Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hampton Inn Dover 3 stars

1568 North DuPont Highway, Dover, DE 19901, USA

#7 of 19 hotels in Dover

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 111 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    6.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 74

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    6.7
    It was ok but I’ve stayed at nicer Hampton Hotele before
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old tub that didn’t drain well and air conditioning unit so old it was very noisy.

    Breakfast area clean- lobby clean- room fairly nice ( newer carpet and tile in bathroom)

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    7.0
    Hotel is niece, with the exception of sliding the bathroom doors.
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    You must look into the bathroom doors. We could hardly move the bathroom door without hurting my shoulder. I did tell the manager, but he said "all of the bathroom doors are hard to move in every room".

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    9.2
    Room was clean and bed was super comfortable
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room had a weird odor to it. An area of the carpet was wet too. Don’t know if the smell was from the carpet or not. Also, mini fridge and some lights weren’t plugged in. And there was no microwave in the room available.

    Room was clean and bed was super comfortable

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    10
    Definitely come back again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    it was all good!

    Front desk was wonderful, very comfy beds/pillows. My husband used the exercise room, clean and good, well maintained equipment. Breakfast was excellent and the woman working there was attentive and kept the area immaculate!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    7.1
    Facility was fine. Either booking.comm is screwed up or front desk staff were incompetent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I did not like that I had no payment options. I reserved two rooms one for friends they were able to check in early but not put the room on their card because it was through booking. Com If this is how all booking.com transactions work, I will be very selective in using your service. The web site said pay at the hotel. That was not true. Anyone could have checked in to the other room using my name.

    Food was good

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    5.0
    The location was great just the overall service was lousy.
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Better breakfast choices for all parties diets.The

    The manager additude when I told him my room wasn't clean and how my card was swept for several times.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    10
    A clean, peaceful, friendly place to stay while traveling with a small family. A+ for sure.
    • Family with young children
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Nothing! I have literally zero complaints.

    The breakfasts were tasty (and the breakfast lady was incredibly kind and friendly and helpful without being intrusive), the management was SUPER helpful, and it was nice and quiet and peaceful. It isn't always easy to travel with a small child, but I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again with mine.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    7.9
    Nice stay for the price and time that I had to be there.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    There could have been toilet paper in the bathroom.

    The location was conveniently located to where I was going. Room was tidy, bed comfortable amid the quiet atmosphere.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    10
    Very comfy bed and the bathroom was spotless.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very comfy bed and the bathroom was spotless. Quick check in, staff was amazing and breakfast was delicious. Yes the eggs were extra fluffy. Love Hampton Inn!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    8.8
    Nice get away!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No microwave in the room although a refrigerator was provided. This hotel allows Pets! I am not a pet owner and did not like passing the dogs in the halls and lobby!

    Delicious breakfast! Great location close to the mall and Dover Downs Casino.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    9.2
    Like this hotel/location, would stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room - Got requested corner room (1st floor in the back, according to front desk that was all they had) but intermittent outside noise (central air conditioner unit ?) on/off day/night was a nuisance Space allotted for closet inadequate, just curtains covering a shelf with a place for hangers under shelf. What happened to open door/sliding door closets! Poor led lighting under shelf Need a chair other than that under the desk

    Room - spacious, clean; comfy beds Breakfast - everything that I ate was good; plentiful Amenities - good

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    10
    My mom sister and i lived this hotel and plan to visit there again.
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I loved everything the bed the room the bathroom awesome, only thing I wish they had more cable channels and I would like to receive a receipt after checking out when I use booking.Com. Also the only other trouble was the confirmation numbers wasn't issued to the hotel but other than the EVERYTHING WAS WONDERFUL INCLUDING THE BREAKFAST.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    10
    Great stay in Dover
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn't anything I didn't like.

    Recently renovated. Clean, quiet and good food. I love the pictures. Very well thought out with necessity.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    9.6
    Apparently when the renovation was done in room 221 the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Apparently when the renovation was done in room 221 the hot/cold was reversed with no indication of same....had cold water for child's bath at night...questioned front desk in the morning and he informed me...also said the night man was new and did not know about the glitch which would involve tearing out a wall to repair....i understand that would be costly but you are running a risk of a bigger problem in the event someone were burned accidentally ...I was comped however for my inconvenience. Overall good experience

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2017

    3.8
    They put me in the section where they were doing construction on the outside exterior- it was too lo
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    They put me in the section where they were doing construction on the outside exterior- it was too loud. I had a late night and it woke me up. There were a couple of bad stains on the carpet in the room. The toilet moved every time we used it. They could have put me in a better room-but maybe they didn't have one. This was the worst Hampton I have stayed in- hence the renovations???

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2016

    6.7
    Oops
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No valid reservation.

    The didn't have my reservation. You screwed up. The reservation number you gave them was not valid in their system and I had to book a room 8 miles away. They had no spare room available.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2016

    8.3
    Comfy but staff is blah at check-in
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff at check in was neither friendly nor unfriendly rather blah. I had to ask which room, where elevator was, how breakfast worked, would I get a cash receipt the next morning (which I had to ask to get a print out the next morning anyway)

    Bed very comfy, clean and quiet

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2018

    10
    Very clean loved the layout of the room.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very clean loved the layout of the room. The bathroom sliding door was neat. I will be returning back next time I'm in Dover.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2018

    9.6
    Very nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice place and staff

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2018

    9.2
    Nice clean comfortable room.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decor and breakfast not quite up to stand I am used to from Hampton Inns.

    Nice clean comfortable room. Better priced than NYC area

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2018

    8.3
    Lovely clean room
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely clean room

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2018

    7.9
    The waffles & fruit
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The fact that their was no bacon or sausage with the breakfast

    The waffles & fruit

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    9.2
    It was a great place with a best location to dine and have fun around.
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was none

    The location and cleanness of the property

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    10
    Weekend Getaway Enjoyed
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great... staff, facilities and breakfast was even good. Would definitely go back and stay with them again as well.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    5.4
    All and all the hotel was clean and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The woman at the front desk could have been nicer.

    were is my receipt????

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    9.6
    Clean room, friendly staff, good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    Clean room, friendly staff, good location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    10
    Extra comfy beds, friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast could have more options

    Extra comfy beds, friendly staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    7.1
    Other than first question the property was good
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room could have been a little more tidier smell wide and blanket was a little dirty

    Other than first question the property was good

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    10
    Great night
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    No cookies

    comfy bed

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    7.1
    Ok
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool wasn't open, breakfast was terrible and the room was hot

    The room was nice

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    7.5
    Very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfasts was poor. Could have a better selection. Comparing to Marriott

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    10
    Pleasantly surprised by the decor
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    Room was spacious

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    10
    The breakfast was great I enjoyed my stay at this Hampton...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was great I enjoyed my stay at this Hampton Inn will go again

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    10
    Wonderful stay. Great staff. Needs a microwave added to amenities.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needs a microwave

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    10
    Room was comfortable and hotel looked like it was either new...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was comfortable and hotel looked like it was either new or recently remodeled. I was pleasantly surprised.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    8.8
    Overall it was pleasant stay and nice room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows where not comfortable.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    10
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No ventilation in bathroom

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    10
    Very pleasant overnighter!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Comfy bed, great price!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    10
    Location, cleanliness, entire staff very friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't show my reservation.

    Location, cleanliness, entire staff very friendly

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    8.3
    Ok once we got a room with heat.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Have heating working when it is in the teens outside.

    Heat did not work, had to change rooms!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    10
    An excellent place for multiple activities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Everything was good.

    Room comfortable. Near to shopping, movies, historic attractions, restaurants, casino. Refrigerator always a nice plus.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    10
    Good, will come again:-)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilet was loose from the floor. Very disconcerting!

    Very comfortable bed, spacious room

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    10
    Excellent Stay .. Nice, comfy beds
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was good. I wish they had cheese though:)

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    9.2
    Pleasant stop for tired travellers.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really.

    Particularly easy to find due to excellent directions. Breakfast most satisfactory.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    9.2
    The bed was so easy to sleep on
    • Group
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    i didnt like when late into Friday night a loud knocking at my door awoke me

    The bed was so easy to sleep on

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    7.5
    Good never agin thru booking.com
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booking.com the way they word stuff and how you have to pay them and not the hotel

    The pool and the room size

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    10
    The hotel was quiet, and the staff was very attentive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was quiet, and the staff was very attentive.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    7.5
    THe room was very comfortable and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    THe room was very comfortable and clean. THe lobby area was nice.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    7.9
    Clean and quiet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean and quiet

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    10
    Great breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great breakfast. The lady who took care of the breakfast was great. Location was perfect for our needs.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    7.5
    Convenient overnight stop
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Free Wifi worked, but slow.

    Restaurants nearby

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    7.9
    Great stay
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great stay

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    6.7
    It was a cozy spot
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room wasn't ready upon arrival.

    It was a cozy spot

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2017

    9.6
    There were NO teabags in the room;
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    There were NO teabags in the room; as a tea drinker (not a coffee drinker), I like a cup of tea in my room before bed.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    10
    I enjoyed everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything

    Everything was excellent

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    9.2
    didn't eat breakfast there
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    didn't eat breakfast there

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    7.5
    Nice stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 1 King Bed Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom sink was clogged, although was told they are renovating and all rooms will be redone.

    Close to the casino. Nice & quiet.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2016

    7.5
    Staff was good and helpful.
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was good and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2016

    7.5
    Camaraderie
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The breakfast wasn't good as it use to be. Plus we had a situation where our credit was charged before we arrived. We also paid cash for the room. The credit card declined and we had to pay 30 dollars fee.

    Camaraderie

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2016

    6.3
    The day staff I think his name was Mark very Kind.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Kind of out dated but really wasn't that clean. I wish it could have been cheaper.

    The day staff I think his name was Mark very Kind. Had situation with my bill my the night man kept telling me there was no charge when the Day staff saw a charge. He had to pull up something else. Had 2 charges on bills could resolve while there but they ended up fixing it later after he spoke to Manager I guess

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    5.8
    Housekeeping staff were great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    2 front desk staff members didn't even raise up their heads to say hello when we walked in any time. They deactivated our key card twice. No apologies from them. Body language of Samantha indicated that I was a real bother when I asked for the type of room that I had booked.

    Housekeeping staff were great.

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2015

    8.8
    The location was excellent because it was right down the...
    • Couple

    The location was excellent because it was right down the street from Delaware State University. It was also within a short distance to a variety of places to eat. The staff was very friendly and cordial.

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2016

    9.2
    The breakfast is an excellent plus
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    The breakfast is an excellent plus

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2016

    9.2
    friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    room was small

    friendly

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2016

    8.8
    Bed and pillows were so comfortable.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Location was a bit more removed, tricky to figure out where to turn in.

    Bed and pillows were so comfortable. Front desk was so helpful and friendly.

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2016

    7.1
    The staff wasn't helpful
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    The staff wasn't helpful

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2016

    9.6
    The pillows were like sleeping on pancakes
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The pillows were like sleeping on pancakes

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2016

    8.3
    Perfect location for what we were involved in for the weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Issues with the heater.

    Perfect location for what we were involved in for the weekend

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2015

    8.8
    Located near everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Located near everything

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2015

    10
    The room was very clean and the staff was helpful.
    • Couple

    That we could only stay the one night because of our work schedule

    The room was very clean and the staff was helpful. The breakfast was really nice

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    9.2
    The breakfast was nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No complaints!

    The breakfast was nice.

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    6.7
    location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    ice machine rattling outside my door all night

    location

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2015

    8.8
    Easy access to casino
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Guy at desk was grumpy..

    Easy access to casino

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2015

    10
    Great start-up beautiful room- delicious breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great start-up beautiful room- delicious breakfast!

There are also 51 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 74

Guests also reviewed these properties: