Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Howard Johnson by Wyndham Rocky Hill 2 stars

1760 Silas Deane Highway, Rocky Hill, CT 06067, USA

#4 of 5 hotels in Rocky Hill

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 120 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.7

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    8.1

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    5.4
    Very disappointed
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    FRONT DESK CLERK WAS VERY UNPROFESSIONAL WHEN I CHECKED IN I ASK A FEW QUESTIONS N WHEN SHE ANSWER THEM SHE DID IT WHILE WALKING AWAY I ASK WHICH WAY IS CLOSES 2 MY ROOM N SHE JUST POINTED N SAID THAT WAY N MY ROOM WAS NOT WHERE SHE SAID.. WILL NOT B STAYING THERE 4 SURE.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    10
    Awesome place!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn't much selection for breakfast, but it was good if you wanted a grab a go like we did. The beds were hard too.

    Everything was pretty nice. Clean room, clean bathroom, towels, shampoo, etc. The staff were super nice and they let us leave our car there fir the day while we went to Warped Tour by Uber. It was awesome!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    2.5
    So you know about me renting from y'all
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Need to give more towels to people and washcloths one of the family of four you need to get for towels and washcloths

    So you know about me renting from y'all

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    8.3
    Easy location to get to, perfect for a place to sleep for a...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    2 of the usb ports did not work, and there was no drain stop for the tub, despite the advertisement of a tub.

    Easy location to get to, perfect for a place to sleep for a business trip.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    7.9
    it was nice enough for our shory stay, and the cost was good for what was offered
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    breakfast very basic.hard boiled eggs very over cooked. not much to cose from. oj was not good. no fruit for children. maid didnt clean toilet dailey, vomit still under seat from child. 2 pubic hairs in tub prior to our use. we had 2 towels for 5 people to bathe. room said for 5. 3 of us has to squish in a double bed.

    staff was excellent, friendly, helpful. the staff would be the only reason i would return. easy on off 91.nice and quiet.mostly clean.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    9.2
    Haven’t seen a better hotel in this price range yet!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Honestly? Nothing!

    The overal package is way above USA standard for this class of hotel. Very friendly staff, clean room with all new equipment and fast wifi.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    7.9
    Decent for a night
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel itself is a bit rundown, its fine for a night or two. Small tv for the size of the room.

    Close to downtown Hartford, amenities close by. The price was good. Peter at the front desk was friendly and helpful. Large room.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    8.8
    very ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    remote for tv didn't work ... room was smallish and oddly decorated ... no fruit at breakfast

    location, having frig and microwave, decent bed and shower

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    9.6
    Good nights rest for a family!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking is a bit tighter than I would like.

    This was our second time staying here and we were very pleased. The complimentary breakfast items and coffee were excellent and very fresh. We would stay again!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2016

    9.6
    Nice place for a family
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The coffee maker didd not work.

    Front desk staff was available and very nice! The room was clean and perfect for the family for a night. It was clean and the hot water was good. We would stay again when we come back to this area.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2016

    9.6
    An acceptable On-The-Road motel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    WIFI was present but low speed. Using Skype, for an example, was terrible.

    Staff was very friendly, helpfull and welcoming. Thank you!!! Access to major highways was great.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    7.5
    Breakfast water pressure friendliness of staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paper on floor in room when we arrived, dust on tv stand from housekeeping not bending over to dust the shelf, only a chain not a bar on the door. Definitely needs some upgrading.

    Breakfast water pressure friendliness of staff

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    6.7
    Excellent value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only 1 pkg of caffeinated coffee for 2 people; tile next to carpeted area was cracked and crumbling;excessively noisy bathroom fan

    Easy access and parking. Nice shower

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    7.5
    Very friendly staff, nice comfy bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was very dirty

    Very friendly staff, nice comfy bed

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    5.0
    carpet and bed is clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    toilet is not clean, no hair conditioner.

    carpet and bed is clean

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    5.8
    Offered breakfast, near restaurants and highway.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not updated, could be cleaner. Bed uncomfortable. Room very warm when arrived.

    Offered breakfast, near restaurants and highway.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    9.6
    Great value clean and friendly staff.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Smoking
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff and great location. I stay here every year for work and I am never disappointed.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    7.5
    Adequate stay in centrally located Rocky Hill, right off I-91
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was more than adequate with cereal, waffles, yogurt, tea and coffee. Quite sufficient. The bed was a little soft.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    3.3
    Nothing
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything

    Nothing

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    10
    It's closer to the stores any good smoke
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Love at there

    It's closer to the stores any good smoke

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    9.6
    Building has good soundproof.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Building has good soundproof. Important close to the highway

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    9.6
    Excellent stay and staff was very respectful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent stay and staff was very respectful

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    5.0
    Ok little old run fown.
    • With a pet
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Trucks smell gasoline and no towels.

    Clean rooms

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    10
    great place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights

    every thing

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    10
    Very quiet considering it's right off the highway.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very quiet considering it's right off the highway.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    9.2
    Good stay for the money large room great restaurant accross the street
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom dated but clean

    Comfy bed like you would expect at a higher end hotel

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    6.0
    Alright
    • Group
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Outdated facility

    Location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    9.2
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    7.1
    Good place for sleeping. Nothing else to do, really.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Breakfast. Get rid of those dried out, hardened Lenders bagels.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    10
    Very positive
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly staff. Clean room

    Had check out early before breakfast

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    7.1
    Nice people, too expensive
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some additional renovation needed in room.

    Staff was friendly

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    8.8
    Worth the stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not an easy location to find.

    Low cost.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    5.0
    Beds were very comfortable and decor were ok.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms needs a deep cleaning, floors were filthy especially the bathroom floors.

    Beds were very comfortable and decor were ok.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    7.5
    Rocky hill
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy

    Location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    10
    We had a nice stay. We will definitely stay again if we are ever in the area.
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Beds were very comfortable and the pillows were very fluffy. The room was updated and very tidy.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    9.6
    This hotel was a great value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Coffee was excellent! Very clean.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    7.1
    It was ok
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room - Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too many moths flying around. Bed was a little stiff. Free wifi kept acting up.

    Convenient location good parking

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    10
    Very pleasant and had everything ready when we walked in
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very pleasant and had everything ready when we walked in

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    10
    Amazing room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing room

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    10
    Friendly, Clean and close to everything.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cant think of anything.

    Very Clean.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    2.9
    Dirty and blanket are broken
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty and blanket are broken

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    6.3
    Average
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No view from room looked at a wall

    Comfortable bed

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    5.8
    very simple breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    motel and not very clean

    very simple breakfast

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    9.6
    Good value for stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were fun and helpful. The breakfast was good. Easy to get to and park at

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    5.0
    Underwhelming
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn't find our reservation and the rooms were not as big/nice as advertised.

    Low key area and right off a major highway.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    4.6
    The breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was not clean,

    The breakfast

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    8.8
    Very good
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Every thing

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    9.6
    Close to highway and restaurants
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Peter the manager was helpful

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    10
    Everything perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything perfect!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2017

    7.1
    Good for short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hot breakfast No elevator

    Location and price

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2017

    10
    Best hotel value in CT
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything is great

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2017

    10
    great stay for a cold night: warm, tidy and very good...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    great stay for a cold night: warm, tidy and very good service overall.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2017

    10
    CT trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Larger bar of soap

    Close to main road but quiet room

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2016

    2.9
    SAVINGS NOT WORTH THE Discomfort
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Anything. Had I had my wife we would have walked!!

    Age of unit. Too old

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    9.6
    Pleasant spot
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioner could be a challenge to reach for shorter patrons.

    Quiet, comfortable space. Breakfast provided.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    5.0
    Nothing exciting nothing horrible.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom and rooms need to be updated.

    There was not much to like. Nothing special.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2016

    7.9
    Good value for the level of accomodations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Room much smaller than indicated on booking.com. only good for 4 adults, not the 4 plus 2 children that booking.com said would fit. Big disappointment to arrive late at night to that surprise. I blame booking.com for that and not hotel.

    Good value for the level of accomodations. Good location close to area attractions. And lots of nearby restaurants and stores.

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2016

    3.8
    When we arranged our booking we were looking forward to a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    When we arranged our booking we were looking forward to a room with a hot tub. The photo showed a hot tub. The listing stated there were hot tubs. The reason for our getaway was a night alone. The room was not very clean and definitely not what we expected. We will not be returning.

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2016

    7.9
    Location perfect and staff very polite.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Micro wave was dirty inside on the top. food particle dropped in food we were heating up. Wad of toilet paper in ceiling ?hole by the vanity. heater in bath room behind the door covered in hair and dust.

    Location perfect and staff very polite. Beds comfy!

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2015

    10
    Convenient to various stores (including Kohls, Wal-Mart,...
    • Solo traveller

    Convenient to various stores (including Kohls, Wal-Mart, Stop n' Shop), just off a major highway. Comfortable bed. Dependable Wi-fi. Refrigerator, microwave, tv with a lot of channels, including HBO.

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2015

    10
    The manager is very friendly and personable.
    • Solo traveller

    Forget breakfast.

    The manager is very friendly and personable. The rooms are clean and beds are comfortable. The wifi is strong. The TV has more than 50 channels. I like having a microwave and refrigerator. What's not to like?

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2015

    8.8
    The staff was wonderful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I would put up pictures that show the outside. The only issue was I didn't know it was a motel with exterior doors until I arrived for check in.

    The staff was wonderful. When he saw my hesitancy, he even let me see the room before I committed to paying for the night. It was appreciated!

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2015

    8.8
    breakfast was very conveinent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    room was a little dingy, smelled alittle moldy.

    breakfast was very conveinent.room darkening curtains were fabulous. we slept great, very centrally located. ty

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2015

    9.6
    Very clean, close to EVERYTHING, and above all the owner is...
    • Family with older children

    The place is a bit older and cod use some updates but overall I would definitely recommend it.

    Very clean, close to EVERYTHING, and above all the owner is a sweetheart that makes you feel like family.

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2015

    8.3
    The front desk staff was wonderful, they were able to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The cleaning staff is rude. We requested a late checkout the night before and the cleaning woman woke us up, was rude about our late checkout called us twice to pay for the late checkout fee even though our card was on file and the front desk said we could pay when we checked out. When it was time for us to check out at 1 she attempted to barge into the room at 12:58. We also booked this hotel for the jacuzzi room but when we went to the front desk they informed us they only have one room like that and that it was booked and next time call in advance.

    The front desk staff was wonderful, they were able to accommodate us for our needs and were very friendly. The room was spacious and the channels were decent.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2016

    10
    An older motel, reminds me of staying in motels with my...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    An older motel, reminds me of staying in motels with my family as a child. Very well-maintained property. Very very clean. Even had a payphone!

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2016

    8.3
    Good price for the room
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    No breakfast included and not a lot arround for breakfast

    Good price for the room

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2016

    2.9
    location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    staff cleanliness

    location

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2016

    7.5
    Place was Quiet
    • Solo traveller

    Staircase was unlighted

    Place was Quiet

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2016

    5.8
    Ease of check in and check out
    • Solo traveller

    I don't like hotels with outside entry

    Ease of check in and check out

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2016

    10
    Everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything. Pleased that there was a microwave. Refrigerator. And all the rest.

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2016

    7.9
    I enjoyed the cleansingness
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    To make sure room assesories has all parts needed ex coffee pot

    I enjoyed the cleansingness

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2016

    8.3
    Bed was comfy, room was generally clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Had to go to front desk for coffee cups, ice box was very dirty

    Bed was comfy, room was generally clean

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2016

    10
    The staff was very helpful and went out of their way to be...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The staff was very helpful and went out of their way to be accommodating. The room was always clean. Perfect stay.

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2016

    7.5
    Location and price
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Tiny soaps No elevator for second floor

    Location and price

There are also 51 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: