Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of Hampton Inn Kansas City Village West This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

1400 Village West Parkway, Kansas City, KS 66111, United States of America

#5 of 13 hotels in Kansas City

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 69 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 44

  • Reviewed: May 14, 2018

    9.6
    4.8 STARS
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    We came for the Nascar race and the room was 365.00 plus tax. Just thought pricey but I guess all the hotels were charging high rates for the event weekend. Breakfast was so so. Biscuits and Gravy would of been good.

    Room was clean, staff was friendly, always smiling and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 2, 2018

    7.9
    Our carpet in our room was the replaceable squats.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Our carpet in our room was the replaceable squats. They were all moved causing gaps and were sticky. The tile in the room entry was broken and had sharp chips missing.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 17, 2018

    7.5
    It was okay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wasn't a dresser to put clothes in. Bathtub needed repair.

    Liked the room, very roomy. Chairs in the room were very comfortable. Room was very clean also.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 7, 2018

    8.3
    Overall stay was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We traveled to KC for an annual Easter event. We missed the family breakfast because the elevator was out of order. My daughter was handicapped and in a wheelchair and we weren't able to take the stairs. We were in a handicapped room and we had no draws to place our person belongings. I also thought we would have had a walk in shower but you had to get into the bath tub to shower but the shower was equipped with the hand shower sprays. There was some part lying on the floor we assumed went over the tub or something but we didn't understand how to use. We probably could have called and someone could have showed us how to use the equipment, therefore, I won't count this against the hotel.

    The breakfast was very good. Being able to have fresh coffee 24/7 was great. Enjoyed having the refrigerator, and microwave in the room. Free wifi was great! We had no problem resting and the beds were very comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: February 26, 2018

    10
    Hampton Inn is the first place I Look to anytime I travel to stand. We're doing the hotel business r
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The breakfast left a little to be desired. The oatmeal the gravy what kind of runny. It may have been on my particular day but there was no bacon or sausage

    Your property is great the staff was extra friendly it was clean the fireplace was a nice touch. The room was clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: July 13, 2017

    10
    Home away from home
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel was nice & clean. Accomodations & decorations make you feel at home. Ms. Carolyn always greeted us with a smile @ breakfast. She was very helpful & freindly. My lil ones enjoyed talking with her every morning.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: June 19, 2017

    9.6
    We were there for a concert at Providence Amphitheater for a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I didn't like that breakfast wasn't served later. 10 am is early to end but, especially on a Sunday. I also think 6am is very early to start. I think it should start at 7 and end at 11. On Sunday's it should last until noon. Even if the start time can't change, the ending time definitely needs to change.

    We were there for a concert at Providence Amphitheater for a concert. So, the location was excellent and the surrounding area had a lot to offer. A storm moved in so, the concert was cancelled but, we were able to go to a nice restaurant in the Legends that was less than 5 min away from the hotel. I also liked the renovations that were done last year.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 12, 2017

    7.9
    Clean and friendly place to stay that is convenient to everything Legends has to offer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Disability Access/Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had two young children with us. We were put on the top floor. Someone complained saying our children were running and screaming. The front desk called to let us know. The clerk who called was very kind and only doing her job. However, our children had not been jumping on the floor or screaming. They had been walking around and talking like children do. My concern was that maybe the hotel should have put us on a lower floor to accommodate for any extra noise the children might make.

    The receptionist at check in was very friendly and helpful. The pool area was clean, neat, and had ample towels. The beds seemed to be clean and were comfortable. The location was perfect for visiting Legends. We went to World's of Fun and Oceans of Fun and it was an easy drive to get there and back.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: May 23, 2017

    5.4
    Wish I would've stayed at great Wolfe lodge across the street, it's cheaper and you get free passes to a giant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Cost, you can only turn right to leave the property. Pool & fitness center were ridiculously small. Chlorine smell hit you like a ton of bricks when you walk in the doors.

    The wall paper was pretty, had a Good view of fireworks that night. The staff was very friendly.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 22, 2017

    7.1
    The kids enjoyed the pool.
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hot water for the shower did'nt stay hot when taking a shower later in the morning. The pool did have a lot of chloriene. The breakfast wasn't very satisfying. Anything with the eggs was terrible, and the sasuage did'nt really have a taste. For the money the breakfast could have been a lot better if that's a reason to choose this hotel.

    The kids enjoyed the pool. The staff seemed nice, friendly, and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: April 13, 2017

    8.3
    Booking.com Reservation Not Made! - Hotel Staff Saves the Day
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Booked on Booking.com, when my family arrived at the location, we did not have a reservation and the hotel was full. I called Booking.com support and was never able to reach anyone. I sent an Email and finally got a response the next day. Luckily the hotel staff was able to find an accessible room for us and all worked out, no thanks to Booking.com

    Staff was very helpful. They found a room for us even when the hotel did not have our Booking.com reservation (even though I had a confirmation number and everything).

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: January 3, 2017

    7.9
    Wonderful place but everything water related was a fail
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Toilet didn't flush well Shower didn't drain well Swimming pool was to cold for us to enjoy which was our main reason for choosing Hampton.

    Staff was very friendly Room was clean and seemed updated Comfy bed and pillows Great price for New Years eve

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: November 7, 2016

    9.6
    Nice place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The only thing we did not like is the walls are paper thin and you could literally hear every word the people in the next room were saying as if you were in the same room. Listening to a person use the restroom was not appealing at all. Please make sure you put enough insulation in the walls on your next build.

    Rooms were clean & spacious. Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: October 25, 2016

    5.8
    Location, staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was in some disrepair. Base board was hanging off wall in bathroom, and you could see where it is lose in other areas, toilet "rocked", tub didn't drain fully. Mostly minor stuff, but also should be an easy fix.

    Location, staff.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: October 17, 2016

    9.2
    Great stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Counter person at check in appeared like she was not getting payed to work there. At check out the lady was nice and courteous, asked how was everything.

    Clean and comfortable! Good and varied breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: October 8, 2016

    7.5
    Nice room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Did not receive my credit card receipt when checking out. They said that because I booked the room with booking.com they couldn't print me a receipt showing the rate I paid.

    Nice room.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: July 25, 2016

    9.6
    Location, location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A little pricey, but kind of expected due to location.

    Everything was wonderful at this hotel. We had a problem at check-in when they didn't have a sleeper sofa/extra bed like we requested in our booking.com reservation. A manager stepped in and resolved the issue. One of the other staff members also went out of their way to assist us with laundry. This hotel is very clean and comfortable. It is right in the middle of tons of shopping, restaurants and entertainment.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: July 20, 2018

    10
    Close to Sporting Park!
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    N/A

    Close to Sporting Park!!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 8, 2018

    7.5
    Nice but overpriced
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I think it is over priced

    Clean And friendly

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: June 11, 2018

    9.6
    Close to shopping and restaurants
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The elevator had an uncomfortable noise!

    Close to shopping and restaurants

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: May 22, 2018

    10
    The perfect weekend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Perfect

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: March 25, 2018

    7.5
    Location was great
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Needs some updates

    Location was great

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 11, 2018

    8.8
    😍
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Disability Access/Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing was wrong

    It was. So clean

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: February 12, 2018

    3.3
    It was a room to sleep in. To drive back home in a.m
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Disability Access/Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Front desk calling my room at 945pm after I drove 18hr to check on my room. Bath tub did not drain and bathroom door would not close .

    Sleep

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: October 24, 2017

    10
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No hot tub or sauna

    Great location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 16, 2017

    10
    Excellent Stay in KC!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Great location, staff, everything was awesome!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 16, 2017

    9.2
    The staff was super friendly and accommodating.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staff was super friendly and accommodating. The breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: July 12, 2017

    9.6
    It was great. And the room was clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    House keeping were a little grouchy.

    (Clean) Good food.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 9, 2017

    7.1
    Clean, comfortable, and next to shopping, dining, and events
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Clean, comfortable, and next to shopping, dining, and events

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 2, 2017

    9.6
    Great hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Pool area was super tight and confined

    Very well stocked breakfast

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: June 19, 2017

    7.1
    Comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms could have been a little cleaner. They just seemed a little "wore out" chipping paint, doors seemed dirty.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: April 24, 2017

    10
    Bed/pillows were comfy, room was very clean and smelled...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The water to take a shower wasn't very hot

    Bed/pillows were comfy, room was very clean and smelled amazing

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 17, 2017

    10
    Wonderful place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Beds were very comfortable. Food was very good.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: January 21, 2017

    6.7
    Location for my trip.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Could not regulate room temp, too hot to sleep.

    Location for my trip.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They're no longer included in the property's overall review score, but they might still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: May 10, 2016

    8.8
    The staff very nice and kind and helpful, hotel was very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Would be so nice to have chairs to sit on out front , this is something that can be done now. no grill for cooking out or sit area in the back. Breakfast.. more choice in hot food and fruit please. The pillows should be normal size, and a Hot tub would be nice in the pool area.

    The staff very nice and kind and helpful, hotel was very clean, as was our rooms. Plenty of parking. Pool was very nice as was having towels for swimming. Breakfast was ok.

  • Reviewed: August 6, 2015

    8.3
    Location was a priority and your location was exelent, near...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    There where 4 adults on my party therefore I was expecting at least 4 shower towels, but housekeeping left only 3.

    Location was a priority and your location was exelent, near the shoping mall and across the soccer stadium since our main reason for our visit was the soccer match.

  • Reviewed: April 14, 2015

    9.6
    My fiancé and I with some friends stayed there for our...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    My fiancé and I with some friends stayed there for our bachelor/bachelorette party, because we were going to the Sporting KC game. Since the hotel was right next to the stadium they let us tailgate in their back parking lot so we didn't have to deal with driving to the stadium parking lot a mile away, they were very nice and if we needed something we forgot they had it for us. Also, since I booked rooms a 2 different times the rooms weren't together but when we got there they moved the rooms so we could at least be in the same section on the same floor. They went above and beyond what they needed to do, which made the weekend much more relaxing.

  • Reviewed: May 24, 2016

    10
    Beds where very comfortable and staff was amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    N/A

    Beds where very comfortable and staff was amazing.

  • Reviewed: April 4, 2016

    5.8
    Friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    Room and floor I was on...under construction...I did not have a working shower when I woke up

    Friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: March 15, 2016

    9.6
    Briggget at frount desk was a great host and helper with our...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    walls not very sound proof.

    Briggget at frount desk was a great host and helper with our stay and suggestion on dining..

  • Reviewed: November 26, 2015

    10
    Staff was courteous and ready to serve
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Nothing

    Staff was courteous and ready to serve

  • Reviewed: October 14, 2015

    8.3
    close to where we were going
    • Couple

    cost was a little too expensive. didn't take Corporate Lodging card.

    close to where we were going

  • Reviewed: July 28, 2015

    10
    The staff was extremely nice and accommodating, the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The staff was extremely nice and accommodating, the location is close everything, and the room was very comfortable.

  • Reviewed: July 7, 2015

    7.1
    Pool facility for children.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Breakfast over too soon.Maybe at least to 10:00.

    Pool facility for children.

There are also 32 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 44

Guests also reviewed these properties: