Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Amarano Burbank 4 stars

322 North Pass Avenue, Burbank, CA 91505, USA

#9 of 20 hotels in Burbank

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 411 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Paid WiFi

    6.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    7.9
    The hotel staff wouldn't stop bothering us in our room .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel staff wouldn't stop bothering us in our room ..and at one point one of the staff members just let themselves in our room with the key! I called and complained and they didn't do anything!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    9.2
    A little pricey but it's a great place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It's a little pricey for what you get but it's a great property. Valet parking is the only option unless you park on the street.

    Very nice, upscale rooms. The bar had a good appetizer menu.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    10
    beautiful hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    beautiful hotel. nice safe location! comfortable beds, spacious stylish rooms! very pleasant stay! friendly staff :) 100% staying here next time i visit LA for the full stay.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    7.1
    It was adequate.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They charge your credit card on what they think you will spend on incidentals. This was around $500. Valets didn’t offer the free shuttle our first time out. Also front desk doesn’t respond some times.

    We paid for a suite but it did not meet our vision of a comfortable room. More like a larger standard room. Prices a tad high for the quality. Room service food was excellent but get ready for a $10 delivery fee and a 20% gratuity tacked on to your bill.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    8.3
    Location and cleanliness.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Most of staff and in particular one very rude valet. They advertised kitchens but was not fitted as kitchen. Spoke with general manager about problems.

    Location and cleanliness.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    8.3
    Lovely hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff seemed very cold and at times rude. ( Not bar staff ). Resort fees a rip off.

    The hotel is lovely. Big bedrooms large beds and well maintained. Bar staff were great really friendly unlike reception.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    5.0
    After a second visit within 2 weeks, I realized how the...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff. For the price, the staff were unhappy and never greeted you. The bar staff were inattentive.

    After a second visit within 2 weeks, I realized how the facility needs a face lift. The plants were dying on the floor I was on. Neglect.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    10
    It was a great stay I would definitely come back
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking fee was a little too expensive. It was our family's first time booking a hotel in Burbank so we felt like we didn't have much of a choice but to do valet. Kitchen fees were a bit too expensive for our family, if it was just my husband and I it would've been good.

    The staff was friendly and helpful. The hotel was beautiful and presentable. Everything was clean and the scent inside the hotel and room was agreeable. We loved how close Universal Studios and Warner Bros Studios were so close to the hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    8.8
    The room was very nicely decorated and the bathroom was very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The first hostess at the front desk had a very bad attitude and didn't offer to accommodate us while we waited for our room. She told us to 'drive or walk around'- as if we knew where we could go, we are tourists.

    The room was very nicely decorated and the bathroom was very nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    10
    Everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is a $10 delivery charge on room service which I felt was a bit much but we didn't order anyways so it didn't affect us. Just a heads up for others.

    Everything. It was clean, bright and fresh feeling. The staff was wonderful. Super helpful and friendly. We utilized the free shuttle service to and from Universal Studios and it was great. Everyone from desk to valet was great. We will definitely be back next year!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    8.8
    The hotel appears bit older than on the images but still...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel appears bit older than on the images but still quite stylish. The front desk lady was very welcoming and fun. The only major problem is the hut tub - it has way too much clorine inside. Impossible to sit in it and breath normally :( After you leave it your skin hold the smell of chemicals.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    9.6
    The decor and cleanliness.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extra fees and taxes.

    The decor and cleanliness. It’s a cozy and relaxing boutique hotel. The pool area, though small, is nicely laid out. The staff was helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    9.2
    I would stay at The Amarano again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel restaurant is not really inviting, kind of stark

    The rooms were well laid out and the beds were very comfortable. The rooms were very clean and the hotel was quiet.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    7.5
    Great room but wouldn't stay again
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Resort fee? I don't think this hotel warrants a resort fee. We came from the Sheraton in Maui. Resort fee justified. Not here.

    Location was good for Universal Studios

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    9.2
    High class hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The parking cost 37$ per day. There is no self parking and you need to tip the driver. However they were extreemly nice and helpful so money was not spent for nothing.

    high class hotel, staff are super pro. We got it in 40% discount, there for value for money ratio was very good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    5.8
    I expected much more for it's price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    1) There is no safe deposit box in the room (while it's written in the room description). 2) The bathroom has hairs or previous guests. 3) There was a valet parking only for $35.99 per night. 4) Breakfast is available by menu only and pretty expensive. 5) You sign a purchase of 2 bottles of water and "complementary" drink at check-in

    Fast checkin

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    9.2
    1 night stay for universal studios
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was near lift so was very noisy all night and we didn't sleep very well.

    Very comfortable beds, nice bar area serving bar food. Very helpful front desk staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    6.7
    The overall ambiance.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air didn’t work. The hair dryer didn’t work. Wake up calls never came. Really expensive dining. Bad customer service.

    The overall ambiance. Rooms were beautiful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    6.7
    Too expensive for what I got.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The parking situation was not great and they had a less than helpful valet person most of the time, and it was a cost of $40 per night. The room was not what I expected. I booked a Deluxe King Room, and 'm just not sure what exactly was deluxe about it. The amenities listed that there was a kitchenette- which was non-existent, unless the coffee maker counts?

    Very clean rooms, people working at front desk were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    8.8
    Staff was friendly and suite was comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    chose breakfast room service for delivery between 7:15-7:30am but it came at 6:50am before our 7am alarm. $2 extra for coffee pods in a suite that is $400 per night? Limits on the '2 free welcome drinks' should be specifically written on the tickets or explained at check in versus making bartender explain after we have ordered drinks. (The well drink/wine/beer rule is fine but I noticed the same uncomfortable conversation happening repeatedly with the bartender and customers.)

    Staff was friendly and suite was comfortable. Location perfect for our stay. Bar apps good. Will stay again next time in Burbank.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    10
    Amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No long length mirror in room not a major issue or a close up one (magnifying) again not major but helps when poor eyesight.

    Everything was what I look for in a hotel. The staff were extremely helpful and the decor was amazing.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2017

    9.6
    Perfect stay and the nicest place I have ever spend the night
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There was nothing I had problems with at this hotel.

    This is probably the nicest place I have ever stayed and I have traveled a lot both in the states and internationally. The beds are like a cloud and the bathroom shower is huge! I loved all the marble and all the cleanliness! The seasonal decorations were appropriate and not over the top. They are top notch and I will be back! They left me alone when I wanted to be alone and were right there when I needed something!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    10
    We wouldn't stay anywhere else when we visit our family in nearby North Hollywood.
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Bring back the chocolate candies!!!!! Also, you can't do anything about it but there is really no sun at the pool in the winter months.

    We are frequent guests and always enjoy our stay. Thanks for your exemplary hospitality.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    6.7
    Room was clean and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The concierge have mixed reviews. The guy who attended to us last night was friendly and initiated to assist us with our luggage. The guy (specifically a brown guy, with a buzz cut) this morning (30Nov at around 1100am) was not as good. Saw us trying to move 4 pcs of luggages to the outside but did not offer help at all. Went inside instead while we were loading our luggages up the car. Treated like we were invisible. (In fact ive prepared a tip in my pocket cos i expected he wld have stepped forward to help us) We expected something much better coming from a hotel where we paid close to $300.

    Room was clean and comfortable. There were a couple of good restaurants nearby. (Ma's italian was great) Grocery store is only opposite the hotel. Check in and out were a breeze and front desk staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    6.7
    Good location near the airport, Universal and Portos (within...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed and sofa bed were uncomfortable (both sinking), thin walls, expensive drinks and expensive stay including $40 for parking?! Not a good shuttle service so ended up renting a car.

    Good location near the airport, Universal and Portos (within driving). Size of room was great with 2 bathrooms and good restaurants across the street. Small but nice pool and fitness center.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    10
    I couldn't have chosen a better place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room service menu has plentiful options and having a tasty breakfast in my room was more than convenient. Everyone on the staff is super nice and helpful. My room was luxurious with both a large bath and a separate shower. The bed was large and comfy... nearly as good as my own at home! I will be staying here again *for sure* next time I'm in the area!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    5.0
    Disappointed and stressful
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The additional beds were not ready. We had to ask for it. The shuttle to universal studios didn’t work for the whole day, even though they keep assuring they offer this service just by telling to the valet, when we went to the lobby to take the shuttle they didn’t even know how it worked. They suggested we should take a taxi which was very problematic because we were five people. Then when we got very upset and they used a private car to send us to universal park however when we wanted to return to the hotel again they say it was impossible to arrange for the shuttle so I had to get very angry until they finally agreed to send the car. It was extremely stressful because we had to flight the same day and we counted on the shuttle between the hotel and the park otherwise we would have chosen a different hotel.

    THE room was confortable

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    9.6
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Parking too expensive. Our room was just above the entrance so it was a bit noisy when other guests or delivery trucks arrived. Maybe you should have better windows . Too expensive room service.

    Very comfortable beds , good size of room and bathroom. Very nicely decorated. Good location, easy access to highway. Friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    9.6
    Had a wonderful stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Overnight parking in the underground lot was too expensive. There was an option to park on the street in the immediate neighborhood if you could find a spot.

    The room accommodations were excellent. The bar and appetizers were first rate. The location was great for visiting the Getty and Universal Studios. Across the street from the property was an excellent Italian restaurant.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    10
    Great! Accommodated single travelers
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Garden Room for breakfast was delightful, ate on a patio, quiet and relaxing. The service especially Joe, was seamless. Appreciated the updated Hollywood art deco style of the rooms. Liked size of facilities.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    7.9
    Clean hotel close to Universal Studios.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    40 dollars a day for parking, we managed to park for free on the street. No information on pool opening hours, morning coffee or anything else charged in the amenities fee. Bar was full and very noisy.

    Location. Clean rooms with comfortable bed.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    7.1
    Nice but spoilt by the concierge trying to rip us off
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool was poor. And please do not get fobbed off my one of the concierge staff , that they don't offer free shuttle service to the amusement parks ....one of them while counting out his tips explained to me in a snappy way " that the hotel website was wrong !!! A quick visit to the reception and asking for the manager sorted this out

    Close to universal , and to the local shops. Lovely breakfast diner , across the road

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    10
    We enjoyed our weekend at this hotel----it is elegant and cozy at the same time. We liked the menu--
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Sad that the hot tub was Out of Service.

    We loved the Library Lounge/Bar! We gathered from several cities for a weekend of visiting, and being able to gather in the Library in front of the fire and order meals or cocktails made this hotel PERFECT for us. Thank you!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    9.6
    I'll be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lounge chairs at pool uncomfortable

    Loved this hotel, has a outstanding location, and attentive staff. Grocery store right next door, and a great place for breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    3.8
    Avoid at all cost
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Hotel sells itself as a luxury hotel with good reviews in booking.com and tripadvisor, but it couldn't be further from the truth. We stayed for four nights traveling with two children.Very poor value for money. Hotel is badly needed a renovation, rooms stink from smoking (on arrival we tried few rooms to see if it was just the room we received initially) shower taps are half broken with water going all sideways. hotel pool can barely fit 6 adults. Very noisy can hear all nearby rooms from all sides. At checkout we were handed over the bill without even being asked about the stay, unbelievable. The only luxury thing about this hotel is the price. Save your money and go for a other hotel

    Nothing

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    10
    Perfect i loved the hotel will be coming back for sure
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking and when i asked 3 times for the shuttle to hollywood studios they didnt known what was going on they need to comunnicate fromm front desk to the valet

    Very clean and helpfull

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    8.3
    Great desk, great bed, lovely new bathroom and my cat loved it as well.
    • With a pet
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The cost to park at the hotel but i parked around the corner for free.

    The hotel was lovely and the staff were very kind. The pool was a perfect temperature and the spa was excellent accept my eyes burned from it one evening and some nights it was warmer than others. The bed was amazing. Thank you I would stay again.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    8.3
    found cute boutique hotel online- was pleasantly surprised
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    pool was way too hot so not so refreshing..front desk staff not overly friendly -

    cute place - loved decor -beds comfortable - staff not overly friendly - bar fun - food good- room updated and clean - they offered free transport to universal studios which was nice. - pool area nice but small.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    9.6
    Fabulous place to stay if you are flexible with your budget.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I thought there was parking until we got there to find to it would cost an extra$35 per night.... The amenity fee? that was a surprise also but with using the car service it did seem ok until the morning there was no car available. I would like to have know about these fee ahead of time to stay within our budget.

    The room was awesome, we loved it, beds were great and the breakfast service to the room was really helpful. I was very impressed with the bartender on both nights we were there for drinks/food. They were fun, friendly. very efficient and willing to go that extra mile. Really aced it for us.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    8.3
    ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    paying $35 for overnight parking is ridiculous. Charging me $20 tipping fee when I tipped in cash to the people is out rageous.

    showers carpet bartender

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    7.5
    Forget this hotel
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Called in advance to reserve a quiet room. When I checked in they gave me a nice room but in a noisy area facing a busy street. I requested another room and they gave me a very small basic room. Said they were full I believe it was because I booked on line through "Booking.com". Didn't receive the room promised for the room rate

    Close to my business meeting. Recommended by client.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    8.8
    Very nice hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The parking was an issue. They were short staffed, with no one to help with our bags.

    The Suite we had was very spacious and comfortable. The hotel location was convenient for travel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    6.3
    Nice room but overpriced for what it is/how they serve you.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Outrageous to charge $35+ for valet parking and it to be the only on-site parking option in a city where everyone drives. I discussed with management but there was no offer to credit this given the price of the hotel room. Bathrooms need more attention -- ceilings, tile, fixtures. Pool is far smaller that the photo would make you believe. Not a pool you would hang out at for a day. Staff doesn't have service as their number one aim. Strip mall across the street seems a little down market.

    The room was very nice, nice sheets and well decorated.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    8.8
    Great Spot in Burbank
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a little small for the price and beds were not as comfortable as we expected for the price.

    Location was great for what we were doing. Room decor was very fitting for the location. Staff was very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    6.3
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Costly. Facility old. Infrastructure does not justify cost.

    Location good. Restaurants are available close by. They have free shuttle for major attractions. Good service.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    3.8
    Global Traveler
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is very old and in need of severe renovations. The room I had was actually nice, but the test of the hotel was horrible. The hallway carpets were torn and filthy, the reasurant had a credenza that was falling apart, the hotel had a odd smell, the walls were dirty, and so on.

    The room was actually nice. The decorative pillows were dirty, but beyond this the room was good.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    6.7
    Very expensive and they added so many fees that the price on booking.com did not represent the price
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    That they charged me an extra 20$ for what they called resort fees when i didn't use anything. That i spent 50$ on room service that was discusting. The pizza wasn't cooked.

    The bed, the room was beautiful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    6.7
    Very pleasant surrounds but staff need a bit of help
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not all of the staff were helpful. One guy was fabulous and very helpful the others looked st us like we were from another planet (Australia) one person even laughed at a quest we asked.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    10
    A Hidden Gem- Hotel Amarano
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Excellent location for our needs- lovely movie styled decor- friendly staff- clean and comfortable! Will be staying there again when we visit the area again!!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    6.7
    Visiting Burbank
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unclean room/fridge/ bathroom. Very unusual for an hotel. The restaurant was not open.

    The pool, the bar. Very good facilities across the road. Supermarket, post office and shops

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    5.4
    Great potential ...leaves some to be desired though
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paid for an upgrade, didn't receive. I could have (and should have) stayed in the less expensive room - would have definitely had a better view. Bedroom had no working clock and outlet next to bed. No additional comforter or pillows and had to call multiple times to receive. No hair dryer in the room. Could be a great hotel, but needs significantly more attention in the service department.

    Comfortable bed

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    6.7
    Fingers Crossed
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    I have stayed at the Hotel Amarano several times and during this last visit I began to notice that the place was looking somewhat tired. My room on the fourth floor had a weird smell, like water damage or something. The bathroom amenities like lotion, shampoo were not refilled when they ran out. The dispensers for shampoo, conditioner and body wash in the shower didn't work properly. I also noticed that my room was not cleaned very well after being serviced. The bathroom had not been vacuumed and surfaces (in the entire room) had not been wiped down. In addition, on my last visit, the two elevators were filled with a strong smell of sewage. At first it seemed that perhaps someone let one loose (for lack of a better term) but the smell lingered for the better part of the day. People were saying "it wasn't me" when another guest would enter the elevator. When a colleague complained about the awful smell to the front desk, the guy there said that it just comes up from the basement and nothing could be done. Yikes. Anyway it was gone by the next day. Another thing I didn't like was that guests would often place room service trays in the hallways where they would stay for a very long time. I was once given a room on the first floor which was nice enough but it was far away from any staff and near a side entrance that seemed to be always open and unmonitored. That made me feel a little unsafe. While I was in that particular room I could also hear every word of the conversation of the guy in the room next to mine....awkward. Now I always request a room on a higher floor for safety reasons. I am crossing my fingers that the hotel management gets on top of some of these issues because when it was better it was very good.

    This is a nice hotel that is particularly convenient if you are meeting or working with any of the major studios located in Burbank. The hotel is only minutes from Burbank (Bob Hope) Airport. The decor is modern and the rooms are pretty comfortable, although there are no full length mirrors in the guest rooms. There is a sort of pop-up restaurant on site but I am still not sure if and when it is open. However, you can get very tasty food and drinks in the lobby bar which is one of the nicest aspects of this hotel. The bar staff are incredibly engaging, friendly, helpful and often know regulars by name. Breakfast is sometimes served in the restaurant or in the lobby bar, at either place the food is very good.The hotel also has a small pool and hot tub which looks very nice, I have not used either. It does get very loud if you have a room overlooking the pool area but it gets quiet by 10pm. The hotel offers free wifi which worked well all over the hotel. I have stayed at the Hotel Amarano several times. One time I was given a room on the first floor that had a private outside walled patio which was very nice but I prefer a higher floor for safety reasons.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    6.3
    Pool area and pool water temp
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a foul(sewer) smell first half of my stay, strongly on 2nd floor where i stayed and was getting also in my room, i did not like staff''s (tall african american male) response when i mentioned about it, (belitteling, minimizing, not forthcoming)

    Pool area and pool water temp

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    6.7
    Fine but not great
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel "upgraded" us without asking, likely because they oversold. This meant we didn't have enough beds for our party. They offered a rollaway, but that is not what we booked/payed for. They couldn't offer us much to compensate for this.

    It was beautiful.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    8.3
    Parking is now $40 night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Parking is now $40 night.park on the side streets instead. Ordered 2 appetizers $30. With $10 room delivery charges taxes Etc..... ticket was $60. Just doesnt seem right to charge delivery!!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    9.2
    Loved it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our check out process was quite an ordeal. We checked out very early - 4:30 am, so the front desk was staffed by one. He was not very knowledgeable about how to process four even payments for one bill, and could not swipe the credit cards at all, which were working fine two days earlier. Just needs a bit more training.

    Room was a suite, which was plenty large enough for four women. Fold out couch could be a little more plush but was fine for two nights. Very well appointed with many mirrors throughout (great for getting ready to go out) and a nice small kitchen area. We like our room. Pool area was small but nice. Staff at check in and shuttle driver were both very friendly. Shuttle will take you within a 3 mile radius as available, so this was very nice for where we were going.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    8.3
    It was comfy and a great location, but I wish the front desk was more friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The front desk staff are just not very friendly. I called ahead to ask a question and the employee sounded sleepy and I couldn't hear him very well and he became short with me because I didn't answer his question correctly. They don't ask how are you or what can I do for you he just kind of tries to assume what I'm going to ask and shouts orders at me. Not the kind of service I'm used to in this type of hotel usually people are overly friendly so this was a surprise in an unpleasant way.

    Clean and comfy. Good bathroom and temperature control

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    7.1
    Comfortable but a few niggles
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    When airport shuttle not available the hotel said to take a taxi and they would reimburse but when asked (twice) they claimed not to have any petty cash, I gave up after that. Staff pleasant but not very friendly

    Good healthy selections for breakfast

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    2.9
    Very bad hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Service is ver very bad! The doesn't care about what clients care about!

    Very very bad hotel. I never come here again! Their efficiency is very very low!!! I left a bag in the room. And we call them many times. They also said they'll recall me. But till now nobody call me to confirm it! Very very bad hotel. I never introduce it to other people!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    7.9
    The room is clean and large.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no full-length mirror or makeup mirror. The valet parking is 40 dollar which is too expensive.

    The room is clean and large. It's quiet enough.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    9.2
    Clean, attractive, & convenient but the rooms can be noisy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walls seemed a little thin. We could clearly hear the people in the room next to us, the people in the hall, and people coughing in the room across the hall.

    Staff were extremely friendly and accommodating

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2017

    8.5
    Very swish place, relaxing and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Hotel needs to work with/incorporate the (apparently) separate valet/driver service; only two staff on duty at any one time means the shuttle service is not always available. As I've seen mentioned here previously, the adding of $100 / day "preauthorization" I found a little unnecessary; charge an amount once, and just leave it at that. Guests will be paying the total at the end anyway. For guests not familiar with the big "charge authorization" on their credit bill, prior to final charged amount, that figure can be a bit scary until it's explained and rectified!

    Breakfast service and food was very nice. Didn't try the pool/spa which I regret, but the water was nice and warm. The unseasonably cold weather outside made coming back "home" to the warm room and soft bed very enjoyable indeed! The hotel staff were very welcoming and friendly on arrival and departure.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    7.9
    pillow/beds fluffy & soft.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    thought $35/noc for valet/park was a little too high but if guest are witty,they can always park on residential streets or the supermarkets/restaurants parking across the street (i'm sure i am not the 1st to do this).

    keurig coffe maker, condiments in room microwave, flat screen tv, ipod dock, blackout curtains, drinks/snacks avail, continental bfast, pool (didn't get to try them), 2 bathrobes in room,

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2017

    7.1
    Rooms were nice, good location for the hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Valet parking a bit expensive (considering the location). $25 a night would be better. Would prefer a non-handicap room next time. Did not tell us upon check-in. But we were only there for 2 night (also located right off the front drive)

    Rooms were nice, good location for the hotel. Would stay here again.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2017

    10
    Really nice stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking fee of $39/night but fairly easy to park on the street and the valet even suggested it

    Beautiful spacious room, welcoming lobby, nice staff. Convenient with Vons, Starbucks, breakfast place all across the street.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2017

    7.5
    Don't bother--unless you're pretty desperate to stay in the area--there must be better places around
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We stayed on the first floor and it was horrible. Noisy. Beeps going off from doors opening into the wee hours of the morning. Really ruined our stay. Also, for environmental reasons, they provide shampoo etc. not in individual bottles, but with push bottles attached to the shower wall. No problem with that in theory--but they are designed so as to give you almost no liquid when you push. Made getting shampoo, conditioner, body wash etc. an ordeal. Also very cheap and flimsy paper products--always the mark of a hotel that is economizing in all the wrong ways.

    Generally nice rooms. Well-furnished and roomy.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2017

    6.0
    Disappointing and not worth the money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel was disappointing. The check in was perfunctory and not welcoming. We've been travelling for 2 months and of all the hotels we have stayed (and there have been many) this was by far the most pretentious (with no good reason) and least welcoming. I asked about Universal Studios as there is a preferred hotel sign on the checkin counter and was told to go online and book as they didn't sell tickets. No info about the park, location, shuttle - nothing. Total lack of interest by the staff. The rooms were large and well appointed but there are plumbing issues - toilets in 2 of our 3 rooms flushed poorly, blocked easily and were very slow to drain. My recommendation is to stay elsewhere - there's plenty to choose from in this price range.

    The parking valet was efficient.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2017

    10
    Great Place to Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything is great but the pillows. They are hard and very uncomfortable. Just HORRIBLE!

    We really enjoyed all those things mentioned in the survey above and we thought the restaurant/bar was great too. Now if you get some soft pillows the Amarano will be absolutely WONDERFUL!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2017

    5.4
    Not accommodating
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The front dest staffs were indifference and not at all accommodating. They charged my credit card 3 times more than they should and made me extra hassle to solve the issue. The price is for a 4 star hotel, but it is more like a very high end inn.

    good location. relatively clean and modern.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2017

    8.8
    Nice hotel, but not very good service
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff want very friendly and the shuttle service was horrible! I called to have the shuttle pick us up from universal studios and an hour later I was still waiting! I called back and the valley said they were on their way but they didn't show up for another 15 minutes which told me they didn't even leave yet.

    Hotel was beautiful!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2017

    8.3
    Very nice Hotel.... Poor staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I came in with a large group and the staff was immediately overwhelmed. There was not enough staff for the Hotel. The shuttle service is only 1 van that you must wait several trips to get to where you need to be taken to. Very annoying.

    The rooms were beautiful and beds were comfy. All the amenities you expect and more!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2017

    9.6
    Great stay in Burbank!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was excellent! Very friendly, service oriented and you never felt like you were putting them out. Beds were comfy and the location was quite and restful. I would definitely stay again if in the area.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2016

    6.7
    The design .
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel need renovation !!! . Everything is old . One of the manager in the desk office was not polite at all with me . But the others workers was nice and polite . I think this hotel can be really nice but they need really to do renovation !

    The design .

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    8.8
    Very nice acommodations for the money, but.........
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    For the price we paid for the room, I would not have expected to be asked to pay $2 each for additional K-cups of coffee and more importantly - pay $38.00 a night for valet parking !!

    The room accommodations, very comfortable.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2016

    7.5
    Like the feel of the hotel, the room decor feels like home.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff at the front desk could be friendlier.. And service at the restaurant quicker...

    Like the feel of the hotel, the room decor feels like home... Like that there is a restaurant on the property.. Valet parking, gym and business center. Location is also a + .

    Stayed in November 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: