Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

View vacation packages to

  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. USA hotel reviews
  3. California hotel reviews
  4. San Francisco hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Rodeway Inn & Suites Ocean Beach

Reviews of Rodeway Inn & Suites Ocean Beach This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

1234 Great Highway, San Francisco, CA 94122, United States of America

#191 of 268 hotels in San Francisco

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 1319 hotel reviews

7.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.1

  • Comfort

    6.9

  • Location

    8

  • Facilities

    6.4

  • Staff

    7.7

  • Value for money

    6.6

  • Free WiFi

    7.2

Verified guest reviews from real Bookers

Real Bookers. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: June 24, 2019

    10
    Nice location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Unfortunately we checked in and walked in Golden Gate Park and I got several pain in my stomach and I became soo sick than we returned to hotel check out and drive back home Too bad we couldn’t stay longer But we are looking forward for future staying with you Great location and clean

    Easy access and plenty parking spaces

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: June 20, 2019

    9.2
    Great location. Staff accommodating. Good view of the beach from the 3rd floor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room Accessible - First Floor
    • Stayed 1 night

    Coffee maker in the room would have been great. Possibly fruit instead of cake in foyer for breakfast.

    Location was great, right across from the beach.

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: June 20, 2019

    3.8
    Never, ever again, Rodeway Inn and Suites. I'd sooner sleep in Golden Gate Park.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Where to begin....... First of all, on entering registration, you are immediately surrounded by bullet-proof glass in the window and in front of the clerks. Not a good first impression, unless you are actually in a 7 Eleven in the Hood. The property looks partially abandoned. No maintenance on the outside of the building or the sidewalks or parking lots. Cracked stucco, rusted metal hand rails, sand and litter everywhere. The former restaurant entrance is bricked over, and the windows are covered with dirt and grime. You can still see the stacked dining chairs and other food service equipment piled on top of the tables. The staff did, however, manage to stick a piece of paper on the other door with "Store Room" printed on it, just in case a guest might actually mistake it for an amenity. To save labor and money, the management have decided to serve the included "breakfast" in the lobby: coffee and some cast-off apples and danish they found somewhere cheap. Then there was the room. The best thing I can say about it was that there was, thankfully, (and surprisingly) no evidence of bed bugs. The overall cleanliness was about on par with that of a frat house. Years of deferred maintenance, outdated wallpaper border, banged up furniture, crushed lamp shades, filthy drapes, stale carpet and a moldy, musty smell. No effort to either clean or paint the walls, woodwork, doors, baseboards, ceilings or anything else was evident. Smudges and dirty handprints around every doorway and light switch, dirty linoleum in the bathroom, and on and on. I mean, how much does a sponge and a bottle of Fabuloso cost these days?? The cherry on this filthy little sundae was the broken window in the bathroom which, instead of replacing, management chose to cover over with a piece of plywood, and then SELL THE ROOM ANYWAY!!!!! What does this say about the people who run this place? More importantly, what does this say about the parent company Rodeway Inn and Suites?

    What did I like? The location near the ocean and Golden Gate Park, but nothing related to this flea bag of a hotel.

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: June 20, 2019

    7.5
    overall cleanliness good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    the railings by the stairs. have it fixed. not safe especially for kids or any adults. met a guest who got a blister.

    overall cleanliness good. water heat up right away.

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: June 16, 2019

    7.9
    Great location but you get what you pay for
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The walls are thin so a lot of noise from the street and other noise. The shower had next to no water pressure. Also the room door didnt have the slide lock thing.

    Across the street from the beach and Golden Gate Park. Great price for the location.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: June 15, 2019

    5.8
    When we arrived we were told our room had no A/C, they...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    When we arrived we were told our room had no A/C, they had very limited rooms that actually had A/C. While we did eventually get moved into an AC room, many other guest did not. This should be stated on the site very clearly since I would think most guest would believe that hotels have AC. The room had a couch but was nothing I would sit on and the carpet was sticky. I didn’t complain because it had AC.

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: June 13, 2019

    8.8
    Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very warm No screens on window. Breakfast was just sweet rolls and whole apples

    Location. Stones throw to beach. Clean. Cheaper than most. Nice staff

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: June 12, 2019

    4.2
    Very disappointing! The reviews were misleading.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The building was run down and needed to be maintained. The room was dirty. The windows were filthy and the front screen was missing. No air circulation in the room. It was an unusual hot day in San Francisco and we were not able to cool off the room. We were miserable sleeping in the room due to its upkeep. The toilet chain broke and we had to put our hand in the tank in order to allow it to flush. Parking was very limited. We will not be staying at this property again.

    Nothing! Very disappointed.

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: June 10, 2019

    8.8
    A good place to stay in SF near the Golden Gate Beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was quite poor in terms of choices, and quality; however, it was good to have a hot drink and eat something in the hotel in the morning. The price for the room is high, but feasible.

    That was close to the ocean beach. The room was clean, and the beds were comfortable. Wifi worked well. We enjoyed taking shower after walking a lot at Muir Woods and being utterly dirty. Muir Woods park is in 30 min by car. We were able to park our car almost across the door into our room.

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: June 6, 2019

    8.3
    View of the beach from our room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Suite with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Parking is limited mostly to the street but they do give you a parking pass that allows you to park close to building.

    View of the beach from our room. Very spacious room as well.

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: June 5, 2019

    10
    My go to
    • Solo traveler
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Once I got a room and ended up by the stairs. It was a little noisy, but not too bad.

    I have been staying here for years. It is an older property, but always clean, staff is always friendly. I wake up to the smell of the ocean it’s across from ocean beach. Beds are cool, good water pressure.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: June 5, 2019

    4.4
    Low price for the area if you must be near the beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 7 nights

    On this occasion we stayed seven nights, and on two or them the room was not made. I had to go to the office to ask for towels and toiletries at 10 pm. After the first incident, I protested and they assured us that it wouldn't happen again... and it did. They offered (and made) a small rate discount after that. As the years pass, the place is not improving... Some rooms were refurbished some time ago but work seems to have stopped.

    Location. We come here regularly to visit relatives living nearby.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: June 2, 2019

    8.8
    GREAT STAFF, CLEAN ROOMS, LOCATION, WE LOVE THIS PLACE and...
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Stair case to 2nd and 3rd floor is loose and pinched arms, even tho it’s smoke free people were smoking all around our door and windows also there was a lot of weed smoking around this time. HOWEVER, that’s not the property’s issue, it’s idiot people who disobey rules.

    GREAT STAFF, CLEAN ROOMS, LOCATION, WE LOVE THIS PLACE and CHOOSE TO STAY HERE EVERY TIME WE’RE IN THE BAY AREA!

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: May 24, 2019

    6.3
    Dated property.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Dated property...much in the room is old and non-functional. I get the sense this property is getting by on its location only. Looks like it could fall down any day.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 23, 2019

    7.9
    Pillows were very comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Beds are old and somewhat uneven. If you sit on side of bed you sink in the middle, yet we were able to sleep well.

    Pillows were very comfortable. Room was large and full of light. Parking was plentiful.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 21, 2019

    6.3
    The location was fabulous, right next to the ocean beach for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The building was run down, not maintained well. House keepers kept the room clean, but overall property needs a serious repair.

    The location was fabulous, right next to the ocean beach for nice walks. Easy to get to and plenty of parking space. Right next to the attractions of the Golden Gate Park.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 19, 2019

    2.5
    Stay well clear, this place is disgusting
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room Accessible - First Floor
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The place is dirty, worn, and in disrepair. The staff were unhelpful when asked to change the room, until I threatened to cancel the booking, which I would have done if there had of been vacancies elsewhere. Bedding was grey with wear. Sink was cracked. Shower/bath taps constantly dripping. Unable to open curtains as no blind/net for privacy, so room constantly gloomy. Some lamps didn't work & the carpet was grubby. And this was the room we moved to. Reception/breakfast room was like a taxi despatch office.

    Nothing, way overpriced for what you get. You'd be better off in a tent on the beach, it would be cleaner.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 15, 2019

    4.2
    Disappointing, dirty, old and overpriced.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There were major issues with the room: electricity outlets were very dated; a gross huge stain in the couch... which was completely run down; some visible repairs on the walls. It looks like it hasn't seen paint in years. The corridors were dirty... I don't want to even think what are those stains and dark substances on the corridor floors. I certainly hope it's just bird poop. Really, quite a disappointment! Fortunately, we only stayed 2 nights there. Would not come back. We had to leave our car in the street because the parking lots were full. It's appalling how expensive can hotels in San Francisco be and how little they care for cleanness and maintenance. They can just charge whatever!

    Location was nice. It's within a reasonable distance from the piers. The neighborhood is not the best but seems ok.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: May 15, 2019

    6.7
    Reasonable Inn close to the Ocean and central SF.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The ad on the webpage is unclear about room and bed arrangements. I have booked more rooms then necessary because it was unclear that the "suite" has a separate bedroom with 1 bed and a "living room" with another, which perfectly fits a family. The Inn is not new, and it shows. Not a big bother though as everything is tidy and clean.

    Reasonable Inn close to the Ocean and central SF. Spacious and clean, with good parking.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 14, 2019

    7.9
    It was a fine place for a person eager to be out and about (vs. being pampered in the hotel).
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    There wasn't much parking in the lot and the curb was weird so had to try to line up with space oddly to get in/out. Breakfast was 'just' pastries/apples/coffee (vs. eggs, cereal . .). Tub drained very slowly, curtain didn't really block out the street lights outside, TV didn't seem to work.

    The location was great, right on the corner, very visible and easy to access. There was a lot in the area to see/do as far as outdoors - Golden Gate Park, beaches. Wifi worked which often doesn't in hotels.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 12, 2019

    8.3
    Good location and good price made us overlook some of the shortcomings.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The property is rather shabby looking - perhaps because it recently became a Rodeway property and there's construction going on. No coffee maker, hairdryer, or extra blankets/pillows in room. Beds are not very comfortable.

    We had a suite with the second bedroom having a door - perfect for traveling with small children. It's always a bonus to have a refrigerator and microwave in the room.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 11, 2019

    6.7
    Not good
    • Family with young children
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The wi fi didnt work at all it kept going out instead of staying in the smoke alarm was on the dresser not the wall the bathtub plug did not work there is no menu on the t.v. to see whats on and no guide you have to flip through all the channels to see whats on the t v. There are no soda or snack machines no ice machines you had to go to office to get ice and once office closed you could get no ice at all

    The room was clean the beds comfortable

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 9, 2019

    8.3
    Expected Better, but is was fine
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Last year I stayed here and had a room that had been remodeled inside and was super clean. This time are room has partially been remodeled but the furniture and paint was still quite old and had a yucky feeling.

    Great location. Close to beach, coffee shops and park. The staff was so nice and kept our bags when we arrived early for almost the whole day.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 9, 2019

    7.5
    Staff very friendly and attentive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No elevator but staff did offer to help with suitcases. Refrigerator didn’t work

    Staff very friendly and attentive. Location was close to everything we did.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: April 25, 2019

    5.4
    The location was good because of its close proximity to Ocean beach and downtown.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathtub was draining slow and we had to shower in standing water. The hotel also looked like it had long term residents and made it feel like we were staying in a really bad neighborhood. We could smell drugs everywhere. Not good if you have children with you. Not safe either as I woke up to the sight of a local SFPD car responding to a car break-in just steps from the hotel. The continental breakfast was very poor too.

    Location was good that was about it.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 23, 2019

    10
    Our suite was so spacious, plenty room for 10 people in.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our suite was so spacious, plenty room for 10 people in. We didn't have time enough to enjoy staying in our spacious suite and nice neighborhood around , walking on the beach, GGP.....

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 19, 2019

    4.6
    Location near the beach and far end of Golden gate park is...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Suite with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Tired rooms needed decorating and windows needed double glazing to cut out noise of road and dumpster collecting (twice a day/night!)

    Location near the beach and far end of Golden gate park is good.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 19, 2019

    3.8
    Nothing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very rude and unhelpful people in reception.

    Nothing. Very unplasure people in reception, bathroom very old and not refurbished, the breakfast it was a joke. Not recommended

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 16, 2019

    7.1
    The location easy access th the freeway.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Suite with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    That it was being renovated during my stay. Also had plumbing issue in one of the rooms that I was renting. Also parking sucked.

    The location easy access th the freeway.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: April 16, 2019

    5.0
    We wouldn’t recommend this motel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Building old needs a lot of renovation, dirty on stairs/stairwells. Paper thin walls so couldn’t get any peace and quiet plus floor boards sqeaky both in our room and upstairs. Drains were old, dates back to the 50s when building was first erected so we were told, so toilet kept backing up, needed to clear the toilet a number of times but maintenance man only has set hours so we got plunger for unblocking toilet. Curtains had holes in them and telephone was dirty. On windy days main road was shut therefore all the traffic is diverted to road right in front of bedrooms which meant constant noise and congestion. All decor, carpets and curtains need replacing and updating. First booking we’ve had through Booking.com which has not been up to expectation. We certainly won’t be revisiting.

    Bed was reasonably comfy and staff were helpful. Bathroom was clean and parking is available.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 14, 2019

    5.4
    Don't expect much
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Place needed a good clean and a lick of paint. Homeless people sleeping in the open stairwells urinating all over the place in the morning (1 of 3 nights we stayed). Expensive for what it is. To keep things in perspective though, SF is an expensive city and despite its short comings, the place was acceptable.

    It was the cheapest place we could find within 25 minutes of central SF that could accommodate our group of 10. Plenty of parking. Friendly staff. Fresh towels each day. Acceptable place to stay for the night if passing through.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 11, 2019

    5.0
    This was ok for one night, but I wouldn't go again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Needs some renovation as it looks very tired, also some general maintenance and cleaning. E.g. Windows wouldn't close and had no locks on, tiles need regrouting etc. 'Breakfast' was a muffin, to be eaten standing in a very small reception area!

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 8, 2019

    7.1
    Staff was nice, room was real clean and the bed was comfy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room needed paint touchup and has some mold issue by the bathtub. The exterior building was very weathered, the cable went our for over 18 hours with out repair. Lots of car break in close by.

    Staff was nice, room was real clean and the bed was comfy. Water pressure was very good in shower.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 1, 2019

    7.1
    Good price for a motel in the San Francisco area, close to the beach, needs a little maintenance
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Suite with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parts of the motel are under contruction, and while the big ticket items in the room were in fine shape, the beds, the furniture, the tv, the toilet. Things like the trim, walls and doors were in need of some replacing or finishing work, there is also very little sound proofing between rooms. Be aware San Fran has a high car theft/break in rate and the parking is outside, the motel did a good job of highlighting this for us and recommended ensuring we took all our valuables out of the car.

    It wasn't a far drive to fisherman's wharf, the room had 3 large beds, which is almost impossible to find elsewhere. The beds were comfy, and the hotel is right next to the ocean with a big sandy beach.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 31, 2019

    9.2
    It was nice for what we wanted to do and convenient to be able to walk to beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Family Suite - Accessible/Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Voices and walking noise from adjacent and above rooms were very noticeable, the room could stand a cosmetic freshening up. Any of extra devices listed as available had to be gotten from office. No in room coffee maker. No elevator, so no disabled persons could get a room with a view. TV didn’t work.

    Clean, nice room (suite) setup, loved the continental breakfast, very pleasant front desk personnel. In room microwave and fridge really convenient.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 30, 2019

    6.7
    Overall, we were still happy due to convenience and cost.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We didn't like that there were no elevators. We had heavy suitcases and had to lug them up to the third floor in heavy rain and winds after a horrendously long 23 hour day of flying. The other piece was that the couch in the suite was unfunctional. We learned that they are in the process of removing the pull-out couches and had taken the mattress out of ours. So you couldn't really sit on it, which was pretty inconvenient for a long-term stay. They gave us a small discount in the end, but a usable couch would have been appreciated.

    We liked the layout of the suite and the proximity to our daughter's apartment.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 30, 2019

    10
    The hotel is literally one block from the beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room Accessible with Roll-In Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel is literally one block from the beach. Woke up early one morning and walked right over. There’s a gas station righ next store which was convenient for snacks. Also super close to Golden Gate Park. Definitely a great spot if you’re looking for the beach side of the city.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 29, 2019

    2.5
    Sorely disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    For starters the parking is horrible. The hotel is run down and dungeon like. The room was dirty. The floor the blankets and the bathroom. Unbelievable.

    Nothing

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 26, 2019

    6.7
    The office staff was very friendly and the location was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The carpet was sticky, the bathroom wasn't entirely clean, and there wasn't quite enough bedding so it was a little chilly at night. The neighbors below were beyond loud until 1:30am which is not the fault of the inn but it made for a very restless night.

    The office staff was very friendly and the location was awesome.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 26, 2019

    2.5
    Will never stay here again or recommend to anyone ever!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Suite with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Where to start, holding over $1000, not being able to speak to a manager, room was damaged, had to notify 2 staff members and nothing was written down. Check in night was double charged. HORRIBLE experience.

    The chocolate muffin in the morning for my kids.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 21, 2019

    7.9
    Reasonably priced, clean and comfortable facility next to Golden Gate Park and Ocean Beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • King Suite with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Lack of channel guide for TV. Distant from good restaurants.

    Spacious room. Comfortable bed. Clean room and bathroom. Adjacent to Golden Gate Park and beach.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 21, 2019

    5.0
    Stayed here before and
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Undergoing renovation. Bathroom was not done. Cracked sink.wallpaper & paint falling off walls.caulking missing or molding around tub. New toilet but old seat...broken and chipped paint.

    Location

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 15, 2019

    6.7
    Beach please
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The rooms are outdated. Holes on the walls... yikes! Errrrrthing's old and falling apart. They need to revamp this place it has so much potential.

    Location was amazing for the fact that it's so close to the beach!!! Parking is not a problem.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 13, 2019

    6.5
    It was convenient but pretty darn cold that first night.
    • Couple
    • Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    On this particular trip we got a nice room up on the third floor and it was quieter than a lot of rooms there. The problem was that the heater didn't work! We took the bedding off of the other bed, but that wasn't enough. The next day though when I mentioned it at the front desk, they did bring more blankets and a space heater so the following night was more comfortable. I did hope they would comp us the first night, but they didn't. I suppose I should have insisted but I didn't.

    I've stayed here many times because I'm a UCSF patient and I live 150 or so miles away. It's in the neighborhood that I grew up in and it's a close and predictable commute to UCSF.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 11, 2019

    7.5
    In general, nice place to stay for 2-3 days in summer. Ocean is 2 minutes across the street
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast is just coffee and some pastry. Location is good if you want an ocean, but it is quite far from main attractions (like Golden Gate bridge or Piers)

    Location near the beach is great. Close to MUNI station. Warm room

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: March 8, 2019

    8.8
    A little dated but worked for us..
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Our room had two rooms with only one tv that was kinda odd. We had four adults in our room and they keep giving us only 3 towels.

    The room was very clean. Beds were comfortable. A few really good restraunts not far Sea Breeze and PaPa Mak's burgers.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 5, 2019

    10
    EVERYTHING WAS PERFECT, restaurants, in walking distance,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    EVERYTHING WAS PERFECT, restaurants, in walking distance, beach/ocean across the street, very friendly and helpful staff, pastries and coffee in office, and rooms are big, and comfortable. We’ll be back to this property. It was the best room on our getaway!

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 3, 2019

    8.8
    Rodeway Inn by the beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The mattresses need to be replaced, they are really soft.

    The rooms were a good size. Wood floors, much better than a sticky carpet. The pillows were great.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 3, 2019

    6.3
    nice comfortable bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    you can't pay anything with cash or with EC card... location is nice if SFO is just a stop on your journey along the coast road. for a city trip of San Francisco this is just too far out. The N-train doesn't run regularly even though the stop is nearby.

    nice comfortable bed...

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: March 1, 2019

    9.6
    Great value , helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    At first did not see the second parking spot on other side of office..when I came back late and my original spot was taken . Circled the block and realized the restaurant lot was also part of complex.

    Very helpful, friendly staff. Very clean room and refurbished bathroom.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 28, 2019

    7.5
    Good value for beach motel.
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    No black out drapes or coffee pot but there was a microwave to heat water and coffee provided in morning in lobby.

    The outside of motel looks old and run down but our room was remodeled, the beds and pillows were comfortable. Free parking directly in front of our first floor room. The staff allowed us to check in early so my husband could rest for early AM surgery the next morning. It is an easy walk to beach but sadly it was pouring rain so I sat in car at free parking area and enjoyed the waves. Overall, for the price it was a good deal for San Francisco.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 28, 2019

    6.3
    Room
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I requested early check in and received a confirmation from hotel saying they could however when I arrived I was told I could check in until 4 when my flight arrived to San at 8 I was tired and didn’t have nowhere to go eat

    Room

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 27, 2019

    9.2
    Comfortable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I love the fact that the area is near to the ocean beach and easy access to muni train. The bed and the pillows are so soft and comfy. And there's fridge and microwave, too! There's free pastries and fruits every morning. And they clean the room everyday.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 21, 2019

    3.8
    Close proximity to the Pacific Ocean and Golden Gate park
    • Family with young children
    • Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Dirty room, unprofessional staff. They spoke to having fruit and pastries in the morning but had nothing both days we went down. Worst place I’ve ever stayed.

    Close proximity to the Pacific Ocean and Golden Gate park

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 19, 2019

    4.2
    It is terrible for all the room but reception person.
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Hot water is not that much hot. Heating system is very very old, so it is very hard to manipulate, so we got a cold. The wall between room and next room is not working to protect the noise. Next guest is smoking too much on the hallway. Car traffic noise is causing you awake all night.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 19, 2019

    7.5
    Nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Thos was the worst place I habe ever stayed at. The window was broke, the walls had holes in them, and the molding in the bathroom was rotting away. I told the guy that checked us in and he laughed and said he knew, I went the next morning to complain again about hoe bad it was and asked to be moved rooms and the other room they but us on was just as bad. The worst part was I asked for my money back to go somewhere else and they told me they would still have to charge me. So i asked about a lower rate? They reduced one night big whoop. I still ended up pretty much they full price. I wouldn't recommend this place to anyone no matter what the price.

    Nothing

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: January 27, 2019

    8.3
    You get what you pay for
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Beds were uncomfortable, new mattress's are needed as you just roll together. Windows were filthy and needed cleaning. Nowhere to sit and eat breakfast, you just stand in reception.

    Staff were lovely and very helpful. Nice view of the ocean. Extra large tvs. Towels replenished every day and room cleaned every day. Great transport links into san francisco and san fran zoo just down the road.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 26, 2019

    4.2
    No good at all
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Suite with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No cctv in the parking area or reminder to be extra carefull for the possible theives...No actions from the management when our van had a broken window because of the theives...Room smells bad...

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 25, 2019

    7.9
    Right in front of beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We stay here often. I asked for a particular room several months ago, ans I received a mail granting the request. When we arrived we were assigned another, smaller and less convenient room. But we were moved the following day.

    For us the location is very good because we have family living nearby and the main purpose of our visi tis being with them.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: January 23, 2019

    7.1
    Great location near the beach and park and easy light rail...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Suite with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Paper thin floors and walls, could hear way too much from the bedroom above!! You can almost hear your neighbors and people above conversations! Don’t count on the breakfast, very basic sugary pastries and filter coffee. OK if you’re not fussy.

    Great location near the beach and park and easy light rail into center of city. Plenty of room for family of five.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 22, 2019

    8.8
    The room was very good and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    BreakfThe breakfast is very poor. You should have a place to eat and more option, there were no breads ou bagels! ast

    The room was very good and clean.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 18, 2019

    7.9
    Fab staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing, all was fine.

    We were doing a charity run in nearby Golden Gate Park and the Hotel allowed us a late check out so we could shower afterwards. Brilliant!

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 17, 2019

    9.2
    Great location free parking reasonable price.
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location is great- a two minute walk to the ocean and Golden Gate Park. The free off street parking is a must have in San Francisco because of all the car break ins in the city. The place is clean but not fancy, but a really good deal for the money that you pay to stay in that location.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 14, 2019

    3.3
    Not the best
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Really didn't enjoy our stay here. Not very clean, nothing in the room - hairdryer, iron etc. Not very warm. Extremely over priced for what you get!

    Nothing, sorry. ☹

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 13, 2019

    3.8
    Probably won't stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Staff didn't seam to care about giving good service Miscellaneous people not belonging to hotel hanging around and I didn't feel secure That being said, the door looked like it was broken before Sorry didn't feel comfortable here for the price!

    Location is good

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 12, 2019

    3.8
    Staff was very nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Suite with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    This place is a dump! As you can see in the photos there is rust everywhere. Part of an electrical plug was broken off in the socket. Huge crack in closet door mirror. Missing tiles in the bathroom and just completely worn out.

    Staff was very nice.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 9, 2019

    10
    We had a great stay at Rodeway Inn, which is the best value in SF!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The blankets were a little thin, but next time we will bring extras. :)

    We are so grateful to have found this affordable gem in SF. The location is ideal and the room was very comfortable.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: January 9, 2019

    8.3
    Great location, friendly helpful staff. Some problems with amenities.
    • Couple
    • Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    No microwave safe cups to heat water in. Brought our own coffee and happened to have a mug with us but otherwise a flimsy, plastic cup was all that was available. Also, these cups weren't in some sort of covering to assure cleanliness. In a suite with two bedrooms, I'd thought there would be two chairs but there was only one.

    Staff very helpful. Bathroom accessible.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 6, 2019

    6.3
    The view from the room - it was incredible in the morning.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not enough towels in the room. Breakfast included tiny cupcakes and apples - could not call it enough.

    The view from the room - it was incredible in the morning. Decent room with most of the stuff needed. Free parking with many slots available.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: January 3, 2019

    4.2
    Disappointed in the place. It had better reviews on line and so I expected more.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Suite with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Arrived at the hotel to find no towels in the room- finally got some after asking the cleaners twice. Then the next day our room was completely missed on housekeeping although they left 3 towels and a set of bed sheets- almost as if they planned to begin the room and then forgot, so no beds made, although the garbage was emptied. Vomit from new years eve partiers in the main hallway was left for a few hours so guests had to step through it all morning on New Years Day...., then another area of vomit never was cleaned up. Very noisy hotel could hear the next room occupiers snoring all night. No hair dryer in the room. Will not stay at this place again.

    Front Desk Check in lady was nice.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: December 18, 2018

    7.9
    Location.
    • Family with young children
    • King Suite with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bathroom. Toilet paper holder location too far away and low to the floor to access safely. Heater too warm by first bed—super cold in bathroom and second room—take extra blankets.

    Location. Large rooms. Comfortable beds. Plenty of space. Clean.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 12, 2018

    9.6
    The three place was nice and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The three place was nice and clean. They very kindly let us check in early when we arrived a little earlier than check in. The staff was very friendly

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 11, 2018

    7.1
    the room served the purpose
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Doing construction on property right outside our room. Room really needs upgrading. The towel rack kept coming off the wall. There was mold needed painting. TV was to close to bathroom ddoor

    Bed comfortable. Close to UCSF the reason we were there

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 5, 2018

    3.8
    Horrible
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    1st room curtains were rotten and hanging by threads.The bathroom light wouldnt come on so they tried to push circuit breaker but the entire plug was not even attatched to wall.We waited to see if they would fix it before We unpacked.The maintenance person tried to fix it but WE had a early appointment at UCSF so We asked for another room. This rooms curtains were better.It was freezing that night.The heating element had a metal sign that said controlled by wall thermostat.Well it wasnt wired into wall and didnt have back batteries in it so We froze all night.They are working on the place but it was pretty miserable.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: December 4, 2018

    2.5
    It could have been better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There wasn’t any breakfast, no ice machine. Stuff was falling apart in the room. As well as parking was a struggle and wasn’t guaranteed. Room also had a funky smell.

Showing 1 - 75

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!

Guests also reviewed these properties: