Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hampton Inn Memphis-Southwind 3 stars

3579 Hacks Cross Road, Germantown, TN 38125, USA

#5 of 10 hotels in Germantown

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 109 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Family with young children
    • King Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioner kept cutting off and it was 97 degrees outside, and when asked for extra towels we were told they didn’t have enough

    The location was great

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Non-Smoking King Study
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Can't think of anything that didn't meet my expectations or needs.

    The location of the hotel was perfect. Many restaurants in the area and a short drive to downtown Memphis. The use of Hilton's digital key technology was surely an unexpected bonus.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    very noisy with all the baseball and basketball kids in the hallways late at nite. Where were the staff people? Surely, they could have asked the kids to return to their rooms.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    While the "barn style" door on the bathroom was beautiful, different, and effective, it wasn't practical for my family with small children. They viewed the door more as a game than as a door and it made it difficult to get real privacy in the bathroom.

    The staff was all extremely friendly. The beds were comfortable and the room was nicely decorated. I liked that the pull out sofa was separated from the bed. The breakfast was AMAZING and the staff was so kind to help us get our little ones served and seated. The hotel was very conveniently located to everything and it is close to several stores and restaurants. Bonus points for having a night light in the bathroom...I was thrilled that no one had to stumble around in the dark or flip a light on in the middle of the night!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Non-Smoking King Study
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    King bed area was a little small but couch & extra tv made up for it. The barn door was a little unpractical.

    The bfast was exceptional!! So much variety!!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    N/n

    The stay was the worst stay a hotel in my life. I was there in Memphis to celebrate my son 30 birthday. My debit card was charge for 3 or 4 room at rate 292. That just my whole stay up. My funds were extremely limit. My daughter add the hotel incident fee $54 on her card she find out she was charge an addition $154. Accidently left my purse on a chair in the lobby just stressed out since I got there. Well some sold $200 out of my purse, police was call and a report was done. I'm just sick for the whole ordeal. Let I said in my first sentence above the worst stay ever!!!! I'm extremly disappointed/dissatisfied :-(

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had to ask for toilet paper and the Kleenex box was almost empty. No lighting over the bar. The charger in the bedroom didn't work. No location information for area in room and the tv's were hard to manipulate. The remotes needed batteries.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Family with young children
    • One King Accessible with Tub Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I used a third party booking company for my stay. I reserved a king bed room with a sofa bed. Well the room the hotel gave me didn’t have the sofa bed. Hard to accommodate a family of four with one bed. Well I worked with the booking company which they called the hotel about the problem. Jeremiah, told the booking company that I was being untruthful, that the room had a sofa bed. My room number was 419. NO SOFA BED!! I will never stay at this location again due the fact that your staff pretty much called me a liar. I will attach pics of the room. Explain how this will sleep a family of four.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The air conditioning very noisy I had to switch it off to sleep. Became very cold external temperature -16 degrees C. The breakfast was very poor in choice, presentation and preparation.

    The room was clean and comfortable. The staff were very friendly.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I reserved two rooms and paid more for 1 room that should have been a larger room. The two rooms for identical. That was very disappointing and when I asked the hotel about it they said booking.Com had their information wrong. I won’t use booking.com again

    It was a very quiet hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was renovated, but not fully. Old details remain, such as chipping door frames, worn light switches, etc.

    Friendly staff. Easy to get in and out of the hotel

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The carpets in the Lift were filthy and smelly same goes for the room we stayed in. There were kids running up down on our floor till 12.45am in the morning, couldn't wait for morning to get out of there.

    Beds seem clean

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The noise level of the air conditioner

    I loved the room and location of the property. The air conditioner in the room was pretty beat up and loud so I didn't sleep very well.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower would not turn on with shower head set in an odd or off position when my daughter attempted to use.

    Staff were personable and professional. Excellent, kudos

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    • Group
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Check in clerk could have been more friendly. Not enough buggies for luggage. Bed was hard. The noise was unreal. Went on all through the night, slamming doors, talking, yelling, did not get to sleep until after 2 30 AM, had to be up early, noise in Dining room was unreal, guests, talking so loud, like they were the only ones there. No respect for others.

    NO Was disappointed there was not any Bacon. Bed was not like a cloud, as I have experienced in the past.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Non-Smoking King Study
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My bathroom had pieces of hair from the guest before. The tub stopper didn't work. When I was checking out at the front desk, lady had an attitude like she didn't want too be there.

    Breakfast was good and hot, location was good

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom could have been a little cleaner. But overall it was a good stay.

    I liked the area that it was located in. It was nice and the beds were comfy.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room was on the first floor, at 9 pm I went to the front desk and asked if they would please ask the kids staying in the room above us to stop jumping off the beds onto the floor as it sounded like a herd of elephants and I couldn't sleep. She said she would send security up. It was 3 hours later (midnight)! before they finally stopped! We feel you owe us a free night to compensate for this "sleepless" night at this location!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I though the grime in the elevator door was not cool, and all the room doors look like they went through a war zone, being damaged by the trolley

    breakfast was good

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Non-Smoking King Study
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff @ check in... Wasn't made to feel welcomed... asked to be accommodated for late check out...they didn't make that happen either....said I would need to wait til the.follow morning..defeats the purpose 😳

    Location

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Gravy was pasty with no flavor

    The breakfast hours

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room smelled and walls were too thin.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very clean and had a good breakfast...staff very friendly..in a great location..highly recommend

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • King Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff n room

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleaning of bathroom Location is far away from downtown Memphis

    Beds and pillows are comfortable

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Non-Smoking King Study
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly and courteous staff or the one on the go that extra mile for their customers

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Non-Smoking King Study
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the house keeping was very poor

    I enjoy the location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Non-Smoking King Study
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    At breakfast the television was set to a show where the woman was twerking. It was uncomfortable with our 12yo daughter.

    Clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedding was dirty - pillowcases had not been changed, towels stained, hallways and elevator rarely vacuumed...

    Nice breakfast. Restaurants close by.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One King Accessible with Tub Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    HOT TUB!!!!want hot tub! No potatoes with breakfast, apples were very brown, like had been cut many hours ago

    Giant comfy bed, nice staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One King Accessible with Tub Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No problems

    Breakfast

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Group
    • One King Accessible with Tub Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The registration/management was especially helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dingy and dark.

    Location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have no complaints.

    The breakfast was great, room service was great, and checking in was great. I wouldn't change a thing.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One King Accessible with Tub Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mattresses are not like they used to be in Hamptons. I was very disappointed.

    The king room . Parking was good

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    There wasn't anything I didn't like..

    Bed was so comfortable and the room was so clean.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Housekeeping

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent customer service!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lights went out no generators

    Terrible stay

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Non-Smoking King Study
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no complaints!! I loved it!!

    The stay there was very nice, I would definitely do it again!!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2017

    • Couple
    • Non-Smoking King Study
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was amazing. .great job.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was not clean

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Things around the hotel.and cleanses

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved the closet/bathroom sliding door.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can't think of anything negative.

    Comfortable bed!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Non-Smoking King Study
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Breakfast was very satisfying and the bed was very comfortable!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not much, a bit of a high traffic area but other than that, all was well.

    Staff 3was great and the place was very we'll maintained.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One King Accessible with Tub Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    none

    Staff extremely nice & helpful

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2016

    • Solo traveller
    • One King Accessible with Tub Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    NOISY AND VERY RUDE PATRONS

    Friendly desk clerk

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No rollaway beds!!

    Very good breakfast...

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only issue was a slow drain.

    Great hotel. Excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool was closed one day. It's late June!

    The staff

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No clock in room. Funky bath/closet door. Too expensive. Sink faucet was loose so it moved around.

    Very comfortable bed. Very good breakfast. Cable TV. WiFi. Big room. Lots of hot water.

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The room was smaller than I thought it would be and certain things seem dated at the hotel, the phone in the room, carpet, and landscaping could use a facelift.

    Dawn at the front desk was very pleasant!

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lobby and breakfast area not large enough to accommodate large groups. This was the second time that we have stayed and the location was accommodating a sports teams that were noisy and all gathered to eat breakfast at the same time, leaving no room for other guests. Need a policy that a group must eat in shifts and not allow more than 10-15 guests from that group at one time.

    Always like the Hampton Inn facilities.

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Great location near main road with many shops and restaurants. Quiet location and plenty of parking. Everything was very clean. Breakfast was good and had variety. Really liked the oatmeal and bagel toppers.

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    People were super friendly, location, the facilities were very clean and modern, bed room was large and the bed was super comfortable, coffee and breakfast were delicious. It was a wonderful experience!

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Comfortable rooms, lots of eating and shopping within walking distance. Close to highway and conveniently located. Only 20 minutes to Beale Street and downtown Memphis.

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Website said bar...no bar. Checked in around 9pm and housekeeping woke us up at 7/730 to ask when we were checking out. ...I was not happy!

    Great location, very friendly staff and breakfast was pretty good

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The fact they took my money off my bank card hours before I got there and when I did it there I was still treated rudely by the staff when checking in it said no fee but they charged my card another $100 fee

    The food was great and the rooms was amazing!!!!

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There could have been a better selection of tv viewing.

    The staff was absolutely wonderful. They were all so very friendly and helpful. We love the fact that there was a shuttle to take us to the golf tournament and pick us up.

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The staff was friendly and the property was clean. The breakfast buffet was better than I expected - biscuits, bagels, hot cereal, muffins, juice, waffles,coffee, sausage or bacon, etc.

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The phone wasn't answered very often. I had to call because of a locked gate and wanted out, didn't answer after many rings, we found another way out. At breakfast, we had a cold fare, though promised hot breakfast. We were invited to go to the hotel next door for breakfast. That was a nice gesture, but soooo cold outside that we didn't. Again the phone was ringing over and over as we served ourselves breakfast.

    Nice room. Courteous staff.

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    more healthy options at breakfast, fruit not fresh or washed.

    easy access,staff very friendly and accommodating,will stay again.

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The room was very clean. The breakfast was really good!

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Overall great stay! Great clean fresh rooms, people where all so nice, and breakfest was great!

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Broken elevator

    Excellent room design

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Front seat persons were very polite and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff was excellent. Check in and check out were a breeze.

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bathroom toilet, sink and floor were not clean. It wasn't dirty but not properly cleaned after the last guests.

    Our bed was clean and comfortable

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A man in the next room woke me up with his loud talking during the night.

    The location was good. The breakfast was good. The TV was nice.

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Clean beds and bedspreads

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The hotel is pretty old

    Staff and location

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    My first room wasn't clean. They had to move me.

    Staff was nice

There are also 51 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: