Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hampton Inn Majestic Chicago Theatre District 3 stars

22 West Monroe, Chicago Loop, Chicago, IL 60603, USA

#25 of 146 hotels in Chicago

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 349 hotel reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    9.1

  • Location

    9.7

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    10
    Must stay for Hamilton
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We saw Hamilton the day we checked into the hotel. The theater is next door to the hotel, and the concierge will bring you right up to the front of the line to get in. We skipped the entire line that stretched to the end of the block! The hotel itself was beautiful as well. The Majestic building is historic, and our room was cozy as well. We had a great view from our room. Breakfast was typical for a hotel.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    9.2
    Comfortable room and great staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    The elevator traffic gets congested at certain times of day, which was a little inconvenient.

    The room was very comfortable. Our room was not available on time, but the staff made some concessions for us and they were very earnest in getting it ready as soon as possible. Sometimes things don't go as planned and the fact that the staff recognized the inconvenience and did what they could to alleviate it really showed their commitment to customer service, which I appreciated. The valets were GREAT! We went to an afternoon show at the CIBC theater and they had our car packed and ready to go right out front as soon as we came out of the theater. They went above and beyond and were so friendly. A good experience overall.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    6.7
    Location was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Elevators were small and one of the 3 elevators did not work at all so long waits for very crowded elevators.

    Location was great. Friendly staff. Complimentary bottled water, fruit and coffee at check in was nice.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    7.1
    Staff great....wished accommodations were better
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our drain in the tub backed up. First night we called and the maintenance man went home already. Never showed the second day and it was disgusting standing in dirty, bacteria water! Upsetting that the message wasn't left for the next day. Called again and no one ever showed. We were out of the room til late so we just never called again. Breakfast was not really filled in til 10am. I understand ends at 10am but should of still had options.

    The staff was great...very sweet and accomodating. Security was strict so that was good so no drifters came in.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    5.4
    Good breakfast choice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room dingy and dated. Door staff not particularly welcoming. No car park and no deal with the local Car park so expensive

    Good breakfast choice. Fairly good position for exploring Chicago

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    9.2
    Clean ,comfortable and convenient.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sirens were very loud. The windows need better sound proofing.

    Staff was more than helpful. Breakfast was very nice, coffee and cookies in the afternoon.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    7.1
    Overall, I love the location of the hotel. We expect a better facilities for the money that we spent
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bedroom does not seem very clean to me and the mattress is too soft. I was not able to sleep well for my stay. Also, no shower cap was provided and no water was provided. Towels were not changed everyday. I am not sure if this is how it supposed to be but we expect more for the money that we spent.

    I love the location.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    7.1
    Good customer service .
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Hearing Accesible
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel charges a deposit fee that they do not tell you when you make a reservation. It’s been a week since I checked out and I have yet to get my deposit back.

    Good customer service .

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    10
    The location was fabulous.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location was fabulous. Everything that we wanted to see and do was within walking distance. The theater for Hamilton was adjacent which was a plus!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    7.9
    Didn't mention they gonna hold deposit for room service...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't mention they gonna hold deposit for room service and parking though we didn't take any of the services. Still didn't get money back

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    9.6
    The location was central and right where I wanted to be.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was central and right where I wanted to be. The staff were amazing! They answered every question, provided every need, and cared for us before we checked in And after we checked out!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    10
    We came to see Hamilton and this was perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We came to see Hamilton and this was perfect. Helpful valet service and easy check in. Love the Hampton attached to the theater. Nice variety at breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    6.7
    Was just ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our card was charged twice for our stay. The woman at the front desk wss not helpful in sorting that out. Our shower had no shower curtain when we arrived!

    Location to the theater and the friendly bell hop

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    10
    Great place
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast area was tight. Lots of people and few tables.

    Very comfortable. Breakfast was good. Hotel was next to the theater we went to. We walked to millennium park.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    8.3
    The staff was absolutely amazing!
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noice could be a bit of an issue at times, but you are in the middle of a large city!

    The staff was absolutely amazing!! Very helpful,pleasant and personal in their approach to their customers!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    8.8
    Good time in great location!
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds and Bath Tub - Mobility Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms were pretty dark. Would have preferred something more light and welcoming.

    We traveled for one night from Cincinnati to see Hamilton. The staff was exceptional directing my daughter & friends where to enter to the show, when to arrive and most importantly where to find some of the actors after the performance. It was great and they were exceptional!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    9.2
    Wonderful stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The convenience was awesome. My daughter and I had tickets to see Hamilton we walked from union station checked in and didn’t have to worry about parking etc. the location was great for us. We got in early check in was not until 4pm but we were able to get early check in so we could do some site seeing before the show. Staff very pleasant and friendly

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    9.6
    Staff was always very cordial and knowledgeable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    Staff was always very cordial and knowledgeable. Continental breakfast had a good variety. Housekeeping did a great job of cleaning and restocking. Great hotel!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    7.9
    Double check reservation
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived at 11pm following a long train ride, only to find that the room we requested was not available. The room could only accommodate 3 of the 4 of us, and as a result, one person had to sleep on the floor. The night manager was very apologetic, and sent up extra blankets and pillows for the floor sleeper, and charged us a reduced rate.

    Staff was very friendly, and the location was perfect for us.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    9.2
    Great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed seemed pretty good when we first got there, but my back ached tje next day.

    The location was excellent for the theatre and many stores and restaurants. Also, we were able to have early check-in, which helped us immensely.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    10
    Friendliest staff ever. Great great location!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved the staff! Every single staff member we came across was so friendly and courteous. Service was excellent! Personal favorite - Admon (head valet I think??) - Admon went out of his way to make you feel special and treated us so gratuitously. Thank you to all the staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    10
    Perfect location, perfect staff, perfect breakfast layouts, perfectly comfy rooms and beds!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Angel at the front desk went above and beyond to help me as there was a mix up through 3rd party booking sight. He was truly an ANGEL and helped best he could to remedy the situation also provided comfort to my 2 children and I, as we were very overwhelmed being in the city far from home. I cannot say enough great things about Angel and Autumn! Their friendliness and hospitality left an imprint on my thankful heart!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    10
    The staff was wonderful and welcoming, facilities were...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tough parking situation out front for check-in, but it is downtown Chicago after all.

    The staff was wonderful and welcoming, facilities were modern and very clean, location is INCREDIBLE, the BEST place to stay if you’re in town to see a broadway show.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    6.7
    Great location, desk staff needs to work on their customer service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was too crowded in the food area section. I was there with my son and when I check in you assumed his name was the name to put onto the rewards information. Room was not cleaned until very late in the day.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    9.6
    The room was very comfortable;
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was very comfortable; view was okay from the 11th floor; the hotel was close to everything; there were cookies at the check-in desk every afternoon; breakfast was okay--typical of a continental breakfast. Overall we were pleased with our stay!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    10
    The property was clean, the valet was awesome!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no fridge so I had to throw my leftovers out. Also there was no plug in by the bed.

    The property was clean, the valet was awesome! The staff was super friendly:)

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    10
    Great hotel with easy access to a lot of places
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only thing a didn't like was the breakfast, there weren't many options in my opinion !

    The room was big and the bed was very comfortable! And if you're going to watch Hamilton or any other musical at the CIBC Theatre, they have an access from the hotel which is super convenient!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    9.6
    Highly recommend. Stayed here to see Hamilton. Perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    What a spread for breakfast! Surprised me for the modest cost of a room that breakfast would include eggs, sausage, potatoes in addition to the normal fare of waffles yogurt and cereal. Especially appreciated fresh papaya.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    10
    Excellent accommodations, location to restaurants and shopping.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was not one issue of complaint.

    The location to see Hamilton at the CIBC theater was superb. Didn’t even have to go outside. Show your key card and you’re in the front of the line. Wonderful hotel. I suggest everyone try Vapianos. Just a few steps away. Great reasonable Italian upscale restaurant!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    10
    Will definitely stay here again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds were comfortable. No noise issues while awake or asleep. Room temperature stayed comfortable. Larger room than expected. Perfect location for shopping, theatre and food choices!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    10
    Our most enjoyable stay in Chicago.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is everything. This hotel is excellent if you are going to see Hamilton. Restaurants and shopping are close. Subway and bus stops to all the major tourist attractions are less than a block away.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    7.5
    Location was excellent
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was okay You should park at a nearby garage if staying several nights - cost at the hotel is $59 a night, but you can find it cheaper close by

    Location was excellent

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    7.9
    Staff was friendly, helpful and professional/
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No refrigerator or microwave in the room. Parking, at $59.00 a night, is very expensive even for Chicago.

    Staff was friendly, helpful and professional/

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    9.6
    Beds and pillows were comfortable, great location(love Chicago), and breakfast included- great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn’t have any issues, however a room safe would have been nice.

    For a leisure trip to Chicago it was central to all we needed and we could walk to many areas of interest. It was quiet, clean, friendly and the breakfast was ideal for an early start.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    9.2
    Angel was very nice and helpful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Angel was very nice and helpful! Also, the connection to the theater was a huge benefit (especially because we did not have to wait outside in the cold)!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    9.2
    The staff were extremely friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My only con: the beds were not very comfortable and our room was on the chilly side. However, I didn't attempt to look to see if I could control the temp. We were too tired!

    The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The breakfast was excellent and offered a variety of options.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    9.6
    The location was perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location was perfect. We walked everywhere. Hamilton playing next door was bonus. Restaurants of all kinds within walking distance. Magnificent Mile, River Walk, Union Station all within walking distance.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    8.3
    perfect location in theater district - right above theater showing hamilton, close to great rest aur
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    room cleanliness

    breakfast every day included 6 am to 10 am, above theater with Hamilton, easy to go to theater! Very nice helpful people at desk, sort of dated decor, thin towels, but good value for the price in an amazing area, close to everything

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    9.6
    Calm and elegant hotel in the Loop.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Shoe shine ? Chocolate powder ?

    Classy room, plenty of space. Comfy bed with firm mattress, nice sofa. Fridge and microwave oven. Some serious muscle at the door on ground floor, kind employees at reception on lobby floor. The whole building is very stylish, it opened in 1906 IIRC. Perfect location between two Monroe stations (Red line and Blue line of Chicago subway).

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    10
    The staff at the Hampton Inn Majestic treated us like royalty.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived hours before check-in. The gentleman who greeted us offered to store our luggage and then showed us to the lobby, suggesting we give a phone number to the front desk so we could be notified when our room was ready. The front desk staff were exceptionally warm and friendly. They even offered us breakfast before we checked in. The staff really went above and beyond, and they made our stay unforgettable. Thank you!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    10
    Satisfied with hotel choice would stay here again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not being familiar with Chicago we missed the hotel entrance because there was not a visible place to pull over for valet parking. We ended up self parking down the road.

    Minimal wait when using elevators even on upper floors. Nice that breakfast choices were a little different each day. Great coffee! Helpful staff. Appreciated the printout of restaurants within walking distance.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    8.3
    Everything was perfect even the location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom didn't have exhaust fan.

    The luggage storage and we were able to check in earlier than the usual check in time. Got free bottled water. 24hour complimentary coffee and tea. Staff are really nice and accommodating.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    8.8
    Nice downtown hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel charged my card $60 more without informing me. I was credited back but as a foreigner it is a bit scary.

    Hotel is downtown and very well located close to the shore. It is clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    9.2
    Perfect spot if you are going to the show!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds and Bath Tub - Mobility Access
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little delay getting our bags. But when I called to follow up they brought them very quickly.

    Excellent staff at reception - helpful with recommendations and information. Great spot next to theater!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    8.3
    Overall we enjoyed a pleasant stay in a good location and the staff was very courteous and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms were very dark: the lighting was insufficient and the dark decor made the room dark even during the day. One complaint: at checkout the clerk could not provide a paper receipt and the promised e-mailed receipt has never arrived.

    The breakfast included was very good: lots of selection, frequent re-supply and a clean dining room.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    8.8
    Enjoyable, great location.
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The dark brown carpet in the hallway looks depressing and outdated. A more contemporary carpet could look lighter and work well with the preserved parts of this historic building, i.e., the mail shoot, the marble, etc. The room was not as clean as it could be. There were potato chip crumbs on the window base inside the room, and hairs in the tub when we first entered.

    The room size was adequate. The coffee maker was helpful inside the room, and the beds were very comfortable. Plenty of clean towels and amenities! The location was superb for moving my son back to college. The included breakfast was great. The staff was friendly, helpful, and efficient.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    10
    Really a wonderful stay. Very convenient location. Friendly and courteous staff. Comfortable room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast area is a little bit tight squeezed in near the front desk.

    The booklet they gave us with directions and modes of transportation to nearby attractions and restaurants. Also liked the additional charging ports on the nightstands. The water & coffee cup graphics made me smile. Loved that breakfast was included and had a nice variety.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    10
    Amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were incredibly helpful and kind. We were allowed early check-in and late check out which was wonderful. The hotel was right beside the theater which was another bonus.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    10
    Great location, comfortable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Perfect location to see "Hamilton", just above the theatre. Manager made sure we were happy with our room, beds were comfortable, safe location. Breakfast was great!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    9.6
    Close to attractions
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking was hard to find. Hotel would not give us any recommendation. Ended up a few blocks away for $48 per day.

    comfy bed, good breakfast, friendly staff, within walking distance of Art Institute, Millenium Park, Grant Park, etc. Also only a few blocks to the Metra station. Right next door to the theater where Hamilton is playing.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    9.6
    THE Hotel for Hamilton
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Bath Tub - Mobility Access
    • Stayed 2 nights

    4 pm check in - but, they were able to get me in a bit earlier (around 2 pm).

    Breakfast was good and lots of variety - a bit different each day. Room was spacious, clean and comfortable. Liked having a tub in the bath - for a nice soak after a long day of site-seeing. Staff was friendly and helpful. Was in town for Hamilton - and this hotel is attached to the theatre - so super easy to pop in at show time! Also - just a short walk to the Art Institute, and 2 blocks to the "L" (Orange line) - so convenient to get to/from Midway.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    9.6
    Fabulous stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Valet parking was pricey but attendants were on-call 24 hours and very friendly. Our room was pricey! But location was fantastic.

    Excellent breakfast, friendly professional helpful staff, beautiful accommodations, fantastic location.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    10
    Perfect for Hamilton theater-goers!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Tiny elevators, but that cannot be helped in older buildings.

    We were there to see Hamilton, which is in the theater on the first floor of the hotel! Excellent location, great food across the street, breakfast had a wide selection (included), valet was the same cost as many park yourself lots for the day.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    10
    Staff was very accommodating and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was pricey but worth the convienence.

    Staff was very accommodating and helpful. Parking was taken care of without a hassle (expensive but convenient).stayed at the Hampton, had dinner and saw Hamilton next door. Counldn't have been a better evening

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    7.9
    Thumbs Up
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The valet parking was a great thing. The staff was accommodating for an early check in. The room was nice, clean, and w comfy beds. The location was beyond excellent to see Hamilton! 2-3 blocks walk to Millennium Park. Very pleased. : )

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    9.2
    If you want to see Hamilton in the privacy of your hotel. You won't get any closer!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Hearing Accesible
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It would be nice to have a small frig in the room. That's it, we liked everything!!!

    The Bed was very COMFY!!! Loved the LOCATION and the staff was super friendly & helpful. Enjoyed the complimentary breakfast with a wide selection to choose from and the 24 hour coffee & hot tea bar. The location to subway & bus was excellent also.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    7.5
    Location to theater .
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My only complaint if I were to stay there again would be to have s room on the inside of hotel . Our room although on 8 th floor the noise level from outside was quite loud . It's a busy neighborhood area . But unlike many hotels you could hear everything . Other than that it was a comfortable stay

    Location to theater .

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2017

    9.2
    Easy access to everything in the hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room did not have a refrigerator. Elevators sounded like they were going to break every time you used them. Shower was a little narrow and took a while to warm up.

    Easy access to everything in the hotel! Furniture and bedding were very comfortable and cleaned every day!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    10
    Very comfortable and good value for money
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I came to Chicago for a conference at the Palmer House. Preferred not to stay there but look for a different hotel nearby. Palmer House is an amazingly looking historic hotel, but it is also overpriced for the service that one gets. Hampton turned out as a great choice and an excellent value for money in the expensive downtown area of Chicago. A truly comfortable small hotel: lovely breakfast at no extra cost, great bed, quiet room, good internet everywhere in the hotel including the room, all very clean, some free goodies like tea, coffee, cookies, apples, excellent central location. I was really happy with my accomodation. Honestly, I felt much more comfortable than the previous year at the Palmer House, and I paid less. Last but not least: Hampton's friendly and helpful staff, especially Yvette!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    9.2
    Excellent rooms and service in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although we were there for only an overnight, we waited repeatedly for an elevator -- up to 5 minutes each time. One of the 3 elevators was reserved for staff, so that left just 2 to transport guests.

    Very comfortable bed. Room and bathroom well stocked with outlets, wi-fi, informational materials, linens, and toiletries. We especially appreciated the bathtub (for my husband) and the washcloths (which are not included in European or Central American hotel rooms). Everything worked -- from the wi-fi to the toilet. And I really liked the complimentary breakfast, both for the variety of offerings and the quality of the foods -- and I didn't even have a fresh waffle!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    10
    Perfect downtown location if the private bank theater is...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect downtown location if the private bank theater is where you are going. It is literally attach to the hotel. Very clean. Breakfast was good make sure you get down their early though. Suggest planning to bring it back to the room. Beds were a little stiff

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2017

    10
    Great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bottom sheet on the mattress was not a proper fit and slipped off both nights.

    Location, friendly staff, etc. Cochon Volant was our favorite restaurant and only a block away from hotel.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2017

    9.2
    Very decent hotel that I would use again.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Hearing Accesible
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was processed junk food! It would have been nice to have some extra bathroom toiletries - shower etc

    My room was spacious, comfortable, clean and quiet. The gym was surprisingly well equipped. $116 per night including taxes for a downtown hotel, so well located (and breakfast if you were prepared to stomach it!) was i think a really good price.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2017

    10
    A quick visit to Chicago
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like having to sign back in to the wifi.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful. The location was ideal! Many of the places we visited were in walking distance or quickly accessible by cab!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2017

    10
    Nice. Clean, Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No view, street noise but we were in Chicago.

    Attractive decor, clean, the GREATEST location, next door to Public Bank Theater, 1 block from State street, 3 blocks to Mellenium Park, 2 blocks to the Bean, 4 blocks to the lake.........super friendly and helpful staff, many restaurants in walking distance our favorite was Rivival Food Hall, a viarity of Chicago restaurants under one beautifully designed roof.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2017

    10
    Awesome place to stay and see Hamilton
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I looked all over for info on parking, when I called the hotel they assured me there was parking and no charge, which I wasn't entirely sure I believed. When I arrived I wasn't very surprised that the parking that was available was valet, and 60 bucks a night. I figured it was too good to be true :)

    Super updated, perfect place to stay while seeing Hamilton at the Private Bank Theatre

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2017

    9.6
    friendly and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very friendly and helpful staff, convenient theater district and museum going location, great urban view, all the comforts I've come to like from a Hampton Inn. And who doesn't like fresh baked chocolate chip cookies every afternoon!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2017

    7.1
    staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Bath Tub - Mobility Access
    • Stayed 2 nights

    it's a bit old and therefore doesn't look a hundred percent clean (it was alright but I would have expected better for the price)

    staff comfort of the bed location +++

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2017

    10
    What started out as a horrible weekend...turns out it was an AWESOME WEEKEND in CHICAGO!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    NOTHING!!!!!

    Sadly, my Amtrak Train was 4hrs late in getting to Chicago from St Louis due to the weather on January 13th. I had tickets to the 7:30 performance of Hamilton. The at The Magestic was very sympathetic to my plight. Thankfully, the next day, I was able to get tickets to the matinee performance. A hearty breakfast,as well as caring staff made my stay at the Magestic very, very wonderful. I recommend this hotel to anyone who needs a hotel in Chicago for business, or pleasure. I plan to stay at this hotel again if I ever return to Chicago for businrss, or pleasure.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2017

    7.5
    Great place to stay in the heart of Chicago
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds and Bath Tub - Mobility Access
    • Stayed 3 nights

    After the staff cleaned one day, there was a wad of hair on the edge of the bathtub (gross) and the carpet never seemed THAT clean. The city noises (sirens, etc) were prevalent but expected. Someone was having a party on our floor one night and were very loud. I called the front desk and they sent someone up right away to deal with it which I appreciated.

    The beds were quite comfy. The location was perfect for us to get places by walking or transit. The train stopped less than a block from the hotel so it was easy to get there to/from O'Hare. The free breakfast was nice but there was never a spot to sit due to limited space.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2017

    10
    Perfect location, amazing vintage feel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My only complaint was that they came in to clean our room while we were out even though we had the "do not disturb" sign out.

    Since we were there to see Hamilton it was awesome that the hotel was connected and we didn't have to wait out in the subzero temps. I loved the overall vintage feel, but that it wasn't dark or outdated.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2017

    9.2
    excellent service and location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Hearing Accesible
    • Stayed 1 night

    there is no a plug near to bed to charge the cellphone or work in bed with your computer. no refrigerator in the room.

    Like the kindness and professionalism of the staff, the comfort of the bed , the location.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    9.2
    Best location for staying downtown of Chicago and going to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Hearing Accesible
    • Stayed 1 night

    It would be better if they have fridge and microwave.

    Best location for staying downtown of Chicago and going to O'Hare airport. Also they can keep our luggage after the check-out, so we can walk around the downtown without our luggage.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2016

    7.5
    Pretty good
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No coffee in the room, no cookies in the evening (they 'were waiting on a shipment'). Tiny elevators

    Comfy bed and good pillows. Very clean. Great location

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    10
    Convienient to theater and other sight seeing tours.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't think of antthing

    Convienient to theater and other sight seeing tours. The amenities like fridge, coffee pot in room. Very friendly helpful staff. Good breakfast even though no grits. We couldn't found a better place to stsy

    Stayed in November 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: