Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hampton Inn Austin-South - I-35 & Ben White 3 stars

4141 Governors Row, Austin, TX 78744, USA

#95 of 193 hotels in Austin

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 102 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 69

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    5.4
    I think if they see you are a couple with no kids they would not put a family with young kids by you
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Studio with Sofa Bed - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tortillas were hard and cold, fruit was not very ripe at all or in my opioid over ripe. Sheets will not stay on the bed, and I don’t want to get germs from laying on the mattress. Put a family with little kids, kids screaming until about 1:00 a.m. and opened and slamming door. That was super annoying. Wish our stay could have been more pleasant. Thank you, Pat Barrier

    Breakfast was not good at all, for the morning money you pay for the room I think the Breakfast could be a lot better.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    9.6
    The bed was comfortable.
    • Family with young children
    • King Studio with Sofa Bed - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could have had more variety. I wish there could have been bacon and sausage. Quesadillas can be something quick to make (flour and corn tortillas).

    The bed was comfortable. There was breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    9.2
    Nice room, clean and modern.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast doesn’t have variety, and some products are over too early. It happened with fruits and whole bread.

    Nice room, clean and modern. Staff was amazing.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    8.3
    They couldn’t print my receipt for my stay.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • King Studio with Sofa Bed - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They couldn’t print my receipt for my stay. I have never had this problem before through Booking.com and my co worker was able to receive their receipt.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    5.8
    Mediocre hotel that makes good coffee
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sink in my bathroom and even the lobby bathroom were super loose and felt like they would break at any moment. The AC Unit was old and super loud everytime it came on. The bed was not very comfortable, the pillows in particular are so thin they are almost worthless. Sound proofing of the room is terrible and every morning I was awoken by slamming doors from nearby rooms. The Wi-Fi would disconnect daily and have to be reconnected leading to running up my phone data plan. Location is near nothing and requires at least a 8 min Uber ride to and from each time.

    The robust coffee avail 24/7 was shockingly good for th quality of hotel. The elevator was surprisingly fast and responsive.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    9.6
    The hotel was very nice, clean and I would definitely recommend this hotel.
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was not as comfortable as the previous Hampton location but still better than most and bedding was great.

    The staff was efficient and friendly. The room was very clean and had recently been remodeled. The coffee was great and available the entire visit.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    10
    Comfortable and easy Uber trips to Austin entertainment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Disability Access/Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Alarm clock was not working correctly or I couldn't figure it out? No worries smart phones have a more reliable clock and alarm than outdated desk top clocks.

    Breakfast was great with something for everyone.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    9.2
    The room was nice and spacious and clean the front desk...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Disability Access/Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    After our first night, bed was not fixed correctly sheets were not pulled up and pillows were the same as we left them. I also left a note to please leave extra reg coffee since no one drank decaf and also to leave more towels. We had 4 girls staying in the room and we did not get additional towels per my request.

    The room was nice and spacious and clean the front desk people were very helful

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    9.2
    Staff was very friendly and helpful.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • King Studio with Sofa Bed - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The fitness center did not have towels or cups. The pillows were very thin.

    Staff was very friendly and helpful. The facilities were clean. Bed was very comfortable. Shower was really large and roomy. Great water pressure and very hot water.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    9.6
    great place to stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing negative to say about stay,

    The bed was very comfortable, room was very clean, staff friendly, breakfast was good, lots of choices. Easy to drive to restaurants, loved Joe's Crab Shack. Would stay he again.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    3.3
    My rooms wasn't ready when I got there so I had to wait...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Hearing Disability Access/Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My rooms wasn't ready when I got there so I had to wait in the lobby that smelt like dead fish. There were 2 roaches in my bed and breakfast looked so bad we didn't even try to eat it.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    6.7
    The hotel was good. The maid service was terrible.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Studio with Sofa Bed - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room was not made up properly. At 9:00 P.M. the bed was not made and there were dirty towels (ours) on the floor.

    The breakfast was good. The location of the hotel was good.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    9.2
    Never lets us down....
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Studio with Sofa Bed - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hard to find hotel the way it sits behind another hotel. Needs a taller sign or something. Food was pretty much gone when we walked down at 9:30 to eat.

    Staff.... beds..... price.... all exceptional. We are Honors members and are never upset with the chain.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    8.3
    Clean place.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Studio with Sofa Bed - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Far away from the downtown. Due to bad traffic in Austin, it takes time to get from the downtown to the hotel, or vicy versa. If you do not have any meetings in downtown, that's not an issue. Toilet was leacking, thus there was a constant sound of running water. At the same time, I hardly could move a sliding door to a bathroom. So I couldn't close it, and had to listen to this sound all the way

    Clean place. Fully equipped. Close to the airport. Excellent breakfast. And very helpfull personell.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    9.6
    would stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Studio with Sofa Bed - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights

    elevator not working was a little inconvenient

    food was great, staff was good, and while most of our time was spent at the F1 races, we did enjoy our time spent at the Hampton

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    9.6
    Great place for overnight stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    No walking distance good restaurants. Offering in the breakfast buffet.

    Attention to detail, support and friendliness of the staff. Space and facilities of the room. Very clean and comfort bed.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    10
    Easy location, good continental breakfast, and staff kept it...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Studio with Sofa Bed - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Easy location, good continental breakfast, and staff kept it clean

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    9.6
    Great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Disability Access/Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was very helpful and extra nice

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    10
    Staff were helpful and friendly. Food was great. Perfect location for the airport and Hill Country.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    ALL Staff were helpful and friendly. Food was excellent. Location perfect for airport.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    9.6
    AWESOME visit
    • Couple
    • King Studio with Sofa Bed - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was fantastic. 3 ladies at the front desk were AWESOME.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    7.5
    Comfortable room, very nice staff during breakfast service.
    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Disability Access/Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extremely POOR WiFi.

    Comfortable room, very nice staff during breakfast service.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    10
    Simply wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Hearing Disability Access/Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff members are Amazing! They make you feel like the most important person around. The bed and facilities are fabulous!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    9.2
    Only was there for one night, will probably stay again when visiting. Clean and the staff was very n
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Studio with Sofa Bed - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had A little ordor but it was tolerable.

    The cleanliness and comfort of the bed.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    6.7
    Was OK for a short trip.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Disability Access/Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms are small

    The fresh coffee was perfect.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    10
    Awesome
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Studio with Sofa Bed - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Comfort bed

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    10
    Thank you for the AMAZING stay. With the passing of my wife's father y'all us feel sooo much better.
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can't think of any dislikes or problems.

    The price,cleanliness,the AMAZING staff,the bed was soooo AMAZING slept so well.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    6.7
    Having a shower
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Studio with Sofa Bed - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy a/c Bar soaps and not liquid soap

    Having a shower Staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    9.6
    I will use them again
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Disability Access/Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bath door on rollers

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    6.7
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor A/C throughout. It was hot.

    Location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    10
    Down comforter was great
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Studio with Sofa Bed - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Down comforter was great

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    10
    Love staying here
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff, rooms are clean & smell clean. Rooms are quiet. Love the breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Studio with Sofa Bed - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The smell when you walk in the lobby smelled like eggs

    Staff was very friendly

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    6.7
    Ok for 2-night stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Studio with Sofa Bed - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Uncomfortable mattress.

    A/C thermostat kept room at cool temp all night.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    7.1
    Breakfast was very good with many choices of foods
    • Couple
    • King Studio with Sofa Bed - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was very good with many choices of foods

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    8.3
    Hamp
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Studio with Sofa Bed - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom door wouldn't close, it needed to be adjusted.

    Nice room with a comfortable bed.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    7.0
    I was over charge
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I was over charge

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    9.6
    Nice visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 7 nights

    House keeping came one at 5:30pm and the next day at 8:00am

    Staff was very friendly

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    10
    It was super close to 6th street, clean, staff was friendly,...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • King Studio with Sofa Bed - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was super close to 6th street, clean, staff was friendly, room was nice and bathroom was really clean

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2017

    9.6
    The staff was very friendly and helpful. I felt very safe at this hotel.
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Hearing Disability Access/Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I didn't like the sliding barn door style of the bathroom.

    The room was very clean, comfortable, and updated.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2017

    7.5
    Exactly as expected
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Hearing Disability Access/Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Exactly as expected

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2017

    10
    Great place and close to airport!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Studio with Sofa Bed - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows weren't the best but I am not a fan of down pillows to begin with.

    Room was nice and we had a great stay.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2016

    9.6
    one night to stay in Austin
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice, either new or remodeled room and bathroom. Clean everything. Staff is helpful and friendly. Location was great! Happy to come back next time!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2016

    7.5
    I liked!!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • King Studio with Sofa Bed - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Confortable and convenient!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    7.1
    Rooms are good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Studio with Sofa Bed - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is simple.

    Rooms are good.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    10
    I'll be back!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Studio with Sofa Bed - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's always more convenient when a place has a restaurant ...

    Comfort and cleanliness AND awesome staff!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    10
    Well rested stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Studio with Sofa Bed - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was awesome

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2016

    10
    Nice place, close to event I was attending.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Website said all rooms had microwaves and refrigerators. NO microwaves. Please correct website or put in microwaves. Also weekend staff at breakfast just added excess water when oatmeal started running low. Made inedible. Like no one would notice.

    Nice place, close to event I was attending. Very comfortable, clean. Looked to be recently remodeled.

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2016

    9.2
    Solid option for lodging that's still close to downtown...
    • Solo traveller

    Solid option for lodging that's still close to downtown ATX and the newer built up waterfront near Rainey St. Great freeway access only drawback is the zero walkability for that area. Ask for a newer remodled room. That's a better option than asking for a higher floor or larger room.

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2016

    6.7
    The beds were comfortable and clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The gym is pitiful, the TV doesn't work, the construction knocked out the wifi and call phone reception. The elevator is very slow as it is being used for construction. When we arrived at 8pm, they weren't sure out room was even ready yet!

    The beds were comfortable and clean

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2015

    8.8
    Cleanliness
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    elevator is Loud Ice maker is loud too and dispenses ice a lot Carpet in aisles is too thick I could trip and heavy baggage is slow moving on them

    Cleanliness Lots of towels Complementary coffee and kittle

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2015

    7.5
    Beds were great very comfortable, large bathroom .
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Had issues with bill, charged a different amount than booked , front desk fixed right away but original amount of $100.00 more charged to bank account !!!!!!

    Beds were great very comfortable, large bathroom . Great staff at the desk at night

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2015

    7.5
    location to the airport, generally clean, free breakfast was...
    • Couple

    I would extend breakfast hours until 10:30 am--I had to get up earlier than what I would have liked to make sure there was food left. Carpets need updated/cleaned

    location to the airport, generally clean, free breakfast was helpful and a good variety of basic breakfast foods to choose from. I appreciated being able to print my boarding passes in the small business office/cubicle. The TV, desk and daybed was nice in the king suite.

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2015

    7.5
    The bed was awesome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The Admissions clerk was rude and very unhelpful, and charged my card twice! Told me I had to call my bank and have them call her! Really????? The room was a non-smoking room, but the hallway still reeked of old cigarette smoke.

    The bed was awesome. Best night's sleep I've had at a hotel. The room was well appointed and clean. The Clerk upon departure was much more helpful and courteous.

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2015

    5.8
    Reservation in order, good staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    This was supposed to be a suite with accommodations for three. It was an average-sized motel room with a hid-a-bed. The room had seen considerable wear. Once you open the hid-a-bed, you can't move around much in the room. For this we were charged over $250/night.

    Reservation in order, good staff.th

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2015

    7.1
    It's in a good spot - easy to get downtown.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    I slept on the sofa bed and it was AWFUL. The room needs a full paint; the walls are very scuffed, which makes the room feel shabby.

    It's in a good spot - easy to get downtown.

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2015

    8.8
    When checking in, the staff made extra effort to get us an...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    When checking in, the staff made extra effort to get us an ideal room. When we checked out and left, an hour later they called and told us about something we had left in the room. I asked if they would ship it if I gave a credit card number and instead they said they would ship it for no cost to us. Rare to find a business treat customers with so much respect.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    10
    We love the beds, the breakfast was really good and all the...
    • Family with older children

    parking was always packed

    We love the beds, the breakfast was really good and all the staff have a smile all the time :)

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2016

    10
    We can't complain about perfection.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We can't complain about perfection...The room, location, employees all were very pleasant. We'll be staying with you again.

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2015

    6.3
    Comforter tooo much, not being able to control the temp...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Comforter tooo much, not being able to control the temp enough.

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2015

    10
    Breakfast was wonderful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    N/A

    Breakfast was wonderful. Beds were heavenly.

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2015

    8.3
    Nice breakfast
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Since I booked with Booking.com they refused to give me the invoice.

    Nice breakfast

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    6.3
    Breakfast was awful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Breakfast was awful.

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2015

    9.2
    The lady at the desk was very helpful, and surprisingly busy...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The lady at the desk was very helpful, and surprisingly busy for being so late/early.

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    9.6
    Friendly efficient front desk staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Friendly efficient front desk staff

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2015

    6.3
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Price was told it was a2 room suite was not

    Location

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2015

    7.5
    no guess laundrey
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    no guess laundrey no items in bk for diet

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2015

    10
    Bed a little worn
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bed a little worn

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2015

    9.6
    Super staff-very attentive to our needs and making sure we...
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Super staff-very attentive to our needs and making sure we were satisfied. Good value for the money-very clean. Well done,

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2015

    5.8
    Booked a pack and play crib but didn't get one!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Booked a pack and play crib but didn't get one!

There are also 50 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 69

Guests also reviewed these properties: