Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Grand Canyon Railway Hotel 4 stars

233 North Grand Canyon, Williams, AZ 86046, USA

#13 of 37 hotels in Williams

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 493 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    7.5
    All in all good trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No in room microwave to heat our take out. Staff would not heat for us. Otherwise was a good place to stay.

    Very clean and located near everything we were hoping to visit. Pool for my grandson to swim.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    8.8
    It’s located right near downtown Williams.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s located right near downtown Williams. A short walk to everything to see in the town and very close to the railway that takes you to the Grand Canyon.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    9.2
    Everything was great except the Tesla charging
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No access to charge Tesla , NONE Hotel would not let me plug in Tesla 20 feet from electric plug We altered our trip because of this

    Plenty of Things to do

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    9.6
    Wonderful memories.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of parking. Difficult finding room through a maze.

    The fact that Grand Canyon Railway & Hotel was an easy access to train for Grand Canyon travel trip. It was also convenient to spend time on Route 66.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    10
    An Arizona Gem
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel and staff were fabulous. We were thrilled with our stay and will definitely return. Anyone taking the train to the Grand Canyon needs to stay at this hotel and experience all that this hotel has to offer.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    6.3
    Have a party of 4 people and none of us had anything good to say about the personnel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff, not very happy and rude at the canyon cafe, When you have a room on the main floor and have to listen to the clanking of the kitchen staff all night Will not recommend this to anyone

    comfortable beds and nice rooms

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    9.2
    Great other than above
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Registration process was terrible. We registered on line. When we got to hotel it took an hour. For some reason reservation didn’t show. Aol password would not work.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    8.8
    A wonderful stay after a trip on the Grand Canyon Railway!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    The front desk staff (one lady in particular)...was not overly friendly or welcoming. Lacked a bit of personality that I was expecting. Nothing awful, but not the type of person I expected to encounter after my amazing online/phone dealings! Front desk is the gateway to a company and if the staff doesn't reflect the behind-the-scenes or the higher up people, it shows poorly. Luckily I had a good mindset going in and was on an amazing vacation, so it didn't bother me greatly.

    Great location for those taking the Grand Canyon Railway! The online/phone/email staff was very helpful and followed up on my inquiries.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    10
    Hotel was great, staff was amazing. The cowboy show was so much fun for the kids!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    I don't think there was anything we did not like.

    Breakfast was amazing, the selection was great! the service was excellent! It was snowing when we got to the hotel, they had the lobby fireplace going already.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    10
    I would recommend staying at this hotel to anyone
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Why do you not offer military / veteran discounts? I was told at the front desk you do not offer this.

    We enjoyed eating at the cafe and the gift shop. The kids enjoyed the train ride to the Grand Canyon.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    9.6
    Exceptional Customer Service! Excellent night sleep!! No complimentary breakfast so plan ahead!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    No Complimentary Continental Breakfast offered which would be nice especially when the main reason to be at the hotel is to quickly travel to the local attractions.

    The beds were very comfortable and loved the pillows! The bathrooms were exceptional and very clean. The front desk staff were very courteous and exceeded expectations.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    8.8
    One of the nicest places to stay in Williams!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The house keeping seemed sloppy to me. When I first checked in, there was some kind of liquid on the night stand, the full length mirror hadn’t been cleaned, there was smears and splash markings on it, the lamp shades were all tilted, and one of the beds was made poorly, the bathroom door had markings on the inside, and the shower wall looked liked it hadn’t been cleaned meticulously at all. The beds are not all that comfortable. I enjoyed my stay and I will stay again, but that hotel has put a lot of attention into their renovations and efforts to be a luxurious place for guests, if their house keeping staff could spend a small amount of exta attention while doing their jobs, it really would make all the difference!

    The rooms were nice. The hotel was quiet. Location was great. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    9.2
    Great place to stay if you are in Williams to take the train to Grand Canyon.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Internet connection a bit slow and clunky to access. No glasses in the room; had to go to the bar and get a couple.

    Excellent location for taking the train to the Grand Canyon. Impressive lobby and bar/casual restaurant. Comfortable, clean, good-sized room. Also close to good brew pub and restaurants in "downtown" Williams. Would stay here again if in the area.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    10
    Our stay was excellent and we are returning in May for another stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only thing that could have been better for us, was a longer stay.

    This is the first time my wife and I stayed in Williams, AZ. and we are very pleased with the hotel we chose to stay in. The Grand Canyon Railway Hotel was more than we expected, and our stay for the 2 nights was exceptional. Our room was very clean, the bed was comfortable, and the amenities in our room were excellent. The staff we met were gracious and very helpful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    10
    We all had a great time . The weather was cool but a nice change from Phoenix.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I waited in line about a half hour or more to get into the buffet restaurant. It was a long line .

    The buffet was excellent. Food was fresh , good variety and service.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    8.3
    The location and all of the Christmas lights.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The queen bed wasn't comfy. If they had a king bed that would be better.

    The location and all of the Christmas lights. I loved the trains and the little shops around the hotel. I'll be coming back!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful grounds with all the holiday lights and hotel...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful grounds with all the holiday lights and hotel lobby was very cozy. Rooms and bed were comfortable and spacious. Location is great and right by the train station/yard. Price was the same as a run of the mill chain location so this is definitely a must stay if you can get it at a good price.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    8.3
    Stayed.....and won't be going back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Attitude of 2 members of staff that were less than helpful. Staff must remember that without punters they wouldn't have a job and in Williams I wouldn't think that good jobs are plentiful

    Christmas lights were superb

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    9.6
    Grand Canyon Railway Hotel and train trip enhanced our adventure tremendously!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Loved the ease of staying here in conjunction with Grand Canyon Railway trip! Especially appreciated having the luggage being handled and place in our hotel at the Grand Canyon and back. Leaving our car parked in the parking lot for three days was fabulous too. Made our trip to the Grand Canyon so easy! Can't imagine taking our car to the canyon. And our PSA Kathy (with a K) gave us great pointers that we used throughout our stay!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    10
    Family fun!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I booked wrong date on train ride, however we were able to correct it.

    The hotel staff were great, hotel is very nice like the lounge, train ride and entertainment Great!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    9.2
    The room was very clean. The amenities were excellent. The staff were nice, but, not overly friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The trains coming through at night and blowing their horns, I guess we should have expected this since it is next to a railway. The next time, I will bring earplugs. Difficult keeping room temperature stable. Room was hot and as soon as air conditioner kicked on, it was too cold.

    The toiletries in the bathroom made it convenient. The bed and linens were comfortable. It was nice to have a comfortable arm chair in the room, since, my wife has been having some cervical disc problems and several times at night she needs to sit up to relieve the pain.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    9.2
    Lovely. Unforgettable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not overly friendly staff at hotel desk. Appreciate they are busy, but the one girl was a little rude. No view from our room.

    If you took the train, it wall all there. Clean, roomy, classy. Very historical for the area. Very close to restaurants and downtown Williams. Could walk there. Shops great for souvenirs.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    8.3
    Overall great stay and would stay again if in the area.
    • Group
    • Deluxe Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Terrible wifi in our room - we were lucky if we could get any signal. We stayed in a 'deluxe' room while family & friends had the standard rooms. We could barely spot the difference so wouldn't bother with the upgrade next time.

    Good atmosphere, very comfy beds, rooms quiet and well appointed and amazing fireplace in the foyer. Easy walk to the centre of Williams and lots of great eateries. We didn't catch the train to the Canyon but if you do want to its right outside.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    6.3
    Good experience but wouldnt stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is like a maze. Our room was not close to an elevator and it took lots of turns to find it. The beds were not comfortable. The in room coffee was fine but only had 1 pack of sugar and cream. The restaurant on the property was over priced and the staff unfriendly.

    The hotel staff was very friendly and its really close to Route 66.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    7.9
    It was a great price and great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed was okay but not as good as it could have been. Pillows were way too soft and found them to be uncomfortable for sleeping.

    The location was great. Liked the lower price and we got the adjoining rooms as requested. Kids enjoyed the pool and game room. Room was quiet.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    9.6
    Lovely hotel but shame about the restaurant!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel could use a good quality restaurant that is not a self service buffet style as we were not impressed with the quality of the food on offer. We had to pay for the meal and drinks prior to being seated at the table which we were not comfortable with.

    The rooms were lovely and the staff were all very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    8.3
    Perfectly ok if you happy to stay in touristy hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Front desk slow, long queue when we arrived, but didn't deter one of the reception staff review her life history with person who presumably only wanted to go to their room. 3am loud wake up, something to do with people catching a train?

    Efficient tourist processing place. Huge. Close to lots of bars and restaurants in entirely tourist small town.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    9.6
    Everything we expected for a 3 night stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    After driving from San Diego we were very tired and the car park was full - so a bit disappointed. The train arrived from the canyon and then car park emptied. Perhaps a residents only section would be a good idea.

    Room was very clean and comfortable -there were so many pillows and cushions . Everyone was friendly in the hotel and in the town. We ate in the bar on two occasions and everything was very fresh and hot.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    9.6
    Everything we expected for a 3 night stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    After driving from San Diego we were very tired and the car park was full - so a bit disappointed. The train arrived from the canyon and then car park emptied. Perhaps a residents only section would be a good idea.

    Room was very clean and comfortable -there were so many pillows and cushions . Everyone was friendly in the hotel and in the town. We ate in the bar on two occasions and everything was very fresh and hot.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    9.2
    Loved the hotel, but fix the food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Breakfast Buffet at the associated restaurant was not worth the money, and we did not use it for dinners, but had nice meals off premise.

    Clean and quite room

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    10
    Would do it again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn't have breakfast here. There were bus tours so we decided to go into Williams. Beautifully redone motel. Clean, amazing woodwork & decor. Staff friendly & helpful . Would stay here again & consider one of the Grand Canyon package tours. Also, short walk to Williams.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    6.3
    With some minor fixes and changes this could be a great hotel. But for now I was disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The lady who checked us is was uninterested and in a horrible mood. Really unacceptable. The hallways look worn, and look very gloomy. Very unpleasant, and unfit for a family hotel. The hotel restaurant is in buffet style. This is fine for the breakfast, but the dinner options are mediocre at best. Fortunately there are plenty of restaurants at the nearby town of Williams.

    Room decoration was nice and in the 'theme'. Room was very clean Bathroom was tasteful and very clean Williams is a very lively town, and just walking distance away

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    8.8
    I definitely want to return for another visit to this property!!
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    I wish the staff at the hotel registration desk had been a little more friendly...and inviting smile and greeting would have been nice. The four of us were exhausted and suffering from awful allergy symptoms by the time we arrived.

    This hotel was extremely convenient as a stop off to the Grand Canyon's South Rim. We loved the scenic little town square in Williams, Az. The rooms were so comfortable which was the main quality because we were exhausted after a day on the road. we liked the property so much that we tried to book a second night but unfortunately, all rooms were sold out :(

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    10
    It was our 50th Wedding Anniversary trip and we enjoyed it very much. The train ride was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A little better directions and instructions on where to go and what to do next for boarding train and location.

    The buffet was very good and the price was reasonable.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    3.8
    Hotel is ok, staff is really really bad
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff is really moody, I you check you get welcome by 4 ladies behind a desk that look angry and give you the Look pffff another customers... bleh. Also the housekeeping will start nokking at you door at 7am and if you say no they still will go in your room, and repeat this almost every half hour.

    Nothing

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    7.9
    Great Location for your Grand Canyon trip!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They find provide breakfast, but they have a dining room and coffee shop where you can purchase food.

    It was close to the Grand Canyon. You can buy tickets for the train to the Grand Canyon and they providd shuttles to the train.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    9.0
    Soap, lotion.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar food mostly, low on vegetables. Need some grease free items needed. Work out room needs to be expanded. Equipment too close together

    Soap, lotion. Loved the large TV and lobby. Enjoy a swim With the kids

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    6.3
    Over all the place was nice, but it needs better, more efficient and thourough housekeeping.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    I didn't like that after staying the night and believing the place was clean. we found out it really was not. After showering I saw what looked like a dirty sock under the sink cabinet in the bathroom. Then while gathering our belongings getting ready to leave, checking under beds, in drawers, etc. to make sure we didn't leave anything behind. We found that the place was not cleaned properly at all. There was a bottle of tums, an empty juice box, and wrappers under the bed. The wall near the room entrance was smeared as if something had been spilled on it. The cabinet in the bathroom was very dusty. All of this just makes me cringe to think of how dirty the linens may have been. And wondering about what type of filth we slept in. These were all easy fixes and tell me that the staff was being careless or lazy. Very disappointing.

    I like the place, it was very pretty. The location was nice. I like the indoor pool and hot tub. Although my husband did not like that they use salt water.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    6.3
    Nice but overpriced!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The check in staff!! They need trained in customer services NOW! Not a friendly face among them. 3 of them on the desk & all with the same grumpy face & could not be a@@d attitude. This is the first impression of the hotel & it's not welcoming at all!

    Location was very good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    8.8
    The location and rooms were awesome...stick to classic Route 66 for dinner choices!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff when we check in very, very rude. While my husband was checking in I noticed another customer asking about the train times and ticket sales. I kept listening because we didn't know either. He was told he could find that out at the station. When the customer walked away the staff member rolled his eyes and shook his head. I couldn't believe it! The restaurant food was terrible and overpriced...but the live music was great and the staff there was wonderful!

    I loved the location.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    10
    Comfortable, pleasant and beautifully run property!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Glasses in the guest rooms. The paper cups were a little frustrating.

    The property was in pristine condition. Both rooms and common areas. We had been staying in a number of very fine hotels and arrived here. The hotel was maintained much better than I expected and frankly better than the other hotels we had stayed in. The beds were extremely comfortable, rooms impeccably clean and we were stocked with an amount of towels that were appropriate for lodgings in an area where people would be inclined to be hiking, etc. Very well executed.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    9.2
    The hair dryer in the bathroom did not work properly &...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hair dryer in the bathroom did not work properly & the hair dryer they brought to me also didn't work properly (No Heat) I was unable to style my hair, which was a bummer!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    10
    Best place for families with children to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Free air hockey, table tennis, and foosball would make the game room a hit!

    We enjoyed the comfortable beds, breakfast buffet, indoor pool/spa, gym, and incredibly close proximity to the train, restaurants in downtown Williams, Bearizona, and the Grand Canyon! Our family had the greatest time at The Grand Canyon Railway Hotel. The guest rooms/bathrooms were nicely remodeled.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    6.3
    Clean, nice area to walk.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our fan kept turning off, so my husband would have to get up and restart it even though it was set to run continuious. Our TV didn't work, kept losing signal. Couldn't watch it in the evening , or the next morning. Told the person at the front desk. All they said was I'm sorry. I do hope it's working for the next person.

    Clean, nice area to walk.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    8.8
    Perfect location and facilities for visit to Grand Canyon
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could do with a concierge desk as reception was constantly busy with check-ins etc. A concierge would have been helpful for general tourist info and questions.

    This is a hotel complex with on-site shops, restaurant and railway ticket desk for Grand Canyon. The location is excellent, good comfortable rooms and nice public areas.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    8.8
    Worth the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There s no breakfast included.

    Hottub was good. Room was clean. Didn't hear the train like I read in the reviews (maybe because we were so tired...). Reasonable room size.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    9.2
    A lovely hotel, nice rooms, great staff, wonderful location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast buffet was quite good, but not included and the pool was just okay (wouldn't wow kids).

    Location was fabulous; Williams is a neat town and an easy walk. Rooms were lovely, quiet despite being a larger hotel, and staff were all friendly and approachable.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    7.9
    Great hotel next to the station, if you can afford it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was not included in the price. I don't like buffets as most times the food items are sub par. Room walls were very thin.

    Proximity to the train station and Main Street. Nice bathroom with bathing amenities. Keyrig machine with pods in the room. Comfortable beds. Adjoining rooms.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    7.1
    Everything terrific but staff must be overworked. Not very happy people behind desk at check I'm
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lobby check in clerks are like zombies. Little eye contact no smiles or being pleasant requires too much effort. Biggest disappointment went to use pool spa area after a 600 mile drive. A chain and lock bolted shut the doors. No sign nor explanation. And upon check in receptionist couldn't be bothered to mention pool/ spa area locked/closed etc. Just an explanation or warning would have been considerate. I booked hotel and drove EXTRA miles that day just to relax in the pool/Jacuzzi. No one seemed to care nor apologize.

    Nice rooms. Excellent beds. Good shower heads. Quiet A.C. units.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    5.8
    Hotel looks like the old steam engines outside, belongs in the past.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The welcome we received was quite poor, not very friendly at all. The food was offered in a restaurant outside of the hotel and was quite poor. Overall there are many old and rusting trains outside that obviously belong in the past, just like this hotel. Room 2190 suffers from excessive noise caused by an ice machine that seems to be attempting to launch itself into space. Avoid 2190.

    The bed and pillows were great.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    6.7
    The room was very modern and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Crowed parking lot, newly paved area wasn't yet available to use. Will be a big improvement when it's done. Lack of security in the parking lot. Vandalism took place the evening that we stayed. Some vehicles were broken into, ours was scratched.

    The room was very modern and clean.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    7.5
    Enjoyed our stay here!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    the lay out of the hotel is very confusing, the card key entrance did not always work.

    nice location, clean, very large parking lot, we had an RV and they allowed us to park in the employee parking lot immediately so we wouldn't have to deal with driving around finding parking. The staff is very nice. Bathroom was very clean and the room was comfortable

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2017

    5.8
    Nice room, but grumpy staff....
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was not very service minded (actually a little grumpy...). There is no breakfast at the hotel you have to go out... From the outside the hotel is not very nice looking (a bit like a barak..)

    rooms was nice and clean (but little view from rooms). Loby is nicely decorated in old style.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2017

    6.3
    A really good option to visit the Grand Canyon by railway
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needed better information about limited restaurants in the area. Difficult to get in for evening meal in Williams.

    The location was excellent for the train to Grand Canyon

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    10
    Good spot
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Train and train whistles.

    Welcoming staff. Loved the staff at Spensers Pub. Great pizza. Room was comfortable and very clean. They are very ecologically minded which I liked. They used some ingenious ways to conserve. Would love to see more hotels use the ideas. Sorry that we didn't go downtown. Lots of restaurants there.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    5.4
    We had a great time
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would like glass glasses in the room in addition to the paper cups for coffee Although the brochure offered wifi. It was very difficult to access. Required a trip to the front desks and was only good for that evening. Wanted to pull ups book the next morning and was unable

    Bed and room comfortable and attractive Attitude at the front desk was helpful

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2017

    10
    Best place to stay in the area!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was amazing to say the very least! I didn't want to leave the bed! And the pool was great for the kids. The only thing I would add is more chairs to the pool area. There wasn't anywhere for us to put our stuff, but a perfect size pool and hot tub! We would definitely revisit here if we came back to the area!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    6.3
    Cleanliness
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No shower hats available for sale or at desk or room. Robe would improve comfort. Hated paying for full breakfast when only continental breakfast required.

    Cleanliness

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2017

    10
    Mar 6th
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walk outside to get to pool and hottub temps were cold snowed but once inside great saltwater pool hottub I would say buffet prices high for hotel guests that have already paid Hotel stays.

    Lovely hotel pool hottub Bar small cozy Restaurant only buffet but town short walk Grand Canyon railway trip and stays well worth it.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2017

    7.5
    Great location for train to Canyon
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room a little dated - and the lighting was not good enough even to read.

    Breakfast buffet was excellent and very good value. The bar with huge open fire was a great place to have supper and unwind after a long day. The margaritas were superb!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2017

    6.3
    the location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    there was absolutely no help available with our luggage we are both senior citizens and handicapped no one offered us assistance with our luggage n our room was at the farthest end of the hotel

    the location

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2017

    2.9
    Worst Service Ever
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having my booking changed without my consent, receiving 13 e mails from booking.com asking for payment of $51000 yes $51000 for a booking I had already paid for in advance. Nobody taking responsibility hotel says it's Booking.com, Booking.com says it's hotel. Having to stop my credit card to avoid potentially $51000 being stolen by hotel / Booking.com Having my holiday totally ruined by this disgraceful and exceptionally stressful act.

    Nothing absolutely dreadful experience. The worst I have ever had to endure

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2017

    7.1
    Cute hotel, bed was comfortable, staff knowledgeable about...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately the hotel is under construction and the pool was closed. That was a drag

    Cute hotel, bed was comfortable, staff knowledgeable about train to Grand Canyon

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2016

    6.7
    Worth only for the location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Value Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very understaffed. Our phone was broken and I asked to have it replaced the first night and it never was. I asked for hangers and they never came and our tv broke and they never came to fix it, we waited over two hours. Finally we had to leave and on our way out we spoke to the manager, who was always in her office, and kindly told them to replace it within the next two hours. They replaced it with a much better one but it was filthy of dust. One night we ordered hot chocolate and it took the girl almost 45 min to serve it. The lines to check in take a very long time. One night, we had a question regarding parking, they told us to get on line behind two other families. It took them over 49 min to finally call us over and ten seconds to answer our questions. To get to the nice indoor pool you have to walk outside. It was so cold I could imagine letting our kids go. It was freezing out.

    The value room was perfect for our family of 5. Nothing fancy,but it did have a keur coffee machine. The location was fantastic. We didn't need our car at all.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2016

    7.5
    Lodge like facility.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Web site was confusing - could not book two nights plus train to Grand Canyon. Had to book one night separately thru Bookings.com. Upon checking in they had difficulty locating our reservations and when checking out they couldn't find any records that we were even there!

    Lodge like facility. Very cozy lobby. Friendly staff. Buffet and entertainment was very good.

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2016

    7.9
    Location next to the Grand Canyon Railroad Depot was perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Location next to the Grand Canyon Railroad Depot was perfect! Staff was friendly and cheerful. Lobby, pool and common areas were clean and well appointed. Sandard rooms were comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2016

    10
    A great hotel right in the heart of Williams AZ
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing - this is a great hotel

    Everything about the hotel and location in Williams AZ was superb...! We couldn't fault this hotel in anyway. Great location and unique being part of the historic railway, which offers trips to the Grand Canyon right from outside the hotel! Highly recommended

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    9.6
    Comfortable hotel, handsomely appointed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Value Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    THEY HAVE FOX NEWS AND NOT MSNBC. That is a major red flag to me and I highly object to having my perspective skewed. No Comedy Central either. There are not enough towel racks by the sinks. I did not appreciate the Christmas tree and decorations on the Halloween weekend. That is way too early in the year. I loved the hot tub but there was nowhere nearby to hang a towel so I wound up putting it on the dry dirt of a planter.

    I enjoyed staying at the Grand Canyon Hotel Lodge. I like the campus effect of the hotel, depot and cafe. After returning from the railroad, I was very grateful for the hot tub, especially after my mule ride at the grand canyon earlier in the day. I enjoyed the comfortable bar although it was empty the night I was there. The staff was pleasant and helpful.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2016

    9.6
    Clean, spacious and fun.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No kettle in the room which I think will only bother the guests from the UK as it seems to be standard across the US.

    Lovely, spacious clean rooms. Hotel had character and perfect location for getting the train to the Canyon or an hours drive in.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    9.2
    Grand Canyon Railway Hotel the only great Hotel in town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Value Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    very expensive, no complimentary breakfast,

    Excellent location close to Grand canyon Railway station and also being the ONLY good hotel in town 4star. Wonderful beds.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    5.8
    Railway Hotel, didn't provide such a great stop
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Value Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    The price should reflect more of the town's area, way overpriced.

    The hotel was nice, but not for the amount of money that we spent. there's really not much to do there except for shopping, they Man Vs Machine race was there so there was more people, but I wouldn't go back there again.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2016

    8.3
    Nice hotel with lovely rooms, about 30 min drive to south rim. Reception staff poor attitudes.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Value Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff on reception had really bad attitudes when booking us in on both occasions (we had two nights booked in two rooms) When I asked if I could pay in cash for the toll away bed the lady replied - can you do it in the morning because I'm too lazy to do it now!! There was evidence of poor attention to detail - I emailed the hotel twice to ensure that a roll- away bed was in the room and on both nights we had to repeatedly ask for this even though it was multiple notes on the booking. Extra requests weren't acknowledged. There also seems to be a process of booking people into certain rooms on a first come first serve basis - which is why I suspect there was no additional bed in the room as one night we booked in late to be told our room was no longer available.

    Comfy beds. 30 mins drive to the south rim.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    6.3
    Room was super nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They over charged me and I noticed before I checked out. I brought it up to staff up front and she did nothing. I had to go through booking.com to have them call the hotel and then they corrected my rate. If this wouldn't have happened I would stay there again, but since the check out staff didn't even bother to look into it I will stay elsewhere.

    Room was super nice.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    6.3
    Grand Canyon - stay closer to the park...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Poor - for a hotel at this price level - that no fresh coffee/tea available inside of hotel (one single coffee Kcup and one tea kcup in room - with powder milk packet)... restaurant across parking lot cute - however, coffee poured at register and hostess station in front of register...poor and no milk available...AND every second person had a free breakfast voucher - not fair . When I called for towels staff member brought me unfolded towels and off white face towels... Check in - way to long.

    bed was good and large train pillows a nice touch...

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    9.6
    Nice night, a bit pricy for the room, good location close to train to canyon
    • Couple
    • Value Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel food. no free breakfast unless with a tour package. better restaurants in nearby old down town especially rod's steak house.

    Location to Old down town. Close to lots of historical restaurants.

    Stayed in September 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: