Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hampton Inn Jackson 3 stars

2225 Shirley Drive, Jackson, MI 49202, USA

#2 of 9 hotels in Jackson

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 101 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    9.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    They really seem to care about the quality of the breakfast. They greet you in a sincere and friendly way. They had MSNBC or CNN on their TV instead of FOX news.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    This was the most expensive stripped down hotel room we have stayed in in the last 20 years. It is the only hotel room we have stayed in that did NOT have a small refrigerator and a microwave. It was also the smallest room we have stayed in in years and we spend 8 nights a year in hotels. We had 2 nights in suites for $90 through Best Western. That was far better quality with larger rooms and higher degree of customer service. We use to stay in Hampton Inns but due to your price increases since joining Hylton we have looked elsewhere. We obviously were completely dissatisfied and won't be back.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel had a lot of hockey kids this weekend which we knew about since we were there for a tournament as well. The rooms were pretty quiet and the breakfast was great. The breakfast gal was very friendly and tried hard to please. The bed was very comfortable. We really liked having a nice comfortable chair in the room.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bottom of the pool was rough and made the children's feet ache and red.

    Our room was beautiful. The staff Tim and the housekeeping staff were excellent. Breakfast was more than expected. Something for everyone. Thank you very much for a great experience.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing I didn't like about was the bed they could be a little more comfortable I think they the beds are too firm other than that it was okay

    It was in a very quiet and nice place

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Just wish the eggs and meats at breakfast were actually cooked on site rather than being packaged items (likely frozen) that are heated up.

    Staff are hospitable, place is clean, quiet, just right for my needs/expectations. And get HH points adds to the delight of staying here.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    In the room description it said there is a fridge in the room. It wasn't there, but staff brought a small portable fridge upon request. Thank you!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Disability Access/Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Had a feeling that the pool needed to be shocked with chlorine. It had an odor. But I went in anyway.

    Bed and pillows were great. Excellent room for my 95 year old mother with walker - she could even take a safe bath.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When booking, app said there would be microwave and mini fridge. There were neither of these in the room. Very deceiving I thought.

    Breakfast was pretty good. Hostess was taking care of everything well.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was cold and we had to unplug the air conditioner to get it to shut off. The hotel seemed somewahat overpriced.

    The room was clean and comfortable. The staff was friendly.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool. It was so heavily chlorinated you could taste it and it was still dirty and greasy.

    The pool was gross. It smelled so bad that I could taste it.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Disability Access/Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The design of the bathroom door and how it opens makes it difficult for walker and wheelchair maneuvering. The purpose of our trip was to visit other elderly family members in that area.

    Had my elderly mom with me and used the handicapped accessible room.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The free wifi did NOT work after several attempts. Temperature of the room was never just right after several attempts to cook it down and warm it up.

    Nice pillows. Pool to ourselves!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was OK. But the bathroom seemed outdated, and the shower was not very good. Everything was dusty, there were stinkbugs or box elder bugs (however their name is spelled/ pronounced) and the bathroom was very disappointing. The water got clogged in the shower so we would literally be standing in a few inches of water by the end of the shower. The pool was OK but the chemicals used could be smelled beyond the entrance door of the hotel! It was almost too overwhelming.

    The breakfast was amazing as well as the lady who prepared it. She was the only one that I really notice take pride in what she does, smiled the entire time, approached us, and above all engaged with our children.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    • Couple
    • Non-Smoking King Study
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Elevator tiny...cleaning crew was certainly interesting..... One cup for drinks...vending water out Few towels

    Tim...desk man was superb!!! This man made an old place liveable for one might

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were too stiff for my liking. The room didn't have a mini fridge to keep drinks cold also there was no ice machine on my floor (the 2nd) only on the first and third.

    The free breakfast was very good. And the staff was friendly. Also the swimming pool was the perfect temperature.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    I had everything I needed. I don't have any negatives.

    The breakfast was excellent! I liked the mini omelets. The staff was extremely pleasant. The counter staff greeted me whenever I passed by and the cleaning staff and the breakfast are person were pleasant and very accommodating. I had a great stay and would recommend this location to anyone.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The clerk stated a compliant in regards to our music had been addressed. Although we'd just walked in the room I didn't care for his approach

    Nice and clean

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't like that we were not informed of the "incidental" charges that are billed to our account. It was explained after I called to ask why the charges appeared on my credit card. Need to know ahead.

    Very clean rooms. Bed was very comfortable. Breakfast was pretty good

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The grounds was what I had a problem with. I expected it to look a little bit better with the Hampton/Hilton name. I know it was Jackson, but I expected grass and weeds to be cut and it to look a little bit better on the upkeep with the name.

    Staff was excellent! Rooms were nice. We got there about 2 hours later than 3pm so the room that I paid for or what I bought into wasn't available.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Non-Smoking King Study
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was not very comfortable to sleep in. Sheets and comforter were fine, mattress was uncomfortable. Pillows also were not of good quality.

    Breakfast was good, cook was very friendly. No trouble checking in. Friendly staff. Nice size room. Clean looking rooms.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Disability Access/Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds were way to hard and lumpy

    Breakfast was hot

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No microwave or mini fridge in the room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toilet was a little wobbly.

    We weren’t in the hotel much, but it was pleasant.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My neighbor was pretty load had a birthday party for my daughter they woke the kids up

    It was clean and staff was friendly

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room did not come with a microwave, or a refrigerator, although they did come up with a spare refrigerator. The breakfast food was poor.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really, nothing could have been better. All was great!

    First, the staff was super nice. The bed was heavenly!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This place was wonderful after a horrible experience the night before at a hotel we wanted to stay in for 3 days this was a wonderful relief

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    No hot tub

    Very friendly staff

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool

    The beds

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was okay, but Hampton Inn does not make their property in any way special or memorable.

    Excellent front desk and breakfast room staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No refrigerator in room

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    • Family with young children
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No macro wave and refrigerator

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows are too fat

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Workout facility, tv was blurry.

    Bed was comfy, workout facility wasnt whay i expected food was awesome.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Inconsistent quality of "hot dish" breakfast feature. Bed too hard and I usually like it that way.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Price was too high! no other choice

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel charged us wrong amount but thanks to booking . Com it was credited.

    Bed very comfortable

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived quite late after miserable traffic. Claudine at the front desk so genuine and kind. I want to acknowledge her hard work. She rocks!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We had to leave a day early due to illness. Checked out well after check-out time, no problem and no extra day charge.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The indoor pool was cold

    The beds were so comfortable and the breakfast was delicious!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fake breakfast

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only issue was broken card reader at the external door nearest our room. Everything else was fine.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    small pool, no towels in pool area, pool needed vacuuming

    comfortable room accommodations

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    no fridge in the room

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hotub

    Pillows were soft and fluffy good location to everything

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to unplug the toilet myself 2 times. Pool is dirty and stained on rhe edges,

    Clean tub

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Disability Access/Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Heavy comforter on bed. Used the blanket that was in the closet.

    Staff very friendly

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great!

    The staff was very friendly and helpful. The bed was comfortable and the room was clean.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Staff were exceptional. Everyone of them.. A pleasure to be there over Thanksgiving.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Disability Access/Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great! No complaints

    The breakfast Lady was great! Very helpful and friendly!!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Non-Smoking King Study
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Need a weekly rate

    Great breakfast

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    • Family with young children
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No dislikes:-)

    Room service was great and breakfast. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Non-Smoking King Study
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could use a light weight blanket on the bed. The comforter was very nice but too heavy and warm for summer.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Driveway easy to miss due to multiple driveways in vicinity and hotel is set way back from road.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The cost is always more than I would like to pay. I do not agree with allowing pets in the hotel. A women walked into the breakfast area with a good size dog. We got up and left.

    The staff was very helpful with directions and always had a smile on their face. The breakfast choices were diverse and the server was very friendly and attentive.

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2015

    • Couple

    This hotel was very old and worn. Their was an odor when we entered the hotel(similar to mildew) the room itself had been sprayed with a strong perfume of some sort. If it had not been so late we would have requested another room. The bed's which are traditionally excellent was not very comfortable. This hotel was also expensive for the quality of what was received.

    Breakfast was good

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Room wasn't ready an hour after check in. Front desk offered a different room. I was put in a room with construction outside my window. Needed to get some work done before dinner. It was nearly impossible.

    Bed and linens. Always perfect.

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Horrible experience with the staff from the moment I walked in there. Trouble with paying and they did not resolve it right away as they should have. It could have been much simpler

    Beautiful room

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2016

    • Couple

    No microwave and refrigerator in rooms.

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2016

    • Family with young children

    Breakfast was great, kids enjoyed the pool. Room was comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Nothing everything was great

    Our room was nice and clean, the bed was so soft and fluffy, and the staff were all nice and friendly.

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I liked everything

    Yes

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The refrigerator was to loud. The bathroom had no night light.

    Everything was good. We liked the morning breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Needed more pillows

    Staff was helpful and friendly

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2016

    • Couple

    clean and very quite

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2015

    • Family with older children

    Room was clean, comfortable and quiet. The beds were wonderful! Best hotel experience I've had in a long time. Thanks!

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The beds are fantastic. The staff were full of smiles everyday of my stay

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lovely staff very professional especially housekeeping very nice lady

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    No fridge in the room.

    All facilities you need are there in the hotel.

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    remodeling

    location

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No meat on the breakfast food line,like they offer in Fl.

    The staff was great, very nice, asked if we needed anything. Ect.

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Nothing

    Location, food, service mindned staff

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Nothing

    Clean room with all facilities. Good breakfast and good location,

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I did not have any complaints

    The room was clean and hotel staff friendly

There are also 43 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: