Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

View vacation packages to

  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. USA hotel reviews
  3. California hotel reviews
  4. San Francisco hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Green Tortoise Hostel

Reviews of Green Tortoise Hostel This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

494 Broadway Street, North Beach, San Francisco, CA 94133, United States of America

#49 of 270 hotels in San Francisco

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 794 hostel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.9

Verified guest reviews from real Bookers

Real Bookers. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: June 14, 2019

    10
    Great Location, Stylish & cozy place + Chef Egidio is super nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Bed in Female Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Location of hostel is super cool - very central easy to find,you can walk around. Staff is very welcoming - we arrived early in the morning and we been offered by free breakfast without any problem. Lunch room is impressive, super nice view from huge window. Chef Egidio is super friendly - helping with cooking - please greet him once you there :) . Hostel is offering free dinners and different activites per particular day. Overall is really stylish, cozy and offering all what you need including laundry, trip advices, atm...

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: June 10, 2019

    9.2
    Good and nice hostel with some extras (breakfast, 2x lunch,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was 33 degrees outside, the rooms where not build for that kind of temperature. Very warm in my room. (Should be no issue on normal days)

    Good and nice hostel with some extras (breakfast, 2x lunch, very social). Good location to get fast everywhere. Good showers!

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: June 10, 2019

    9.2
    Very good location, good facilities, perfect for a weekend trip and to meet people!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in Female Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff at the front desk was not super nice

    The facilities are clean and comfortable. The rooms have everything you need and the common bathrooms are clean and very spacious. The breakfast is very nice and served in a huge common room where is very easy to make friends.

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: June 9, 2019

    8.8
    A generally poIsitive experience w good breakfast & lot of bang for the buck- clean & good showers
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Some of the dorm rooms were super stuffy...could have used a fan in these cramped quarters.

    I really liked the communal dining area.I t was a huge ballroom space w super high ceilings & a stage Plenty of tables & couch space to settle into.

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: June 7, 2019

    9.2
    Incredibly natural community vibe, esp.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    My bed sheets could have been cleaner, and the bunk bed was shaking a little, made me nervous to be on the top bed. The distance between the steps to climb up are quite wide.

    Incredibly natural community vibe, esp. in the common room and kitchen. There is nearly always free food, and I enjoyed a free dinner on Friday too. great ambiance and design. Cosy, friendly, social. As a solo traveler, you never feel alone. The rooms' architecture and decoration were also beautiful.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: June 5, 2019

    6.7
    The location is quite useful, the staff is very nice and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The rooms are not only dated, but are very small, so you just have beds for some people and virtually nothing more. They probably could to free some space putting less beds in each room. I did not quite get whether they have room conditioning or not, but it was late May, so people in my room just opened the windows when it was necessary. Sometimes it was quite cold in the night, but if windows were closed there would not be much air to breathe.

    The location is quite useful, the staff is very nice and helpful!

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: June 3, 2019

    9.2
    I had a comfortable stay at the hostel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in Female Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    If you are a light sleeper bring ear plugs as some of the rooms are facing busy street.

    I had a comfortable stay at the hostel. A five bed female dorm was big enough. Bathrooms are very clean and the common area is spacious. The hostel organises a lot of social activities which help you meet other travellers and locals. I also booked an airport shuttle through them which was on time and good value for money. It is located within the walking distance of Chinatown and Union square as well as the port.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: June 1, 2019

    8.8
    Really happy with my stay here. Good people, nice place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in Female Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I was glad I wasn't on the top bunk as the whole bed swayed when i stood on the ladder, but i think it was probably just that bed (and the person who slept on it seemed happy enough!). There were also a lot of topless bars on the same road as the hostel, but i guess that's just city life! (I wasn't hassled at all and it definitely seemed like a nicer area than the tenderloin where some of the other hostels are)

    Very happy with my stay here. It was as described on booking.com, and the long email the green tortoise staff sent to confirm receipt of the booking really helped set expectations. I was in a dorm room with 4 others. The room and showers were clean. The staff were friendly and helpful. The breakfasts were plentiful bagels, fruit, yoghurt and porridge.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 31, 2019

    9.6
    Great friendly hostel with social nights which are really...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great friendly hostel with social nights which are really nice if you are travelling alone. They provide food as well and can really help if you're on a budget. Awesome place.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 29, 2019

    10
    Central stay in a social hostel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in Female Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No designated smoking area.

    Staff were very welcoming and helpful. Beds and rooms comfortable with bathrooms down the hall. Excellent laundry washer/dryer available for use. Best thing was the hostel provides an included breakfast daily and dinner three times a week. Plenty of delicious food. Very social hostel with activities scheduled daily and a huge social area to hang out in. Very good location..only a 20 min walk to Piers.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 27, 2019

    8.8
    Fun stay in San Fran.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in Female Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very variable service from staff. Some really lovely & chatty, others brusque & impatient.

    Price, 4bed dorm, free breakfast, free dinners, shared kitchen, luggage storage

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 24, 2019

    7.9
    Staffs are really great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Expensive. They charge for individal room almost the price of a hotel, but you do ‘t have a restroom for each room. should have more options for breakfast.

    Staffs are really great! Hostel is really close to union square and little italy.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 21, 2019

    5.8
    Disappointing
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    They didn't gave me the room i booked. The breakfast was not upto the mark The bathroom was not all clean THey asked me to pay $1 for a towel

    The location was good, that's the only thing i liked about the hostel

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 18, 2019

    10
    Amazing hostel!
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in Female Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The friendliest and most helpful staff, great facilities, clean bathrooms and rooms. Wish I could’ve stayed longer. If I ever come back to San Francisco will definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 15, 2019

    7.5
    The staff are cheerful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in Female Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights

    It's very dense and often have to wait long for toilets. Toilet doors open directly to rooms while people use them all the times.

    The staff are cheerful. The hostel has many activities and guidance for guests to enjoy the city.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 15, 2019

    8.3
    excellently located hostel with great free breakfast and remarkable cleanliness!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    the beds, being made out of wood, were seriously moving and doing a lot of noise at every move. the personnel and management really need to work harder in order to make the social events effective. the pub crawl was a joke!

    the breakfast was more than decent, i can say excellent for the money. the location is amazing, super close to Chinatown and the financial district. the dining hall and kitchen are super! also, the place was spotless clean!

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: May 15, 2019

    7.5
    Very interesting place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    In the busy times, long que for the shower. Bad smell in corridor at some moments or in the room when I first enter.

    Very interesting place. Nice staff. Activities every day. Dinner some days of the week.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 10, 2019

    8.8
    I m not really a hostel person.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    nothing

    I m not really a hostel person.. and I loved to stay here! very nice environment. I stayed in a room with 4 beds. very confortable. the breakfast was very good, Egidio was the guy in charge of taking care of that and the kitchen, and he was amazing! he cooks very well. If I d come back to San Francisco I ll stay here again for sure

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: May 3, 2019

    7.1
    Location was perfect -walking distance to my meetings.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Portable heater in room did not work so I swapped it out for the one in the kitchen. Then kitchen had no heat. Bathroom had blood on floor and sink. We called it in to front desk but it was not addressed

    Location was perfect -walking distance to my meetings. Front desk staff was very responsive to my needs. 1- carried my heavy bag to annex, 2- unlocked my door in middle of night 3- set up air porter for me when I was leaving.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: May 1, 2019

    9.6
    We really enjoyed the vibe in this hostel. From the staff to the building itself.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I don't know.

    I really liked that staff were readily available. The breakfast and dinner parties were an excellent touch that the Green Tortoise staff added. The bathrooms were very clean in general, and the room were also very clean. The building has character, even though its old. We found that the building is historic and has a nice vibe.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 29, 2019

    9.6
    Most affordable place to stay in SF
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Some dorm mates were a bit noisy in the middle of the night and turning lights on while everyone is sleeping. Some individuals didn't flush toilets. Management should be make it clear that individuals should respect others comfort.

    This was my first time staying in a hostel and I was a bit skeptical. Turned out to be a great experience and for the price, I was surprised. I was in the mixed dorm which had 3 double deckers thus 6 people. Conveniently located near downtown 15 mins walk from BART 6 mins walk from Chinatown. Very friendly and helpful staff. Free breakfast and dinner. Computers for browsing. Luggage room available after checkout until 8pm allowed me to go tour the city before leaving. Met people from around the country and world that were very friendly. They have daily organized optional social activities in the evening to experience city night life.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 29, 2019

    8.8
    Enjoyed staying- friendly staff- convenient location- great view from my window
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in Female Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Neighborhood definitely left something to be desired- would NOT go out alone after dark. Then again it's SF, and IDK if there are any neighborhoods that DON'T have some level of vagrant situation. The STAIRS- requires walking up one flight just to get to the main floor, and then up 1 or 2 flights more to get to your room. (No elevator)

    The resident cook Agidio was SUPER! He welcomed kitchen help & acknowledged our assistance with meal prep prior to everyone serving themselves. My VIEW (Bay Bridge's twinkling lights) from my "window bed" made the unique accommodation SO worth it! Most of the front desk staff was very nice, and willing to share local insider tips. A few of the night shift workers were less than enthusiastic to be up...

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 28, 2019

    9.2
    Great place to stay in San Fransisco
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in Female Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    You have to rent towels.

    The location is good, I could see Transamerica building from my window, and generally the view is nice. They organize activities, there is free dinner three times a week and a live band was playing in the common room. The common area is nice. Breakfast is great, there are a lot of options and the foos is good, great selection of delicious fruits. One of the best hostel breakfasts and it is included in the price, it would cost a lot in San Fransisco to buy a breakfast like that.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 27, 2019

    8.8
    Excellent location as it is very close to Downtown.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in Female Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It’s located in a busy street and it is very loud at night. If you’re a light sleeper this place may not be the best choice. I didn’t like the bunk beds as they were very old and if you have the top bunk the ladders are hard to climb. Limited number of bathrooms per floor.

    Excellent location as it is very close to Downtown. Chinatown five minute walk from the hostel. Fisherman’s wharf, Pier 39, Ferry Market building are all within 20 minute walk. The nearest Bart station is approx 15 minute walk which gives you easy access to and from the airport. The staff were very helpful in giving you directions and recommendations on what to see or eat. The hostel itself is very cute and hip. I like how they post maps and directions to different landmarks. They offered free breakfast everyday and had free dinner on Monday, Wednesday, and Friday.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 22, 2019

    10
    Great stay at the Green Tortoise San Francisco!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I don't have much to complain about at all! This hostel was in a good area and the staff were extremely helpful and friendly.

    The common space at this hostel is huge and inviting! My boyfriend and I stayed in a private room in an annex building a block away, but access to the main building is included. I wish we spent more time in the common space but we were exploring the city from dawn to dusk. This hostel is in a really great part of the city, nestled between Chinatown and Little Italy. There are tons of cafes and restaurants in the area. I would recommend!

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 22, 2019

    9.6
    wonderful experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in Female Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights

    It's in the city center, very convenient to all the places, walking distance to fisherman's wharf and metro. Staff are nice, everything is well organized and even free food in the kitchen. I loved the experience there. Unforgettable!

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 18, 2019

    9.2
    Overall, it was a great experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Staff was mixed. Either you got someone who was really nice. Or came across kind of snotty and uninterested.

    It was great staying here. Best hostel I’ve stayed at.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 15, 2019

    6.3
    Great location near North Beach.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Rooms are very crowded. Most than in other hostels I've been to.

    Great location near North Beach. There are separate water closets from the rooms. The building is quaint and quirky.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 10, 2019

    4.2
    Location is not bad.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in Female Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There’s no air conditioning, which is alright. However, we have to open the window for fresh air, meaning that there were bugs and mosquitoes. I got bugs bites all over my arm. I have never complained about a hostel, since I know what I paid for, but this is just quite disappointing given the high rating. The stairs are also awful. They are not quite accessible, you’ll have to get up three floors of stairs and no a/c just makes it worse.

    Location is not bad.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 10, 2019

    10
    Good for a low budget trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There’s no lock on the locker, so I had to bring my own or buy a new one at the front desk—in my case, buy a new one because I didn’t have a lock. I’d expect the locker to have a digital lock, which I can open with a card or a passcode.

    The hostel is much cleaner than I expected. Staff are super nice. There are a lot of handy facilities that really helped me, for example a printer.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 4, 2019

    10
    Fun, cozy and will totally come back!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Bed in Female Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing with the staff or building. But as a little side note, make sure you bring cash and know there are lots of stairs. Lol

    I really enjoyed the personality of the staff and the laid back atmosphere of the whole building. There were things to do if you wanted to be social, and they left you alone of you wanted to do your own thing. Room was cute and the location was close to everything we needed.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 4, 2019

    9.6
    9.6
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    More than 1km away from union centre, many big shoppings there, the room is a little bit small for 6 beds, the price is a little high ( better around USD30/night)

    Good staffs, clean dormitory, clean restroom, strong wifi, many eatings and bars around the hostel.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 1, 2019

    10
    Loved it !
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Everybody, and I cannot stress it enough, EVERYBODY is as friendly as can be. Before my stay at the Green Tortoise, I had no idea what a hostel was. Now I know this one will be my goto if I ever come back to San Francisco.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 30, 2019

    7.9
    Great location. Bathrooms are clean. Rooms could be better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in Female Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The rooms could be better equipped with privacy for each person. These were basic wooden bunk beds (beds themselves were fine to sleep in). Each person has a lamp but turning one on would disturb all other people in the room. Also each person has a socket by their bed but the position was inconvenient and a bit dangerous in my opinion. It was right above my head on the wall. There was no shelf to put my phone on so I put it on my bed. So I had a socket right above me and a cable I had to watch out for whilst sleeping. Of course I moved when I slept and tugged the cable, the sockets aren't that secure so tugging on it immediately removed the cable and it fell in between the wall and bed. Dangerous for the lower bunk person or me. Most hostels Ive been to recently have made mini cubicles for each bed nearer to the head position. This way turning on the light would not get to the person below/above or across the room as much. Also being able to place a few items next to you ie phone without having to worry it might fall (esp on top bunk which I had). I also had the worst experience in terms of room mates (well one in particular). Coming in the middle of the night and deciding to rearrange your suitcase is not a good idea. Not sure how long it went on for but it felt like eternity just hearing sounds of plastic bags being crumpled. It's not as if that person had to leave in the morning. When I came back at 11am to check out, she was just sitting on the bed and playing on her phone (in an EMPTY room). You'd think some people would be more considerate of others. - Rant over :)

    Bathrooms were clean and had shampoo, soap and conditioner included which was great. The location was great, near bars and restaurants, good place for the evening. Then it was a short walk (20 min) to the pier or downtown.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 24, 2019

    9.2
    Great hostel, good vibe and easy to meet people
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Only a few showers/toilets per floor. No free towels. Room price is expensive for a hostel but this is SF...

    Great hostel! Very friendly staff, huge common area and activities to meet other travelers, breakfast was great, and they have really good free dinners 3 nights per week. In general the hostel has a great vibe and you feel at home. Great location too, if you’re travelling on your own don’t think it twice, you will meet people here.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 24, 2019

    9.2
    Great location and conditions of hostel for decent price
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in Female Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Street is noisy, which you can hear in rooms, but expectant due to awesome location.

    I came pretty late for breakfast and I still got decent meal as everything get restocked. Everyone seems friendly and there is plenty of events and options to make new friends if you are traveling alone.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 24, 2019

    10
    Fun, welcoming, clean, and cozy environment. Would recommend staying for 5 days or more.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in Female Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The breakfast was free, but could have been better. I didn't go every day, but when I did it was always plain bagels, yogurt, cream cheese, and jelly. Would have loved some variety with cereal or toast. (the food itself wasn't bad, just got boring after the third time)

    The rooms were nice, the bathrooms (all different!) were always clean and even had a time released air freshener. I enjoyed the noise outside- it felt like there was always life in the area. The staff was very friendly- especially loved the pigeon one of them had as a pet! The dining hall was very welcoming too. There were places to work peacefully but long tables to meet friends, as well as an easy dishwashing system. One more thing- although I didn't get to participate in any, I saw fliers for new events every day. Definitely worth a stay if you're looking for a fun environment where people are up at all hours!

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 23, 2019

    4.6
    Not so clean, loud music at 6 AM
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in Female Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Not very clean in the bedrooms and the bathrooms. No privacy in the bedrooms, no curtains around the bed, no shelves to put your stuff on during the night. The shared bathroom are small with the toilet inside right next to the shower. The worst was the noise during the night or very early in the morning : very loud music that woke me up everyday at 6 AM. I couldn't figure out if it was coming from the staff room or a bar next door, but it was extremely annoying.

    The staff offers many activities everyday of the week Nice area

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 21, 2019

    7.9
    Cool Staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in Female Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The pillows, and mattress is old, small dirty, I know the cover pillows and the bed sheets was clean, but need to change the old things.

    The staff, Price, Location the areas is clean

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: March 16, 2019

    8.8
    A very comfortable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in Female Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    No elevator, i.e. need to bring the luggage up 2 flights of stairs.

    Located near Chinatown where you can find plenty of inexpensive, delicious food. Comfortable and sturdy bunk beds which do not wobble. Very spacious dining area. Bathrooms are very clean.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 4, 2019

    9.2
    Free dinner three times a week.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in Female Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    If it gets busy the bathrooms are not enough for everybody. The rooms are really small and stuffy.

    Free dinner three times a week. Friendly and very helpful staff. Centrally located. Wonderful breakfast. The BEST hostel in the city. Amazing big beds.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: February 20, 2019

    9.6
    Amazing amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in Female Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was my first time at a hostel I was a bit nervous at first but once I got here I have decided hostels is the way to go I only hope I have luck with my next hostel because this one was just outstanding!!! Food was great , people are amazing locations is so convenient!! I highly recommended !!

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 17, 2019

    7.5
    The food rescue programme is awesome - the staff are doing...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in Female Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staff could be a bit standoffish at times. It was cool that there were group activities but they didn't feel very organic - same old thing every week. Despite advertising themselves as a party hostel it seemed more like that's what they want to be rather than what they actually are.

    The food rescue programme is awesome - the staff are doing amazing stuff with that. The dinners were really good too.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 17, 2019

    6.3
    It was good
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in Female Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The actual location, strip clubs and a lot of homeless people made walking at night unsafe.

    Free breakfast in the morning is a bonus! It’s a central location to union square, fishermen’s wharf and China town- everything is walking distance

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 12, 2019

    10
    Amazing stay which will exceed your expectations
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is an amazing hostel located in the posh locality of Chinatown and within a mile from Pier 39 and Pier 33. As soon as you enter the hostel, you get amazing vibes with the greetings done by Hannah and Astrey. The rooms are amazing and the beds are very comfy. You get free breakfast and if you can cook, you can increase the items too. Free dinner is given thrice a week and everyday there is some activity planned for you to mingle with other travelers and make the most of your San Francisco stay. Would love to visit this place again and would definitely recommend this to others who are looking for an affordable but good stay in San Francisco.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 7, 2019

    7.5
    The location, free dinner & breakfast, airport shuttles...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in Female Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The fact that all the toilets are in the individual bathrooms. If you need to go to the toilet you have to wait for people to finish their shower. Need more toilets & bathrooms per floor.

    The location, free dinner & breakfast, airport shuttles and discounts and the individual bathrooms.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 5, 2019

    8.8
    You don’t need any plans when you get here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No free parking. Although subsidized overnight parking, no in/out option available.

    You don’t need any plans when you get here. All you have to do is get here and go with the flow.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 17, 2019

    5.8
    The place itself is old and cool with a lot of charm.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There is signages everywhere in the hostel about their activities (even in the bathroom!) and well I arrived on a Saturday night and the guy at the front desk didn’t seem to know about what was the daily thing written everywhere. He told me it was happening and well nothing happened, I can understand low season but don’t advertise things you don’t do or tell people it’s canceled coz you are lazy :/. I ended up bored in that pretty and gigantic room looking at another bored guy. Most of the staffs were not super friendly nor helpful. That place is just not clean, I looked at my mattress when I took out my bedsheets to check out and you don’t want to see this. You had to pay to borrow a towel.

    The place itself is old and cool with a lot of charm. They have a sauna that I didn’t try and I fell in love with their massage chair. The location is great, plenty of cool and good nearby restaurants. They had free shower gel.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 14, 2019

    8.3
    Quiet restful safe friendly
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hsll lights are too bright they flood the room with light whrn guests return late at night perhaps A different blub??some complained about activities outside hostel organized by hostel

    The

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 6, 2019

    8.8
    Great location and friendly staff, good value for being that close to CBD.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    finding 136-138 Bartol annex building at our arrival. Not that easy and alley that leads forward we ended up looking for it was a bit disturbing with amount of trash and local hobos.. Place is asking for a turtle logo please!

    View from annex building we got our room - fantastic! Self service system employed for all tiny stuff - clear and nice.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 4, 2019

    5.8
    I liked a lot the staff, they were super nice and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in Female Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    First of all, the heating in the entire hostel did not work. When I was in my room, it was quite cold, and it was cold in the main common area and bathrooms as well. It was 12 degrees outside, and the window in the bathroom was constantly open. Moreover, (this is maybe because I am from Europe, and have stayed in European hostels), dishes in the kitchen were not that clean. What surprised me in a negative way was the fact that we could not use tap water to wash our dishes. In contrary, there were 3 sinks already prepared with water+detergent, and clean water, and all guests of the hostel would wash their dishes in that same water. I found this a bit non-hygienic as I would have let the water flow from the tap to really wash my dishes properly. Last but not least, I was asked to bring my bed sheets to the reception in order to get my deposit back which some other guests did not do and go away with it.

    I liked a lot the staff, they were super nice and friendly. Despite the fact that the official check in is at 4pm, I could enter my room at 1.30pm. The Italian guy from the kitchen was also very funny and friendly. The bed was clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: December 9, 2018

    7.9
    The bed was so comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in Female Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It is stairs all the way to the dorms. The staircase and walkways are pretty narrow too which makes it harder to drag your luggage across. I was not comfortable with the way the dishes were washed. It’s basically dipped into a basin filled with hot soapy water and then another filled with hot water and at the end, one with cold water. No sponges to scrub at all. I suggest bringing your own bottle and utensils for this very reason.

    The bed was so comfortable. I thought the location was great. It takes about 20 minutes to walk to Fisherman’s Wharf and another 20 plus if you’re heading to Union Square. The front counter staff and housekeepers were really friendly. The showers are clean and there’s plenty of them. They’ve got a free luggage storage service (untill 8pm atleast) which I appreciated. There’s also activities every night at the hostel.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 7, 2018

    8.8
    Great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There are no elevators in the hostel and the check in counter is on level 1. There is actually nothing on the ground floor. Also there are only stairs to other floor. Therefore, if you have big luggage, it might be a bit tricky to carry it upstairs. Not so many bathrooms which might be demanding in the mornings.

    The room was clean and tidy. Several choices for breakfast, the common area is large. There is also one staff in the kitchen/common space to keep the area clean. The staff are helpful and there are activities in the hostel everyday.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 4, 2018

    9.2
    Awesome Hostel. You will be so welcomed and taken care of, more than you can imagine, and have fun!
    • Group
    • Single Bed in Female Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    One toilet on my floor out of commission, twice had to go to different floor. Noisy night club Saturday night across the street. (Not in your control.) No flat surface in room, desk space, organize luggage etc. I had top bunk and did not see opportunity to request lower bunk, which would have helped with no flat surface, when I booked in.

    Everything great. Mattresses comfy. staff lovely and helpful and kind. Very personable. Kitchen guy awesome. Front desk peeps awesome. Other guests awesome! Computer station great. free food from restaurant give away fantastic. Great idea for guests and planet. Humour right on. Do not flush tortoises down toiler, maybe include turtles? Unfortunately did not find someone to share shower with... :-) LOL! Character of place incredible! Friday night dinner amazing. LOVED the baby crying. Just like home. So great ALL people, any age etc very welcome. Special thanks to my check in guy. Name? Dark hair, 23, about 5'8 or so. had so much fun interacting with him and the other desk peeps. Bike lock. Great. (although not applicable to me.) Luggage storage so helpful. Shampoo etc in bathrooms really appreciated. My biggest regret, so busy not enough time to hang at GT and avail myself of all the opportunities for fun and friendship. Will high recommend to any friends and travelers I know, meet. xox Love you guys. PS Pub downstairs great.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: November 30, 2018

    5.4
    Good staff, not best location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in Female Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It IS a 'party hostel' - a girl threw up in the in-room sink while i was there which wasn't great. It is also surrounded by strip clubs - awkward walk there at night.

    Breakfast was incredible! Staff also sources food from local cafes at the end of the day so you can get away with a free dinner.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 30, 2018

    9.2
    Terrific value for a younger crowd or for last minute plans.
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in Female Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing important enough to mention, at least for my short stay.

    Plenty of bathrooms. Brought back fond memories of international travel of my youth. Loved seeing a French mom and her two teen children having breakfast together. Also liked that there were a few computers with screens larger than my phone's available. And a paper map that gave perspective of the area.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 21, 2018

    6.3
    Food was good.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in Female Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bunk beds were uncomfortable to climb also it's an old building so you have to carry your heavy luggage upstairs yourself as there are no elevators.

    Food was good. the staff was friendly and available to assist 27/7

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 14, 2018

    9.6
    My trip Was lovely the building had so much character and the food and activities were so much fun.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The only thing I would say is booking.com needs to make sure it’s clear that there are gender specific rooms and mixed gender rooms. I was placed in a female room for two nights in a mixed norm for two nights, and the thought of being in a mixed dorm made me very uncomfortable. Thankfully as the weekend Progressed the staff was able to keep me in my female dorm my entire trip.

    Having an hour alone to the free Sauna Was amazing. That evening activities were so much fun and so affordable.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 12, 2018

    8.8
    The Green Tortoise Hostel was a breath of fresh air, and staying there was good for the soul.
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in Female Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Well, I'm older with bad knees so the stairs were a bit tough, but truth be told, people saw me struggle a bit and were so quick to help. Also, I stayed two nights and it was $143, which is pretty steep for a hostel. Still, I'd do it again, cause it was fun and I think it's good to support companies with good ethical values.

    I had a wonderful time meeting people from all over the world who were so friendly and open. I'm 63, a solo woman traveler and I've stayed at many hostels around the globe, and this was a top experience. I was initially a bit apprehensive because it's touted as a party hostel, and being older I wasn't sure I'd fit in or what to expect, but I was really pleasantly surprised. It's not so much the facilities, though they're well kept, and it's in a funky old Victorian in North Beach, but the details like free nice breakfasts, and dinners a couple of nights a week. They ask for volunteers to help make dinner and that was a highlight that brought half a dozen of us together from as many countries. Everyone I met seemed happy to be there.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: November 12, 2018

    5.0
    The guys at front desk at night were cool, especially Gaby,...
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The manager was not helpful at all. She interrupted a conversation taking place with another employee and the only thing she did was deny help.

    The guys at front desk at night were cool, especially Gaby, I think was her name. A girl from Sinaloa. Very kind.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 5, 2018

    10
    Location and super cool building.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Literally etc door to my fave neighborhood of north beach

    Location and super cool building. The main dining room and activity room was an old grand ballroom!

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: October 26, 2018

    9.6
    Can't get better than this
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The fan was turned on by other guests at night time, which made my sleep very uncomfortable. But hey, that't not the hostel's fault.

    Staff was SO nice! Always happy to have a conversation. Breakfast IS a highlight with free bagels, coffee, etc. The dining hall in itself is huge too. Beds were comfortable. You ain't finding anything better for this price in SF.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 6, 2018

    7.5
    Nice place, good location, read this if you are aiming for the private rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Because we got a private room we werent sleeping in the main hotel location. We were sent to some alley 3 min away which was pretty annoying. It was a little doodgy and quiet scary at night. Its also not very convenient that you have to return the key to the lobby desk in the main building when you checkout at 3AM for your flight...

    Free dinner was very nice... The location is central and most attractions are within walking distance

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: September 18, 2018

    8.8
    Great San Francisco Experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 6 nights

    When I compare this price to hostel prices I've paid around the world (NY, Boston, Philly, all over Europe), this is the second-most expensive I've stayed in (after Boston). So, I'd say the price is a little~ high, given that you're sharing a room with up to five people, I'd say, but...it's ok. Part of the San Francisco experience. It's simply not a cheap city.

    The easy answer to this: location, location, location. It's on the border of Chinatown & Little Italy. It's less than a 15 minute walk to Pier 7 on the Embarcadero. It's not a long walk at all to the Financial District. Though the MUNI & BART are terrific transportation systems, and I'm sure there are stations nearby, I didn't use them at all during the week. (I went with Uber or walked...a lot.) Anyway, if you want to stay in this area and not spend a fortune, this is probably one of your best bets. Besides, the other hostelers were all pretty cool here.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 17, 2018

    7.9
    Favorite Hostel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in Female Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    If there was one thing I didn't quite like, it was that there was another girl sleeping directly by the window-sill, so each night, we were forced to keep all the windows closed and it would grow stuffy in our shared room.

    I stay in hostels a few times per year, so not a lot, but this one is by far my favorite. I shared a room with several other girls, and I really enjoyed using the sauna after a cold day out, as well as the giant dining hall + kitchen where you could score a bunch of free foods if that's what you're into (they had a wealth of leftovers free for taking).

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: September 16, 2018

    7.9
    The staff are super nice, there are plenty of maps and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The parking isn’t too clear, is an extra charge. The music in the breakfast was a bit loud.

    The staff are super nice, there are plenty of maps and thinks to do listed in the lobby. The breakfast is ok, yogurt and fruits, also you can cook your own egg.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 15, 2018

    10
    Amazing facilities!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Amazing facilities! Free dinner and social events 3-4 times a week. Amazing breakfast. Everything you will need and even stuffs you didn't think about. Don't hesitate between this place and any other. Go there!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: August 27, 2018

    10
    excellent, and I met some interesting people here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in Female Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    no

    Friendly staff and nice breakfast and free dinner 3 times a week. Sometimes, there are also some free food from nearby cafe or restaurant (food rescue).

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 16, 2018

    7.1
    The breakfast was very diverse and good, the location is...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staff is fake friendly and completely useless to assist you if you really need help. I asked them by email to book an airport shuttle at my arrival and they told me they are not in charge with that, I should do it myself, and ironically just after my checkin they ask me if I want them to book for me the shuttle for my return flight, which I did not needed anymore... I asked an information about the buses that go to Presidio park and their answer before I even finish my question was that I have to search by myself the schedule... And other small examples like that.

    The breakfast was very diverse and good, the location is close to the bay, the financial district, the Chinese neighbor et at a walkable distance from little Italy. Beds are confortable, bathrooms are clean, rooms are quiet during the weekdays, noisy Friday and Saturday nights. Mind that you need cash at the registration as deposit, 20$.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 11, 2018

    8.3
    easy access to restaurants, shopping centers, view points;
    • Business trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Standard Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    rather expensive

    easy access to restaurants, shopping centers, view points; cozy atmosphere; free and nice dinner in m w f; clean $ well maintained bathroom & bedroom, fast internet; can arrange shuttle service to airport; lots of activities

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: July 28, 2018

    7.1
    Good location, friendly staff, enjoyable breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We arrived on the overnight train from Seattle having been travelling for more than 24hrs and were exhausted, but we weren't invited to check in and have a seat anywhere to rest for a couple of hours, just told it was too early to check in but they could store our bags for us. One of the days we were heading out for the day and heard someone else try to check in early, they were welcomed and told breakfast was still available and invited to go in and make themselves some. This was lovely to witness and I wished we had been offered the same kindness.

    The staff were mostly friendly. The inclusive breakfast was good, if you like bagels. The sauna was great. The place was clean. The free dinners are a great idea.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 26, 2018

    5.8
    Nice staff, good breakfast, lack of shower/bathroom facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The breakfast was great and the rooms were fine. The main issue was the severe lack of toilets/showers for the amount of guests. Each morning we were queueing for quite some time. That’s why I wouldn’t recommend this hostel for big groups, you would be waiting a long time for everyone to be ready in the morning!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 26, 2018

    7.5
    It had the facilities that you expect of a hostel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My bed was in a windowsill - Avoid bed 1W. I think most other beds will be fine.

    It had the facilities that you expect of a hostel. The staff was flexible when I had to alter my booking. Shower and bathrooms were clean.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: June 27, 2018

    8.3
    I had a great time staying here
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in Female Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Some facilities are pretty old such as chairs in the meeting room but they all look clean. The closest subway (Montgomery st.) is very far from the hostel and there is quite hilly when walking from subway. If you have big luggage, I suggest using Uber.

    I like the big meeting room where people have opportunity to know others. Especially, solo-travelers might want to share information about their trip. Here is a good place to do so. 4 bed dormitory consists a really good structure of bunk beds which don’t make any noise when people clime up for the upper bunks. There are five bathrooms on the second floor which I had no problem to manage to use them at all. Staffs are so friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 9, 2018

    7.9
    Surprisingly Pleasant!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in Female Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    They recently refurbished the bathrooms which made the stay extra pleasant. The staffs were really friendly, appreciated their assistance when I needed some help with directions.

    Stayed in May 2018

Showing 1 - 75

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!

Guests also reviewed these properties: