Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hampton Inn Dover 3 stars

9 Hotel Drive, Dover, NH 03820, USA

#2 of 7 hotels in Dover

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 99 hotel reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    9.2

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    9.1

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.8

  • Free WiFi

    9.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    8.3
    Excellent but too loud and too much polyester
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We dislike the linens used at some of the newer Hampton Inns and at the Hilton Garden Inns -- a microfiber that is not 100% cotton--that is uncomfortable and hot at night. Also, their didn't seem to be any insulation between floors or in the walls . . . really loud!

    Excellent breakfast, clean, digital thermostat was immediate and comfortable, staff friendly (but not all of them seemed to know the area very well)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    8.3
    A great location for my visit with my relatives, convenient...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was too soft and bothered my back. Everything else was good.

    A great location for my visit with my relatives, convenient location next to the highway. The breakfast bufet was very good.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    10
    I love the breakfasts!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything perfect !!

    I love the breakfasts! Especially the waffles! But there's everything you could want! You know what your getting with Hampton Inns, always nice staff, clean & comfortable! Plenty of parking available. Nice quiet side street. plenty of restaurants near by. Easy on/off to main highways for visiting nearby towns.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    6.7
    Probably won't be back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough pillows. Lights from entertainment center equipment shining in eyes when lying in bed. Not much for towels. Very expensive for the space and room amenities offered, compared to Hampton Inn we stayed at previous night.

    Easy to find.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    10
    Where to Stay in Dover NH
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was close to local shopping plus highways to other areas. The staff were very friendly and helpful in particular the manager Maureen. It was quiet at night considering how many people were there with kids. I was very relaxed during my stay and found something to do each day. There were a number of conveniences nearby and I had fun exploring.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    10
    Everything was wonderful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hot foods at Breakfast could have been better but it's not too bad.

    Everything was wonderful. I love the updates made to the hotel...very modern, clean and comfortable!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    10
    Clean, family, freindly, comfortable You should stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    You should offer plain yogurt and you should have bacon every day with your breakfast not just some days. That was a hug bummer. But everything else was great

    I enjoy the breakfast, the atmosphere the pool it was a very friendly relaxing stay.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2017

    8.8
    Breakfast was terrible.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was terrible. Eggs were rubbery and links chewy and tasteles. Site said good breakfast and it was poor...this is one of the main reasons why I pick a hotel or not.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2016

    8.8
    Great stay fit the price!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    At night there were a lot of strange vibrating noises.Also,the shower took about 15 minutes to warm up in the morning!

    The location and the breakfast were great!!!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2016

    5.4
    Good place to stay for a night.
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Water was not hot enough for shower Less noise from Heat/AC unit No couch or second easy chair TV quality not very good.

    Room was clean and neat. Breakfast was good with a good selection

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2016

    8.3
    Reasonable hotel for the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast tended to be hit and miss...One day it was very good whilst the next day it could have been better.

    Great swimming pool and fitness center..Very comfortable beds in modern room.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2016

    9.6
    Staff was very friendly!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little more selection for breakfast, husband didn't eat doesn't like kielbasa. The kids loved the waffles!

    Staff was very friendly! Room very clean.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    10
    The breakfast was delicious every morning.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool has way to much chlorine in it. You shouldn't walk into the pool area and feel your eyes and lungs burning from chlorine fumes.

    The breakfast was delicious every morning. All the staff was very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2016

    10
    A very nice time
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately we were put next to a room with a young child who had parents who didn't care about the child being LOUD. I asked to be moved and the staff was very helpful in moving us to another room. That made me very happy😀

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    9.6
    excellent place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    there could be more selections for the continental breakfast, like bacon or ham slices with the eggs or homefried potatoes.

    the room was bigger than expected. Bed was very comfy and very clean!!! Room was quiet.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2016

    9.6
    Very good hotel for a one-day-stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Booking didn't work properly, booking reservation was unknown, we had to wait for an hour until the acomodtion was cear

    Nice and friendly hotel, well equipped with furnitures, good aiscondition without disturbances during the night

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    10
    breakfast, room readyness
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    breakfast, room readyness

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    9.6
    Super helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Super helpful staff. Very accommodating. Nice breakfast with plenty of choice. Spotless room and common areas. Indoor pool.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    8.8
    The king size bed was awesome!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The king size bed was awesome! I like that it was facing the windows.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    10
    Excellent
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Good

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    10
    everything was excellent, the breakfast was very good, good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    everything was excellent, the breakfast was very good, good verity, we also enjoyed the pool.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    10
    Bedding and mattress were very comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Pillows were not big enough for the bed and were a little uncomfortable.

    Bedding and mattress were very comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    9.2
    breakfast was good
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    bathtub in room

    breakfast was good

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    7.5
    No hot water.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hot water. Ran the water for 15 minutes and it was luke warm.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    9.2
    Wonderful
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were some technical problems with the hot water in the room more than once but they took care of it immediately upon being notified

    Everything

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    10
    The eggs were great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Disability Access/Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The eggs were great. The whole time there great a experience

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    8.3
    The pool, breakfast variety,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The potatoes were cold

    The pool, breakfast variety,

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    10
    Really good breakfast and coffee.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room - Disability Access/Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really good breakfast and coffee.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    10
    Great place to stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Could use different breakfast options

    It was clean, comfortable and very quiet. The staff is very helpful with any needs/questions.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    8.3
    Delightful but unexpecting
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked a king size bed and ended up with 2 doubles

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    10
    Friendly staff clean rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff clean rooms

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    5.8
    disapointed
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the pool was not available either evening or the following morning very dissapointing

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    10
    Wonderful and relaxing trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Jen at the front desk was awesome. Very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    10
    Great
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    The beds were very comfortable, the breakfast was great, the staff was very friendly, especially the breakfast crew.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    10
    Wonderful place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly check in staff

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    5.8
    Limited selection with breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Limited selection with breakfast. Ran out of coffee.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    10
    Great overnight stay! Definitely recommend!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed and comforter was great! Also staff was super friendly

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    8.8
    Coffee was available in the lobby all day long.
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Coffee was available in the lobby all day long. Cookies were available in the afternoon.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2017

    10
    would stay here again
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    wish there were more buns available for breakfast.

    room was quiet, although there was a sizeable gap between the door and doorjam.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2017

    10
    personable staff, friendly and attentive
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    personable staff, friendly and attentive

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2017

    10
    Staff was very kind and helpful very relaxing stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing all was good

    Staff was very kind and helpful very relaxing stay

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2017

    10
    A++ Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Couldn't stay longer!

    Best beds I've slept in that are at hotels. Staff was great, very clean, and breakfast was great too.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2017

    10
    Excellent hotel for the price. I saw the other hotel my friends were at for the same price.
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very clean hotel with friendly hotel staff. Great location, easy access to restaurants and shops.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2016

    9.6
    Clean rooms and quiet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean rooms and quiet. Great breakfast

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2016

    10
    Breakfast was good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was good

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    10
    Having a hot cup of coffee was wonderful after a long ride!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was clean and the beds were comfortable. The breakfast was great, and the woman running the kitchen made sure everything was fresh.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    10
    It was very clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No concerns

    It was very clean. Staff was excellent

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2016

    9.2
    Comfortable and convenient
    • Family with older children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool area needed better ventilation...with heat and amount of chlorine, it was oppressive.

    Clean! Staff very helpful, professional, and friendly.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2016

    7.5
    Great for a short stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    10pm quiet time does not apply to lobby full of kids at 11:45pm

    Clean comfy beds!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2016

    7.9
    Location
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wi fi was horrible

    Location

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2016

    10
    As a business traveler, I always compare cost when booking.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    As a business traveler, I always compare cost when booking. In my experience, Hampton always provides a superior choice for the money. The amenities are great and the hotels are always well maintained. The beds and linens are always comfortable for a good night's sleep and the bathrooms are always well laid out.

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2016

    9.6
    Breakfast buffet was good and they made sure we had a room...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    It took quite a while for my reservation made via Booking.com to show up so I spent some time at the front desk, waiting for them to find my reservation.

    Breakfast buffet was good and they made sure we had a room located away from other guests as we'd just traveled across the country and were in need of some peace and quiet.

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2016

    9.6
    Very clean!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    They closed pool for maintenance for the whole day, so missed our chance to use it.

    Very clean! Our request for late check out was accepted. Great breakfast! Great location - several restaurants in walking distance.

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2016

    8.8
    My daughter and I do girls night three or four times in the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Keep up the good work!

    My daughter and I do girls night three or four times in the winter. We are local, and have many hotels to choose from,but this is our favorite by far. The staff is amazing, and I have never been disappointed! Thank you for making our stay perfect!

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2015

    9.2
    When we told staff about dirty bathroom it was cleaned...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Shower had hair in it. Confusion at checkout with bill. Had to call front desk to order movie.

    When we told staff about dirty bathroom it was cleaned immediately.

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2015

    10
    The breakfast was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The breakfast was great. Lots of choices. Fresh fruit. The hotel was very nicely decorated. Up to date. Very clean. The kids enjoyed the pool. We loved the little messages displayed around the hotel. They made us feel welcomed.

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2015

    9.6
    The room was clean with no odor.
    • Family with young children

    This is no way an actual negative remark for this hotel. Only an observation/comment/opinion. Hotels should all have night lights in the bathroom. Or led floor lighting to light your way there. The room was pitch black and the bathroom light was on a motion sensor, so it couldn't be left on. I get wanting to curb the energy useage, but the offer a nightlight would've been great. I typically travel with one, but was in a hurry and forgot it on this trip.

    The room was clean with no odor. The bed was comfortable. The staff was very friendly. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2015

    7.5
    Being on the first floor in the hallway near the pool and...
    • Solo traveller

    Being on the first floor in the hallway near the pool and other pertinent "hotel" areas, all with heavy loud doors that slammed shut it was an extremely early wake up at 6AM as the morning got under way for the hotel. Couldn't believe the lack of respect for people in the nearby rooms.

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2015

    9.2
    The staff was very professional.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    I booked three rooms for my family but they were not together or even on the same floor.

    The staff was very professional. The Breakfast was very good also.

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2016

    10
    Staff was great beds were comfy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nothing place was great

    Staff was great beds were comfy. Nice hotel will be back for future softball tourneys

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2016

    8.3
    pool great loc.
    • Couple

    hot tub was too hot

    pool great loc.

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2016

    8.8
    Breakfast was very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Breakfast was very good.

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2016

    8.3
    Atmosphere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    No room service, door would not lock

    Atmosphere.

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2016

    10
    Breakfast and the fridge and microwave
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Breakfast and the fridge and microwave

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2015

    8.8
    Very clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    A little bit too much chlorine in the pool water

    Very clean. Very good amenities. Overall very good value for a money. Excellent for a family stay.

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2015

    9.2
    Breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Pool. Too much chlorine. My boys had an asthma attack.

    Breakfast!

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2015

    10
    Very clean and quiet .
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Very clean and quiet . Staff very friendly and helpful

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2015

    10
    Very comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I did not like the bathroom light coming on automatically!

    Very comfortable. Great staff and service. Very clean.

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2015

    9.6
    Peace and quiet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Hot tub was out of order

    Peace and quiet...

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2015

    7.9
    Friendly, value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    We thought the pool and jacuzzi could do with a clean

    Friendly, value for money

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2015

    8.8
    Bed ,Size of tv,end if bed bench.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    No tub.

    Bed ,Size of tv,end if bed bench.

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2015

    9.2
    a couple in the room next to us had a very heated argument...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    a couple in the room next to us had a very heated argument that lasted for hours!!! Quite scary actually!!!

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2015

    8.3
    Noisy people !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Noisy people !!

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    10
    Excellent Breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Excellent Breakfast

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2015

    9.6
    Very nice breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Very nice breakfast.

There are also 46 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: