Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Greenwich Inn 2 stars

3201 Steiner Street, Marina District, San Francisco, CA 94123, USA

Review score

Based on 987 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    6.8

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    8.8
    New and clean rooms, good location but noisy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premium Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's really noisy and the sound proofing / insulation (if any) doesn't work at all. If you're light sleeper expect lower noise level between 12 am to 5 or 6 am.

    I've been reading previous reviews from people talking about insects and parking issues. Well, I have to say I didn't encounter any bugs issue, everything was properly clean in the room. The rooms are new, have large TVs and USB charging ports. About the parking, yes it's a bit crammed, but I've been walking a lot through SF and other hotels parkings are no better than this (keep in mind this has no P fee). Staff was helpful as we arrived earlier than checkin hours and it was no problem to leave the car in the parking lot. Also the location is within walking distance to restaurants, shops, bike rentals.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    8.3
    Good place to stay on a budget & explore.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking is a definite challenge, and there is no ice machine or refrigerator in the room.

    It was clean, within walking distance from a lot of cool things, and had nice staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    9.6
    Greenwich Inn - no frills but does the job perfectly
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Two Full Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfortable, very clean and great as had parking. Location was fine. Few eateries around... l9ved Mel's Diner just round the corner. Got the hang of the local transport system quickly and made good use of it. Good links to Golden Gate and Fisherman's Wharf nearby. No complaints at all.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    9.2
    Parking is right outside the room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hairdryer didn’t work. Very noise at night especially on Friday night. You can hear people talking on the stairs.

    Parking is right outside the room. Clean and modern facility in the room. Only a few mins driving to Golden Gate Bridge.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    6.3
    Good location, close to the marina and many restaurants.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WIFI absolutely horrible. Very slow, basically not usable! Reception personnel lazy and uninterested in helping with minor issuies arising (examples: procuring cork screw opener, refill of breakfast items). Cleaning personnel threw away a bag left on the floor with snacks and lotions. Make sure to mark all belongings to avoid this. The shower lacked a shower hose, only has a sprinkler attached to the wall/ceiling.

    Good location, close to the marina and many restaurants. Good cleaning. Parking available with no additional costs. Small breakfast available with no additional cost. (Coffee, serials and toasts with marmelade)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    4.6
    Maybe the location and that’s it
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Two Full Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I found an old hairy cherry on the floor next to my bed. I also found some bugs in my bed. The breakfast is bad and you have to eat it standing up!!! The price is super expensive vs what you really get.

    Maybe the location and that’s it

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    6.7
    Nice rooms, poor service, no WiFi
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premium Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    When I arrived (around 4pm) other guests were already waiting to check in. We waited half an hour for someone to appear at the desk. The desk assistant clearly didn't know what he was doing, and had trouble checking in other guests. The WiFi wasn't just bad, it couldn't even connect. When another guest complained about this (and about a TV that didn't work), the assistant shrugged and said they had no technicians available before Monday (this was on Friday). On a business trip, I book at places that have decent WiFi – I wouldn't have stayed here if I knew I won't be able to connect. Also, my ground floor room was right next to the parking area, and pretty noisy.

    Recently refurbished rooms are neat and modern. Comfortable bed.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    10
    Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast. Wish it had better options for breakfast and lobby for seating but it’s super small and simple breakfast. I always ate out for breakfast.

    Location. Next to Lombard St. and really close to the bay 3.5 miles or less to any location pretty much.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    9.2
    Very comfortable stay in San Fran
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premium Two Full Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could have been better!

    The location was really nice and close to many yummy cafes and restaurants. The reception desk was very responsive to our needs and requests. Thank you for fixing our door handle as soon as you could.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    9.2
    Great hotel in the coolest neighbourhood in SF
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Two Full Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    The hotel is located in absolutely lovely neighbourhood, there are really nice houses around. The hotel is freshly renovated with spacious rooms and good breakfast. Easy access to the piers and the Golden Gate bridge.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    6.3
    OK, but not ideal if you are bringing a car.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premium Two Full Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The wifi went down during my stay - possibly I was just unlucky and it doesn't happen often but it was frustrating as it happened overnight and there was nobody around to reset the router until the morning. Also disappointing was the breakfast, especially at this price - extremely basic. However the worst thing about the motel is it didn't have nearly enough parking spaces - I'd guess there was no more than one for each two rooms - which made me nervous about taking my car out in case there was no space left when I got back.

    Regular motel in a part of town with many to choose from, all expensive unfortunately but that is the Bay Area for you. The Greenwich Inn was fairly standard in most regards. The rooms were clean and up-to-date with most of the usual facilities except a fridge. Just two blocks away is the delightful Chestnut St commercial district and bus 30 takes you from there close to Fisherman's Wharf and into downtown SF.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    6.3
    Cosy, clean Motel in Marina District
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Two Full Beds
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite noisy, walls are paper thin. The receptionist woke us up on our first night (after 11 hrs flight) we were in bed for 10. Banging so loud on the door and telephoning our room! Asking us to move our car! We don't have a car! So wasn't the best start! The breakfast was also disappointing. Bread and cereals. Had to constantly ask for milk, and they always ran out of jam. Found the reception staff not very friendly. Also a coffee machine would have been nice and a fridge. Also there was only one bedside table so this was a bit annoying as nowhere to put my phone, water etc

    Good location, near the beach and lots of good restaurants. Walking distance to Golden Gate Bridge, Pier 39 etc. Nice walk in shower, and rooms clean and cosy. Comfortable beds and pillows.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    7.1
    Good hotel, but unfriendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Two Full Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfriendly staff. They are not Americans, some of them have difficulties to speak English.

    Room was clean and beds were comfortable. Location is nice, near to many bars and restaurants.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    5.8
    Almost good hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    After our room was cleaned, we find out dirty towel(used for cleaning) and a list (including the names of visitors and their id's numbers...) over my luggage. Additionally the trash bag was left over the air conditoner and there was trash on the floor. When we spoke with reception he assured me that we will receive feedback from the managment, however we still do not have any answer. I felt totally dissapointed.

    The rooms where in good condition.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    5.8
    Clean rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very poor and unreliable service: we were going to transfer to a hotel near SFO airport, When we asked if we could leave our bags until the evening, the owner said it was not possible for such a long time. This meant an extra trip to SFO and back for us. Even worse, my friend tried to contact me and when she didn’t hear from me, she called the hotel to ask if they could pass her message on to us. They told her she could record a message, but we never received any message or even notification. Aside from the poor service, the hotel is located in a slightly more quiet area of SF although street noise is very audible and kept us awake from 5 AM onwards.

    Clean rooms

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    7.9
    very clean, nice decor, short walk to Marina
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premium Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really really thin walls, You can hear people talking through the walls, traffic noise from the street and cars from the parking lot

    very clean, nice decor, short walk to Marina

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    6.7
    The room was nice but staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Two Full Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was nice but staff...was terrible. Unfriendly and unhelpful. Difficult to comunicate during check-in. Doesn't provide any information unless asked.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    8.3
    Satisfying hotel in perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premium Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Paper thin walls, you can hear all the noise from outside. Free "Breakfast" is very laughable :-) just few cereals and some very sweet unhealthy pastry. But this is pretty common in the region. Don't know what is wrong with you, Americans :-)

    Superb location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    7.5
    Nice place to stay on a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s hard to get a reply from Greenwich, after 2x mail, 1x Facebook message and 2 phone calls we finally got someone at the frontdesk so we could ask if it was ok to check in after 23:00. Breakfast is limited. There was a issue with the WiFi one day, which took quite some time to get fixed, but it was smooth digital sailing after that.

    Flexible and friendly staff, we arrived late and there was still someone to let us in. Clean rooms and comfortable beds. Great location!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    8.8
    Close from fisherman's wharf, lombard street, clean,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Two Full Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit noisy and you have to be careful of not leaving anything inside your car

    Close from fisherman's wharf, lombard street, clean, dinner nearby serving great breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    8.3
    The rooms are clean and renewed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property is a Motel however the rate of the rooms are like an Hotel. The conditions of the property is good but too expensive in my experience. The rooms might be noisy

    The rooms are clean and renewed. The property has the car parking which is very useful in San Francisco.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    5.4
    Good location to explore from.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No real dislikes, but this is the first property on our road trip so nothing to compare it to yet.

    Good location to explore from. Room was reasonable for cleanliness. Probably what I expected for the money in this area.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    7.9
    No frills, but comfortable and good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Two Full Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Appreciated the free breakfast (toast, cereal, juice, coffee) but it was in the office area with nowhere to sit down.

    The room was roomy, which with four of us was important. Great location with Mel's Diner just around the corner, and Chestnut St (with eateries, shops, cinema, and bus stops) just a couple of blocks away. The manager was very helpful. Let us store our bags until we went to the airport.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    10
    This is a steal in San Francisco! Look no further
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Two Full Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It can be a bit noisy as it is located just off the street. It didn't bother us too much though.

    Don't let the outside looks fool you! This might be a motel kinda of place but the owners did a fantastic job renovating it to today's standards. We got a 2 queen room and it was much bigger than I expected. There was plenty of room to roam around without feeling cramped. Everything was clean and well appointed: big flat screen TV, microwave and fridge, coffee maker, iron, closet. Beds and pillows were very comfy. There were also TONS of outlets (including usb) to charge all your electronics. Bathroom was just the the best. It is an open tiled bathroom with the most amazing water pressure ever. It felt like getting a massage in the shower! They offered a light breakfast but we didn't try it. Plenty of really good restaurants less than 5 min walk away with a lot of choices (italian, japanese, brunch, veg/vegan, chinese, mexican, you name it.) Although parking is free at this hotel, the parking lot is a bit tight which can be unnerving if you drive a big truck. But did I say it was free? :) Just park the car and take the bus. There is a bus stop less than 5 minute walk away. It was a 20 min ride to the Wharf and also 15 mins to Golden Gate Bridge Visitor Center.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    5.8
    Updated bathroom and built-in for plenty of storage.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Two Full Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sink didn’t drain, shower leaked so carpet was wet. Hair in shower. Poor parking for bigger vehicles. Was told to remove all items from car because of break-ins. No nearby food places in walking distance.

    Updated bathroom and built-in for plenty of storage.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    7.5
    Good location and with parking
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A security safe would have been good, as the room was on the ground floor adjoining the road. The breakfast "room" was actually just a coffee machine, toaster and a a few cereals in the small reception area

    Good location and with parking

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    7.5
    The beds were nice, the place was clean, the tv worked, the...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Premium Two Full Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    The beds were nice, the place was clean, the tv worked, the front desk was helpful with watching our luggage while we went out for the day. no frills, too expensive for what it is BUT it is San Francisco so it's not their fault.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    8.8
    really clean, modern rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Premium Two Full Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    parking is first in first serve. breakfast is pretty average.. couple of pieces of fruit wouldn’t go astray :-)

    really clean, modern rooms. great location but you’re out of the hustle and bustle, easy for us because we had a car.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    5.8
    When we opened the door, we saw that the room was not ready...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premium Two Full Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights

    When we opened the door, we saw that the room was not ready (it was 8 pm) Hotel explained to us that we have to go in an other hotel Finally they found 2 rooms available for the first night

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    7.5
    Comfy bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premium Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom had unpleasant smell (no obvious source as it seemed clean, maybe problem with the drains?). Ashtray for smokers was right outside the room which was unpleasant.

    Comfy bed. Lots of power points and USB points. Good shower. Lots of places to eat a short walk away.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    9.6
    Location is very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Coffee machine did not work in the room. Not sure if staff at the reception paid enough attention to my request to deal with the issue.

    Location is very good. Comfortable bed. It was clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    9.6
    I loved the location, a bit remote but I loved it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I loved the location, a bit remote but I loved it. 45 from the Death Valley, the town is very small but so friendly and authentic. Staff at the hotel were brilliant, wish I had stayed more nights.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    9.6
    Great location, great staff and clean rooms. A real gem.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Two Full Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only slight issue is the number of homeless people in the area, but that seems to be the same for most of the city. None of the homeless population were threatening or intimidating in any way, in fact most are friendly, it's just sad to see these guys on the streets as many clearly have mental health issues.

    The rooms were immaculately clean and fresh. Staff were friendly and very helpful with local information. Motel is seconds away from a very hipster and trendy area for shops and restaurants, including a fantastic historic diner (Mel's), a great value Japanese (Glaze) and an awesome ice cream parlour (Smitten). For Robin Williams fans it's also just a short walk up the street to Mrs Doubtfire's house. Easy access also to public transport for union square, fisherman's wharf, etc. Would def recommend!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    7.0
    Location is perfect for visiting my daughter who lives in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisey —There may be a family living there? People coming and going all hours of the night. It’s clean and quite simple so good value for the $$. Our room was on the first floor near office. Wouldn’t do that again.

    Location is perfect for visiting my daughter who lives in Marina.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    9.2
    The rooms were clean, and had nice modern decor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premium Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was very loud. As in all US hotels, the walls feel like made of cardboard and one can hear any noise. This is a nice area with night life but if you want to sleep before 12am on a weekend bring ear plugs. "Breakfast" consists of coffee, cereal and some pastries. Get something else from the many options nearby.

    The rooms were clean, and had nice modern decor. The bed was very comfortable. The location is in walking distance to major SF attractions and lot's of restaurants were around. For the price this is a great spot. Another huge advantage is the parking spot.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi was not working properly all the time

    The two why to go there reasons are newly refurbished rooms, which would surprise you once you go in, and also free parking which might be difficult to find in SF.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    10
    It was great and restfully perfect. I give this hotel a perfect thumbs up for the purpose intended
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was tight and inconvenient at times. We parked and walked everywhere though.

    The beds and pillows were so comfortable. The location was walking distance to the beaches, piers, etc.. We will stay there again, most definitely.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premium Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The manager was horrible. They don't guarantee free parking, and when we didn't get free parking they told us to park 3 blocks away. The manager didn't want to refund us for their false advertisement.

    The location was nice.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    7.1
    It's value for money and nice walk to Fisherman's Wharf and the beach. The room's comfortable in siz
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Two Full Beds
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The manager rudely started taking out all breads, pastries at exactly 10am while I was getting still some food during breakfast.

    It's walking distance to tourist attractions. Raju, the front office staff was kind to help us get food during the late night when we arrived.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    7.5
    Worth the money, but could be more space in the room
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premium Two Full Beds
    • Stayed 11 nights

    We have room with two full beds and there were almost no space. One small closet and one small table where you cannot place even notebook.

    Nice design of room, comfort bed, new big TV.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    8.3
    Room was quite comfortable and clean. TV was great. Price was right compared to other hotel prices.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The street noise and wifi was in and out

    Location. Very close to public transport and shops. Within walking distance of the beach. Room was very clean with updated shower and very large flat screen TV with multiple channels/satellite TV. An unexpected continental breakfast was available in the office 8-10am every morning including cold cereals, packaged pastries, coffee, juices.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    7.1
    I got Scabies (bed bugs for human skin).
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premium Two Full Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    I stayed at this motel and woke up with a rash. At first I assumed it was poison ivy (which makes sense, as we were camping most of the vacation). It wasnt until I returned home and went to the doctor that it was diagnosed to be scabies. In case you're unaware, scabies is an extremely itchy skin condition caused by tiny, burrowing mites. These mites lay eggs and feces in the skin, which they eat tunnels into. Obviously, this is disgusting. We hadn't stayed at any other accommodation, and after staying at the Greenwhich Inn, 3 of the 4 of us awoke with this condition. It is clear that the Greenwhich in caused this condition. Simply washing the sheets between residents would have eliminated the infestation (which can only survive without a human host for 24 hours). Frankly, this is ridiculous. I'm looking for a refund, as the cost of the medical visit, medication, and induced stress is significant. Three of the four of us who got Scabies would be happy to supply medical proof of the diagnostic and the schedule (with pictures) to prove our itinerary. I;ll be posting this as a review of the Greenwich Inn, because people should be aware. Other than the Scabies, the stay was relatively nice for the price. I guess now I know why.

    The rooms seemed really really nice actually, it was very surprising looking from the outside. I also THOUGHT it was very clean.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    8.3
    Good place to stay, worth the money!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premium Two Full Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No microwave. A bit of traffic noise on the street at night, but not too bad really.

    The room is very clean and tidy. The location is great for sightseeing. The reception is helpful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    8.3
    Would do it again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    You can hear the neighbors. The receptionist isnt very friendly.

    It was a nice trip. We enjoyed the hotel, especially the shower, bright mirrors, and new air conditioner.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    7.5
    Great location and space for the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premium Two Full Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very basic, bathroom could be bigger and was missing a proper fan.

    Great location with various points of interest at all directions. The room was decent, with a mini fridge and closet. The walls are kinda paper thin, but luckily we didn't have any trouble other than a baby crying every now and then, not always and not long enough to bother us. Would stay again.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    7.5
    Staff make the place better than appearance of the place
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Two Full Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hard to park at times. Rooms could do with an update

    Staff were excellent. Particularly carlos who saved the day for us with our car when it had a flat battery

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    6.7
    Not staying anymore.
    • Couple
    • Premium Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had issue with hotel not finding my name in there system after paying and reserving with booking a week before.

    Is clean area, and restaurants near by.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    8.8
    Excellent location, great rooms with good facilities. You’ll need patience dealing with the staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff are absolutely terrible and very unhelpful. We were frustrated each day by their incompetence. We had an ongoing issue for 3 days which we had to keep on explaining and trying to sort out. Many other guests had other issues and the staff didn’t care much about helping them. This is a fantastic place to stay, but the staff really bring it down. Major customer service training is required!

    Large & comfortable rooms in an excellent location in the Mariner area. Only a mile to the beautiful Bay and walk along the ocean. Excellent value for money especially in San Francisco. The surrounding area is great - lots of cafes and restaurants within walking distance.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    6.7
    Nice rooms and excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premium Two Full Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff is horrible. Bkfst was so so. They said they had pancakes and never did. No juice. Just an empty juice dispenser. No decaf. Very limited parking.

    Good location!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    4.6
    They don´t have breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    They don´t have breakfast.. We found a mouse in our room, the cleaner forgot a kind of towel that she used to clean the room on our clothes..disgusting.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    6.7
    It’s clean, good price. Not well managed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Two Full Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I like this hotel. Main deal is TV didn’t work. Front desk said they would send someone in 1-2 hrs. Never came and then desk said they weren’t going to come and desk knew nothing about the TV. It was the first night of Olympics or else I wouldn’t care. We were also first given keys to a room that hadn’t been cleaned. No reg coffee and no coffee cups. I asked for a $10 refund because no TV. Nope.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    5.0
    I would not stay there again. The staff tried but seemed distracted or overwhelmed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premium Two Full Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no parking even though in a phone call the staff assured me that a spot would be available. I parked 2 blocks away and almost relocated to another hotel. There was no fridge or microwave.

    the bed was excellent, the check in girl was helpful

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    5.4
    unsatisfactory, in an otherwise great city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The entire experience was not what we have come to expect. Check in was not at all satisfactory, staff was rude and non cooperative. The surprise of a USD 200.00 security deposit was over the top to say the least. On check out we were unable to ensure that the $200.00 was refunded. We were that it would take up to 5 days for it to appear on our credit card. Breakfast was a joke (bad joke) Sketchy facility in an upscale neighbourhood. Would not stay there again and recommend that anyone planning on staying there reconsider.

    Location, cleanliness

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    6.7
    great location and spacious rooms, however service was disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premium Two Full Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the staff was rude, not very helpful, room service disturbing and opened my door while I was sleeping despite me telling them I didn't need room service, guests were loud on the weekend so couldn't get much sleep and the front desk was not helping

    it was clean and spacious for its location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    6.3
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Two Full Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in was slow and I had charges on my credit card that weren't right. However, they agreed to look after our luggage for the day after we'd checked out which we really appreciated.

    Good location - walked to golden gate.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    7.1
    It was okay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premium Two Full Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The customer service was horrible. The guys working at the front desk looked like they had no interest in helping us or accommodating us at all. If it wasn’t for the cheap price and location, their customer service would have run me out the door

    The place itself was so close to everything, and the rooms are newly remodeled so they’re clean and nice! The beds are also nice

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    6.3
    Stay away!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My wife and I arrived to Greenwich inn in January 9th and payed cash for our stay and for the deposit. We stayed for 3 nights and left January 12th at 7am and got our deposit back. It was 3 weeks later when we saw the bouble charge in our credit card. We called the hotel and spoke with Ricky the manager who told us he will check it out and call us back, of course he didn’t and didn’t answer to any of our calls. We turned to Booking to help us get our money back, we called 8 time in a month, when finally someone promised that in 3 days we’ll get our money back, now they don’t take any responsibility. The only way Greenwich inn got our credit card number was through Booking. Unfortunately it’s not the first time it happens in Greenwich inn but I heard about it too late. A bunch of crooks, who are not ashamed to take money from people over and over again. we got our money back only when we wrote some reviews in tripadvisor.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    5.4
    Very nice rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premium Two Full Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Free breakfast is included but no coffee, no orange juice (machines broken)no tables or chairs so the food must be consumed in the room.And no place to seat in the room, breakfast on top of the bed.

    Very nice rooms.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    10
    Clean spacious room, free parking and wifi and good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premium Two Full Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Clean spacious room, free parking and wifi and good location. Staff helped with airport transfers which was fantastic! Would recommend and stay here again

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    7.1
    Excellent location
    • Couple
    • Premium Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Check-in was brusque and very basic.

    Recently renovated room. Nice touches (USB ports, lighting, hot shower, good heater). Parking on-site and included in the price (arrive early).

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    8.8
    Great location, very nicely refurbished rooms, modern, clean...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premium Two Full Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Weak noise isolation. Can hear the neighbours.

    Great location, very nicely refurbished rooms, modern, clean, comfortable. Noice isolation was the only week point of the room. But all in all was much better than expected and an absolute value for money.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    7.5
    Value for money if travelling with friends. Would not recommend for family.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    BreakFast was nominal. Heater not working in one of the rooms and coffee machine had a part missing (so could not make coffee). One of the guests had their car broken into although the management had warned not to keep any valuables in the car.

    Free Parking is a good option (but the parking is tricky). Price is good according to the location. The hotel is clean and they have prompt housekeeping.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    10
    Modern clean remodel, relatively quiet off Lombard St.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premium Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not one shelf in shower so you have to put shampoo/soap on floor. Simplicity a little over done.

    Modern clean remodel, relatively quiet off Lombard St. Nice TV. Great shower.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    7.5
    Room was comfortable and clean. Sleep was elusive
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premium Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Walls were thin. both nights people came back loud, intoxicated and kept me up. It was very frustrating and disturbing. One night people in neighboring room had a loud and prolonged argument.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    7.9
    Convenient location. Comfortable room. Friendly staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premium Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sound proof is not very good - can hear ppl walking and watching tv above, as well as cars driving by. So it all depends on the neighbors. Someone was talking really loud in the outside parking lot and ppl staying above my room kept yelling at their children past mid night. In the morning, the city was doing construction right in front of the hotel so it was really loud and noisy. But all these are unpredictable factors.

    Convent location within walk-in distance to shops and restaurants. Room is clean and modern. Bed is comfortable and sheets are clean. Staff are really nice and having a parking lot is def. a plus!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    9.6
    The hotel was very nice in a great location and with parking...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Two Full Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was not very complete, only some bread with butter and ham and cereals and coffee, juice or tea

    The hotel was very nice in a great location and with parking included, which was great as I rented a car. Big, clean and confortable rooms with everything which is necessary. The manager was very kind and wanted to help me at any time with my many questions

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    6.3
    Good location, lots of restaurants nearby
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Two Full Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much furnitures in the small room, no table, no refridgerator no safe.... Just 2 beds and 2 chairs One pillow had clear visible mold Wifi passcode didn‘t work, receiption was closed when we recognized it

    Good location, lots of restaurants nearby Overall clean room Not too loud

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    4.6
    Avoid this property
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Two Full Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The guy on reception was the rudest person I've ever met in the service industry. Everything was an effort, he rolled his eyes when asked a question, asked whether there was any butter, shrugged his shoulders, rolled his eyes and grunted "no". There was no juice, butter or tea for breakfast and no interest or bother from the guy in reception to help in the matter. The fact that the breakfast area is 3 feet from the reception desk where he sat talking on his mobile (cell) phone.

    Location was good. It was near lots of places to eat and tourist attractions

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    6.3
    Functional - will stay there again.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Two Full Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking - more rooms than parking bays. Parking area should be redesigned to be more effective. They should not bother with the free breakfast.

    We checked in early - duty manager was very accommodating. Rooms maintained in good condition overall.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    8.3
    Great location, renovated rooms, but lacking in customer service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The bed was very firm and the pillows were lumpy (washed too many times and the insides are clumped together). Room was not furnished with a mini-fridge, microwave or safe as described. The interaction with front staff was very disappointing (bordering rude), both on the phone and in person. The greeting upon check-in was a "yea?" by the employee that came from the back and seemed annoyed we were there. The check in continued in that tone and without a "welcome" or "enjoy your stay" we were handed our key.

    The rooms are very small but clean and newly furnished which was nice. The breakfast cereal, toast and rolls in the hotel lobby were convenient. Motel location is great. We spent an entire week in San Francisco and didn't need to rent a car. We walked or used Lyft - so convenient! The bed was very firm and the pillows were lumpy (washed too many times and the insides are clumped together). Room was not furnished with a mini-fridge, microwave or safe as described. The interaction with front staff was very disappointing (bordering rude), both on the phone and in person. The greeting upon check-in was a "yea?" by the employee that came from the back and seemed annoyed we were there. The check in continued in that tone and without a "welcome" or "enjoy your stay" we were handed our key.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    8.3
    Was not the first time and will not be the last time....:-)
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premium Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very good location near Lombard Street. Nice area, not far from restaurants and some basic shops. Free parking on the site. Nice spacious rooms with modern bathroom. Friendly staff. All very clean. But this is S. Francisco, so you pay..........

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    7.5
    Nice designe
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premium Two Full Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There is no guarantee you gonna have a parking spot. I think less than the half of the rooms has enough parking space. If you arrive late, or you want to use your car during the day you have to park on the street which is almost impossible, or use a garage which is 15$/12 hour. I booked this accomodation because its said: Free parking and free WiFi are included in all rooms. But its not true, I had to pay extra to park in a public garage. And they also charged 15$ extra as "Book fee"

    Nice designe

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    9.6
    perfect price for location and amenities
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premium Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    AC didn't get super cold, but I'm from Texas so I guess they don't know about super cold air conditioning in San Francisco haha

    Perfect area to stay. Convenient to all the tourist attractions

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    9.2
    Definitely would stay again. Very cozy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Two Full Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was awful. Outside of building was outdated. If you were to see the outside you wouldn’t want to stay.

    Everything was clean and updated. Love the style and size of room. Totally different then outside.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    5.8
    Days before I called them saying that I would have arrived...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Days before I called them saying that I would have arrived at the property a day after and if they could have refund me a night. The guy on the phone said that was no problem at all. I arrived there and my room was gone, a cancellation for not showing at the first night applied and I have been charged the first night. They offered me a second room, but I paid the full amount.

    Stayed in September 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Greenwich Inn traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: