Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Geiser Grand Hotel 4 stars

1996 Main Street, Baker City, OR 97814, USA

#2 of 9 hotels in Baker City

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 111 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    2.9
    Never again!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Horrible bed, old ratty furniture. Room service was horrible, took an hour and half for food to arrive and that was after I called twice. Building is nice but furnishings are run down, looked to be very dated or donated. They have hidden fees you aren't aware of until you get checked out. The fees they add are not made apparent when booking online.

    I love the location and history of hotel.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    9.2
    You can feel the history
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staying in a hotel like this you miss some standard facilities like a fridge or a microwave, but those would be out of style in a classy surrounding this is.

    Beautiful historic hotel, great atmosphere, very hospitable staff

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    6.7
    NOT worth the money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    food not great despite being very expensive. had to carry luggage from back parking lot all the way around to the front of the hotel. no signs anywhere for entrance.

    preserve the Victorian ambience.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    5.8
    Just too darn noisy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walls and door do not add enough sound proof. It’s over priced and the food is edible at best.

    It’s clean for its age and has a bit of culture to it. For the price of the rooms and the food it doesn’t meet the value:(

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    10
    friendliness of the staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    make sure to give yourself time to eat. don't be in a rush. waitress did the best she could being she was the only person in the mornings.

    friendliness of the staff good food

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    7.1
    Mostly positive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast in the café was an odd experience. We were the only ones there and we waited 15 minutes to get a menu, then it wasn't the breakfast menu. Waited another 15 or so to have our orders taken. Not a bad breakfast, but the toast had no butter, so we asked for some. By the time the butter (hard, hard, butter) got there of course the toast was cold! The waitress seemed pretty confused by the whole waiting table concept. (Again, we were the only customers) We aren't the complaining type, so just took it all in stride. We left her a nice tip, hoping she would be encouraged to do better on future guests! Our breakfast was on Feb. 9.

    Comfy bed and pillows. We liked that we had access to movies.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    7.1
    Disappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food was not a good value. I was told at breakfast that if I wanted some of the local jam for my toast that I could purchase some in the gift shop! And they kept asking if we had reservations for dinner and breakfast when there was possibly just two or three people in the dinning room. We would not stay there again.

    We liked the hotel architecture and the room we were in.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    6.3
    I won't return.
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    The building is historic but they have not put much effort into infrastructure renovation and upgrades. The plumbing is not upgraded. It takes 20 minutes of running the water to get any hot water for a shower. The kitchen has eroded in food quality. They are buying low grade food items and my chicken was under cooked. I couldn't eat it. The orange juice in the morning tasted like tang even though on the menu it said fresh.

    While the staff were great the facilities were much to be desired.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    8.8
    Room was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not much to do in town for the tourist shopping type

    Room was excellent. We did the ghost hunting experience-it was interesting but not to expectations. It was apparently off season so town was empty. Staff was nice. Prime Rib dinnerwas esxcellent

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    10
    A wonderfully and tastefully historical hotel with modern ammenities.
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing that I can think of except that it takes 7 minutes to get hot water to the rooms. Perhaps a recirculating hot water system would help with this. There was a notice in the room advising us of this delay so it was not unexpected.

    This was an amazing facility. The room was wonderful and the restaurant had delicious food.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    6.7
    comfortable rooms, old style luxury, lacks amenities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    No info on breakfast, prices or menu. Noise from dining room extremely loud while restaurant is in use. Motorised noise turning on and off all night, disturbed sleep.

    Great old hotel, clean rooms, spacious, and very comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    10
    Geiser Grand Hotel is a unique experience!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Need to put waterproof liners in shower curtains...a bit awkward taking shower.

    I loved the 19th century look! Beautifully restored hotel, central location. Staff very attentive. Loved the on site restaurant. Very clean.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    8.8
    We would stay there again if we found ourselves in Baker City. The natural surroundings are great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are ugly Naugahyde furnishings interspersed with better looking pieces that fit the decor. They could improve the appearance easily by just culling the existing furnishings. The parking is in back but until the renovation is completed there is no back door so it means a half block walk to and from the car. It was cold, rainy and windy when we arrived. There are two heavy doors in front that make getting bags in and out awkward. They won’t let you use the luggage cart unless you use an employee to help.

    Historic hotel in the center of the old town. We would describe the furnishings as “shabby chic.” The bed was very comfortable and the suite is light and spacious. Staff is friendly. The dinner we had in the restaurant was good. They have a beautiful stained glass dome and chandeliers with red and clear glass that look great together. They have a vast, alphabetized DVD collection. There is a fabulous breakfast cafe, Lone Pine, down the block. All the purses in the gift shop include pockets for the concealed carry of a weapon!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    9.2
    Very appropriate place to celebrate a wedding anniversary.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I don't have anything to criticize.

    The bed was very comfortable. Our room was very quiet. The hotel was very historic. Everyone was very helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    7.9
    The room was comfortable, bed and linens and bathroom...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    This property is overpriced. It's a renovated old hotel so parts of it were not well designed or accommodating for modern tastes. The tour of the property telling about the renovation was too long.

    The room was comfortable, bed and linens and bathroom excellent. The dining room dinner was very good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    10
    This is our go to facility while visiting family in Baker City. No other need apply.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tiny, slow elevator. Heavy, awkward front doors. Special banquet $50 with no coffee or dessert

    The friendliness and helpfulness of the staff. The large comfortable ADA acessible room. Old but gracious facility

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    9.2
    We hope to be back before too long.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The air conditioning unit was a bit noisy. For a facility that is over 100 years old, some might not like that it doesn't have the newest and latest every little thing but for us that is what makes this place a charming and desirable to stay.

    The bed was so comfortable. The waitress in the dining room was so friendly and the stained glass atrium is gorgeous. The waiter at breakfast was also very friendly. The food for both meals was excellent. They have a good chef there. It was a very relaxing stay.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    10
    Fabulous!
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staying longer would have made it better! lol I will go back and do so.

    The ambiance of it all was fantastic as were the staff and my room. The coffee was so good I had to go to the little shop in town that had it... and it was right down the street!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    6.7
    I stayed because it was a historic property.
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff should offer help with your bags, a towel rack should be installed near tub and sink. And my key card never worked, although my sister's did. I would also suggest upgrading the chairs around the second floor; the ones they have, and maybe they match the dining room, are just tacky. For an historic building and the price you pay, they definitely need to be nicer.

    I stayed because it was a historic property.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    7.0
    Really wished they had a swimming pool for what we had to pay.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The pedestal sink in the bath room was not attached very well.If you leaned on it at all, it would tilt like it could fall off. We checked out a day early and received zero refund for the last night. For $200.00 a night you would think that they would have a swimming pool,but didn't.

    The location was excellent.The event we were attending was right out the front door.The restaurant food was good and reasonably priced.The room was large with one window.The view out the window was of the roof.We also loved the tub and shower,with the elevated rain drop shower head and plenty of hot water,didn't want to get out.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    8.3
    Wonderful & Relaxing!
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wish there was availability to the gift shop goodies 24/7, there were times I was thirsty but they closed the drinks/snacks.

    I loved that the Gieser Grand provided dinner reservations & a cocktail class. We had so much fun! And they let me change rooms for a mountain view :)

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    4.6
    Characterful but undermaintained and staff quality inconsistent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This expensive hotel needs a deep clean; it was very dusty and the extensive carpeting needed to be shampooed. The equipment in the tiny fitness area was cheap and rattly. The food was good but our server at supper was sullen and unhelpful.

    location

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    8.5
    Great room and food. Terrible front desk.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Front desk

    Room great. Dining room and food great. Front desk terrible. Could not find our package did not seem to care. Seemed too busy even though only a few guests checking out. Really a bad taste in our mouth after an otherwise great stay.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    7.1
    Unique, clean, and overpriced compared to the services.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food was not good for the price. I heard the resteraunt was amazing, but I thought the salmon was dry and the cheese dip was watery. The gym only had three machines in a room with no ventilation.

    The rooms were large and roomy. The hotel was unique and pretty.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2017

    3.3
    Shady Cancellation Left Us Feeling Extorted
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    They cancelled our booking.com "confirmed" reservation, and charged over $50 more in person. Had there been any other hotel in the area, we would have left, but we traveled from Moab, Utah in the morning, so we were exhausted. Realistically, the extra cost prevented us from enjoying the facility, and it is by no means a traveller's hotel, so anything else I add is a bit too biased.

    Place had a unique look/feel.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2017

    10
    A Most "Grand" experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel magically combines the luxuries of a grand hotel while retaining the intimacy of an inn. The cheerful friendly staff seemed genuinely concerned that our experience was everything we could have wished for. The gorgeously restored stained glass sky light is a spectacular focal point for the entire lobby area in addition to serving as the ceiling of the elegant dining room. The hotel, for us, was a delightful combination of "city experience" in casual clothing.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    7.1
    Best hotel in the area, but a little disappointing for the $
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is an older hotel and is looking its age. A building can be old and historic, but still look spiffy and special. This did not. It looked a bit shabby in places. Doesn't seem as well maintained as we remember from staying there a few years ago. Front door needs fresh paint; room was rather bare. But it was clean and comfortable. Just over-priced for what we got. Then again, the best hotel around for miles, so we were grateful and enjoyed it.

    The room with 2 double beds was large, as was the bathroom. Beds were comfortable. Food in the bar/dining area was quite good.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    5.4
    Beautiful hotel, loved the history. Too bad the experience didn't live up to it.
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wasn't told there would be a $20 additional charge for my husband until we checked in. Also had to tour 3 rooms and choose if we wanted our original room or an upgrade (for an additional charge, of course). Nearly killed myself in shower with no slip guard. No one bussed tables at dinner, tables were left dirty the entire time.

    Beautiful hotel, loved the history. Too bad the experience didn't live up to it.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    7.9
    Restaurant and bar were very nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant and bar were very nice. Room could have been properly dusted.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    10
    Baker city
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Every thing I will be going back in a couple of months great experience

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    8.8
    A lovely place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful old building, lovely room, friendly staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    9.6
    RKHNC
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    What is not to like?

    Your keeping to the era and the cleanliness. One of the most well prepared - leg of lamb - ever! So enjoyable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    10
    W
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The facility is beautiful, and the antique furnishings add to the charm.the food is terrific as well!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    5.0
    Grand hotel with exceptionally poor service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very poor service, Always trying to up sell

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    9.6
    Romantic, clean and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    I would like to have a Spa.

    The decoration, the simplicity and the staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    10
    We had a great time and the staff was wonderful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had a great time and the staff was wonderful!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    10
    Very comfortable and relaxing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    loved the late check out time. Want to come back to take the historic tour. Great food!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    10
    Elegant and accommodating. Oasis in the desert.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paying for breakfast, distance of parking from entrance, temperamental elevator.

    Loved this place. Elegant, friendly and comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    9.6
    Well restored historic building with large rooms and lots of character.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Friendly staff and historic building

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    8.3
    The history of the place was amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The history of the place was amazing. The architecture was wonderful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    9.2
    Lovely old 1886 hotel downtown with excellent staff made for a memorable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Gravel parking lot in next block.

    Lovely old hotel full of history. Pleasant room with unique personality and fun to stay in.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    10
    This is our favorite place to stay in Oregon.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is our favorite place to stay in Oregon. Features local food and there is a great brew pub within walking distance

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    10
    It was a lark. Something we had not planned on but turned out great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Elevator was slow

    It was beautiful. Room was large. Dinner was great!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    9.6
    Eleegant accomodations in a small town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had an issue with our room but it was handled quickly and courteously.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    9.6
    Too far to go to walk my dog.
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Too far to go to walk my dog.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    7.9
    Relaxing nice to be away from the big city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    View windows need to be replaced, moisture inside the glass distorts pictures.

    Food excellent, bed very comfortable

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    7.1
    food service very slow
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    food service very slow

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2017

    9.6
    I'd stay there again.
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bad pillows.

    How nicely the hotel looked.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2017

    10
    Call the hotel directly and they will give you a better rate...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Call the hotel directly and they will give you a better rate than online. Online charges 20 %, and they know that. Great place!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2017

    10
    Excellent stay!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Great food...

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2017

    10
    Great find!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing...

    Great food!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2017

    9.2
    Grand Old Hotel with Excellent Staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff was very friendly and the hotel is beautifully restored. The room was huge!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2017

    9.2
    Friendly staff.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff. Pet friendly. We had a nice dinner in their dining room.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    7.1
    Would have been a 10/10 if half the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was worn out and no room service.

    The ambiance was great, and the water pressure was fabulous!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2016

    9.6
    Very clean and comfortable - great staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very clean and comfortable - great staff

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2016

    10
    We were travelling to get away from our home which had just...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not one little thing! Though sorry we missed the tour of the hotel. Took a little side trip and got back too late.

    We were travelling to get away from our home which had just gone through a flood! It was so peaceful and quiet in our hotel room! I could actually forget about what awaited me when we returned home.

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2016

    8.8
    Dinner great in bar.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Dinner great in bar...spinach salad, craft beer & yummy brownie & praline cheesecake. Room was nice & pet accommodating...only down side was windows didn't open & water took a long time to warm up. Staff was awesome...so friendly!

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2016

    10
    We loved the historic elegance of the hotel as well as the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    We loved the historic elegance of the hotel as well as the friendly and accommodating staff.The room was spacious for our family of 5 + dog. The beds were comfy and the food was delicious. We will return for sure the next time we are in Baker City.

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2016

    6.7
    The building is grand.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No refrigerator or microwave. Computer desk & coffee pot share same surface. Small glass cabinet was only shelf space in bathroom.

    The building is grand. Spacious room.

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2016

    10
    Extremely friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Only slight problem was a yipping dog on two occasions.

    Extremely friendly staff. Lovely room with a great view of the mountains. And a surprisingly excellent restaurant.

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2016

    9.6
    Beautiful antique building and fixtures.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Maybe have a contention plan in place in case of a virus. Those of us who were here to experience the restaurant were really let down.

    Beautiful antique building and fixtures. Staff bumped us up to a better room for a just a small amount of money. 20.00. Waiter was excellent at dinner. Only complaint was that they weren't serving Breakfast the next morning because some employees had called in. Weird.

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2016

    7.9
    Overall, the staff was wonderful and the facility was very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We got a great deal on booking .com and I entered 2 adults, they only had a roon with two beds....but we got there and after a 3 hour drive... they had plenty of rooms empty, yet, they give is a wheelchair accessible room with no bathtub and when asked if i could have a room with a tub i was told i would have to pay full charge for a room.then, to top it off,they charged us an extra $20.00 for my husband !!

    Overall, the staff was wonderful and the facility was very clean.

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2016

    10
    Staff were very friendly and informed about the history of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Staff were very friendly and informed about the history of the building and the area. The historic hotel enhanced my visit to the area and my enjoyment of Baker City hospitality. Food served in the hotel restaurant was wonderful and not overpriced. Overall, a very enjoyable stay.

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2016

    10
    Games and DVDs to borrow.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Games and DVDs to borrow. Nice library area to read and draw in. Snow shoe rental and winter parks pass available. Staff were very knowledgeable about the area. Great menu, good choices for kids. Very accommodating with children.

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2016

    9.6
    The staff had treats for our dog and were pet friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff had treats for our dog and were pet friendly. We enjoyed our beautiful room and the restaurant was excellent. They even offered dog bowls in case we didn't bring our own.

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2016

    7.9
    The ambiance, facilities, location, cleanliness, service...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The furnace in the room was quite loud when it shut on and off, so we turned it to have the fan on instead of auto and that helped. The desk staff was not as knowledgeable about the nearby businesses and cafes as we expected. We found a great place across the street called Lone Fir - but the desk never mentioned them when we asked about cafes in the area. Also, the bartenders needed to look up ingredients to a standard cocktail (manhattan or old fashioned) and the bar had run out of bitters.

    The ambiance, facilities, location, cleanliness, service response was excellent. The beds where really comfy, and the friendliness to our dog was fantastic.

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2015

    9.2
    We were upgraded to a "turret suite" for a small...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We were upgraded to a "turret suite" for a small extra charge...one of the largest hotel rooms om experience. The bath was the size of a room at Motel 6! The property has been very well maintained and is not fading at all. Definitely recalls a truly grand era. The interior atrium area is very nice. Dining room was surprisingly good: had one of the best steaks ever. Our server, a local gal, was top notch and very personable without being overly familiar. We would definitely stay there again and would like to bring friends with us. Baker City, OR is also a little gem of a town!

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    10
    The location of the hotel in downtown Baker City was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing to dislike.

    The location of the hotel in downtown Baker City was excellent. Staff were friendly and helpful.The hotel was classy, elegant and old worldly. The dinner meal was excellent

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2015

    8.8
    Beautiful restoration - the main dining room in particular...
    • Couple

    Decor in the rooms was a little tired - fabric frayed on wall covering above bed and looked dusty/dirty.

    Beautiful restoration - the main dining room in particular with the stained glass dome was lovely. The food in the restaurant was EXCEPTIONAL and worth the trip in itself.

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2015

    9.2
    The location, ambience and overall look and feel of the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The location, ambience and overall look and feel of the restored circa 1880 was excellent. The dinner highlight was the bread and butter pudding which is not to be missed.

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2016

    9.6
    Bed was excellent and staff was friendly and courteous.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bed was excellent and staff was friendly and courteous. We will stay here again in the future.

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2016

    8.8
    Drinking glasses in room & nice towels
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Drinking glasses in room & nice towels

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2016

    9.6
    The history of the place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The history of the place. The friendliness of the staff.

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2016

    9.2
    It is beyond beautiful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    It took a lot more than 7 minutes to get hot water to the shower.

    It is beyond beautiful. The beds are so fabulous.

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2016

    8.3
    Spacious room, we had a suite
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Too Small TV in sitting area in room

    Spacious room, we had a suite

There are also 44 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: