Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Grant Hotel 2 stars

753 Bush Street, Union Square, San Francisco, CA 94108, USA

#153 of 230 hotels in San Francisco

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2247 hotel reviews

7.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.7

  • Comfort

    7

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    6.8

  • Staff

    7.6

  • Value for money

    7.2

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    7.1
    Area a bit run down but near union square so that was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beds too small. Queen more ideal. Also window in room wouldn't lock-safety issues. No shampoo or soap in bathroom. Hotel should provide parking for the guests.

    Area a bit run down but near union square so that was good. Staff friendly. A bit overpriced given the simplicity and run down appearance in the room.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    10
    Great hotel for the location, price, and the parking garage across the street which gives a discount
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Can't think of anything.

    I love the location of this hotel for the price. It's not fancy, but it's very clean and comfortable and I feel safe there. I've stayed there about six times now and will be back.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    7.5
    Good hotel close to Union Square
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    It would be nice to have a kettle and free coffe in the room.

    Hotel at a walking distance from Union Square. The hotel is quiet with good wifi. A continental breakfast is including with muffins and cakes.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    8.8
    Convenient location, but pricy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was quite disappoiting. Only coffee and some bought muffins. Not enough tables to sit, some people had to had breakfast standing. No hair dryer in the room, no iron. It was comfortable and lovef the location though. A bit pricy.

    The location is perfect. You can walk in 5 minutes to thr Union Square or China Town. The room was big and very quiet.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    7.5
    Nice staff, nice pastrys for breakfast, free tea and water...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The carpet was old and it seemed a long time ago since it was properly cleaned....

    Nice staff, nice pastrys for breakfast, free tea and water at reception, much appreciated :)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    8.3
    Great value for a quick getaway.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location was not in a good area but the street where the hotel was located was decent.

    Great value for the $$$. A lot better than expected for the price. Walking distance to China Town and Little Italy.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    7.5
    In 4 days we did everything on our list: GG Bridge, Pier 39 etc but Alcatraz needs advance booking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast would have benefited from having a little more of a variety as it was the same every day. A little more space to eat it would also be welcome.

    We liked that it was still very much in its original style and that (for us) everything was within walking distance or a short tram or bus ride away - all part of the exploring fun.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    7.1
    Fantastic location of the hotel in the city center, just few...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is old style and it needs some renovations. The room was very basic, but it was ok for one night. And breakfast was poor, just 3 types of sweets or apples to eat.

    Fantastic location of the hotel in the city center, just few minutes walk from Chinatown and Powell St BART Station, many restaurants nearby. Easy check-in and check out process. Free water from water filling station in the lobby.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    10
    Great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    It was a 2 min walk to Union Square so the location was perfect. Bed was really comfy, really clean and good breakfast. Also had a computer and printer if you needed to print anything like we did. Would definitely return

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    8.3
    Very convenient location and great base to explore San...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very convenient location and great base to explore San Francisco from, basic but clean rooms and good value for money. Staff were friendly and the complimentary coffee & pastries were a nice touch in the morning.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    8.8
    I worried about the hotel when I reserved, but did not regret staying in. I will come back here!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    you can hear foot steps and voices from other customers, which can be troublesome if you are a light sleeper. THe last slope to reach the hotel ,if you are coming from Union Square is quite steep!

    it is near Powell street yet you cannot hear outside street noise, free sweet rolls in the morning was a nice treat

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    7.1
    It was clean and central.
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast options were sweet pastries and sweet cakes. The coffee was awful! It was quite noisy above me and the bed was hard. The shower pressure left much to be desired.

    It was clean and central. They let me check in quite early which I really appreciated.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    7.9
    A good choice, thanks to the location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The smell in the lobby and in the room. The sink is located inside the room, and not in the restroom.

    I liked the fact that the hotel is located right in the center of the city, very close to the main points of interest for a tourist. Also, a modest breakfast is provided every morning in the lobby, which includes only sweet bakery products and coffee. The room was ok, with all the needed facilities. The staff was very nice and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    8.3
    Hardly a better location in Union Square district.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mattress not particularly comfortable.

    Cleanliness. Location. Availability of fresh coffee all the time. Lighting by the bed. Bible in the nightstand. Large walk-in closet. Lots of hot water.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    7.9
    Good for what you pay for
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was kind of small and the elevator needs some maintenance it doesn't feel safe

    The location the low price and the public parking right across from it with a discount if you pay at checkout

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    9.6
    Although we had a street facing room and reception said that...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slow elevator. But at least there was the option for taking the stairs.

    Although we had a street facing room and reception said that would be noisy. It was actually very quiet. We were on the fifth floor, perhaps that helped.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    7.9
    Great location, very close to the amazing Chinatown, comfy...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    No parking on premises, only across the street in partner garage, and quite expensive, but I suppose it's not very unusual, it being San Francisco.

    Great location, very close to the amazing Chinatown, comfy room, nice looking lobby.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    7.5
    Good enough for a short stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Facilities and the size of the room including the smell of the whole hotel.

    Staff was courteous and accommodating and easy to talk to. Location was good as it was near all the places that we want to go to.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    9.2
    Great location and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was not really big but it was confy

    Great location and friendly staff. Near to city center and many bus stops. Easy to get by. Clean rooms and a great price.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    7.5
    Nice hotel near Union Square!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although the hotel is near Union Square, it is located on upslope of the area so it can be very tiring if you have luggages or heavy shopping bags. The carpet in our room 409 was dirty along the walls. It looked as if it has not been vacuumed for long time.

    Short walking distance to union square which was great for shopping and food. Cable car stop is just at the corner of the street. Simple breakfast was also provided by Hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    5.4
    Good location, fairly cheap for the area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Horrible smell throughout lobby and corridors and room (kind of reminiscent of burnt toast/burnt hair- very strong smell). Night staff when we checked in were little to no help when asked questions about parking and recommendations about where to go etc. Building is very old, which is part of its charm but basic things like towel rails were hanging off the walls.

    Good location, fairly cheap for the area. Nice suprise free breakfast to go, nothing fancy but did the job.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    7.1
    Good enough accommodation in a great area
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like that you could hear every footstep of people in the room above, or that there was a big step up into the bathroom.

    I liked the old style of the hotel and my room was quite large. It was also good that there was an in-room safe. Most staff were very friendly. The location was excellent with union square only 5 minutes walk and a laundromat only a couple of minutes away. Easy to catch nearby busses and trams.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    10
    Would recommend this Hotel to anyone who is looking for value for money
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fantastic location, near Union Square. Easy check-in procedure. Room wasn't big but exactly what we needed. Superbly cleaned. Staff couldn't have been more helpful. Would definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    10
    A very pleasant and convenient place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast in the reception area was not ideal, it made checking in or out a bit difficult for both staff and guests.

    Breakfast was a bonus. The croissants were great

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    7.5
    Central to Union Square but removed a bit from the hustle
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room faced the Street, so I got lots of noise, this isn’t uncommon with hotels in inner city, rooms not facing the Street would be quieter , so try for one of those. Nice place though!

    Central to Union Square but removed a bit from the hustle

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    8.8
    Good value in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was too hard for me. There was no view just a blank wall

    The location was good and the staff were mostly helpful. We arrived early from San Diego and were able to check in straightaway which was great. Checkout time was 12 o'clock which was also good as we had a very late flight.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    9.6
    Great price for the location, rooms aren't anything...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great price for the location, rooms aren't anything special but they're fine, no parking so you must park in a garage for $36 a day. Good staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    6.7
    It was a great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were very small and run down for the price. I know everything is expensive in Sam Francisco.. but $225 for this room is WAY overpriced. Everything was clean and the staff was super nice.

    It was a great location!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    8.8
    The property is very, very well located!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being located on a trafficked street might be a little noisy (we had a room on the side with the road), but it's not too bothersome.

    The property is very, very well located!!! The room was big, clean amd comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    6.7
    It was near to main attractions and to public transport.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The whole hotel had a smell, especially the room, furniture & carpet pretty outdated. Window to a fire wall.

    It was near to main attractions and to public transport. Room was clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    9.6
    We enjoyed our stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We would have preferred a more substantial breakfast.

    We enjoyed our stay. We had a basic room and it was comfortable. The internet in our room was good. The staff was very friendly. We loved being within walking distance of Chinatown and Little Italy so we could enjoy great food and pastries. The breakfast was continental. We enjoyed the different coffees their machine offered. The staff was very accommodating to a number of our requests, extra covers and sheets, refrigerator, extra luggage rack.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    8.8
    I had fantastic time in a breathtaking and heart touching city and I love it....
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 12 nights

    I stayed two weeks in The Grant Hotel, and I haven't been disappointed....The hotel is not a 5 stars but what you need it s a clean room with a great bed.... The room was spacious,very clean, towels changed every day, everything in good working order... and the bed was very comfortable... Breakfast is basic but just what you need before you start your day (homemade cakes, croissants, etc./coffees and teas...) and go for something else to eat later on in the morning....The staff was very friendly and helpful...and if you have any problem with your room , do not hesitate to inform them and they will do everything to accommodate you... I am a walker, it's my only way to discover the city, I don t use public transports or taxis unless by necessity, and I don't drive , the location is perfect, you can walk everywhere from the hotel and everything is easy to find... and it's safe even at night ... there is a lot of restaurants, coffee shops, pubs, shops, entertainment places around... Enjoy your stay !!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    7.9
    Convenient and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For the price paid I have paid there are no issues.

    Large room by San Francisco standards, value for money, simple rooms as expected, great location and helpful staff. Breakfast included.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    9.6
    Great value fof money, at least for San Francisco
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike

    Location in the heart of SF, complimentary breakfast with as many pastries as you want, ice and hot water for beverages always available and free

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    5.4
    Ripped off and deseved
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property looked and sounded great in photos. Was more like a hostel feel. Got into bed and the sheets litterally looked like they had not been changed for 2 months , dark and dirty and had two strips of blood. Told on booking.com they provided parking, a big reason we booked here along with location, only to be told when we arrived we had to pay $32 a day in parking across the road. Breakfast and the location of the breakfast bar were absolute rubbish. I would hardly call cupcakes and a slice of cake Breakfast AND you had to pay for coffee Feeling ripped off over all. Bed was comfy however and pillows were soft, but wish I had off booked some where else for the money we paid

    The location was the only standout thing about staying here

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    7.1
    Location is near Union Square, which is good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bedroom had one window to a wall. Looked a little bit old. It would be ok if they did not charge what they did for the room.

    Location is near Union Square, which is good. Staff is nice and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    8.3
    Would recommand and would stay again😊
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    some guests were really loud during the night. We had to ask the staff to “calm them down”. The bed was not that confortable but the rest was really good.

    Great location. Nice and big room. Clean. Breakfast included (not a big choice but good enough)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    6.3
    If visiting San Fran again would stay somewhere else.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast selection very poor and lack of facilities to eat. A lot of people took their breakfast back to their room to eat. Some staff were nice, some not so. Lack of hairdryers.

    Room was good, old hotel but nice and cosy.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    7.5
    The room was perfectly comfortable, and breakfast was also...
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    It would be good if hotel staff had a little information about nearby restaurants and/or current SF events.

    The room was perfectly comfortable, and breakfast was also adequate.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    6.7
    A good distance from BART airport train station.
    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very simple equipment And some rooms with a view to the wall. Only sweet breakfest.

    A good distance from BART airport train station. Near by Union Square and shops.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    8.8
    NICE TO STAY, I LOVE IT
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location is quite high. It's very tired for elderly parent.

    I LIKE THE ROOM AND BATHROOM, IT'S BIGGER THAN THE PICTURE . VERY COMFORTABLE BED, FRIENDLY STAFF

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    6.3
    Great location and a decent value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Their POS did not recognize ang credit card. We initially received a very dark room facing a wall which was changed to one faving the street where you can hear the traffic and outside noose all night.

    Great location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    7.1
    We were suprised that they offer free breakfast (coffee,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Really small bed.

    We were suprised that they offer free breakfast (coffee, muffins, pastries), even it is not stated on Booking. Nice and helpfull staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    7.9
    Perfect location close to restaurants, cafes and Union square. Good coffee in the morning!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room we were in faced a courtyard with a noisy vent. This was however fixed for our subsequent stay!

    Very close to Union square! Comfortable bed. Accommodating staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    7.5
    We stayed here two times during our trip - on either end of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Boyfriend is celiac - no options for breakfast other than muffins and pastries so we weren’t able to take advantage of included breakfast. Some fruit would have been nice.

    We stayed here two times during our trip - on either end of flying in and out of San Fran. We stayed in two different rooms, second one was considerably better than second. Both were clean and basic but second one had a full counter in bathroom (whereas first room just had free standing sink) and didn’t have old floral bed spread which made room feel nicer! Didn’t have the same experience as other reviews with respect to bad smell. Perfect location and great value for exploring the city.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    9.6
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Location was great, close to the action and transport the only down fall for some might be the hill you have to walk up each time but in saying that it is San Francisco

    Great location. Staff were all kind. Facilities were maintained and beds were comfortable

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    7.1
    Location is great - close to Union Square, approx.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The walls are ridiculously thin, could hear everything that people in next room were talking about. Price for parking across the street was pretty steep even with a "special discount as a guest of the hotel", could have found cheaper option somewhere in the neighbourhood. Also got a room with a view on a brick wall. But, hey, it's San Francisco, I guess.

    Location is great - close to Union Square, approx. an hour walk to Painted Ladies and other attractions of the city are quite close, too.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    5.0
    Pretty average.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had to to go back and forth from the garage to the hotel four times, in order to collect my car, as it works on a sticker system, and clearly the lady on reception was not aware of the process.

    Location was great.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    7.9
    Not deluxe, but quite serviceable, and a good value for the location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Traffic from street could be loud all night. No light in closet. One staff was rude (wouldn't let me use the bathroom in the basement). Must pay for parking (about $37/night across the street).

    Great location. Nice free pastries and coffee in the morning.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    7.5
    Location is good, good value for this amount of money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Smell in the hotel was really terrible. Hotel is just 1 meter from another building, so it is likely you will see nothing but wall from your window.

    Location is good, good value for this amount of money. Hot water available in the lobby. Free cookies in the morning

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    8.8
    I had to pay for parking when I thought it was included in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I had to pay for parking when I thought it was included in the price, but the person on the desk helped enormously to get me an affordable option at 3 am!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    8.8
    Nice, relaxing, pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Shower curtain; I am not a fan of shower curtains.

    Room large with good windows. Beds very good. Staff very friendly and helpful. Not a European breakfast but for American standards very good, and it was included. Short distance from city center, musea, wharfs, art galeries, shops.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    5.0
    I will never back
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast is in theory only. Personnel come into my room early morning without any knocking. Parking is expensive, no information about that during reservation.

    Location seems to be very good. In the middle of center San Francisko, Unfortunately that is dirty place. There are so many homeless people than I never seen before. WIFI is working well.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    7.5
    no problem stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It's a very basic place, facilities are old, but it's ok.

    Good location, great staff, room was quiet and clean. Could have tea at any time. Had everything we needed.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    9.2
    Perfect as a base for sightseeing when you consider the price of other hotels nearby.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had no view. Would have preferred street view.

    Spotless, quiet room and comfortable bed. Coffee and lovely cakes and pastries for breakfast. Great location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    4.6
    Hotel room we had really not good enough continental breakfast a joke cakes, not bread or a toaster
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    room was so bare no curtains walls, doors and general woodwork dirty and marked ad says hotel with no frills really did not want frills but not one picture of room we stayed in advertised one basically small bed

    Nothing less than basic

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    10
    We had a really nice stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a really nice stay. The room was cleaned everyday, the bathroom is big and nice. Good breakfast for free in the morning, and good location to visit the city (we have not used public transportation, if you like to walk, you can walk all the city from the hotel). Good good good!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    9.2
    Like I said earlier it’s a quiet place to sleep not to fancy we had a great time in San Francisco
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Have to pay for parking and the internet didn’t work half the time

    The room was quiet the hotel was old like most in SF but it was clean and the staff were nice I would recommend this motel for someone who’s not too fussy and just needs a quiet place to sleep

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    8.3
    The hotel is extremely close to Union Square, and if you are...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The building is old, which is common for buildings and similar hotels in the area, and so is the furbishing of the rooms. Despite looking a bit "old" though, our room and the common areas were clean. I think the bathroom had been refurbished more recently though.

    The hotel is extremely close to Union Square, and if you are in town for an event at the Moscone Center you can get to the conference center in 15 minutes on foot. The staff was friendly and we didn't have any issue. Beds were big and comfortable. Breakfast is served in the lobby and consists of tea or coffee from a coffee machine (it's "Peet's coffee") and croissants/muffins.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    7.5
    The room was large, the location was good.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Like always in the smaller SF hotels, you can almost hear every word when the neighbors talk.

    The room was large, the location was good. Staff was friendly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    10
    We would certainly stay here again, location was perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was very nice ,but lacked butter or margarine for croissants and breads . No fresh milk for coffee or tea. Coffee machine at night you had to use credit card for each drink. Minor but annoying.

    Location was excellent. Bed very comfy. Very clean. Staff friendly. Great arrangement for leaving cases for the day on the day of departure.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    8.8
    I enjoyed my stay and would recommend this hotel !
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Elevator was a bit slow and bumpy.

    The location next to union square, cable cars, Restaurants, and other great venues ! I was not looking for anything fancy. The hotel was clean and peaceful. The staff was nice and courteous. I would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    3.8
    Good Location but really bad hotel
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    - Rooms are stuffy - Not clean rooms - very old furniture - Stuff aren't always there - Breakfast is not good - Bed comfort is bad - Noisy room

    Location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    7.5
    The rooms were clean, the beds were comfortable.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Sometimes, it was quite hard to communicate with the staff.

    The rooms were clean, the beds were comfortable. The breakfast was good, specially the cakes, they were soft and tasty.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    9.2
    The ease of check in was smooth and the staff very helpful.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking did cost me more than I expected.

    The ease of check in was smooth and the staff very helpful. They validate the parking garage across the street. The room was clean, the bathroom large , and I really liked the high ceilings and ceiling fan and large window. The internet was fast and the the bed was comfortable. Extra pillows and blankets inside the large closet was a bonus.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    7.5
    The staff is great and would like to provide service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is great but is at the high side, you had better take under to get here or you will be tired. There is no hair dryer, but you can borrow it from desk.

    The staff is great and would like to provide service.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    5.8
    Not the best, not the worst, overpriced for what you get.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was much smaller than expected, everything but the TV was old as hell, the TV didn't have sound on half the channels, the TV signal would drop out randomly, I got no signal on my T-Mobile cell phone in my room, the fan didn't spin that fast and the controls didn't make sense, the "view" out the window was the wall of the building next door, bed was stiff (though that could be a good thing if you like it like that),

    Room was clean, closet was huge, quiet

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    6.7
    Really good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walls are thin so noise levels from other rooms was bothersome. Also could easily hear people walking in room above. Nothing provided to put luggage on. Only one chair in a double room. No coffee or tea facilities in room - it is available at reception but you have to pay $1 but only with credit card which is impractical for overseas travellers who need to pay a transaction fee.

    Great location. Staff were attentive. Good level of cleanliness throughout. Good heating - nice not to have an aircon blowing.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    10
    Breakfast toast and brownie selections are excellent, with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Elevator was shaky and unstable, pls fix. Shower switch is kind of stupid design...

    Breakfast toast and brownie selections are excellent, with the great automative coffee machine. Who would have thought a machine could make such good quality coffee?

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    7.1
    Fine stay for the price and location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I told the front desk in the morning about an extra bed and extra person coming in and they said they would have that completed. Checked back later at night and it wasn't completed and the front desk said they didn't receive notice from the previous person (as if it was my fault). Front desk ended up doing it on the spot but it was a little unexpected / inconvenient.

    The price and location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    7.1
    Very good on average, due to the excellent location of the hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The cleaning person was with her kids, and they were very noisy while playing in the corridor.

    Perfectly located, for an afordable prize. The area is safe.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    7.1
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is cake, muffins and croissants. Could be better.

    Great location. Rooms are dated but clean. Spacious room. Parking across the street. No luxury, but pretty decent.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    5.4
    Excellent location for people with no need good facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No airco in the room, which was unexpected. Every day breakfast limited to muffins, coffee and tea. No bread or anything else. WiFi extremely poor. Lost connection every 5min. And very slow when connected. Parking expected to be free, cost us 30 dollar a day.

    Friendly staff. Excellent location. Key landmarks are walking distance.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    6.7
    Location location location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The interior's acceptable, but it could do with a spot of modernisation, as it's all a bit dated - the bathroom decor was straight out of the 70s, for example.

    Location location location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    9.6
    Good value by SF standards
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    internet speeds were a little less. not sure if this was a temporary issue. 'complementary breakfast' is just few muffins and coffee. fortunately there are lots of good options outside

    my second stay here because experience in my first stay was good.rooms clean, bathrooms clean, great location.

    Stayed in January 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Grant Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: