Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hampton Inn Memphis-Walnut Grove/Baptist East 3 stars

33 Humphrey Center Drive, Memphis, TN 38120, USA

#52 of 88 hotels in Memphis

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 109 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.8

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    7.9

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.2

  • Free WiFi

    7.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One King Hearing Accessible Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very good accommodation. V/Good breakfast highly efficient and friendly staff. A little far out from the main part of the city and a car is needed but we were aware of that & it was perfect for us

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Group
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower in bathroom was non-functional. We did not discover it til morning when it was too late to correct. No restitution was offered.

    Comfortable bed. Pleasant atmosphere

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Standard King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was nice and made sure you had everything that you needed....the bed was pretty comfortable....and the hotel was in a very nice spot....I really enjoyed the stay....

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked this hotel through Booking.com and was planning to pay when we arrived. I didn’t get the young girls name unfortunately, but she was somewhat on the rude side. As I was explaining to her about being there for the event at the Agricenter, she quickly interrupted me telling me where it was. I stated that I knew where it was and continued on with a question about a discount I was told about through the Agricenter to which she immediately cut me off and said “the price you have is the lowest you’re going to get”. I pulled out cash to pay for the room and she told me I had paid through Booking.com, which I hadn’t. I tried telling her that I selected the option to pay upon arrival. She then pulled out a piece of paper and proceeded to tell me “I know you won’t understand this but this is what my screen looks like when a room is reserved through an online booking app. It’s complicated and I know you won’t get it”. She refused to let me pay. At checkout I was told that my card declined the transaction (as I told her at checkin, I knew it would decline because I had no money on the card I gave online because I was paying cash for everything), and once I explained to the representative on duty what had transpired at check in, he accepted my cash payment and was very nice and apologetic.

    The overall experience was great. Room was clean, bed was comfortable, food was good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was no indoor pool, or hot tub available. The rooms looked old and outdated. I thought I had queen size beds and they were full size.

    The Breakfast staff was extremely friendly, very helpful and easy to talk to when requesting assistance

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was quite pleased with everything, thanks!

    I loved our plush bedspreads, they were extra warm and the waffles at the continental breakfast were amazingly great!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the bed - king size mattress - would sink in the middle. The bedspread was too heavy; I needed a separate blanket without the bedspread to be comfortable for me.

    Easy to get to and in /out, very friendly staff. very quiet, could not hear outside noise too much. Breakfast offering was very good as well.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was not a refrigerator or microwave in the room. Also, the shower had mold and stains. The problems in the shower were to be expected in an older stand up shower stall. However, when I go to stay at a hotel....I look forward to having a clean shower. Especially since I have had good luck with other Hampton Inns. My partner and I both travel for work so we have seen more than a few hotels in our time. I will say it was the most unclean shower I have ever seen in a hotel. I am surprised the standards are not higher. Breakfast was at least hot, but it was not replenished well. Every day I went down for breakfast and they were out of fruit. Again, the staff was very friendly!!!! Props to them.

    Everyone was very nice at this hotel. We had breakfast every morning so that was a plus.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room was very dirty and the bathroom had black mold I Have a picture on my phone. We were very unhappy .I called booking.com and told them , he called the desk and they agreed to cancel our next day reservation. I call the Hilton and booked for a week thru booking .com We were very happy there. We came up from Florida because of the hurricane. We often stay at a Hampton inn and have no problem.

    nothing!!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Tub - Disability Access Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Geese roamed and left feces where you parked and walked. Property would be difficult to find if you are unfamiliar with the area.

    It was very clean. Staff were very professional and ready to answer your questions.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was remodeling, so are room didn't have a refrigerator or microwave or hairdryer.

    Breakfast was good and hot. The bed and room was great and clean.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the heat/ac unit was quite noisy.

    Everyone on staff went out of their way to make sure our stay was wonderful. I received a call after we settled into our room to verify that everything was ok. NO ONE has ever done that before! When I asked about gravy for breakfast, she made some for me even though they were out of sausage. The location and the shuttle took away a lot of the stress associated to coming to a new city for a loved ones medical procedure. Great job everyone!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Tub - Disability Access Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    The staff greeted us upon arrive with a warm smile and information about the facility. Breakfast was hot and staff very friendly. The room was adequate. Wonderful area if one has medical needs or visiting a patient in the hospital. The hospital is very close to the hotel.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The worker jasmine was crazy.... she kept calling my room and cell phone asking what room she put me in and she came knocking on my door at 10:30pm asking what room she put us in.... I was scared for my life and didn't want to leave the room!!! I think she just wanted my man

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My only suggestion is that there wasn't much seating in the breakfast area. There were a few large groups dining together, so that contributed to the crowding, but it would have helped to have more actual tables/bar tops and chairs/bar stools. The breakfast was awesome-- I can see why there were so many people trying to eat!

    Every one of the employees was incredibly friendly and really made our short stay a pleasant experience.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    There wasn't a refrigerator or microwave. We had to throw our sandwiches away. There was only one device allowed to be connected to wifi, but there was two of us. A little pricey for what we got in the room. It was labeled "delux". Not what I expected for the title and the price.

    The shower was awesome. No tub, and that's fine. The bed was comfortable. The room seemed clean.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Non-Smoking King Study
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was tiny; bathroom tiny; housekeeping staff was inconsiderate and stole our Kindle USB cord and charger as well as a pair of iPhone ear buds. The room is way overpriced for the poor accommodations.

    Very little 😑

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Group
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The comforters were dirty. One had a pubic hair on it. There was something spoiled onto the wall that wasn't cleaned. The mirrors were dirty.the tub had black mold where the crevice was sealed. No plug is easily accessible by the night stand to charge electronics.

    The guy that checked me in was nice and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Non-Smoking King Study
    • Stayed 2 nights

    TV did not work in first room we were assigned, had to change rooms. Cars in parking lot were vandalized while we were there (not really hotel's fault).

    Staff very helpful, location perfect for my needs, visiting nearby hospital

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Non-Smoking King Study
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No sheets for pullout. Had to ask twice to get them. Then I had to go down to get them. Mattress horrible. AC didn't work. Clerk was apologetic and sincerely concerned but no other rooms open so we had to stay in the room. Wasn't told wifi password when checking in, had to call down and ask. Not a pleasant experience.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One King Hearing Accessible Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool was nice, bed was very comfortable. Glad that it was pet friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn't anything I didn't like

    I liked the friendly staff and the quick breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Couple
    • One King Hearing Accessible Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Noise from the hall, constant noise in the bathroom like a vacuum cleaner was on all the time.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom shower needed cleaning. Had mold that needed to be washed.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Couple
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clerk was rude,upholstery on the chair was down to the wood bath sink stop up

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wish breakfast went longer

    The friendly staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    • Couple
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed linens and comforter wouldn’t stay on bed—not as nice as the other Hampton Inn places I’ve stayed.

    Awesome staff. Super friendly.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    • Couple
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room needed a deep cleaning

    Location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Did not get my military discount thru booking.com

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    • Couple
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing was bad

    Location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/a

    Location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a blood stain on the bed

    The bed

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Non-Smoking King Study
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room was right at the entrance there for I heard noise all night long and early in the morning the toilet water ran all night very noisy

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    How how it was inside the hallways and elevator. No luggage carriers available. No microwave or fridge inside room. Bad lighting inside room.

    Nothing

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Non-Smoking King Study
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Scrambled eggs were "fake eggs".

    Location

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was mold in the bathroom and the toilet and tube was leaking.

    Staff was ok and breakfast

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quit a few girls in hotel a bit noisey

    It was off the main road

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was outdated and ademeties. The foyer lights not work.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Non-Smoking King Study
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ice machine in 1st floor out of order

    Easy to get to and good parking

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food and options. Very limited.

    The size of the bed and shower and comfort of the bed.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was satisfied for most of

    Honesty of the employees

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The A/C didn't work the bathroom was nasty, shower stopped up with mold around the tub.

    N/A

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Had to leave before breakfast. Bed was fine . Staff was very nice.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Property needs an update

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I felt like it was inside the hospital

    Not to far from the place I was visiting

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    • Couple
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Doors not very secure, there's a gap when closed.

    Remodeling looks great.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Could have gravy & sausage for breakfast

    everything

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were no refrigerators in the room, or microwave ovens.

    The professional staff, and hospitality.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2016

    • Couple
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    no microwave or room coffee

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    THE POOL WAS GREEN. GREEN.

    spacious. staff was accommodating

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Eggs were awful. Seemed to be powder based. Use real eggs and your breakfast will be A+

    Wonderful staff

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No microwave or refrigerators!

    It was just great I enjoy myself loved it!!

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is in the middle of a healthcare complex. Nothing is nearby. Bathroom smelled mildew-y.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Non-Smoking King Study
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much of a breakfast

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    There were no waste baskets in the room so we had to use our ice bucket as one. No hair dryer either. When getting a cup of coffee after checking in I mentioned to the night front desk person that both creamers were empty. He just smiled at me and walked down the hall. Never did get the creamer.

    The breakfast and the breakfast area was great.

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2016

    • Couple

    The facility needs updated. Hallways and room should have been a bit cleaner. Hampton Inns usually have refrigerator in room; one was not available even though it was requested. Noise traveled between rooms; hallways seemed loud at night.

    Staff was VERY polite and helpful. All encounters were positive. Location was perfect. Breakfast staff EXTREMELY professional, positive, and courteous.

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The little complementary bottles and soap & things was very sub-par here. I usually bring my own shampoo & conditioner, but I happened to forget this time. There was no shampoo, just a teeny tiny bottle of conditioner that my hair did not agree with. It was partially my fault for not bringing my own, but I've had better hotel provided bottles before.

    The staff was excellent! They all said hello and asked how we were doing and smiled which is so nice. The front desk attendant answered all our questions and was very kind as well. I needed a hair dryer the first morning because my room didn't have one and the front desk attendant ran one up herself within a few minutes of calling! The sheets and pillows were all nice and white and clean and the 24/7 coffee bar downstairs and included breakfast was wonderful as well!

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2016

    • Family with older children

    First room they assigned to us had mold all the way around the water line in the toilet. I complained and they moved us to another room. Even though the section they moved us to had all rooms marked non-smoking, I found out we had been moved to a section where smoking was allowed and our room reeked with smoke at all times. Room was not really the cleanest either. Would never recommend or stay there again.

    Staff was very friendly

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Our refrigerator did not work and our microwave oven did not work. We also had trouble using our card key to our room and the hotel other doors at least 5 times.

    Our room was on the ground floor.

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No restaurant at hotel and nothing decent in waking distance

    Quiet rooms and comfortable beds, very clean and breakfast well presented with good choice including hot food.

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Rooms were pretty outdated in comparison to other hotels in the area. Although this issue is easily fixable, it was annoying. The toilet ran in the bathroom the entire night no matter how much I flushed and jiggled the handle it would not stop running. By the time I got back to my hotel room and noticed it, it was 10pm and I just wanted to go to sleep without dealing with the hassle of changing rooms.

    Staff was friendly and the breakfast had a nice variety.

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff was extremely welcoming and professional. The accomodations were clean and comfortable. Exactly what my wife and I are accustomed to when staying at a Hampton Inn.

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The first room we got there was hair all over the sheets and the second room I didn't notice till the next morning there was brown spots along the side of the comforter and needed to be washed. The shower doors were grimy and had alot of hard water buildup on them.

    The staff were nice

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Guests should be able to have a knife at breakfast, the spreading paddle does not cut. Jelly was in a pot which everyone had to use with the paddles - gross.

    Staff really shine :)

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Carpet had stains, no frig in room, missing coffee maker, cracked kleenex holder these things are inappropriate for the amount of money we spent for the room. Hotel needs updating.

    Politeness of staff

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2015

    • Couple

    Our Bathroom floor had a large "glob" of blood on it on the right rear of the toilet. We had not noticed it before, but I am sure it was there since neither of us had cause to bleed anywhere. We reported it before leaving for dinner, and when we got back to the room the matter had not been taken care of. My husband called the desk to report the problem again, but no one came to clean. We checked out in the morning with the bathroom floor in the same condition as we reported the evening before.

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2015

    • Solo traveller

    This particular room did not have a tub but a shower instead. I wasn't asked or given a choice or even told ahead of time, which at least would've been nice.

    Nice and quiet and clean.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2016

    • Couple

    I would liked to be there for a different reason

    could not eat breakfast

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The breakfast is very good

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The room was really nice, clean, and very comfortable. Staff was super friendly, and breakfast was good.

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Clean,good location.

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Could not get a receipt total cost!

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The cleaning staff

    Location

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2016

    • Couple

    Clean,comfortable bed and great breakfast.

There are also 46 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: