Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hampton Inn Des Moines-Airport 3 stars

5001 Fleur Drive, Des Moines, IA 50321, USA

#14 of 30 hotels in Des Moines

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 96 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 61

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    7.5
    Was pleasent
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rang prior to arrival and was told once we had our luggage to ring and shuttle would pick us up. We rang a couple of times and no answer so had to get a taxi. Had sent two messages prior about arrival time but had no responce. On arrival was informed phone had not rung. This was a very late flight still no excuse not to respond.

    Close to airport and rooms were to a good standard

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    10
    Shuttle service was a great plus, cookies in the afternoon...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shuttle service was a great plus, cookies in the afternoon awesome treat and was able to get a late check out for noon with no problem. I was going to stay at Days Inn right behind the Hampton and was so glad I made the upgrade. What really changed my mind was the fact your the only one with outdoor pool and I enjoyed laying poolside all day Sat!! I have to admit it was a little out of my price range but in the end really was a pleasant stay!! Thank you!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    2.5
    Nothing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Worst customer service

    Nothing. We purchased a king room and they gave us a queen room! We went and complained and they said they didn’t have any king rooms because they were over sold! The manager didn’t even say sorry or seem remorseful! When we asked him why they were oversold, he said that’s a common practice by all hotels. The worst customer service I’ve ever receive from a hotel staff!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    7.9
    the room is clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room with Chaise Lounge - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    the WIFI is slow and super inconvenient. You have to join the Hilton member to get WIFI service, which is quite slow and unstable.

    the room is clean. the bed is comfy.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    10
    Short but sweet!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were traveling to the airport for a holiday trip. We used the shuttle to and from the airport and were very happy with the convenience this provided us. We have stayed here in the past and would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    7.1
    The convenience of parking and flying was great. They were very prompt at taking us to the airport a
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room could have been a little cleaner. We saw a toe nail clipping on the bathroom floor. The room and hallway looked older and could use some updating especially for the price we paid.

    Breakfast was great

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    10
    Great Des Moines Shopping trip with the girls!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Beds were so comfortable a good night's sleep was a given! Even though we were next to the airport and could almost see the passengers in the planes as the plane was approaching the runway their noise was hardly heard.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    9.2
    After we got the new room it was a very pleasant stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we got our room it had an odor coming out of the air conditioner so we tried the heat and the smoke detector went off. I went down to the office and they were more than happy to switch us to another room!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    9.2
    Great stay, but don't ask for a receipt.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Couldn't change method of payment when I got there and then couldn't get a receipt. Booking's Website said I could "pay when I stay" but I was told that wasn't true when I arrived. When I asked for a receipt so I could get reimbursed, was told by the hotel that they didn't have access to the amount I paid, and booking has a pre stay confirmation but nothing post stay. Probably won't stay here again because of this hassle, and if I do, I won't do it with Booking.com.

    Breakfast and the rooms were great. Staff was friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    7.5
    We would not hesitate to stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Ice machine near our room on the 2nd floor was unplugged. No out of order signs.. I just went up to the 3rd floor and got some.

    Breakfast was good , rooms were nice.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    9.2
    Surprisingly, the western egg omelet was delicious.
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room with 2 queen beds was crowded as there wasn't much room to get around at the foot of the beds as rooms at other hotels with the same accommodations. Very minor and something I see more often than not, there was no exhaust fan in the bathroom.

    Surprisingly, the western egg omelet was delicious. Cudos to the chef. The continental breakfast was more than we bargained for. Offered were: Dry cereal, Oatmeal (with variety of toppings), fruit (apples, oranges, bananas, pineapple, melon) muffins, bagels, pastries, bread for toast, waffles, omelets, bacon and boiled eggs along with yogurt. Drinks included Milk, fruit juices and coffee. Very good continental breakfast!!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2017

    7.1
    Good and comfortable place which is pretty much close to Des...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    It s been awkward that I can not get receipt just because I booked the room from booking.com.

    Good and comfortable place which is pretty much close to Des Moines International Airport, 24 hours shuffle bus. People are nice! Impressive!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    7.1
    Charged me two prices- jacking up Saturday night cost.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Charged me two prices- jacking up Saturday night cost.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    10
    It was clean and quite!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was clean and quite! Nice beds.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    10
    very comfortable and relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Full Size Bed and Bath Tub - Disability Access
    • Stayed 2 nights

    good breakfast, friendly staff

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    9.2
    A great hampton stay as expected.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was next to the airport and kinda out of the way for out trip through town, but not bad.

    I prefer to stay in Hamptons, always great hotels.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    9.6
    Very comfortable stay. I enjoyed my time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wish there was an indoor pool or the outdoor pool was open.

    Room was comfortable, but a bit tight. Good breakfast and times.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    7.5
    Breakfast was amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was amazing

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    9.6
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Chaise Lounge - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were directly across from the elevator. It was extremely noisy.

    Location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    10
    The ckeanliness & it is close to the airport.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The ckeanliness & it is close to the airport.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    9.2
    I really liked breakfast and the room was very clean
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room with Chaise Lounge - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was the worse I have ever slept on.

    I really liked breakfast and the room was very clean

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    8.3
    There was an issue with an overflow toilet in the am.
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was an issue with an overflow toilet in the am. The staff took prompt care of the situation

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    10
    Staff was very friendly and helpful.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff was very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    10
    We where greeting with kind happy employees who where very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We love the free coffee at 3am the airport shuttle.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    10
    Will stay there again if given the opportunity. Thank you!
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Building layout is a little odd - location of elevators, stairway exits.

    Staff was very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    7.1
    Ok.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The building works and no notification that they were taking place.

    The room.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    10
    AmaZing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The man working at the desk was very kind!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    10
    Great Hotel!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    I loved this hotel! They were exceptional on all levels!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    10
    Worth the money
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were friendly and the beds were a dream to sleep on.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    10
    Staff was friendly and they took care of us
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was friendly and they took care of us

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    7.1
    Convenient but not Hampton standards.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Property needs updating. Window air conditioner sounded like a Idling Diesel Truck. Noisy all night long. Hard to sleep.

    Breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    9.6
    Unable to connect my laptop to the internet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unable to connect my laptop to the internet. Staff unable to help.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    7.5
    Nice place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needs more premium channels like HBO cinemax not just one HBO

    Breakfast was excellent could have stayed there all morning just munching on things

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    10
    Front desk was very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Front desk was very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    9.2
    Nice clean rooms, comfortable beds.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room with Chaise Lounge - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    very clean and up to date rooms. Comfortable bed. Friendly staff

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    10
    The beds are AMAZING!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds are AMAZING!!!!!would love one at my home☺

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    7.9
    Great place and needs some improvements and upgrades
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a little small. Not much walking space. Closet space was limited

    Breakfast and to go bags.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2016

    9.2
    Will stay again if we are in the area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were at the Event Center, location was a bit far away but worth the drive.

    Beds comfortable, rooms quiet, staff very pleasant.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    5.8
    Very nice staff.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise level of having a room right by the front door

    Very nice staff. attentive and willing to help

    Stayed in November 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    10
    The staff was amazing and the rooms were great as well!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Booking.com raised the price without me knowing, costing me $17 extra dollars. That was the only issue with the trip.

    The staff was amazing and the rooms were great as well!

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2016

    5.4
    The waffles and the friendliness of the house keeping staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We got stuck on the elevator, when we mentioned it to the staff, they said it was just another bad day at the Hamptons, they knew the elevator was out if order, but they didn't feel it was important to inform the guests.

    The waffles and the friendliness of the house keeping staff

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2016

    4.2
    I was there Friday to Sunday.
    • Solo traveller

    I was there Friday to Sunday. The room was not cleaned Saturday even though I was out of it 9:30am to 4:30 pm. At 9am Sunday morning, a maid knocked on my door and asked me when I was going to leave.

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2016

    6.7
    the eggs were like rubber.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    T h e e l e v a t o r i s s o s l o w .

    the eggs were like rubber. I normally sleep on a therapedic matress, your are never going to compete with that. But what you have is fine.

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2015

    7.5
    Room was clean and quiet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Bathroom vanity was a little shabby, in need of refinishing. Breakfast was OK but hot food was not hot.

    Room was clean and quiet. Beds were comfortable, plenty of towels and wash cloths

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2015

    5.8
    Well kept.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The front desk person entered our credit info but we got a note under the door saying they didn't have it and wouldn't take it over the phone. No fridge or microwave. We were bragged to about how wonderful breakfast is but we were very disappointed with it. We didn't bother with it the second day.

    Well kept. Clean.

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2015

    7.9
    Room was spotless.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    See comments above about halls. Also the maintenance employee (male) tied up the computer which is meant for guest. Plus only one of the two computers were working.

    Room was spotless. One of the better breakfast offering as compared to most.

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2015

    10
    All of the staff are friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    All of the staff are friendly and helpful. Many remembered us from previous visits. Manager Nathan Bush is an encyclopedia of knowledge about the area and extremely professional - the Hampton Inn Des Moines is lucky to have him!

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2015

    9.6
    We were flying out of Des Moines early and the weather was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    When we got there they told us they didn't have room for us to leave our car thete during our trip. So we had to drive to airport and pRk there.

    We were flying out of Des Moines early and the weather was bad do we decided to stat across from the airport. Great location.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    4.2
    Sheets were dirty and looked like roaches had been on them...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Sheets were dirty and looked like roaches had been on them even after we received new sheets

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2016

    7.5
    Nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nice

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2016

    7.9
    Breakfast
    • Family with young children

    Breakfast

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2016

    9.2
    3rd Floor OK But a lot under construction
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    3rd Floor OK But a lot under construction

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2015

    10
    Great hotel and staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Breakfast was sub par

    Great hotel and staff

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    10
    But, we were able to swim @ sleep inn across the street!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Pool was under repair

    But, we were able to swim @ sleep inn across the street!

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2015

    8.8
    Friendly staff, good & clean rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Friendly staff, good & clean rooms

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    7.5
    The breakfast was good and had a variety of foods.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The t.v. didn't work at that well.

    The breakfast was good and had a variety of foods.

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2015

    8.3
    Awesome shower in my room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Awesome shower in my room. I also liked the free popcorn and cookies.

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2015

    7.9
    Did not have a bad experience but the place 's interior...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Did not have a bad experience but the place 's interior could use a fresh coat of paint and new carpeting

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2015

    4.2
    The staff were good
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Small room, Internet is slow and not clean the room every day

    The staff were good

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2015

    7.1
    Location, wifi.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Room compact. Limited breakfast. Carpet was so old we didn't want to touch it.

    Location, wifi.

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2015

    10
    The staff was exceptionally friendly and especially the...
    • Couple

    The staff was exceptionally friendly and especially the breakfast staff. The receptionists were also very friendly.

There are also 47 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 61

Guests also reviewed these properties: