Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Griffon 3 stars

155 Steuart Street, San Francisco, CA 94105, USA

#29 of 230 hotels in San Francisco

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 294 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    10
    We will plan to stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location is perfect for a long walk and next to the Boulevard which has great wine and excellent menu. This is our second time we stayed at Hotel Griffon. The rooms are perfect for an over nighter or weekend in S.F., especially after a Giants game.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    9.6
    Location made it easy to walk to different locations, would stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was like a cloud..best night sleep ever, after a long day of walking. Ordered in, excellent service and food from their restaurant. Able to leave car and luggage with them early.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    8.8
    While the room is not the largest it was very well laid out.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    While the room is not the largest it was very well laid out. The bay view rooms have fantastic views. The location is very good and within a few minutes of the BART and F line. The hotel also has cold filtered water to refill your water bottle on the 2nd and 4th floors.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    7.5
    A bit on the snug side, but OK overall as long as you don't care about catching TV shows, LOL.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The HBO service would just shut off for 10-15 minutes at a time, unfortunately when I really wanted to catch a couple shows. No reason it should have gone out :(

    Location was ideal for our Bay To Breakers starting corral location. Overall facilities were good, bed was oddly very high, and it was a bit on the small side overall.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    10
    amazing!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Gorgeous view of the Bay Bridge and Ferry building from our room, excellent service from the kind staff! Also the perfect location to walk to restaurants/ferry building! We were upgraded to a suite upon arrival and the staff brought a complimentary bottle of champagne to our room since I had let them know we were celebrating my birthday!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    10
    We would definitely stay here again. The hotel was great and we got a good nights sleep.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sink is in the room, but the hotel is in a historic building so they had some limitations on bathroom design.

    The location was fantastic, the Bart station was very close, so we had easy access from the airport. Behind the hotel is the promenade to the piers and restaurants. The rooms and decor reminded us of nice European boutique hotels.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    10
    Cozy respite
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    It's a lovely property. Cozy with an onsite restaurant, and lovely sfo service. While I was only there for a few hours of sleep, my experience was nice. A cozy room, great bed and all necessary amenities.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    6.7
    Small rooms but clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows were huge and cause a neck pain when you wake up in the morning . The room felt claustrophobic with its size and no view. The sink was outside the bathroom which was an inconvenience. And all this for $200 a night. No thank you

    The room was clean

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    8.8
    Nice location, small rooms, be tired to be able to sleep.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom is partially in the living room, if you are close to the stairs, bar can be very loud in the night..

    It was clean, very small room nicely decorated

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    7.1
    Bed was comfy
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The hotel over booked and I was forced to move to a different hotel for the first two nights. The Wifi was acting up the whole time I attempted to use it.

    Bed was comfy Good location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    5.4
    Would have been good if I got the room I paid for. I just didn’t want to argue anymore
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room I paid for with a view was not provided. I was given a brick wall as a view. Now I’m having second thoughts using booking.com

    Location based on our purpose to view the NYE fireworks

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    8.3
    A great location for a one night stay in order to meet friends for dinner at Boulevard steps away.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hallways and stairwell are a bit musty - could use some attention.

    The lighting in the bathroom was particularly good. the room is small, but clean and efficient.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    10
    Great location, great value!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We love this hotel. Quaint, comfortable, cozy. The rooms are very small, but we don't mind. It's very well laid out and efficient. Location can't be beat.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    10
    Overall a great deal and location to explore the Ferry Building and morning run along the piers.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fruit, coffee and tea bar was ready in the hotel lobby. Size of the room was perfect for a couple on the go. Room was very clean! Hotel staff was friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    8.3
    great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    expected a room with either city view or bay view, however, our room had a frosted glass window (for privacy) that overlooked the airshaft. very small room.

    great location nice boutique hotel

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    10
    The room it self was beautiful and very clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Uncertain which genius perks were included w this stay? For city trips such as this a discount on facility parking would be fabulous (parking was valet, but $55!!) The "view" room did have a window, however was a second story room facing the street. I did not count it as a "view" especially booking in advance as I did. And the tub was slow to drain, during my shower it filled.

    The room it self was beautiful and very clean. The bed and decor was comfortable. The wine opener in the room was much appreciated. The staff were kind, courteous and helpful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    7.1
    Overall it was great and great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking...I was told to go across the street and when I did they said garage was closed for weekend. They should have a program setup for those who don’t want to pay to leave car in front.

    The slanted floor...it got me up and running in the morning!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    10
    Loved it!!!!...and, I shall return!!!
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I just need thinner down pillows, but...you can’t have everything.

    This property has all the charm you’d expect from a 100+ year old hotel. The room was teeny tiny and cozy. The location was phenomenal!!!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    8.3
    Enjoyed our stay very much!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Window in room looked at a brick wall. Maid was vacuuming outside the room very early Sat morning. That made me grumpy.

    Front desk staff upon arrival was super friendly and accommodating. Comfy bed. love Perry’s

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    9.6
    Beautiful old hotel in an ideal spot.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was directly over the restaurant and bar and the noise from a Friday night traveled up to our room. Not much sleep but still a wonderful stay.

    What a beautiful hotel in a wonderful location near the Ferry Building. The staff was great, the decor in the room wonderful and the bed so comfy. Wish we could have stayed more than one night.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    9.6
    Comfortable and stylish room, on the small side but good for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast service at the bar was very slow and the food was disappointing.

    Comfortable and stylish room, on the small side but good for the money. Hotel is easy to access from BART and there are plenty of bicycle hire places very close by too.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    9.6
    Amazing personal and very cost hotel with a lot of useful details
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Area near hotel a bit empty in the evenings, not too much restaurants or bars. Be ready that room won’t have view, 15/19 rooms on our floor have partially transparent window and view inside well.

    Amazing small stylish hotel with very helpful and attentive to details personal. They helped us with all our questions and doubts. Nice area, close to piers and market. Absolutely happy with our choice.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    10
    Cute, friendly, and great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Concierge had facts of offered discount for Big Bus Tour wrong (cost $10 more than stated). Weekend noise was considerable out front of hotel.

    As with most City hotels the rooms were small but well appointed. Very friendly and knowledgable front desk with free fruit, tea, and coffee all day. Great location near the Oakland bay bridge and Port of San Francisco. Associated Perry's restaurant offered food and libation all day long.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    9.6
    Fabulous Hotel in a great location with lovely staff and excellent food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    The whole experience from arriving to leaving was a really positive one. The reception staff were very helpful as were the bar and restaurant staff. Rooms comfortable and clean, food lovely and location excellent just far enough away from the hustle and bustle

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    6.3
    Very small room with sink in same area as bed.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small room with sink in same area as bed. One of us an early riser and other sleeps in. Hard not to wake up partner. Great walking area along the bay but far from meetings around Union Square or financial district.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    8.5
    Great boutique hotel, access to pool / spa + good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room had no view - outlook an enclosed yard, sadly

    Staff helpful, comfortable room + access to spa - pool - gym at adjacent YMCA .. good breakfast choice, closeness to amenities / sight-seeing

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    9.6
    The room had everything one would need during the stay, had...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room had everything one would need during the stay, had modern fixtures and gadgets, and was very clean and comfortable. Location was very convenient for getting around town - right by subway, cable cars, tour bus stops and waterfront. About 15 min walk to major hustle and bustle of union sq but nice and quiet. Would stay here again.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    7.5
    Nice hotel (good rooms) in a good position near Bay Bridge,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It would be better if the restaurant close to the hotel will offer also a classic continental/European breakfast.

    Nice hotel (good rooms) in a good position near Bay Bridge, the embarcadero and Port of San Francisco. The hotel offer to the customers coffee and fruits.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    10
    Very relaxing and pleasant.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The sewer smell outside.

    The room was nice and the staff are very friendly and welcoming. The location is very close to where I had to work. A nice variety of restaurants.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    8.8
    San Francisco Waterfront Accommodation - Value for Money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We like most of the features; however, the lift service was a little outdated.

    Excellent restaurant as part of the hotel with a good range of food and beverages. The complimentary fruit was appreciated.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    8.8
    Lovely hotel for a weekend getaway.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I guess someone has to stay near the housekeeping closets. The staff was quiet, but we could still hear every time they opened the door early in the morning and later in the evening. Also, the room was quite dark with no view but the walls of the building. This isn't their fault. I would just make sure and request a room with a view and away from the ice machine and housekeeping closet.

    Wonderful location; excellent restaurant on site. The staff is very friendly. The rooms are small, but comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    7.5
    $55.00+tax valet parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    $55.00+tax valet parking. No self parking. If I had know, I would have picked another hotel. Also, no view from small window in room. It does not allow much natural light into room.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    8.8
    Would definitely stay here again.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A couple of things. My room, 401, had a definite slope to the floor. Walking from the foot of the bed to the head was an uphill climb, which was strange but it did get you moving when you got out of bed and made the downhill trip. The shower handle was loose (again, 401). Finally, I am not sure if all the rooms are like this but the tv is mounted above a mirror and is very high. Watching it in bed is similar to spreading a blanket on the ground and gazing up at the stars.

    The room was small but very nice.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    7.5
    A good stay for a short trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was pretty basic, nothing special. It's also in a part of San Francisco that has a terrible smell 90% of the time. Valet parking was $55 which was ridiculous for guests of the hotel.

    Staff was extremely friendly and helpful! House cleaning was sweet and polite. Everything was nice and clean.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    7.9
    Stay in San Francisco
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was like a box. There were no newspapers in the lobby. The restaurant was good but expensive.

    The room was small. The bed was comfortable. However, our first room was like being in a box with no windows. We were given a room with a city view upon request, which was nice!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    8.3
    Excellent room. Great service. Coming back!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed is a tad too soft for me and the pillows as well. The water pressure in the shower was bad but that can be out of hotel's control.

    I was given a free room upgrade, the room was ready for early check-in, and everything was wonderful in the room. Loved the people and so close to the. Uni, great time! Will be back!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    8.3
    The mattress was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms were small, but it is a boutique hotel. Having our bathroom sink in the bedroom was odd. The lobby was not a good place to hang out and relax. The bench seating was not very comfortable.

    The mattress was excellent. Nice linens and pillows. The front desk was friendly and helpful. The location was pretty much in the financial district, but SF is a very walkable city.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    8.8
    A great boutique hotel in a wonderful area in San Fran. Highly recommended.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The air conditioning was a little noisy at times, but at least it worked well!

    The bed was really comfy and the location was superb, right near the Golden Gate Bridge. I was travelling alone and it was super easy to get around and very safe. The room was a good size and quiet. The restaurant downstairs (Perrys) also did great breakfasts and is quite reasonable. They do good happy hour deals.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    4.6
    Poor front-desk staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Front desk staff was absolutely terrible. Very nonchalant even after trips up and down from the dinky room when one of our swipe keys didn't work after THREE times. Room, for a four-time returnee was awful. Be sure to request a room with a Bay Bridge view, much more pleasant than the wall we looked at. Perhaps booking through booking.com did us no favors in this regard. Not sure. Also, parking fee is atrocious. Harbor Court next door next time.

    The location is great, near the waterfront and the beautiful Ferry Building.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    10
    Great little hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Interior room has a window looking into the middle of the building but the windows are frosted & don't let much light through. Try to score a room with a bay view. Would love if there were laundry facilities on site for longer stays.

    Rooms are small for 2 people but clean. Comfortable bed & pillows, very helpful staff & right on the Emcarcadero.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    9.6
    Stay here!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can't think of anything that I didn't like...

    The location was perfect for my weekend activities! Close to AT&T Park. Fairly priced parking garages near the hotel as well. The staff was amazingly friendly & helpful, especially Natalie! Such a friendly face to greet you & help you settle in for your stay! I'd definitely recommend booking a room at the Hotel Griffon!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    8.8
    Good location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room is small though satisfactory but bathroom was too cramped. The only elevator here is very small very small

    Good location. Clean. Friendly staff. Comfortable bed

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    10
    stylish quiet great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very quiet for a city hotel. Beautiful decor. Rooms were not huge but very well designed and stocked. Very clean and super comfy bed.Perry's restaurant on site was excellent superior food with a good wine selection and generous happy hour discounts

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    7.1
    Small room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - room was very small - the view from the window was on a brick wall - the bath did not drain properly and was not very clean when we arrived

    Good location and friendly staff

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2017

    9.6
    Perfect location right on the water!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was small but it didn't bother us as we were in San Fran exploring the city and only using our room to sleep! It might be a little tight for some people.

    The staff were very friendly both at the front desk and in the restaurant. The bed was sooooo comfy and soft. We loved how close it was to the water and the Bay Bridge (this bridge is amazing!). Definitely enjoyed the restaurant (I had Salmon) and you have to take advantage of the half price bottles of wine on Saturday's.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2017

    7.9
    Good for business trips
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I asked for a room with a view (to the water), as expected by seeing the pictures in Booking, but the street view was poor and ugly.

    Staff is very friendly, bed comfortable, room service is efficient.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    7.5
    Great location, horible wifi
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Well, first of all, for a hotel in San Francisco, not being able to do a few conference calls because the internet connection was so so poor is as bad as it can get. Also, the fact that i was waken up on saturday night at 12 by the sound of empty bottles coming from the bar below, given the fact that i was supposed to wake up at 3 to catch a plane was also not really ideal. I would not go back.

    The fact that was so close to the Ferry building and downtown was definitely a plus.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2017

    10
    This is a lovely hotel we would stay at again. Couldn't be better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    It was our first time at your hotel and we really loved the size, comfort and location close to everything. The staff at the desk were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2016

    9.6
    Awesome Hotel in San Francisco
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is great, the restaurant in the hotel had great food & everyone was very nice! The beds are extremely comfy too! Was a wonderful stay. Highly recommend this hotel!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2016

    8.3
    Love the Griffon but would have liked it if the staff would have been responsive
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Elevator went out and we had to haul stuff up three flights. It didn't seem like a big deal when we told the staff. Valet Parking was expensive.

    Great Location and rooms are super

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    7.9
    Great location and super friendly and customer-oriented staff
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Wish breakfast would start early on Sundays as well and kitchen would stay open later than 10 pm. for room service, even if only a few options.

    Location and staff were great.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2016

    5.0
    Not recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toiletry very poor, elevator stops reverberates in the room like someone's dropping a heavy load above you. We order some goods to be delivered to the hotel and were lost and the hotel did not responded well on the whereabouts of the shipped goods then we lost $480 in goods with no reason. Some of the Perry's restaurant staff not friendly.

    Location is good

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    6.3
    Decent for a business stay close to the office
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dimly lit room with a sort of yellow, old feel to it. Filthy carpet. Staff was unattentive, trying to do serve two customers at once when I arrived.

    Modernized washbasin in the room. Short walk to the office.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    4.2
    Very high price for what you get!
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    View from window was air shaft, room was the smallest I have ever experienced in 30 years of travel. Booking.com add was very miss leading. Rate was quoted as $269 but second night was $349 and not detailed in confirmation. Strongly suggest avoid using Bookin.com and do not stay at Hotel Griffon.

    Nothing

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    5.4
    Good location but not worth the money. Look elsewhere
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Got charged $45 per night for parking without prior warning. Staff not very helpful. Plug sockets come out of the wall when we unplugged the hair dryer. Breakfast not included and limited choice.

    Decent location 2 miles walk from pier 39

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2016

    10
    Too bad it was only one night
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We stayed for one night and arrived relatively late at night, so they gave us a suite with no extra charge, which was amazingly nice of them. The room was spotless and the bed very comfortable. Late check out (13:00) was accorded, with no extra charge.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2016

    10
    Fabulous location, wonderful staff, clean, cozy hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is great. Our room was a bit small. Bed comfy. Very nice staff. We were celebrating our anniversary and Manny sent a bottle of champagne and a card. Valet gentleman very helpful. Love your hotel. Would return and highly recommend.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    9.2
    A cozy stay in a quaint place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    People at front desk very friendly (Olivia, woman with accent, all others.) Porters also friendly (Victor, and the other guy). It felt like home (vs. Le Meridian.)

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    7.1
    Great staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Bed was not very comfortable. No natural light in the rooms, which makes it difficult to tell when it's actually morning.

    Great staff. Loved the fresh apples in the morning.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    8.3
    The bed was amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The housekeeping staff were extremely keen. I had four knocks on the door for various things, water, chocolate, cleaning etc. Very nice but maybe tone it down a bit.

    The bed was amazing

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    8.8
    Nice friendly hotel, short walk to the piers.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was hot, and the air con didn't really cool it down much during the night. Also the sliding bathroom door didn't move free and easy, which disturbed sleep when my partner used the bathroom during the night.

    Loved the warm welcome we received from Damian. He was really friendly and helpful, and ensured check in was prompt. The hotel is stylish with the added bonus of Perry's attached.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    10
    Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking is pricey $45 a night but we went for it as we had read some negative reviews about leaving your car I'm a public car park overnight

    The staff were very eager to please, they had wonderful service and really nice rooms. It is such a posh hotel and it was really nice to stay there after a few motels before. walkable to Alcatraz and the pier as well :)

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    8.8
    The bed was so, so comfy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The fire alarm had been disarmed by whoever stayed previous - it was disconnected and covered with a shower cap. It was easy enough to reconnect on our own, but . . . still. Definitely not enough to mar our stay whatsoever.

    The bed was so, so comfy. Also loved that the building was old and historic, but it had modern touches. The mini tablet in the room was super convenient.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2016

    7.1
    Some very small rooms, check before booking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room shown to us on arrival was seriously one of the smallest hotel rooms I have ever seen. The only window looked straight into the side of the next building a few feet away. The look on my wife's face was one of absolute disbelief.

    Room upgrade. I went to check-in and asked for a room upgrade which I was happy to pay for, but was upgraded for free to a bay view room with more space.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    9.2
    Great location if you can afford it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    $400 for one night in a standard Queen bed room (including valet parking). Historic building had charm but quirks: floor was uneven in room 211; tiny room with view of air shaft; sink in bedroom, not in bathroom.

    Excellent location. Comfy bed. Great breakfast available at Perry's next door. Friendly and attentive staff.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2016

    9.6
    Great boutique hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sewerage in the area is really bad. May be the deciding factor in choosing another hotel. The city needs to address problem

    Bedding & bed perfect. Very comfortable & dark. Staff very friendly. Having Perry's next door is a real plus. Great local restaurant & staff.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2016

    6.7
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small rooms, tiny elevator, expensive valet parking, no late checkout so felt rushed to check out, took 3 tries to get the right room despite specifying needs by phone days before arrival.

    Location

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    10
    Would definitely recommend Hotel Griffon and would return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed on June 9th and had a slightly bigger room than this recent stay. This room was ok but preferred the slightly bigger room.

    Location fantastic. We arrived about 9.00pm and could still get a meal at Perry's. Staff very friendly. Good value

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    9.2
    Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room a bit small.

    Location. Bed very comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    10
    We love the Griffon!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We love the Griffon! Friendly staff, exceptionally clean, central location. Tiny rooms, but we don't mind that.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    9.0
    Cleanliness, friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleanliness, friendly staff. Quiet

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    9.6
    Embarcadero
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room

    Close to everything

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    10
    Excellent value and convenient location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Average restaurant. Some street noice.

    Complimentary upgrade. Friendly staff. Very clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    10
    Lovely hotel in an excellent location. Wonderful staff and very nice bed with great view
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit difficult system to Bluetooth your iPhone to a speaker for music. There were no other ways to play music

    Room and the ciew

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    9.6
    I liked the boutique feel of the place - proper old San...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I liked the boutique feel of the place - proper old San Francisco. The location is hard to beat.

    Stayed in April 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Griffon traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: