. Breakfast choice OK but not the best.

    Hotel was a pleasant 20 min walk to the pier but also had a good bus service. Good sized room with decent shower, coffee maker and fridge also in room.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    7.5
    Good value option for Santa Monica exploring.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very good value. Location not an issue as bus 704 (at time of reviewing) brings you right down to 4th Street for $1.25. Staff had no issue either when we looked to cut our stay short by a day.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    4.6
    Rooms are not carpeted.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For the price, we were disappointed. we had a leak in the ceiling, moved to another room after. But I guess it's the last room coz they gave us the disability room. They had to shut down water between 1pm to 4pm on that Saturday. We were there for a wedding at 5pm. We knew about it coz we read it on the elevator. It would have been nice to mention that important fact when we checked in. We would booked in the Brentwood are where it's cheaper next time. It's not much far from Santa Monica pier and the area is nicer. The location of the hotel is a 35 min walk from Santa Monica beach. But Uber is so convenient and it only costs less than 10$ that it's better to book a little further and pay for a much cheaper same type of hotel 3 stars.

    Rooms are not carpeted. Clean room. Free parking

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    7.5
    This was a nice hotel, modern, clean and free parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A free breakfast would have been perfect

    This was a nice hotel, modern, clean and free parking. No free breakfast and not in the centre but an easy bus ride from straight outside takes you to beach and centre, good value for money in pricey Santa Monica

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    10
    Great stay at Santa Monica, clean, great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    We spent 3 nights at this hotel and it's main plus point was the free carpark which is very large and you always a space. Hotel is 30mins walk to the beach. Bed was very comfortable, the room is lovely, fresh decor and clean. Reception staff are very helpful. There is a diner next door which does fabulous breakfast! There is nothing really around the area itself but Santa Monica is not far, lots of shops and restaurants at the end of the road. There is a lovely Polish restaurant close to the hotel named Solidarity and the food is fantastic, highly recommend.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    9.2
    Great value, clean, and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It's pretty far from anywhere, so a car is a must, but that may just be LA. Might also be nice to have the outdoor decks accessible later on at night (until 10ish maybe?).

    Good price, clean, and the whole facility is non-smoking, which was great.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    9.6
    Lovely location for downtown Santa Monica.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Rooms were spacious for a family of 4 plus luggage. Bathroom was a good size too with all the amenities you would require, hairdryer, toiletries etc. Free water is always a bonus and fridge essential for keeping drinks cool in the hot weather! Location was great and the reception staff very informative about transport routes and times/locations of buses. Were given vouchers for restaurant opposite which was ideal for breakfast, staff again great & food reasonable value but excellent quality!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    2.5
    It was a fraud, it was a scandal: from the 1st day, we had heavy works on our floor, with workers at
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It was a fraud, it was a scandal: from the 1st day, we had heavy works on our floor, with workers at few centimeters from our room, 'till 7.30 a.m. You shouldn't had allowed to book this hotel. Shame on You. Don't book this hotel, you'll never have a restore.

    It was a fraud, it was a scandal: from the 1st day, we had heavy works on our floor, with workers at few centimeters from our room 'till 7.30 a.m. You shouldn't had allowed to book this hotel. Shame on You. Don't book this hotel, you'll never have a restore.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    8.3
    The hotel is located in a nice safe neighbourhood. There are many restaurants nearby.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The water flow in the shower was weak. We would have preferred bath gel to soap.

    The hotel is modern, clean and bright. There was a refrigerator in our room. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The surrounding area is safe with many restaurants, shops etc. We really enjoyed playing pool at the House of Billiards nearby. Santa Monica and Venice beaches are a short drive away. Great location.

    Stayed in September 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Gateway Hotel Santa Monica traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: