Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hampton Inn Chicago Elgin/I-90 3 stars

405 Airport Road, Elgin, IL 60123-9356, USA

#2 of 7 hotels in Elgin

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 89 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 71

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No complaints at all.

    The room was super clean with comfortable beds and pillows. The location was close to the expressway and places to pick up things you might need. The staff was super friendly and helpful. I truly have nothing to complain about and would totally stay there again and recommend it to others. There is also a Benngan's in the general area of the hotel so that made eating and stopping for a quick drink very easy. Definite thumbs up!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above.

    I booked the hotel for my husband and kids. I was using my credit card to pay so I contacted the hotel to see how I can pay for it without being there. I was told to fill out the credit card authorization form with a copy of the front and back of my card. I did that and when my family and aarived at 1am they were told they couldn't check in and I had to be there with my credit card. I was in Detroit, MI with our other child. I spoke with the front desk person and advised him I was told all I needed was the form and he said he has that but I need to be there with the card. After going back and forth he finally allowed my husband and two young children to check in. When I finally arrived Saturday night my husband told me the toilet handle was broke and running loudly all night. I asked to switch rooms and was told I couldn't because they were booked. No one ever came to fix the toilet either.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Study with Sofa Bed - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very disappointed that there are no longer smoking rooms. Going outside to smoke is definitely an inconvenience, especially in inclement weather. The pillows on our queen sized bed seemed smaller too.

    I love the whirlpool and pool. The free breakfast and complimentary coffee are always awesome! The staff is always very friendly when we come.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Study with Sofa Bed - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Upon check in employee "Bobbi" was awesome!!!! During my stay "Bobbi" helped me more than anyone ever has. Bobbi is a five star employee and I just wanted you to know that. I hope you appreciate her as much as I do!!!!! Thank you Bobbi!!!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booking never made the reservation!! Way to go guys!! Thank goodness they weren't booked and they gave me a similar price! I better not find a charge from you from this property on my credit card!!!

    The front desk was very patient and accommodating. They gave us a discount without us even asking because they couldn't find our reservation!!'n

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sticky floors. All three rooms had tiny pillows.

    Clean and comfortable bed, air, size of bathroom, many mirrors made it easier to get ready for wedding.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    All was as we hoped. In particular staff member Bobbi was pleasant efficient and personable. We required nothing extra because everything we wanted was standard with them. The breakfast buffet was the best we've had in this type of hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Study with Sofa Bed - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were reserved for a walk in shower - handicapped room- but the room was occupied although the front desk had our name on the reservation and they could not identify who was occupying the room. Luggage in the room, bed messed up and no Person!! Strange. We had to be placed in another room - no walk in shower. Very strange

    Room was clean although not spacious, and the pool was small but nice and clean.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The carpet in our room was wet like it had just been shampooed. I had to have my key cards reset 5 times...once on the first day and 4 times after I extended my stay one more day. The desk said it was the battery in the door lock.

    The hotel desk staff was amazing even under pressure. There was a small patio area outside of the pool that had tables/chairs and I spent a couple hours out there. The pool seemed clean and well kept. They had free treats (candy, energy bar, water, soda) available upon arrival which was nice after a 4 hour drive. The room was very clean especially the bathroom.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked on line.It said to pay at the location. I was charged on the card that was only supposed to hold the room. It's been 5 days & still have not received a receipt. The hotel said they couldn't help me with that !!!!!

    Didn't get breakfast. When checking in we mentioned that we don't get up early. Would have been nice if the desk clerk would have said it was over at 10am. Therefore we had to go pay for breakfast across the street.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Family with young children
    • King Study with Sofa Bed - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast area was open until 10 AM but when our daughter went to get some food at 9:15 the dishes were quite bare and more was unavailable.

    The staff provided clear details about the facility. We needed help with the tv and received immediate response to our own ignorance. They were quite accommodating.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Study with Sofa Bed - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would have like a lower price, but that's always the case.

    I was there as an alternative to drinking and driving. I didn't spend much time there. The room was very comfortable and the staff was very nice and courteous. Well done!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Smoking
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Furniture and floor was pretty badly stained (chairs). Ceiling covered in brown fuzzies. Understandable as it was a smoking room. Just seemed like everything on the inside of the room needed updating or replacing. Just my opinion.

    Forgotten items like shaving cream were available upon request, that was nice. Simple bagged lunch available in the morning was nice.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2016

    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Over all the Hotel was Noth worth the price. I stayed at the Hampton Inn Hoffman Estates last weekend and the facility was gorgeous and very clean and very friendly. Hampton Inn Elgin just was not up to par in comparison.

    The breakfast had a nice variety.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    nothing

    The staff were friendly, helpful and attentive. We didn't wait any minutes for check-in and check-out. The beds were very comfortable and the room was big enough to feel home for 3 nights. They had one of the best coffee always ready in front of the reception. It was absolutely perfect for our taste.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room - Mobility/Hearing Access with Roll-In Shower
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Too Far from the Shops & Malls Not very close to Restaurants

    Good Location (especially for guests to Judson University) Excellent Staff Very Clean Room Great Breakfast Free Warm Tea & Coffee All day Very soft Bed Almost Smoking Free Environment !!! Etc

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was like a cloud😄 We love it. Very rasonable price The stuff was really kind. We got a little late for breakfast but the lady still offered us cereal and yogurts and juice the was really nice of her.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2016

    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The view

    Our air conditioning quit and our house was 90 deg. This hotel was clean, comfortable, and good breakfast. Didn't use the pool, but was one of the cleanest I've ever encountered

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilet was very slow in flushing. Also tv reception was below average.

    Bed was comfortable. Staff was very friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Minor gripe: water temperature is a little tricky to modulate in the shower

    Excellent breakfast options that include fresh fruit

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Invitingly clean rooms. Staff was excellent, even gave us tips on where the best places to eat. Thank you

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The parking lot is a little roly poly and had some areas in need of repair

    It's a great place, no complaints other than the parking lot

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    deodorizer in rooms was too strong.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • King Study with Sofa Bed - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Washer was out of service

    Extraordinarily helpful friendly staff. Clear about information, always willing to help!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very clean. The staff members were friendly.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Pillows too soft. There's no place to walk to nearby.

    Very clean and good-sized bathrooms.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was delicious and we enjoyed thank you so much

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Study with Sofa Bed - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was dirty and smelly

    Nothing....

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room - Disability and Hearing Accessible - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I am waiting for the invoice, they promised sent it via email, but it has not received

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • King Study with Sofa Bed - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    I am waiting for the invoice, they promised sent it via email, but it has not received

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small bathroom Toilet ran all night Noisy hallways--sports teams travelers Room had strange odor

    Breakfast food had good variety on different days

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unable to take drink to hot tub.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Microwave need to be change out didn't get food hot

    The rooms need to be updated

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice quite clean safe!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bobbie at the desk was awesome.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2016

    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could use lighter weight blanket already on the bed, even though they were available.

    Beds very comfortable

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The front desk found my husband's wallet and notified us! Whew!!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    They need a small microwave in the rooms.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much to complain about. Ice machine on our floor was out of service. No big deal; First World problem!

    Excellent breakfast. Eager-to-please staff.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, Everything was Great!!

    Breakfast Was Great!!Pool Was Nice and Everything was Keep Very Clean!! They also had Amazing Staff!!!!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was not impressed by this place.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a stain in carpet in front of the bathroom.

    Room was clean and comfortable

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Study with Sofa Bed - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was pretty poor. Coffee was tasteless.

    Bed was comfortable. Room and bathroom very clean.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds where OK, could of been better.

    Breakfast was great each morning. Rooms where clean.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room smelled stale. The internet was not that good.

    The pool!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was clean and well-maintained.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The front desk in the evening was not helpful or friendly as I am use to.

    The cleanliness of the room.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Disability and Hearing Accessible - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They kept messing up my billing whuch created a lot of stress for me.

    The staff

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good breakfast

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms smelled musty or excessive use of Fabreeze

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    So clean and quiet

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Too many young children unsupervised....running the halls and the elevator....wet floors in the lobby and the elevator due to the kids going in and out of the pool....staff could not keep up with the water on the floor!

    loved the room and the front desk staff were very friendly and helpful!

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2015

    • Solo traveller

    The location was terrible and I was stuck without a car there for a day due to family stuff so that was kinda my own fault !

    It was very clean and comfortable and quiet and the staff were very nice ! The room was warm and had a great powerful shower with lots of hot water !

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    • Family with young children

    We booked this hotel because it had a pool. When we arrived we were informed that the pool wasn't available because they were refurbishing it. They didn't even offer any discount on our rooms for the inconvenience! Which I had booked 3 rooms @ 185.13 a night for 2 nights. Couldn't cancel because there was a $168.30 fee per room! It stated on the reservation confirmation that the pool would be closed through May 31,2015 for maintenance. Our reservations were for August 14&15, 2015! My family was not very happy!

    Location was good. Breakfast was fine.

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Staff was very helpful and friendly. Breakfast had different choices each day which was nice (the staples stayed the same). Room was large, clean and comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Pool was closed for renovation.

    Beds were comfortable! Extra outlets for phones and computer devices. Breakfast was good. Coffee was available 24 hours!

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The pool was being repaired, so it was a bummer that was closed.

    The hotel is easy to get to; the staff is friendly, welcoming & efficient; rooms & beds clean and comfortable. A great stay for our whole family!

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    As stated above, the breakfast was substandard compared to other hotels at the same pricepoint. Watered down juices, lack of a variety of fresh fruit, made the health concious guest feel like going outside the hotel for breakfast even though the breakfast was free.

    Comfort of the bed, softness of the towels (thank you!) and excellent location

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    We came to the Hampton Inn after going through a horrible experience at the Lexington Inn & Suites. They were very accommodating and we actually booked our trip on the way to the Hampton Inn on booking.com. It was clean, the beds were comfy, and there was a nice spread at the free breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2015

    • Family with young children

    No playpens in hotel? Or at least what we were told and we called to verify they would have one for us.. Lousy customer service :(

    The beds were wonderful as usual

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2016

    • Solo traveller

    Chair at desk full of stains.

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was clean and comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Comfortable beds, great shower, good free breakfast,friendly staff,great value.

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Staff very friendly

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    friendly staff Good breakfast

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Hampton is always consistent. clean room ,good service, free brakfast

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    good located on I-90

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    They will not give you an invoice if you booked through Booking.com

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    New carpets in room would be nice

    Breakfast lady was very nice and friendly.

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2015

    • Family with older children

    No pool for the price

    Computer room and breakfast was good

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Noisy halls

    Comfortable rooms Breakfast

There are also 36 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 71

Guests also reviewed these properties: